Reviews For Silver Wings
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2022 06:26 am Title: Plans

So nice to have this back again, and great to hear about the girls this time. I did have to go back and read the previous chapter first as it’s been a while coming, please don’t leave this great story quite so long to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. It has been a long time coming true. Thanks for being so patient with me.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2022 07:29 pm Title: Plans

Okay, I love Michael doing what he thinks is a terrific FDR impression... but I've got to be honest, I shudder to think about who else a 1940s-era Michael might have had in his repertoire. (I imagine a lot of insisting "it's not Hitler, it's Charlie Chaplin in the Little Tramp, so it's not offensive!") And of course he's managed to miss the multiple signs that Frank is hinky. Oh, Michael.

I do love that we're still getting some of his and Pam's friendship here. "Mentally unfit to serve" is perfect. Michael would not have done well at the front.

Ah, I am *very* much looking forward to seeing this plan with Danny play out. And impressed with the ladies for thinking through how they counter his next move, too.

Happy birthday, my friend! May your next year be healthy, happy and prosperous!

Author's Response: Ok so now I'm kicking myself that I didn't catch the opportunity for a Chaplin imitation right from the off. Not only the Little Tramp but from his movie The Great Dictator which was a spoof of Hitler himself. Oh the cringe that could happen there. Michael anywhere near any kind of weaponry? Yeah I'm sure the army saw that a mile away and stamped 4F before he could get out a full sentence.

Glad you're liking the how to take down Danny plot. That's the great thing about working as a team, lots of ideas to see all the angles. Should be fun to see it all come to fruition.

Thank you my friend. For the review and well wishes.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2022 05:09 pm Title: Plans

As I mentioned, that you released this chapter today kinda spooked me in a really good way... and what a fun chapter to come back to...(except for the small worry as to why it's been a while since a Jim letter has arrived) I really enjoyed the visuals on this chapter - Pam sketching, the excitement of the game (even if they lost) and then the locker room scene with Michael Scott and then the bus ride where Pam cozies up to him to gather some reconnaissance.

Now I know it's not a new thing - him being the manager but I totally see him in the Max Dugan role, but not so much in the FDR role, but totally in the pretending to be FDR role and I appreciate the way this time, he made almost proper use of "a day that will live in infamy"- very clever and well done my friend.

I like how the Pam and Erin relationship is portrayed here...it took a while for Pam to warm to her on the show and become her mentor so I appreciate how she jumps right into that role here.

A little intrigue and plotting being set up here - and what a fun way to work in the screenplay, the gift baskets and how he can't keep a secret to save his life.

And of course Michael was reading the funnies. 

Larissa clapped her hands excitedly. “I can almost see the headlines now. America’s darling pro-rationing ball players take down smuggling ring!” 

I can see this too... a spinning in newspaper, with a black and white photo of our favorite ball-players taking down slimy Danny Cordray.

I'm a big fan of the Pete-Erin romance so glad to see how Pam is helping that along.

And always enjoy that list she has for her flyboy at the end. 

I just hope Jim's alright!!!!

Nice job with this chapter...enjoyed it a lot! 



Author's Response: I always look forward to your reviews Max! They're always so detailed and you seem to catch everything I was going for. I'd been trying to figure out ways to get more Michael-ness in this story and I'm glad you liked how I was able to bring them in. Really glad it all landed well. I find it fun to have Pam and Erin working together. It's because they both worked reception in the show that I cast them both as pitchers here so Pam could have that mentor type of role. 

Loved that the scheme brought that image of the spinning paper to mind. It's been a long time coming to start bringing this arc around more. Glad you're liking it.

The list is always a fun thing to work on too. Something for them both to look forward to for sure.

Thanks as ever for the great feedback.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2022 02:14 pm Title: Plans

Hurray! I'm so happy there's an update!
Very sweet that Pam is helping Erin to improve, and also that she's drawn the picture of her for Pete.
Amazing that Pam is cozying up to Michael, and Michael is writing a screenplay! Was very funny how he doesn't want it to get leaked.
'Mentally unfit for service' hahaha I laughed so much at this
Love that they're setting up a sting for Danny. CANT WAIT to see how that goes down!
Oh man, I really hope Jim is ok not having written for a month.
Gahhh don't leave us hanging!!

Author's Response: I've said it many times, Pam is a very kind soul and she likes to help people when and where she can. Glad you liked those parts of her helping Erin out. I knew I wanted to steal the scene on the bus from ALOTO where Jimmy explains why he's not in the army, but with Michael this time around. I figure he tried to enlist but the army took one look at him and stamped 4F (unfit for service) about as quickly as they could. It's great fun to advance the taking Danny down plot too. Glad you liked it. Thanks for the review and for being so patient with me.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2022 10:53 am Title: Plans

I always get a jolt of excitement when I see
an update for Silver Wings. I’m a little worried about Jim’s safety since Pam hasn’t received any letters
from him in a while. I like the girls’ plan of trapping Corday by using Michael to do it. It’s smart to keep Michael in the dark about it knowing how he has a big mouth. I can also definitely see Michael trying to impersonate FDR as well. 😂
Please update soon!

Author's Response: Nice to hear that you look forward to updates for this story. I'll work harder on getting new chapters out quicker. It took a few iterations for the plan to come together so I'm glad you like this idea. Regardless of time or place, Michael will still be Michael and thus bad impressions of people. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2022 11:55 am Title: The Storm Breaks

Wow, this was a great chapter. I loved all of the interactions between Jim and Roy. It’s so clever how you changed all the Pam and Roy interactions ‘we’re not dating we’re engaged’, ‘we both made bad choises’, etc. to be between Roy and Jim.
I really liked the thoughts Roy was having about how he screwed up with Pam, you can see he’s growing, just hasn’t done it in time to win Pam back.
And now this is where I get on my hands and knees to beg you to finish this story!!!!

Author's Response: It was a lot of fun to repurpose all those lines from canon. Same with letting Roy grow some. He may make a good target, but it's also satisfying to see him mature. I'll do my best to get another update ASAP.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2022 11:37 am Title: Rekindled

Really liked this chapter, so great to have them all spending so much time together. The game seemed a lot of fun. I really liked how you turned the ‘put your dukes up’ bit into a fun little rivalry for them.
And bless Erin and Pete.
Eshkk! Jim is going to talk to Roy! Can’t wait to see how that pans out!

Author's Response: I really liked being able to bring the Flyboys back home for a bit there. I'm right there with you with Erin and Pete. Much better than any other of Erin's pairings. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2022 03:21 am Title: Spiraling

Oh my godddd is it Jim? It better be Jim!
The letter from Roy definitely is going to make things interesting now!
But oooh Danny you are not a nice man. I hope you get your comeuppance soon!

Author's Response: No Danny's not a nice guy. And yes the letter will prove most interesting to be sure. As for who's at the door? Well, I'm sure you'll find out soon.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2022 03:06 am Title: Big Week

Poor old Jim, glad he made up with his buddies.
Was a nice interaction there with Roy, I really can’t wait to see what happens with their relationship.
Amazing performance there by Dwight, shame he didn’t get the lay in too!

Author's Response: Every relationship has its moments. That was one for them. I've also enjoyed writing Jim and Roy as friends. Makes for something unique I think. Dwight is Dwight regardless of timeframe, why mess with it? Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2022 01:25 am Title: Saddle Up

Glad they got their recognition for what they did and that Pete is back!
Again, all the details here really bring it to life. I can really imagine the new planes.
Lovely touch with Pam and Penny getting to see their men on the big screen.
And love the new name of the plane!

Author's Response: I found it really humbling when I did the research for those medals. I read a bunch of actual citations and the bravery of those men was amazing. It was a lot of fun to be able to add a "Jim look to camera" here too. Glad you like the plane's new name as well.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 02:20 pm Title: Thoughts of the Future

Good on Pam for holding her own with Danny!
I like the nod to canon in Jim’s letter about pining away for her.
Loved the morse code, it took me a while to figure this one out and I went a little cross eyed but I got there!

Author's Response: Pam's got some Fancy New Beesly fire going here for sure. As much fun as I'm having with this being historical AU, it's important to remember it's still an Office fanfic, thus adding things from canon when and where I can. Glad you like how I'm doing that. Hopefully you were able to uncross your eyes after figuring out the code.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 02:03 pm Title: October Rain

Noooooo!!! Danny!!! Oof can’t wait to see how this plays out now he’s the boss!
Nice references to the office olympics, this is Pam and Pam’s terrace

Author's Response: Danny's another character I tend to not like from the show. Thus I do not feel bad about having the ladies slap him or anything. I like that image Pam has for Home a lot too.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 12:58 pm Title: Black Thursday

Poor Jim, you can really feel the anguish that he’s going through, you’ve done a really good job of capturing that. And likewise when he’s in charge, you’ve made him sound so authoritative.
Great callback with Ryan and the closet there.
And Dwight getting the role he always wanted. Again, nice callback there. If only he had a karate belt tied around his uniform in their thoughts.

Author's Response: This was a low point in the war for the 8th Air Force for sure. Especially the fighter pilots who wanted to do more, but couldn't. Regardless of those feelings, this Jim knows it's important to remain focused in combat and on the ground. Glad you liked that part. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 12:17 pm Title: Summer's End

The morse code was fun to figure out and a nice nod to their prank too.
Eshk! Jim is telling Pam about Roy!
Michael and the ship analogy was very funny.
Ah Helene, it shouldn’t be a choice, you should want your daughter to be happy!

Author's Response: Jim would have learned Morse code during flight school so I don't think it's a reach to have Pam learn it too. Yes, telling her, but not by name mind you. Yes, Helene should be happy, but she's got issues for sure.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 11:34 am Title: Songs from Home

This chapter was a lot of fun, but definitely the highlight was Dwight and Gareth trying to out rank each other. Nice surprise Tom turning up!

Author's Response: Thank you. This is always a favorite chapter. It's a shame we never got to see Dwight and Gareth go head-to-head in canon. It would have been great.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 08:28 am Title: Fortress Defense

Forgot to say, how great the bar was called with the girls and now the boys have The Bullpen. Love it.
I’m so glad Ryan had got him comeuppance. Good riddance.
Very happy Andy is here now, and Tim!! Great work

Author's Response: More fun ways to bring in stuff from the show for sure. The boys are in the UK, how could I not bring in the UK Office cast? 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 08:06 am Title: Who's On First

So glad Holly has made an appearance now, and Kelly too.
Nice baseball code in the letters, worked very well!
I laughed out loud imagining Michael trying to do his own baseball signs, very funny

Author's Response: Michael is always a treat to write. Challenging at times, but fun. Glad you liked all the other details.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 07:47 am Title: Into the Fire

Very nail biting chapter there! Very glad everyone is ok, but worried for what could come next. I guess that’s war though!
Nice stress relief bit in there!
Can’t wait to delve more into the Roy/Jim dynamic

Author's Response: That first mission was rough to be sure. The Roy and Jim dynamic was one I wanted to explore. How would they get on if Pam wasn't between them? I think they might have been friends, so that's where that came from.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 06:46 am Title: Pitches and Pictures

Was very happy to see all the ALOTO references in this chapter.
Eugh Cathy, nice sentiment using Michael’s phrase for her though!
I was so shocked about Roy coming back into the last chapter I forgot about Tennesse Monkey! Love it

Author's Response: Always great fun to put in things from the movie and twisting lines from the show around. Nice that you picked up on Tennesee Monkey.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 01:27 am Title: Pointblank

Omgggg didn’t see that coming!! And Roy thinks Pam is still his girl?! Oh no!

Author's Response: I'd been waiting for you to get to this part. Just remember, Jim and Roy have never met before, so there's that too.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2022 01:05 am Title: Family History

Again learning something totally new here! It’s great!
Really interesting to find our Helene’s backstory here. I hope it doesn’t send Pam off down an old path or anything. Keep your new spark woman!!

Author's Response: Glad I could educate when it comes to one of my favorite drinks. Cheers! Yeah, I figured I would need to explain why Helene is the way she is.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2022 03:22 pm Title: A New Diamond

Love love loved this. The proposal was so good, love how you worked the casino night dialogue and the proposal together, worked so well.
And there’s me wondering where Michael has been for this story. Well of course he’s Jimmy Dugan, it’s PERFECT!

Author's Response: There's also a bit from Paper Airplanes in there with the stuff from Casino Night and Weight Loss. The part where they touch foreheads together and say "I love you," at the same time.

Yup, there's Michael in all his glory. No where anywhere near any kind of weaponry. I mean could you imagine? 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2022 02:45 pm Title: Paperhawk

Love a bit of Ryan bashing, nice work. Excited for Pam to get to try outs!

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm not a fan of Ryan so I have no compunctions about bashing him.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2022 02:18 pm Title: New Directions

Oh. My. God. A League of Their Own!!!! I did not see this coming and I could not love this story anymore right now. I am SO excited for the next chapter!!! One thousand jellybeans to you.

Author's Response: A got a big grin when I read this review. We'll have a lot of fun with baseball going forward. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2022 01:50 pm Title: Starlight

Loved the way you worked the Shrute Farm reviews into the titles here, lots of fun. Love that Jim surprised Pam here, the place sounds wonderful. Nice Princess Bride reference there too!

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite chapters for sure. A nice JAM-my get away. Of course they brainstorm about Schrute Farms so that was fun too.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans