Reviews For Paying Court
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: dwangela Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2018 01:24 pm Title: Epilogue: In Which Two Happy Endings Are Achieved

This was such a sweet story, and I’m glad to see it concluded! The bits of the show that you sprinkled throughout your own story line were great and kept the story grounded, even in an alternative universe. However, the point of this review was mostly to tell you that the Dwight/Angela interactions were fantastic :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I do very much value your reactions to my Dwight/Angela scenes, so that is very good to know :)

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2018 07:39 am Title: Epilogue: In Which Two Happy Endings Are Achieved

Aww... that was so great! Thank you so much for creating something so different but yet still so Jim and Pam!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! I love putting them in other worlds and I'm glad it works for you. 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2018 09:55 am Title: Epilogue: In Which Two Happy Endings Are Achieved

I finished this story with a huge dopey grin on my face. Excellent excellent excellent, from start to finish. You should be very proud of the way you commanded the language and weaved familiar characters onto the story in such a way that they became completely new. I am excited to see what you have for us next!

Author's Response: Thank you thank you. I really appreciate your consistent feedback and I'm glad you've been enjoying. I'm not sure what's next, but this has definitely been fun to write. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2018 08:49 am Title: In Which Indecency is Discovered

This chapter made me squeal with delight. 😊

Author's Response: :) Excellent...

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2018 07:30 pm Title: In Which Indecency is Discovered

I think It’s time for my... Squeeeeeee!!!!

Do we get some Katy aftermath? We just kinda ditched her at the party.

Author's Response: I think Squee is appropriate here, yes ;). And Katy lives with the Colonel, so I think it's safe to say our lovers will be interrupted yet again...

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2018 08:31 pm Title: In Which a Question is Answered

As soon as I had read this line
“Jim is here because I asked him to visit me this morning, Mr. Anderson.”
I had copied it to paste in my review as my favorite in the whole story so far.

But then I read this...
“Congratulations, old boy! I knew I was doing something great when I introduced you two to each other! I take all the credit, you know, knew you were perfect for each other the first time I saw you! I say…”
and it’s a completely different kind of brilliance but now I can’t decide!

Author's Response: Yeah, I had a lot of fun with the quotes here, which is funny because I usually shy away from dialogue.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2018 03:00 pm Title: In Which a Question is Answered

Ooh I loved these last few chapters! The build up to the breakup and now the buildup to them being together is just so good.

Author's Response: Thanks! We'll see a little of them actually together soon.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2018 10:11 pm Title: In Which Dwight Helps

Oh, that was so great!

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate hearing it.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2018 04:21 pm Title: In Which Jim Throws a Party

This chapter is so sweet in its angst. I love seeing them in this setting.

Author's Response: Oh boy I'm behind on reviews! Thanks for this. The angst really is the heart of the Romance genre and of this part of Jim/Pam so I think they fit together nicely.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2018 10:23 am Title: In Which a Gentleman is Pulled, Unsuspectingly, into an Orbit

I had a feeling Katy would be stopping by, can’t wait to read more about what sort of havoc her presence will wreak.

Author's Response: Good instincts ;).

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2018 09:02 pm Title: In Which the Incomparable Comes to Town

“Hot Girl” is really one of my favorite episodes and I LOVE reading it in this setting. Great great job!

Author's Response: It's a great episode, isn't it? It's a fun sandbox to play in too.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2018 10:43 am Title: In Which Mr. Howard Gets Advice

Just caught up on the last three chapters! Great writing as always. I love the looks into other characters, like Ryan in the most recent chapter. And the cricket game was excellent. I could go on and on about what I love about this story, but to keep it brief I’ll just say: I love it all.

Author's Response: I'll keep those peeks into other people's heads coming then! The cricket match was fun to write, trying for the flavor of Basketball without the structure of the sport (while also unabashedly drawing on Murder Must Advertise by Dorothy Sayers for what might make cricket actually interesting as a read).

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2018 10:01 pm Title: In Which Mr. Howard Gets Advice

What a contrast to the jim/pam situation! Ryan is one of my least favorite characters on the show but I enjoy him in some stories and this is definitely one of those stores.

Author's Response: Thanks. I share your general Ryan opinions, so I'm glad you're enjoying him here because I wasn't sure what to do with him initially.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2018 05:41 pm Title: In Which a Conspiracy is Hatched

The pranks in these last two chapters are my favorite part. I love them as co-conspirators in ang time frame, but something about them in this setting is just delightful. Always look forward to your updates!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's fun trying to adapt them into Regency terms, because (for example) staplers weren't invented until the 1860s so no stapler in Jell-o.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 03, 2018 07:19 am Title: In Which Habits Are Disrupted

Oh my goodness this chapter was too funny!

And Nope, I could just not feel any pity for Roy. But oh my goodness poor Pam!! I nearly choked on my lucky charms when I read Ryan had sicced Kelly on her! And Angela, hilarious! Don’t worry Pam it’s all worth it in the end!

Author's Response: I think Pam will manage to figure that out, but it might take her a little while...

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2018 01:42 pm Title: In Which Another Party Is Considered

Excellent as always. I’m guilty of always kind of forgetting about Roy or making him just be this terrible person (because I’d rather Pam and Jim be together) when really he’s just a guy and has his own emotions/feelings/thoughts/etc. Of course he has his flaws and he could have been better, but the same could be said for all of us. Anyway all of that to say that I appreciate seeing Roy’s perspective and I think you did a great job with writing him.

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate it, because I'm not a Roy fan, so it's really valuable to get feedback on that element of the story.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2018 06:33 am Title: In Which a Friendship Is Reluctantly Formed

I’m really enjoying how we are mostly seeing Michael through the eyes of the other characters, it’s definitely an interesting way to view his character.

Author's Response: Yeah, I think I find I'm more interested in people's reactions to Michael than in Michael's reactions to the world, so you'll probably keep seeing 3rd-party impressions throughout ;). I'm glad that's working for you.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2018 11:06 am Title: In Which a Friendship Is Reluctantly Formed

Lovely as always. Can’t wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Danke :). I'll try to keep them coming.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2018 06:29 am Title: In Which a Dessert is Almost, But Not Quite, Eaten

Okay. You already know that I love the callbacks to the show that you’ve been putting in. Laverne’s Pies, Tires Fixed Also showing up in this chapter is amazing.

But I am in absolute amazement at the “that mixed berry yogurt you’re about to eat had expired” moment that you’ve put in. It’s amazing. You’re amazing. This story is amazing. Definitely one of my favorite things I’ve read on this website if not in the larger FF world in general, and even then. I am in love with this version of these characters!

Author's Response: :). I have been working towards that one for several chapters so I'm really glad it worked for you. 

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2018 07:07 pm Title: In Which Four People Meet in Hyde Park

Smitten Jim is adorable!

And I am loving all the subtle canon inserts like the “madeira” in this chapter but so far I’m most impressed with Scotts tots. That one got a good laugh!

Author's Response: I'm glad! I just couldn't resist that joke; not as subtle as some but I thought worth it. Glad it tickled someone else's funny bone too!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2018 05:53 pm Title: In Which Four People Meet in Hyde Park

Love this chapter as I have loved all the others! Great details. My favorite is Jim and Mark getting tispy and singing songs!

Author's Response: Thanks! Drunk Jim has a special place in my heart. 

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2018 10:57 am Title: In Which the Mail Arrives

Poor Jim seems to have lost some of his spark, that party and Pamela Beesly sure did a number on him!
Mark seems like a fun guy, I hope we see more of him.

Author's Response: Poor Jim indeed! He'll be back to the Jim we all know and love soon. And there will definitely be more Mark.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2018 10:51 am Title: In Which the Mail Arrives

I died laughing at Robert Vance being the Ice King of London! That is hilarious. I really love the way you incorporate all the characters and little moments from the show (such as the George Foreman) and do it so seamlessly. Fantastic job. I wish I had a hundred more jelly beans to give but I’m out already, so just know that I am loving every chapter!

Author's Response:

Thanks! I stole that description from Terry Pratchett ( though his character is King of a different liquid). And I'm glad someone noticed the George Foreman description ;) 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2018 06:11 am Title: In Which Observations are Made

I was out of pocket for a few days and was so excited to see multiple chapters! This has very quickly become a favorite. I’ve been wondering when Roy would show up and I have to say, I love how you’ve written him. I like seeing his side of the story, so to speak, or at least his thoughts on Jim. I think you definitely nailed it. I can’t wait to see how they interact next, outside of the party!

Author's Response: Thank you.  I'm always worried about my depiction of Roy, so I'm glad you are enjoying it. 

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2018 04:05 pm Title: In Which a First Impression is Made and Marred

I am in love with this. as others have mentioned I am so impressed at you being able to mimic the writing style. Loved that little Cuginos reference and the way you incorporate Pam and Roy's history (their young love and delayed wedding makes much more sense in Regency terms!)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you noticed the little Cugino's touch. And you're totally right, the whole Pam/Roy plot makes much more sense in the 19th century (though I'm hardly sympathetic to Roy in either case...). Pam would feel quite spinstery at 25...

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans