Reviews For Silver Wings
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 21, 2020 07:27 pm Title: The First Letter

Just finished another great chapter. I really loved the letter. The canvas bit was just artful (no pun intended- well maybe it was). You really are doing your homework too. As a NYer who used to commute in for work before moving to the city I know that Lirr goes into Penn station and not Grand Central. (It was a pretty frustrating thing when I lived on Long Island and worked across from Grand Central).

I will say I was kind of taken aback by Helene but I was thinking it may have had something to do with the era. I am glad you explained in your chapter notes.

I'm very excited for Pam to head back to city. I miss my city so much (moved from there 8 years ago) and I imagine between tour research and descriptive imagery I'll get to visit in my mind even if a different time.

Author's Response:

I honestly don't remember if I researched that bit about the LIRR and Penn vs Grand Central Station. Still I'm glad I could add another bit of realism, especially for a NYer. I do remember researching train routes from NYC to Scranton though. I also had to go back and re-read this chapter to remember everything you were talking about. Not that I mind really.

It's been a lot of fun exploring this dynamic with Pam and Helene. It's been a challenge to be sure.

And yes back to New York for Pam. Thanks for the review as always. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: October 19, 2020 07:26 pm Title: Coney Island

A www what a sweet chapter but I especially liked the chapter end notes. It so touching when real life is seen into the fics.

Like how the hot sauce and pencil find their way in. Just a real nice snapshot of a great day at Coney Island. And the first kiss.

Author's Response: Thanks Maxine. I had a lot of fun with this chapter. Figured Jim and Pam could use a great weekend together to start out their relationship in this world. Glad you liked it. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2020 02:40 pm Title: Night on the Town

Ok Warrior I am loving this story - for lots of reasons...lets go bit by bit...

I grew up very close to Mitchell Field. I don't even know the history of it so you did your research - and all the references - you are military or ex-military? Of really good at delving into research for your story?

Enjoy this moment,” he whispered. “Because you’re never going to go back to a time before you met our squad-mate Dwight.” How you brought all the little references and pranks into the story her - just delightful.

I can See Pam being affected by the newsreels - (sidenote to you if you can you might enjoy the Plot Against America -HBO miniseries based on Norman Roth book - 1st few episodes slower but gets good at end).

Swing dancing - such a nice scene him teaching her to dance and I can just hear the big bands playing. Plus the line - Because the lady is always right, that’s why.

I'm sure there's something I'm forgetting so just know it was all great.

Can't wait to go to the beach.

So glad I finally decided to dive into this one.

I will have to add the rest of my jellybeans later now that I know I only have 5 to dole out.

PS - wow I thought for sure you had made the elevator out a nod to BBT with the name and all - serendipitous coincidence I guess.

Author's Response:

Glad you're liking things thus far. That's fun about Mitchell Field. I just got my info about it off Wikipediea. It was a WWII military base near NYC so it fit for the story I had planned. I'm not military or ex-military. However aviation and military history have long been hobbies of mine so it's fun to indulge them a bit with this story.

As AU as this story is, I feel it's important to keep it grounded to the characters, lines, and situations from The Office. I'm sure you'll catch more things like that as we go on. I'll have to look into that miniseries.

The swing dancing was fun. Especially because back when I was in paramedic school, after class I'd meet my girlfriend (now wife) and we'd go swing dancing. Those were some of the cues they used to teach us.

Can't wait to hear what you think of the trip to Coney Island. Thanks again. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2020 09:18 pm Title: New York, New Start

I got Pam. Ok now I'm hooked. It may take less time than I thought to catch up.

OK - thoughts.

First off, I used to commute through and work across from Grand Central and I loved your description of the constellation ceiling. Oh you brought me back - thanks for that memory. I tried to picture it in the 40's but in reality it always had a old feel to it - never really got modernized so it felt the same to me.

So is the elevator being out a nod to Big Bang Theory?-with Penny being sister's name why not take advantage of opportunity to slip that in. I'm pretty sure that's what you were doing here. Love it!

I like the explanation of how things went bad with Roy - such a classic tale of peaking too soon or finding it hard to adjust when you leave the little world where you rule to be just another person in the real one. Plus, since they were never really all that compatible, it just took her seeing him in the real world to figure it out.

So I like how Pam is somewhat nave and not-worldly - got another flashback to my NY days as they head to a NY bar - made me think of a bar on NY side by Staten Island Ferry (can't recall the name), but the scene is the same no matter where it was meant to be. I at first expected it was going to be Kevin - but worked so much better as Todd Packer. Who's got 2 thumbs and is going to pants Todd Pack -This Guy. Hooray for Jim, the Hero.

Looking forward to reading more, Glad it's a weekend. Got some writing to do but on my breaks I'll be deep diving into more Silver Wings. Oh BTW, if you can't tell what i think - great job so far.

Author's Response:

I don't think it was intentional for me to have a parallel with the broken elevator and The Big Bang Theory here. I think at one point I was thinking I'd have the elevator be broken in order to have a little hidey hole sneak off place for Jim and Pam. Though when you put it like that I can see the parallels.

Glad the New York scenes are ringing true to someone who used to live in the area. I've only visited NYC a couple times in my life and have never been through Grand Central. Seen a few documentaries on it over the years though. I kinda liked being able to split Roy and Pam right away. My thought was that since Pam is still living at home, she'd have a better sense of perspective about Roy and come to that conclusion a little earlier.

It's always fun to have Packer get what's coming to him. And even better as a way to introduce Jim to the story.

Thank you for your own in depth reviews for this one. I love reading your thoughts on it all. I'm very glad you're liking it so far. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2020 08:32 pm Title: Prologue

It was time for me to jump in on this one. ive got a lot of catching up to do but if you can find time to read and review all you do in between saving people's lives and delivering your own child then I can commit to a chapter a night and maybe caught up by the time we know who will be president.

Ok first impression, well written and would expect nothing less from you. I'm picturing Top Gun, mixed with Call of Duty (yes I picked up on the Stamford call name and of course Jim is Jester) mixed with A French Village as I read.

Pam on the cockpit dash. I would have like more of her but I know it's the set up and leave them wanting more applies here. So much that I'm on to the next chapter already.

Author's Response: Glad to have you hear. Honestly I didn't even remember Jester from Top Gun for that one. It was more along the lines of Jim is a prankster, thus a Jester and it sounds good. Also the Cooper call sign is a shout out one of the restaurants in Scranton the characters sometimes mentioned.

Glad the set up chapter worked well for you. I remember having a lot of fun writing those chapters so I'm glad you enjoyed them too. 

Reviewer: One_Small_Writer Signed [Report This]
Date: October 13, 2020 04:15 am Title: Songs from Home

Ahhh the inclusion of Waltzing Matilda... I love it!! Such an iconic Australian song

Author's Response:

Author's Response: Thank you. I had been planning on using that song for a long time. Thanks for reading and the comment. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: October 09, 2020 10:08 pm Title: October Rain

Man, screw Danny Cordray. Never liked that guy.

I do like the mix of epistolary and narrative here, and I hope for Pam's sake the new major is as willing to ignore her going forward as Danny was in the show. Obviously by now I'm out of jellybeans, but I also really liked the moments with the three women just hanging out; I like the way you've brought Penny into her own in this fic.

Author's Response: Always glad to hear your thoughts Comfect. Yeah Danny's not great here, though there is a reason for it. Glad you like the letters. They're a lot of fun to create. Penny has also been fun to explore too. 

Reviewer: MCapps Signed [Report This]
Date: October 09, 2020 10:15 am Title: October Rain

My eyebrows literally raised when I read the last line! I wasn’t expecting that at all. Definitely very interested to see how that works out!

Their list of things to do when Jim gets back looks an awful lot like a list of one shots that could be written once this is finished 😉 Just sayin. Haha!

As always, enjoyed this update! Glad things have settled down some for you! I know the adjustment from one kid to two was rough for me for a bit but it definitely gets easier. Congratulations on the new baby and I hope everyone is doing well!

Author's Response:

Glad I can still keep people on their toes with this one. I'm really liking the List of Things to do When Jim Gets Back as well. I've had some ideas for that, but I'm always on the lookout for new material, so thank you.

We're getting used to new routines is all, but we're hanging in there. Thank you for your review and thoughts. Always lovely to hear from you. 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 09:30 pm Title: October Rain

Not sure how to write a review after reading almost 140,000 words. 😂 But I loved reading it and felt SO transported! And your sprinklings of lines from the show is just wonderful.

My next reviews will be more specific, obviously. But great job!!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it WW. It's been a fun project to work on, so I'm very glad to hear this story resonates with people. Glad to have you on board as we go forward.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 04:15 am Title: October Rain

Oooh. Danny Corday. That’s a bit of an entrance. I can 100% get behind him and Karen as a thing.

Ugh. There goes that idea. It’s nice of the bartender to support Pam like that!

Captain Jim! Well, that’s no surprise given his track record.
Of course he’s still finding a way to prank Dwight - personalized stationary seems right up his alley, even in this world.

“house with a terrace” That’s a sweet touch!

Oh boy... That’s an ending!

Author's Response:

I alway love reading your reviews Jenna. Especially the review as you read format because it's like watching you react to everything. I was thinking of a Danny/Karnen thing, but with what I've got planned, this seemed a better course to take. Not that I like cads like that mind you. It's the 1940's, sadly misogony was tolerated a lot more back then. Not by everyone though.

After some hard moments I wanted to make sure we added some nice stuff too, thus Jim's latest promotion, pranks, and dreams of the future.

I was debating on continuing, but felt the cliffhanger was just to good a place to leave off. 

Thanks as always for your review. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: October 05, 2020 03:53 pm Title: October Rain

I was wondering if Danny was going to show up. This was... not how I anticipated it happening. Poor Pam - reporting to the guy that groped you is a hell of a comedown from being a star pitcher. Although it's not like Craig from Albany would've been a better pick.

It's nice to see they've won themselves some fans, though. (I kinda like the idea that somewhere in Brooklyn there's an old-fashioned bar hanging an aged, signed picture of Pam and Penny up on the wall to this day.)

Not going to lie - every time I see the list of things to do when Jim gets home grow I get more and more nervous. Maybe I've seen too many movies.

Anyway, this was another solid chapter, and I'm glad you were able to find the time to update with all the other excitement going on in your life right now!

Author's Response: Yeah, it's the 1940's. Sad to say that creeps seemed to a have a lot more leeway to behave like that. Good thing there's still good guys out there too. I like that idea of the faded and signed picture of Pam and Penny. May have to use that later. Thanks for the comment darjeeling.

Reviewer: Makeda526 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 05, 2020 01:17 pm Title: Black Thursday

So happy for the update. Couldn’t imagine hating Danny this much. Can’t wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks Makeda. Yeah, this Danny's not the best. Stay with me though. It'll be an interesting ride for sure.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 05, 2020 12:30 pm Title: October Rain

I loved the letters as always, they're some of the highlights for Mr in this story.

Danny as a creep definitely checks out, glad Pam got out of that situation alright. Him turning up as the new logistics boss... Less fortunate. Definitely looking forward with interest into how that all plays out.

Great job as always, an all-round excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks DG. The letters are fun since it's their only way to banter with each other right now. The Danny thing is something I've been planning for a while. Glad to have you hear for it.

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:16 pm Title: Black Thursday

Fantastic chapter as always--you make history come alive, and somehow deftly manage to weave in parallels to the Office we know and love. It's always a treat to read your story.

Author's Response: Thank you oncelet. It's a fun challenge to get all that in there so I'm glad you're enjoying it. Always lovely to hear from you.

Reviewer: late2theprty Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2020 04:33 pm Title: Black Thursday

Just amazing the amount of research that you have put into this story. Please do not apologize for any time miscues that may arise.
As has been said before the incorporation of The English Office and our heros is amazing. Wondering if we are going to see if Dawn is going to be Davids secretary or show up in the RAF administration? Wondering minds and all.
So many nuggets of story line you have made. As always thank you for this wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you. It's been a lot of fun delving into history to help shape this story. That's an interesting idea with Dawn. I'm not as familiar with the UK Office plotlines, but I'll do some investigating. See what we come up with. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 07:17 pm Title: Black Thursday

Some nice classic bits of levity with Andy's wall punch and Ryan's new office in an otherwise pretty dark and intense chapter. Roy and Jim seem to be crawling towards an inevitable reveal that they're in love with the same woman, and Dwight gets a promotion, but in the worst way imaginable.


You know with a checkovs gun hidden in there like that, you might just have a guy hoping that Jim and Pam might end up on the same continent with the secretary comment.

This was a really long chapter indeed, but k still look forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks DG. Even though this is set as AU as it is, I still want to try and pull in as much from canon as I can. Glad that all worked out for you. Sorry to get your hopes up about Pam getting out to England. I've already done her appearing out of nowhere behind a secretary desk once in this fic, to do it again might be a bit much.

Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 07:32 pm Title: Black Thursday

Extremely powerful.

Ugh. Ryan. It's amazing, there's so many different universes you can imagine these characters in, but not one in which Ryan is not a manure pile of a person.

Author's Response: Yeah, that was one of the lowest points of the war for the 8th Air Force. I'm glad it resonated with you. Also yeah, Ryan exactly that. Thus into the closet he goes.

Thank you so much for all the reviews you've left. I'm really glad you're enjoying this story so much. Hope to hear more from you going forward.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 07:11 pm Title: Songs from Home

Okay, that was amazing, and it is now officially a shame that Dwight and Gareth never met. And I thought that might be a JennaBennett shoutout in the works!

Author's Response: Thank you. That chapter was months in the work. Trying to find the right songs and tone through it all. Glad you like it so much.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 07:03 pm Title: Fortress Defense

The action sequences are coming together really well.

Also - Tim Canterbury????? ::bows::

Author's Response: Glad you like the dogfights. I'm really trying to make sure it's clear what's going on in those scenes.

They're in the UK, how could I not add in the UK Office cast? Just to good an opportunity not to miss.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 04:06 pm Title: Pointblank

A) Again, the research reflected in here is impressive.

B) The detail about Jim finding the traces of the last pilot's blood is really strong - and chilling.

C) I'm *very* happy you've managed to hook up Dwight and Angela.

D) THE TWIST AT THE END. DAMN.

Author's Response:

A) Thank you. Glad the hard work pays off for you.

B) War is hell. Not much to say past that.

C) Of course Dwight and Angela are a thing. That's just to good not to pass up.

D) Yeah, that's one of those fun things that I'm having a lot of fun with.

Thanks. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 03:55 pm Title: A New Diamond

You're doing a really good job with remixing show canon into this story - the mash-up of Casino Night and the proposal here was adorable.

Also, this is a very strong Michael - a good balance of his more obnoxious tendencies and the heart underneath it all.

Author's Response: There's also a bit from "Paper Airplanes" in there. Where they lean forward, forehead to forehead and say "I love you" at the same time. Glad you liked Michael too. He can be a challenge to write.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 03:39 pm Title: New Directions

Not a twist I saw coming, and a pretty fun one - you run into a lot of wartime AUs where the one left at home ends up not having much to do but sit around and worry. Should be a lot more interesting. Plus more Larissa is always a plus in my mind.

Also, have to take a moment to praise the research here - the details are really working for me.

Author's Response: Yeah the whole baseball thing was the origianl idea for the whole story. Glad you liked it. Also thank you for the comment about the details. That's probably why it takes me so long between updates. Looking into everything to get the details as accurate as possible.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 03:14 pm Title: Dying Coals

Not how I expected to see the Booze Cruise be incorporated! Clever.

Author's Response: It's been fun taking lines from canon but using them in new ways.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 03:08 pm Title: Black Thursday

Jumping right into the realities of war with Jim here. It’s really lovely that Pam’s letters are what he goes to to settle his mind - even if it’s not always enough.

I’m a little bit sad that it feels like Roy and Jim’s camaraderie (or friendship even) is doomed. I quite like their interactions when they’re getting on (& not realizing that Pam is between them in this universe too).

Well, that was unexpected with Andy! I mean, kind of expected, because Andy, but still a surprise. It’s definitely come from very different circumstances here. Oh Andy.

Griff is lovely. He’s kind of how I picture Mark would have supported Jim post Casino Night. I love a good friendship.

Oh no. Not Ryan. Anyone but Ryan. This is the real downside to Andy losing his cool.

Ugh. We’re diving back into the thick of battle and it scares me a little every time.
No. No, no, no. Not Pete. Oof. I’m glad he lands. But that whole scene was heavy.

I’m still weirdly in to this Roy and Jim friendship. Their interaction after the landing was nice.
Jim and Griff are the real deal though. Talk about a solid friendship. We have this whole mateship thing as a massive value in our society here, especially around war. I see that here with Jim and Griff.

Interesting to see the supply/broom closest out to use in this world. I definitely wasn’t expecting that. You’re really bringing in some elements from canon - it’s pretty cool to see especially given how vastly different this world is.

Oh Dwight. I like that he’s subdued and not jumping on the table. It’s very appropriate. Dwight can be an idiot, but not an ass. You capture that nicely here.
A truly epic chapter!

Author's Response:

Yeah I brought a lot of canon elements into this chapter. I'm really glad you picked up on them. The Jim and Roy friendship here is really something I've enjoyed leaning into. I know it's making for drama but at the same time, it's fun to see them act friendly rather than rivals.

Andy's Andy regardless of time period. Full of piss and vinegar. Kind of fun to bring in that element. Which of course leads us into the return of Ryan to Blue Flight. Likewise Ryan is still all talk and now show. This time around with the stakes being war rather than selling paper, there's less tolerance for that kind of thing. Which made it fun to bring in the closet scene.

I was debating on what to do with Pete. Have him shot down or able to come back to base. This is war we're talking about. Not everyone's going to get through unharmed.

I really like the Jim and Griff friendship too. I've got a couple guys like that in my life. Buddies who though aren't related to me are as close as brothers. Also it adds another element. Ryan goes alone and fails. Jim lets his friends support him and is able to stand up to the pressure.

Thanks for the words about Dwight as well.

Thank you so much for the epic review.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 02:23 pm Title: The First Letter

This is an interesting and unusual take on the Pam-Helene relationship - and one that actually adds a bit of context to Pam staying with Roy.

Author's Response: I didn't plan on the Helene-Pam conflict at first when I started this story. It just came organically. Glad the twist worked for you.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans