Reviews For Silver Wings
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: jam143 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2020 10:05 am Title: Songs from Home

I love this story! Please update :D

Author's Response: Thank you. The next chapter is already in the works.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2020 10:26 pm Title: Songs from Home

Just read these most recent three chapters and there’s no way I’m going to remember everything I loved because there was SO MUCH! But I will try!
-you captured and kept my attention during the ball game, which is not easily accomplished when describing sports!
-the way everyone worked together to get Angela to fall asleep made me laugh out loud
-the letter! Their code!
-the way you write the dog fights is SO GOOD! I can picture it all so clearly in my head, like a documentary or movie
-everyone’s voice is spot on
-yeah, TAKE THAT RYAN number one how dare you
-Tim! Gareth! Omg! So perfect!

Just excellent writing all around. This story is absolutely one of my favorites and I’ll read it over and over. Great job (but let’s be real you knew that already!)

Author's Response: BT thank you for this review. I first read it during a VERY long night at work, so it helped decrease some of the stress of the night. I'm so very glad you've been enjoying everything.

The baseball's been fun to write for me too. Sounds like watching tons of sports movies has paid off.

The team causing Angela to fall asleep was a favorite part too. There's no way she would let them out to the bar so they needed to get creative. Likewise with the code in the letters. Just because Jim and Pam aren't face to face doesn't mean I'm going to let them stop bantering to each other.

I'm really glad the dog fights have come across well. I don't know how many times I've read the Star Wars X-Wing books. Lots of dogfights in there which is what I'm using as inspiration for writing out dog fights. Also like sports movies, I've watched a ton of WWII and fighter pilot movies and documentaries. So I'm really glad it's coming across well.

Glad the characters are still staying true as well. Considering the wide cast to work with, at times it can get tricky.

Yeah, Ryan may get a few jabs in, but like in canon, Jim always comes out on top.

They're in the UK, how could I not include the UK Office cast? It was just to good an opportunity to let slip by.

Thank you so very much of the continued support for this story. It really does make me glad to hear you're enjoying it so much. I hope I continue to keep the standards up.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2020 02:38 am Title: Songs from Home

I'm finally getting caught up with this one and it is quite the epic story you have written, Warrior! I am blown away at your commitment to detail about this era, the little nuances you've chosen to include are fantastic. It makes the story richer. I adore the letters , in fact, I think they are my favorite part.
Amazing job and I am looking forward to the next update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much boredswf! Coming from you and your own fantastic historical AU, this is high praise. I was kind of hoping you'd find your way to this one and was looking forward to hearing what you had to say. I think I've told you this before, but military history is a bit of a hobby of mine. It's been fun to indulge that while also weaving in The Office. I hope I can continue to keep up the quality. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2020 07:51 pm Title: Songs from Home

Aussie Aussie Aussie! Oi Oi Oi!

A nice filler chapter. Glad to see Gareth and Dwight face off, and nice that we got to meet one of Jim's brothers.

Author's Response: Yes a filler chapter, but a fun one. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2020 04:58 am Title: Songs from Home

A pint indeed! What a fun chapter and great way to bridge to what I'm sure will be heartbreaking loss when someone goes down in battle. That Jim and Tim had an immediate, quiet understanding of their quirky mates was great.

Makes me miss the pub for sure. Well done, warrior, as always!

Author's Response: Thanks. That's very much what I was going for. A break of fun in the midst of the the stress of war. Glad you like it.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2020 02:35 am Title: Songs from Home

Oh boy, Andy’s reaction to Tim not “knowing” Cornell is priceless.
Although, it’s nothing compared to Dwight and Gareth... I love Dwight coming in with the correction - a perfect way for them to cross paths.
Gareth is fun, but let’s face it, I have a soft spot for Dwight so I kind of love him getting the upper hand with that salute.
Tim and Jim are lovely, of course they’re content to sit back and let it play out.
“aggressively singing” now that’s a twist on a bar fight!

Of course it’s Andy to lead the retaliation.
It’s nice to break up the tension of war this way, with friendly rivalry and patriotic songs.

Another Halpert! That’s exciting! Jim outranking his older brother makes me smile (especially considering how unlikeable Jim’s brothers are when they try to “prank” Jim in Season 5).

Jim pulling out a guitar is a nice nod to canon and that guitar we never really find out more about from his barbecue.

Oh Warrior, that’s so lovely! Thank you. Funnily enough, my Ben is currently engrossed in a documentary about Spitfires. He keeps pausing it tell me how majestic they are. He actually has a pilot’s license and had he been around at that time, I’m sure he would have been exactly like this. It’s very fitting to see him immortalized in this fic!

There was so much to love in this chapter - the crossover with the UK Office was wonderfully done. As I touched on earlier, I think it’s great to break up the war/angst with snippets of their down time. It’s important that they have down time. It was sweet that Jim got a moment with his brother too, that was unexpected.
I wish I still had jellybeans to give!

Author's Response:

I was really looking forward to this review. I came up with the idea for this chapter a long time ago, so it was fun to finally bring it to life. 

Glad you liked how I had the American and British Office characters interacting. I feel the same way about Dwight vs. Gareth. 

Having Andy lead the charge with the singing was just to good an opportunity.

Most importantly, I'm very glad you liked the bits with Ben. That's really fun to hear about him liking Spitfire's. Like I said thank you so much for your support and great reviews.  

Reviewer: MCapps Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2020 11:04 pm Title: Songs from Home

I’m glad I had an evening free to sit back and catch up on Silver Wings. You really paint the picture well with your words and each chapter is so realistic and vivid. Like last chapter, I could picture Ryan’s smug face and as the guys told what really happened how his demeanor changed. This chapter was so fun! The songs were amazing... I almost felt as if I were there hearing them. Love that Jim got to see his brother. I’m sure that’s quite the mood boost he needed after the day he experienced. Looking forward to seeing what is next :)

Author's Response: Thanks MCapps. Always a delight to hear from you. I'm really glad you're enjoying everything. I'll admit I was a little worried about putting in all the songs. It makes me very glad to hear you enjoyed them. 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2020 11:59 am Title: Songs from Home

This chapter was a delight, I could almost hear the stomping and clapping in my head while reading this. Now I have to go listen to all the songs. The rivalry turning to song was a fun twist, I half expected an all out brawl.

Author's Response: Thanks DG. That was exactly what I was going for. A lead up to possibly a bar brawl, but then they break out in song. Glad you liked it. Hope all those songs get stuck in your head like they have been in mine for months now.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2020 08:28 am Title: Fortress Defense

You have great skill in painting pictures with words, I was rarely lost in the dogfight while reading it, and maybe I just watched too much history Channel growing up but the way you described their movements worked for me really well.

I'm glad Ryan got put in his place, screw that guy.

Looking forward to seeing how Andy fits in. Also, Tim? Isn't that the Jim equivalent from the UK office? If so, nice nod there, look forward to seeing how that plays out.

Author's Response: Oddly enough watching and re-watching episodes of History Channel's "Dogfights" has been a main source of research for me for this fic. Especially the episodes highlighting P-47's and P-51's.

Yup Tim is the equivalent of Jim from the UK Office. It's been a story element I've been planning for a long time so it's a lot of fun to bring out.

Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2020 02:45 am Title: Fortress Defense

Interesting to see that Ryan promotion/dislike of Jim coming to life in this world too. How very Season 4 of you.
“without any crosses on the kill board” is Ryan not making a sale all over again. Very fitting.

It’s hard to review as I go once we get into the thick of battle, because reading on far outweighs pausing to write anything down...

No, no, no. I don’t like that. Out of ammo and planning to ram the incoming Germans. Nope. No thank you.

Aww, Dwight complimenting Jim fills me with joy. That’s definitely the kind of thing that Dwight would view as honorable. So very lovely to have him acknowledge it.

Roy calling Jim sir non-ironically kind of makes me chuckle. I like that Jim has a little bit of status in this world. Although, I suppose it’s not all that dissimilar from warehouse worker v. office worker...

Oooh, it’s nice to see Ryan get his comeuppance! He certainly turns from smug to feeble under the truth. And to top it off with the introduction of Andy... This ought to be interesting.

Well, there’s a nice crossover twist! It’s UK Jim!

Author's Response:

I always look forward to hearing from you. Mainly because you quite often pick up exactly what I'm going for. Yes, no kills is supposed to equal Ryan not making any sales. My way of translating the show into this AU. 

Dwight has been a lot of fun to write with this one. Despite all his oddness, Dwight is a good and honorable guy at heart, so it's fun to bring that out. Even if it means using a line he said to Pam and having him say it to Jim this time around.

It's also military protocol for an enlisted man to refer to any officer as "sir," but it's also another way to translate the show to the military. Warehouse/enlisted vs Office/officer. That being said it's also fun to make sure Jim is on a higher standing than Roy.

Same with taking Ryan down a peg or two. Why rewrite some of the best bits from the show?

Yup UK Jim making an appearance. We'll have some fun with him next chapter. I have a feeling you'll really like it.

Thanks as always. 

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2020 10:02 pm Title: Fortress Defense

I've been waiting for this update! So excited to see it posted.

The research you've invested for this work is incredible and really enhances every aspect of the story.i cannot commend you enough on the accuracy you obviously work hard to achieve.

I'm wondering if Roy will ever catch on? I don't think I've missed it if he has already, but how does he not see Pam's picture in the cockpit? Can't wait to see how that pans out.

I really enjoy the character relationships you've built with Pete and Mark in Blue Flight. I'm curious to see how the Yellow RAF team plays in!

Dwight and Tennessee Monkey is one of my favorite bits.

Keep up the strong writing. This fic is on my list to stalk for uodates!

Author's Response: Thank you. I have a book filled with first hand accounts of 8th Air Force airmen that I've been pouring over. I'm really glad all that effort works well for you. No Roy hasn't seen Pam's picture yet because Jim keeps putting it in his jacket before Roy can see it.

I've very glad you're enjoying this. Hope to hear more from you going on.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2020 09:36 pm Title: Fortress Defense

Come friendly bombs and fall on Slough
It isn't fit for humans now.
--John Betjeman

Lovely to see the British Office represented. Hope Tim and Dawn are a little happier in this one. I really enjoyed the Dwight/Jim interaction and honestly also Ryan being a coward. Good chapter.

Author's Response: Bringing in some of the UK Office cast was something I'd been looking forward to for a while. Glad you liked the chapter.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2020 07:31 pm Title: Fortress Defense

I see what you did there with that ending. Color
me impressed!
Great chapter! I LOVED seeing Ryan fluster when he knew he was caught. Excited for the next chapter! Great update!

Author's Response: They're in the UK, how could I not? Thanks. I'm glad you liked it and glad to hear from you. The next chapter will be a lot of fun.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 06, 2020 07:25 am Title: Who's On First

As someone who has never really played or watched baseball, you do a great job of painting the picture of the game and making the reader care.

Your characterizations and dialogue are great as ever, I look forward to reading more. 



Author's Response: Thanks DG. One of my favorite authors once said about writing; "Paint a picture with words." Glad to see that approach has worked for you.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 09:41 pm Title: Who's On First

Oh yay Holly! I'm delighted to see her. And you know, I'm enjoying both halves of this a lot. This part is great for the female camaraderie and the other for tension. Nice mix.

Author's Response: Thanks again. It's been fun to get that all across. Really glad you got caught up with this. The review waterfall made my day/night. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 09:33 pm Title: Into the Fire

Good on Jim and good on Dwight. I'm still waiting for the shoe to drop (or should I say the Penny) with Roy... Or for Jim to recognize the signs himself. Good chapter.

Oh, and good trauma/shock but that is not a surprise from you.

Author's Response: I've got something special in mind for that, don't worry. Glad everything came across well. The flight or fight response can have interesting effects so it makes me feel good that my descriptions came across well.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 09:20 pm Title: Pitches and Pictures

Awww. I liked the baseball but the camaraderie more. Great job with Karen/Pam/Penny/Larissa and even Jan.

Author's Response: Thank you. It's a challenge with this many characters to get things right. Glad you thought I did a good job with it.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 09:04 pm Title: Pointblank

Ohhhhh man. That's...a thing. A big thing. I'm excited to see what you do with it. Such a nice twist.

Shouldn't it be Army Air Corps, asks the pedant in me?

Author's Response: Yeah that's going to a real big thing going forward. I had an evil grin moment when I thought of it so I'm glad it's come across well.

According to my research the Army Air Corps was merged with Air Force Combat Command to form the US Army Air Forces. So at this point in the story the official name would have been the Army Air Force, but I'm sure a lot of people still called it the Air Corps. All the numbered air forces were sub-divisions of the Air Forces. Hope that helps.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 08:20 am Title: Family History

I like this. You must have had a lot of fun with the moonshine portion, given what we know of your drinks of preference. I still don't like Helene, but I do think she gives you good tension in the story. Good work!

Author's Response: Yeah, explaining whiskey/moonshine is fun. That's kinda the point of Helene in this story. Thanks.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 08:11 am Title: A New Diamond

Awww. Very much liked both the baseball team (nice choices) and the unexpected send-off. Good proposal scene too. Just slowly catching up, but wanted to let you know how much fun it was.

Author's Response: Thanks. I get that it might take people a bit to catch up. It's kinda long at this point. Glad you still liked it though.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 03:39 am Title: Who's On First

It’s nice to see the team working well together. Michael is just an added bonus. He’s so delightfully Michael.
You’re really taking me back to playing softball as a kid. I can feel the energy of the game.
Aww, go Pam. She really has found her niche in this universe.
The start of Jim’s letter made me grin. Poor Griff, it’s tough having to salute your friend over a technicality. Lucky they’ve both got such good senses of humor about it.
And we have Kelly! I was wondering when she’d show up! Of course Ryan has caught her attention.
Beating with censors with baseball talk was a smooth move on Jim’s part. I really like that they have their own way of communicating - it fits very well with their canon characterization, just in the way that they understand each other in a way that no one else does.
Griff bringing a little bit of fun with his contribution to the letter.
Angela is living the dream - I want to never be seen without a cat in my arms!
Todd Packer is the worst. But wasn’t that a delight, Michael and Holly on the same strange page. They’ve got such similar ways of seeing the world and you capture that so well here, and at the expense of Packer’s ego? Even better.
A fun chapter, it’s a good break from the drama/gravity of war that Jim’s experiencing.

Author's Response: As always, thank you so much for your review Jenna. I'm glad you liked this chapter. It was fun to bring to life once I got down to writing it. I would have put Kelly on the team as well, but sadly at this point in US history segregation was still a thing. Which means to keep true to history I had to put Kelly somewhere else. But it's also more in keeping with The Office to have her all over Ryan so in the end it kind of works out. 

Glad you liked how everyone else is turning out. With this many characters sometimes it's hard to keep everyone straight. So it's nice to hear that things are going well. 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2020 07:59 pm Title: Into the Fire

This chapter was soooo good. It was tense and scary and real but had the right amount of romance abs longing. You write each character so well and I truly love how you’ve incorporated some throw away characters into this story and given them life. You’re just so good! I can’t wait to read more, but don’t beat yourself up if it takes a while to update! You have an important job and a family and it’s crazy times and nobody knows how to deal and sometimes writing takes a back seat. Your faithful readers aren’t going anywhere!

Author's Response: Awww, BT thank you. For your support of this story as well as for the personal touches. It's very appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter so much. It's been a long time to get to this point so I'm glad everything's lived up to any expectations. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 07, 2020 04:04 am Title: Into the Fire

Warrior, I have to say I’m a little bit worried going into this chapter... I feel like we’re getting into the action & I don’t want anything to happen to Jim!
Only reading is going to answer these questions for me...

My heart was in my throat during the action! Which is obviously an indicator of some good action. I have to tell you, when Jim’s hand were locked on his instruments & the sweat was stinging his eyes I had a flicker of fear that maybe he hurt & it was something more. I’m glad it wasn’t. I’m also glad that having Pam there, albeit in picture form was enough to start to settle his nerves & ground him once again. Lovely imagery there.

I actually don’t hate this version of Roy. Huh. How about that. I feel like him & Jim get on okay without Pam in between them (even though, she kind of is, but they don’t know that...)
I liked that you had Jim lose it a little back on ground. All that high stakes adrenaline has got to go somewhere... It’s a lot to process.

Alex, hey? That was a bit of a surprise. Nice way to bring him into it. You’re including just about everyone to ever appear in canon in this story it seems. That’s an impressive feat.

Aww, Dwight, and one of my very favorite lines from canon. And, wow, way to make a very dramatic entrance there...

Oh Jim. That letter from Pam came at the perfect moment. The day ended a whole lot nicer than it really was.
All in all, this was an epic update!

Author's Response:

Jenna! Thank you for this wonderful review. I'm ecstatic you enjoyed it so much. I'm glad the scenes of Jim dealing with the adrenaline of combat worked for you. I was basing some of those scenes on first hand knowledge. 

I'll admit it's kinda fun to write Jim and Roy as friends rather than Roy mostly clueless and Jim hating his guts from afar. There's a bunch of Pam and Karen friendship fics out there. I figured I'd try to explore what would happen if Jim and Roy were more friendly.

Thus far there's only a few non-canon characters. Bringing in Alex to paint the plane nose art seemed appropriate.

Dwight in a confined space filled with smoke? How could I not use those lines.

I always intended to end this chapter with a letter from Pam. Just like in the air, her letters are going to be what Jim holds onto when the going gets tough. I have a book filled with first hand account of real 8th Air Force flight crews and many of them said that's what letters from home would do for them. Kinda fun to put in some real history too.

Like I said, I'm glad you liked this chapter. Thank you so much for your constant support of it.  

 

 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 08:35 pm Title: Pitches and Pictures

Finally caught up and I just love this so much! I am so so impressed with the level of detail and amount of research you’ve put into this! It is no easy task to be historically accurate and you make it seem so seamless and effortless. Great great job.

Something else I love is how you’re putting in all these extra elements that we kind of see in the show, but fleshing them out a bit. I like how we see what’s going on with Pam’s parents and we meet more of Jim’s friends/family in a way that makes sense. Your characterizations are spot on, too. I just truly love everything about this. I know it is probably a beast to tackle when you sit down to update it, but I am waiting on pins and needles for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks BT. I've very glad all the hours pouring over Wikipedia, Youtube, and the book I bought filled with first hand accounts from 8th Air Force flight crews proved worth it to you. Honestly it's a bit distracting at times because I'll pull something up for a quick fact check and windup down some weird internet rabbit hole.

Thanks for the notes about characterization. I'm trying to keep everyone mostly in character despite the different time setting. Some details will change, but hopefully the core of everyone will remain constant. Very glad to have you here.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2020 06:49 am Title: Dying Coals

Pausing again in my read of this to say how much I love the way you work events from the show into this story. Ryan asking Pam out, the 27 seconds. It’s all so perfect. I’m really loving this!

Author's Response: Thanks again BT. It's been a lot of as well as challenging to work in show moments. Sometimes it can work like how the show had it, other times it's fun to change it up. Glad you're still enjoying the story.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans