Reviews For Christmas Visitors
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 07:58 pm Title: Coming Home

Awwww! And then more awww!
Perfect ending!
Thanks so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank YOU for reading and reviewing each chapter. I so appreciate your feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 06:16 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

Ok. Seriously crying over here.
(Which means, of course, that this chapter was amazingly written)

Author's Response: Oh, man, that’s a great comment. Thank you, K3! 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 05:51 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Ugh Brian! I didn't want to hate him, and I didn't while watching season 9, because... well.. nothing happened and Pam seemed to be zero interested but here... Get away from her, you creep!

[Little detail (because I'm a sucker that way). It's Weihnacht Stollen, with capital letters and that extra h. In German, capital letters are a big deal.]

Author's Response:

Thanks for that!

I agree about Brian. But he was easy to turn into a bit of a villain/threat to Jim here. 🙂 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 05:22 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

Ugh! I almost stop hating Ryan for a minute. Fortunately, it passed and I'm back to hate him and think he's a waste of space :)
Amazing chapter. And Pam crying on her couch... ouch, my heart.

Author's Response: Aw! Not that I WANT Pam to cry, but I feel like the poor girl probably did a lot of that in this season. Ha! I’m glad you had the tiniest moment where you didn’t get Ryan, even if it wasn’t long-lasting. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 05:03 pm Title: Greetings

"Hey Ryan"!! LOL
For a second I thought I would be Todd Packer and... IUK.
As you can see, I'm catching up with your fics. This start is great! And Michael taking out a post-it note made me LOL (and I'm in the office, so...)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading several of my fics! I so appreciate that. Oh man Packer would have been a good one to cast here. I HAVE to remember to add him into more AUs. I’m glad you enjoyed this beginning.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 01:49 pm Title: Greetings

I've been thinking about this story all day - it's that good! I love that Creed could see them. And Kelly was so perfect! And Ryan! And Michael!

Author's Response: Sprinkles! That is one of the nicest things; you left another review just to tell me you were thinking about this story! Oh, thank you so much for that. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:56 am Title: Coming Home

This was a great way to end this one. I liked all the different elements you put into this one. The video and the Teapot note, how Jim and Pam re-connected in "Paper Airplanes," all the Christmas party stuff when Jim comes back. And of course the implied activities once they get home. Very nicely written and falls well within the "Christmas Carol" tradition. I liked it.

Author's Response: Warrior, thank you so much for your kind words, the specifics on what worked, and commenting on every single chapter! Thanks so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:49 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

Yeah that's one's tough, but how else could it get through this Jim's brain to snap out of it. Tough but good.

Author's Response: Thanks Warrior! Yeah, it had to be a couple of Big Scary Things, right? I'm so glad it worked for you though. Thanks!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:42 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Again I like how you've portrayed everyone here. That Jim said he would be the only one Pam needed to cry on and then he's the reason she's crying. Very good writing there to convey it all.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! I appreciate your feedback.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:33 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

I don't blame Jim at all for getting in the way of Ryan there. I do like how all those scenes reminded him that he once promised to never put Pam on the back burner, as you said, but he has done just that. Kelly as the Ghost of Christmas Present should be fun and and the same time likely to cause Jim to want to drive a steak through his temple.

Author's Response:

Oh my gosh! Warrior, it's like you read my notes! I had more plans for Kelly to equally make Jim laugh and want to ditch her, but, alas...time constraints. 

I'm so glad you liked the parts about Jim letting his family slip as a priority!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:22 am Title: Greetings

Micheal as Marley was a great idea. Ryan as the Ghost of Christmas Past should be very interesting. Jim's denials that everything is fine is telling of his feelings at this point. You've very much got him caught in his own world that he can't see the forest for the trees. Nicely written.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! I really love the idea of Michael as Marley here so I'm glad that worked for you, too.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 06:20 am Title: Coming Home

This is very, very good. Great imagination, true to the structure of the original Christmas Carol, and such great dialogue.

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles! I really appreciate that specific feedback from you!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 11:05 pm Title: Coming Home

It's two chapters later and I'm just now remembering that Creed could see Kelly and Jim. Of course he could.

If I wanted to, I could sum up this chapter in 3 words. How dare you.

Michael's magic trick. The video. The note. The "you are everything." The secret sex closer take 2. The Hug. THE HUG. The. Hug. How dare you.

"If Jim does anything in his life..." I'm not crying. You're crying.

How dare you. Guess this means next year I'm going to have to actually watch A Christmas Carol and It's a Wonderful Life because I've never seen them, but I bet they won't be as good without Ryan and Kelly.

This entire story was so damn beautiful. I don't even know how you managed to weave all of this together, but I'm so so glad you did.

Author's Response:

Your words are too kind; thank you! I'm so glad you liked this. And I'm glad I didn't resort to adding in a tornado. 

My god, I am sending you a box of DVDs.  

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 10:51 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

I gotta say, your author's notes at the beginning of this chapter make me feel GREAT about what I'm about to read.

2015 Jim clearly prefers a beard. Same, honestly.

2015 Jim is also kind of a dillhole. I blame Gabe. Poor Darryl. And Dwight. And ugh, Angela. Nope, don't like that.

Can you hear me screaming "Jesus Jim, get off your damn phone?" because I did, like 18 times. Pam doesn't deserve this. The kids don't deserve this. I don't deserve this.

Get. Home. Jim.

What's it like, being too emotionally invested in the fictional lives of fictional characters? I have no idea, ask someone else.

Author's Response:

I had to have SOME warning. Otherwise the entire fandom would be ready to kick me out! 

Hehe, I make no apologies for including the beard. Not one apology. Although, yeah, it doesn't make him any less of a dillhole. 

Oh, so YOU were the voice screaming in my head when I wrote that. Makes more sense now... 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 10:33 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Before I forget, something I meant to mention in my comments on the last chapter is how much I loved the bit where Jim was remembering all the times he promised himself that if he had Pam, she'd never have to worry about feeling important -- it's fine, rip my heart out and stomp on it by basically implying that in that moment, Jim is no better than Roy. Totally fine. I'll recover.

Okay, moving on. As expected, your Kelly is flawless. And your Dwight and Angela are understated and sad and hopeful and you can basically write any character on the show, can't you? Good to know.

You know what I love? That Pam and Jim have a secret sex closet in the office. You know what I don't love? Brian knowing about it. But Pam shot him down when he asked her out and I'm slightly less offended by his appearance in this story.

Author's Response:

Yeah, but he recognizes it and fixes it! Granted it takes a Dickensian intervention and a metaphysical experience no one will ever believe, but he fixes it!

You're so sweet; thank you for your kind words about this story.

I...I didn't think about the crew knowing about their secret sex closet. Oh, well. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 10:16 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

Holy shit. (Listen, if they can swear, so can I.)

You have nailed this dialogue between Ryan and Jim. It's perfect. I hear their voices so easily that it kind of scares me.

Did I laugh out loud when Jim tried to walk through the door? You bet.

2006 Pam made me so sad. 2007 Pam is considerably happier and I'm here for this almost as much as Ryan is.

"“Such a fucking buzzkill,” Ryan is mumbling to himself as they make their way back down the stairs and toward the front door. “Yeah, I’m a real prude like that.”" I'm still giggling over this. Seriously, have I mentioned how well you got down their voices?

Hey, I may not like the direction in which this is headed, but hot damn, do I approve of how we're getting there by way of Kelly, a pink Bugatti, and Taylor Swift.

Author's Response: I mean, YOU know why those two have the tension they have. I actually had a lot of fun writing the two of them. I knew I'd get approval from you on music choice. :D

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:53 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

This story is so good and creative. I love it. What does TPTB mean?

Author's Response: Thank you Soupsnakes! I'm glad you have enjoyed it; thank you for your kind words. TPTB is "The Powers That Be."

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:41 pm Title: Greetings

Christmas Angst, yay! (What a weird thing to be excited about, but here we are. Its happening.)

Man, I do not like what's going on with Pam and Jim here. At all. You can hear Pam's "yep" through the screen, and I'm more than a little sad that Jim isn't rushing home to fix that. But then we wouldn't have much of a story here, I guess.

I find myself really wanting to agree with Jim's attempts at convincing himself and Michael that he and Pam are fine, but that flashback to watching Elf. Oh, Jim.

Michael as Marley is simply too brilliant for words. I love how genuine and real you've made him and while it's a frightening thought.. he and Jim are a lot alike here, aren't they?

Author's Response: I'm so glad that Elf moment worked! That's what I was going for. And, yeah, this Jim was in a bit of denial here. Thank you for being so supportive of this fic!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:29 pm Title: Coming Home

Awwwwww I love it. So well done. And so happy you chose this story to retell. Nice work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Comfect! That really means a lot. And special thanks for all those comments. It helps to know what works for people. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:25 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

Oh noes. Oh no-y no-y no. I mean. You do a really good job of evoking it. And this is the Dead Tiny Tim section of the story. But still. This is too sad. He better fix it right up.

Author's Response: Good! Thank you for that feedback. This one was really hard to write. I was kind of going for that Tiny Tim scene or where George Bailey sees the type of ripple effect he had. Thanks so much for getting it though. :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:19 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Oh this was excellent. Really strong characterization of guilt.

Author's Response: Thanks, Comfect! That's exactly what I was going for. :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:14 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

Ok, this is the chapter that really sold me on this fic. I like your Jim's slow realizations.

Author's Response: Thanks for that! This chapter and the last one were my favorites to write. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans