You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2019 09:12 pm Title: Chapter 3: Pam

I cannot get enough ‘first date’ fics. They are my absolute favorite. I had been getting bummed because there had been nothing new on the site and BAM, along comes this story.
I LOVED It. I enjoyed how the first chapter was third person followed by their two accounts of the first week. You nailed everything: (TWSS) their banter, how I envision them feeling, right down to what I imagine they would have said to each other when finally getting to say what was in their hearts.
A new favorite story! Great job!

Author's Response: Yay! Glad you enjoyed this fic, and how I set it up. Honestly, this was my first Office fic so it was trial and error. Thanks so much for taking the time to review.

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2019 04:36 pm Title: First Date

I read this story a while ago now and wanted to re-read it and couldn’t find it anywhere on this site! I had no idea I’d read it on fanfiction.net so this would explain why I couldn’t find it! Hahaa!
So, really, I’ve loved your work for aaaaages now - thank you for reposting this here and for helping me solve the mystery of the missing story! ;)

Author's Response: Glad you found my story again :) I'm so flattered that you followed me here. Nice to have old friends as well as new on this site. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2019 03:42 pm Title: First Date

This was such a fun first date story! It had all the right things: humour, romance, and lots of steam! The shower scene was very hot. The dialogue throughout was spot on. Oh, and the ended line was so cute. TWSS!

Author's Response:

Wow! Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it and took the time to review ;)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2019 06:20 am Title: Chapter 3: Pam

At first I got a little confused on the timeline. Many fics have Jim coming back from New York and thus the night of the first date on a Thursday since that's the date the show used to be on. Under that assumption their first night at Jim's place in this story would have been on a Friday and so they wouldn't have needed to wake up for work the next day. Going back through the other two chapters, I didn't see where it was explicitly stated that the first date was on a Thursday. It's not really that big of a deal, but it's something that came to mind when I was reading is all.

I do really like how they connect ;) with each other here. That they can move forward with things and start enjoying being in love. Great story here. Thanks for posting it.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! As for the timeline, I guess I always assumed that Karen came back from New York the next day, and she and Jim had that big argument in the office, so I set Jim and Pam's first date on a Thursday night. She could have come back that same day before their date, but that seemed weird to me if she had, and a long drive from New York later.  I don't remember on the show whether it was ever explicitly stated the day of the week. Anyway, sorry if it was confusing and that you were able to get past that and enjoy it anyway. I appreciate your input--I'm definitely a newbie here.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2019 03:46 am Title: Chapter 3: Pam

There are never too many first date stories and this was a lovely addition!
I did find it a little jarring that the first chapter was third person, but then the next couple were first person... To be honest, I much prefer the third person. But, your writing is great, so I’m willing to give the first person writing a bit more of a chance. It didn’t detract from the story, however, I found it a bit of an unusual choice to switch part way through a story.
I really liked that your Pam here was very much Fancy New Beesly. She felt bold and confident, but not in a way that was out of character. She was a whole lot of fun.
I’m glad you decided to bring this story over to MTT too!

Author's Response: Thank you! This was my very first Office fic, and I was sort of feeling my way and experimenting with how I wanted to approach this. Generally in the other fandoms I write for, I use third person (thought mix it up with first on occasion). I can see how you would find it strange to switch like that.  But I think I enjoy first person with these characters, because we get so much of their inner thoughts from their talking heads that I feel like I know them better than other characters in other fandoms, if you know what I mean. Anyway, I'm grateful you could look past my experimental stage and still manage to enjoy it. I think in subsequent Office stories I've found a tone and style that feels right to me. I do appreciate the constructive criticism!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 27, 2019 05:02 pm Title: First Date

This is so sweet! I love the little “role reversal” of Pam not being such a goody good. The Kissing Bench brings back so many memories 😂

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked what I did with Pam.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 27, 2019 04:04 pm Title: Chapter 2: Jim

Again a nice balance between banter, steam, and serious. I also like that they're working on getting over old hangups. At the same time it's clear that they're it for each other from here on out. Very nice with Jim's POV. Great introspection throughout. Vivid detail too during the more steamy scenes. Doing a great job with this one. Can't wait to see what's going on in Pam's mind.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Anytime I get kudos for my dialogue, I'm a happy camper. So glad you liked this chapter!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 27, 2019 03:47 pm Title: First Date

There can never be enough First Date stories as far as I'm concerned. Yes it's a well worn path at this point, but at the same time, everyone brings something different to the telling which makes it fun. This is no different. You struck a really good balance in this first chapter between, fun, flirty, silly, steamy, and serious. I really like that they start to get things out in the open right away. Lack of truly honest communication is what kept them apart for so long, so it's always great to see them fixing that right from the off. I really liked that Jim paid off Brian to get him out of there. Contract be damned, there are certain things that deserve to be private. I'm not sure I've seen that particular twist before so that was fun.

All in all a really fun date. Onwards to Chapter 2.

Author's Response: You are too kind! One of the things I like to do in my fics is cut through all the frustrating miscommunication, lack of honesty, and angst that we often see on TV shows. I know that brings drama and excitement, but fanfiction is like therapy to me, lol, where I try to make things right for the characters I love. I always write happy endings, go light on the angst, and resolve it quickly. Guess I'm just an optimistic person :). Glad you enjoyed this and that you saw something "new" in this old theme. Thanks so much for reviewing!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans