You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:49 am Title: ROSC

Aww, yay Ethan! We love when the good guys get a win.

As a side note, apart from Jim and Pam - thank you for this little look into your day to day! It’s so important to remember that it’s not at all like what we see on tv, and that you’re out there doing really, really good work that definitely isn’t easy and is, I’m sure at times, super emotional. Thanks for that reminder :)

Now I’m going to go make sure our AED is up to date and see when the next CPR training is for the office.

Author's Response: Trust me I love when we get one in the win column too. Most of the time my "wins" come not from Class 1 saves as we call them, but from other calls. Using a medicine called Narcan to correct a heroin overdose for example. Helping the fire department pull people out of the crushed cars after and accident and getting them to the hospital. When a patient tells me "I'm a hard IV start," and I get the IV on the first try. Stuff like that.

Glad to know you're looking into your AED and CPR class. Like I (or in this case Ethan) said the more people who know how to use an AED and perform good CPR the better.

Thanks for all the reviews as well. It means a lot to know people are still keeping up with this story.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:38 am Title: Class 1

This is great! It’s like I got a little of my beloved Grey’s Anatomy in the middle of a Jam fic and speaking as a sucker for left field drama... I’m totally for this. At least, I am now that I know he’s pulse is back. It seemed like he was down for a long time though, but maybe it just felt like that because I was so into what I was reading.

He’s okay, right? Right?

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm sure for family members an event like this does seem to drag out. I blame TV for that one. There's only so much time a show can spare but in the real world stuff like this takes a long time. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:28 am Title: Shot to the Heart

I’m out of jellybeans for this story so let’s pretend I’m handing them out with every review going forward.

I like your take on this episode! It never occurred to me that Pam wouldn’t know they didn’t have to come in on Saturday.

A Larissa sighting! I have to say, I love your using these sisters to bring in so much of Jim and Pam’s backstory. I wouldn’t hate it at all if they were the ones who finally solved the mystery of Jamie and Morgan. Just saying.

Well! That’s a mean cliffhanger! I’m kind of glad I don’t have to wait to read the next chapter. Off I go... Jim better be okay!

Author's Response: Yeah I went back and watched and Roy and Pam left before Micheal gave everyone else the day off. And who would tell her? Jim clearly, but as I mentioned he was kind of down after hearing the hot tub comments right as Pam was leaving. Roy for sure wouldn't care enough to double check. So there's Pam by herself on a Saturday sitting at her desk.

Don't worry Larissa and Penny will both have parts to play later. We rarely got the main cast interacting with friends outside DM in the show, but I don't think that's as true to life. I get that it's a show and you have to stay on your cast, but still. So we'll be seeing them again.


Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:15 am Title: Murals and Marriage

I’ve said it before and I’m going to say it again. Roy. Is. The. Worst.

That said, I did enjoy this little peek into their counseling session. Let’s hope it was as eye opening for Pam as it was for me! Roy is just... ugh, I don’t even feel bad that his dad died anymore.

I did like Pastor Dan though. His comments were a nice touch and seemed very true to life. See? Even he knows this marriage is a bad idea. Pam just needs to get there.

I hope Roy’s team lost the game that day though.

Author's Response: Grief can hold a powerful effect on people. Even years after an event. That's kind of what I was going for with Roy in this chapter. Yes even if it means he acts like this. I'm glad Pastor Dan came across well. It was a challenge to try and make him approachable for anyone without being to preachy.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:08 am Title: The New Jamie

“No, she doesn’t get to feel bad about her drawings.” I really loved that line.

Roy is bad enough, but Roy and Todd together? Gross. They’re such jerks and that sounds like it would have been a terrible lunch break.

You know what duo I do approve of though? Jim and Penny. I love them teaming up to get Pam out of the office and the mall scene was great fluff.

First the golf pencil last chapter, and now the hot sauce packet. I see what you’re doing, and I like it.

Gah, Pam was so close to learning he’s Jamie! I almost forgot that part of the story, which was silly of me, but I was so wrapped up in watching them fall in love. :)

Author's Response: Yeah there's a couple themes going on. The teapot gifts obviously, but also them not quite finding out they met way back when.  In seasons 1 and 2 Jim and Pam clearly have a strong relationship, despite Pam being engaged. It's fun to explore how that came to be.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 06:54 am Title: Mini-Golf

You already know I’m a huge fan of your writing, but here’s what I’m realizing as I read this chapter. (I’m so happy to be reading this story again, btw!) I’m a really huge fan of your Jim. He’s just honestly great, and he’s so genuinely happy when Pam is happy. It’s hard to write that without it coming off as over the top and cheesy and you do a really great job with it.

This was a fun chapter! I always love seeing intepretations of the famed golf outing, but I think this is the first time I’ve giggled over Dwight and his one blue ball.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad my interpretation of Jim comes across well. Especially during these early years pre-camera. Dwight was also great fun to write here. I''m glad you're back and thanks for all the reviews.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2018 02:10 pm Title: ROSC

Warrior! Another great chapter! I really enjoyed all the procedures and explanations. I work in the medical field and I always enjoy learning more about each discipline. When you've been doing something for 8 years, like you have, you have a great perspective of what is common, what is rare, and what is just plain bizarre. The explanations de-mystify all the short-cut language which is spoken --- you did a great job with that! I wouldn't mind another trip through the world of EMS in the future. Maybe I'm in the minority, but I really enjoy it. And phew, I'm so glad Jim is going to make it, although he IS still unconscious! So I imagine we are in for a bit more suspense. By the way Warrior, have you delivered any babies???? :) Do you feel confident in that arena? (wink, wink)

Author's Response: Thanks. I've come close to delivering a baby in the field. We were dispatched to a pregnant lady having vaginal bleeding. She was in the back bathroom when we showed up. As I came around the corner she stood up from the toilet and shouted, "It's coming now!" She then leaned over and caught the kid as she delivered right there. I dropped my jump bag, kneeled down, grabbed the kid (who was crying up a storm) and looked over at my shocked partner and started asking for towels. So kind of. Both the mom and kid were fine. So yes, I'm pretty confident should the need arise.

Glad my explanations came across well. In addition to responding to calls I also help train new EMT's and paramedics, so it's part of the job to teach them how to translate medical jargon into layperson speak. We might be able to re-visit the crew of Medic 4 at some point. However this is primarily a JAM fic and we do need to keep things on track. Thanks for the feedback and the great questions last time.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2018 07:25 pm Title: ROSC

Oh man. You posted the previous chapter while we were on the road last weekend, so I didn't get to tell you how much I loved it. Despite the fact that it was so much less Jim and Pam, I was hooked instantly. Your knowledge of the field gave such an interesting and elegant perspective. I loved every second of it, same with this chapter. Also, this was such a welcomed curveball! Out of everything I expected to happen, Jim ending up in the hospital like this was nowhere near the top of my list. I can't wait to see what you do with this! Crossing my fingers for a little ER bedside heart to heart.

Author's Response: I think that's the first time I've ever heard a cardiac arrest described as a welcome curve ball. :) A heart to heart you say? Oddly enough I had an idea for something like that. Thanks for the feedback. It was fun to add in these chapters. I'm glad you enjoyed them as much as I did writing them.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2018 09:14 pm Title: Class 1

Good chapter Warrior! So a few questions: 1) without violating HIPAA laws, have you answered a call like this? (baseball to the chest causing an arrest) Was the victim young? 2) Is this a rare or surprisingly common occurence? 3) Do most victims survive? 4) What IS the success rate for CPR for cardiac arrest? My understanding is that it is relatively low. Thanks Warrior -- this is a great backdoor peek into first responder procedures. I'm guessing you have more in store since they're still at the ballfield. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks for the questions. Personally I have not responded to this specific situation. However, earlier in the chapter, where James was talking about the frequent flyer patient with no upper teeth due to meth, that's based on a real call. Baseball (or any other object) to the chest causing cardiac arrest is rare but not unheard of. When it does happen it's usually a young male patient playing some kind of sport. It's rare because for this to happen there needs to force applied right over the heart during a very specific 10-30 millisecond window in the 1 second long heart rate. So for any given heart beat there's a 1-3% chance that a blow to the chest right over the heart will cause this. Jim just got really unlucky here. Without prompt CPR and defibrillation (shocking the heart) the fatality rate for this situation is around 80%, with with prompt CPR and defibrillation it's around 65%.

In general how good a chance someone has to survive cardiac arrest has to do with a lot of factors. What's the cause of the arrest, the age of the patient, any underlying medical conditions, how soon good CPR was started, how soon an AED or other defibrillator was used, EMS or other medical responder response time, where one is in the country and if the EMS crews have things like "Pit-crew CPR" in place. That's the method I use and depicted in this chapter. Every person on the call has one specific job and they stay in that job unless the team leader orders them to switch. Just like a NASCAR pit crew. Things like that.
 
I've been a paramedic for over 8 years now. I'm sorry to say that TV and Hollywood tend to get it wrong when it comes to CPR. The majority of cardiac arrest calls I've responded to, end up with me calling a doctor on my radio and asking for a time of death. Now obviously that's not always the case. I've also been on plenty of cardiac arrest calls where we were doing CPR and everything else like I wrote here, and we did get pulses back. It's a great feeling. 

Yes we still have some more to go with Medic 4. Thanks for the review. I'm glad to be able to share this with everyone.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2018 10:04 pm Title: Shot to the Heart

Warrior, I totally forgot that you were going to include a story line that includes your area of expertise. It took me by surprise (and shock) when Jim collapsed, but then I truly appreciated the detail and accuracy of the life-saving activities that followed. Although I am fairly certain that Jim will survive, I have to tell you that the anxiety of the scene hit me hard anyway! I am anxious for the next chapter! Keep it coming Warrior!

Author's Response: I hope the anxiety wasn't to bad with that the scene at the end. I wanted it to kind of be a shock, no pun intended, after the nice fluffy day I'd just written. Also we've only seen the layperson response to a cardiac arrest. In the next chapter, I intend to bring you on the ambulance with me, or at least the medic I'll write into the story. Thanks for the review, always fun to get feedback.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2018 11:15 am Title: Shot to the Heart

I absolutely love your writing style... it’s just so human. I am fully immersed in everything you write, the visualizations come so effortlessly. Had to take a deep breath after this last chapter, whew! Can’t wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thank you. One of my favorite authors said it's the writers job to "paint a picture with words." I'm glad my the results of my writing are translating well. There will be a slight change in perspective for the next chapter, but hopefully it'll be as compelling as anything else. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Pan_cake_Cats Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2018 12:39 am Title: Murals and Marriage

oh my goodness, I can't believe I haven't read this until now. Gotta love a good slow burn with a little dramatic irony. I love this, can't wait for the next installment

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you're enjoying this story so far. Lots more to come rest assured.

Reviewer: Awimoweh Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2018 08:30 pm Title: Murals and Marriage

Wow, this is very different than anything else I've read here. Excellent exploration of how Roy might act at a counseling session. Definitely does not bring out his stellar side at all. Not much there to justify their relationship at all. I don't think I've ever been so disgusted with Roy as in this chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, Roy's not the best. Though I am glad to hear I've got something unique when it comes to a characterization. There's so much on here about these characters it can be challenging to come up with something new. In my mind Roy at this point in his life is the kind of guy who peaked in high school and then leveled out. Add to that, that he's not over losing his Dad, and I think it gives more depth to what is often seen as a one note character. At least that's my hope, even though I'm not a fan of Roy either. Thanks for the review. Always fun to get feedback.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21, 2018 08:15 pm Title: First Meeting

Delightful. I like your Penny. She's a good egg. I am forbidden from further jellybeans so I will just say I am very much enjoying it.

Author's Response: I'm going to assume this review was meant for the chapter "The New Jamie" rather than the first chapter of this story as it says on my screen. Thank you. It's my intent that Penny will be a good influence on Pam. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2018 06:33 pm Title: Mini-Golf

I'm glad that you didn't do all 18 holes (twss), but that you chose to highlight the little moments here between Jim and Pam. Having him double check that she didn't mind the nickname, sharing about their parents, the ice pack--all the makings of a friendship that that they need as that foundation. Don't think I didn't catch that "almost Morgan" in there ;) You're doing a great job with this!

Author's Response: Thanks. They clearly know each other very well by the time the cameras show up so it made sense to show just how that kind of thing builds and why even though Pam, being engaged, is so comfortable with Jim. So lots of fun in that regard. And you stumbled onto my secret, the almost finding out thing. We'll have to play with that some more won't we?

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2018 08:54 am Title: Mini-Golf

Oh man this was delightful. Good tension, both romantic and dramatic. I'd love to see more of the driving lessons sprinkled around, and I enjoyed your reason why Jim has the golf pencil.

Author's Response: Thanks. We all know that there will be quite of bit of angst coming since I'm keeping this story canon-correct so I wanted at least one angst free chapter before we get to all that. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2018 07:45 pm Title: The Zone

Oh man, a lot going on in this chapter! So many excellent callbacks to the universe we know and love.

Dwight is a delight. Roy is the worst.

Author's Response: Yeah, there's actually quite a bit of pre-camera backstory to be found within cannon. The picture of Jim and Dwight, stick shift lessons and so on. The trick is to find it and then come up with the story behind it all. It's a lot of fun to create that. Thanks for the feedback.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2018 07:32 pm Title: New Beginning

Holy crap, Warrior! I can't even pick a favorite part of the chapter because every single line is great! This is some of the best 'early Jim and Pam' banter I've read in a long time - you really nailed down their personalities and made Jim's first day completely believable.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was entirely my intention that Jim's first day be a good day free of any angst. It was a lot of fun to imagine what went on that day.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2018 04:41 pm Title: The Zone

Love your versions of these characters, especially younger Dwight (in addition to JAM, duh). I really like how you keep the story going while giving us ample time inside both their heads.

Author's Response: Thanks. There may be some time jumps coming up soon to better deal with some of the scenes I want to write. These last two chapters were important as Jim and Pam finally "meet" and they of course we have to start in on the pre-camera through season 3 angst that is the JAM relationship. Dwight was kind of fun to write I will admit.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2018 09:18 am Title: New Beginning

Ahhhh I loved this!! I’m glad they didn’t immediately recognize each other. That payoff will be spectacular, I think. I really enjoyed Jim ‘s first day and seeing their relationship start to form. You wrote everybody in character so wonderfully. and wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad my characters come across well. It was fun to write how I envisioned Jim's first day went. I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 13, 2018 01:44 pm Title: New Beginning

Brilliant as always 😊

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2018 09:20 pm Title: New Beginning

Roy remains terrible. The rest of your cast remains excellent. I especially like how you got them out to lunch. Keep going!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had fun writing that lunch "date." As I've said before, don't expect to much out of Roy. I'm glad the rest of the characters came across well.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2018 06:42 pm Title: New Beginning

The Cugino’s date was so cute! Oh my goodness. I can’t wait until they figure out that they know each other. It’ll be fun to see how you do it!

Author's Response: Thank you. That part was fun to write. It may be a little before they're in a position to figure that out, which means I have some things to play around with for a while too.

Reviewer: MCapps Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2018 08:48 pm Title: A Lot of Reasons

Ahh how do you end it there?! 😭 Looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: How do I end it there? Simple really, stop typing. I'm kidding of course. It was always my intent to have the chapter end like that. One so I don't have huge chapters that take forever to read and also to have a very clear break from what's coming next. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2018 07:26 pm Title: A Lot of Reasons

I didn't think it was possible to hate Roy anymore than I already do, but here we are. What a jerk. Although, I'd kind of be interested in seeing some of those counseling sessions.

I was so sad that Pam lost the picture and then so happy that she got it back! And he's right there! Will they recognize each other?! Definitely looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: To me Roy is a guy who peaked in high school. He may be an adult legally, but like many other males, doesn't know how to me a man much less a gentleman. Thus me writing him the way I've been. I was quite proud of myself when I thought up the bookends for this chapter with the picture. Especially the way I've had the chapter end. Lots of evil grins I assure you. As for what's coming, well we'll just have to wait and see but I assure you I'll do my best to write it well.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans