Reviews For How Not To
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: enormousmonsterbaby Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2020 05:17 am Title: Chapter 1

Hands down my favorite work on this site. I may or may not check 20-30 times a day in hopes of an update. Can't wait to see where this goes.
P. S. #teamcharliekate all the way

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2020 06:42 am Title: Chapter 11

I am so enjoying the buildup of their relationship in all the significant ways: one night stand, acquaintances, friends. I love how you are reshaping canon moments and characters into this new setting; they all fit SO well. You’re just so good.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2020 04:19 pm Title: Chapter 11

Wow with the Angela storyline happening here. It’s nice to see the judgey Angela that feels so in character, but then to have that redemptive sort of moment where she leans into an apology of sorts... Damn. And to have Pam reflect on it at the end. Extra damn. What a mantra for her to have going forwards.
Side note: I’m going to need you to mail me one of these Jim Dandy/Friendly’s things that you speak of...

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2020 12:04 am Title: Chapter 11

I wish I could give this story a million jellybeans

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2020 06:53 pm Title: Chapter 11

Good! Good, good, good! I love that she gave it to Angela. I love the ice cream. But 4 bananas in one dish?? I'm not America so I don't know Friendly's but that seems excessive.

This is such a great story. So much plot and just enough angst and romance.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 08:56 pm Title: Chapter 11

Cone Head Sundae's were a staple of my childhood. Why are there none around here!!!! Still thanks for that little trip down memory lane.

I really liked this chapter. How you have both of them leaning on each other like this. I'm sure it was hugely tempting for both of them to head out to the bar, but bravo on them for staying strong. Like they said, there are going to be slip ups. However their trust in each other is growing stronger and stronger. I really like to see that.

Because of all that Pam is gaining more confidence in herself too. More wisdom as well. Her struggle to just tell off Angela, with all its back and forth in her mind, was a great insight to that. Then for Pam to finally reply with confidence and assertiveness showed her growth wonderfully. The same goes for Angela's reply. Yes Angela can be sharp, but she's also capable of growth and her sending Pam that prayer portrayed that nicely.

Lovely update as always.

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 07:26 pm Title: Chapter 11

A beautiful update... that is all :)
*happy sighs*

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 20, 2020 06:43 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is so good. Please give us more. I prioritize this over Christmas smut. :-)

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 20, 2020 04:02 am Title: Chapter 10

Okay, so I've hesitated reading this one, despite the fact that your writing is always delightful, because the subject matter hit pretty close to home with some family members. I'm so glad I finally did. It is perfectly done, both in the depths of their struggles as well as the constraints of the qualities of their characters. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 01:49 am Title: Chapter 10

“Sir is my stepdad” - when I say I laughed, oh my god, I laughed. The whole Michael interview was a pure delight. Just brilliant. I feel like this is exactly how an interview between Michael and just about anyone would go down.
Nice to have the reference to canon with Cugino’s & the first interaction with Dwight.
Who would have thought the silver lining to a global pandemic would be a long anticipated fic update...

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 09:06 pm Title: Chapter 10

I’m soooo glad you decided to continue this story! Things are looking up for these two. Hopefully there’s more fluff to come

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 07:58 pm Title: Chapter 10

Oooohhh this is so good. Their respective stories just fucked me right up. You write the hard stuff so well. I am so looking forward to binge reading everything I’ve missed, but this is so so so good!

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 07:56 am Title: Chapter 10

I honestly shouted “yaaaaaaaaaay” out loud when I got my notification that you’d updated this!
This is my favourite story on this site and I’m thrilled you chose to update it! Finally, something positive has come from the coronavirus 😂

So happy for this Jim and Pam and the huge steps they’re taking!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 07:17 am Title: Chapter 10

I sat still and didn't move away from my laptop until I finished the whole story. It's fantastic! I usually avoid sensitive themes, but your story has such a beautiful mix of angst and hope... I'm so glad you made an update!
Thank you for the great journey :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 05:13 am Title: Chapter 10

I really wish I still had some jellybeans to give to this story since this chapter, actually all the chapter so richly deserve them.

They may have been hidden, beat down, scared and frightened, but there they are. The Jim and Pam we know and love and whats more seemingly falling in love with each other. Their pasts are still a hue part of them clearly. However I love that they've found something new worth living for in each other.

So many great call backs to the show. The Cugino's date, (that was probably a real life actual date this time) the giraffe pen, Pam's line about Dwight. Wonderful chapter.

Reviewer: Guten Schriftsteller Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 14, 2020 08:52 pm Title: Chapter 10

So happy you kept this story alive been waiting for this update for months thank you!!!!

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 20, 2019 01:32 pm Title: Chapter 9

Honestly? This is one of the best pieces of writing I have ever read... not just fan fiction... in everything! You are AMAZING!
The way you describe these characters feelings is just so beautiful... like I can actually feel them too.
Thank you for putting so much effort into this story - for not shying away from how difficult a topic this is and for making me love these characters that little bit more.
Can’t wait to read the next chapter!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2019 10:47 am Title: Chapter 8

That moment in the yard. With Pete and Jim. During football. Then that clap on the shoulder. THEN Pete kissing his wife... I'm... it's just something in my eyes. That's all. I'm fine.

Okay, I do love that Karen's way over the top hashtags and Pam's near meltdown (I get it though!) over stalking Karen and Jim brought some lightness to this story.

And Penny is so wonderful in this chapter. When she told Pam not to be Jim's bottle? I stopped for a minute because that is an important note about these characters (how Penny sees Pam, the honesty there).

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2019 10:26 am Title: Chapter 7

Okay, I want this Jam happily ever after, of course, BUT... Karen said exactly what she needed to. I love that you used her in this role and the way she did it was exactly how it needed to be done. It would be easy and false to make everyone "just happy for Jim" without some level of concern. It would also be easy and false to make everyone hateful and judgmental about Jim's relationship with Pam, overly verbose in why it was a "bad idea" without any understanding. You have done neither but made it so real, so warm and genuine. I really hope we see more of Karen in this story. :)

And my heart broke in a million pieces with, "She had been my best friend first."

I can't say for sure, but I feel like you've given us so many clues about where this story is going and not just about Jim's June 10th. Man, this is so good.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2019 10:05 am Title: Chapter 6

AG, look, it really doesn't matter how many times I read through this. It is painfully perfect every single time. I mean it's a terrible and awful thing that happened to Pam, but, my god, seeing how they lean into each other in the pain is so wonderfully written. You conveyed Jim's range of emotions just perfectly.

And every time you mention the coconuts vs the lavender I just...

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2019 09:43 am Title: Chapter 5

Oh my god these text messages are SO PERFECT. (Down to the little Gumby in the contact pic.) Here's what makes this story such a delight: It is a real and true AU with these borrowed characters but you able to subtly include important bits of the show (Pam's jealousy over Karen, how she bottles up that emotion instead of just talking to Jim about it) and incorporate that into this World.
When she says that he "has a Karen" who doesn't have AA meetings under her belt I just wanted to come through the screen and hug her. This is so good and I just want more of these two as each other's support system.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2019 09:33 am Title: Chapter 4

I really, really love how this ends because I could FEEL the pain in that first portion of this chapter. Jim's pain was so good but man his indignation and his guilt and, whew! You wrote that roller coaster so well without being over the top. I loved it.

I just want to say that this line is perfection: "I thought, for a moment, that I liked the way that those two syllables seemed to roll off my tongue." I have nothing more to say about it because it tells a thousand things on its own.

Man I wish I knew what those questions were that solicited such seemingly innocent answers.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: August 28, 2019 08:41 pm Title: Chapter 9

Oh, this was just as painful as I feared/expected, but still so good. Lots of layers, and I could feel Jim's regret and despair. It feels like the two of them are clearing out the sadness and getting ready to move forward in their lives.

This was so well-done. Not over the top, just a great depiction of a sad situation.

Reviewer: jloh217 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 28, 2019 10:36 am Title: Chapter 9

This story keeps getting better and better! Love this different idea and perspective and how amazing the writing is! It squeezes my heart, and makes me want to cry when they feel pained, and I feel pride whenever they have a victory. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2019 10:56 pm Title: Chapter 9

I love that we finally get to the bottom of Jim’s backstory here! I’ve been so curious to have it detailed a little more. The vulnerability that Jim has with Pam in this chapter is gorgeous. I really want these two crazy kids to make it work, but I’m very concerned that maybe this isn’t where their story is headed in this universe...

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans