Reviews For Virtus
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 05:23 am Title: Epilogue

Holy, wow, um.

You've put me at a loss for words with this story. I binged through the final chapters so this encompasses everything since my last review.

You have a gift of bringing the words on the page (or screen) to life. How vividly I could see everything as I read through the story.

I am in awe of how you could take the characters and drop them into this strange new world with all its ugliness and despair and still make us feel their love. How you've added characters to the mix and made us know them almost as well.

I won't say much, there's too much but some thoughts.

My heart broke for what they all went through and I can't imagine taking a life, lives, doesn't change you, leave a dark spot inside - no matter how necessary and deserved.

But the ending was brilliant. It gave hope, showed that life still had lots of beauty and good even in this new world where so much dark existed. The return of family warmed my heart as did the promise of more new life.

Glad you decided to share and glad I decided to read.
If I were Paul Hollywood, you'd get a hundred handshakes to go with your jellybeans.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Max, again! I am honestly so humbled and honored by the response to this story and it is an incredible feeling having something I've written elicit such a response in so many. Thank you SO much for your support of this story! 

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2020 04:55 pm Title: Epilogue

Not going to lie. I am really sad this fic is over. Like your other one, it is really special and unique and just great. I never want great content like this to end. But it has to. The ending was a really nice full circle and I'm going to miss this, the detail, and story so much. Thank you for such excellent reading.

Author's Response: Thank YOU for your support and encouragement of this story! It is a remarkable feeling to write something that has elicited such a strong response and has been enjoyed by so many. Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 03:44 am Title: Epilogue

I’ve been waiting until I was in the right frame of mind to reach this, & honestly I don’t know if I ever will be. I’m not sure I’m ready for this one to end...

“He spun his ring on his finger, reminding him of why, the circle of silver not only a symbol of endlessness but of time and of promises and the four reasons he was still breathing.” Fuck me right up why don’t you. I’m going to be even less coherent than usual with the trying to sum up just how brilliant your words are.

“Time was an illusion, he discovered. There were memories that time could never erase, a future that fate had set in spite of it, and a present to which it was relentlessly vulnerable.
Gunfire lit up the night sky, the finality of it echoing off the cloud covered heavens in judgment and resolution.”
BORED.
B
O
R
E
D
..
..
..
I —
Holy god.
The way I am in absolute awe of your writing.

“and kissed him, gently and unassuming, not disturbing the delicate fragmented pieces of each other scattered around them” So damn beautiful.

“He had some thirty different shades of pronunciation of her name, but she could not identify this particular one.” Oh. That hits deep in my soul.

“He stood there long after everyone had gone inside, attempting to reconcile a debt he could never begin to pay” Your Jim. I adore him. He’s still so much himself, but all his strengths have been pulled to the surface and put to work. His leadership and his compassion are just so much more than what they were. It’s so truly perfect.

“much the same way they had all been reshaped repeatedly by the year that had passed” If this isn’t the realest line in anything ever.

“Life marched forward, stumbling occasionally over uneven footing, but blindly forward nonetheless” Again. The realest. This is life. I love it so much for this story, and for the truth that it is.

Bored. If you turned this into a novel, I would buy it. I would tell everyone I’d ever met to buy it. MTT and the universe are so much richer for having this story in it.

Oh. OH. I figured I would read the epilogue and add it into this review & girl! What an ending!
Dead. So dead. Amazing. Only you could throw a sweet little plot twist into the last two words & just make it work!
Please keep writing all the things forevermore!

Author's Response: You, quite literally, pulled all of my favorite lines and I love you for it, honestly. Thank you SO VERY much for your unfailing support and love for this story; the thoughtful, detailed reviews *always* put a smile on my face. It has truly meant the world to me. Thank you for it all. :)

Reviewer: Xany23 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2020 11:29 pm Title: Epilogue

I looked for an apocalyptical genre story for a while without any luck, and had almost given up. Clicked on this story without even realizing I had found what I was looking for, and was not disappointed.
Really hope to see more of this genre, and that ending might set up a sequel?! A prequel would also be amazing, the intrigue about what "Before" is kept me wondering the whole time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Xany! I am certainly considering a sequel after I finish up my other AU. I feel like there is still much more story to tell in this universe. Thanks again! 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2020 05:51 am Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

You are destroying my stomach - the anxiety I am going through reading these chapters in giving me an ulcer but I've never enjoyed an ulcer so much.

So, so good. Have to call out my appreciation for the mention of the brothers and Jim's family . Hell yeah, they were a close family. It is a good thing he's got Pam.

Also love the image of Phil in the bed (oh how I remember those days - an extra body in the bed, my youngest is now a teenager so those days are over for me)

and I love the Phil H v Phil S moment - channeling of his father but my mind went to Harry Potter with the shades of James Potter. Hmm both are James - very curious.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2020 06:55 pm Title: With a Bullet and a Bet

what I really am enjoying (maybe not the best word since there is so much darkness and sadness in the Now) is the role Jim is taking on with Pete. But him being a father-like or at least big-brother like figure to Pete is a touching. Likewise for the way Pam and Erin are -I always wished they'd leaned into that a bit more on the show.

All the rest is so well written that I can hear the gravel in Mac's voice, the scruff of his look, the slowness of his movements.

It's so understandable the way Pete is feeling, but Jim is right -anything to protect his family. What a world you've put them in. Dark and ominous but what a great read so far.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2020 11:18 am Title: Epilogue

After all the darkness that's been involved with this fic, thank you for ending on a light not. The women bonding over something so inhearently feminine and timeless was a great scene to envision. Likewise the newcomer at the gate. This time a much more welcome addition than others who have been around.

This whole story has been more than a rollercoaster. Hard to believe this was your first fanfic. Your writing has the skill and prose of a seasoned writer. Though there were some hugely trying times in this one, it still captivated ones attention and wouldn't let us go. Bravo for a truly epic story.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

Thank you SO much, Warrior! I really appreciate you support and thoughts throughout this journey. :)

Tibi gratias ago pro tua calida verba! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2020 11:15 am Title: To Build a Home

Let it be done. That's the kind of vibe I get from Jim at the start of this chapter. Mac and his men have done nothing but take since they showed up. they took lives, dignity, safety, and security. No more. Jim has drawn the line. So, let it be done. Even still I feel like he doesn't want to be in this position, but since he's here, he'll finish things. There's a threat to his family and friends. That threat needs to be dealt with, so he does.

I do kind of like that we didn't get a blow by blow scene of that last fight. Just seeing the aftermath is already rought enough. However Jim comes home. Sadly not with everyone. The pain is still fresh, but he's home with the woman and children he loves. So healing can start.

The funeral scene was a good way to cap that. The price was high, it's good to take time to realize that. But there's also a finality to everything. They can lay their loved ones to rest with diginity.

Life continues. That's the feeling that comes across there at the end of this chapter. Regardless of if it's Before or After or what threats are out there, life goes on. The residents of The Farm have found a little slice of peace and they know they can defend it. They'll stay on guard, but they can also enjoy the sun. Great way to end this chapter.

Author's Response:

I think you really got the message I wanted to convey with the culmination of all these events leading to that moment, and ultimately, the compromises someone has to make in those circumstances. 

 Thank you so much, warrior!  

Reviewer: JHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 07:19 pm Title: Epilogue

Oh my god. I literally just SQUEELED out loud “OMG HIS BROTHERS ALIVE?!?” Okay. You have CAPTIVATED me with this story and I only discovered it a few months ago. I will honestly tell you, I was convinced you were an author outside of MTT. Your work is so original, so complex, 4 dimensional, and literally BEAUTIFULLY written. Please consider publishing something. Please give us more JAM. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for gracing us with this story.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you SO much for all this! It is really rewarding to know that something you have written has elicited such a reaction in so many. I hope to write something "real" someday but in the meantime more Jam for sure. Thank you for your support! 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 01:41 pm Title: This is Home Now

*throws the whole jar of jellybeans at you*

Thank you for this, Bored. It’s amazing how seamlessly you marry these characters we know and love with this new apocalyptic world. It’s was captivating, and lovely, and heartbreaking, and beautiful. And the ending was perfect. I loved the whole thing so much.

Not only can you consider yourself a writer now, you can consider yourself a damn good one. :)

Author's Response:

WW, I am SO sorry! I somehow missed this review (I think because it attached itself to the first chapter?) initially and this is super late.

ANYWAY, thank you so much! I cannot express how much your support of this story has meant to me. :)

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 01:24 pm Title: Epilogue

Booooored! There aren’t enough words for your genius! This whole story just felt so real the entire time and I can’t believe it all started with The Office because all of the incredible world building you did made it feel like an entity in and of itself. Everything you wrote was so emotionally impactful and I’m so glad you decided to share this with us! I’m sad it’s over but it feels complete and the ending is perfect. Earlier today I randomly thought of chapter 17 and wondered what would happen to the Halperts even though I hadn’t read Vitrus since you updated. That’s the kind of staying power your writing has. Anyway, I love this story and I can’t wait to see where your writing journey goes from here!

Author's Response: JJ, thank you so very much for your support and encouragement of this story! It means so much to have someone so moved and touched by something you write. Thank you again! 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 10:26 am Title: Epilogue

Bored, I don't even know where to start. This story took far too long for me to start reading, and now I can't believe it's over. There truly are no accurate words to describe just how amazing this story was. It was so detailed, I felt like I was standing next to them every chapter. If NBC ever decides to make a post apocolyptic The Office, I would only assume it's because they read this and couldn't put the idea down. I would also then assume you would of course be the head script writer and director, because of course you would. I loved every minute of this story.

Author's Response: Oh Aly, thank you SO MUCH for your love of this story. It means so much to me. :)

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 09:14 am Title: Epilogue

Perfection.

Author's Response: Thank you! 

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 09:12 am Title: To Build a Home

A wonderful story you've woven and forged. I've enjoyed every syllable. Thank you to the bottles of wine that convinced you to share.

Author's Response: Thank you SO MUCH for your ongoing, enthusiastic support of this story. Knowing someone out there is enjoying it so much, makes all the difference. 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 07:25 am Title: Epilogue

Oh, my god. This ending. I gasped aloud and have real tears in my eyes. It was the perfect button to a perfect story. I don’t know if I will ever have the words to describe how I feel at the end of this, the culmination of your work and your genius and all the ways that it made me feel. It’s truly truly a masterpiece and I cannot believe that this is your first foray into writing. Never ever ever doubt yourself or your talent, you have it in spades and you ALWAYS have an audience, no matter the subject! Lady, thank you for sharing this with us. I am so grateful.

Author's Response: Thank you SO much, BT, truly. I don't think I could ask for much more, hearing your reaction. That is every author's dream, I think, to elicit that kind of response. Thank you for being such a wonderful reader and reviewer! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2020 07:06 am Title: Epilogue

Oh, my god. This ending. I gasped aloud and have real tears in my eyes. It was the perfect button to a perfect story. I don’t know if I will ever have the words to describe how I feel at the end of this, the culmination of your work and your genius and all the ways that it made me feel. It’s truly truly a masterpiece and I cannot believe that this is your first foray into writing. Never ever ever doubt yourself or your talent, you have it in spades and you ALWAYS have an audience, no matter the subject! Lady, thank you for sharing this with us. I am so grateful.

Author's Response: Thank you SO much, BT, truly. I don't think I could ask for much more, hearing your reaction. That is every author's dream, I think, to elicit that kind of response. Thank you for being such a wonderful reader and reviewer! 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2020 06:10 am Title: This is Home Now

Oooooh. I'm usually much more wordy but in the interest of getting into more reading I'll try to be brief. So good. I've got goosebumps envisioning the world. Sad Dwight not here (although hi spirit seems to be and that is almost as satisfying). Pete and Erin. Love that they are here as I always saw them as the simpler, younger version of Jam. Emphasis on the simpler but you've already taken advantage of the older wiser mentor relationship I see for them. I do see the shades of a quiet place. I'm hooked and ready for more.

Author's Response: Thank you, Max! I'm so happy you are enjoying it so much. Thanks for taking the time to read and review! :)

Reviewer: Salt Signed [Report This]
Date: October 22, 2020 04:44 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

This is REALLY good. I never knew how much I need jam apocalypse AU until I read it! The way you express what they are feeling and how they interact with each other is simply amazing. All kind of emotions here while reading it (protective Jim is perfect by the way)

Also you sprinkle just enough backstory so we can follow the story yet still leave us with some mystery. Still I have to say I have a soft spot for the flashbacks of the time before they reached the farm. And maybe you will present us with some Dwight&Jim and Dwight&Pam interactions? Pretty please? ;) lol

About Dwight: :(((( and poor Angela, crying in front of his grave? Broke my shipper heart.

I think what makes this story so interesting, apart for all the emotion and feelings, is that there is these key tension moments in the narrative. I keep coming back to read it. Brilliant.

Hope to read more of your writing (and this universe) *jellybeans*

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Salt! I am thrilled you are enjoying it. Thanks for taking the time to read and review! 

Reviewer: lesser Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 21, 2020 06:11 am Title: This is Home Now

It can take me a lot to get into something so AU but the characterisation is great and the bonds between them so strong and complicated-- I'm totally there. I really hope you continue! I'll definitely keep checking back. Thanks for the awesome story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, lesser! 

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:21 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Wow. I'm just... blown away. This was just such a powerful, intense chapter--thank you for not making us suffer the cliffhanger!

Author's Response: Thank you, oncelet, for taking the time to read and letting me know you enjoyed it! 

Reviewer: JHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 01:20 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Holy. Shit. This story is so captivating I’ve been doing nothing but reading it for two days. More. More. More.

Author's Response: Thank you, JH, so very much! 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 12:42 pm Title: This is Home Now

I am kicking myself that it has taken me so long to start reading this story. I guess I just knew I would get sucked in and wanted to make sure I had a time to read it all at once and my GOODNESS, I’m so glad I finally read it. I’m hooked, 100%, and am in love with your writing and storytelling. I adore this Jim and Pam and their relationship, even with all they go through. Gah, it’s all just so, so good. “Well done” doesn’t begin to cover it!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, WW. I am so happy you are enjoying it and thank you for your kind words. :)

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 10:06 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

I have to tell you, I am pretty obsessed with this story. Actually, I'm totally in love with this one and the Civil War one as well but this one, it just gets inside me and, I dont know... i just can't get enough. When you talk about it ending I seriously kinda want to cry. I'm trying to enjoy and savor eaxh chapter knowing you're about to end it. Im so serious when I tell you that as I read each chapter I see it playing in my head as though it were a movie or an episode of the show. This probably makes me weird or at least odd but sometimes I think about a chapter and it was so vivid in my head because of just how wonderful you are with painting g a picture with your words and I'll think I seriously have watched it.

I have to admit, at the end of chapter 16 you left me a mess. Seriously, I was seriously worried when I was reading about them having Jim and Brian all beaten and restrained. I actually was thinking that I didn't think that Jim would have the same type of superhuman strength and determination he had that night in Roger's barn when it was just Jim and Pam against a group of them and Mac's brother made the huge mistake of punching Pam which led to Jim being able to get away from several armed bad guys that were restraining him, and beat the brother to death. I was thinking, without Pam there Jim wouldn't have that same motivation and lo and behold, then Pam.is there and you did something to me that doesn't happen a lot when I'm reading fan fiction you tied my stomach in knots and I felt a bit like I might puke. Seriously. Theres one other story on here (of the more recent stories, the one where after Pam broke up with Jim he got married in a matter of months after he never even proposed to her. That story seriously makes me so angry at Jim. This one, the things I want to do to these fictional characters makes me wonder if im losing my mind.)

Okay.... so. If you're going to insist on ending this kinda soon, I have something maybe you could think about. I mean, I think there are so many different stories you coukd still tell, even in the time period you're writing right now. Oh, something I've been hoping maybe you'd address is Sasha. The last we heard was just that she was devastated. Im wondering with Toby dead and no other parent, what's happened to Sasha? I wonder if she had realized the change in her dad. Did she notice his Pam obsession and/or his hatred of Jim which I would think would bother Sasha since she had that babysitting bond with Jim from when she was younger. She also knows how happy Jim was to see them and how he treated them as friends bringing them into the house and finding room for them there rather than them needing to figure out something outside like the others had to. I think I kinda picture her kinda merging into Jim and Pam's family and being like an older sister that their kids would look upto and adore. I can also see, with the babies being born her being a bit of a mother's helper to the moms and maybe helping Angela with the kids schooling. I wonder at her age have they looked for textbooks, is there anyone who is continuing her education?

What I had started to suggest was if maybe you'd give some thought to a sequel. Actually, while I would love a sequel, something that happens maybe years after this that shows us what's going on not only with the Halperts (they'd have to have even more kids. I mean, c'mon... there's no birth control and these two love enjoying each other. Ive always pictured them with a big family anyhow. I'd also like to see what the future has in store for Brian and Isabel. I see kids there too and also for Mike and Larissa. I'd love to see Sasha grown and maybe having met a nice guy herself and maybe Jim tearing his hair out as Cece starts dating. I wonder what life would look like years down the road. Do they try to reestablish things like Christmas and gifts? I honestly, well, when they went to Tent City the first time and on the way back remember, I think it was Jim and Brian went into that former toy store? I had been hoping they were going to get a bunch of stuff and take it back and put it away for the children for Christmas and birthdays. Seems there would still be some stores with some things they could get for things like that. Okay... so yes, I'd love if you'd think about that but even more I'd love a sequal that's actually a prequel. Id love for you to start with just a normal day before this happened and tell in more detail about the explosion. How long did it take before they realized that life as they knew it was truly over? I"d love to.learn where were Jim and Pam? Were the kids with them or did they have to get to them? When they left their house, did they know they wouldn't be going back? If so what things did they take with them in he beginning and how did they lose things like their vehicle, along the way? Did they get in contact with the rest of their families at all or know what their famimies were planning to.do? How did Larissa come to be with them? I know you mentioned they went to Brian's because of his military training and hope that he had weapons but how did that go and how did he end up deciding to stick with them? BTW... he is an amazing OC, one of my very favorites ever. I also really love your Larissa. She's strong and knows her mind like I imagine Jim's sister. I also really love the clear bond you show that two two Halpert's have and also the bond Larissa has with Pam. I can imagine Pam and Larissa having a strong bond even in the old world. Like Larissa I had 3 brothers and no sisters. I could see Pam becoming the sister Larissa never had. Did Larissa and Brian ever flirt with the idea of being a couple? I just ask because its the end of the world. I think I'd want to be with someone and if im with a couple and another person seems natural to explore that. Then again. Brian may think Jim would kill him. I'd love to know.more about the time on the road. You mentioned the times they didn't think theyd make it. I'd love to know more. Oh, what made them decide on Shrute Farm? I'd also love to read how Jim and Dwight really bonded and worked together in this world and even more, know more about what was going on, how/why Dwight was killed. (Love to know if Angela ever opened herself.to love again.) Okay, I'm sorry that I insist on writing so much about the stupid ramblings of my mind. Like I said, I just have such an enormous amount of love for this story and want so much to know so much more. Really, the things you give us make me wonder about so many other thing and make me want more details of the little wonderful tidbits you drop here and there. BTW, I also thought for a long time that it would be intersting to see them run across Roy. During this story I've kinda pictured him as joining Mac's men but in either a prequal or sequal it might be nice for them to come across him with his wife Laura and maybe a kid or two. Just be interesting to see that dynamic. Just wanted you to know that if you do have any inclination of making my dreams come true and writing more, there are so many stories to tell. For now, I'm going to absorb and enjoy every word of your amazing writing. Thank you for giving me wonderful ways to take my mind off the fact that life is trying to beat the crap out of me right now. Its so great to have something to obsess about that is thankfully fictional!

Author's Response: Oh ftmill, I always thoroughly enjoy your analysis and thoughts, both on here and on twitter. This is such an epic comment, I don't even know what to say! It is so rewarding to pour yourself into a story and have others just as emotional invested in it as you are. I appreciate you being patient with me while I finished folklore and I hope the payoff was worth it. I hope to maybe write a sequel or prequel down the road. I feel there is still a lot more story to tell with these characters, and I hope to continue it someday. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for all your unwavering support of this story. It absolutely makes me smile. 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 10:31 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

I don’t even know where to begin with this, my god. It’s been building (and its still building) and this was so chapter and the previous one are so suspenseful and tense in the best ways. And then their reactions after the fact and the way you wrote Jim not hiding his emotions and Pam’s quick thinking and strength and just all of it, oh my god. Oh my god. So so so good. More than good, amazing, wonderful, incredible, every positive adjective in the world.

Author's Response: BT, I just love your reviews so much. I know I say that just about every time but it's the truth. <3

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 07:04 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Really good chapter. Great writing. Excuse me while I go burst into tears.

Author's Response: Thank you and I hope those are good emotional tears! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans