Reviews For Aeternum
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Wilbk Signed [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 08:04 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Love this story!

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:24 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

This just keeps getting better and better--literally every aspect of this is perfectly done. Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 10:09 am Title: To Finally Be Seen

I wish I could describe how excited I was to see an update on this. And how many time I re-read the chapter once I got through it. I concur with another review that it's nice to see some representation of shell-shock and PTSD in the fic, even seeing how it's touched Jim a bit as well. Great intro to the family too, hope we'll see more of Larissa soon. But, of course, the ending and him finally saying those three words out loud was perfect. This was touched on in earlier chapters too that female pleasure during sex at this time period probably was non-existent and him referring to it as a "mythical" thing makes sense (and was a bit hilarious). So seeing them BOTH get something out of it and desire each other was excellent. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: I'm so excited you are excited! Thank you so much for following this story and your wonderful reviews. :)

Reviewer: Makeda526 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 11:42 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

I can’t tell you how long I’ve been refreshing the page waiting for an update it’s embarrassing haha. Your writing is simply the best thank you for uploading

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Makeda!

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 10:00 am Title: To Finally Be Seen

I was so excited to see this update, and you didn’t disappoint! I was so looking forward to read about Pam meeting Jim’s family. I love how they lean on each other through every uncomfortable situation.
I’m looking forward to seeing how it goes with Jim’s father and this new society. They also have to run into Katy sometime.
Such a lovely story. I hope you keep writing so much more
Many , many jellybeans

Author's Response: Oh, Katy is coming and it will NOT be boring. ;) Thank you so, so much! 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 07:48 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

The arrival in Philly chapter does not disappoint. We knew there would be subtle fireworks with James' family and it's all there.

I think I've said it before but I'll say it again - you write their understated way of life so well. Because of the Society in which they live, everything is unsaid, and yet you show it all.

The bedroom scenes - don't even get me started. How do you make it so steamy with so few words??

This story is SO good.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Sprinkles!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 04:06 am Title: To Finally Be Seen

How do you do the thing with the words?! Seriously. The opening passages are everything returning home after a few years away is. “His world was broader now, and it made Philadelphia somewhat smaller” That’s exactly it. Exactly.

Every time she calls him James it does something to me. I’m not going to lie.
“I want you in my bed every night” Oh cool. That’s totally chill.

Bored. I — How? How is there still so much tension? It’s so very palpable. Oh my god. The French way. I’m dying. Dead. It’s so good.

"You are my family now." Oh. OH. Consider me double dead.

“For the first time in his life, he didn't feel alone in a room full of people.” Well, that’s the sweetest thing ever. I’m fine. So fine.

Okay, I’m very excited for Dwight to exist in this world.

I know they’re already married, but honestly Jim telling Pam he loves her is everything. This chapter was all I hoped it would be & so, so much more.

Author's Response:

I have to admit, I cheated a bit in the opening paragraph. I have moved thirteen times in my life, so relating to Jim coming home was breathtakingly easy. :P

Thank you as always, Jenna! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 10:14 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

There is a *lot* to love about this, but high on the list:

-James' interaction with Eleanore/Phyllis, who is clearly responsible for much of who he is
-The commentary on polite society choosing to ignore certain inconvenient truths
-The line "For the first time in his life, he didn't feel alone in a room full of people" which is both very appropriate for the story and VERY Jam

I'm interested to see where you're going with the psychological impact of the war on James and his brother - you don't read many stories touching on that theme set in this era.

Author's Response: The psychological impacts of war are huge and I hope to show that in varying ways, so I appreciate that you picked up on that. Thank you so much for following the story and taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 10:14 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

I saw a notification about this update in the middle of the night when I woke up for a couple of minutes because of my cat. After a short yet fierce debate with myself, I decided to read the chapter in the morning. But... I dreamed of this unread chapter the rest of the night and woke up with determination to sort my illusion from the real one.
The real one is so, so, so much better!
I don't even know where to start. Every little snippet is a shot through my heart. James, noticing the painful changes in a familiar surrounding and himself, and yet feeling that Pam's presence healing him? Boom! Discussion about the separate bedrooms? Boom! 'Again?' — 'Always.' Boom, boom, boom!
I like the new characters very much, they are both caring, funny, but not excessively. And that Eleanore so clearly saw that James was in love... awww.
Also, and that might be sounded weird, but I like that the eldest Mrs. Halpert disliked Pam so intensely. That feels very real, and I'm here to see where things go (but I really, really hope that Peter's wife will survive this time too!). And Larissa's passion — oh, I hope they'll become friends with Pam!
And the last scene. Oh my. I have no words. Your story and your writing make weird things with my heart rhythm, and my cheeks, and my ears, and the rest of me. The best addiction ever, I suppose.
Thank you so much! I guess, you know how highly I admire your talent, but I'll repeat it again. You're fantastic, and please, never stop writing.
Sorry, if it's too much, but I'm overwhelmed a little.

Author's Response: Dernhelm, it is NEVER too much! I'm so glad this was better than you had dreamed too. I think we will see much more of Larissa too. ;) Thank you, friend, as always! 

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 09:37 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

Bored, I was just wondering where you were! I am not disappointed you were lost in the Civil War era :D
The tension in this chapter was amazing and the whole meeting Jim's family thing was very suspenseful. I definitely got the sense that society's expectations at the time were extremely restricting and Jim's risking everything by even loving Pam much less promising himself to her for the rest of his life. This story is so great! Per usual, I can't wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, JJ! I've been busy lately but I never wander too far. ;) 

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 09:08 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

Okay, I ADORE Grégoire and Eleanore! I really hope we get to see more of them in future chapters. I'm also really looking forward to meeting this Schrute fellow you mentioned, whoever that may be.

I love that Larissa already loves Pam, as she should. I was so hoping that James's entire family would immediately love Pam but realistically I know that wasn't probable, so I'm glad that Larissa and seemingly Peter like her at least. I can't wait to see if Betsy warms up to Pam and how James's father reacts.

And then that ending? You wouldn't think this chapter could get any better and then you go and give us an ending like THAT and my mind is blown. I love how infatuated James is with Pam and that he is finally coming to terms with his feelings for her, no matter what his family or the other townfolk may think of his decisions about her.

I was so excited to see this had been updated and now I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I adore them too! It's a bit of an indulgence, I have many German and French friends living here and I just had to include that somewhere. Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 07:43 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

Well worth the wait for this. I mean there's just so much going on. This feels like a huge moment. They're finally in Philly and everything that entails. There's absolutly a change of pace with Besty here. Ususally in fic she's seen as warm and loving. Here she's quite cool to Pam and Jim. Of course the reasons are there. Seems like Jim's caused a bit of scandal with bringing home not only a wife, but a Southern wife.

You can feel all the emotions just simmering under the surface of propriety and society here. I don't blame Jim at all for just wanting to shut the world away and stay closed off with Pam. However if there's one thing we've seen time and again with this Jim, it's that he doesn't shirk his duty, regardless of how hard it is.

Of course the connection he and Pam share, especially in private is wonderful to see. Jim not really giving a damn about the "proper" way to do certian things feels very in character. Why should anyone else care about how he and Pam show their feelings for each other in the privacy of their own home?

That scene at the end though. Just beautiful. There Jim is brooding and here comes Pam. Showing him in word and action he's not alone. That she can help soothe the pains he's gone through in the past and those he'll face in the present. The big takeaway is of course he's let go of that feeling that men of his status don't marry for love. He did and found something so precious with Pam that the rules be damned. Magnificent writing as per usual.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Warrior. Yes, I took a slightly different route with Betsy and you will see that with several of his family members but I really want to explore some aspects/struggles of this time. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 07:02 pm Title: To Finally Be Seen

Just read these last two chapters and they are absolutely works of art. I’ve been singing your praises all day, as you know, but this story is seriousot like a master class in how to write historical fiction in a way that is engaging and entrancing and easy to get lost in in the BEST way, not get lost in where you’re like “what even are they talking about” or drowning in unnecessary detail or overly complicated, outdated language. Ugh. God. So so so good.

Author's Response: Again, your wonderful words have brought a smile to my face! I really do appreciate it. Thank you so, so much! <3

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2020 05:18 pm Title: She Passed Through

"he realized his definition of home had begun to shift infinitesimally away from a place and towards the woman sitting next to him" is the JAM-est line to ever JAM.

Really looking forward to seeing how they're received in Philadelphia!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2020 11:08 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

I'm massively impressed with what you've achieved here - it's a huge undertaking, and you've created a great story out of it. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Sam!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 07:42 pm Title: She Passed Through

I literally pumped my fist on the train when I saw this was updated. Another excellent chapter that is never long enough (but I'm greedy and admit that). I really love this deep connection and love they have for one another. It's very romantic in a time when love was not really love and marriage more arranged and women not really having physical pleasure. I can see the arrival in Philly being bumpy, especially since Jim married for love and his brothers did not, which could be an issue among them. But mostly, I really love the dialogue between them about this connection they have and not sure how to describe it. Plus, I love love love the fan art you put up with this story. Totally on point. So good, honestly I can't wait for more as always. Hitting reload waiting already.

Reviewer: Makeda526 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 01:11 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Definitely not one for period fan fiction but you have definitely made me a life time fan. Your way with words just ugh. Can’t wait for the next update

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 11:05 am Title: She Passed Through

Awwww! I’m so glad you updated. I love this story so much! So romantic and fluffy. I can’t wait to read what happens when Pam meets Jim’s family.
Lovely chapter

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 08:07 am Title: She Passed Through

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
Sorry, I'm being over emotional here, but this is so, so good. Beautiful and beyond, and I have not enough words to express that this chapter made me feel. God, I love it so much, every line, every comparison, every metaphor. And her question
"Is this normal, do you think? What it feels like between us, is this what it is usually like with a man and a woman?"
And his response... oh, I feel something like that about their relationship and this part is a perfection.
I wish I have more jellybeans to give you.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 04:43 am Title: She Passed Through

This is so good! I love the details of the clothes and the bits of history. And the growing relationship between the two of them is so steamy. I liked that Pam asked if this is typical between husband and wife.

Thank you for continuing to write!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 04:08 am Title: She Passed Through

“like the rib in her that once belonged to him” Oh good, you’re just easing me into this chapter, it’s not making me emotional like two sentences in. It’s fine. I’m fine. They’re not soulmates or anything.

“the unspoken meaning of her words, causing him to smirk” Boy oh boy, you gotta love newlyweds. I especially love these two finding their feet as newlyweds.

Is the housekeeper Phyllis? That’s my guess and I’m sticking with it.
"I think I would like to paint on that terrace." Okay. Okay. Okay. Wow. I... wow. Number one: how dare you? This is too perfect for words.

"Under no circumstances," Could they be any more adorable?!

"I can scarcely breathe when I'm away from you. That is certainly not typical." I can scarcely breathe reading this story. The sexual tension swilling around them is so damn good. It’s resolved and yet it’s still as palpable as ever. It’s amazing. Truly.

That last line. Home is not places, it is love. Yes. So much yes.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2020 10:18 pm Title: She Passed Through

What a lovely chapter. There is so much to adore about their relationship that I can't pick anything specific as it's all perfect!

Question though, do you have any book recommendations that would be similar to this story/era? I'm always looking for new books and this story has brought me back to enjoying historical fiction.

I'm looking forward to your next update!

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2020 10:11 pm Title: She Passed Through

Every chapter I read makes me fall more and more in love with this story. I love the way they talk, especially to each other. It's truly amazing. I could read this all day and never get tired of it. I can't wait to see what awaits them in Pennsylvania

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2020 07:21 pm Title: She Passed Through

So as always the gallantry of Col. James here is one of my favorite parts of this story. Staring down the shop owner was great. However Pam was also not backing down there too. Loved that just as much. She's got some grit to her.

Also loved all the referrences to canon. "Can I ask you a question," the house with a terrace, painting, and it all fits seemlessly. There's nothing forced and it's wonderful to read.

Their bond was strong to start out with and it's only growing with time. Great writing to bring that out.

And before I forget, the opening scene of them waking up in each others arms, just lovely. This feels kind of like a filler chapter. Just keeping things moving till we get to the madness that awaits them in Philly, but it's a a gormet meal of a filler chapter.

Reviewer: Makeda526 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 08, 2020 07:16 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

So excited for the next update. Great writing

Author's Response: Thank you! The wait for next update won't be too much longer, I promise. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans