Reviews For The actress
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 07:34 am Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

The growing Pam-Brian relationship is a really interesting twist, and I think it makes a lot of emotional sense in this story. It makes my heart hurt for poor Jim, who has got to be totally confused, but I think it's a natural result of the internal conflict Pam is going through and the burdens she's facing. Can't wait to see how she's going to react to Jim moving on, though...

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 07:27 am Title: Another contract, the crew and one ugly truth

I really like the choice you've made to make the conflict broader than just Pam not being able to be honest with Jim - the idea of Pam struggling with dual loyalties and the broader ethics of spying on people she actually does work with every day, and the failure of the "documentary" crew to understand that, makes this whole story a lot weightier.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 07:24 pm Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

Oh, I don't like this because I fundamentally hate Brian but I also really want to know what comes next. Is your Katy going to become a regular? Is Pam going to keep dating Brian? DRAMA! Please keep this going!

Author's Response:

I don't hate Brian but I get why ppl hate him. And also this story. 

I still... don't know what's going to happen to Brian right now. Katy is a little easier. 

Thanks a heap for reviewing! You've given me some much needed energy to keep on writing this. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 07:21 pm Title: Warnings, a realisation, and a new act

I find it really interesting that you have Pam taking this tack, especially since you also have her there when no one is filming (I suppose they couldn't get her a three month vacation without blowing her cover). Fascinating setup.

Author's Response:

Well... this story is taking me forever because I keep getting stuck on how to make it realistic for an actress to be in a documentary incognito (happens a lot, as I've found out).

I'm happy you find this fascinating! 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 03:55 pm Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

I don't hate Brian... but also I have to register my objection on behalf of JAM! This is a pretty believable scenario, I just don't want to watch it play out, it hurts my jammed up heart. I look forward to things reaching the breaking point.

Author's Response:

Well, I'm a sucker for happy endings and a hardcore JAM shipper so, hold in tight.

Thanks a lot for reviewing! 

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2020 02:40 pm Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

Ok thanks for clearing that up. Can’t wait for more!

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2020 01:21 pm Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

This does not seem like Pam at all. And I just hate Brian so why? But actually could you clear something up? I kinda get why but not totally, why Pam is distancing herself so much from Jim and even going into meaningless relationships? Like can’t she just quit if she truly only has feelings for Jim?

Author's Response:

She's not in a very likeable point so far... or maybe in character, but that's why AU exists.

Pam is distancing herself from Jim because she doesn't want to give the documentary crew footage they could use to invent a love story (with or without feelings) between her and Jim. So she expected that now that she took some distance, the crew would drop that story and look for something else with the other characters.

Only, it backfired, because now Katy is in the picture.  

She considers quitting. Maybe I should put that more explicitly, and I'll try to explain it better in the next chapter.

So far, in terms of career, this is the best role she's landed. And she knows that, if she quits, she will not only lose that, but also production would put somebody else in her place. She cares for Jim, or so she thinks, but not enough to throw away her career (just like canon Pam was not willing to break up her engagement with Roy) 

Give her some time, I promise she'll come around.  

Reviewer: jamtogether Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2020 11:27 am Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

I do hate this chapter. Why? Why? Why? WHY does Pam have to jump into bed with everyone even when in the show she did not.

Author's Response:

Well... in the show she was engaged.
Also, it's called AU for a reason.

Thanks for your hate, it means the world! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2020 03:42 am Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

“Just a regular couple doing regular couple things” Oh I shouldn’t laugh, but this feels a little too close to some of Pam and Roy’s canon interactions... It makes this premise all the more believable.

“Hey, Brian” Nope. I don’t like where this is headed. Nope, nope, nope.

"Are we allowed to have a drink? Together? I mean, if you want to." Umm. No. Nope. No thank you.

I kid. Mostly. This is a great twist! My bias for hating on Brian is definitely getting in the way. I don’t hate him hate him, but I don’t love him getting in the way of Pam and Jim in any capacity either.

Katy is even more meaningful in this context. I wonder how Pam will feel about her final realization. After all, she’s backed off from Jim to protect him from the deception taking place, and now he’s being deceived by someone with even less regard for his feelings... I have my fingers crossed it will propel Pam into some sort of action!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for such a lovely review!

In this scenario, poor Pam doesn't even have "regular couple things"... hence, Brian. And I knew he's a character people love to hate, which is, of course, fun to write. Fun fact: do you know that actor voices Mickey Mouse? 

So Pam gets some action and then, indeed, Katy arrives and it's clear she won't have Jim's interests in her heart. Now it's time for Pam to do something. Will she though?

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2020 08:41 pm Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

Now that's a very interesting twist. Plausible in this universe to be sure. I've got a feeling there's going a be a lot more twists and turns as this all goes forward.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! I am really glad you think it's plausible, because this idea - she having something with Brian - is what kept me blocked the last time around. She never does in the series, and I don't think she really was interested, but this is a whole new scenario in which she is NOT engaged and NOT really living her life so... Brian is kind of a hobby (ouch that was cruel).

I don't know about more twist and turns, but I hope you find the rest at least entertaining.

 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2020 08:32 pm Title: The boom operator, drinks and a newcomer

This is such an awesome twist on canon! I wasn't expecting it and that's what makes this so great. Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it! :-)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 29, 2020 02:50 am Title: Warnings, a realisation, and a new act

This is such an interesting premise! I actually think I had been reading it as you posted. The first few chapters definitely seemed familiar. I’m glad you’ve come back to it!

I really quite like this version of Roy (and that’s not something I’ve written all that often before...) It’s a little sad that as a fake fiancé I feel like he has more genuine conversations with Pam and seems to have her back a whole lot more.

I feel for Pam. She’s so torn between her job and her genuine chemistry with Jim. It hurts my heart a little that she essentially chose her job over him in this chapter. Poor Jim must be so very confused over her turning cold on him, although I assume he would think that it was all about Roy.

I’m really looking forward to seeing where you take this next!

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! It's proving to be difficult to write, because I fell like I have to put in a lot of explanations before really getting into the good stuff... well I hope you don't get bored. 

I kinda like this Roy, too. He¿s not really a bad guy, and in this case he is a bit of an ally to Pam. 

And her choosing to start ignoring Jim is a little about her career but also about him. You review made me realise that was not very clear, so I added a few lines on that regard. She know he'd feel really stupid if he finds out she'd been going along with the flirting knowing that it was just a show, so she stops. 

Anyway, next chapter is almost done and I hope to move things a little.

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2020 03:21 pm Title: Warnings, a realisation, and a new act

Ok, I went back and re-read everything before reading this latest update. Just wanted to make sure I knew where everything was going.

You wrote Pam's confused emotions really well. It's clear she does feel something real for Jim at the very least. The fact you had her drive all the way to New York is proof of that. Great job to bring that out.

Then her plan afterwards, to basically toe the actor's line, from where I'm sitting that feels really in place with Canon Pam. Stay where you're comfortable, go with the script. However I also get the sense it's still weighing heavily on her. Especially since it's strained her relationship with Jim.

Glad to see this returning and I'm really looking forward to see where we go from here.

Author's Response:

Wow! Thanks very much for re-reading the whole thing, W4. I'm going to fix a couple of things here and there, but I'm more excited about the next chapters, tbh.

I love writing AU Pam, trying for her to stay being Pam while putting her in new situations.

Anyway, I hope the muse stays around. I'm offering her home-made cupcakes and coffee.

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 07:43 pm Title: Another contract, the crew and one ugly truth

I like where this story is going! It was nice to see Pam's awakening and that Roy isn't depicted as the bad guy here. I look forward to where you take this.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2019 08:05 pm Title: Another contract, the crew and one ugly truth

This is really good. I like how, as you say, this is basically later Pam doing earlier Pam. Especially this line: Nowhere in her contract did it say she had to be a snitch. Good stuff.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much, Comfect!

It's fun to try to krep her on character and yet give her a little freedom to be more intense :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2019 06:29 am Title: Another contract, the crew and one ugly truth

I did like the little insights to the production of the show. Changing the lights around in the office, setting up things for better camera angles and such. Great detail that added a lot.

You're doing a great job at capturing Pam's conflicted feelings here. She's trying hard to do a good job in her role, but she's also losing herself in her role. How much of a good thing that is or not remains to be seen. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks so much w4! I want her to be torn between enjoying the experience and the fact that she's being more herself and less a character.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2019 10:28 am Title: Introductions, sugar and the fiancé

I kinda figured that out of anyone, it would be Jim who would most likely cause Pam's facade to crack. It's almost as if I can already see the train of events leading up through some of their more important moments.

I do like how you're getting into Pam's head here. It's nice way to get her perspective on everything.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! Yeah, Jim will make Pam consider a lot of things. As usual :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2019 02:49 pm Title: First impressions, an interview and a job

I'm enjoying this! Please keep it up.

"This was the first time she got to work on a character so deeply, and she realized she was enjoying it. She was starting to like this new Pam, shy and timid, and she wished the writers got her to find a little bit of a voice. To accomplish something other than being a receptionist." I like this insight into the slightly different Pam you're giving us. That and the reminders that she can't be sassy. It's a good technique for keeping her in character within the TV show but giving us a different person behind the scenes.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! I'm really enjoying writing it.

This Pam is a bit of 4th season Pam (an forward), and the character she plays is  1st season Pam. Son't you get the feeling she's thinking all sorts of comebacks when Michael is acting specially crazy? 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2019 10:02 am Title: First impressions, an interview and a job

Good set up here. Now that Pam has the job I'm looking forward to seeing how you take this. Especially once she starts interacting with everyone.

Author's Response: Thanks very much, w4! It's fun to write from inside Pam's brain in this scenario :)

Reviewer: brokenloon Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2019 09:33 am Title: Questions, answers and a contract

This is a cool idea that gives you some freedom with Pam' s personality. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I hope to make her still sound like Pam.  :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2019 07:10 am Title: Questions, answers and a contract

Interesting premise. Looking forward to seeing where you take it.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much!

This is the first time I have the whole thing outlined and more or less written, so I really know where this is going. Won't tell though :) 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans