You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2018 06:23 pm Title: Bonus Gifts

Oh, you bet I went into this chapter determined to find all 3 shout outs. How fun and very cool! :)

This was such a great chapter - ugh, stupid Roy thinking he was going to get the iPod for himself. I loved the sneak peek into Jim and Pam's minds as the gift exchange was going on, and how Pam ultimately decided to get back the teapot. And yeah good call - I'm glad she washed it.

Happy Teapot Day!

Author's Response: Thanks. It was a ton of fun to add in all the bonus stuff in this chapter. I hope it was a nice surprise for you. I'd been looking forward to this chapter for a long time. Glad it came across well.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2018 11:56 am Title: Bonus Gifts

I love how this story has developed. I can't wait to see what happens when they realize their past connection.

Author's Response: Thank you. It's been a fun project to work on. Hopefully, when they eventually find out the previous connection, it'll be just as compelling as anything else. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2018 12:35 pm Title: The Party

Is Mark’s girlfriend’s name Emily or Lisa? ;)

God, I love this party. It’s just so obvious to literally everyone and those two idiots just can’t admit what’s in front of them.

She had the picture right there, Warrior! She had the proof in her hands and STILL we wait. That was good. Frustrating, but good!

I 100% believe Pam was too drunk to go home that night. I love that Jim is still making a playlist and I LOVE that I think I know what the next chapter is and I cannot wait for it!

This is still so great. I’m loving each update.

Author's Response: Did I forget to switch names there? I'll have to go back and look through. Thanks for the heads up. Yup she had the picture, but as she was focusing on Jim not the background, and also because Jim tried to steal it quickly she didn't have time for a close inspection. I've been grinning evily at all these missed chances. Don't worry, there will be a reveal and if all goes according to plan, it should be epic. Thanks for sticking with this.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2018 11:27 pm Title: The Party

My Lord and Savior David Ortiz 🙏🏼
Again, the little allusions to such small details of the show, with the Blue Angels. I love that it was meant to be from their “first date” and you make that obvious that the first date was indeed on the roof.
We were so close to Morgan being revealed! Ahh. I can’t wait until they find out!

Author's Response: In the name of Fenway, Yaz, and Williams, Play Ball.

I'm glad you picked up on the first date thing, granted I wasn't being very subtle about it. I may be spoiling things a bit, but eventually I see that Jim and Pam decide that, yes that night on the roof was their first date. It might take them awhile to come to that conclusion, but eventually they get there.

Yes, so close yet so far. It's like a challenge I set myself now. How close can I get them to figuring out they've met before, but not quite get there. Don't worry, I have something truly epic planned for the eventual reveal, I just crave your patience for a while yet.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2018 11:13 pm Title: Mixed Up

Oh boy. You know I love a good IM chat, and what’s better is that this was a drunken IM chat. Love it. And Jim’s “Head in the Clouds” Dundee. Very apropos. What I love the most about this story is the way that you pick these teeny little things from the show and give them background, like the butterfly necklace or the nickel prank. Yay!

Author's Response: Thanks. I've kind of run out of backstory for the characters, so now it's onto the backstory for some of the things that are in the show. Why would a character hold onto that particular thing? What was the inspiration for that prank and so on. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 06:52 pm Title: Mixed Up

"I hope you can spot all the things..." Watch Coley grab her pen and paper like this is a puzzle.

BUTTERFLY DAY. Stop it Warrior, Stop it right now. This Jim is too much in the best of ways and I love this peek into his brain.

There's so much going on here. Secret Santa pickings, The Dundies, Drunk Pam, Smitten Jim. I can't even pick a favorite.

That's a lie. I'm saying it again. This Jim is one of my favorite variations I've ever seen! It's rare that we get a look into his side of things and see him just so blatantly in adoration of this girl he works with. It's so good. The playlist he's making her! And the IMs! JEFF. That got me good. That was great.

And then the end... I can't even tell you how much I love that the reason Pam wants to keep their kiss a secret isn't because she feels guilty about it, but that she wants to keep it just between them. Well them, and the film crew but I digress.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a lot of fun to write this chapter. And after the whole SNL thing I figured that had to get in there somehow. It's amazing what fans will pick up on from just one or two words from the actors or actresses of their favorite things. Glad you liked it so much. It's been a lot of fun figuring out the reasons for why the things that went into the teapot did so.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 03:05 pm Title: Mixed Up

JEFF!!!!! You included JEFF!!!! I LOVE it when timely references crop up in new stories!!! So sorry that's my only comment at this point on that nice long chapter, but I'm at work and I already spent too much time reading it! But JEFF! I love it! Okay, I'm going to include a time marker so that if I read this again at some point in the future, I'll remember why I had a fit about JEFF --- It's because Steve Carrell and Jenna Fischer were on Saturday Night Live two nights ago and Jenna referred to Jim as JEFF. Haha!

Author's Response: I figured someone was going to say something and who better than Drunk Pam via IM. Like I said, I had a ton of fun with this chapter. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 24, 2018 07:34 pm Title: Recovery

No joke - I screamed when I got the boggle timer part. I didn’t even see it coming!

Pam’s running internal dialogue throughout this chapter is sweet and heartbreaking at the same time. They’re so close, but still so far away from each other.

I love your take on the Halpert family - Gerald and Betsy seem like good people and I’m glad Pam’s comfortable around them.

I admit, I had my hopes up when Pam and Larissa started talking about high school Jim... and then Pam was almost there when realizing the parallels between Roy hitting Jim and Roy hitting Jamie... well done, master storyteller!

Jim’s okay! I was pretty sure he would be but I’m very glad to see he’s out of the hospital and back in the office where he belongs.

Can’t wait for the next chapter! Excited to see what you come up with next :)

Author's Response: I've very glad this chapter came across so well. At times I had thoughts that there was a little to much going on. Thanks again for the help earlier. Like I said it got the cogs turning and helped get this chapter out. They did come close to figuring things out this time, but no, they're not ready for that knowledge yet. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: October 24, 2018 03:11 pm Title: Recovery

Phew! So glad Jim is awake and feeling better. So sweet that he responded to Pam first . . . and second. And oh, you are such a tease about them figuring out their previous encounter! The heart cell toy is cute! You did make the Halpert family feel like such a warm cocoon. I liked "Use the word in a sentence."

As I am sure you know, being through a traumatic experience like that together would bond ANY casual friends. There's something about a life being suddenly threatened that makes the relationship very precious. Of course, we already know that they are much more than casual friends, so I can definitely see this experience being a real catalyst. It already enabled Pam to tell Roy to take a flying leap. It may not be a permanent proclamation yet, but it is a big step in that direction. Right? :)

Author's Response: Thank you. In terms of the show's timeline we're still over a year away from "Casino Night" let alone "The Job." So while yes there's progress that's been made, we still have a long way to go. It was quite fun to bring in Jim's family like this. Glad it came across well.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:49 am Title: ROSC

Aww, yay Ethan! We love when the good guys get a win.

As a side note, apart from Jim and Pam - thank you for this little look into your day to day! It’s so important to remember that it’s not at all like what we see on tv, and that you’re out there doing really, really good work that definitely isn’t easy and is, I’m sure at times, super emotional. Thanks for that reminder :)

Now I’m going to go make sure our AED is up to date and see when the next CPR training is for the office.

Author's Response: Trust me I love when we get one in the win column too. Most of the time my "wins" come not from Class 1 saves as we call them, but from other calls. Using a medicine called Narcan to correct a heroin overdose for example. Helping the fire department pull people out of the crushed cars after and accident and getting them to the hospital. When a patient tells me "I'm a hard IV start," and I get the IV on the first try. Stuff like that.

Glad to know you're looking into your AED and CPR class. Like I (or in this case Ethan) said the more people who know how to use an AED and perform good CPR the better.

Thanks for all the reviews as well. It means a lot to know people are still keeping up with this story.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:38 am Title: Class 1

This is great! It’s like I got a little of my beloved Grey’s Anatomy in the middle of a Jam fic and speaking as a sucker for left field drama... I’m totally for this. At least, I am now that I know he’s pulse is back. It seemed like he was down for a long time though, but maybe it just felt like that because I was so into what I was reading.

He’s okay, right? Right?

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm sure for family members an event like this does seem to drag out. I blame TV for that one. There's only so much time a show can spare but in the real world stuff like this takes a long time. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:28 am Title: Shot to the Heart

I’m out of jellybeans for this story so let’s pretend I’m handing them out with every review going forward.

I like your take on this episode! It never occurred to me that Pam wouldn’t know they didn’t have to come in on Saturday.

A Larissa sighting! I have to say, I love your using these sisters to bring in so much of Jim and Pam’s backstory. I wouldn’t hate it at all if they were the ones who finally solved the mystery of Jamie and Morgan. Just saying.

Well! That’s a mean cliffhanger! I’m kind of glad I don’t have to wait to read the next chapter. Off I go... Jim better be okay!

Author's Response: Yeah I went back and watched and Roy and Pam left before Micheal gave everyone else the day off. And who would tell her? Jim clearly, but as I mentioned he was kind of down after hearing the hot tub comments right as Pam was leaving. Roy for sure wouldn't care enough to double check. So there's Pam by herself on a Saturday sitting at her desk.

Don't worry Larissa and Penny will both have parts to play later. We rarely got the main cast interacting with friends outside DM in the show, but I don't think that's as true to life. I get that it's a show and you have to stay on your cast, but still. So we'll be seeing them again.


Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:15 am Title: Murals and Marriage

I’ve said it before and I’m going to say it again. Roy. Is. The. Worst.

That said, I did enjoy this little peek into their counseling session. Let’s hope it was as eye opening for Pam as it was for me! Roy is just... ugh, I don’t even feel bad that his dad died anymore.

I did like Pastor Dan though. His comments were a nice touch and seemed very true to life. See? Even he knows this marriage is a bad idea. Pam just needs to get there.

I hope Roy’s team lost the game that day though.

Author's Response: Grief can hold a powerful effect on people. Even years after an event. That's kind of what I was going for with Roy in this chapter. Yes even if it means he acts like this. I'm glad Pastor Dan came across well. It was a challenge to try and make him approachable for anyone without being to preachy.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 07:08 am Title: The New Jamie

“No, she doesn’t get to feel bad about her drawings.” I really loved that line.

Roy is bad enough, but Roy and Todd together? Gross. They’re such jerks and that sounds like it would have been a terrible lunch break.

You know what duo I do approve of though? Jim and Penny. I love them teaming up to get Pam out of the office and the mall scene was great fluff.

First the golf pencil last chapter, and now the hot sauce packet. I see what you’re doing, and I like it.

Gah, Pam was so close to learning he’s Jamie! I almost forgot that part of the story, which was silly of me, but I was so wrapped up in watching them fall in love. :)

Author's Response: Yeah there's a couple themes going on. The teapot gifts obviously, but also them not quite finding out they met way back when.  In seasons 1 and 2 Jim and Pam clearly have a strong relationship, despite Pam being engaged. It's fun to explore how that came to be.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 06:54 am Title: Mini-Golf

You already know I’m a huge fan of your writing, but here’s what I’m realizing as I read this chapter. (I’m so happy to be reading this story again, btw!) I’m a really huge fan of your Jim. He’s just honestly great, and he’s so genuinely happy when Pam is happy. It’s hard to write that without it coming off as over the top and cheesy and you do a really great job with it.

This was a fun chapter! I always love seeing intepretations of the famed golf outing, but I think this is the first time I’ve giggled over Dwight and his one blue ball.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad my interpretation of Jim comes across well. Especially during these early years pre-camera. Dwight was also great fun to write here. I''m glad you're back and thanks for all the reviews.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2018 02:10 pm Title: ROSC

Warrior! Another great chapter! I really enjoyed all the procedures and explanations. I work in the medical field and I always enjoy learning more about each discipline. When you've been doing something for 8 years, like you have, you have a great perspective of what is common, what is rare, and what is just plain bizarre. The explanations de-mystify all the short-cut language which is spoken --- you did a great job with that! I wouldn't mind another trip through the world of EMS in the future. Maybe I'm in the minority, but I really enjoy it. And phew, I'm so glad Jim is going to make it, although he IS still unconscious! So I imagine we are in for a bit more suspense. By the way Warrior, have you delivered any babies???? :) Do you feel confident in that arena? (wink, wink)

Author's Response: Thanks. I've come close to delivering a baby in the field. We were dispatched to a pregnant lady having vaginal bleeding. She was in the back bathroom when we showed up. As I came around the corner she stood up from the toilet and shouted, "It's coming now!" She then leaned over and caught the kid as she delivered right there. I dropped my jump bag, kneeled down, grabbed the kid (who was crying up a storm) and looked over at my shocked partner and started asking for towels. So kind of. Both the mom and kid were fine. So yes, I'm pretty confident should the need arise.

Glad my explanations came across well. In addition to responding to calls I also help train new EMT's and paramedics, so it's part of the job to teach them how to translate medical jargon into layperson speak. We might be able to re-visit the crew of Medic 4 at some point. However this is primarily a JAM fic and we do need to keep things on track. Thanks for the feedback and the great questions last time.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2018 07:25 pm Title: ROSC

Oh man. You posted the previous chapter while we were on the road last weekend, so I didn't get to tell you how much I loved it. Despite the fact that it was so much less Jim and Pam, I was hooked instantly. Your knowledge of the field gave such an interesting and elegant perspective. I loved every second of it, same with this chapter. Also, this was such a welcomed curveball! Out of everything I expected to happen, Jim ending up in the hospital like this was nowhere near the top of my list. I can't wait to see what you do with this! Crossing my fingers for a little ER bedside heart to heart.

Author's Response: I think that's the first time I've ever heard a cardiac arrest described as a welcome curve ball. :) A heart to heart you say? Oddly enough I had an idea for something like that. Thanks for the feedback. It was fun to add in these chapters. I'm glad you enjoyed them as much as I did writing them.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2018 09:14 pm Title: Class 1

Good chapter Warrior! So a few questions: 1) without violating HIPAA laws, have you answered a call like this? (baseball to the chest causing an arrest) Was the victim young? 2) Is this a rare or surprisingly common occurence? 3) Do most victims survive? 4) What IS the success rate for CPR for cardiac arrest? My understanding is that it is relatively low. Thanks Warrior -- this is a great backdoor peek into first responder procedures. I'm guessing you have more in store since they're still at the ballfield. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks for the questions. Personally I have not responded to this specific situation. However, earlier in the chapter, where James was talking about the frequent flyer patient with no upper teeth due to meth, that's based on a real call. Baseball (or any other object) to the chest causing cardiac arrest is rare but not unheard of. When it does happen it's usually a young male patient playing some kind of sport. It's rare because for this to happen there needs to force applied right over the heart during a very specific 10-30 millisecond window in the 1 second long heart rate. So for any given heart beat there's a 1-3% chance that a blow to the chest right over the heart will cause this. Jim just got really unlucky here. Without prompt CPR and defibrillation (shocking the heart) the fatality rate for this situation is around 80%, with with prompt CPR and defibrillation it's around 65%.

In general how good a chance someone has to survive cardiac arrest has to do with a lot of factors. What's the cause of the arrest, the age of the patient, any underlying medical conditions, how soon good CPR was started, how soon an AED or other defibrillator was used, EMS or other medical responder response time, where one is in the country and if the EMS crews have things like "Pit-crew CPR" in place. That's the method I use and depicted in this chapter. Every person on the call has one specific job and they stay in that job unless the team leader orders them to switch. Just like a NASCAR pit crew. Things like that.
 
I've been a paramedic for over 8 years now. I'm sorry to say that TV and Hollywood tend to get it wrong when it comes to CPR. The majority of cardiac arrest calls I've responded to, end up with me calling a doctor on my radio and asking for a time of death. Now obviously that's not always the case. I've also been on plenty of cardiac arrest calls where we were doing CPR and everything else like I wrote here, and we did get pulses back. It's a great feeling. 

Yes we still have some more to go with Medic 4. Thanks for the review. I'm glad to be able to share this with everyone.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2018 10:04 pm Title: Shot to the Heart

Warrior, I totally forgot that you were going to include a story line that includes your area of expertise. It took me by surprise (and shock) when Jim collapsed, but then I truly appreciated the detail and accuracy of the life-saving activities that followed. Although I am fairly certain that Jim will survive, I have to tell you that the anxiety of the scene hit me hard anyway! I am anxious for the next chapter! Keep it coming Warrior!

Author's Response: I hope the anxiety wasn't to bad with that the scene at the end. I wanted it to kind of be a shock, no pun intended, after the nice fluffy day I'd just written. Also we've only seen the layperson response to a cardiac arrest. In the next chapter, I intend to bring you on the ambulance with me, or at least the medic I'll write into the story. Thanks for the review, always fun to get feedback.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2018 11:15 am Title: Shot to the Heart

I absolutely love your writing style... it’s just so human. I am fully immersed in everything you write, the visualizations come so effortlessly. Had to take a deep breath after this last chapter, whew! Can’t wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thank you. One of my favorite authors said it's the writers job to "paint a picture with words." I'm glad my the results of my writing are translating well. There will be a slight change in perspective for the next chapter, but hopefully it'll be as compelling as anything else. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Pan_cake_Cats Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2018 12:39 am Title: Murals and Marriage

oh my goodness, I can't believe I haven't read this until now. Gotta love a good slow burn with a little dramatic irony. I love this, can't wait for the next installment

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you're enjoying this story so far. Lots more to come rest assured.

Reviewer: Awimoweh Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2018 08:30 pm Title: Murals and Marriage

Wow, this is very different than anything else I've read here. Excellent exploration of how Roy might act at a counseling session. Definitely does not bring out his stellar side at all. Not much there to justify their relationship at all. I don't think I've ever been so disgusted with Roy as in this chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, Roy's not the best. Though I am glad to hear I've got something unique when it comes to a characterization. There's so much on here about these characters it can be challenging to come up with something new. In my mind Roy at this point in his life is the kind of guy who peaked in high school and then leveled out. Add to that, that he's not over losing his Dad, and I think it gives more depth to what is often seen as a one note character. At least that's my hope, even though I'm not a fan of Roy either. Thanks for the review. Always fun to get feedback.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21, 2018 08:15 pm Title: First Meeting

Delightful. I like your Penny. She's a good egg. I am forbidden from further jellybeans so I will just say I am very much enjoying it.

Author's Response: I'm going to assume this review was meant for the chapter "The New Jamie" rather than the first chapter of this story as it says on my screen. Thank you. It's my intent that Penny will be a good influence on Pam. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2018 06:33 pm Title: Mini-Golf

I'm glad that you didn't do all 18 holes (twss), but that you chose to highlight the little moments here between Jim and Pam. Having him double check that she didn't mind the nickname, sharing about their parents, the ice pack--all the makings of a friendship that that they need as that foundation. Don't think I didn't catch that "almost Morgan" in there ;) You're doing a great job with this!

Author's Response: Thanks. They clearly know each other very well by the time the cameras show up so it made sense to show just how that kind of thing builds and why even though Pam, being engaged, is so comfortable with Jim. So lots of fun in that regard. And you stumbled onto my secret, the almost finding out thing. We'll have to play with that some more won't we?

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2018 08:54 am Title: Mini-Golf

Oh man this was delightful. Good tension, both romantic and dramatic. I'd love to see more of the driving lessons sprinkled around, and I enjoyed your reason why Jim has the golf pencil.

Author's Response: Thanks. We all know that there will be quite of bit of angst coming since I'm keeping this story canon-correct so I wanted at least one angst free chapter before we get to all that. Glad you liked it.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans