You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Kronkk Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2019 04:12 am Title: Chapter 3

Great short fic! I loved the different perspective on the season 3 drama.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 08:48 am Title: Chapter 3

Great way to end it. Wonderful little fic, nicely broken up into chapters. You go, NLM!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 08:42 am Title: Chapter 2

Very nice! I loved you including a pic, but I was hooked from the moment you made clear what she'd be painting this chapter. So great!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 08:42 am Title: Chapter 2

Very nice! I loved you including a pic, but I was hooked from the moment you made clear what she'd be painting this chapter. So great!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 08:32 am Title: Chapter 1

Love the OC. Liking seeing what Pam might be getting out of art as opposed to just having it be a character trait to check off a box. Well done.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 06:26 am Title: Chapter 3

Nice way to wrap things up. Wonderful to see Pam so full of energy and life now. Marla was a great character. Supportive but and yet as the same time not letting Pam just go through the motions. Great characterization of a teacher who really does care about their students. Thanks for posting this one. It was quick, but still had a lot of depth to it.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 06:21 am Title: Chapter 2

Great fun to include the drawing! It really added a lot to be able to see a representation of "Pam's" ;) work there. Lot of growth for Pam here. I'm glad she took the critiques seriously. It can be hard to hear seemingly negative comments, but if you don't know what's wrong, how can you fix it? Great way to show more of Pam's courage with that painting.

I also really enjoyed the process behind the piece. I've never done artwork like that, drawing and painting and such. Now that I realize it it seems silly that one would just pick up a pencil and draw, just like a write usually doesn't sit down and start to type. The reference pics being akin to the research that goes into a story. At least for me that is. So thanks for that insight to that world of art.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2019 06:12 am Title: Chapter 1

Nice start. I like that Pam has Marla here. It's always nice to see an encouraging voice for Pam, especially during the dark days of S3. A story getting deeper into Pam's developing artistic talents is also a lot of fun as well.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2019 07:28 pm Title: Chapter 3

Better luck next year, getting the wine bar, Marla!

What a sweet way to wrap this story up. I really love that Marla was able to recognize the back of Jim from the painting, and that Pam is so happy. Pam going to the show, and seeking out Marla - that definitely seems in character and I like that she's able to network a few contacts for New York as well.

Viewer interpretation, indeed.

I loved this so much, NLM! It's such a unique take on a frequently done moment in the show and it's just perfect. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2019 07:24 pm Title: Chapter 2

Pam waiting until Friday to work on a project due Monday says a lot to my procrastinating heart and it's another personality trait that you've given her in this story that I love.

NLM! I love, love, love how this drawing came to be in pieces -- starting with her drawing Jim in the office and then adding herself after. It's just so lovely, and I like that you incorporated an interpretation of the end product so we can see it.

I was nervous for Pam's classmates critiques.. is that weird? So you can imagine my relief as the scene went on and these fictional characters didn't rip her to shreds... not that I thought they would, but, well... like I said, I had concerns!

And for her to get her final grade right after the coal walk? Ugh, this is so good. You've got me grinning like a fool over here; I'm so happy for Pam right now.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2019 07:17 pm Title: Chapter 1

I really like this idea of seeing Pam through someone else's eyes. And right off the bat, I really love Marla!

What a rough night for Pam... I appreciate the little details like her watching the door for 'someone', and waiting until everyone else was gone to confess that Gil thought her work was motel art.

“Because they don’t change, I guess. Like, they stay in one place.” Oh. This is my favorite line in the chapter - it just says so much about Pam's current situation.

And now here I am, cheering for Pam to prove Gil and everyone else wrong.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2019 12:15 am Title: Chapter 3

This was just lovely! Marla was a delight. I find sometimes it’s a balance to add an original character & have them add something of value to the story, but I feel like you did this wonderfully. My heart always hurts for Pam during this period & this definitely brought the emotion. It was great to have the jump forward in the finale chapter & see a happier version of Pam. The visual of the image/artwork added another layer to the story also.
Congrats on AOTM!

Author's Response: Yes a lot of things about an OC is a balancing act but Iím glad to hear Marla works as an OC and as the narrator. This is a tough Pam time but itís also so important and the show never delved into Pamís art enough for my tastes so it was fun to explore that. And yes, getting to write a happier Pam was like a little reward 😊 thank you for your comment!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans