Reviews For How Not To
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: DenizPotterkafa Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2020 11:25 am Title: Chapter 14

Please add a new chapter soon or I might need liquor as well

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 01:13 pm Title: Chapter 14

Lovely chapter. The innocence and sweetness of their nerves and the way they awkwardly get all close is one of my favorite things I’ve read lately. How are you so good? Did you make a deal with the devil? Tell the truth!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 12:34 pm Title: Chapter 13

periwinkle crayon, nice

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 08:34 am Title: Chapter 14

Another great chapter in this story. The sparks between Jim and Pam here are delicious to read. This all read like a good fun time with people who truly do care.

Another great way to show Pam growing and healing was to tell Karen and Pam her story. She's finding more and more people who are in her corner and it's a lovely thing to witness. As much as I would love for Pam and Jim to really get together, the slow steady way you've got them here is probably for the best.

A healing heart is different than a healed heart. After the all the trauma they've gone through, as much as they may want to rush, yes I do see that taking it slow is the right way to do things.

All that being said, I did really like this chapter. Even with the few touches from the show sprinkled in as well. "I wish you would," being the standout of course.

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 05:53 am Title: Chapter 14

What's funny is that I just watched Something Borrowed for the first time last night!

Every second of this smacked my soul with vibrant feelings: that awkwardness of "liking" someone and the first time you surreptitiously touch each other in public, sleepovers with girl friends, feeling safe among new friends.

Your talent shines in this chapter.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 05:46 am Title: Chapter 14

There’s so much to love about this chapter. The Lost references (I’m in the middle of my own rewatch), the green nail polish, everything. Also, Karen/Larisa/Pam/Jim sleepovers are a new favorite thing, and THAT’S a sentence I never thought I’d write.

Reviewer: dwigt Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 04:46 am Title: Chapter 14

Love this story. Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 04:00 am Title: Chapter 14

The sexual tension... Karen pulling Pam’s hair to nudge her away from staring at Jim... SO. GOOD.

“I watched the pink bleed into my own cheeks at the same moment that my reflection was accompanied by shaggy brown hair and squinty eyes and a smile that had me catching my breath, our eyes meeting in the mirror.” Did I mention the sexual tension?! Damn.

Larisa and Jim’s sibling dynamic is gorgeous. They’re so very cute.

Ooof. Pam and Jim on the floor?! Him gripping her closer in his sleep?! Please. I can’t deal with this perfection.

“Oh, sweetie. Anyone with eyes can see that.” This is a good interrogation. This is a version of Karen that I am here for.

I loved everything about this chapter.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 01:04 am Title: Chapter 14

Oh my, I love this chapter so much! My inner teenager screams in delight, because this sleepover was just... perfect. Perhaps, my favorite moments are the scene with braids and mirror and spooning. Those are just too sweet to keep calm, so I don't. Thank you!
Oh, and I googled all of the nail polish colors. Jim definitely has a good taste :)

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 24, 2020 10:30 pm Title: Chapter 14

Jim refusing to watch Something Borrowed made me laugh. I freaking love this story, its so, so good. Them on the floor together and then falling asleep together ugh I think I have heart problems now. Adorable.

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2020 09:22 am Title: Chapter 1

Ooookay so, did I shamelessly just spend an hour binge reading this, sitting at my desk with my essay question staring back at me? Yes. Absolutely. And I’m so glad I did.
Now I made a note of my favourite moments, and there were A LOT of them, so, I hope I can squeeze them all in.

‘Someone was telling a goddamn joke. In the middle of an AA meeting’
‘AA Jim was sitting on top like a throne, and he wouldn’t go away’ truly one of my favourite lines, one because I love Pam calling him ‘AA Jim’ and two, just, what an excellent way to put it, because Pam just couldn’t get rid of him.
‘I did the this counts as a smile thing back’ No words for this, just pure genius. It shows the pain they’re going through and the want to push through it. *chefs kiss*
I have Jim and Larisa in capital letters with !!! next to it and underlined. I will say no more.
I loved the detail of them having a usual at the Diner, the weekly burgers were just enough for the two of them.
‘You? Tall gangly Gumby man? Played basketball? No. Not a chance in hell.’ when I tell you I laughed, I LAUGHED.
Pam handing Jim her phone, having written ‘Gumby Halpert’ as the contact, it made my little Jam heart race.
‘I needed an anchor, and she was it’ the way this ages throughout the story, being reminded that Pam shouldn’t be his ‘bottle’, but she was his anchor, and you showed that healthy development so well.
Pam and Jim opening up was so heartbreaking, the way they both cried at each other’s stories proved how well they got each other, how well they wanted to understand each other.
‘Boats, Boats, Boats!’ I see that HIMYM reference
Both of them being ready for new beginnings made me ready for tears.
And finally, the ‘swaying isn’t dancing’ line being delivered by Karen was just pure perfection, not that I enjoyed hearing it, but that it would definitely be something for rational Karen to say. Another *chefs kiss*

So yes, I’m extremely glad I read this, and extremely glad I spent the last 10 minutes typing this review out. Now, I have to go do some work, but I won’t stop thinking about all the magic moments I’ve read!

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2020 08:48 am Title: Chapter 13

This was not the update I was expecting but I will take it with zero complaints. I loveeee this story. Jim pranking Dwight just to make Pam smile gets me every time.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 11:39 pm Title: Chapter 13

Wow. You really know how to end a chapter, huh...

It’s so nice to see an update on this. I love these broken messes so damn much. Having Pam slot in so well in Jim’s world, with Larisa and Karen, just as Jim has slotted so well into Dunder Mifflin is a balm to my heart.

The prank on Dwight was just lovely. “Periwinkle crayon,” I see you, AG, I see you.

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 09:18 pm Title: Chapter 13

Awwwwww I love seeing him have such a crush and how obvious it is to Karen and Larissa. I was kinda wondering what her proposal was so letting that be the end of that chapter was perfect. So glad to see a new chapter.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 07:52 pm Title: Chapter 13

I’m so glad you updated!!! I love this story. An no! Jim can’t move to Stamford in this universe.

Author's Response: Thank you! We'll see what Jim does with the Stamford information. Always gotta leave doors open... ;)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 07:32 pm Title: Chapter 13

That last paragraph!!! This is story is equal parts funny and sweet. I'm glad you updated it!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, the last paragraph was one of my favorite parts :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 07:16 pm Title: Chapter 13

What happened to Pamcasso and Gumby for their names on their cells? I liked that detail, it was fun. As always it's your story to write but that was a little favorite part of mine.

So lots of things going on here. I get why Larisa is being so protective of him. It makes complete sense of course. However I'm with Jim here. I feel that Larisa can lighten up a touch. Granted he's still got a long way to go when it comes to his whole journey, but he's right. He's making progress.

Lots of fun to see the start of prankster Jim here. He's falling hard for Pam and its fun to see.

Thanks for the update on this one.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, Warrior!

It was fun, but at the same time, Jim made a note in a previous chapter about liking the roll of her last name. I can see him changing her name in his phone. And, since this was Jim's chapter, we don't know what his name is in Pam's phone, hence why it said "Jim," because you're seeing Jim's perspective. I only threw his name in there so that readers could keep up with who was texting. It was a fun detail, but now it's time for a new one.

While I agree that Jim is making progress, think about the time frame. Getting a new job is one small step. Completely living alone would drown him faster than he would be able to swim. Was Larisa harsh? Yes. I intended it that way. She's been through this journey with him every step of the way, and she doesn't want to see him get hurt, because he has fallen so many times in the past already. She wants him to make small mistakes first--walk before he runs. Which is why I had her tell him that moving out soon would not be the best idea. He has a few more steps before he gets there. I appreciate your input though! 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 10:59 am Title: Chapter 12

Agian!! You keep doing it! The teapot. The date and "swaying's not dancing" comment (oh my god, can we talk about your brilliance of spinning that into a still-painful jab but now delivered by Karen?!) It's all so good.

I love seeing how you are healing both of him. Jim's little moment on the bench about wanting something normal was sooooo good.

This little gem is yet another great moment when you keep us 100% in This World while keeping the characterization spot on:
"Not because I probably shouldn’t still be holding her hand but I wanted to keep contact with her somehow. Absolutely not because I wanted the few people in this store to assume that she was taken, that we were a package. Not at all because when she made those goofy noises and they vibrated through my body where we connected, the tingling made me feel alive."

Okay, I'm going to fall down an Imagine Dragons hole now, thanks.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 10:19 am Title: Chapter 11

I ACKNOWLEDGE that I underestimated Agian's ability to make me Feel Feelings about basketball.

I APPRECIATE that this chapter beautifully turned into something deep and meaningful about Pam's growth.

Things I Can't Control:
The Overwhelming agreement I have with Pam appreciating Jim's forearms.

Things I Can Control:
How often I bug Agian for updates to this and how quickly I read and review said updates.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 10:14 am Title: Chapter 10

I'm blown away by the way you creatively circled us back to Dunder Mifflin while keeping the tone of the show. So well-done while maintaining the AU path.

That interview? Written PERFECTLY. This Jim's inner conflict was so heartbreaking but you somehow gave us Canon Jim who knows how to navigate Michael. How do you DO that?!?!

Jim is in SO much trouble. :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2020 04:07 pm Title: Chapter 12

Okay, but here’s the thing: you take something boring like car shopping and write about it and somehow it’s brilliantly interesting. That is a skill!
Of course he went back for the teapot. It’s fine. I’m fine. The whole swaying isn’t dancing exchange with Karen? Amazing. I love how you take a conversation and change the people who are having it and still make it fit.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 03, 2020 06:36 am Title: Chapter 12

I really love that you’re not just throwing them together without having them work through their stuff first. That’s the mark of a good writer, I think, because it’s definitely not easy to do. But girl you know you’re good and you know this story is, too! Looking forward to the next update.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2020 09:13 pm Title: Chapter 12

What a fun chapter!! I hope we get to read Pam’s thoughts in the next chapter. Love how you incorporated the tea pot and the first non-date.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2020 08:51 pm Title: Chapter 12

What a perfect date for these two at this point. I love the wiffle ball. I actually have no idea what that is but I think you took it from the podcast and that's awesome.

Reviewer: Guten Schriftsteller Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2020 08:25 pm Title: Chapter 1

I have never been so happy to have a story continued. I love your authorial voice the power with which your story comes to life in the characters. While so very painful to see Jim and Pam (My all-time favorite couple in Television) so damaged and broken, your portrayal of that is so real.

The slow build of the relationship is also so good. From a fling to friends to budding best friends the growth between the two is superb and all the more sad by everyone else warning them of each other.

As a character, Karen doesn't feel shoehorned in as some second obstacle to overcome, she feels genuinely important to the narrative. She has a nice dynamic with Jim and that friendship feels much closer to what would naturally come from the two of them. She isn't a jealous ex or a woman in love with Jim she is a good friend concerned for her friend at the lowest point of his life. I know i9 commented earlier on the advice everyone seems to have towards Jim and Pam yet it all feels real. They can't let each other become their crutch because if that crutch fails there won't be another. They need to heal and let each other be healed before they can truly love each other and be together.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans