Reviews For Hello My Old Heart
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: December 01, 2018 02:17 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

We're waiting....

:-)

Author's Response: I promise there's another coming. Unfortunately, it's finals season and that is taking more time than I would like. BUT the next chapter is 2/3 written so hopefully I will have time soon to really work on it. Thank you for the encouragement, though. I'm glad to know you enjoy it. :)

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 08:22 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

Hi also.
Jim has a wedding ring???
jiM haS a wedDIng rinG???
Again I say: I’m about to ignore this story until it’s finished because I just need all the answers now. thnx.

Author's Response: I think we should just have another chat so you and Coley can give me all your notes after I pitch all of my Thoughts. Then you won't have to ignore me and make me CRY! :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 07:55 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

Hi it's me again. Just coming back because I forgot this in the other review but, like Pam, I too, am wondering WHERE IS YOUR WEDDING RING JIM? Except, I'm more concerned with WHY is there a wedding ring and I'm JUST NOW putting together the fact that you're using alllllll of these characters however you want and I have NO IDEA who Jim could have married if it's not Pam and it's not Karen and UGH, just quit your job and write this story full time until it's done, okay? Okay.

Author's Response: All I can say at this point is...In this chapter, Pam references an attorney who convinces him to get a haircut. You, of ALL people, know what it means when a man listens to a woman suggesting he get a haircut. 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 07:40 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

Ugh. GIRL. This is so GOOD. I love the flashbacks, and how real their struggles were when Jim moved to Philly, how Pam is annoyed with everything but then Jim is “old Jim” and finally himself when she’s around. It’s like they were in their heads and not communicating in the right way.
Honestly, I’m tempted to like, wait until you publish the whole thing so that I don’t have to wait for it to be done, because I’m seriously sad that I have to wait for an update now.

Author's Response:

Cool. Cool. Coolcoolcoolcool. I won't just fangirl over you giving me an all-cap GIRL and GOOD about this. Totally cool over here. But, yeah, they can be real losers who don't communicate. That won't serve them well...for a while. 

What do you mean you might wait?! Like, how is THAT encouraging? This kind of feedback keeps me going. I'm counting on you to tell me what you think. You wound me, Agian... 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 06:07 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

First of all, How is a lovely song and so fitting for this story!

Things I love: The contrasting care packages from Pam and Betsy and how perfect they both are. The sketchbook with the comics she drew (no for real, this might be my favorite little detail of the entire chapter. I want this comic to be real.) Jo as a receptionist. Amazing.

This part: Jo lowers herself into the desk chair, preparing for what she knows will be a good show. Karen breathes deeply and crosses her arms, leaning against the doorframe of her office. Andy, uncharacteristically aware that ‘something’ is happening, moves to perch on the far end of the desk as much to observe as he wants to relieve weight from his throbbing foot. I don't know why I love this so much, probably because it says so much about everyone in the room but also because I'd be casually leaning against the wall and pretending to send a text message while eavesdropping.

Things I loved a lot: That entire last scene when he comes back in. Its SO GOOD.

Karen continues to not annoy me, so well done there, too.

I love it. You know I love it. Already impatiently waiting for the next chapter.

Author's Response:

First of all, I was listening to Begin to Hope because SOMEBODY on here brought it back to life for me, then this song came along, and here we are. I blame you for everything. 

I mean, Jo as the receptionist who doesn't have to work because she has three rich ex-husbands makes so much sense. Like, I feel like she can be there, add commentary with her fantastic Southern sayings, and not give a single...fig about it. Karen and Pam need someone like that in their lives.

I'm glad that moment worked for you and you were practically there in the scene.

"Karen continues to not annoy me" is setting the bar waaaaaayyyyy too low for me. Like, I need to WANT Karen as a friend. What will it take, Coley, for you to Want Karen as your new BFF? Pedicures? Shopping Trips? A shared bottle of wine? What will it take? I need to know this before I can post the next chapter... 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 05:49 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

So some questions are answered, other are hinted at. Pam's emotions are rolling in this one. I'm sure the rest of the journey will be just as up and down. However I did like the lines from "The Job" you put in there. Nice throwback.

Author's Response: Hey W4! Thanks for the feedback. Yeah, the whole story has a lot of rolling emotions and I'm a big fan of the ups and downs that end with ups. :D I'm glad that throwback worked for you! Thanks for that. 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 04:54 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

This is so great and I really needed to read something great today. Thank you. Please keep writing!

Author's Response: Sprinkles, thank you so much! That is the sweetest! I will definitely keep this one going; I'm kind of attached to where I want these two to end up. I really appreciate your feedback. Thank you! 

Reviewer: wheelbarrow28 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2018 02:48 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

PLEASE KEEP GOING FORWARD WITH THIS.

Author's Response: I plan to! Thanks for the encouragement. :)

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2018 04:42 am Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

Oh hell. Girl! I am SO on board for this! Tell me why Pam and Karen being BFFs is so easy for me to grab onto? And why I’m like, instantly mad at Jim and waiting for him to grovel? Oh man am I excited for this.

Author's Response: Dang! An endorsement like this from you AND Coley?! I better get to writing. Just keep in mind that Pam might have some groveling to do as well... And, yeah, every single AU fic in my head involves them being friends. And Karen never thinking of Jim in any way other than Pam's One True Love. :)

Reviewer: miserycrush Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2018 01:04 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

LOVE LOVE LOVE, keep it going please!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks, girl! I plan on it. Thank you. :)

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2018 10:34 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

I really like this idea and the story!! I hope there is no cheating involved!! Keep going!

Author's Response: Hi Soupsnakes! (Great name!) Thank you for your kind words about this story! Cheating, hmmmmmm? I can't imagine them ever cheating on each other but I CAN imagine them having overactive and insecure imaginations... Hope you'll hang in there to see how it plays out.  

Reviewer: Pan_cake_Cats Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2018 05:45 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

I love that song. This AU is smart! I love it and can't wait to read more

Author's Response: Thanks PCC! I hope to post more soon. 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2018 07:06 am Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

Yes keep going please!!

Author's Response: Hey, Sprinkles! I plan to. Glad you are enjoying it. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2018 08:08 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

Normally I don't go for the Jim and Pam broke up but then get back together kind of story. I'm kind of a traditionalist like that. That being said this was well written. Good story dynamics and vivid descriptions. Bearded Jim for example. Lots of questions remain. What happened in Philly that made them break up? In four years did Jim break up with Pam, get married, get divorced, and now also be ready to get back with Pam? Interesting play on Karen's character too. She's still got the attitude from canon. However now as Pam's friend rather than rival it could make for an interesting dynamic.

Author's Response:

Hey Warrior! Hope all is well and everyone is getting sleep when they can! 

Yeah, I get it. There are some plot devices/genres in fandoms that just don’t speak to me, no matter what OTP is featured. Thanks for taking the time to read it, especially since this isn’t a topic you usually dig. 

I do have plans that answer all of your questions. But, yeah, Jim and Pam made some bad decisions in their four years apart that probably have a lot to do with each other more than they will ever admit.

And I’m a big karen fan. I’ve got too many thoughts about how she could have been a good friend to Pam so I wanted the chance to show her in that light here. But keep in mind this IS primarily AU so characterizations (even of Pam and Jim) will shift a bit to fit the world around without (hopefully) losing too much of themselves.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2018 07:18 pm Title: Somebody That I Used to Know

I can’t believe you’re going to make me root for Karen, of all people. I still can’t wrap my head around that, but I’m just going to go with it. Especially if she’s going to provide commentary such as “soldier coming home” and “Jim got jacked”

“Look, I’m not going to fall in love with him again.” Okay Pam. Of course not.

I am so damn excited to see what happens. Why did they break up? Why is Jim in Scranton? What is this devil talk of Jim and wedding ring?! Will there be more “nice” hugs?

What I’m saying again is yes. Yes keep going with this.

Author's Response:

Aw, you! Thank you for that. I really do think Karen could have been great friends with Pam if it weren’t for that whole pesky Jim thing. And I’m now going to make it my life’s mission to sell you on all of my non-canon versions of Karen (and maybe a couple in canon)! 

I guesssssss I’ll keep going. 😂 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans