Reviews For Paying Court
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2018 04:21 pm Title: In Which Jim Throws a Party

This chapter is so sweet in its angst. I love seeing them in this setting.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2018 10:23 am Title: In Which a Gentleman is Pulled, Unsuspectingly, into an Orbit

I had a feeling Katy would be stopping by, can’t wait to read more about what sort of havoc her presence will wreak.

Author's Response: Good instincts ;).

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2018 09:02 pm Title: In Which the Incomparable Comes to Town

“Hot Girl” is really one of my favorite episodes and I LOVE reading it in this setting. Great great job!

Author's Response: It's a great episode, isn't it? It's a fun sandbox to play in too.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2018 10:43 am Title: In Which Mr. Howard Gets Advice

Just caught up on the last three chapters! Great writing as always. I love the looks into other characters, like Ryan in the most recent chapter. And the cricket game was excellent. I could go on and on about what I love about this story, but to keep it brief I’ll just say: I love it all.

Author's Response: I'll keep those peeks into other people's heads coming then! The cricket match was fun to write, trying for the flavor of Basketball without the structure of the sport (while also unabashedly drawing on Murder Must Advertise by Dorothy Sayers for what might make cricket actually interesting as a read).

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2018 10:01 pm Title: In Which Mr. Howard Gets Advice

What a contrast to the jim/pam situation! Ryan is one of my least favorite characters on the show but I enjoy him in some stories and this is definitely one of those stores.

Author's Response: Thanks. I share your general Ryan opinions, so I'm glad you're enjoying him here because I wasn't sure what to do with him initially.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2018 05:41 pm Title: In Which a Conspiracy is Hatched

The pranks in these last two chapters are my favorite part. I love them as co-conspirators in ang time frame, but something about them in this setting is just delightful. Always look forward to your updates!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's fun trying to adapt them into Regency terms, because (for example) staplers weren't invented until the 1860s so no stapler in Jell-o.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 03, 2018 07:19 am Title: In Which Habits Are Disrupted

Oh my goodness this chapter was too funny!

And Nope, I could just not feel any pity for Roy. But oh my goodness poor Pam!! I nearly choked on my lucky charms when I read Ryan had sicced Kelly on her! And Angela, hilarious! Don’t worry Pam it’s all worth it in the end!

Author's Response: I think Pam will manage to figure that out, but it might take her a little while...

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2018 01:42 pm Title: In Which Another Party Is Considered

Excellent as always. I’m guilty of always kind of forgetting about Roy or making him just be this terrible person (because I’d rather Pam and Jim be together) when really he’s just a guy and has his own emotions/feelings/thoughts/etc. Of course he has his flaws and he could have been better, but the same could be said for all of us. Anyway all of that to say that I appreciate seeing Roy’s perspective and I think you did a great job with writing him.

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate it, because I'm not a Roy fan, so it's really valuable to get feedback on that element of the story.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2018 06:33 am Title: In Which a Friendship Is Reluctantly Formed

I’m really enjoying how we are mostly seeing Michael through the eyes of the other characters, it’s definitely an interesting way to view his character.

Author's Response: Yeah, I think I find I'm more interested in people's reactions to Michael than in Michael's reactions to the world, so you'll probably keep seeing 3rd-party impressions throughout ;). I'm glad that's working for you.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2018 11:06 am Title: In Which a Friendship Is Reluctantly Formed

Lovely as always. Can’t wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Danke :). I'll try to keep them coming.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2018 06:29 am Title: In Which a Dessert is Almost, But Not Quite, Eaten

Okay. You already know that I love the callbacks to the show that you’ve been putting in. Laverne’s Pies, Tires Fixed Also showing up in this chapter is amazing.

But I am in absolute amazement at the “that mixed berry yogurt you’re about to eat had expired” moment that you’ve put in. It’s amazing. You’re amazing. This story is amazing. Definitely one of my favorite things I’ve read on this website if not in the larger FF world in general, and even then. I am in love with this version of these characters!

Author's Response: :). I have been working towards that one for several chapters so I'm really glad it worked for you. 

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2018 07:07 pm Title: In Which Four People Meet in Hyde Park

Smitten Jim is adorable!

And I am loving all the subtle canon inserts like the “madeira” in this chapter but so far I’m most impressed with Scotts tots. That one got a good laugh!

Author's Response: I'm glad! I just couldn't resist that joke; not as subtle as some but I thought worth it. Glad it tickled someone else's funny bone too!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2018 05:53 pm Title: In Which Four People Meet in Hyde Park

Love this chapter as I have loved all the others! Great details. My favorite is Jim and Mark getting tispy and singing songs!

Author's Response: Thanks! Drunk Jim has a special place in my heart. 

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2018 10:57 am Title: In Which the Mail Arrives

Poor Jim seems to have lost some of his spark, that party and Pamela Beesly sure did a number on him!
Mark seems like a fun guy, I hope we see more of him.

Author's Response: Poor Jim indeed! He'll be back to the Jim we all know and love soon. And there will definitely be more Mark.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2018 10:51 am Title: In Which the Mail Arrives

I died laughing at Robert Vance being the Ice King of London! That is hilarious. I really love the way you incorporate all the characters and little moments from the show (such as the George Foreman) and do it so seamlessly. Fantastic job. I wish I had a hundred more jelly beans to give but I’m out already, so just know that I am loving every chapter!

Author's Response:

Thanks! I stole that description from Terry Pratchett ( though his character is King of a different liquid). And I'm glad someone noticed the George Foreman description ;) 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2018 06:11 am Title: In Which Observations are Made

I was out of pocket for a few days and was so excited to see multiple chapters! This has very quickly become a favorite. I’ve been wondering when Roy would show up and I have to say, I love how you’ve written him. I like seeing his side of the story, so to speak, or at least his thoughts on Jim. I think you definitely nailed it. I can’t wait to see how they interact next, outside of the party!

Author's Response: Thank you.  I'm always worried about my depiction of Roy, so I'm glad you are enjoying it. 

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2018 04:05 pm Title: In Which a First Impression is Made and Marred

I am in love with this. as others have mentioned I am so impressed at you being able to mimic the writing style. Loved that little Cuginos reference and the way you incorporate Pam and Roy's history (their young love and delayed wedding makes much more sense in Regency terms!)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you noticed the little Cugino's touch. And you're totally right, the whole Pam/Roy plot makes much more sense in the 19th century (though I'm hardly sympathetic to Roy in either case...). Pam would feel quite spinstery at 25...

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2018 08:02 pm Title: In Which Jim Gathers Wool, and Pam Notices

Loving their quick witted back and forth!
Bracing myself for angst... bring it!

Author's Response: It shall be brought! After all, what is a JAM story without it?

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2018 08:02 pm Title: In Which Jim Gathers Wool, and Pam Notices

Loving their quick witted back and forth!
Bracing myself for angst... bring it!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2018 10:16 pm Title: In Which a Victory is Won

Haha! Oh, Kevin...

So clever, all of it! Im amazed at how quickly you’re able to write in this style.

Author's Response: Thank you! In some ways it's actually easier to write in this style, because each word in normal English becomes like three in this style so you always know what to say next...

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2018 10:51 am Title: In Which a Victory is Won

I am amazed at how you have transported these characters we know and love into a totally new setting and kept them so true to how they’re written on the show even as you navigate the complexity of the writing style. It’s truly remarkable. I look forward to your updates and am excited to see the next one!

Author's Response: Thank you! I've read four Regency romances in the past week to prepare, so it's good to know that it's filtering into the story like it should.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2018 12:29 pm Title: In Which a Game Begins and an Introduction is Made

Oh my gosh, this has me laughing out loud. SO perfect. I love it. Write it forever, please.

Author's Response: At the current pace, I just might ;). Thank you very much, and I'll endeavour to keep it up.

Reviewer: dwangela Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2018 10:59 am Title: In Which a Game Begins and an Introduction is Made

I’m forever impressed by your ability to carry Jim and Pam’s relationship throughout the various alternative universes you’ve created in this story and past stories alike. Your command of the language is entrancing to say the least, creating a tone of royalty whilst never losing the essence of their relationship. I guess there’s a reason you’re AOTM!

Author's Response: Why thank you very much. I hope you continue to think so as we progress through the story. There's a fine line between ornate language and losing the characters, and I'm glad to hear that so far I'm on the right side of it, here and elsewhere.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2018 06:04 am Title: In Which a Gentleman is Pulled, Unsuspectingly, into an Orbit

Oh my god, this is just so perfect. I was just involved in “The Importance of Being Earnest” at our community theatre so I am right now all about all things witty and English and hilarious. I am so impressed with your writing in this! Could have been written by Wilde himself. Can’t wait to read more! And congrats on AOTM!

Author's Response: "Earnest" is such a good play! I've been in it a couple of times. I appreciate the flattery, and don't worry--there will definitely be more.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2018 09:43 pm Title: In Which a Gentleman is Pulled, Unsuspectingly, into an Orbit

Yay! Glad you’re back with another one, and not surprisingly, it’s quite original. This is going to be fun!

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope it will be, I'm certainly enjoying it so far.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans