Reviews For More (Than That)
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: jloh217 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2019 12:33 pm Title: Not-So-Happy Hour

Yay, my favorite fanfic is updated! Thank you for this, I missed it and am so glad you're back! :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2019 03:17 am Title: Not-So-Happy Hour

Welcome back! I’m sorry to hear your summer was tough.

This was lovely. It’s nice to see a less harsh version of Karen. I feel like she’s a little gentler here. A little more accepting of the inevitably that is Jim’s feelings for Pam. A little less eager to hang on when things aren’t looking promising.

Much like canon at this point, I just want to push Pam and Jim together and make them honestly sort things out. I think you’re building the story nicely to have it feel organic when they eventually work their way back together.
I thought it was interesting to have the 5 years conversation with Wallace at this point. I hope it prompts Jim to think a little more seriously about what he really wants (and how to make that happen).
Looking forward to seeing your post Cocktails fallout - especially the interaction between Roy and Jim...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2019 06:55 pm Title: Not-So-Happy Hour

A lot of the same beats here from the show. About 90% true to canon, however the 10% that's different really does add a lot to this story. I really liked all the internal thoughts everyone is having here. Jim and Pam seem to be trying to get things organized in their heads. The amicable break up with Karen is a nice change as well. Roy is still Roy of course, good place to have something not change there.

Looking forward to seeing how this all pans out. Welcome back, you were missed.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2019 08:10 pm Title: The Prettiest Art of All the Art

That was a great look into a lot of character's minds. I liked how you had Pam go off and take some time to herself at the lake. After all the emotions of the wedding I'm glad she had the sense to take some time away and get some perspective. Seems like it helped.

Roy is, well Roy. I've long subscribed that the Roy we see in the show is a teenager in a man's body emotionally. I still see that here. Maybe he's grown to 18 years old rather than 15 but he's still a teenager and still has a lot to learn. That Pam is cautious of him, especially considering that tidbit of backstory you gave us seems smart on her end. Also considering you've said there's only a handful of chapters left, part of me thinks that this dinner she's agreed to might end up with with Roy throwing glasses again.

Lastly we come to Jim. Pam really shook him up there at the wedding. Pam's not the only one who seems to have been doing a lot of thinking. I have a suspicion as to why he showed up late to the art show. Hopefully new updates will confirm my theory. I really liked that you had him show up. That he had the wherewithal to not only admit his failings to himself, but at least start to voice them to Pam. Lack of communication has always been one of Jim and Pam's biggest issues and it's very refreshing to see them work on it as you portrayed here.

Great chapter.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2019 03:10 pm Title: The Prettiest Art of All the Art

I like your version of this night. It fits nicely in with your AU while still feeling true to s3 and the episode in particular.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 09:44 pm Title: Realistically

Wow, okay so give me a moment here. I'm not sure I can honestly say I look forward to updates for this story. That probably sounds harsh but give me a moment. It's just that there's so much up and down going on here, and I'm such a fan of JAM and happy endings that I get almost nervous when I see this get updated. Don't worry I'm still on board for every update. I'm far to heavily emotionally investing in it now to not need to know where it's all going. Basically that's a really long way of saying you pull of a lot of very real feelings with this story which makes it intense to read.

Okay so, it was great to see Jim and Pam finally get things out in the open like this. Even if they're still very hesitant with each other. You can tell they still have very deep feelings for each other as evidenced by their kiss. But then Pam's right. This Jim has been an ass. Not only to her but also to Karen. I'm glad Jim was honest with her and told her the nature of the relationship. However Pam's right. That's not the Jim she fell in love with. I hope he takes that message to heart. Like I said I'm a sucker for JAM and happy endings. I'm still holding out hope that we'll see something like that in the end. However Jim has a ways to go to get back to the man that deserves to be with Pam.

Author's Response: Yes! It's not going to be an overnight change for him. It requires a process and willingness to open himself up emotionally again. By my estimate, this story only has a handful of chapters left, so if you're able to, please stick around. I love reading your insight.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 07:29 pm Title: Realistically

What a night indeed. I think you did a great job here with both the emotional beats and their respective reactions to them. It's quite in character for S3 for these kinds of emotional revelations to push them apart at first instead of together. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks Comfect! It's a one step forward, two steps back kind of dance right now, but as we all know, they eventually learn a new number. Thank you for the feedback. It means a lot!

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 08:41 pm Title: Hypothetically

This chapter was amazing! You are killing me, but I love the angst so, so much!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2019 03:27 am Title: Hypothetically

I loved this chapter! You’re killing me just a little by ending it on a cliffhanger. I can feel all the tension in the air. I can’t wait to hear Jim’s response!

I hope you’re feeling okay after your accident! I don’t think it’s diminished your writing at all!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 07:57 pm Title: Hypothetically

As we discussed in the shoutbox, this wasn't one of my favorite episodes, but that's not coloring my opinion on this chapter at all :)

You know why? Because HERE, Pam dances with Jim away from the crowds. That's a scene I can support. And it's a slow dance, and they're both feeling things (thats what she said? sorry.) and he wants to kiss her and I'm ALL FOR THIS but oh. Okay. Pam wants to talk now. That works too.

God, I can't wait to see how he answers her question!

Also, I'm so sorry you were in an accident :( Definitely not a fun time at all. I'm glad you're okay!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 07:52 pm Title: Ben Franklin is Kind of a Creep

Oh Pam. She should have called in sick.

My favorite part of this chapter is where Pam is hiding in the bathroom and having that moment where she's realizing she doesn't always get out of people what she puts into them - this is such a great lead up to well, to Beach Games, and I am so here for it.

But still, poor Pam. She should have called in sick.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 07:45 pm Title: Half-Inch Drywall

I always forget about the cell phone prank and I'm always delighted when Andy says "Large Tuna..."

So honestly, I loved this chapter. You gave us a bit of a break from all angst-all the time, and I needed the breather, so I'm cool with that.

Jim and Pam are slowly working their way back to each other and Karen's starting to not be so in the dark about things... Yep. I love it.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 07:33 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

hahaha, oh man - remember when Previously Coley thought that maybe it wouldn't be Jim and Karen that Pam walked in on? What a fool, I was. That scene hurts, CD, I'm not going to lie - it's painful. But God, I love what you're doing here.

I lied. That scene with Karen telling Pam all about why she was making out with Jim in the office - THAT was painful.

"God. If Pam and Roy could find some common ground—and it appeared as if they had—then what the hell was he doing? They had never been engaged, let alone actually dated. The only thing she was guilty of was turning him down. She tried to find some common ground with him and he blatantly refused to give it to her.

If Roy Anderson found a way to become friends with her, then why couldn’t he?" CD! This is a fantastic bit right here. It's so good!

You know how I feel about Benihana Christmas. You're version of it is now easily in my top 3.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 06:47 pm Title: Hypothetically

Dun dun dun. I wouldn't worry about this chapter--it is perfectly lovely. You do well with Pam's thoughts here and I like the slight deviation from canon but appreciate the canon conversations as well. Good work.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 06:35 pm Title: Hypothetically

Lots of huge emotional beats with this one. I do like that Jim and Pam shared these dances and that Pam has worked up the courage to talk to him again. The scenes of where she was avoiding him was tough.

A while back I mentioned that here both Jim and Pam are just to damn scared of each other to really allow themselves to figure things out. While that fear is still there, maybe things have cracked a bit here. At least I'd like to hope so.

So what's going to happen next? A deep heartfelt conversation? They keep letting their fear get the better of them and a nasty argument ensues? (I hope not by the way) They keep going round and round this crazy dance of theirs? Good job of keeping the suspense up.

Hope you're recovering well from the car accident, those are always rough.

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 06:44 pm Title: Ben Franklin is Kind of a Creep

Ahhhhh. This is so angsty and so good! I cannot wait for the next chapter!
I had never imagined what Pam was thinking during that exchange with Karen in the kitchen. I need to go back and watch this episode again!

Reviewer: jloh217 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 01:36 pm Title: Ben Franklin is Kind of a Creep

Oh, man! Love this story, and I'm always excited about the updates! :)
Hope you are able to get another one up soon? I love the angst, and the buildup!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2019 06:58 pm Title: Ben Franklin is Kind of a Creep

You did a good job at getting to the internal thoughts of everyone here. A lot of reliving Season 3 angst.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2019 05:44 pm Title: Half-Inch Drywall

I think it's a perfectly interesting chapter. I like how you told the story of Andy's meltdown. Looking forward to what you're setting up, and interested to see what if anything changes at the wedding.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2019 05:13 pm Title: Half-Inch Drywall

Interesting here. Not to much different other than Jim and Karen's conversation. Karen figuring things out this early is also the other big twist here. Her telling Jim he needs to work out everything with Pam before they have a real chance is quite the interesting choice. Makes me think there just might be a bigger change coming when the certain wedding happens.

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2019 11:15 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

Loved this! That cliffhanger last chapter really had me on the edge. The angst was real in this chapter, but I loved every second of it, well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2019 10:22 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

"If Roy Anderson found a way to become friends with her, then why couldn’t he?" A nice moment of insight for Jim, although of course so near and yet so far to the real situation. Nice chapter, in general.

Author's Response: Thanks Comfect!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2019 09:57 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

Holy cow was that a roller coaster of a chapter. Yeah, first with Pam walking in on Jim and Karen and the aftershocks of that. I don't blame Pam for getting out of there. Very glad she didn't smash her teapot.

Then Jim's introspection afterwards. That was very well thought out. It may have been one of the most awkward kick in the pants but it seems like it's the kind of jolt he needed. He's finally figured out that he wasn't the only one who was hurting after Casino Night. To see him come to that realization and approach Pam for the CIA prank was a very welcome sigh of relief.

Great writing as always.

Author's Response: thank you for reading it and for your insight, warrior!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2019 05:53 pm Title: Not Your Ho No Mo'

First of all, I'm so glad you didn't change the title of this one. It makes me laugh every time I open it.

So, Benihana is one of my all-time favorite episodes and you included one of my all-time favorite moments of that episode (Michael lying on the floor by Pam's desk) So great. Oh and THEN you have him invite Pam along to lunch? Another great detour!

Lunch was just as painful as Happy Hour, yikes. Why can't these two just have a friendly afternoon?! I know why but it doesn't mean I'm loving all this angst. (except that I am. for sure.)

Okay, so I've read this last part more times than I want to admit and here's the thing... I can't tell who's in that conference room! I mean, I know who it *could be, but I swear this could be a trick... How long would it make for Pam to make tea?? Jim was taking the stairs, is he already up there? Is Karen with Roy? Am I delusional and refusing to believe that it's Jim and Karen? I have a lot of questions.

I can't wait for the next update!!

Author's Response: bahaha....omg I love your insight into this fic and all of your comments just give me life. I have no words haha

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2019 05:37 pm Title: Just Not Yet

Ugh, when Karen starts blurring the lines of their casual 'not in the office' romance -- I mean, on one hand, how dare she? I hate it. On the other hand... I get it. I totally get it. You're doing such a great job of showing everyone's internal conflicts as real and heartbreaking and painful and its still all so good!

I also totally get Pam's sudden preference for horror movies over all others.. that's such a great telling moment.

Karen inviting everyone to the bar is GENIUS! Oh this is going to be good.

Yep, it's good. I love some drunk Pam and this is fantastic. What a horribly terrible awkward happy hour, but I'm here for it. I'm especially here for darkened hallway secret conversations and Pam telling Jim she's glad he's back.

I really love how you're telling this story! I love the mix of new combined with what happened on the show and I love that while I think I know you're going with this, I have no idea which route you're taking to get there. :)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans