Reviews For Safe and Sound
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 08:59 pm Title: Day 374

Oh, this chapter.

I knew Angela's story was going to be sad but I still wasn't ready for it... I'm glad she was able to talk to Jim about it and that they were able to have that bit of a bonding over survivor's guilt.

And I especially love that even in her own grief, Angela just can't believe how dumb and naive Jim and Pam are concerning their little situation. Her passive comments were peak Angela.

Oh Jim. Oh Pam. The Larissa flashback/dream were lovely and sad all at once and I know that Jim's going to protect Pam the best he can but like, I'm not sure I'm emotionally ready to handle those kinds of scenes.

Everyone's going to be okay in the end, right NLM? RIGHT??

Author's Response: I mean do you really want me to give it away? (Also youíre assuming I even know whatís gonna happen 😆) thanks for your review. Writing a believable Angela is what Iím the most nervous about so Iím glad to hear Iím at least keeping her in character.

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2019 10:50 am Title: Day 124

Please continue updating this story I love it so much! Awesome

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2019 07:48 pm Title: Day 374

I may or may not have squealed out loud when I saw the update to this. I love this fix. And great chapter. Was nice to find out what happened to Ben and the wedge between Dwight and Angela. And of course love the surprise at the end. Can’t wait to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! Bout time for me to get cracking on the next installment!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2019 11:32 am Title: Day 374

Oooooh boy. Gonna have to leave Schrute Farms or get married, huh?
Good thing Jim has a ring.
Also good luck with labor and infancy in silence (still skeptical about that in AQP-world). Maybe there's a convenient waterfall?
Nice chapter.

Author's Response: Hopefully what I come up with is believable enough but like the movie readers may have to just not think about it too much 😆 thanks for your comment!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2019 08:47 am Title: Day 374

Jim's dream about Larissa was a little heartbreaking, however it did give some nice foreshadowing without giving anything away. Same goes for Angela's story. Everyone in this world has lost someone they've loved. You're doing a great job at exploring how people deal with that loss.

Now however, Jim and Pam have found something. Not only their love for each other, but a new life. I know they're both scared right now. For good reason too. However I get the feeling that this time Jim with maybe some help from a a certain beet farmer will be able to protect those they care about.

Glad you were able to update. Now like I said in a chat a while back, you can reward yourself by getting caught up on all the other wonderful fics being posted right now.

Author's Response: Yes, as far as post-apocalypse teams go Dwight is a first round pick ;-) Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 06:35 pm Title: Day 327

One of the things I love most about this story is that every single time, I get caught up in what's happening in the scene, I'm so invested in what's going on that I completely forget that oh hey, there's a demon and it's going to try to kill them.

I should have known that was coming while they were at the stream, but I honestly didn't. You got me good, there.

Dwight continues to delight me in the way only Dwight can, and I love that you're able to ease in the Pam/Dwight friendship. That was such a great little scene between them. Still worried about Angela though.

Poor Jim. Listen, I don't know what you have planned but here's the thing... I don't think he can handle another loss, so let's not lose Pam, okay? Okay.

I really love this a lot.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 06:07 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

"He was sure he didn't look handsome at all, he looked like a dumb office worker who couldn't stop gawking at a pretty girl." This was my favorite line out of the entire chapter - its so good!

"Jim couldn't resist a little teasing, lifting his head and putting his finger to his lips to shush her. Pam pressed her lips together in a tight smile and lifted a finger of her own, her middle finger" is a close second in favorite lines. That one made me laugh out loud.

As for that final scene, I mean, it was perfect and lovely and steamy and all the right things.

I'm very worried about Angela, though.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Coley, this was a fun chapter to write. We should start learning about Angela soon...

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 05:52 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

I'm amazed at how well you nailed Dwight and Angela's characters without any actual dialogue. That was brilliant! Also loved the inclusion of a paper airplane and the 1 in 6 odds of being murdered. And of course, Jim and Pam's silent banter is still spot on!

Author's Response: I can see that little scene with Dwight throwing a paper airplane at them so vividly so Iím glad you picked up on that. Also literally every line uttered at Schrute Farms in Money was perfectschlag so some homages were needed like the called back to the 1 in 6 XD

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: November 18, 2018 11:12 am Title: Day 327

NLM, reading your stories so completely sucks me in that it leaves me incapable of reviewing. It truly creates such a 3-D picture in my mind, that I find myself just sitting there, looking upstream, watching for the fox, peering to see what Jim is up to in the stream . . . it is literally difficult to leave and write a review. I had to read this chapter three times before I could extricate myself enough to write this. As much as I LOVE JAM, (and I do), this little paragraph is such a perfect example of the exquisite detail you use to paint a glorious picture:

 

Sitting back on her heels, she wiped her cheeks and nose and looked across the pond to see two shiny dark eyes looking back at her. It was a deer, completely frozen save its big ears rotating around its head. Pam didn't dare move, and the deer tilted its head for a drink from the pool. There was another movement and Pam gasped slightly when she saw it, a fawn, all spindly legs and lightly dotted with white. The mother lifted its head and began licking the fawn's nose, and when the fawn squinted its eyes Pam felt a smile break out, imagining a small child scrunching up their face and pouting as their mother tried to clean smudges off their cheek. 

 

Such quiet beauty, and I swear you share exactly what Jim and Pam feel for each other.  It is so soft and warm and joyful and tender.   Just amazing.  Sigh.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2018 04:59 pm Title: Day 327

Lots going on here. Jim and Pam being in love is great fun, and your descriptions are wonderful. Very easy to see in the minds eye everything they're getting into, >;)

The added backstory is nice too. Give a lot more perspective on how things came to be where they are. The trick with the radio is promising too. It'll be interesting to see how that pans out.

Can't wait for the next update.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2018 01:53 pm Title: Day 327

See, I try not to bug you about updates, but then you go and write something like this and I almost can't help myself. First things first, that playlist is wonderful! I read the last chapter and then this new chapter twice while listening to it and, oh, it is so perfect. I mean, the Civil Wars (especially Safe and Sound with Taylor Swift!) music is just so perfect and so fitting for this story, especially.
I think this capture caught every nuance and emotion that makes this story unique. I am thoroughly impressed with how you keep them in-character (Jim being so protective, silently withdrawn, etc.) and the relationships canon (you are weaving that Dwight and Pam friendship beautifully) but it is still completely applicable to this world. There are also great moments from the movie (the discovery about the frequency, the waterfall) that aren't overdone, but help move the story along.
Part of what I love about this story (I mean, other than scenes like the stream, um, encounter) is how these characters have such great relationships but are also on their own journey with the Before. You've done a great job with all four characters, but this one was about the girls for me.
I'm worried about Angela! You've written her grief in such a delicate, hands-off way, but you've kept her, her. So I feel like you are going to have her crack or have a major badass moment (I'm hoping for the second!) But I'm worried with what she's carrying around. Bravo to you for making me feel real things for these fake people! :D
Pam's backstory in this chapter is written beautifully. I love her admission about Roy and how she handled Jim's confession about the guilt he carries with Larissa. That was a nice moment. Pam's wandering through the woods until she comes across the mailbox was great. I appreciate that tone of understated fate that she would come across it. Oh, and the connection to Penny and Larissa! So nice!
Way to go! This really is one of my favorite stories on this site; it's unique and familiar at the same time in all the right ways. Thank you for the update!

Author's Response: Thank you for the great review! Yes one thing Iíve enjoyed is getting to do these flashbacks and explore how Pam and Jim got to this point. We will learn more about Angela soon, but she is small yet fierce, sheís not as delicate as Dwight paints her. I had a few ides for the last scene but I like the mailbox, it was a I hope non cheesy way to have Larissa be the reason Jimí and Pam met. I will try to get the next chap out sooner than 2.5 months from now XD

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2018 06:25 am Title: Day 327

YAY! I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS TO BE UPDATED!! I love this fic so much. Thank you for the chapter and a little more MA action :)

Author's Response: Youíre welcome, there will be more, donít worry ;-)

Reviewer: JimPamWatch Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2018 01:57 am Title: Day 327

I'm hoping that feedback discovery can be used to somehow keep our heros alive. I'm honestly even attached to the goats at this point. This is really great though. Thanks for the update!

Author's Response: You are talking to the queen of ďgets way too attached to animals in moviesĒ so yes Iím pretty fond of Hilde, Hans and Miss Grayson now. We will see about the feedback ;-)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 25, 2018 05:40 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

So I've finally gotten around to reading this. Wow. Granted I haven't seen "AQP" so I looked up the synopsis online and I think I get most of what you're referring to. However I've loved how you've woven elements of "The Office" into this tale. Very vivid descriptions of everything. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2018 04:22 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

NLM, the way you let us join Jim and Pam on their journey of discovery is so natural. You don't hit us over the head with anything: So they are married, they just don't wear rings while working, Jim thought walking to the Night Time room, that's understandable. But they also clearly slept in separate bedrooms, and there was definitely a distance when they interacted. Jim had a feeling the boy Angela was holding in the picture in the basement had something to do with that.  So wistfully sad!

The references back to canon are delightful: 

"Then we must be staying at The Embassy Beets," and "It's called Sing,".     You elicit a familiarity and the warmth of our recognizable friends.

The hot stuff is pretty darn hot (how's that for stating the obvious - ha!). And it ends with fun stargazing, that is easy to picture in the mind's eye of Schrute Farms.

You clearly research so many details . . .  it adds to the sense of adventure, and in this chapter in particular, the sense of danger has fallen away to the distant background. 

Okay, I have to go back to the kitchen at the Farm to wait for the next chapter.  I hope they don't sleep too long --- I am anxious for the next day!  :) 

 



Author's Response: Thank you Clover, yes I benefit greatly from having the farm episode to refer back to.

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2018 01:55 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

This was a great chapter. Not only for the smut, which was hot and sweet, but to see some of the farm episode throwback in many ways. Can’t wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you, yes this was all a great reminder how much I love the money episode <3

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2018 12:41 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

NLM - in order to review this, I have to acknowledge your existence, meaning acknowledging that there is an author, meaning that I am reading something that is not actually happening. I haven't arrived there yet. As soon as I do, I will write a review. :) Preview:

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2018 09:51 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

This chapter was lovely! I am SO impressed with how you write Dwight and Angela so accurately but while silent. When Jim notices the picture of her holding the boy (and realizes there is a story there) my chin gets a little quiver-y. Oh, where are you going to take that storyline?!?!
I knew Pam was hopeful for good reason! 😉 But seriously that bedroom scene was swoon worthy! I will forever love that she gave him the middle finger; I 100% believe JAM knows how to laugh during sexy time and this was soooo in-character with him teasing and her smart ass response. Perfect!
That story at the end is lovely! There is nothing I love more in fanfic than pillow talk, which is super-hard when there can’t be much talk at all, but you completely pulled it off.
So...does that waterfall show up that you can scream behind and the silencers don’t hear you? Asking for a friend...

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review, This was by far the steamiest thing Iíve ever written, so hearing it was swoon worthy is a great compliment, and yes, the middle finger bit is a favorite moment. I donít know if there will be a waterfall for your friend but there may be something else ;-)

Reviewer: DoctorCinderella Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2018 03:17 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

Oh my goodness this was amazing! I’m new to the site and this has to be one of my favorites so far! It’s a fun twist to both The Office and AQP. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for no angst but I know I’m probably wrong. Eeeek!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2018 07:40 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

Oh, NLM, your story makes me want to buy AQP just to remind me how spot-on this is. Okay, here we go with what I love:
I love that Pam is the braver one at the beginning of the story (and if that bravery is motivated by the delicious-smelling meat, I can't blame her). You amazingly show Intuitive Pam without dialogue. What?! How did you do that?!
I so often shy away from trying to write Dwight and Angela because I don't know if I can "capture" them fully when writing dialogue. Yet you SPOT-ON 100% fully capture them individually...in silence. Again I ask: How do you do that?!
I also sort of love that Angela is driven by this need to be a "proper and hospitable hostess" but that judgment quickly rears its ugly (albeit, silent) head.
1 in 6 chance of getting murdered = Me Rolling!!
I adore your notes about researching the goats (I know so much random stuff due to fanfiction); you fit them into the story nicely.
I am a huge fan of the Dwight/Jim, Dwight/Pam, Dwight/JAM friendship. I love that each dynamic is unique and OMG you completely captured that. Jim praising Pam's fishing skills and the little exchange about what he brings to the table was so perfect.
I am so excited about where you are taking this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! I always thought Pam was braver than she seemed, especially when she had Jim's support, so I enjoyed making her the "braver one" here. I was definitely nervous about actually writing Dwight and Angela, so I'm very please to hear I'm doing them justice so far. And yes, Angela wanting to be a good hostess but also unable to turn off her judgy-ness is pretty much what I was going for. And yes I did a lot of goat research! I even watched a couple "how to milk goats" videos this is how dedicated I am! Hope you continue to enjoy the story!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21, 2018 03:29 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

New reader, love this fic!! Love the AQP tie in with the Office

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2018 10:16 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

I'm interested to hear how D&A got together in this universe. I definitely like their characterization, and yay JAM single bedroom.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2018 09:40 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

So happy to see our friends again and find out what they're up to. Love how the sign language allows them to communicate privately, without Angela and Dwight knowing what their saying. It heightens their intimacy. Love the MeeMaw reference! Just giggled when I read "I still think a 1 in 6 chance of getting murdered, but if it happens they'll be nice about it."  Your attention to detail, the cat, the goats, the child's drawing, the sound-proofing to the garage, the clawed sign and solar panels, Dwight's detailed contract, all those details paint a beautiful, vivid picture!  And this chapter is fun!  I smiled through so much of it, visualizing our beloved characters (including D and A) in this familiar, but altered setting.  I love how you keep the characters true, regardless of what they are doing.

Still smiling, thinking about the chapter to come!  Love it all!  :)



Author's Response: Thank you so much, I may have rewatched "Money" before writing this chapter to try to pick up some of the details of Schrute Farm, though transitioning from the Abbotts in AQP to Dwights place was pretty natural

Reviewer: SadParallel Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 05:42 pm Title: Day 124

Ah goddamn it, I knew I should have waited until it was finished before starting it. Now I'm going to have to wait for the next chapter. At least they admitted it this chapter, if they hadn't I wouldn't be able to rest knowing that.
Anyway, really well done, I've not watched A Quiet Place because I'm a quivering pussy, but this almost convinced me to give it a try seeing as it inspired something so great. Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm not a horror movie person at all but I was able to handle AQP, more suspense than horror. Hope you like the recent chapters!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 07:05 am Title: Day 260

Oh! I also loved that dream. Well written, believable, and gut-wrenching.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans