Reviews For Beyond the Horizon
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: lemniscate Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2018 07:01 am Title: Chapter 8

probably one of my favorite fics ever... amazing writing! l o v e the angst

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 05:45 pm Title: Chapter 8

"You operated on me in the middle of an office building. With kitchen supplies." I'm not crying. You are.

I'm not ashamed to say I had one of those charlie horse cramps in my foot earlier today and I thought it was the end of the world, so I feel really bad for Pam here, okay? She's being held together by duct tape and only has vodka to dull her pain and Jim is in the parking lot and Dwight and Oscar are comforting her and there's just a lot going on in this chapter. And it's all brilliantly written and I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 05:34 pm Title: Chapter 7

You're doing such a good job with so many characters in one spot at the same time. Very happy to see Dwight, Angela and Oscar successfully keeping Pam alive so far.

What I love most about this chapter though is the relationship still between Dwight and Angela. I like how well they still work together. I like that Angela is pretty much ignoring Andy. I like that they know each other well enough to keep things going without getting anyone killed.

And I love that Meredith now has a knife.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2018 05:19 pm Title: Chapter 6

Yep. A is for sure pissing me off. You know who's not though? Larisa. She's a badass and I love it. And then Angela and the yogurt lid medal? Ugh, loved that too.

It's so weird that Dwight operating on Pam in the middle of the office makes as much sense as it does, but it does - it makes perfect sense. Even with a Friday cliffhanger ending...

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2018 08:02 pm Title: Chapter 8

Hey, thanks I wanted to just DIE today because not only did you update TWO stories but you updated THIS story. And please don't make me Sophie's Choice this situation but this story has me all kinds of gripped. (In case the stalker-ish reviews haven't been enough of an indicator there...)
I have been trying to figure out a not-too-passive-aggressive way to beg for an update because I'm just dying like a woman held together by duct tape and vodka. (!!!)
Okay, so I love how you have Dwight not able to help himself and kick (appropriately) into resolution mode, even if just a bit. And Oscar to be there is great; he and Dwight are a great pairing with Pam in that moment.
I love love love the end where she makes a few jokes and then affirms them. *Sigh* I love that girl.
And then at the end about Jim! Gah! I am ONLY hanging onto that one time, on that one chat, where you said you like angst with an eventual happy ending. I am only able to get by with that little shred of hope. Man, I love this story.

Author's Response:

Ahh, I've been so bad about reviewing this one! And, considering it's based off of something else so closely, this should really be my easiest write. Thank you for loving this just as much as I do! I promise to be better about updating :)

I'll stand by my "always having an eventual happy ending" because there's no way I could ever do anything that terrible to our loves. But hey, can you spell "Jim and Pam" without a little drama? :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 11, 2018 07:19 am Title: Chapter 6

I love how you’ve written Angela here! I could absolutely hear her in your words and scenario. Love this story!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2018 05:15 pm Title: Chapter 3

This is genius. And Dwight is so wonderfully in character.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2018 04:50 pm Title: Chapter 2

So......I am ADDICTED to this. We’ve established that I can do angsty as long I get that happy ending, right?! I pray that’s where we’re going but god it’s gonna be gut wrenching to get there.

Reviewer: nkerbs Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2018 10:32 pm Title: Prologue

So good! I'm hooked

Reviewer: WestonFollower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2018 09:34 pm Title: Prologue

This is soooooo good I’m hooked

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2018 08:57 pm Title: Chapter 5

Oh man... I love the Angela/Pam dynamic here and now I'm worried about Phyllis too.

My heart broke a little when Michael had to leave Pam's side. I gotta say, A is really starting to piss me off.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2018 03:18 pm Title: Chapter 5

Omg I’m on pins and needles! I love everyone’s characterization in this, so so much. Angela was just spot on. This is so so good! Hurry and update again so I don’t spoil it by googling because I just HAVE to know what happens!

Reviewer: battlestarjim Signed [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2018 11:37 am Title: Chapter 4

I need more! I'm loving this so much.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2018 09:28 am Title: Chapter 4

I love this so much. It’s so gripping and you convey the heaviness of it so well. And I LOVE Dwight. I think that’s exactly what he would do in a situation like this. And sweet Michael, too. I think you’re nailing the characterizations. I am on the edge of my seat waiting for what comes next!!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: July 02, 2018 05:53 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oof, that’s a lot of dynamite.

Poor Angela! I felt especially bad for her in this chapter. Dwight continues to be great - he’s kind of exactly the person you want around if you’re in the middle of a hostage situation. I’m excited to see this version of Larisa too.

And off-topic, but not really - I had to go watch a few of the YT videos of this to remember Jerry’s voice and I had forgotten how pretty Emily’s hair was. And then I spent 2 hours watching the history of Emily, so... that’s why my own chapter isn’t finished yet. It’s cool. 😂

Reviewer: dwangela Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2018 11:47 am Title: Prologue

I like this a lot! I’ve never seen General Hospital, and even if this is a borrowed plot, you’ve made it work very well with The Office characters. Jim’s hysterics, Dwight’s control of the situation, and Michael’s odd calming presence are all well written and just how I would see them reacting in this situation. From experience, I know that it can be easy to be too heavy handed with the description or too dramatic with the dialogue in dramatic stories, but I think you’ve done a fantastic job with the balance here. Looking forward to seeing this continued!

Reviewer: battlestarjim Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2018 07:13 pm Title: Chapter 3

Whoa, this is really good! This'll be the first fic I've read on here, and I think I made the right choice. It's interesting to see a more serious and suspenseful side of things, but I'm really enjoying it. I like the way you're writing each character, too; realistic based on the show itself as well as the scenario in the fic. Keep up the good work, can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2018 05:49 pm Title: Chapter 3

First things first, good to see Jim got some garlic bread. Phew.

I like this Dwight a lot. And Michael and Andy too! It’s nice to see all of them coming together to try and save Pam while poor Jim is stuck outside.

I vote yes on the map. Just for fun!

Author's Response: Jim getting garlic bread was honestly a pivotal plot point, thank you for noticing.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2018 02:35 pm Title: Chapter 3

Ugh, this is tense. By which I mean you're doing a good job, but soap opera plotlines are just very hard on the nerves.

Author's Response: They truly are. One of the reasons I stopped watching (that, and bad acting...). But thank you! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2018 10:56 am Title: Chapter 2

I don't think the argument is OOC for later-season Jim/Pam, so there's no reason (except my poor heart!) it should be inherently OOC earlier. They had a lot to work through, and we know Jim has a weird aggressive tendency to assume things about Pam moving in with him (see: buying a dang house) so this seems sad but reasonable.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2018 07:24 am Title: Chapter 2

I bet Pam wishes she had joined Creed and Stanley outside for their break after all.

Is it weird that I enjoy Kelly being her usual self and okay, maybe I laughed when she got slapped for her karma line. Only because I really believed that’s how it would have gone down. I also loved Michael and Dwight manning up and trying to protect everyone.

I knew it was coming but, oh man, that shot. Ugh.

And now I want garlic bread. And the next chapter, please!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2018 10:36 pm Title: Chapter 2

So I’ve never watched General Hospital and I *so* wanted to watch all the YouTube videos about it, but I practiced restraint so that I could experience this story for the first time through this lens. So I’m excited! Also, I don’t think their argument was OOC at all. I bet they argued more than we ever thought they did, and I bet at one point or another Roy’s name was brought up in some context. I think it was believable and it certainly added a lot of tension to an already suspenseful story. I know that I could just go look up what happens next but I refuse, so next chapter soon please!!! a86;a039;

Reviewer: BringingTheJam Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2018 07:15 pm Title: Chapter 2

What an amazing chapter! Can't wait to read more. :)

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2018 10:20 pm Title: Prologue

Agian, this genre is not my cup of tea. When I read the first few lines, I thought "not gonna like this". But two lines turned into five and you very quickly sucked me in. Just goes to show, it's not the genre that's important -- it's the writing, it's the character development, it's the emotion, both on the surface and inside adrenaline filled bodies. Just goes to show that you are a compelling writer, and YES! Keep going!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2018 06:55 pm Title: Prologue

Definitely keep going. I don't know your source material, but it sounds interesting and I'm along for the ride.

But really, 3 WIP again? ;)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans