You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12, 2019 11:48 am Title: Memorial Day and Beyond

Great update. Can't wait to see what Pam is planning.

Author's Response: Thanks. It's going to be a good one.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12, 2019 06:10 am Title: Memorial Day and Beyond

Oh come on! A cliffhanger? Really?

That said, I am so happy with this chapter, from the stink bomb callback to how Pam finds out to what she does with the information. I like Larissa a lot, and I'm particularly pleased with the detail you go into on Pam's presents (though I should've known that just like EMTs, whiskey would make an appearance). Out of jellybeans, but you'd get one.

Author's Response: Write what you know and writing is a lot easier. Besides the whiskey smelling lesson made sure to prime Pam's mind for when she smelled the stink bomb. Glad you liked it. The next part of the story should hopefully be just as much fun.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2019 08:24 am Title: Clearing the Air

I do think this came across as plausible in the Pam-Jim interactions. If anything was implausible it was with Karen, but that was sufficiently cathartic to make it definitely worth it (nice Parks and Rec shoutout). I like this approach to their reconciliation actually. Though Jim definitely loses memory points for forgetting the rain check. Tsk tsk. Lovely chapter; didn't feel like filler at all.

Author's Response: Thanks. It was fun to put in that Park and Rec shoutout. Most of the fics I've read have Karen pissed at Jim for using her as a shield and so on. It's been done so much that I wanted something else. Yeah Jim forgot about his rain check. To be fair though it's been a long time since he's gone over all that and to his knowledge he threw out all the Morgan stuff back in Stamford. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2019 05:15 am Title: Refining Fire

Thanks a lot for the update!
I like that you skip through most of the anguish of Season 3.

Author's Response: There are other more important things to get to with this story thus skipping a lot of Season 3.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2019 03:42 pm Title: Refining Fire

Well that certainly covered a lot of territory in one go. I think it was worth it though. Ethan has a tendency to take over when you bring him in, so I think it was a good idea to put him in in this kind of montage. I liked your Dwight and Roy. Looking forward to post S3 JAM now.

Author's Response: I get what you're saying about Ethan. It's why I've tried to not use the character as much. This is primarily a JAM story and while bringing in OC's can be fun, we do need to keep things on task with the main characters. Glad you liked the chapter.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2019 05:57 pm Title: Visitors

This part of the story make my heart break a little. You've made a great work with Jim's family. And Pam's letter... nice touch.

Author's Response: Yeah, not the most fun part of the JAM relationship. Thank you. I'm glad Jim's family came across well.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2019 03:36 pm Title: First Meeting

This is great. I like that Jim's family got involved and took care of him. I'm also glad that he realized his mistake in shredding the letter, even though he didnt get it back. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. The way I see it, this is just first in a long line of mistakes Jim makes throughout Season 3. Writing angst like this isn't my most favorite thing to do. Glad you liked it though.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2019 01:22 pm Title: Visitors

"He stood up and walked the few steps away from his desk. With one last glace he slid the sealed letter into the paper shredder. "

JimnowhywhatJim!?!? Otherwise, I love this chapter. I like Jim's family, I like this take on his first day, and I very much like that we will get a time jump. Nice work.

Author's Response: Thanks. Like I said, Jim's not at his best here. He's starting down the "put up armor" about all things Pam phase. So there you go. The stuff I have planned for the next chapter should be a lot of fun.

Reviewer: Beesly15 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2019 01:44 pm Title: Aftermath

The ending to this chapter is absolutely heart breaking! So well written!

Author's Response: Yeah, that's kind of what I was going for. Thanks. Hope to hear more from you in the future.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 05:08 pm Title: Choosing to Move

Ouch!
Sorry I didn't review the previous chapters. I was too into the story. I like it very much and I think the break up part was superbly done.

Author's Response: No worries about the previous chapters. It's a big story by now. Glad you found yourself drawn into it. The break up went through several edits so thank for the feedback that it came across well.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 06:02 am Title: The New Jamie

I love the warmth from this chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks. It was a lot of fun to write all those earlier chapters. To explore how their relationship started and grew.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2019 04:59 pm Title: Choosing to Move

This was great. I appreciate that you gave us the whole conversation that Pam had with Roy. It's tough, but it's great to see her moving forward. Can't wait to see what comes next.

Author's Response: Thank you. So many times the breakup is glossed over. Considering it's a major point in Pam's life, I felt we needed to see that too. Hope to hear more from you.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2019 10:22 am Title: Choosing to Move

"Pam had to take another breath. “Roy, why do you even want to get married?”"

A lot of fics get to this question, and I always love the moment. Yours, however, does one of the best jobs of both setting up and filling out the moment. We actually see and understand why she asks, what she expects, and what Roy fails to answer. It is very well done.

So is the gesture to the framed art at the end. And the letter...is the letter a sign we might be deviating from canon, or is it going to get misdelivered or lost Romeo and Juliet style?

Author's Response: I figured since I gave such detail to when Pam and Roy got engaged I should do the same when the engagement ends. Since you and I basically agree that Roy is a teenager in a man's body I doubt many teenagers would have a ready response to this question. Thus all of Roy's stammering and struggling. Thank you for the kind words about that scene. I had the general gist of what I wanted them to say, but it took quite a bit of editing to get it to come out right.

As for the letter? Sorry, but we'll just have to wait and see. Though this time I assure you the wait won't be very long.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2019 09:40 am Title: First Meeting

This is a very nice start! I like travelling down memory lane on the whole chatroom and windows 95 thing, nice touch!

Author's Response: Thank you. It was fun revisiting those things from the early days of the internet too. Ah the 90's, what a great time it was. Hope to hear more from you.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: January 07, 2019 03:47 pm Title: Aftermath

I LOVE Pam having this support system so much! We never really saw that on the show at all, but I adore that her sister and her friends and her mom are all there to just do whatever it is she needs, no questions asked. And I love Pam turning to the people she trusts the most to help her figure things out -- it's one thing to have that internal dialogue with yourself when trying to sort out a mess - its entirely different when you have to say those things out loud to someone else, and we don't really see that when it comes to these two, so that was a nice touch.

Helene cutting down Roy at every turn? Brilliant.

OMG, even the toy heart is broken? It's fine. I'll be fine. ;)

Author's Response: That's the thing with the show we rarely got to see outside friends and family. Granted that's probably due to the budget constraints of hiring guest actors and the like, but I just don't see that Pam was 100% alone when she called off the wedding. Having Helene cut down Roy was fun, but that's also because to my mind Roy is still mentally a teenager and thus when an adult that he can't control comes around he stands no chance against them. The broken heart was always how I planned on ending this chapter, seemed appropriate to me.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 30, 2018 09:44 pm Title: Aftermath

These updates are wonderful, though they keep making me sad this is canon-compliant (as the whole Karen thing is going to really suck in this world). I wonder if Jamie will make it back into Pam's thoughts at all? Cute moment with the plushie, and a good job with the phone call and Helene.

Author's Response: Great to hear from you again! I was getting some feedback that the whole "almost figuring things out" was getting to be a bit to much. So I decided to have the plot advance a bit quicker. There might be a little less Jamie/Morgan stuff in the next few chapters, but I won't say it'll be gone for good.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2018 06:23 pm Title: Bonus Gifts

Oh, you bet I went into this chapter determined to find all 3 shout outs. How fun and very cool! :)

This was such a great chapter - ugh, stupid Roy thinking he was going to get the iPod for himself. I loved the sneak peek into Jim and Pam's minds as the gift exchange was going on, and how Pam ultimately decided to get back the teapot. And yeah good call - I'm glad she washed it.

Happy Teapot Day!

Author's Response: Thanks. It was a ton of fun to add in all the bonus stuff in this chapter. I hope it was a nice surprise for you. I'd been looking forward to this chapter for a long time. Glad it came across well.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2018 11:56 am Title: Bonus Gifts

I love how this story has developed. I can't wait to see what happens when they realize their past connection.

Author's Response: Thank you. It's been a fun project to work on. Hopefully, when they eventually find out the previous connection, it'll be just as compelling as anything else. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2018 12:35 pm Title: The Party

Is Mark’s girlfriend’s name Emily or Lisa? ;)

God, I love this party. It’s just so obvious to literally everyone and those two idiots just can’t admit what’s in front of them.

She had the picture right there, Warrior! She had the proof in her hands and STILL we wait. That was good. Frustrating, but good!

I 100% believe Pam was too drunk to go home that night. I love that Jim is still making a playlist and I LOVE that I think I know what the next chapter is and I cannot wait for it!

This is still so great. I’m loving each update.

Author's Response: Did I forget to switch names there? I'll have to go back and look through. Thanks for the heads up. Yup she had the picture, but as she was focusing on Jim not the background, and also because Jim tried to steal it quickly she didn't have time for a close inspection. I've been grinning evily at all these missed chances. Don't worry, there will be a reveal and if all goes according to plan, it should be epic. Thanks for sticking with this.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2018 11:27 pm Title: The Party

My Lord and Savior David Ortiz 🙏🏼
Again, the little allusions to such small details of the show, with the Blue Angels. I love that it was meant to be from their “first date” and you make that obvious that the first date was indeed on the roof.
We were so close to Morgan being revealed! Ahh. I can’t wait until they find out!

Author's Response: In the name of Fenway, Yaz, and Williams, Play Ball.

I'm glad you picked up on the first date thing, granted I wasn't being very subtle about it. I may be spoiling things a bit, but eventually I see that Jim and Pam decide that, yes that night on the roof was their first date. It might take them awhile to come to that conclusion, but eventually they get there.

Yes, so close yet so far. It's like a challenge I set myself now. How close can I get them to figuring out they've met before, but not quite get there. Don't worry, I have something truly epic planned for the eventual reveal, I just crave your patience for a while yet.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2018 11:13 pm Title: Mixed Up

Oh boy. You know I love a good IM chat, and what’s better is that this was a drunken IM chat. Love it. And Jim’s “Head in the Clouds” Dundee. Very apropos. What I love the most about this story is the way that you pick these teeny little things from the show and give them background, like the butterfly necklace or the nickel prank. Yay!

Author's Response: Thanks. I've kind of run out of backstory for the characters, so now it's onto the backstory for some of the things that are in the show. Why would a character hold onto that particular thing? What was the inspiration for that prank and so on. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 06:52 pm Title: Mixed Up

"I hope you can spot all the things..." Watch Coley grab her pen and paper like this is a puzzle.

BUTTERFLY DAY. Stop it Warrior, Stop it right now. This Jim is too much in the best of ways and I love this peek into his brain.

There's so much going on here. Secret Santa pickings, The Dundies, Drunk Pam, Smitten Jim. I can't even pick a favorite.

That's a lie. I'm saying it again. This Jim is one of my favorite variations I've ever seen! It's rare that we get a look into his side of things and see him just so blatantly in adoration of this girl he works with. It's so good. The playlist he's making her! And the IMs! JEFF. That got me good. That was great.

And then the end... I can't even tell you how much I love that the reason Pam wants to keep their kiss a secret isn't because she feels guilty about it, but that she wants to keep it just between them. Well them, and the film crew but I digress.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a lot of fun to write this chapter. And after the whole SNL thing I figured that had to get in there somehow. It's amazing what fans will pick up on from just one or two words from the actors or actresses of their favorite things. Glad you liked it so much. It's been a lot of fun figuring out the reasons for why the things that went into the teapot did so.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2018 03:05 pm Title: Mixed Up

JEFF!!!!! You included JEFF!!!! I LOVE it when timely references crop up in new stories!!! So sorry that's my only comment at this point on that nice long chapter, but I'm at work and I already spent too much time reading it! But JEFF! I love it! Okay, I'm going to include a time marker so that if I read this again at some point in the future, I'll remember why I had a fit about JEFF --- It's because Steve Carrell and Jenna Fischer were on Saturday Night Live two nights ago and Jenna referred to Jim as JEFF. Haha!

Author's Response: I figured someone was going to say something and who better than Drunk Pam via IM. Like I said, I had a ton of fun with this chapter. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 24, 2018 07:34 pm Title: Recovery

No joke - I screamed when I got the boggle timer part. I didn’t even see it coming!

Pam’s running internal dialogue throughout this chapter is sweet and heartbreaking at the same time. They’re so close, but still so far away from each other.

I love your take on the Halpert family - Gerald and Betsy seem like good people and I’m glad Pam’s comfortable around them.

I admit, I had my hopes up when Pam and Larissa started talking about high school Jim... and then Pam was almost there when realizing the parallels between Roy hitting Jim and Roy hitting Jamie... well done, master storyteller!

Jim’s okay! I was pretty sure he would be but I’m very glad to see he’s out of the hospital and back in the office where he belongs.

Can’t wait for the next chapter! Excited to see what you come up with next :)

Author's Response: I've very glad this chapter came across so well. At times I had thoughts that there was a little to much going on. Thanks again for the help earlier. Like I said it got the cogs turning and helped get this chapter out. They did come close to figuring things out this time, but no, they're not ready for that knowledge yet. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: October 24, 2018 03:11 pm Title: Recovery

Phew! So glad Jim is awake and feeling better. So sweet that he responded to Pam first . . . and second. And oh, you are such a tease about them figuring out their previous encounter! The heart cell toy is cute! You did make the Halpert family feel like such a warm cocoon. I liked "Use the word in a sentence."

As I am sure you know, being through a traumatic experience like that together would bond ANY casual friends. There's something about a life being suddenly threatened that makes the relationship very precious. Of course, we already know that they are much more than casual friends, so I can definitely see this experience being a real catalyst. It already enabled Pam to tell Roy to take a flying leap. It may not be a permanent proclamation yet, but it is a big step in that direction. Right? :)

Author's Response: Thank you. In terms of the show's timeline we're still over a year away from "Casino Night" let alone "The Job." So while yes there's progress that's been made, we still have a long way to go. It was quite fun to bring in Jim's family like this. Glad it came across well.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans