Reviews For More (Than That)
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2019 05:44 pm Title: Half-Inch Drywall

I think it's a perfectly interesting chapter. I like how you told the story of Andy's meltdown. Looking forward to what you're setting up, and interested to see what if anything changes at the wedding.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2019 05:13 pm Title: Half-Inch Drywall

Interesting here. Not to much different other than Jim and Karen's conversation. Karen figuring things out this early is also the other big twist here. Her telling Jim he needs to work out everything with Pam before they have a real chance is quite the interesting choice. Makes me think there just might be a bigger change coming when the certain wedding happens.

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2019 11:15 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

Loved this! That cliffhanger last chapter really had me on the edge. The angst was real in this chapter, but I loved every second of it, well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2019 10:22 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

"If Roy Anderson found a way to become friends with her, then why couldn’t he?" A nice moment of insight for Jim, although of course so near and yet so far to the real situation. Nice chapter, in general.

Author's Response: Thanks Comfect!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2019 09:57 pm Title: You, You, You, You, You, You, You Oughta Know

Holy cow was that a roller coaster of a chapter. Yeah, first with Pam walking in on Jim and Karen and the aftershocks of that. I don't blame Pam for getting out of there. Very glad she didn't smash her teapot.

Then Jim's introspection afterwards. That was very well thought out. It may have been one of the most awkward kick in the pants but it seems like it's the kind of jolt he needed. He's finally figured out that he wasn't the only one who was hurting after Casino Night. To see him come to that realization and approach Pam for the CIA prank was a very welcome sigh of relief.

Great writing as always.

Author's Response: thank you for reading it and for your insight, warrior!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2019 05:53 pm Title: Not Your Ho No Mo'

First of all, I'm so glad you didn't change the title of this one. It makes me laugh every time I open it.

So, Benihana is one of my all-time favorite episodes and you included one of my all-time favorite moments of that episode (Michael lying on the floor by Pam's desk) So great. Oh and THEN you have him invite Pam along to lunch? Another great detour!

Lunch was just as painful as Happy Hour, yikes. Why can't these two just have a friendly afternoon?! I know why but it doesn't mean I'm loving all this angst. (except that I am. for sure.)

Okay, so I've read this last part more times than I want to admit and here's the thing... I can't tell who's in that conference room! I mean, I know who it *could be, but I swear this could be a trick... How long would it make for Pam to make tea?? Jim was taking the stairs, is he already up there? Is Karen with Roy? Am I delusional and refusing to believe that it's Jim and Karen? I have a lot of questions.

I can't wait for the next update!!

Author's Response: bahaha....omg I love your insight into this fic and all of your comments just give me life. I have no words haha

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2019 05:37 pm Title: Just Not Yet

Ugh, when Karen starts blurring the lines of their casual 'not in the office' romance -- I mean, on one hand, how dare she? I hate it. On the other hand... I get it. I totally get it. You're doing such a great job of showing everyone's internal conflicts as real and heartbreaking and painful and its still all so good!

I also totally get Pam's sudden preference for horror movies over all others.. that's such a great telling moment.

Karen inviting everyone to the bar is GENIUS! Oh this is going to be good.

Yep, it's good. I love some drunk Pam and this is fantastic. What a horribly terrible awkward happy hour, but I'm here for it. I'm especially here for darkened hallway secret conversations and Pam telling Jim she's glad he's back.

I really love how you're telling this story! I love the mix of new combined with what happened on the show and I love that while I think I know you're going with this, I have no idea which route you're taking to get there. :)

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2019 08:07 pm Title: More (Than That)

No! No! No! Not Karen and Jim in the break room!
Let me know when chapter seven is up...I’ll be sitting heartbroken in the corner until this all works out...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2019 10:20 am Title: Not Your Ho No Mo'

Yeah so that's pretty angsty. Considering what Pam, probably, just walked into there, it's just going to become more so.

Great writing as always. You really do capture Jim and Pam being stuck in their own heads very well.

Author's Response: Yeahhhhhhh. It gets a little messy, but the confrontation will happen a bit sooner than it did in the show, so thatís progress, right? Thank you so much for the compliment and for reading, warrior.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2019 06:47 pm Title: More (Than That)

OMG!! yeah that's a small cliffhanger!

Author's Response: Teenie tiny haha! Thank you for reading, Sprinkles!

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2019 08:50 pm Title: More (Than That)

What an ending to this chapter! I can’t wait to see if they both decide to tell the truth or if they chicken out! Nice work!

Author's Response: thank you so much!!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 07, 2019 07:30 pm Title: Just Not Yet

Cliffhanger!

I am interested what having Jim and Karen be explicitly casual (not publicly but explicitly between them) does to the dynamic. You've done a good job with it.

Author's Response: Thanks Comfect!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 07, 2019 05:25 pm Title: Just Not Yet

I audibly gasped when Karen invited everyone for drinks. I wish I could tell which direction you are taking Karen, but I really kind of like trying to figure out what her motivation is and how much of a threat is she REALLY.

I love where this is going! So glad Pam took that moment in the hallway (great moment between those two btw) to be honest with Jim for once.

Great work!!

Author's Response: To be honest, I'm not entirely sue what direction I'm taking Karen most day (haha), which might be the reason why you can't get a good read on her. I'm glad you like where it's headed. Hopefully, I won't disappoint!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 07, 2019 04:40 pm Title: Just Not Yet

Okay so we're heading into AU land now looks like. Interesting chapter here. Some key lines here that I think are at the heart of Jim and Pam. First where Jim is thinking he has to crawl before he can walk when it come to Pam. Thus sending Andy after her. It's almost as if he's testing the waters here. He's still scared of what might happen, for several good reasons mind you, but hopefully her smiles at him showed that the waters might be rough, but not un-navigable.

Pam seeing the prank as a peace offering was her line. Even if Jim might not have directly meant it that way, it at least gave her some room for hope to filter in as well. She too is scared, what with Karen and all, makes sense. But the Andy prank did at least get one thing right in that they're talking to each other now.

Then we've got their conversation at the bar. Hopefully that's setting a trend that they can build on. Considering how you've got things set up, starting slow like this, building new good times and trust is going to take awhile. Hopefully they're realize there's something worthwhile beyond their fear.

Author's Response: It'll take time and there will be stumbling blocks, but hopefully, you'll start to see the slow build. Thank you so much for the feedback, warrior!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2019 07:32 pm Title: Where We Stand

Oh CD, you're just cruel. I love it, but there are some cruel moments in this chapter.

Like Jim drunk texting Karen. And Pam's super adorable excitement over Jim coming back contrasting against his absolute dismay over going back. And then Jim's reaction to Roy and Pam laughing at her desk. All of these things are tiny daggers in my Jam loving heart.

And then Jim and Karen deciding to be a casual thing? Sigh. I know, I know it has to happen but that doesn't mean I like it!

Ugh, you're so good at adding 'more' to what we saw on tv and I love it... I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: I wasn't going to make him throw up...never even thought about it, but then my imagination ran away with me and before i knew it, he was in the bathroom and i was like 'oooooh kay. That happened.' I left it because it just seemed like the best manifestation of everything he's been feeling for MONTHS...like that finally broke him. Idk. And the Jim and Karen thing? Listen...I was tempted not to have her in this at all because I have mixed feelings when it comes to the triangle between the three, but I felt she needed to be there. I didn't want them in a committed relationship, so I figured something casual would work better for what I have in mind. Thanks for reading it Coley, and as always, sharing your thoughts!

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2019 07:48 pm Title: Where We Stand

This is going to be the slow burn kind of angst that for whatever reason gives me life, isn’t it?! I sure hope so! Great job with the inner thoughts in this chapter!

Author's Response: slow burn angst? yes. gives you life? i REALLY hope so!! I love writing angst, so yeah...there's going to be a healthy dose of it in this fic haha thanks for reading and for the comment!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2019 05:33 am Title: Where We Stand

They're picking up on some of the right things, but their over-analytical are coming to all the wrong conclusions. Like when Jim is talking to Karen at lunch, yes honesty is good, just be like that with Pam and things will be better. One just wants to smack him upside the head for that scene. Great writing to bring it out. Granted there's a lot of fear there still.

You did a great job of looking into the internal thoughts that must have been going through their heads. Part of me was kind of hoping that Jim would use that bit of hope when Pam hugged him and run with it. Looks like they both still have some growing to do.

Author's Response: exactly. I spent most of season three of the show wanting to smack them both, so I'm glad I'm not alone in that haha!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2019 06:58 pm Title: Crazy In Love

"Had he experienced any of this at any point? Did he miss her at all? Were there times that he missed her so much that it was hard to breathe?" Oh wow. This is so heartbreaking... poor Pam!

And the moment at Diwali where she considers Michael's proposal brave -- ugh, this is so good on so many levels and I never really thought of it until now, but it makes sense that Pam would be envious of Michael's impulsiveness in this moment. So great!

But hey. Listen. CD. What did drunk Jim type into his phone?? Did he send it?? Who did he send it to??

I cannot wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Coley, it's weird how you can watch an episode dozens of times and it's not until like the 20th time that you see something different, or through a different lens. Maybe it's because I am writing fic for JAM now that made me see that scene in a completely different way, but I kinda like it and also lends itself to Pam's growth through season three. Anyway, thank you so much for reading it and for your wonderful feedback! Next chapter has a lot of familiar dialogue, but definitely steers off toward AU land.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2019 11:51 am Title: It Felt Far

Uuuggghhh! You captured those scenes so perfectly. And Jim’s multiple attempts to call her were so pitiful and desperate but I loved every one of them.

One thing I particularly enjoyed from this chapter is how you showed Jim discovering Pam’s engagement being broken. So many fanfics take the approach that multiple people from the office sought out Jim to tell him. That’s great but I really enjoy how here you took the opposite approach and made it more subtle, filtered into a mundane conversation with Toby. Really well done.

Author's Response: I feel like it would be MORE heartbreaking to have him find out completely by accident...that NO one bothered to call and tell him. It was just fortunate that he overheard the Toby/Pam convo. I'm really glad you enjoyed that take. Thank you for reading it!!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2019 10:39 am Title: More (Than That)

Hey, hi this is sooooo good. I mean we start with this “last several months had taken a toll on him, amplified exponentially the moment Roy and Pam announced a date for their wedding” and it all goes downhill (in the best possible way) fregarding Jim’s angst and just keeps better (for the reader, not Jim’s poor broken heart).

Ooooohhhhh that ending! Loving where this one is going!

Author's Response: thanks DC, both for reading it and for the awesome feedback. I'm a big fan of angst so expect a healthy dosage of it as it continues haha!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2019 12:48 pm Title: Crazy In Love

Cliffhanger! Since we don't know how AU this will be, this is an actual cliffhanger. But I'm definitely enjoying the way your Pam thinks. It's really nice to see you getting inside her head this way.

Author's Response: Yes, I do a lot of internalizing in my fics, so I'm glad you're enjoying it! Thank you so much for reading it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2019 11:41 am Title: Crazy In Love

Great way to bring back to recall Casino Night there at the start. Then Pam's running internal monologue through the Diwalli celebration was great to see too. She's thinking and growing and reflecting which is always great to see.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the feedback and for reading it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 06:24 pm Title: It Felt Far

Thank you for continuing this. You've got a great way of writing what's going on in their heads. It's clear they're both still hurting. They're also over analyzing things mentally which is causing a lot of fear to take hold. Understandable considering how your version of Casino Night turned out. Clearly they're both afraid of getting more hurt. Great writing to bring all that out.

Author's Response: "Clearly they're both afraid of getting more hurt" ----this. Absolutely this!! That drives a lot of their actions in the coming chapters. They're both running scared because they have these (or so they think) unrequited feelings for one another and in order to bring back some sense of "normalcy", they think they need to try to get rid of them by any means necessary. Thank you so much for your comments and for sticking with me!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 06:24 am Title: It Felt Far

Oh, we go right into the angst here. I love that. Jim repeatedly calling and hanging up on Pam is something I’ve seen a lot of here but now I want to see more... Poor Jim. “She didn’t call. She didn’t come to Stamford. She didn’t confess she loved him or even that she missed him.” Well now I’m kind of mad at Pam too. Such a rollercoaster, this chapter is!

Ugh. The call right before Pam’s date?! They entire scene is so well done and beautifully written and I read it twice just to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

And then we get to The Phone Call. (One of my favorite scenes in the whole series) and you somehow make it 1000 times better by adding “Did you...” and it’s fine, I’m only at my desk screaming “did you what!?” at fictional characters. Normal day over here.

This is So Good. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: yes....the five calls thing was initially going to be a separate one shot all together because I made the mistake of watching "The Convention" while I was writing the first part of this and my angst loving heart nearly exploded when he did the "Hi Pam". hahaha I love the comment about at screaming at your desk because I, too, sometimes read ff while at work and I know it takes and insane amount of effort not to yell at the actions/ignorance of the characters you love. I'm so glad you're enjoying it, Coley!!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2019 08:03 pm Title: It Felt Far

Aw man, that "Did you" had such nice potential. Reminds me of the almost-question at the Dundies. Nice job imbuing your fic with the spirit of S2-3 angst. I am glad you decided to go forward, and gladder still you are going AU. Hope to read more soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The "Did you" opens up an entire universe of possibilities and I was DEFINITELY influenced by the Dundies on that one bc I still want to know what she was going to ask!! UGH!! The AU part of it is slowlyyyyyy coming. I gotta get a certain paper salesman back to Scranton first. haha.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans