Reviews For Safe and Sound
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2018 04:22 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

NLM, the way you let us join Jim and Pam on their journey of discovery is so natural. You don't hit us over the head with anything: So they are married, they just don't wear rings while working, Jim thought walking to the Night Time room, that's understandable. But they also clearly slept in separate bedrooms, and there was definitely a distance when they interacted. Jim had a feeling the boy Angela was holding in the picture in the basement had something to do with that.  So wistfully sad!

The references back to canon are delightful: 

"Then we must be staying at The Embassy Beets," and "It's called Sing,".     You elicit a familiarity and the warmth of our recognizable friends.

The hot stuff is pretty darn hot (how's that for stating the obvious - ha!). And it ends with fun stargazing, that is easy to picture in the mind's eye of Schrute Farms.

You clearly research so many details . . .  it adds to the sense of adventure, and in this chapter in particular, the sense of danger has fallen away to the distant background. 

Okay, I have to go back to the kitchen at the Farm to wait for the next chapter.  I hope they don't sleep too long --- I am anxious for the next day!  :) 

 

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2018 01:55 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

This was a great chapter. Not only for the smut, which was hot and sweet, but to see some of the farm episode throwback in many ways. Can’t wait for more!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2018 12:41 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

NLM - in order to review this, I have to acknowledge your existence, meaning acknowledging that there is an author, meaning that I am reading something that is not actually happening. I haven't arrived there yet. As soon as I do, I will write a review. :) Preview:

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2018 09:51 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

This chapter was lovely! I am SO impressed with how you write Dwight and Angela so accurately but while silent. When Jim notices the picture of her holding the boy (and realizes there is a story there) my chin gets a little quiver-y. Oh, where are you going to take that storyline?!?!
I knew Pam was hopeful for good reason! 😉 But seriously that bedroom scene was swoon worthy! I will forever love that she gave him the middle finger; I 100% believe JAM knows how to laugh during sexy time and this was soooo in-character with him teasing and her smart ass response. Perfect!
That story at the end is lovely! There is nothing I love more in fanfic than pillow talk, which is super-hard when there can’t be much talk at all, but you completely pulled it off.
So...does that waterfall show up that you can scream behind and the silencers don’t hear you? Asking for a friend...

Reviewer: DoctorCinderella Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2018 03:17 pm Title: Day 263: Evening

Oh my goodness this was amazing! I’m new to the site and this has to be one of my favorites so far! It’s a fun twist to both The Office and AQP. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for no angst but I know I’m probably wrong. Eeeek!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2018 07:40 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

Oh, NLM, your story makes me want to buy AQP just to remind me how spot-on this is. Okay, here we go with what I love:
I love that Pam is the braver one at the beginning of the story (and if that bravery is motivated by the delicious-smelling meat, I can't blame her). You amazingly show Intuitive Pam without dialogue. What?! How did you do that?!
I so often shy away from trying to write Dwight and Angela because I don't know if I can "capture" them fully when writing dialogue. Yet you SPOT-ON 100% fully capture them individually...in silence. Again I ask: How do you do that?!
I also sort of love that Angela is driven by this need to be a "proper and hospitable hostess" but that judgment quickly rears its ugly (albeit, silent) head.
1 in 6 chance of getting murdered = Me Rolling!!
I adore your notes about researching the goats (I know so much random stuff due to fanfiction); you fit them into the story nicely.
I am a huge fan of the Dwight/Jim, Dwight/Pam, Dwight/JAM friendship. I love that each dynamic is unique and OMG you completely captured that. Jim praising Pam's fishing skills and the little exchange about what he brings to the table was so perfect.
I am so excited about where you are taking this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! I always thought Pam was braver than she seemed, especially when she had Jim's support, so I enjoyed making her the "braver one" here. I was definitely nervous about actually writing Dwight and Angela, so I'm very please to hear I'm doing them justice so far. And yes, Angela wanting to be a good hostess but also unable to turn off her judgy-ness is pretty much what I was going for. And yes I did a lot of goat research! I even watched a couple "how to milk goats" videos this is how dedicated I am! Hope you continue to enjoy the story!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21, 2018 03:29 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

New reader, love this fic!! Love the AQP tie in with the Office

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2018 10:16 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

I'm interested to hear how D&A got together in this universe. I definitely like their characterization, and yay JAM single bedroom.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2018 09:40 pm Title: Day 263: Afternoon

So happy to see our friends again and find out what they're up to. Love how the sign language allows them to communicate privately, without Angela and Dwight knowing what their saying. It heightens their intimacy. Love the MeeMaw reference! Just giggled when I read "I still think a 1 in 6 chance of getting murdered, but if it happens they'll be nice about it."  Your attention to detail, the cat, the goats, the child's drawing, the sound-proofing to the garage, the clawed sign and solar panels, Dwight's detailed contract, all those details paint a beautiful, vivid picture!  And this chapter is fun!  I smiled through so much of it, visualizing our beloved characters (including D and A) in this familiar, but altered setting.  I love how you keep the characters true, regardless of what they are doing.

Still smiling, thinking about the chapter to come!  Love it all!  :)



Author's Response: Thank you so much, I may have rewatched "Money" before writing this chapter to try to pick up some of the details of Schrute Farm, though transitioning from the Abbotts in AQP to Dwights place was pretty natural

Reviewer: SadParallel Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 05:42 pm Title: Day 124

Ah goddamn it, I knew I should have waited until it was finished before starting it. Now I'm going to have to wait for the next chapter. At least they admitted it this chapter, if they hadn't I wouldn't be able to rest knowing that.
Anyway, really well done, I've not watched A Quiet Place because I'm a quivering pussy, but this almost convinced me to give it a try seeing as it inspired something so great. Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm not a horror movie person at all but I was able to handle AQP, more suspense than horror. Hope you like the recent chapters!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 07:05 am Title: Day 260

Oh! I also loved that dream. Well written, believable, and gut-wrenching.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 07:03 am Title: Days 261-263

Dwight! Yea! I hope Angela is there too!!
When Jim took her calendar I got all warm and fuzzy inside. I love little moments of hope in post apocalypse stories. And apparently Pam was a little hopeful, given her choices from their supply run. Go on, Pam!
I also have to say, I appreciate how you addressed casually but without too much detail how there is a lot of, um, faculties that are not addressed in post apocalyptic movies. 😂

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 06:44 am Title: Day 260

Wow! This is amazing!
I got my earbud sharing (oooooohhhhhhh that song choice had me rolling on the floor and I had to go listen to it again for old times sake) and a little Jam snuggling. Woohoo! Love the calendars Pam is painting! That little domestic bit where they are cleaning dishes was blissful!

Author's Response: I'm a huge fan of Domestic JAM so writing that in this story is fun. And yes deciding on songs has also provided a few trips down memory lane for me.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2018 06:08 am Title: Day 193

I actually thought “Howard’s” (I guessed it was sneaky Ryan!) friend you referenced earlier was Kelly. One of my favorite aspects of AU is repurposing characters. Great job with that one.
Oooohhhh, that gift to Pam! I look forward to where you are going to take that.
They’re sharing a bed! Something’s happening! I feel like these two have some earbud sharing in their future. 👏👏👏
I love where you’re taking this story. I’m so fascinated with how our beloved characters will show up. Great work and keep at it!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 11, 2018 08:42 pm Title: Day 125

After our chat, I finally rented AQP and then picked up here. I am so glad I waited. Although I’m still a little emotional, and it’s all a bit fresh for me. But yessssss it set the tone. 🤫

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2018 06:53 pm Title: Days 261-263

I was so sad at the beginning of this chapter when they had to leave the cabin, but it's all okay because they're each other's homes now. *happy sigh*

Oh man... Shrute Farms.. this is going to be good!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2018 10:10 pm Title: Days 261-263

Omg I just love it all so much. The tension was great, their journey was great, the way they finally admitted how they felt to each other was fabulous. Also, I REALLY love how you describe the sign language in this story. I think it adds so much. Great job as per usual. I am on the edge of my seat for the next one!

Author's Response: Thanks BT! I agree about the sign language adding so much, Pam & Jim (especially Jim) always said more with their facial expressions than they did with words and incorporating sign language comes pretty naturally. I'm hoping to get the next chapter up soon!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2018 09:07 pm Title: Days 261-263

“You’re my home”

Done.
Ugh. I love this so much. Aside from the obviously intentional cliffhanger. You do this so well, with the fact that they didn’t actually know each other’s before moving so seamlessly with the world of The Office. Can’t wait to see more!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2018 07:39 pm Title: Days 261-263

This story is just magical for me. With each new chapter I am able to completely submerge myself into it --- the perfect combination of the tenderness of A Quiet Place and the tenderness of their all-consuming love. This exchange really got me: "And you lost your home," Pam signed, her chin trembling. Jim placed his hand on her shoulders and shook his head again. "The only thing that made that place home was you," he signed. He pointed to her, then touched his chest with his palm and with fingers gathers tapped his cheek and then his jaw. "You're my home." He was blurry in her vision now but Pam could see his small smile. She took a step forward and lifted her arms to put around his shoulders. His long arms wrapped around her middle and pulled her up and into his chest. "You're my home too," she whispered. 

 And then of course, there was this:   He pointed to his heart, then crossed his forearms over his chest and finally pointed to her.

You're killin' me NLM!  So good!  Can't wait to see Dwight.  And Angela?  :)



Author's Response: I rewatched AQP recently and it really is a story about love above everything else so making it a JAM story isn't all that much of a leap. Writing them communicating in sign language is also an easier-than-thought transition, I was nervous but it's actually pretty easy to imagine scenes like in this chapter and for them to express their feelings easily without words. You're this story's number one fan so I hope I can deliver!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2018 06:28 pm Title: Days 261-263

DWIGHT DWIGHT DWIGHT DWIGHT. Sorry, I'm excited. This was a lovely chapter--didn't conform to my expectations, but only in the sense that things happened I didn't expect, not that the characters were not what I expected. I loved it.

Author's Response: I definitely prefer to be unexpected in a good way than in a bad way XD. I'm excited too, I haven't written Dwight K Schrute much so I hope I can do him justice

Reviewer: battlestarjim Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2018 10:21 am Title: Day 260

I'm so stressed right now, but in the best way possible. I'm loving this so far! I feel like you're developing the relationship at a steady and realistic rate, and hopefully nothing bad happens in the next chapter so it can stay that way. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I feel bad for leaving it at a cliffhanger for so long but the next chapter is finally up!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2018 10:14 pm Title: Day 260

Oh NLM, this is just exquisite. I feel so bad that I hounded you -- it was so totally worth waiting for. My heart just swells while I read it -- you paint such gorgeous pictures of their quiet relationship. You say so much in moments that don't have a lot of action. But now, you are right, it will be torture to wait through this cliff-hanger. Letting out a deep breath . . . . love this story even more now. :)

Author's Response: Don't worry about hounding me, I need lots of nudges, but knowing you're enjoying reading is also great motivation, I hope I continue to live up to expectations!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2018 07:07 pm Title: Day 260

Talk about a Friday cliffhanger! I’m sitting here on the edge of my seat worried not only about the silencer breaking into the cabinet but also the “them” of Jim’s dream. Hmm...

The flashback to Jim and Larissa was done so well, and I loved how you even managed to incorporate a little bit of ‘Receptionist Pam’ in at the beginning. Really can’t wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad you said something about Receptionist Pam, I thought that was a fun little tidbit. After much delay the next chapter is up!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 06:04 pm Title: Day 260

How DARE you end this chapter on such a cliffhanger! I will be waiting desperately for your next update because I cannot WAIT to see Jim get all hot and protective.

Anyway, what I love-the dreams, Pam painting the calendar, the continued back story, and the way you really had me believing we were about to get some life affirming silent action happening right up until the silencer came in. This whole story is so gripping and engaging. Can this be the AQP sequel, please?

Author's Response: Thanks BT! havent gotten the call to write the AQP sequel yet but I'm hopeful!

Reviewer: With_An_E Signed [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 12:31 pm Title: Day 124

You are such a beautiful writer. This is a really interesting fic!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans