Reviews For More (Than That)
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2019 11:51 am Title: It Felt Far

Uuuggghhh! You captured those scenes so perfectly. And Jim’s multiple attempts to call her were so pitiful and desperate but I loved every one of them.

One thing I particularly enjoyed from this chapter is how you showed Jim discovering Pam’s engagement being broken. So many fanfics take the approach that multiple people from the office sought out Jim to tell him. That’s great but I really enjoy how here you took the opposite approach and made it more subtle, filtered into a mundane conversation with Toby. Really well done.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2019 10:39 am Title: More (Than That)

Hey, hi this is sooooo good. I mean we start with this “last several months had taken a toll on him, amplified exponentially the moment Roy and Pam announced a date for their wedding” and it all goes downhill (in the best possible way) fregarding Jim’s angst and just keeps better (for the reader, not Jim’s poor broken heart).

Ooooohhhhh that ending! Loving where this one is going!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2019 12:48 pm Title: Crazy In Love

Cliffhanger! Since we don't know how AU this will be, this is an actual cliffhanger. But I'm definitely enjoying the way your Pam thinks. It's really nice to see you getting inside her head this way.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2019 11:41 am Title: Crazy In Love

Great way to bring back to recall Casino Night there at the start. Then Pam's running internal monologue through the Diwalli celebration was great to see too. She's thinking and growing and reflecting which is always great to see.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 06:24 pm Title: It Felt Far

Thank you for continuing this. You've got a great way of writing what's going on in their heads. It's clear they're both still hurting. They're also over analyzing things mentally which is causing a lot of fear to take hold. Understandable considering how your version of Casino Night turned out. Clearly they're both afraid of getting more hurt. Great writing to bring all that out.

Author's Response: "Clearly they're both afraid of getting more hurt" ----this. Absolutely this!! That drives a lot of their actions in the coming chapters. They're both running scared because they have these (or so they think) unrequited feelings for one another and in order to bring back some sense of "normalcy", they think they need to try to get rid of them by any means necessary. Thank you so much for your comments and for sticking with me!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 06:24 am Title: It Felt Far

Oh, we go right into the angst here. I love that. Jim repeatedly calling and hanging up on Pam is something I’ve seen a lot of here but now I want to see more... Poor Jim. “She didn’t call. She didn’t come to Stamford. She didn’t confess she loved him or even that she missed him.” Well now I’m kind of mad at Pam too. Such a rollercoaster, this chapter is!

Ugh. The call right before Pam’s date?! They entire scene is so well done and beautifully written and I read it twice just to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

And then we get to The Phone Call. (One of my favorite scenes in the whole series) and you somehow make it 1000 times better by adding “Did you...” and it’s fine, I’m only at my desk screaming “did you what!?” at fictional characters. Normal day over here.

This is So Good. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: yes....the five calls thing was initially going to be a separate one shot all together because I made the mistake of watching "The Convention" while I was writing the first part of this and my angst loving heart nearly exploded when he did the "Hi Pam". hahaha I love the comment about at screaming at your desk because I, too, sometimes read ff while at work and I know it takes and insane amount of effort not to yell at the actions/ignorance of the characters you love. I'm so glad you're enjoying it, Coley!!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2019 08:03 pm Title: It Felt Far

Aw man, that "Did you" had such nice potential. Reminds me of the almost-question at the Dundies. Nice job imbuing your fic with the spirit of S2-3 angst. I am glad you decided to go forward, and gladder still you are going AU. Hope to read more soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The "Did you" opens up an entire universe of possibilities and I was DEFINITELY influenced by the Dundies on that one bc I still want to know what she was going to ask!! UGH!! The AU part of it is slowlyyyyyy coming. I gotta get a certain paper salesman back to Scranton first. haha.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 28, 2019 11:18 pm Title: More (Than That)

To add to what I wrote earlier. First off I apologize if I came off sounding harsh. The ending just hit me hard. You did a great job with all these internal thoughts and feelings. Then Jim and Pam are there on his desk and it looks like things are going somewhere. It's a lot of build up with so much potential and then the story just ends. I think that's what bugged me the most. That for me at least it felt like there was no closure. Is Pam going to follow him out the door? Show up at his house? Like I said all this set up and angst and then it all just stops and the reader is left wondering..."now what?"

I actually was enjoying the story until that part to be honest. Great detail, vivid descriptions, and lots of emotional beats. We all know what happened in canon, but since you went AU, for me it seems to beg the question of what next? Since it's AU it could be anything. Either way the lack of that kind of answer is what triggered my earlier review of this story. Again I apologize if it seemed harsh. You did write this well and it's always great to see new faces and stories on the site.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 27, 2019 05:33 pm Title: More (Than That)

So, I read this something like 3 or 4 times today while I was supposed to be working; I thought it was that great. Then again, I'm a sucker for angst when it's written really well and I mean, who doesn't love a great desk make out session?

Seriously, this is heartbreaking in the best of ways, but I love how you went through the episode and filled in some blanks and wrote something so plausible and real and did I mention the making out on the desk scene? More of THAT, please.

Also, this: "Until now. She wasn’t forceful. Oh no. Being forceful with Pam meant backing her into a corner, and when Pam felt like she was backed into a corner, she would completely shut down." If that doesn't describe Pam so perfectly...

I don't know if this was your first JAM fanfic, or just the first one you're posting, but I really hope you share more with us!

Author's Response: Sorry this took me like years to reply to, but yes, this is my first JAM fic. I'm so happy you enjoy angst, because I tend to write a LOT of it haha.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2019 05:20 pm Title: More (Than That)

Really?!? That's where you're going to leave it? I'm going to be honest here setting it up like that, with all the internal thoughts for both of them and then to just end it like that is almost sticking a middle finger to your reader. You've got Pam there ready to seriously consider leaving Roy and it just ends. Yeah not my most favorite thing to read.

Author's Response: My intention was to have this be a one-shot surrounding the events of "Casino Night". My takeaway from what we saw in GWH about the rest of their interaction was that once Jim pulled away from her, he left (but that's just my head canon/personal take and definitely is open to some interpretation). So, I wanted the one shot to end like that, with him leaving to help bring it back to canon/lead into S3 of the actual show. I never intended to upset/offend/anger anyone about where it ended. That episode is one of my favorites from the series and I told myself if I ever wrote JAM fic, that my first would be an exploration into the thoughts/feelings of those two during Casino Night. I never intended to veer (dialogue wise) from canon, but when I got to the part when he walked into the office, I was too tempted and just had to take it further. I am working on a follow-up, taking some plot points from S3. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy it, but thank you for reading and for sharing your thoughts.

Reviewer: Clover Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2019 11:45 am Title: More (Than That)

Nooooooooooooo! You can't do that! So close! You got us so close to a more satisfying AU, and then you yanked it awaaaaay! Arrrrgh!

Really well done. But come on, have a little mercy. Pretty please?

Author's Response: Already working on it, but I'm still using plot lines from the show, more specifically season 3 now. I'm not sure how it will be formatted because the one I'm working on now is a lot shorter than this was (like 3-4k compared to this one which was like 12k words), so it might be really awkward to have a second part that's significantly shorter than the first, but I'll try to figure something out. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review :)

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2019 09:07 pm Title: More (Than That)

Oh, the angst! I really liked the way you let Pam give in to what she had been feeling. Since you already went off canon, the story could continue! Does she chase him down? Go to his apartment? The possibilities!

Author's Response: I actually am working on a follow-up, but I'm not sure if I'll place it in this universe or do something else with it. The length is a lot shorter than this was and so it might be awkward to have a 3-4K word second chapter to a first chapter that was about 12k words (oops). There are definitely some canon elements involved from S3, but it definitely goes more off canon than this was. And I live for angst in both my writing and my reading, sooooo...it's there haha. Thank you for reading it and for the review!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2019 07:50 pm Title: More (Than That)

Well, that was somehow even more tragic than the original. Nicely escalated, angst-wise.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read it and for the review. It was meant to be a one and done look at the end of that episode, but then I started watching season three and now I'm working on a potential follow-up to this.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans