Reviews For Virtus
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2020 04:14 am Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

I'm definitely still reading it (and getting spoiled by all of the new fics). Love the story and when i see updates! Great chapter.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2020 02:06 am Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

You’re not sure if anyone is still interested in this story?! Not to be too dramatic, but I literally can’t stop thinking about this story! It’s SO good. Your storytelling is amazing. I can feel every emotion. Oh god, and this update... Jim finding strength he didn’t know he had because Pam was in danger. My whole damn heart. Please don’t stop sharing your stories with us.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 10:26 pm Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

This story continues to keep me on edge. It’s like watching The Walking Dead when it first came out. I know to expect the death and that characters I love will suffer, but it’s SO. GOOD. Ugh. I’m terrified to see what Mac does next. But honestly—Jim getting mega-strength after Pam was taken? Nice touch.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 09:18 pm Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

This made my heart rate go crazy! Such tension and you wrote it so well! I’m definitely still interested in this story. You have a believable bad guy and have put them all in this situation in a way that stays true to the characters they are while exploring some depth that we ofc don’t see in the show. Keep writing, please! I love it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 04:03 pm Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

Got me going there for a moment. I'm actually kinda surprised Mac let them go. I wonder what's going on with him. Like I said earlier, he seems to be a smart villain rather than just some thug. Which of course makes him that much more of a threat.

You portrayed Jim's fear, anger, and rage really well here. I'd probably do much the same if someone threatened my wife or children like that. Very real emotions.

So clearly yes there are still people following this story. Glad to see you still updating it.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 01:12 pm Title: Monsters are Like Nightmares, You Just Have to Wake Up to Survive

I feel like I'm holding my breath each time I read an update. This is so wonderfully written and so interesting to read. You're doing a great job and I appreciate the effort you're going to in this story. Easily a favorite of mine!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2020 10:39 am Title: For What I Am When I'm With You

Oh my godddd this is so captivating! I love it. You write Jim’s protectiveness so well and I love how well you capture the struggle of Pam wanting him near her but knowing he has to do what he has to do. What I love about this story is that it seems like a true survival story, where bad things happen and things are pretty black and white when it comes to protecting and providing for those you love. I cannot wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've always felt Jim was like this but held it back so I wanted to explore it more when he didn't have to. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 01:05 pm Title: For What I Am When I'm With You

"but she was his true north" Yes. I think this sums up their relationship perfectly.
Also, the backstory you give us in each chapter works so well and gives depth - nice job!
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 01:33 am Title: For What I Am When I'm With You

Damn. Just damn. I am constantly on edge reading this story. It’s just so good. I love the dynamic between Pam and Jim here, that despite the world crumbling around them, they still find strength and solace in one another.
The imagery with the man at the beginning was absolutely haunting. I’m very concerned about the fate of those children... It does not bode well...

Author's Response: Thank you Jenna! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 08, 2020 10:25 pm Title: For What I Am When I'm With You

Lots of intense emotions this time around. I love the fact that it's Pam that Jim turns to here. That he needs her just as much as she needs him. I love that despite everything going on in this world, they're still there for each other. I 100% get the kinds of emotions Jim is feeling here. Traumatic experiences are rough. Seeking comfort and solace with those you love is natural and it's great to see that Pam is there for him.

Jim as the reluctant leader is coming along nicely too. It seems that you're grounding him first and foremost in thoughts of protecting his family. I like that approach. That his protective instincts then grow out to others seems very natural.

Great chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Warrior! Congrats on AotM too! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2020 01:15 am Title: With a Bullet and a Bet

The plot thickens. I get the feeling that sometime soon Jim is going to have much more of a leadership mantle placed on his shoulders. I kinda looked like the people at the swap meet were already looking up to him. He's in charge of probably the best equipped farm in the area and he's already done things to fortify it. Now a lot of the prep for that was thanks to Dwight.

*take off hat and pauses in a moment of silence for Dwight in this story*

But still, Jim and everyone at the farm have a lot going for them.

That also makes them a huge target. I know that they all know that. The thing is this Mac character seems to be not only ruthless but smart about it. Which makes him a dangerous enemy.

Batten down the hatches Jim. Feels like you're going to need every advantage you can get.

Author's Response: I have always liked the idea of the reluctant leader. The person doesn't seek out that role but people thrust it upon them because they believe they are capable. I think Jim has that in him even though he doesn't really want it (even in the past, he didn't.) I want to draw the distinct contrast between the farm and the outside world. What they have to do to defend that way of life is important and ultimately hopeful, I think. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2020 11:56 pm Title: You Know War, it Has no Heart

Got me a little worried with the first part of this chapter. I could feel the hunger they were all going through as they huddled in that cabin. Then when those creeps showed up. Good on Jim and Brian to send them packing. Well done Jim, being the sheepdog as you put it earlier.

Nice to have a break of almost normal with the swap meet. I get the feeling this is one of those, enjoy the good times when you can cause they don't happen much anymore kind of times for our heroes. Especially with the rumor of that larger gang.

Looks like Jim is also familiar with a concept called the Grey Man. What that means is that the Grey Man survives by not drawing attention to themselves. They are the ones in the background you dismiss in an instant. Could serve him and everyone at the farm well.

That last scene with Jim and Pam though. Very nice to imagine all that. Even through it all, their connection still remains just as strong as we see anywhere else. Maybe even stronger.

Author's Response: The good times never seem to last long! I realize I was likely heavy-handed with the foreshadowing but I definitely want to draw attention to the fact that their gut instincts were right. Grey Man is very interesting and is indeed how many of these people have lasted so long and without having to fight off anyone. Thank you for your always enjoyable thoughts! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2020 01:58 am Title: With a Bullet and a Bet

Oh boy. We all knew that Mac was bad news & I fear the worst is yet to come... Incredible writing as always, you have a real knack for writing tension which plays wonderfully into the genre. I’m so apprehensive to see where you go next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much JB! I'm glad the tension I have in my mind is translating well to the reader. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2020 01:50 am Title: You Know War, it Has no Heart

Ugh. My heart was in my throat throughout this chapter - particularly in the flashback. Haunting. Then, to top it off, you reference just about one of my favorite moments - “1 in 4.” So great.

Author's Response: Thank you! I want there to be little glimpses of who they used to be and that was always one of my favorite episodes. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2020 07:42 pm Title: Dirty Water, Final Scraps of Light

I loved the flashback at the beginning and seeing how much they missed simple things like cereal and baths.. ugh, my heart. And then that very last line of the chapter? There goes my heart all over again.

You’re so good at this, and I’m so happy that you’re sharing your writing with us!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so very much Coley!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 27, 2020 02:40 am Title: Dirty Water, Final Scraps of Light

The intrigue just keeps building... If you hadn’t clarified that the major character death wasn’t going to be Jim/Pam, that last line would have been awfully ominous! I mean, it still was, just not as much as it could have been...

Author's Response: I wanted to relieve some concerns because I wanted to use her fear of losing him to shape some of her decisions down the road but I didn't want the reader to be too anxious. I can't stand to lose either one of them anyway! Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2020 08:23 pm Title: Dirty Water, Final Scraps of Light

Ugh. Again I say, your writing is so effortlessly brilliant. Seriously. This is blowing my mind. I’m so excited to see what what this world does to the characters we love. Can’t wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm thrilled you are loving it. I have always been drawn to this genre and wanted to explore how Jim and Pam change and respond when modern civility and culture is gone. Thanks for commenting! 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2020 06:09 pm Title: This is Home Now

Ok, I don't read scifi, I don't read darker,strongly divergent AU stories, I steer clear of character death, but I just had to take a peek since everyone was talking about it, and.... I'll officially be breaking all of my rules!
If it hadn't been so well written, I would have realized I was breaking my rules before I got to the end of the chapter.
Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you broke your rules this time! I'm not a big fan of Scifi either but this particular genre has always interested me. I wanted to show how I think Jim and Pam would change when the world was completely different and civility gone. It does get darker, but I hope it's in a believable, palatable way. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2020 01:41 pm Title: Dirty Water, Final Scraps of Light

I am instantly hooked on this - it’s SO good!

Thank you for saying the Jam and their kids aren’t the character death - it helps me to cope with all the tension! Hahaa!

You’re wonderful! More please :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I felt the need to clarify that because it is more of a look at how this dark world around them changes Jim and Pam and how they respond to it. It would hurt me too much to lose one of them. Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2020 11:33 am Title: Dirty Water, Final Scraps of Light

Amazing story. Every piece of it is fantastic. I'm in awe of how you catch the heroes' emotions, translate them into letters, and make the readers (at least me) feel them all. I'm on the verge of tears right now, but it's okay.
And definitely, it's great to see a little backstory. I like how it's uncovered not instantly, but little by little. Thank you for your story!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm hoping to explore how the events of the past have shaped who Jim and Pam are now. Thanks for reading and commenting! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2020 10:21 am Title: Dirty Water, Final Scraps of Light

The great world building continues. I was about to say something about how with this new potential threat from town how Jim's group at the farm should start thinking about defenses. You beat me to it. I would not be at all surprised in that armory that Dwight left them that there would be some books or instructions on how to make booby traps or other defenses.

Speaking of Dwight. I bit heartbreaking to get more glimpses of what happened to him. Not only that but the effects it left on everyone else. Still doing a great job with this.

Author's Response: That's so interesting! I have some other ways that are mentioned later that his foresight helps them but I never thought of booby traps. That is so very Dwight! I really wanted there to be a significant catalyst for a change in Jim, to push him into revealing the parts of him that I feel are lying underneath and so I used Dwight's death to do that. I've always found the ripple effect on other characters when someone dies very interesting. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2020 04:37 am Title: This is Home Now

Ok, yeah just like everyone else I'm hooked into this one too. Great way to get into this world. Already we've got questions about the who's, what's, why's, and everything. It very much feels just as tense as any survival/post-apocalypse type show or movie one would see. Great detail in both world building as well as internal thoughts.

Great job with this first chapter. Really looking forward to seeing how it all pans out.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This genre has always interested me. I like to see how people respond when civilization is stripped bare and people's true nature comes out. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2020 04:30 am Title: This is Home Now

I really, REALLY want more of this. I have so many Thoughts. I’m worried about these little clues you’ve established in this world, but I’m so hooked on where you’re going to take them.
And A+++ for the inspiration. Cause same, girl, same.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I love your work, so I love that you have thoughts about this story. I was really interested to see Jim's personality utilize some of the underlying elements that I feel are there. And the beard. The beard is very important.:P 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2020 09:38 pm Title: This is Home Now

Wow. It’s quite a world you’re setting up here... I’m really curious to see what they’re up against, whether it’s just dangerous humans or something more. I loved the little touches - like of course it’s Angela who’s good with the children & becomes their teacher. That fits so very well. It’s really interesting to see who you’ve included in this world, for example Pete & Erin. I feel like they’re generally underused in fic, so it will be great to see what you do with them here. This was really wonderfully written, I can’t wait to see what comes next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I've always been interested in how people respond when modern culture and civility is stripped away. I'm glad you felt Angela's role was fitting. She doesn't have a very large role overall but I wanted her to reflect that significant loss of Dwight from the wife's perspective. It's probably an unpopular opinion but I always liked Pete and Erin together! I also wanted Jim to have capable guys to have along with him and Pete seemed like he fit. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2020 08:26 pm Title: This is Home Now

LOVE this first chapter. The detail and mystery is awesome, and I like the mix you mentioned of 13 Hours, JR and QP. I can't wait to read more. And, hear what happened to Dwight. More please!

Author's Response: Thank you! I love his portrayal of those characters and I wanted to see that more woven in with Jim's personality. Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans