Reviews For How Not To
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 03:34 am Title: Chapter 15

"lord help me to accept the things i cannot change, the courage to change the things i can, and the goddamn patience to not snap dwight schrutes neck, amen" I CACKLED

"directly deposited to the nearest Dunkin’ because I was making twice a day appearances to remain an approachable human being." I mean, of course?

“Hey. We’re each other’s narks, remember? If I see you slipping, I’m getting you the hell out of there. You do the same for me. Agreed?” --- this is probably my favorite thing about this story. THIS.

I was so excited you picked this story to update because I love it so much and it did not disappoint.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 12:01 pm Title: Chapter 15

This is such a great chapter. It's a mix of cuteness between the two of them, along with the challenge of them being in a bar. The part with the darts and Ryan? Well, that was perfect. I like how she's not sure she should count sleeping with Jim. This story is so good. It's real and sweet and gritty.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 01:36 am Title: Chapter 15

The prank sequence in this is just great – aligned with canon and also a natural outgrowth of their desire to explore their connection and distract themselves from the drive to drink. (Plus, that prank is clever, and very much on the natural Jim and Pam level. Even though Pam is just objectively wrong about Ghost Rider over National Treasure.)

It’s funny, but this sort of normal Jim-longing has become a sign of growth here. She’s still a lifeline, but she’s also just someone whose hand he wants to hold again. Same thing with a burgeoning friendship with Kevin. He’s starting to get steady on his own feet again.

The multi-sense assault on their sobriety at Poor Richard’s is very well described – I loved the blind leading the blind through a minefield line. I’m proud of them for getting through it.

I was wondering if the Ryan sexual encounter was going to come back up! (is he the one who was second on her hit list?) (also, TWSS)

I love the way you’re sneaking in little tidbits from canon here. Strong close to the chapter!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 09:40 pm Title: Chapter 15

AG I gasped at the end of this, honestly. I didn’t see it coming at all and I loved it.

I’m like. So proud of them! The character growth that we’ve seen throughout this story is incredible. And it stays in line with what we know from the show and just the fundamentals of how they’re written canonically. So it’s really like these two friends that I know and love that do this hard thing and are doing a great job!

Loved the IMs. LOVED the prank. Loved the history with Ryan and the darts and just how enamored Jim is, you wrote that SO well, but honestly that’s literally every word that you type so I’m not surprised.

Ugh. Perfection.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 09:04 pm Title: Chapter 15

Reading this in the middle of the night for the first time because I couldn’t sleep and RAN OUT OF CHAPTERS! Noooooooo! This is so good. What a journey we are on with these two.

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 09:02 pm Title: Chapter 15

So glad to see this story pop up! I love this version of JAM.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 08:15 pm Title: Chapter 15

I’m so glad this story is back!!! Awesome chapter, love reading how Pam is regaining her confidence

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 08:15 pm Title: Chapter 15

I’m so glad this story is back!!! Awesome chapter, love reading how Pam is regaining her confidence

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 08:06 pm Title: Chapter 9

Oh, my God. This wrecked me. It absolutely wrecked me.

To be honest, I’ve never really understood alcoholics, you know? I kinda just assumed that they drank to forget, but this opened my eyes. A lot. It just wrecked me. This one was hard to get through, but your writing is amazing. Brought tears to my eyes.

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 07:43 pm Title: Chapter 6

Just... wow. This one hurt. A lot. I’ve read fics about Pam being sexually assaulted, but not like this. This one was so real. It was so powerful. Honestly... I’m speechless.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 06:01 pm Title: Chapter 15

I do not like the Ryan part. But other than that, this was fantastic. I dropped everything and came to read this. Pam's comments while beating Ryan in darts were hilarious. And I love that they pranked Dwight together with Nicolas Cage. We now need more of a-hole Jim and then more of this ASAP as possible, please.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 06:00 pm Title: Chapter 15

This very much feels like a victory for both Jim and Pam. They're finding that leaning into each other is doing a lot to keep the demons at bay, and that they're stronger now than ever before.

Ryan being a total prick about everything fits well here. Great job for Pam to just shut him down like that. At the start of this fic I feel like she would never have had the courage or wit to do and say those things. Now however she just blasts him and it's great to see.

Likewise the growing bond between Jim and Pam is wonderful.

Both National Treasure movies are classics. Anyone who thinks otherwise is un-American.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2020 04:27 pm Title: Chapter 14

I love Something Borrowed as much as the next guy, but I will say this: the casting of John Krasinski as the third male lead, a guy with an unrequited crush on his best friend, is SUPER distracting given that they never actually made the film version of Something Blue.

Also, I am desperate to read more of this story.

Reviewer: DenizPotterkafa Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2020 11:25 am Title: Chapter 14

Please add a new chapter soon or I might need liquor as well

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 01:13 pm Title: Chapter 14

Lovely chapter. The innocence and sweetness of their nerves and the way they awkwardly get all close is one of my favorite things I’ve read lately. How are you so good? Did you make a deal with the devil? Tell the truth!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 12:34 pm Title: Chapter 13

periwinkle crayon, nice

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 08:34 am Title: Chapter 14

Another great chapter in this story. The sparks between Jim and Pam here are delicious to read. This all read like a good fun time with people who truly do care.

Another great way to show Pam growing and healing was to tell Karen and Pam her story. She's finding more and more people who are in her corner and it's a lovely thing to witness. As much as I would love for Pam and Jim to really get together, the slow steady way you've got them here is probably for the best.

A healing heart is different than a healed heart. After the all the trauma they've gone through, as much as they may want to rush, yes I do see that taking it slow is the right way to do things.

All that being said, I did really like this chapter. Even with the few touches from the show sprinkled in as well. "I wish you would," being the standout of course.

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 05:53 am Title: Chapter 14

What's funny is that I just watched Something Borrowed for the first time last night!

Every second of this smacked my soul with vibrant feelings: that awkwardness of "liking" someone and the first time you surreptitiously touch each other in public, sleepovers with girl friends, feeling safe among new friends.

Your talent shines in this chapter.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 05:46 am Title: Chapter 14

There’s so much to love about this chapter. The Lost references (I’m in the middle of my own rewatch), the green nail polish, everything. Also, Karen/Larisa/Pam/Jim sleepovers are a new favorite thing, and THAT’S a sentence I never thought I’d write.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 04:00 am Title: Chapter 14

The sexual tension... Karen pulling Pam’s hair to nudge her away from staring at Jim... SO. GOOD.

“I watched the pink bleed into my own cheeks at the same moment that my reflection was accompanied by shaggy brown hair and squinty eyes and a smile that had me catching my breath, our eyes meeting in the mirror.” Did I mention the sexual tension?! Damn.

Larisa and Jim’s sibling dynamic is gorgeous. They’re so very cute.

Ooof. Pam and Jim on the floor?! Him gripping her closer in his sleep?! Please. I can’t deal with this perfection.

“Oh, sweetie. Anyone with eyes can see that.” This is a good interrogation. This is a version of Karen that I am here for.

I loved everything about this chapter.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 01:04 am Title: Chapter 14

Oh my, I love this chapter so much! My inner teenager screams in delight, because this sleepover was just... perfect. Perhaps, my favorite moments are the scene with braids and mirror and spooning. Those are just too sweet to keep calm, so I don't. Thank you!
Oh, and I googled all of the nail polish colors. Jim definitely has a good taste :)

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 24, 2020 10:30 pm Title: Chapter 14

Jim refusing to watch Something Borrowed made me laugh. I freaking love this story, its so, so good. Them on the floor together and then falling asleep together ugh I think I have heart problems now. Adorable.

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2020 09:22 am Title: Chapter 1

Ooookay so, did I shamelessly just spend an hour binge reading this, sitting at my desk with my essay question staring back at me? Yes. Absolutely. And I’m so glad I did.
Now I made a note of my favourite moments, and there were A LOT of them, so, I hope I can squeeze them all in.

‘Someone was telling a goddamn joke. In the middle of an AA meeting’
‘AA Jim was sitting on top like a throne, and he wouldn’t go away’ truly one of my favourite lines, one because I love Pam calling him ‘AA Jim’ and two, just, what an excellent way to put it, because Pam just couldn’t get rid of him.
‘I did the this counts as a smile thing back’ No words for this, just pure genius. It shows the pain they’re going through and the want to push through it. *chefs kiss*
I have Jim and Larisa in capital letters with !!! next to it and underlined. I will say no more.
I loved the detail of them having a usual at the Diner, the weekly burgers were just enough for the two of them.
‘You? Tall gangly Gumby man? Played basketball? No. Not a chance in hell.’ when I tell you I laughed, I LAUGHED.
Pam handing Jim her phone, having written ‘Gumby Halpert’ as the contact, it made my little Jam heart race.
‘I needed an anchor, and she was it’ the way this ages throughout the story, being reminded that Pam shouldn’t be his ‘bottle’, but she was his anchor, and you showed that healthy development so well.
Pam and Jim opening up was so heartbreaking, the way they both cried at each other’s stories proved how well they got each other, how well they wanted to understand each other.
‘Boats, Boats, Boats!’ I see that HIMYM reference
Both of them being ready for new beginnings made me ready for tears.
And finally, the ‘swaying isn’t dancing’ line being delivered by Karen was just pure perfection, not that I enjoyed hearing it, but that it would definitely be something for rational Karen to say. Another *chefs kiss*

So yes, I’m extremely glad I read this, and extremely glad I spent the last 10 minutes typing this review out. Now, I have to go do some work, but I won’t stop thinking about all the magic moments I’ve read!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2020 08:48 am Title: Chapter 13

This was not the update I was expecting but I will take it with zero complaints. I loveeee this story. Jim pranking Dwight just to make Pam smile gets me every time.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 11:39 pm Title: Chapter 13

Wow. You really know how to end a chapter, huh...

It’s so nice to see an update on this. I love these broken messes so damn much. Having Pam slot in so well in Jim’s world, with Larisa and Karen, just as Jim has slotted so well into Dunder Mifflin is a balm to my heart.

The prank on Dwight was just lovely. “Periwinkle crayon,” I see you, AG, I see you.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans