Reviews For Notices
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2019 02:12 pm Title: Un

So I know I’m late to this story, but this is really great, it’s nice to see Jim and Pam before the cameras

Author's Response: Late reviews are just as good as contemporary reviews, because they remind us that what we wrote stays up on the site for everyone to enjoy. Thanks for taking the time to review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the pre-series glimpse in this chapter. It was a lot of fun to write!

Reviewer: PBandTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2019 08:30 pm Title: Casino Night: A Triptych

I love this story arc so much ahhh! Great work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I really appreciate hearing that.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12, 2019 06:39 pm Title: Happy

It's been a lot of fun to see this one pan out with you. Great job and well done on the final word count.

I get the picture that Pam is sitting at her desk while all this is going on in her head. She has a soft smile on her face as she watches Jim make a sales call. Like you put in there so much has changed, and yet so much hasn't. She and Jim can just finally be together in their wonderful, playful, loving way.

You've done a great job getting into the heads of all three characters in this story. I'm a little sad to see it go, but alas all good things.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

Thank you! I know it's a bit silly to be so pleased to hit an exact thousand but it really did make me happy (also, it happens to be exactly the maximum length for a novella according to the one writing award I get to vote on, so that was also quite pleasing). 

 I hadn't really thought of where Pam would be as she thought this, but your suggestion makes the most sense to me. She's just watching him and thinking about him and they're finally together and happy. And that was where I wanted to end this, so I'm glad we got there.

I really appreciate all your feedback along the way. This literally would not have been the same story without it.

Si Quaeris Peninsulam Amoenam, Circumspice. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12, 2019 05:22 pm Title: Happy

This was ther perfect ending!
I am sorry this is it, because I'm going to miss this story, even though sometimes it made me want to throw a punch in frustration... which speaks volumes about how good a writer you are.
Thanks so much for sharing!
(It was my pleasure)
I'd wish to leave you a ton of jellybeans, but I run out like 25 chapters ago :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate all of your feedback along the way, it really helped me to keep working on the story and to shape it as I did. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 11, 2019 02:33 pm Title: Date

Great date chapter here. That they're getting things out in and the open for once is wonderful to see. I also like that you have them not making to big of a deal about their past. That yes it all happened, but why get upset about it now that they're together. Pam's comment that her Jim, the real Jim if you will, was there all the time was very cute and poignant of her.

All in all a great chapter as always. Wonderful to see them so happy together like this.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really enjoy different versions of the first date, but there are so many specific-to-that fics on this site that I wanted to kind of give an overview without getting too specific, so that was the aspect I wanted to cover (the getting things out in the open). Thank you for bearing with me in the angst on the way to their joy!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2019 07:16 pm Title: Un

Not saying she wouldn't.

Author's Response: Forgive him? I'm pretty sure she would.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2019 07:15 pm Title: Un

Not saying she wouldn't.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2019 05:20 pm Title: Daisy

Ok, ok. I forgive him. Might hit him in the head with a frying pan just because, but that trail of paper made me forgive him.

Author's Response: Don't harm him too much or Pam won't get full use of him. But I'm glad I could help you (and Pam) re-acclimate to liking him with the paper trail. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2019 03:41 pm Title: Daisy

Awww, this is wonderful. I love all the little notes he left around her stuff. That he's slipping back into the Jim she fell in love with. That she got a glimpse of the computer monitor was a nice touch too. The hope and expectation she has is great to see as well.

Great job as usual. Looking forward to seeing how their first date went.

Author's Response: I hope you like the date! I had a lot of fun with this one, because it's nice to get back to S1-2 type Jim actually interacting with Pam in a nice way. I love this couple, and the most frustrating thing about writing canon-compliant story has been avoiding the urge to couple them up early.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2019 12:15 pm Title: Stupid is as Stupid Does

He is an idiot indeed. (I just watched that christmas episode when he gets terrorised by Dwight's snowballs and in my headcanon this is Dwight getting a long overdue revenge for Pam)
Yay! We're almost there!!

Author's Response: I think Pam is quite capable of getting her own revenge (though snowballs are probably a good level of revenge, as one  doesn't always want a more violent revenge on one's significant other). Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2019 12:09 pm Title: Stupid is as Stupid Does

Good for Jim this time around. He's finally pulling his head out of his ass to realize what's been there this whole time. Well maybe not the whole time, Pam did have a lot of growing to do. So how about we say Jim's now realizing what's right there in front of him clearly for the first time since his return.

The analogy of the ream and the dump truck was a good one. Casino Night yes was huge, and you're right. This was in the same vein, but more subtle in these respects. Great job getting into Jim's head with this one.

Author's Response: Thank you! I feel like these last couple of episodes are done a lot on this site, so it means a lot to me to hear that you think I'm doing a good job of getting into Jim's head (as opposed to just wandering around in my own). 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2019 12:59 pm Title: Jimpression

No. I need that 4x2 to run Jim over. 3 times. To make sure I did a good job.

Author's Response: Hopefully you won't feel that way after the next 2 chapters! But I'm glad you're experiencing these chapters strongly, as I am when writing them.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2019 12:15 pm Title: Jimpression

I like Pam's thought process here. That she's ready to accept either simple friendship or more than that so to say. Fancy New Beesly has come into her own here and it's good to see. She's getting rid of doubts and insecurities. It's been a long road but I'm glad to see it. You've done a great job getting her here. I'm going to assume that the next chapter with "Beach Games" will be a Jim notices Pam chapter. Really looking forward to seeing that one especially now that Pam is where she is.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, that was a good guess (hope you like it). And yeah, I think at this point Pam definitely wants at least to be friends with Jim--and I think it's important for her character development that she's comfortable enough with herself to accept just that if it's all she can get.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2019 04:11 am Title: Outsider

Can I give Roy a hug? I know, I know I wanted to kill him a couple of chapters ago, but now I love how he notices Pam standing tall.
Bye Roy. I'm not going to miss you but it's been fun anyways.

Author's Response: Is it a hug with a 2x4? I'm glad I was able to bring him around to a place where you didn't want to kill him (immediately at least) even if I agree he won't really be missed. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2019 08:50 pm Title: Galaxies

"His eyes had been speaking to her even more than his words had, and they invited her to fall in." Swoon. What a beautiful description.

Author's Response: Thanks! I enjoyed writing it, so I'm glad it was swoonworthy on your end :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2019 07:13 pm Title: Outsider

Good way to wrap that up I think. I looks like Roy's finally put enough pieces together to gt past his own feelings and want to move on with his life. I think the way you wrote him hear shows that Roy is ready to move on with his life. He's ready to find out who he is without Pam. For so long she was his security blanket and it was pulled away. Here he's realized he doesn't need that anymore. Good on you for that.

Author's Response: I feel like Jim and Pam are both slow-burn realizers, whereas Roy is the kind of guy who either does or doesn't get an epiphany. And I think that the failed fight in The Negotiation was it--not Pam breaking up with him, not the DUI, not anything earlier. He needed to get his head straight, but I think that moment did it. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2019 04:53 am Title: Galaxies

I loved the whole parragraph about what part of the body Roy uses to think. Such clever sentences!

And yeah, the first time I saw this ep, I remember thnking after the punch that this was it. That now Jim and Pam HAD to get closer. But he behaved like a complete and utter assh*le

Author's Response: Thank you! I enjoyed writing that one. And yeah...I had the same thought and then they just made him a total dick there. Which is somewhat in line with the joyous surprise of The Job but still...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2019 08:51 pm Title: Galaxies

I get where you say this is around the low point in their relationship. A lot of anger simmering here on both their parts. Yes Jim is being an ass. He probably feels justified in his actions, but he's still being an ass. Gotta feel for Pam though. All the stuff bouncing around in her head like this. I get the feeling it's going to stay like that until it all just boils over at the beach. And then we all know how that ends up. Great job as always. Looking forward to seeing the upswing now.

Author's Response: Thanks! The upswing is kinda short, but I'm hoping to do it justice. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 12:07 pm Title: Kill

I almost get the feeling here that, had he been able to, Roy might have gone after Pam after he was through with Jim. Clearly he's pissed at both of them. Understandably so. However since he rarely stopped to consider that he was the primary cause for the first break-up, here he is looking for causes other than himself again. After all how could one kiss cause Pam to break off their multi-year relationship and engagement unless she wasn't happy with him or how their relationship had been? I mean, even after all this time the word "fiancee" still couldn't get into his head. Those are all the things he's clearly missed and thus it sets him on this path. Granted I've never really considered Roy to really be able to think all that anyway, but it's there from the outsider perspective.

Even going back to the scene in the show, Pam wants him to listen to her, instead he blows up, and insists he is listening when in fact he's not, nor has he really ever. Well done to keep this Roy in character like this.

Author's Response:

I think that this version of Roy might, but that he'd probably have it out of his system once he beat Jim. Displacement, you know? I really don't think Roy has processed this stuff at all, so he's still just lashing out.

And that's what I noticed in the show that made me go with this kind of attitude here: he really insists he's getting it when he's really, deeply not. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 11:39 am Title: Kill

when he finally manages it she’s still talking to him about fucking Halpert. Even when the guy has a girlfriend of his own he can’t stop messing up Roy’s life.

I love how that line shows that Roy, really, was a rebound of sorts and he realises that.

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't think he has a lot of smarts, but he is capable of getting some things in his gut. Eventually...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 03:32 pm Title: Art's Sake

So Jim's clearly not at his best here. Really not a fan of him intentionally ignoring Pam like this, but it does makes sense considering how you've built this up this story. At least this Jim is aware of his self-deprecation even if he's not willing to act one anything yet.

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm not a fan of it either, but it seemed the most true to me about his current state of mind as of this episode. You mentioned in the last one that you think of Phyllis's Wedding as their low point; I think it's here, for precisely that reason. Don't worry, after one more cutting remark (thanks, The Negotiation) they'll be on the upswing.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 02:40 pm Title: Un

I really felt for Pam in this episode so I'm glad you gave Jim's POV and had him realize how upset she was and why, even if he didn't do anything about it. I liked the part where he admits he's not being honest to anyone else so he might as well be honest with himself.

Author's Response: Yeah, my problem here is that I like Jim, so I don't want to make him entirely an ass, even though I think the writers kind of did. So at least he'll be honest to himself for me so I can write what he ought to think. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 02:08 pm Title: Art's Sake

I need something hard to smack him in the head. Ideas?

I'm glad you did his pov on this one.

Author's Response:

Just re-use the items you were using to smack Roy! I recommend the 2x4 in particular.

 Thanks! I decided Pam's and Roy's POVs on the art show were overdone, so Jim was my best bet (also Cocktails and the Negotiation are quite Roy-and-Pam-centric). 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 07:54 pm Title: Phyllis's Wedding: A Triptych

First off let me say I'm glad that this is one of the few fics I've read where Pam doesn't go to bed with Roy after the wedding. I know a lot of fics have that in there, but it always leaves a bad taste in my mouth, so to speak. So good on you for that.

So there's Roy. At first I was kind of given the impression that him not remembering all the stuff about the aborted wedding wasn't really his fault. Maybe Pam really didn't do a lot of planning around him. Almost started making me feel not so angry at the guy. Then he lapsed back to form. He got the simple thing, but doesn't understand the complex issues.

Jim. Yes he's hurt, he's angry, he's frustrated. After everything he's been through, then seeing Pam leave with Roy? Yeah, I get why he can't really see that the problem is him. He's trying hard to be over her. Denying his feelings. I always saw this as the low point of Jim and Pam's relationship. Never mind all that stuff in Season 9 (close second mind you), but here and how you've written it shows how out of sync they are when usually they're on the same page. Even if at times they don't know it.

I'm glad you still have Pam seeing Roy for what he is. Yes, he's familiar, but the line in there that she knows he's not a long term prospect is great. The fact that there was stuff all over the house for the wedding made sense to. Roy wouldn't even go tot he cake tasting? That right there should have caused her to break up with him. Tasting the food is the best part of wedding planning. I know I wouldn't have missed it for the world when my wife and I got married. Anyway I digress. That Pam is basically using Roy as armor to ward off her feelings of jealousy and loss about Jim is a great take on this.

Great chapter. Now that we're past, hopefully, the really low part we can start seeing the train of events that lead to "Beach Games," and "The Job." Brilliant as always.

Author's Response:

Thanks! That's something I've also often thought about the wedding; Pam jumping into bed with Roy right then feels off. They do start dating again, but that feels strangely out of place for me too. Glad to hear someone else agrees with me.

 Thanks for the feedback on the rest of it; I realized as I was writing this that I feel fairly strongly about the Pam-using-Roy angle of this part of the story, so I'm very glad I could make it convincing.  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 05:57 am Title: Idiocracy

Hey double updates are always fun. Remember last Pam chapter when she thought to herself that such thinking was going to driver her crazy? Yeah, I see her still going down that path. Not that I blame her. She's very clearly ready to be with Jim, she can't be with Jim, so she tries the next best thing of wanting Jim to be happy, but that either makes her miserable (see the previously poopy day) or she has days like these.

You're still doing a great job at getting all these confused thoughts and feelings out.

Author's Response: Thank you! With confused feelings, it can be very hard to tell if I'm clearly expressing confusing ideas or confusingly expressing them. So this is really helpful to hear.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans