Reviews For Through the Glass
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: WishYouWould Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2018 12:56 pm Title: Come Whatever May

Okay, so when I first started to read this, I got to the line that first references his sexual abuse in prison and I Noped out. Hard.

But I came back and kept reading after a few weeks, I think it was. And I’m glad I did. Because this is just really, really well done. 

I love how it all worked out in the end, I love their journey together, and the way you changed their characters just enough to fit the story but not so much that we can’t recognize our precious JAM.

Thank you for this, amazing work.  



Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm not sure why I didn't respond to your review already, but it means a lot that you came back after noping out. Myself, I have to be in a particular mood to read angst (much less write it!), and it doesn't happen often. 

Reviewer: elephantskeleton Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2018 08:13 pm Title: Reborn

I always love abuse recovery stories. It's cathartic and wonderful to see trauma become less and less of a burden for Jim as his life continues. Thank you for telling this story, it lifted me up.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2018 08:34 pm Title: Come Whatever May

Rach3l, I love all this additional information! In spite of all the truly horrible things that happened to Jim, for me, the biggest knife-twist was the abandonment by his family and friends. That was just too much for me to handle. Of course, it allowed Pam to be the big savior, but it was just so, so painful. You portrayed his pain, and PTSD and fragility SO vividly -- it was hard to read!

Author's Response: I'm truly flattered! As an unusual person myself, with unusually weak family ties, that was not the most difficult part of the story to write. I love hearing your perspective. Thank you! <3

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2018 08:25 pm Title: Come Whatever May

When I read one of your stories, I get so attached to your versions of Jim and Pam that I crave more of them and the world you’ve created for them after I finish. You have such a talent and we are so lucky to have you share it with us. Excellent job with a serious and heavy subject, excellent dialogue and inner monologues/trains of thought, excellent conflict and resolution and excellent everything in between. All around excellent work. I genuinely look forward to your next endeavor!

Author's Response: Thank you so much <3 I am still looking for inspiration for my next story.

Reviewer: MamaLo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2018 12:06 pm Title: Come Whatever May

I just love your stories. Your AUs are such a wonderful journey to read. Can’t wait for your next one!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! I hope I can find another topic to explore before long.

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2018 08:01 am Title: Miracles

Cheeky Shrek reference there... I caught that XD

Author's Response: Oh really really?? ;D

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2018 09:09 pm Title: Come Whatever May

You write so beautifully. You painted such a vivid picture of a haunted Jim. You got into both of their heads simultaneously. I see them in my mind while I read, and because of that, this story was very disturbing and upsetting in so many ways. I'm actually a little bit mad at you, which shows the power of your writing. Much of the disturbing things were resolved, but not all. But my favorite part, what made me laugh, was Pam's gradual admission of the truth of her physical changes --- that made me laugh. And I think I kind of liked the fact that she wasn't quite so "perfect", and the only thing that Jim noticed, he appreciated! Great story Rach3l, as usual!

Author's Response:

Thank you for hating me! I did my best to "normalize" the trauma Jim went through by calling back to it randomly, but without necessarily letting it ruin the moment he was in. I have a lot of personal experience with intrusive thoughts, so I hope/believe that this was realistically done.

Jim doesn't see a counselor by the end of the story. He was too afraid to seek counseling during his sentence, because of how it might cause his cellmate to react. And afterward, he was too busy with life and too poor to investigate the option. I tried to set that up by showing his perception of the group counselor he had in jail as relatively useless, and Pam's reticence to push him. As to whether he possibly sees one in the future, I leave to the reader's fertile imagination. 

I really enjoyed setting up Pam's weight gain and Jim's positive perception of it--so very glad that it was picked up on. :) This is one of the reasons that I do not post chapter-by-chapter. I like to add little callbacks as the story progresses, and this one didn't occur to me until I was almost finished with the story.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2018 08:41 pm Title: Reborn

Holy hell that was beautiful. Your words paint pictures that should be hung in galleries. I think I’ve said this before, but you have such a gift of taking these extraneous situations and the kno them into amazing Jam-ness. LOVED it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I feel somewhat adrift now because I can't think of anything else to write about. HMMM

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2018 07:34 pm Title: Reborn

Jim needs to fire his lawyer(s) for that punishment, but the story you weave out of it is really amazing. Good work with the darker themes again.

Author's Response: I am no legal expert, but part of the point was that Abe wasn't a particularly good lawyer :) 

Reviewer: BringingTheJam Signed [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2018 07:20 pm Title: Come Whatever May

You are such an amazing storyteller! I can't tell you how excited I get when I see you have another story up.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading! It would be difficult to bring myself to post these stories if nobody paid attention :) A'though I'd probably still write them. JAMaholics unite!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans