Reviews For Hello My Old Heart
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 19, 2019 05:40 pm Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

I'm gonna be honest with you DC, this isn't your best wo-- Sorry. I can't even type that with a straight face. OMG, imagine a world in which I'd be all "you could do be better." Impossible. This story continues to be one of my favorite things ever, and this chapter is brilliant from start to finish.

You've already heard a lot of my comments so what I really want to talk about is why I'm mad at Hannah for taking her shot with Jim but appreciate Jason's seduction of Pam. I'm pretty sure it's only 37% because of his accent.

Like, I get it. Jim and Pam both need to move on. They're both trying. It makes sense. Eventually, they were going to need to sleep with other people. They just didn't need to marry them, JIM.

I'm going to continue thinking about this for far too long.

Pam's to do list killed me, especially that last item. It's such a great little detail and I love that when she's talking to Karen later, she stays true to herself and doesn't mention it.

Another great detail that delighted me? "Your thirty dollar Target shoes scream gold digger"

When Jim finds out Pam's teaching a class and gets all proud and calls her Beesly? Twice? My heart grew two sizes. He's so proud of her!

And then Pam tells him he looks fuckable and I scream into the void because well, yeah. But also because I just sincerely enjoy this Pam so much.

His Raya profile is everything I want it to be and more. The picture. The SONG. No wonder he lands models. Gold star for including the term "douche canoe." It's a personal favorite.

And that phone call at the end! It's nothing major but like, its still an olive branch extended and they can't help but fall back into the easy banter and the teasing and listen, I'll fight anyone who disagrees that Pam's dating profile song has to be Blank Space.

p.s. Can I get a short one-shot to this story where Jim and Pam leave work early to watch the Met Gala red carpet? Please?

p.p.s Always choose Drake.

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 09:47 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

This story is so insanely good. You are so talented. Don’t ever stop writing.

The build up and tension are wonderful. I can’t wait to read more, hopefully soon! XOXO

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 08:22 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

DC, I love this story, and your writing, and these two idiots. This chapter was amazing. You painted such a clear picture with the flashbacks that I felt like I was watching a movie. I had to take breaks while reading because...heartbreak, but oh so good. The scenes after each of them have their encounters with other people, and all they can think about is each other....heartbreaking.

I basically cackled when Pam told Jim he looked fuckable. OMG. I love this Pam. I was thinking about her choice to not move to Philly but to then turn around and move to NYC, and I totally get it. She wanted to move for herself, not for him. She didn't want to be given ultimatums.

You can keep torturing us all you want with the heartbreak as long as you promise to make it up to us with the ending. :-)

Thank you for the writing, it's wonderful.

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 06:26 pm Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

The flashbacks were a tough read, not going to lie. But it's reality.

Between this and the last chapter, a thought came to mind after reading the review of them both being broken. The idea that they both broke over multiple things, that then spun them out in to making other choices. Their breakup being the first thing.

IMO, it seems like Jim broke more over Pam moving to NY (thus spinning the DUI), and she broke over him getting engaged so quickly after they split. That didn't come out as overtly but I sense it in the words. Like he needs to know why she did that (the move) and she needs to know why he didn't want to marry her and could move on so quickly.

And without getting that answered, they can't totally heal together and maybe come back together. It's the elephants in the room that neither can fully get beyond yet.

I also feel like being around Pam again reminds Jim of how life was before they split or how it could have been. He's so unused to it and may be realizing now how shallow or hollow he's been without some of those grounding things that only she can give him. So while it's holding her back a bit now because she doesn't know how she can compete, for him it's a reminder what maybe what else he needs or missed more than he allowed himself to while he was trying to go against it.

All of this could be reaching but that's my POV. Love it and can't wait for more.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 01:58 pm Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

Still very much here for all of this, think you're doing it beautifully. I'm not going to go into paragraph raptures but only because I like to keep these short, so: well done, so glad you're still doing this, liking both Karen and Hannah a lot.

Author's Response: Comfect, your concise words always feels like "paragraph raptures" (I literally laughed out loud when I read this) so thank you for your kind words. Glad you like Karen and Hannah; hope I continue to not make you hate Jim. ;) Seriously, thank you for continuing to support this story; I appreciate it. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 08:27 am Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

Auch, MY heart! This really hurts and I am a masochistic loser for hoping for the next chapter to come soon.
(Loves it, though)

Author's Response: Thank you, K3! I hope it comes soon too. I'm at a bit of a roadblock so I might try for not quite so much pain next chapter. How does that sound? But no promises! :) THank you for always being so supportive of this story. 

Reviewer: impreciseotto Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 05:06 am Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

I am very disappointed that this chapter came to an end and also simultaneously delighted with all the wonderful banter. The dialogue is so deal that I have no problem imagining Jim and Pam actually saying these things to each other. And also WHEN WILL THEY SAY WHAT THEY ACTUALLY WANT TO SAY.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness thank you so much for your kind words! And also, that's me screaming as I write it WHEN WILL YOU GUYS ACTUALLY SAY WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY but they just keep acting like idiots. Oh well... I so appreciate your support of this story.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2019 03:58 am Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

That flashback tore me to shreds. Boy. Way to make me feel all the feelings.
I absolutely loved the line about kindling/ember. What a brilliant way to describe it.
I’ve said it before, & I’ll say it again - I adore Karen as a friend, not a rival. Especially written like this. I feel for canon Pam due to her lack of female friendships, it’s great to see them come alive in fic.
Looking forward to seeing where you go next!

Author's Response: Jenna, on one hand I'm sorry for tearing you to shreds. On the other that's kind of what I was going for so... I mean I'm still sorry about it though. :) Seriously, thank you continuing to love This Karen and support this story. I hope you continue to enjoy it. Your kind words are so appreciated.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2019 11:44 pm Title: When Your Eyes Meet Mine I Lose Simple Skills

Okay, so yes that did take a while to get through. Interesting to see how Jim and Pam "got over" each other like that. My heart breaks for both of them that that's how they would think they needed to get over each other.

Getting into the non-flashback scenes. Pam needs to listen to Karen about Jim. Wow, that's not a sentence I ever thought I would type. Anyway it still holds true. The biggest problem Jim and Pam have ever had is they have always had a hard time really communicating with each other. It kept them apart Seasons 1-3 and reared its head again in Season 9. When they both finally pulled their heads out of their asses and swallowed their pride, led to some of the best JAM scenes of the show. I get the feeling that's what's happening here. Even after so long apart, their feelings for each other haven't gone away. They can still banter with each other which is fun to see. Good on Pam for calling and texting him. I get why she's be insecure especially seeing how supposedly successful Jim is now. However, it seems she's kind of gotten over that, at least a little, and is continuing the movement they had after the Chinese food eating time in her apartment. Things like that soothes some of the ache my JAM loving heart went through with those two flashbacks.

Author's Response: Thanks for this, Warrior! I was hoping to get some balance here between those crushing flashbacks and their attempts to move forward. I'm glad that's working! Thank you for your kind words. 

Reviewer: impreciseotto Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 14, 2019 03:30 am Title: You know by now that we will meet again

I'm just going to say straight up that this is the best re-imagining of that fateful 'are you free for dinner tonight?' scene I have ever read. Definitely didn't expect it and 100% overjoyed with its execution. Leaving all the jellybeans because this fic is wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad it was unexpected and a joy for you. Your kind words are so appreciated. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 07:09 pm Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to get here but like, there was a lot to process this chapter and it took me a few days to work through it all.

I love your flashbacks. Every single one of them is an absolute gem and they correlate to present day in the most creative of ways but this flashback? It’s my favorite so far. They’re so happy. They’re. So. Happy. She survived MSPC, he survived Pam’s dad being a jerk, and their current biggest worries are if Pam is going to spill more wine or if Jim’s going to spoil GoT for her.

Two things to round up my feelings on the flashback because lord knows I have things to say about present day. First, I love how you’re sneaking in little lines like “her giggle danced against his lips” and “do a number of things that had absolutely, satisfyingly nothing to do with paper”, and the entire paragraph where Jim contemplates getting the ring and proposing and like, I get it, you’re so good at this, but like, you’re so good at this and you create these moments that are so clear and coherent and lovely and sexy and it’s just everything. You have a very specific style of writing and I love it a lot.

But also, Pam’s “you know nothing, Jim Halpert”? Hi, I’m dead. There are so many layers in that sentence and I love them all and ugh, they’re so, so happy here.

You think I loved the flashback? Let’s talk about the present. I have some Thoughts.

I love that even though the conversation is a little awkward at first, and they’re very aware of how much space to leave between them as they sit on the couch, that this whole having dinner together bit is just comfortable to them. They’ve done it a thousand times before and old habits die hard. Like the teasing when Pam feeds him the fake story about Penny just to break the tension over her parents.

Jim pushing the issue of Pam and Brian all the while knowing he’s really close to ruining the moment but unable to stop himself because he’s both jealous and mad and then guilty for feeling both of those things… he’s just as much a broken mess as she is.

I wish I could explain why I love their messy broken lives but like, Pam’s pill dabbles and Jim’s DUI – I’m not even sorry I pushed so hard for these, because I love the depth it gives both of them. And shit, DC, we haven’t even met Hannah yet but the image of her in a police station with a Birkin tells me everything I need to know.

“Pam’s watching him, waiting for a response or reaction, but he’s at a loss. Does he commiserate, confess to having married a woman because she was a fascinating foil to Pam yet didn’t prove quite the long-term replacement he’d hoped for? Does he launch into his own admission of waiting for the day he feels deeply fulfilled by his work or something, of dulling regrets with drugs, alcohol, and women who are as emotionally unavailable as he is?” Cool, cool. Remember how happy they were on Friday, May 18, 2012? Because I do. It’s fine. I’m fine.

I love, love, love that Betsy, Pete, and Tom all have thoughts on Jim’s current predicament. Is there going to be more Betsy? You know I love me some Betsy.

Hey, thanks for setting up this perfectly great moment of a possible kiss in Pam’s kitchen, and then knock me on my ass with Danny’s arrival. Again, I’m FINE. I’ve read this chapter like… okay, too many times now honestly, and I still screech like a banshee at Pam’s introduction of Danny and Jim to each other. It’s so brilliant and it’s so NOT the Pam we’re used to. In an entire chapter of Pam we’re not used to, this moment just shines and I cannot thank you enough for the absolute glee and delight it brings me every single time I read it. I absolutely adore that she doesn’t even apologize for it because she has nothing to be sorry for.

And here’s Jim again, still pushing the moment and getting her to admit that it wasn’t Brian she wasn’t over and this is where I die a fourth time. But I also love that he doesn’t leave her hanging out there all vulnerable and sad – he just matches her brokenness and they move on. Ugh, these two, Even apart, they’re still so in sync.

The bit where he realizes he used to be able to read every single flinch she made and now he can’t? Again. I’m FINE.

Never apologize for fortune cookie scenes because Jim’s says A professional meeting will bring him much success and HE’S USING WORK AS AN EXCUSE TO SEE PAM AND IT’S GOING TO WORK. BETWEEN THE SHEETS. No one cares about Under Armour.

“Pam lives in Scranton. I’m moving to Austin. This doesn’t change that.” This whole dying thing? It’s still happening. I love every second of it. Except.

Okay.

Deep breaths.

You.

Look. You can't take a Grey’s Anatomy scene and turn it into a Jim and Pam scene and not expect me to lose my goddamn mind. Because I will. Every single time. But this moment? THIS moment? This. Moment. I’m not fine. “I can’t remember our last date.”

I’m fine. It’s totally fine that their last date ended in Kitchen Things with a TSwift twist AND I SAID I’M FINE, OKAY?

I’m fine.

(I’m not fine. How’s chapter 6 coming along?)

Author's Response:

I...see when you leave reviews like this I'm just pretty certain I can't top it and so I might just leave it on this cliffhanger. Let the reader decide what these two idiots do. (We both know I'll never really do that. I have too many Thoughts here as well.) 

I didn't set out to make them so broken but, really two people who have so much Power for Good over the other when they're together probably have the inverse of that power when they're apart. But, yeah. They're broken. And, yeah, they see it in each other. 

There will be a Betsy chapter. I hope you will enjoy it. :) She'll be cooking, of course. 

I blame You Tube and you for the Grey's and TSwift rabbit holes we fell down here. But I won't deny my love for it. :)

Thank you for being such a great beta for this story AND for just enjoying the heck out of it. These reviews warm my heart through and through. 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 04:06 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

Everyone's reviews have been so amazing that I can hardly add more. Ditto to everything agian said.

I like this version of Pam. She's got some grit. She's had some life experiences that don't involve Jim and I think she's actually in a better place to be in a good relationship. She's sassy - such an appealing quality in a woman!

When Danny was there I was afraid you were going to let Jim leave. (One of the spots where I was dying!)

But these two just cannot communicate! It's like the main love language they have in common is physical, and when that's not available they just can't say what they feel.

I'm looking forward to your next chapter. This story is so great. The dialogue is perfect.

Author's Response: Sprinkles thank you so much for this kind review! I agree about Pam's own experiences without Jim. I wish we'd seen more of that in season 3 because (even though it was SO painful) I do love Pam's growth in that season. I firmly believe canon Pam has some sass and grit (maybe not this much) but still lets herself be vulnerable. I'm glad you are enjoying this; thank you for always being so supportive of this story. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 11:23 am Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

"Pam lives in Scranton. I’m moving to Austin. This doesn’t change that." Damn you DC! That better not be the emotion this story leaves us on or I will literally scream here in my living room.

You do a really good job of portraying Jim and Pam here as damaged people trying to get, not back to a place where they weren't damaged, but to a place where they're repaired: where they can be themselves again but not the same selves they used to be. I'm looking forward for the rest of this tale. Wonderful work.

Author's Response:

So what you're saying is, you DON'T want me to end it there? I considered it. Thought I could leave it open to the reader's interpretation what happens next, but when I suggested that there were death and arson threats so I'm going to keep it going. ;) Of course it won't end there! But we have a way to get there. 

Hey, guess what the summary of this story SHOULD be: Jim and Pam here as damaged people trying to get, not back to a place where they weren't damaged, but to a place where they're repaired: where they can be themselves again but not the same selves they used to be. 

That's exactly what I'm going for and I'm So Very Glad that's working for you here.  Thank you for such a great review!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 10:00 am Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

Okay first of all, I now have Issues stuck in my head, so thanks.

I love it whenever Pam wears Jim's t-shirts like they're hers. Especially since it's a Widespread Panic shirt, because Jim now has at least 3 of these in his drawer, in my mind.

Can I just say how proud I am of you for coming so far on little smutty scenes? Because they're so perfect. "...and then do a number of things that had absolutely, satisfyingly nothing to do with paper." See? You see that. Ugh. I love it. And then there was, "...made her look absolutely wrecked, and he hadn't even gotten there yet." You really do turn the subtle sexy on SO well.

I also love that, despite all of the issues they're having, Jim is still 100% in Camp Pam, always supportive, and not losing the banter that they've always had (in canon at least). Like him saying that he would run off and join the circus with her (I am now 100% in Camp Jim the Juggler) and the tickling/wrestling that just takes all of the worrying out and gets them back to their roots.

I honestly contemplated stopping reading (is that grammatically correct? I have no idea) after "You know nothing, Jim Halpert" because I didn't think that could be topped, but congrats, because you sure DID.

The fact that they just had the shittiest date in the history of Jim Halpert, and now they're sharing take-out while splitting it up like the old days without missing a beat just breaks my heart, because the love is still there (and obviously you prove that later, and shatter my heart even more, but we'll get to that).

Brian like Camera Brian? Same Brian? Do you just like the name? Either way, I'm definitely on board with the fact that Pam actually had a relationship after Jim, that she didn't stew and feel sorry for herself, and was actually able to be her own person (one who did drugs--I LOVE YOU FOR PUTTING THAT IN HERE, CAN I JUST SAY??? CRAZY, FLAWED PAM DOING STUPID SHIT IS SO FAR REMOVED FROM EVERYTHING I KNOW AND I LOVE IT).

Also, Jim getting a DUI because he was so broken over Pam is absolutely what would have happened, and I love that you basically took these two people and shattered them into shells that have nothing left but the residual feelings for one another, because that's truly all they know and will ever need. And then throw in Betsy wanting to know how his date is going, because honestly, moms always know best, and she probably misses Pam too, and I'm just sitting here in a puddle of my emotions, thanks.

“Jim Halpert, Danny Cordray. Danny and I fuck without feelings and Jim’s ass is hanging over my couch.”
I don't really need to say anything else on the subject, do I?

And now, Pam has a fuck buddy, and this Pam is slowly becoming my favorite Pam, because she is doing the exact OPPOSITE of sulking, and she's just trying to make sense of a life post-Jim. Because "It wasn't Brian..." and she's TELLING HIM that it wasn't Brian instead of cowering away, and I'm just

Ugh.

Jim only has one night stands because he can't emotionally connect with someone other than Pam and they just REALLY ARE BROKEN.

You're really the best, ya know?

I loved the line about, "Wanna go back to talking about my parent's divorce?" because it just shows how fucked up they've truly gotten, but it still made me laugh out loud that *divorce* was less painful than how their lives have been going as of late.

Listen. I am ALL for reusing the fortune cookie bit. Especially the way that you did it. Because flashbacks with future connections are what I THRIVE on (who, me? *cough cough*) and the way that you did this was so PERFECT. Because here's the thing. You could have made them kiss, or fallen back into what happened in the flashback. That would have worked. But not in this story. And in some cheesy version of this story, they would've been super awkward about the whole thing. But instead, Pam is inviting Jim to a 4th of July party, and they just really need to keep seeing each other, and it's SO obvious, and you did that so perfectly.

The "I don't remember our last date" *actually* broke me. Twice. Because I didn't think he was going to stop and tell her. And though it is so typical of *Jim* to remember all of those details, why did it hit me so much more that *this Jim* remembered everything? Oh right. Because he "moved on" and was married and came off as this huge asshole, and this is his moment to basically show the world that things about Jim have changed, but the one thing that hasn't is that he still loves Pam Beesly. It's okay. I'm fine.

(No I'm not).

"Does it count if I never really quit loving her?"
That's...that's the last straw. I need the next chapter NOW.

Author's Response:

There are so many things that I appreciate about this review and your love of this story. But I really appreciate that you GET what these two have to go through before they can get to the good stuff. As always, the things you point out are always some of my favorite parts to write. *yea!!* A few things:

Yes, that Brian. I don't want him with Pam in canon but Brian was hot (those arms!).   

I have too many Thoughts on mildly rebellious Pam and Jim, it just makes sense to me that at this stage they both dabbled in being reckless and kind of self-destructive.   

Ooooh, I hope you like the Betsy chapter when we get to it! 

I think of you a little bit every time I write those flashbacks. ;)

Everything in your paragraph about the part that broke you (sorry bout that) is SO TRUE! That whole part about how he's changed in many except that he still loves her... AND your part about at their most broken, their feelings for each other are all they've known or need???? I'll give you credit if, no when, I steal those lines, okay?? 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 04:48 am Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

Oh my Grey’s Anatomy! That doubled my feels! That’s one of my favorite scenes - coupled with “that’s not the she he was looking for.” But I digress... I just wasn’t expecting my MerDer feelings to be reawakened like this & I’m having a hard time thinking about anything else...

This story is so delightfully angsty. It breaks my heart to think of a world where Pam & Jim don’t make it. But the tension that remains is incredible. I can’t wait for these beautiful fools to work it all out & find each other once again.

I kind of have a soft spot for Karen & Pam as friends & you always do it so well. I like this protective version of Karen. It’s amazing what her not dating Jim does for her friendship with Pam.

Looking forward to see where you go next!

Author's Response:

Oh, Jenna! This entire review makes my heart soar with the eagle's nest! I don't watch Grey's any more but I fell down a several-hour-long black hole on YT (it was as glorious and painful as it sounds) and I just KNEW this scene had to go here. I'm not even a little ashamed of it. ;) So glad you liked it. 

 

So there was this quote one time where Jenna Fischer said that maybe Pam and Jim were only supposed to be together for a while and that kind of broke my heart but also made me think... (Although, listen, I can't live in a world where they don't ultimately get a happily ever after. So, keep that in mind.)

Oh, Jenna, you warm my heart with your comments about Karen. I absolutely love looking for ways to show what their friendship could look like. I'm so glad you're on board with this. :)  

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 04:21 am Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

BAHHHHHH such a good update!!! Loved the entire thing. I hope we get a little more from Jim on the marriage (still yay for divorce). His reaction to Danny and Brian was so great. I can’t wait to see if they give in to clearly what they both want, despite the time and distance.

Author's Response: Thanks, Bayjb! That is such a nice review and thanks especially for the specifics. Yes, we will get a lot about Jim's marriage in the next couple of chapters and hopefully no one will hate me because of it. :) I so appreciate you taking the time to read and review.  

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 11:30 pm Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

Damn. So many formatting issues throughout, all those blurry spots made this so difficult to read.

My heart was just aching for Pam and all she’s gone through due to Jim’s inability to stand up and fight for her, the right way, back before they broke up. Thinking of Pam going through her parents divorce in this story vs canon.. without Jim there for her really got to me, even with her dad being so awful and Pam claiming it’s not a big deal.

Did I get this right? Just “months” before she moved to NY she told him she couldn’t move to Philadelphia, she moved because she found out he was engaged!, and two days before his wedding he got a DUI because he found out she was moved to NY. So exactly how long did he wait to get married after the breakup? And I still need to know what Pam’s unasked question meant... “did you know I was there that night?”

These are things I need to know because I’m having a very difficult time finding sympathy for Jim and that hurts too. I’m afraid he just really didn’t/doesn’t deserve Pam and this fic is making me all kinds of sad.

Your writing, pacing, structure... whatever of this story is incredible. I just love the use of flashbacks infused with present day and how they relate with such subtle hints as the full story slowly trickles out.

Author's Response: BoY, thank you so much for that really kind review! The next couple of chapters will answer a lot of questions about their past and hopefully pull that timeline together in a way that makes sense. I hoped this chapter redeemed Jim a bit, but now I've got my work cut out for me on the next one. I will say, it's been fun to explore flawed Pam and Jim in this story. I'm so glad the flashbacks are working! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 09:21 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

I love this story. I hope there are more frequent updates. So great!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much Soupsnakes! I wish I were a faster writer, too. :( Thank you for keeping up with this story and loving it. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 08:08 pm Title: Bask in the glory of all our problems

So that was a bit of a roller coaster. There they are having a nice night, when then all of a sudden all sorts of awkwardness. Great writing to bring out all those emotions. I was kinda hoping that there at the end Jim would rush back up the stairs and kiss her senseless. Still kind of hoping for a scene like that to be honest. Thanks for the update.

Author's Response: Warrior, it's like you read my mind. Several times I thought about Jim running up those stairs and kissing her (senseless; that's a great way to put it) but it wasn't meant to be in this scene. Thanks for your kind words about this chapter. I hope you'll like where the rest of the story goes. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2019 07:56 pm Title: Give Me Eyes In the Moon of Blindness

“You sure do have a way with words.” Listen. I don’t know how to handle this version of Bill Beesly. I don’t know how to react when someone doesn’t swoon over Jim’s love for Pam and honestly, I don’t like how unsettled it makes ME feel, so I can only imagine how Jim is feeling here. And sure, on one hand the whole needing a father’s approval isn’t exactly necessary anymore but like, Jim is THAT guy. Of course he asked. Ugh, whatever Bill. However, all the tension between Bill and Jim while Jim’s in Philly makes a hell of a lot more sense now.

You know what makes me feel better though? Jim’s catalog of things he knows about Pam. This is a fantastic list all the way around and while I love that she has an insane shoe collection, it should come as no surprise that I love, love, love that she has a playlist for every occasion and that hip-hop is her go to when she’s stressed. Because now I’ve got visions of Pam leaving work on random weeknight and blasting California Love because Michael has pissed her off.

So this whole paragraph where Pam is taking care of everyone at work except herself? I love it because it is absolutely the person Pam is, but it adds another unexpected but realistic layer to her leaving with Michael.

“Hey Lady Macbeth.” I’ve already told you that this line is golden, but it’s now in my top 5 favorite lines you’ve written. And every time he repeated that it was ‘just a couch’ before realizing it wasn’t just about the couch – this is such a perfect scene all the way through to the end and I just really love that she still has the couch all these years later.

But now we’re in present day and Jim is at her door and she’s wearing the robe he gave her for their FIRST Christmas and I’ve forgotten all about the couch. Seriously, I love that Pam doesn’t get rid of anything Jim-related in this story. Nevermind the fact that she has, you know, a painting of him naked in a waterfall just hanging casually in her living room.

I love this Pam. So much. About as much as I love this story. I’ve told you it’s a good one, right? Because it’s a good one. And they’re going to be fine.

Bill can go kick rocks though.

Author's Response:

AH! How am I just now responding to this?? So, yeah, I get it about Bill. He's not too likable in this one. I'm glad you get it about Jim too; it's not just about her father's "blessing" it's about a general need for acceptance that has probably always been pretty easy to him.

Ha! I knew you'd like her musical diversity; California Love after a hard day with Michael sounds just right! :D

Thank you for being so supportive of this story and loving this Pam. But, yeah, Bill can go kick rocks.  

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:09 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

OBSESSED WITH THIS STORY. Please continue. Omg. Addicted!!! So good!!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:09 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

OBSESSED WITH THIS STORY. Please continue. Omg. Addicted!!! So good!!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:09 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

OBSESSED WITH THIS STORY. Please continue. Omg. Addicted!!! So good!!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:09 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

OBSESSED WITH THIS STORY. Please continue. Omg. Addicted!!! So good!!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:03 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

I’m obsessed with this story. Please keep updating. I can’t wait. Obsessed

Author's Response: Thanks, Soupsnakes! I so appreciate that you are enjoying this one. Hopefully I will have another chapter up soon. Thanks!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans