Reviews For Safe and Sound
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: battlestarjim Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2018 10:21 am Title: Day 260

I'm so stressed right now, but in the best way possible. I'm loving this so far! I feel like you're developing the relationship at a steady and realistic rate, and hopefully nothing bad happens in the next chapter so it can stay that way. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2018 10:14 pm Title: Day 260

Oh NLM, this is just exquisite. I feel so bad that I hounded you -- it was so totally worth waiting for. My heart just swells while I read it -- you paint such gorgeous pictures of their quiet relationship. You say so much in moments that don't have a lot of action. But now, you are right, it will be torture to wait through this cliff-hanger. Letting out a deep breath . . . . love this story even more now. :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2018 07:07 pm Title: Day 260

Talk about a Friday cliffhanger! I’m sitting here on the edge of my seat worried not only about the silencer breaking into the cabinet but also the “them” of Jim’s dream. Hmm...

The flashback to Jim and Larissa was done so well, and I loved how you even managed to incorporate a little bit of ‘Receptionist Pam’ in at the beginning. Really can’t wait for the next update!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 06:04 pm Title: Day 260

How DARE you end this chapter on such a cliffhanger! I will be waiting desperately for your next update because I cannot WAIT to see Jim get all hot and protective.

Anyway, what I love-the dreams, Pam painting the calendar, the continued back story, and the way you really had me believing we were about to get some life affirming silent action happening right up until the silencer came in. This whole story is so gripping and engaging. Can this be the AQP sequel, please?

Reviewer: With_An_E Signed [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 12:31 pm Title: Day 124

You are such a beautiful writer. This is a really interesting fic!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 11:04 am Title: Day 260

Oh my GOD you can’t leave us hanging like that!
Wow. So many things. I don’t know why you were so worried about this chapter—you’re doing a beautiful job. I love how seamlessly the past transitions into the present. The dream was my favorite part. Kind of reminded me of Harry Potter 😉 Im trying to figure out if Pam is pregnant with Roy’s baby, or if/when we’ll finally see a little Jam lovin’. Keep it up!!!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 10:02 am Title: Day 260

Well, that's a cliffhanger for you. I was so enjoying their dynamics in this chapter yoo. Looking forward to the next.

Reviewer: emilydeschanel Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2018 12:55 pm Title: Day 193

I LOVE this story, can't wait for the next chapter. Also the cover is beautiful! :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2018 01:13 pm Title: Day 193

"I'm not actually thinking about leaving in the spring, you know?" I might have clapped my hands at that line - it was just so sweet and lovely and completely in character that I loved it a lot.

This chapter was so suspenseful! You wrote the mix of subtle Christmas cheer and the fear of being attacked so well and I love that they're becoming closer as time goes on... and the card! Of course there was a card.

I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Coley, I debated that line a lot so I'm happy to hear it works. next chapter finally up!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2018 09:52 pm Title: Day 193

The silencer name reminded me of The Walking Dead, in that different groups of people have different names for the Walkers. So although that name was not used in the movie, it totally makes sense that there would be different names by different people.

Author's Response: Yes, that's a little touch I really like on TWD and I actually had that exact thing in mind for this fic, that every group would have their own names for them. And yes we'll be meeting others soon and they're have their own unique names for the monsters ;-)

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2018 05:29 pm Title: Day 193

Ugh sooo good. Even having seen the movie, the way you described the silencer (is that their official name? If not, I LOVE IT) was chilling. The interaction between Jim and Pam is written so naturally, and I have to say that I am a fan of them getting to know each other in this weird and scary context. I also really like the way you incorporate details about their life before the invasion, like in this chapter with the look into Pam and Roy’s relationship pre and post aliens. I love this story, I love you, I can’t wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you BT! I believe credit for "silencer" goes to BecauseOfYou, and I'm thrilled to hear it was chilling because this is my first time attempting to write anything suspenseful or scary. I'm also love writing them meeting and learning about each other in this environment, so much about Jim and Pam is non-verbal so I think it's all pretty natural. Now to get going on the next chapter!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2018 08:35 am Title: Day 193

So many things in this chapter! But I think what encompasses it all is that you write this world so, so well. The little Office world peek-ins are perfectly laid. Holy bananas. I can’t wait for more! And the card!!!

Author's Response: Thank you, yes, this thing just keep getting longer and longer (twss >.<) I thought about splitting it in two, but I figured we MTTers don't shy away from long chapters. I've kind of challenged myself to try to work in Office references without it being contrived or cheesy, so glad to hear I'm successful so far!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2018 07:23 am Title: Day 193

Yay! Update! This story is great. Also, did you know you and I swap spots in the most-words-written ranking every time you update? Keep it up!

Author's Response: I did not know that! Now I guess we're in a little bit of a competition now, or maybe we should combine forces and try to take over Rach3ls word count XD. Also kind of cool to see at least 5 currently active authors on that list and working their way up, not bad for a show that ended 5 years ago!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2018 10:26 pm Title: Day 193

Wow, I love the descriptions of the night skies and nature's sounds. What a wonderful by-product of this new, scary world. Ooooh, the appearance and then disappearance of the Christmas card! And sweetness and love ensues! Happy sigh! So beautiful and scary all at once.

Author's Response: That was something that struck me about the movie, so many zombie/post-apocalyptic movies are purposefully gray and dingy but AQP was actually quite colorful and beautiful, so I want the character in this to occasionally notice and appreciate that. The card was a little brain burst as I wrote that scene and I'm glad it fit well.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2018 10:46 am Title: Day 152

Excellent. This is one of my favorite things about fan fiction, seeing known characters in an entirely different situation but still "our" characters.

Author's Response: Thank you, and yes I love that element of fanfic also! Hopefully as this story progresses, I can keep them still feeling like "our" Jim & Pam

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2018 11:38 pm Title: Day 152

There is so much tenderness in this story, it turns my heart to mush. Pam is smart and helpful and a bit shellshocked. Jim is even more vulnerable, but determined to protect Pam, in spite of his sense of dread. They are depending on each other more and more, with genuine caring and concern. All the little details bring so much life to this sweet, scary story.

Author's Response: Wow, you summarized my exact goals with the characters much better than I could! Thanks for reading :-)

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2018 09:29 am Title: Day 152

I love how you set this world up! And you do it so well. It’s really like getting a lot of my questions about AQP answered but with a pairing that I’m a little more emotionally invested in. ;) You mix the hardness and the sadness with the light and funny so well, especially in this chapter. Can’t wait for the next!

Author's Response: Thank you! Humor was always a coping mechanism for Jim and Pam, especially Jim, so I easily picture him trying to find all the humor he can even in this situation. Plus I highly appreciate any dystopian/apocalyptic movie that can work in a little humor and levity, can't be doom and gloom all the time!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2018 07:33 am Title: Day 152

I believe Jim being able to draw strength from his experience with Larissa to help Pam was a great step forward in both of their healing process. I love how you brought that all together.

I think one of my favorite things about the story is that with the lack of proper oral communication they’re going to have to pay more attention to each others body language and facial expressions and that was very clear in this chapter, Jim is definitely becoming more intuitive with Pam.
But then when he did speak, whispering of course, it was done with purpose.

Author's Response: Thank you! In a lot of ways Jim and Pam were suited for this world, they're ability to communicate and just "get" each other with few words was a strength, that's probably half of what inspired me to write this!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2018 06:20 am Title: Day 152

This remains lovely, as most of your WIP are. Thanks for sharing. I love the flashbacks, though of course the JAM is the best part. Also, fyi, as someone who has not yet seen AQP, this still works.

Author's Response: That's good to hear it still works. I outlined this before I saw the movie so while there's plans to borrow a few more plot elements I'm hoping it can stand on it's own.

Reviewer: Rach3l Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2018 04:09 am Title: Day 152

You're a professional heartstring tugger! I love it.

Author's Response: Professional, huh? I'll take that compliment! :-D

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2018 09:14 am Title: Day 125

One thing I wanted more from AQP was backstory and a look at how in other people were handling the invasion. I love that you included some flashbacks in this story and that we got a glimpse of that! Excellent chapter and I can’t wait to read more.

Author's Response: Yes, I think the movie was wise to go with the limited scope that it did, but I was also definitely curious when the father lit the fire about those other nearby farms. But yes, a benefit of writing and writing this particular story is getting into the past and how it shaped the present and that's lots of fun

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2018 09:20 pm Title: Day 125

I'm not sorry to see Roy go... ;)

Although I guess even Roy doesn't deserve to be ripped apart by monsters.

Good job! Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Nah, I suppose he didn't, but I also think the fairytale ending he got on the show in S9 was a bit unearned also, he deserved something between the two ;)

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2018 05:25 pm Title: Day 125

Ohmygosh, on the edge of my seat! Excellent! Love where this is going! You've got me! :)

Reviewer: wheelbarrow28 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2018 02:20 pm Title: Day 124

I really can't wait to read the rest of this! Don't make us wait too long :)

Author's Response: next chapter and finally here and future chapters should come faster!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2018 06:31 am Title: Day 124

Yay! So excited for this!
I love the changes you made, I really think that worked out great. Also still not sold on that mac n cheese, lol!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans