Reviews For Silver Wings
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Graceface Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2021 08:43 am Title: Prologue

I love this story!

I liked your nod to (I presumed?!) your blog early on and the way you are including aspects of the show like Dwight fighting himself but all with their own twist to suit the story line.

You had me worried for a moment when Pam was attracted to Danny! I'm glad she realised what she has and hope he gets whats coming to him! Also love the way you handled Roy finding out. The usual Roy anger but he has hopefully settled to be the man and Mechanic he was showing himself to be earlier in the story. Leading up to both of the men finding out I was worried about Roy messing with Jim's plane!

You paint a good picture of what it might be like on the battle front for people who haven't lived it. Thanks for a great read Warrior, can't wait for more!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much Graceface! I'm glad you've enjoyed it so much. Yeah, there was nothing to worry about with Pam being romantically involved with Danny. Sure she can acknowledge he's handsome, but clearly he's not anywhere near her type. Stick with me a bit longer and that arc will be resolved not to worry.

It was a lot of fun adding all that stuff with Roy. Had Pam not come between them, Jim and Roy might have been friends. I wanted to explore that a bit. Remember though Roy was done working on Andromeda before he found out about Jim and Pam and afterwards there were plenty of MP's around to stop any funny business. 

Thanks for the compliments about adding in things from canon. It's a lot of fun to give new context to familiar lines and scenes. Same with all the scenes about the WWII aspects. I'm really glad they're coming across well for you. Hope to hear more from you going forward.

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2021 05:06 pm Title: The Storm Breaks

I'm sorry this was tough for you to write, but I'm so very glad you toughed it out. I really liked your paragraph about General Eisenhower. From all the history I've read about him, that was a gut wrenching night for him, but he toughed it out and made the call.

Author's Response: It was just a challenge to get all the feelings right, but thanks. Glad you liked the bit with Gen. Eisenhower. I did quite a bit of research for that bit. You're right, the days and nights leading up to the moment he gave the final order were tough. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2021 08:54 am Title: The Storm Breaks

Utterly brilliant, Warrior. There is so much about this that I loved. The detail of the WWII elements, the resolution of the love triangle - all brilliantly done. I also love that you shared the contents of Pam’s letter to Roy, gave us great insight. Awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks grc! Glad you liked all the historical stuff as well as the plot line advancment. Pam's letter to Roy was a challenge for sure so I'm thrilled that it came across well.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2021 08:41 pm Title: The Storm Breaks

First off it was great to see this story back. Congratulations on tackling such a monumental event (did you always plan it to come out so close to Veteran's Day) and giving us a feel for the tension going on preceding it.

Speaking of tension, there wasn't enough with D-Day about to happen? Letting this be the moment the Roy/Jim/Pam thing break added a whole other level.
Nice job building it up as the photo dropped and Roy learned about everything. And by the time Roy had been confined to his quarters it was sky high.

Of course, Jim being the solid guy he is didn't throw Roy under the bus but it didn't make me worry any less about Jim having to fly off in the plane a very bitter and hostile Roy was servicing. I got to say was very nervous about that but I guess that would have been a step beyond smashing up a bar, and to heinous, even for Roy.

I did enjoy how you humanized him in the end - brought him around to his more enlightened, season 9 version of himself and even had him reconcile with Jim in a mash-up of the negotiation with Pam and Crime Aid with Jim...overall a lot of clever way to work in lines (we're not dating, we're engaged - interesting to hear it from Jim... and some familiar faces -Tim and Dawn was fun, some fun lines about Ryan being a screw-up, and Andy and his acapella comparison...not to mention David's smooth way - how many time have I heard the showing some boxing moves bit...

All in all another well-written, 'draw you in' chapter that let us see from our character's eyes, moved the plot,
and painted the historical scene, all with some humor and well placed show references tossed in. A challenge I'm sure, but very well done. But wouldn't expect anything less from you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Max! I didn't really plan on having this come out near Veteran's Day, sometimes things just work out. Glad the feelings of tension came across well. It was the plan for Roy to find out here at D-Day to ramp the stress just that much more. Roy still has a temper, but I would think that he has changed a bit what with being in the Army and developing a friendship with Jim. The nice thing is that Roy had basically finished checking over the plane before everything hit the fan and then there were plenty of MP's to stop any funny business. 

I always kind of like humanizing Roy a bit. He's not my favorite character, but I also think he probably deserves a bit better treatment than just a clueless oaf. He did mature in canon so he can mature here too. Glad you liked all the other bits thrown in. Always important to add some levity I think.

Thanks as always for a great review.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2021 07:44 pm Title: The Storm Breaks

D-DAY! We're starting to make some real tracks in this war...

Interesting glimpse into Roy's inner monologue here. Not a bad guy, maybe, but certainly still pretty rough around the edges and short-tempered. You can picture this guy going off when he realizes a buddy is dating an ex of his, hitting first and asking questions later. Was thinking as this chapter began that the timing of all this was supremely awkward, but I guess it's a good thing there were extra MPs around.

(Giving Ryan the "Hey Halpert" line was a fun mislead. Lot of fun canon touches here - he caught Tim leaning over Dawn's desk! Very meta.)

I appreciate you giving Jim some compassion for Roy here. He maybe could use that at this moment. And also, boy does this all go down a lot smoother with someone vaguely competent in charge, although I've got to be honest, was a liiiiiittle nervous about Jim then immediately jumping into a plane Roy serviced.

Nice to see a little bit of a better memory of Pam from Roy here. Although it's notable to me that these are all moments in which Pam is mainly an auxiliary to Roy, rather than someone with agency of her own.

This scene at the end with Jim and Roy was well done, and made me kind of miss not having an actual honest conversation between the two of them in canon... although I suppose it makes a lot more sense for them to do so in this universe where they have a relationship totally independent of Pam.

As always, the descriptions of D-Day here were spectacular. A dynamite bird's eye view.

Author's Response: Thank you. I've never really thought of Roy as bad guy per se. He always struck me as the kind of guy who was stuck in a high school mindset and thus couldn't see the woman Pam was growing into which is why the Pam/Roy relationship was doomed. But yeah, he'll still let his temper get the best of him at first.

Well done catching the Hey Halpert misdirection. That was the point of giving Ryan that line.

Jim's a good guy and here he has built a friendship with Roy. The ground crews were nearly universally revered by the pilots back in WWII. I figure Jim's of that mindset too. And yeah a competent officer in charge helps out a lot. Also Roy got done working on the plane before it all went down and afterwards there were lots of MP's around to keep an eye on things.

Glad you liked the conversation Jim and Roy had at the end. I would have liked to put in even more stuff about D-Day itself, but it would have taken away from the story. Thanks for the vote of confidence on what is in there. Thanks as always for a great review.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 07:48 pm Title: Rekindled

Aww that's adorable! Though definitely seeing up a The Negotiation style showdown. Excited for more plot! I recall you saying you wanted to be the longest and to be finished: half done! Massive congrats on that, my friend.

Author's Response: I had a lot fun writing this chapter. We're in for something interesting when Jim gets back to England. Thank you. It's been a long time coming to get longest story but it's been fun. Rest assured this story will be finished.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 07:41 pm Title: Spiraling

Ohi there massive amounts of plot! Not sure how I missed this updating twice but yay that I get to read it!

Love the girls' bonding especially in this one.

Author's Response: Yeah, lots of forward plot movement with this one. Having the ladies close ranks a bit is always fun.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2021 05:59 pm Title: Rekindled

Ah, I was hoping that would be Jim and Griff! I love this taxi cab scene... and Jim correctly predicting what Andy would be up to when they got back to the hotel.

Way to make the lines about Jim never really being back a whole different kind of painful. It does seem like this was a well-timed visit for Pam's purposes, though - she needs some flyboy cheerleading to help her navigate Major Cordray. Not sure Jim's making the wisest of all possible choices in taking the lead on talking to Roy. In-character poor choice, but it feels like they could've gotten away with Pam gently letting him down without ever once putting Jim's relationship with his mechanic in danger. Oh, well.

The stadium scene is top notch. Jim's speech was powerful, and the Sirens versus the Flyboys is a lot of fun, in addition to being a throwback to simpler times in this story.

Many happy years, Penny and Griff! Seriously. Be careful. Griff is doing a lot to make me worry about his safety.

*confetti* congrats on getting over the top! Now... on to 200,000!

Author's Response: Thanks DJC! Glad you liked the brief return of Jim and Griff. Apparently this was something the army did to try and get the fighter pilots to sign up for longer tours. Prior to D-Day they could go back to the states for 30 days R&R then come back for another full tour of duty or complete their current tour and then serve another half tour but no R&R. I tweaked it a little with the war bond drive. It also let me bring in the "back but not really back" line so that was another bonus. Glad you caught it.

Should be interesting to see how Roy takes things that's for sure. Will he revert to angry Roy form or has the army softened some of his edges?

Glad you liked the stadium scenes. They were both emotional and fun to write so I'm glad they came across well. Thanks as ever for the reviews.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: September 02, 2021 05:02 pm Title: Rekindled

You totally did the scene justice even if you made us wait a long while for it. It was so heartwarming to see their reunion. Backtracking a bit -very appropriate to have Phyllis wink at them as they left and I like the little detail about Andy and his singing. And then how you worked in the back but not not really back - which does bum me out except that it means there will be more story to come.

The ceremony in the middle was very moving and you did a great job to bring out the emotions that the boys were feeling and that Pam could tell was happening just watching and how she was able to communicate to him to help him through it.

Enjoyed the little boys versus girls action and especially enjoyed Andy's anger issue come across there and a little Pete/Erin connection.

Congratulations to Griff and Penny - been waiting on that one and congratulations to you for achieving a goal of your own.

Not sure having Jim be the one to tell Roy is going to work out as easy as he thinks but it will make for a good bit of tension for the story so looking forward to where this goes next.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: It's a great scene from ALOTO so even though I may have changed some of the specifics, that is yes where I got the idea. I would have liked Andy to have been singing a song from "Sweeny Todd," but it hadn't been adapted to a musical yet. Always fun to work in canon lines.

Thanks for the vote of confidence in communicating the feelings and non-verbals. Those can get tricky. The boys vs. girls stuff was just plain fun. Time to advance some things and that included Griff and Penny along with the Roy storyline.

Jim may be flying into some turbulence with Roy that's true. Thanks as always for your great comments.

Reviewer: jts Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 02, 2021 04:21 pm Title: Rekindled

Yay, update! Thank you so much for writing and take care!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading. Glad you've liked it.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 02, 2021 08:20 am Title: Rekindled

I was so excited to see an update!
I loved the silent communication between
JAM at the game before she struck him out.
It was nice to see Penny and Griff get engaged.
I liked Jim’s reaction to finding out about Roy.
I am a bit nervous about Jim talking to Roy about Pam since Roy does have a bad temper.
After all Roy is in charge of performing important
maintenance on Jim’s plane, so Jim is dependent on Roy for his safety. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a lot of fun to bring in those elements of Jim and Pam's abilty to communicate non-verbally. Should be interesting with Roy that's for sure. Yes he has a temper, but he's also had some of that drummed out of him by the army. Should be fun to see how it all plays out. Also this review makes Silver Wings my most reviewed story. Thanks for that.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 02, 2021 05:42 am Title: Rekindled

Lovely to have this back again, Warrior, and congratulations on the landmark. That was a very satisfying chapter and really moved the story along. I loved reading the section in the baseball stadium, you captured Jim's PTSD really realistically, and nice touch having Griff propose!

I'm also really pleased you've started to directly address the love triangle.

Author's Response: Thanks. It was satisfying to write as well. There's been a lot of near misses with some plot points so I wanted to start clearing some of those up. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2021 05:21 pm Title: Spiraling

it can't be Jim can it?!!??!

Author's Response: I know it was a mean cliffhanger. Patience please. All will be revealed in time.

Reviewer: HazyGirl Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 10:56 am Title: Prologue

Hi! I just discovered this story two days ago. I love it! Your knowledge and attention to detail is impressive. I haven't been so enthralled with a story in a long time. I read until 2 am this morning (I am a teacher, so I am able to sleep in a bit). Honestly, I was so wrapped up, I kind of forgot what day it was. To me, that is the hallmark of a great story - losing yourself in the words and characters. Please continue. I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm very glad to hear this story has engrossed you to the point you were up till 2am. Next chapter should be coming soon. 

Reviewer: late2theprty Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 12:18 pm Title: Spiraling

So happy to see this update. Pam just has so much on her plate right now, Hmm wonder who is at the door?

Author's Response: Thank you. I was also glad to get a new chapter out. Yeah lots going on for Pam. We'll find out next chapter who is at the door.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 07:54 pm Title: Spiraling

Well to borrow a phrase from you, there was a lot to unpack in this chapter. Starting with your very well-written Kevin. I could just about hear him as he spoke to Pam. And as someone else mentioned before I could I definitely saw the Kelevin at work here.

So if The Danny character wasn't bad enough, now he is downright despicable especially in that he's threatening Pam and having her followed and punishing her with mind-numbing and tiring tasks.

It's too bad she still had the tail at training.

But worse than that was the letter and all that it brought with it, not only did Roy think he'd be able to show back up in her life after the war but there was the strange triangle that she was now in.

However, I kinda forgot all of it, just set as Pam probably did if this is anything like the scene I'm thinking of from ALOTO. Please let it be.

Author's Response: Yeah I put a lot in this one. Glad you liked Kevin. The nice thing about a character like him is he's fairly simple to write so that makes it easier. Danny's not great here either. And you're right I kinda piled on Pam with the letter. As for the cliffhanger, stay tuned next time.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 06:34 pm Title: Spiraling

After reading you author’s response,
I have to think that there may have been a little misunderstanding about my review.
I don’t think Pam and Penny’s reaction to the letter as funny in a way of them making fun of Roy’s feelings, because that’s not how they are.
What made me laugh was their shock and reaction to finding out that Roy and Jim are working together in Europe, and how Jim gave advice to Roy about Pam without realizing it.
The cherry on top was Penny’s comment of
Oh shit that really made LOL. 🙂

Author's Response: No worries. The "oh shit" moment was what I was referring to as well. Thanks.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 06:26 pm Title: Spiraling

VERY happy this story is back - and that we get our long-awaited Pam update!

Jeez, as if Danny weren't bad enough as a creepy, he's also an unpatriotic and corrupt creep. Thank goodness he's good-looking or he'd have nothing going for him. You did well planting some subtle clues for the scheme in the early going - things that look suspicious on second read that you could see as perfectly innocuous (or just Kevin being dumb) on first. Poor Kevin. He is absolutely the guy who would write notes on a criminal conspiracy and then lose them - and that's a very clever use of the Keleven, AND the word for the thing in their shoes. And I think it's a strong choice to not make the resolution so easy - there's a serious power imbalance here she's got to reckon with.

Well, Roy finally took Jim's advice. And the penny drops at last. *rimshot* That definitely confuses matters. And who knows? Maybe Roy actually has grown up some in the military. This definitely feels like the Silver Wings version of Season 3 Trying-But-Never-Going-To-Get-There Roy, but war has a way of clarifying things. I do appreciate that in no small part this hasn't come out because Roy is making a very purposeful choice - glues this all together some.

What a cliffhanger... here's hoping that's Jim and Griff making their grand return as opposed to the corporal.

Author's Response: Yeah, Danny's not great. I was worried making him like this was to much to soon, so thanks for saying it felt more subtle. Glad you liked the use of Kevin and the Keleven. I once read a fantheory that Kevin's whole thing was an act and he was actually cooking the books for years. Thus he's able to buy the bar at the end, so here it's not to big a stretch that he'd get wrapped up in a scheme like this.

Yes we're moving to a resolution of the Roy and Jim situation. I think Roy has grown up some. Also remember he's had news that Kenny was killed so there's that going through his mind too.

As for the cliffhanger? We'll just have to see. Thanks as ever for your review.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 12:37 pm Title: Spiraling

Yay you’re back!
I really hope it’s Jim that’s in the olive
uniform!
I have a feeling that Jim and Griff have been writing letters to the girls, but the major is doing something to make sure they aren’t being received. I also think that the major made sure that Pam was able to play baseball so she would be out of his way, so he can keep his scam going.
Pam and Penny’s reaction to Roy’s letter was really funny. 😂
A small part of me actually felt bad for the guy,
but I don’t think his humble attitude would last very long if he and Pam were to get back together. 🤔

Author's Response:

That's an interesting theory about the letters and why Major Cordray would want Pam out of there. I wasn't really going for funny with how they react to Roy's letter, but I could see how that could be a response. I do agree with your assessment of Roy if he were to get back together with Pam. As for who's in the uniform at the end? We'll just have to wait and see. 

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 07:33 am Title: Spiraling

I'm so glad you are back! I was just thinking about Silver Wings earlier this week.

Author's Response: Glad to be back with this one, thanks. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2021 05:27 pm Title: Big Week

I loved the note about Jim fighting the forces of gravity. You really showed how well researched this was as always, and the raid sequence was very well executed. Very easy to visualize the attack on the airfield in particular.

The tradition of the toasts and the pictures on the wall is well-written but eerie. Will be hard to forget that's looming over their shoulders as they make visits in future chapters. I was just thinking about the fact that it's still February 1944. A lot of war left. I'm nervous for Jim and the boys. Especially Mark.

I appreciated Jim being troubled by the expendability of the bombers. A logical military call, and statistically safer perhaps, but it feels like that calculation really *should* be striking for the people on the ground.

Hey, a non-This Thing Called Life near miss with Roy! This is an interesting version of him in this story. You can see why this guy might not be a good boyfriend, but you can also see why he'd be a good bro. Can't help but wonder if Jim's advice is going to come back to bite him...

That was a fun remix of Dwight's self-fight... and a very good excuse for it! Seriously, someone probably should've showed.

Glad to see this story updated again (even if it did take me weeks to review)... looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response:

Military history and aviation have long been hobbies of mine. So it's fun to bring in a lot of those aspects like describing the G forces involved in the flying they're doing. Glad you liked all the combat scenes too. Gives me encouragment that I'm achieving what I set out to in writing. Yeah, a lot of war left. We're not even to D-Day. Though there will be some time skips to move things along in coming chapters.

War is hell. That means the generals have to make tough calls and hope their men can come through. 

I wanted to explore how Jim and Roy might have interacted without Pam coming between them. So yeah a bit of near miss kind of like "This Thing Called Life," but hopefully a different context. 

Always fun to bring in moments from the show and what better than to have Dwight try to teach evasion but of course with Jim just egging him on. Always glad to get a nice detailed review from you.  Thanks as always.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2021 08:51 pm Title: Big Week

Oh I love the trick on Dwight. SO brilliant of a prank. I'm in awe.

And I appreciate the near-miss with Roy again. Nice to have that coming back around ;)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'd known from the off that Dwight would want to try and teach evasion skills and that Jim couldn't resist the opportunity to pull one over on him.

The near misses with Roy have been fun for me too. Thanks as ever for the review.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2021 05:38 pm Title: Big Week

So glad you are getting back to this one. I'd been missing fighter pilot Jim.

Now I don't recall if we every knew the other new plane names yet or if I commented on them yet (see that's what happens) but Big Red II is just classic Andy and I like the symbolism of Round Two (since I always saw Pete and Erin as the new Pam and Jim).

I was struck exactly the same as Jim when it came to the tactics of using the bombers as bait so I was really glad when Jim brought it up at the bar - and of course having it eat at him led him to write Pam - love how she could comfort him by just being the person at the other end of the letter.

It's very interesting to see you portray Roy this way - almost disturbing how nice he seems to be - that's going to be one big crash when they find out especially since they seem to get on so well.

Of course the repurposed Dwight on Dwight fight was good fun.

Can't wait to check in with Pam.

Good stuff as always.

Author's Response: Thanks as ever. This is the first time we see the new plane names for Blue Flight. Big Red II was obvious for Andy. In the show Pete says he likes boxing and that's where Knockout came from. Trying to continue on with a theme with Round Two but I can see how your interpretation works too. Griff changes up the Penny moniker so that's still fun. And of course we have Andromeda as a call back to Jim and Pam's discussion while sitting in the hot tub.

From what I've been able to gather, most of the fighter pilots were pretty gun ho about being released to follow through on attacks or go after ground targets. It was also not clear if the bomber or fighter pilots knew at the time the bombers were being used as bait. So that's kinda where that came from.

I'm having fun with this Roy/Jim friendship. I figured that had Pam not come between them, they might have been friends. They have a lot of the same interests (besides Pam that is), are friendly with similar people. It's been fun to explore that.

I'd been looking forward to putting in the Dwight fight's himself scene for a long time so it was fun to bring that to life.

Always great to hear your thoughts. Thanks for being patient with this one.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: March 20, 2021 04:52 pm Title: Saddle Up

Ok I loved this. P-51s are awesome, and seeing Pam get a chance to get war news not from Jim directly was very cool. You're so close to getting this to the longest ever, and it's impressive that it's still so good.

Author's Response: Yeah the P-51 is my favorite fighter of WWII. Just a classic warbird that is the definition of what a fighter plane should be. I really enjoyed putting in that newsreel at the end. Glad you liked it too. Yup getting close to longest fic. Hopefully we'll get there soon. Thanks for the review buddy. It's always a delight to hear from you.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: March 20, 2021 04:44 pm Title: Thoughts of the Future

I can see why this chapter was hard to write, but I think you did well with it. I really like Pam's dad getting honest with her. Here's hoping his coping gets easier.

Author's Response: Comfect! What welcome surprise to my night to see these two reviews pop up. Welcome back. Thanks for the words of support for this chapter. Really glad it worked for you. William has become a fun character to explore in this story.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans