Reviews For Virtus
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: lesser Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 21, 2020 06:11 am Title: This is Home Now

It can take me a lot to get into something so AU but the characterisation is great and the bonds between them so strong and complicated-- I'm totally there. I really hope you continue! I'll definitely keep checking back. Thanks for the awesome story.

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:21 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Wow. I'm just... blown away. This was just such a powerful, intense chapter--thank you for not making us suffer the cliffhanger!

Reviewer: JHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 01:20 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Holy. Shit. This story is so captivating I’ve been doing nothing but reading it for two days. More. More. More.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 12:42 pm Title: This is Home Now

I am kicking myself that it has taken me so long to start reading this story. I guess I just knew I would get sucked in and wanted to make sure I had a time to read it all at once and my GOODNESS, I’m so glad I finally read it. I’m hooked, 100%, and am in love with your writing and storytelling. I adore this Jim and Pam and their relationship, even with all they go through. Gah, it’s all just so, so good. “Well done” doesn’t begin to cover it!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 10:06 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

I have to tell you, I am pretty obsessed with this story. Actually, I'm totally in love with this one and the Civil War one as well but this one, it just gets inside me and, I dont know... i just can't get enough. When you talk about it ending I seriously kinda want to cry. I'm trying to enjoy and savor eaxh chapter knowing you're about to end it. Im so serious when I tell you that as I read each chapter I see it playing in my head as though it were a movie or an episode of the show. This probably makes me weird or at least odd but sometimes I think about a chapter and it was so vivid in my head because of just how wonderful you are with painting g a picture with your words and I'll think I seriously have watched it.

I have to admit, at the end of chapter 16 you left me a mess. Seriously, I was seriously worried when I was reading about them having Jim and Brian all beaten and restrained. I actually was thinking that I didn't think that Jim would have the same type of superhuman strength and determination he had that night in Roger's barn when it was just Jim and Pam against a group of them and Mac's brother made the huge mistake of punching Pam which led to Jim being able to get away from several armed bad guys that were restraining him, and beat the brother to death. I was thinking, without Pam there Jim wouldn't have that same motivation and lo and behold, then Pam.is there and you did something to me that doesn't happen a lot when I'm reading fan fiction you tied my stomach in knots and I felt a bit like I might puke. Seriously. Theres one other story on here (of the more recent stories, the one where after Pam broke up with Jim he got married in a matter of months after he never even proposed to her. That story seriously makes me so angry at Jim. This one, the things I want to do to these fictional characters makes me wonder if im losing my mind.)

Okay.... so. If you're going to insist on ending this kinda soon, I have something maybe you could think about. I mean, I think there are so many different stories you coukd still tell, even in the time period you're writing right now. Oh, something I've been hoping maybe you'd address is Sasha. The last we heard was just that she was devastated. Im wondering with Toby dead and no other parent, what's happened to Sasha? I wonder if she had realized the change in her dad. Did she notice his Pam obsession and/or his hatred of Jim which I would think would bother Sasha since she had that babysitting bond with Jim from when she was younger. She also knows how happy Jim was to see them and how he treated them as friends bringing them into the house and finding room for them there rather than them needing to figure out something outside like the others had to. I think I kinda picture her kinda merging into Jim and Pam's family and being like an older sister that their kids would look upto and adore. I can also see, with the babies being born her being a bit of a mother's helper to the moms and maybe helping Angela with the kids schooling. I wonder at her age have they looked for textbooks, is there anyone who is continuing her education?

What I had started to suggest was if maybe you'd give some thought to a sequel. Actually, while I would love a sequel, something that happens maybe years after this that shows us what's going on not only with the Halperts (they'd have to have even more kids. I mean, c'mon... there's no birth control and these two love enjoying each other. Ive always pictured them with a big family anyhow. I'd also like to see what the future has in store for Brian and Isabel. I see kids there too and also for Mike and Larissa. I'd love to see Sasha grown and maybe having met a nice guy herself and maybe Jim tearing his hair out as Cece starts dating. I wonder what life would look like years down the road. Do they try to reestablish things like Christmas and gifts? I honestly, well, when they went to Tent City the first time and on the way back remember, I think it was Jim and Brian went into that former toy store? I had been hoping they were going to get a bunch of stuff and take it back and put it away for the children for Christmas and birthdays. Seems there would still be some stores with some things they could get for things like that. Okay... so yes, I'd love if you'd think about that but even more I'd love a sequal that's actually a prequel. Id love for you to start with just a normal day before this happened and tell in more detail about the explosion. How long did it take before they realized that life as they knew it was truly over? I"d love to.learn where were Jim and Pam? Were the kids with them or did they have to get to them? When they left their house, did they know they wouldn't be going back? If so what things did they take with them in he beginning and how did they lose things like their vehicle, along the way? Did they get in contact with the rest of their families at all or know what their famimies were planning to.do? How did Larissa come to be with them? I know you mentioned they went to Brian's because of his military training and hope that he had weapons but how did that go and how did he end up deciding to stick with them? BTW... he is an amazing OC, one of my very favorites ever. I also really love your Larissa. She's strong and knows her mind like I imagine Jim's sister. I also really love the clear bond you show that two two Halpert's have and also the bond Larissa has with Pam. I can imagine Pam and Larissa having a strong bond even in the old world. Like Larissa I had 3 brothers and no sisters. I could see Pam becoming the sister Larissa never had. Did Larissa and Brian ever flirt with the idea of being a couple? I just ask because its the end of the world. I think I'd want to be with someone and if im with a couple and another person seems natural to explore that. Then again. Brian may think Jim would kill him. I'd love to know.more about the time on the road. You mentioned the times they didn't think theyd make it. I'd love to know more. Oh, what made them decide on Shrute Farm? I'd also love to read how Jim and Dwight really bonded and worked together in this world and even more, know more about what was going on, how/why Dwight was killed. (Love to know if Angela ever opened herself.to love again.) Okay, I'm sorry that I insist on writing so much about the stupid ramblings of my mind. Like I said, I just have such an enormous amount of love for this story and want so much to know so much more. Really, the things you give us make me wonder about so many other thing and make me want more details of the little wonderful tidbits you drop here and there. BTW, I also thought for a long time that it would be intersting to see them run across Roy. During this story I've kinda pictured him as joining Mac's men but in either a prequal or sequal it might be nice for them to come across him with his wife Laura and maybe a kid or two. Just be interesting to see that dynamic. Just wanted you to know that if you do have any inclination of making my dreams come true and writing more, there are so many stories to tell. For now, I'm going to absorb and enjoy every word of your amazing writing. Thank you for giving me wonderful ways to take my mind off the fact that life is trying to beat the crap out of me right now. Its so great to have something to obsess about that is thankfully fictional!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 10:31 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

I don’t even know where to begin with this, my god. It’s been building (and its still building) and this was so chapter and the previous one are so suspenseful and tense in the best ways. And then their reactions after the fact and the way you wrote Jim not hiding his emotions and Pam’s quick thinking and strength and just all of it, oh my god. Oh my god. So so so good. More than good, amazing, wonderful, incredible, every positive adjective in the world.

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 07:04 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Really good chapter. Great writing. Excuse me while I go burst into tears.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 06:06 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Ok, I finally have time to sit and write this review. Holy crap! So a bit of backstory, I first read this chapter on my phone during some downtime during a training class I had to take for work. When I got done with this chapter, my hand was shaking and it was hard to hold my phone. I litterally found myself using some of the deep breathing exersizes I use after I get done with a particually stressful ambulance call. That's the effect this chapter had on me. Parly from the buildup for the cliffhanger for last chapter, but also everything involved in this one.

So, getting into this chapter. Huge emotions. I'm kinda glad we get told of what happened to Pam via her telling Jim what happened, rather than the actual narration of the events. I mean a situation like that is rough enough. Very glad you had Pam be able to fight back before things really got out of hand. Hell yeah Pam! I know she was scared out of her mind, but she also did what she had to in order to defend her family. Great moment. Huge scars that will be left, no doubt, but the fact that she is able to use that knife to defend herself and her family was a great piece of poetic justice.

Good bye and good riddence to Mac. I like that it's Pam that got rid of him.

Jim's feeling of rage and despiration ring so very true. Then to litterally run into her like that. BIG sigh of relief. And they do the smart thing too. Get out while they can. Get back to a position of strength and safety.

Good for Pam for telling Jim about everything right away. In this world they've proven they can share each others burdens and I'm very glad Pam unloads that one. That Jim is there to support her, to build her back up, and to just be there speaks volumes of him.

Though now it's no more mister nice Jim. Mac's men will be out for blood, but I don't really think they'll stand a chance. They nearly pushed Jim and Pam to their limit. I've got a feeling they're going to find out just exactly how foolish they were to think that might makes right.

Thanks for not leaving us hanging on the cliffhanger from last chapter to long.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 01:05 pm Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Okay. Okay, okay. I was already nervous to read this chapter & the note has not helped...

“Her knife” YES. Thank god. Talk about payoff for a moment a few chapters ago.

“The anger turned to energy and pulsed through him, intense and furious, like the current in a live wire, making his vision clear.” I love this description. Stunningly vivid writing as always.

“She was precariously adrift, reaching blindly for the anchor of him.” Oh, this imagery. So damn beautiful.

Bored. This chapter is absolutely haunting. The subject matter alone was so very real and raw and you did it all kinds of justice.

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 08:13 am Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

I am so incredibly glad that Pam is okay. Mac is truly the lowest scum of the Earth. But he's dead, hallelujah, and hopefully the rest of the guys will be too soon.

Anyway, I loved how Jim and Pam treated one another once they got home. And how while they were at Mac's, their only goal was getting to the other one and making sure they're safe? Amazing.

I have seriously been thinking about this chapter ever since the last one came out so thank you thank you thank you for updating quickly! I know you hear this a lot (as you rightfully should) but this story is amazing and you write it so well. I can't wait for the next chapter to see what the trap is!

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 04:32 am Title: Everything is Eclipsed By the Shape of Destiny

Good lord, Bored. Brava. The way you opened the chapter was an instant hook- as if we all aren't already drooling for updates. Beautifully written.

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: September 09, 2020 05:45 pm Title: Nowhere Near

Ermergerd I got so excited to see this updated too. Honestly. And the ending this was FANTASTIC. I almost don't even know what I hope happens next. Complex feelings!! I want to feel bad for those kids but man, they really screwed everyone over and now put JAM in serious trouble. The end line of the chapter was so fantastic too. The whole scene of Pam being brought up and Jim seeing her, really really fantastic (not given what's happening but you know what I mean).

But I'm not sure what you mean by not making this go on forever, honestly I hope this doesn't end.

Author's Response: Complex feelings is exactly reaction I was hoping for! I am trying to portray the layers of complexity of a story like this and the ever-present question of the moral grey area. Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 06:38 am Title: Nowhere Near

Jesus god. Pleas be quick with the update.

Author's Response: I hope it was quick enough! I hated to leave you hanging. :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 04:25 am Title: Nowhere Near

“Dwight’s ring” Oh. I thought Pam’s pendant hit hard, but this is absolutely gutting.

Boy. Boy. Boy. Toby is the curse that just keeps on giving.
Pam. Oh Pam. This is coal walk Pam all over - determined and courageous no matter the outcome. As always, my heart is in my throat reading this and I’m so damn worried for them both.
“Sometimes bad decisions are the only decisions to make” I feel that.

“his entire life fell with a roaring crash and landed spectacularly in the pounded dirt in front of him.” This is not good.

Ohgodohgodohgodohgodohgod

Author's Response: I hope all of the strands are starting to tie together and makes sense. I wanted Dwight's ring to be the little push that drives him out there and Pam's courage, that we don't always get to see, be the little push that drives her to go out there as well. All will end well, even if the road is a bit bumpy. ;)

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 07:06 pm Title: Nowhere Near

no no no no no no no no no, please no. Bored, why. How. This is going to destroy me until the next chapter comes out. Im pretty sure I'm not even thinking straight right now. The thought of Mac wanting Pam is making me sick to my stomach. And the fact that Jim can't do anything about it? I'm going to die. How you thought this was okay is so beyond me. I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry, Aly! I hope the wait wasn't too terrible. All will end well, I promise. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 06:45 pm Title: Nowhere Near

Oh sweet merciful crap. Like I said, last chapter was just the calm before the storm. I know we have your promise that nothing happens the the JAM family, but still that ending.

I see two very interesting reactions between Jim and Pam. Jim almost losing it. Understandable too. Pam nervous but walking into the vipers nest with courage and defiance.

Something else I just realized as well. There's a bit of a time jump in this chapter. Between the time Pam leaves the Farm and Jim getting dumped out of the truck at Mac's place, there could be several hours in between. Time enough for Pam to have seen what happened to Jim, form a plan, go back to the farm and get that plan set up maybe? I hope so. After all back Before Pam was just as quick on her feet as Jim was and at times more devious too.

Please don't make us wait to god-awful long for the resolution to all this. Phenominal writing as always.

Author's Response: The promise stands although they won't escape entirely unscathed. I hope the wait was manageable. :)

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 06:27 pm Title: Nowhere Near

Bored!!! I’m scared :’c Mac is such a good villain but if something happens to Pam here I’m going to pass out, and that is a promise x.x

Author's Response: All will be well, I promise. ;)

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: July 29, 2020 10:07 am Title: A Coward Might Call it a Conscience, a Liar Might Call it the Truth

This chapter was beautiful all over, but this line stood out to me. “ The frailty and ugliness of humanity on full display, retching among the ruins and emptiness of the planet.” So good! You turn phrases so beautifully. And I really loved seeing a bit of Brian’s world! Great job as always!

Author's Response: Thank you BT, as always! Your reviews mean so much. <3

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 07:45 pm Title: A Coward Might Call it a Conscience, a Liar Might Call it the Truth

Excellent chapter and love all the little parts within it. This is such a dark fic in terms of the world around it and I absolutely love it because it feels real. The showdown coming with Mac is really gonna be good and probably sad at the same time with those who will be lost along the way. Hearing a bit of what happened day of and why Jim started being armed was a nice throwback and makes complete sense. So great. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2020 12:54 am Title: A Coward Might Call it a Conscience, a Liar Might Call it the Truth

“it was the woman and the baby, both she knew no longer existed” Umm... Yeah, that’s a hard nope from me. That does not bode well at all...
Oh I’m glad - if that’s the right word - that it’s no-one they know.

“Ask me how I know” How you still manage to make to laugh in this world of angst is a skill in itself.

Ah, the male ego. Sure, go into town without telling anyone, Mike. That seems like an excellent idea.

Interesting to see Mike’s convictions start to shift with the impending danger pressing closer.

“She turned her ear to his chest as if she was contemplating his very soul and he hoped she knew it was hers.” Well, that’s not the most romantic thing I’ve ever read or anything.

"Well, it's too late, he has one." Oh how I love protective brother Jim.

“I don't think I could breathe in a world without you in it." Cool. Cool, cool, cool, cool, cool.

“This was the farthest and longest he had been away from Pam since Before and he felt her absence like a dull ache in his bones.” The way they love each other is the stuff of legends. This is basically a soulmates AU and you can’t convince me otherwise.

“Love and fear come in equal measure, she realized with clarity. One cannot exist without the other.” That’s very profound for a Sunday afternoon. But like, you’re not wrong.

“feeling like a butterfly had landed” YES. Get it girl.

This story. Oh my god, this story. It’s the finest of wines, it just keeps improving and improving and with each chapter you pull us in deeper. I love it so.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Jenna! I'm glad you are still enjoying it. I have a feeling my long-windedness and rambling might have lost some people along the way, so it thrills me that you still love it so. :) I'm so glad you picked up on the butterfly reference! I wasn't sure if anyone would. Thank you! 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2020 12:08 pm Title: A Coward Might Call it a Conscience, a Liar Might Call it the Truth

Huzzah, no one died this chapter! I'll call that up as a win. I'm glad the farm is getting more security, seems especially prudent with the mystery thefts taking place, although I almost don't want the person caught and thrown out, because I'm pretty sure Mac is going to interrogate them and then... Y'know.

Great writing and story as always. I especially enjoyed the triumphant return and Brad's comparison to the Ark, that was a good chuckle.

Author's Response: Yes! Everyone survived. The person (or persons) responsible will start a chain reaction of events, for sure. I couldn't pass up the Ark comment, visualizing what that yard looked like when they got back. XD Thanks so much DG!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2020 11:00 am Title: A Coward Might Call it a Conscience, a Liar Might Call it the Truth

Please tell me that somewhere, somehow Phillip got a copy of "Fellowship of the Ring" Dwight had lying around and has determined he wants to be a Hobbit. Breakfast, second breakfast, brunch, elevensies, lunch, tea, supper, dinner, dessert, second dessert. I can so clearly envision Jim and Pam being equally proud and bemused at his antics. Great way to add a bit of levity there.

Always a bit of a hazard heading to Tent City. You're right, this time the trip seems just a tad more perilous. Lots of tension and I'm glad they made it back unscathed. Especially if there's someone in their midst up to no good.

Nice bit adding in Isabel coming to Brian. It's been a slow journey for them. Seems like a healing journey too. Lovely that they can continue that journey together.

Likewise lovely to evsion Pam and Jim coming back together. You write their connection so very well.

Kind of seems like the calm before the storm. I'm really glad has the vision to try and get reinforcements while he can. I've got a feeling the Farm will need them.

Author's Response: I hadn't thought of that scenario but that would be a really funny tie-in with Dwight. You are right, there are indeed some difficult times ahead. Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2020 01:28 am Title: A Coward Might Call it a Conscience, a Liar Might Call it the Truth

It is almost 3:30AM but I could not stop reading until I caught up on all the chapters. This is so beyond amazing I don't even know what to say. I adore Jim and Pam's relationship in this so, so, so much. It's everything I could have ever asked for in this type of universe. I'm also praying that Brad and his men are actually good. They seem like they are but so did Toby at first and look at what he did. Speaking of which, I am so glad that Toby is gone. Good riddance.

Anyway, this is amazing and my only criticism is to myself for not reading this much, much sooner.

Author's Response: I'm so thrilled you love it, Aly! I know what that's like. I've lost many a night's sleep because I couldn't put a fic down. I have always been drawn to this genre and it has been fun putting the two of them in all these situations and then writing them out it. :) Thanks!

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2020 11:01 pm Title: Thereís Nothing Iím Planning to Take

"A sound that reached the ears of another." I haven't finished reading the chapter yet but when I tell you that this sentence literally made my heart stop, I'm not joking. I really thought that Mac had gotten into the cellar somehow and I was terrified. I had to stop reading for a couple minutes to regain my composure, only to find out it was Toby being a creep lol. This story is every bit as good as everyone says it is and I can't wait to keep reading.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked that part. I wasn't sure how making Toby a villain would be received, but I knew he would fit perfectly in what I had planned for the betrayal. Thanks for letting me know your thoughts! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 08:34 pm Title: The Birth and Death of a Day

This was such a lovely chapter. Even though they’re in After and things are obviously less than ideal, it felt so lovely and normal and sweet and a great representation of how important it is to have people around you that you love. And Jim and Mike’s confrontation was excellently written. I have no trouble believing that Jim would absolutely do anything to protect his family and that’s his driving motivation. Great chapter, as always!

Author's Response: Thank you so much BT for your review, as always!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans