Reviews For Hello My Old Heart
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 08, 2020 11:29 am Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

So now I have Jim/Pam feelings AND Meredith/Derek feelings. Awesome.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 08, 2020 10:58 am Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

Ten more chapters sounds great to me...

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2020 08:41 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

First, really nice surprise to see this updated! I'm so spoiled right now with all of the new and fic updates coming in. I am probably the only one who DOESN'T want them to hook up on date #3. Honestly, feels like it could be really damaging to them both. Like even with some things said, so much is still left quiet, and with his pending move, could really set her back. I mean, I'm not going to HATE it if they do, but I like this flirty, tentative thing they have going. Almost hotter than the physical stuff. The watch stuff and how he and Karen noticed her reaction was really interesting. I have this thought in the back of my head like they need each other to heal and become themselves again and where they are meant to be, but hope they don't rush to that point, or can strip away the layers (not physical ones) to get there. Honestly, I also hope Pam was just as wild if not more than Jim while they were apart. Seems like it would help them even more to come together and heal. Anyhow, I'm rambling. Great update! Love them at the diner too, becoming official years ago. So sweet.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2020 05:46 am Title: Somebody that I used to know

I feel like I could give reviews on the reviews here. All of you have such beautiful words.

Reviewer: Jammin Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2020 12:02 am Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

Im you happy you posted this! This reads like a story I want to go on forever and ever and ever

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2020 08:05 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

Okay so obviously I binged this and there are just so many things that honestly make this one of the best fics I’ve read and takes me back to that heart wrenching feeling of “oh my god they hurt each other so much” to “oh my godddd they love each other so much!” that is present in the best of fics and is usually accompanied by a slow burn and just. Ugh.

So because I am not anywhere near as eloquent as you I cannot begin to put my thoughts into orderly fashion so instead I present a list about why this is so amazing.

-the fleshing out of these characters that get a throwaway mention in a way that feels real and true and makes sense
-the way both Jim and Pam changed (for the better or worse) and made decisions that reflected their mental state, again, in a way that feels very real and true and not forced. Bad boy womanizer hotshot Jim (or whatever we want to call him) makes sense and isn’t just bad boy for no reason. His decisions make sense for the characterization you’ve presented, and the characterization feels true to the source material and really shows how someone’s situation and surroundings can drastically change their behavior. For Pam, too.
-Pam’s friendship with Karen! I love it so much. It really feels natural and Karen is made into a character that fits into what we know of her but not in a way that makes her out to be too much of a bitchy hard ass. Does that make sense?
-just your turn of phrase and the language you use is just so lovely.
-the flashbacks are an excellent storytelling device and I love how as the story progressed we saw more and more of what informed them and shaped them into the people they are present day
-also I just really love that you closed the Scranton branch and sent them all on their way as individuals
-the dynamic between Jim and Bill was so well written and believable and it made sense, as opposed to “no you can’t marry my daughter for reasons” it was “nah that ain’t it fam, for reasons that are misinformed but good to me as her father”
-the way you wrote their arguments
-Jo!!!
-the way his and Hannah’s marriage progressed and dissolved
-the way they got to know each other again
-DANNY’S APPEARANCE
-her putting on that CN dress oh my god my heart
-the steamy stuff but you already knew you were good at that

This is SO LONG and there’s STILL MORE but honestly I just don’t know if I can give enough accolades? This fic makes me feel old school feels and I love it and hate you for doing this to me but also love you for blessing me with it. Ugh. So good. Never stop.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2020 10:17 am Title: You know by now that we will meet again

Okay so I missed this when it first was being published because I had dropped off the face of the earth, and oh my god. I am so so glad the shoutbox was going nonstop about HMOH because man. This is SO GOOD so far and like, everything I didn’t know I needed? But I had to stop in my read to leave a review for this specific moment because it is genius and witty and I love it so much.

“More like competent underachievers who need someone to take a chance on them so they don’t have to—” she shrugs for effect, as though she is trying to think up a terrible fate, “— sell paper for their first five years out of college.”

Amazing.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2020 03:08 am Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

DC. DC. DC. I saw this had updated at like 7am this morning as I was leaving for work. You can bet I then spent each and every waking moment willing the day away so I could home to read this. The anticipation is SO very high.

Oh. Kicking it off with Rivers and Roads as the title. That’s fine. I’m fine. That song doesn’t turn me to an emotional mess instantly.
Side note: have you seen Chuck? Because that song in Chuck, holy god.

“Pam had smiled at him that way a million times before, but that shred of hope and possibility he’d spent three years stifling wouldn’t be denied anymore.” This a thing of pure beauty. This thing you do, with putting the words into the sentences? Amazing.

Oh, this is too precious for words. Jim’s shock at Pam actually wanting to be together. “Officially dating.” They are the cutest. This conversation is just the right about of awkward and complete perfection.

Jo is a delight. I love how she’s onto Jim and makes no secret of it. Even better is her giving Jim the info he’s too scared to outright ask for.

Larissa and Jim having their own conversation in the midst of the whole sibling video call is so good. Way to really capture that sibling dynamic. I love a good Larissa. Oh Jim is right. His parents know what’s up and it is a joy.

“Her eyes land on him and instantly they soften as her smile widens.” MY WHOLE DAMN HEART. Ugh. They’re beyond adorable.

Jo is honestly just a ray of sunshine. Taking Andy for coffee? Bless her heart. Nice repurposing of Big Tuna too - that was Andy level appropriate awkwardness.

“How two people can unravel their pained history before practically dry humping against a public brick wall but then resort to monosyllabic stuttering when it comes to hiring a couple of interns is beyond him.” This. THIS DC. This is why this fic is so good.

“You always leaned on my desk like this when we worked together.” Stop. This is too much for my heart to take. God, I love these idiots so damn much.

“Men will do many things — inexplicable, self-destructive things — to win the favor and attention of a woman. They start wars. They abandon power and compromise fortunes. In Jim’s case, they willingly offer themselves as the third wheel to a lunch date with a ballbusting best friend.” DC. How is everything you write SO good? This is amazing. I want to frame it and hang it on my wall it’s that good. Hilarious.

“So should we go over third date rules?”
“Oh, I think the standard rules —” I’m just quoting your whole story back at you at this point, but honestly there are so many brilliant passages I can’t keep up. I love this banter so damn much.

Look. As far as I’m concerned, it’s a sin to review one of your updates and not mention Karen. That moment with Jim in the car leaves me thinking a little hopeful, I feel like there’s a little more shared understanding between them. Karen has Pam’s back, but she’s kind of also a little Team Jim. That’s my hot take anyway, and I’m sticking with it.

That end note. There’s nothing I love more than innocent and pure third date...smut...

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2020 02:46 am Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

So. As I was rereading this epic masterpiece at 3am it occurred to me that I had never left a review. Probably because I’m very late to the party around here but whatever. Anyway, I have only cried a handful of times in my life at a fanfic but I legit cried, embarrassingly so, several times durning this one. Allow me to recap the points of my mental breakdowns:

“It was a Thursday night in March.”

“Do you think we broke each other?” When Karen’s head tips to the side, Pam knows she’s buying time, not genuinely confused. But she continues anyway, “Jim. And me. Did we break each other?”

“That thing you’ve always done. Stand in a room full of people and look at her like you’ve never seen a woman before.”

Yep, I lost it. Alone. In the dark. In the middle of the night.

“Okay, you’re getting cut off.” Karen ceremoniously moved the wine bottle to the floor. “You say ‘fuck’ a lot when you get twisted.” —That is the moment I officially fell in love with Karen.

So in conclusion, you have ruined all stories for me going forward and I am tempted to never write anything again because clearly this is the best there is.

Seriously, DC this is perfect and beautiful and painful and I never want it to end. If it takes several months to get to read about the third date, it will be worth it. Thank you for sharing your talent with us.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 09:58 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

First of all. I love that I could have been born at any time in history and Jesus Christ chose for me to be alive during the publication of this story. That being said. The Penn State sweatshirt and the cheeks? Made me want to visit a confessional (in a good way. Can there be a good way? Who cares I loved it).

I also love that you kind of skipped right past all of the bullshit and Pam just decides they're dating over a friggen tuna melt.

The donut. See? THAT'S Jim. I see him. He's in there somewhere.

I love that Andy is so surprised that Jo wants to take him for coffee and she was like "Don't make me change my mind, boy!"

"That wouldn’t be enough. " DC
D
C
.

"If you can't get Karen to budge I pick what we do tonight" when I SAY I CHOKED A LITTLE

Karen busting Jim's shit about his car is so undeserved of mankind. I truly thank you. And humbly request that you write an entire spin-off series where it's The Fast and the Furious starring Karen and Paul.

THEY DID THE THING. AT THE RESTAURANT. WITH THE PICKLES. WHY AM I EMOTIONAL ABOUT PICKLES. I HATE PICKLES.

I didn't know that little fact about watches. That's...I'm rolling my eyes at Jim.

SHE. NAMES. HER. PURSES.

Okay so, the "I don't want to do this" actually melted me into pure goo. GOO. And the fact that he is asking about her rules is so OldJim that I melted a little more. Hopefully his pocketbook doesn't deter her any further.

Next chapter better NOT BE INCREDIBLY INNOCENT, WOMAN.

(In all seriousness I am so thrilled that this is back and please know that I only harass you because this story has broken me in all of the best ways possible).

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 09:38 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

“You always leaned on my desk like this when we worked together.” I--

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 08:20 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

I'm so excited to see an update. This story is my favourite, although I don't know why because it has way more than its share of angst! Seriously though, this is epic.

The banter is so perfect, you've captured Jim and Pam just as they are only better. Both are mature and beginning to understand the ways they both contributed to their breakup.

Karen and Jo are both excellent. Jo is so fun. The little interaction with her taking Andy for coffee - perfection!

You know I'm living for the third date. Please don't make us wait so long!

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 08:07 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

Love this! Just discovered it when you updated today and am hooked. Keep the updates coming!

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 07:08 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

Your writing is wonderful. Can't wait for date 3.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 06:14 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

Very glad to see this updated. This whole chapter seemed like a nice way to calm down from the events of the previous night and yet set the stage for what's to come. After all this time, Jim and Pam still connect with each other. It's great to see.

The flashback where they got together the first time with the more than hints of steam set the stage nicely. Hopefully that means that this time they're also getting back together again too. Not just a fling or anything like that. But that's me hoping.

Incredibly innocent and pure? Yeah, nice try. I see those devil horns. At the same time, really looking forward to seeing how the date goes. Jim, word of advice, put your phone on silent this time.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 03:16 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

OK that's very adorable. I am fascinated by the question of how much he actually spent. But I love this story so much, and your writing style as well, so I'm just ding-dang-delighted that you decided to update.

Also I will make a fake account and give you all of its additional jellybeans if you actually write an innocent and pure third date, just to see the metaphorical look on Coley and AG's faces.

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 02:56 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

I was legitimately smiling all throughout this chapter, I couldn't stop. And you know I will be counting down the minutes until the next chapter. This was so beyond worth the wait

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2020 02:06 pm Title: Nothing is as it has been and I miss your face like hell

No word of a lie I thought about this story yesterday and desperately wished for an update last night!
I adore this fic and I can’t wait for the innocent third date ;)

Also, rivers and roads is one of my all time favourite songs! So thanks for including that in this too :)

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2020 03:21 pm Title: Lights will guide you home and ignite your bones

WOW. This was a WILD ride. I absolutely adored it and need more of it, soon. I actually teared up reading this chapter. This was amazing, 5 stars.

Reviewer: ScrantonSantiago Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2020 10:26 am Title: Lights will guide you home and ignite your bones

Dying to hear what’s next for these two. The parking lot kiss! That late night phone call! So much hurt and joy and AHH. Two months since an update has been torture

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2019 07:24 pm Title: Lights will guide you home and ignite your bones

Spotted: Jim and Pam and Karen and Paul having the best adult sleepover ever. What can I even say about this flashback? I’m never going to be able to go into a Whole Foods without smirking ever again. I’m not mad about that.

Hey, let’s talk about Karen for a second before I get into this story. She got bangs. Karen got bangs after a break up with Paul, and you put the best tiny details into this story and my favorite part about reading it is finding these little gems.

Anyways. Now they’re at the mural, and why do I get kind of choked up every time Jim tells Pam he’s proud of her?

Listen. I love that all of this – the confessions, the fight, the kiss – it all takes place in a parking lot, but not the DM parking lot. The symmetry is really nice, and I appreciate you didn’t take the easy route of putting them back in familiar territory.

“I came back for you.” I mean, I was already super invested in this chapter, but the build-up of the fight from this line all the way to Pam’s “I went to your goddamned engagement party…” It’s.. it’s just so very good. All of it. I don’t think I breathed while reading their fight? And I knew what Pam’s comeback was going to be, but it still felt like a sucker punch. And then everything after that? Jim freaking apologizes to her for her showing up at his engagement party. That entire moment, when he doesn’t know what to do or say, it’s now firmly in my top 5 favorite emotional moments of this entire story.

AND THEN SHE KISSES HIM. AND HE KISSES HER BACK. Yeah he does.

“Pam bites her bottom lip because it’s really all too much with him like this. Wanting to lighten the mood, she pushes her fingertips against his pectoral muscles, and, with an exaggerated jaw drop, mouths, “Wow. So strong.”” Like, thank you for this because *I* needed the same break from that moment.

“But, Jesus, Pam actually stands up and takes a gulp of wine at seeing Jim’s name on her phone. She picks up a teal throw pillow and resettles into a corner of the couch, clutching the pillow and her wineglass like it’s her mid-thirties version of a security blanket.” I ask this every chapter, but seriously, how do you do this? That whole carefully casual goodnight phone call made me grin, because it’s so sweet, and Pam just wants to sneak into Jim’s parents’ house and who can blame her?

The idea of 10 more chapters of this makes me happier than you’ll ever know.

xoxo, Coley.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2019 06:58 pm Title: One foot in and one foot back

Oh hey, you’re crushing hearts right off the bat in this chapter. Good. I’ve been missing being emotionally destroyed by fictional characters.

Jim. Ugh, poor Jim. To have Margaret tell him that Pam had moved is just such a brilliant choice. And then to have Hannah have to bail him out of jail? Not a great night to be Jim.

Speaking of Hannah, I really love the way you turned her into a whole person, and not just a throwaway character that we don’t care about. You gave her depth, and we know that she’s not super touchy feely, and that she knew her marriage to Jim was doomed from the beginning, but she still loved him in her own way – this is all very good, and don’t get me wrong, I’m glad they’re divorced, but it was nice getting to know Hannah a little bit. Even the husband sharing part of her. Not so much the breaking the rules and cheating with Aaron part of her, but well, no one is perfect. I really love how they just know they’re better off after the divorce, and able to be friends after everything.

But back to present day – and this tea date is adorable in the best of ways, and Pam’s list of rules for dating is perfect, and their banter is the best, and how do you do this? Seriously.

“I was not in any way over you. Even a little. It was too soon after we, you know… And, she was, obviously, in no way over her ex.” Jim’s complete honesty here is so good, I don’t even care if it’s because Karen told him he needed to be. And then when he gets to the “But I didn’t get that life, so I bought a fast car?” part of his life story… Again, I’m fine and have no real attachment to these characters and this world you’ve built.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2019 10:21 am Title: Lights will guide you home and ignite your bones

20 Chapters! Sweet merciful crap girl! What else are you going to drag us through? Mostly kidding of course. These two seem to have a lot of issues they still need to sort out. That being said, the flashback was wonderfully sweet.

Lots of very real emotions going on there outside the bar. It's very easy to see that things would get heated between them before they get "heated," for other reasons. I do like that they're being honest with each other like this. In the show it seemed for the first few seasons that Jim and Pam took the long way around before they finally got together. Even more so with this story. Things are looking up to be sure. Hope they can stay on track.

Author's Response: Warrior, thank you so much for taking the time to read this. I appreciate your commitment to reviewing each chapter. I hope you enjoy where the rest of the story goes.  

Reviewer: Assistant2theRegionalManager Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2019 02:26 am Title: Somebody that I used to know

This 5 jelly bean limit is seriously killing me!! I’m fresh outta beans here, but wish I could fork over a Costco sized container of those little Kerman’s of joy! This is solidly one of my favorite stories out there. I adore your writing and pine for each new chapter. This one had all the feels and was... hot! 🌶🌶🌶 Their canon characters are so vibrant. The AU missed connections are devastating. This chapter was a sweet Halloween treat. Thank you!

Author's Response: A2RM, oh my gosh this review is so incredibly kind! And I absolutely laughed out loud at those peppers! :) I really hope you enjoy where this story continues to go and thank you so much!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2019 12:57 am Title: Lights will guide you home and ignite your bones

Wow, DC, wow. I mean I’m already generally an emotional mess most of the time, but that entire flashback left me reeling. How they lost all that... Ugh. So much ugh.
And then there’s present day, and what a ride that was. It’s so, so nice to finally see some honesty and courage from the both of them. That kiss, oh boy that kiss. I can’t deal with how heart wrenchingly perfect this whole thing is...

Author's Response: Oh, JB! You are too kind. I'm so glad you are enjoying this. You have no idea how much I appreciate your very kind words and ongoing encouragement of this story!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans