Reviews For Aeternum
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2022 08:29 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Each time I come across a new chapter of this, I'm in awe of what you've achieved, and the world you've painted. Insightful and fabulous - thanks!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2022 06:04 am Title: Unfinished Souls

This continues to be such a good story, told in your beautiful writing.

The Oscar fact made me smile.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Sprinkles! It’s always so wonderful to hear that readers are enjoying it. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2022 12:15 pm Title: Unfinished Souls

Okay, I know this is not the intended takeaway here, but: Timothy Olyphant is a Vanderbilt? Why the heck am I just learning about this now?

"congratulating him on his few minutes of productive work." Ha. Too true.
Unfortunately quickly followed by the "oh, this time period is awful" reminder of the maternity corset. Which I'm guessing it will make me mad to Google? There's a lot of really good nods to the terrible gender and sexuality expectations of the culture they're living in throughout this chapter, along with the rather brutal realities of childbirth in this era.

"Love and fear, he concluded, cannot exist without the other." Wow.

Reading this in concert with the early chapters of Elysian makes me very concerned about the lack of contact with Helene and Penny, although I suppose again this could also be a simple nod to the realities of the communications of the time.

"I can walk on my own, you know. And I will not suddenly disappear if you leave me alone." Pamela or Canon Pam? The world may never know.

A RECONSTRUCTION ERA "YOU BOUGHT ME A HOUSE" AND A RECONSTRUCTION ERA "PAM/CECE/NEW BABY | EVERYTHING ELSE." Amazing! So sweet.

THE MARKUS/LARISSA. Wonderful. "eyed his friend suspiciously as it seemed he had put entirely too much thought into the scenario for a single man" also feels like something I can easily picture from either James or Canon Jim.

The dialogue in this chapter is just so rich and real, both in the party banter and in the mourning of Cindy. Really well done.

Hmmm. I am mildly suspicious of David. Feels like this is a little bit too easy of a break in the case for James. On the other hand, Charles does seem like the sort of man prone to making enemies out of those close to him.

Lovely to see an update on this one. I'm somewhat torn between telling you to take your time if this is what you produce and demanding the rest right this very minute.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much DJC! Your reviews are always so insightful and humorous. Yes, I had no idea about Timothy either but I was researching railroad barons and his name was attached to Cornelius. Too good to pass up. 

Communication was frustrating back then and Penny and Helene are a long way away. That’s all I willing to say right now. lol.

Also, I love writing Larkus, I really do. Wait till we get into it from Pam’s pov because while I adore James he can be a bit obtuse about his sister.  ;)  

Thank you for the lovely review!  

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2022 06:26 pm Title: Unfinished Souls

Oh, my goodness.

You already know that I thought this was beautiful. As it always is. You have such an incredible talent when it comes to weaving a story in period appropriate language but still making the characters relatable and modern and able to reach across time and find commonalities with me, the reader, right now in 2022. Gorgeous.

And I love that you don’t shy away from hard and heavy things and show how those events impact our main two, in a very realistic way that showcases their love for one another and how they’re the most important thing in each other’s lives.

And the Pam Cece New Baby/everything else fallback was just stunning. I literally gasped.

Friend, take whatever time you need. These chapters you write and the story you tell is hard to put together but it is worth the wait.

Author's Response: Thank you BT, so very much. I adore your reviews every single time. Also, you win my adoration (whatever that's worth lol) for picking up on the everything else line. :)

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2022 05:32 pm Title: Unfinished Souls

Omg you are back. I love this story and so happy to see an update on this one. This was great and just so them. You write so well and the passion between the two is so palpable.

Author's Response: Thank you for being so patient and thank you for taking the time to let me know you are enjoying it so much! 

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2022 05:32 pm Title: Unfinished Souls

Omg you are back. I love this story and so happy to see an update on this one. This was great and just so them. You write so well and the passion between the two is so palpable.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2022 12:37 pm Title: Unfinished Souls

How I have not read this fic so far I do not know. But boy am I glad you did an update and brought it to my attention, as it is SO GOSH DARN GOOD!! Getting to binge all 14 chapters has been the absolute highlight of the last two days.
It’s so wonderfully written and I am completely swept up in this world! Can’t wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Thank you SO much! I think a binge read is absolutely the best way to do it. Thank you for taking the time to let me know you love it! 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2022 10:13 am Title: Unfinished Souls

I'm having a hard time finding the words to describe my feelings about this chapter. I feel like I can't quite call it beautiful as so much of it is about death but even as haunting as it was, there was beauty, particularly in the opening and closing scenes.



The way you have such a pulse on the times, makes me think you are a time traveler (wink)...I just love the line how the doctor congratulates him and your commentary of his few minutes of productive work. It is interesting and quite backwards that the vulgarity is in continuing to make love to your pregnant wife and not in seeking physical pleasures elsewhere...but it is clear through how you portray them, that for Jim there would be no pleasure with anyone else but her, particularly in her new shape, which 'stirred something primal' in him. I

n the next, beautiful scene I love the way you point back to Elysian, her writing to her mother and sister of the news...just lovely. But it was the art studio gift that brought me joy for the way you took the canon moment and re-framed it for this story. I loved the mention of the green chaise lounge and whether you meant it or not it reminded me of the Papasan chair and scene from the Fools and Clowns chapter of AFD, and made me smile.

But this really line really resonated with me...

"Of course, why would I not? Your talent is admirable and why should we not have that reflected in our home?" and you will understand why when I post my next chapter of 360.

The exchange between Larissa, Pam, and James, but more so the look passed between the sister and sister-in-law just tickled me as did the hint of a Larissa, Markus future pairing.

How my heart just breaks not only for Pete but for James as one can't help but think of his worry for Pam. And it does lead well into what's to follow- the grief turning to a need to seek revenge.

I noticed the use of colors once again, comparing the pale yellow and blue to the black and greys - maybe a metaphor of the brightness she brings him despite all the sadness and ugliness that has been surrounding them lately?

"You are my life. And this baby. Everything else falls uselessly off the page." - this line encapsulates everything he must be feeling.

The plot thickens with the scene with David - Jim cleverly trying to find common ground with him - and I'll be waiting to see where this goes...though I imagine it will turn somewhat dark (I know you don't watch Succession but got a twinge of a Succession vibe here) - and that darkness is just one of the things haunting poor James.

Thank you for ending with them acting on their lightness and love.

So yes, I think this chapter was beautiful.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you caught the Elysian tie-in. I know they are separate,  albeit portraying the same events, but I also want to convey how they are so intimately intertwined. 

I think it is no secret I am loving the Larkus vibes. Great catch with the colors too and that was intentional this time as she is, both literally and metaphorically, light to him.  The line "You are my life. And this baby. Everything else fall uselessly off the page." was my little 1865 inclusion of his note in "The List" episode.

 Thank you as usual for the lovely review! It is always so much fun to get you thoughts.  

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2022 12:03 pm Title: Unfinished Souls

The poor Halpert family!
They keep getting hit. It’s no wonder
James is so anxious about Pam’s safety.
After what has been revealed about the marriages
of James’s brothers, it’s no wonder his family didn’t
approve of Pam, at first. They clearly see marriage
more as a business arrangement than for love.
I think that’s why James never would have been
truly happy with Katie. It was like he was trying too hard to love her because he knew that he had to be with Katie. I think James wanted to love Katie more for her sake than his. Which in the long run he wouldn’t have been happy with her.
Much like Karen in canon. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Yes, they have certainly been given their share of trouble. Marriage was absolutely a business arrangement at their social standing and that is what makes James and Pam so delightlfully unique. Very interesting the comparison you draw to Karen. I've never looked at it from that angle before. Thank you so much for the review! 

Reviewer: HazyGirl Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2022 10:41 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Oh, and I love, love, love this line:

"Just when he thought he might be finally going mad, the doctor descended and with a triumphant handshake, congratulating him on his few minutes of productive work."

It really puts the human perspective into history - they way society publicly treated pregnancy was probably vastly different to how it was treated behind closed doors.

Author's Response:

Yes! This time period in the US was full of societal contradictions and this was definitely an example of that. It was also my little way of poking fun at how men do very little ultimately in the making of children. ;) 

Thank you!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2022 10:40 am Title: Unfinished Souls

Lots going on with this chapter that's for sure. As always I love how devoted to Pam Jim is. Especially after going back and re-reading some of their earliest encounters with each other. To see the way their love for each other from those early days grow and mature in this story is a master work of writing. James giving Pam her own art studio here, what a wonderful way to incorporate one of the best scenes from the show into this story. Beautiful way for James to show his devotion to her like that.

Another hard hit for the Halpert family as well. This time not as surprising for us as the reader considering we knew from earlier chapters of Cindy's condition. Still, it's another hard blow. And now Peter seems to be out of commission as well in regards to dealing with anything. So it falls to James. James may not feel himself up to the task, but I've got a feeling he will be. All the pressures he's already faced seem to have tempered him into the kind of man who will see honor his satisfied and justice is done. I also get the feeling that if Pam wasn't in the picture he would be quite a bit more hard on those he is after. Then again if Pam wasn't in the picture this whole mess probably wouldn't have happened but that's besides the point. What is the point is that it seems like he's got a lead on exactly who is the man responsible for causing much of the heartache that has visited the Halperts and a lead on the man who is pulling the strings behind it all. Should proved very interesting to see how it all unfolds.

As always the private moments between James and Pam are my favorite parts of this story. It's there that they both let their guards down. How they both reassure and comfort each other. How they are both the light for each other in an otherwise very long stretch of darkness. From their bedroom banter in the beginning to James showing Pam around her new studio, and here at the end where he is wonderfully honest in letting her know he heard her conversation. The two of them build each other up so much. By binding themselves together all the more tightly they'll be able to face things just that much more strongly. Soft words soothe a restless spirit and I see that written so well here.

And what's that there in your opening notes for this chapter? A sequel in the works already! More reason to look forward to anything you have to offer. Can't wait!

Author's Response:

Thank you for yet another insightful review! Yes, James has some difficult things in front of him and some of those things he didn't want to ever have to do again (killing someone). We will see how it all plays out indeed! 

Yes, I have outlined the sequel (rather excitedly, I have big plans) but I can see now that interest in this story has dissipated so I may put it on the backburner for now. We'll see. 

Thank you for your continued support! It thrills me that you enjoy it so much.  

Reviewer: HazyGirl Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2022 10:34 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

I am so happy to have another chapter to read! This is my favorite story! You are such a talented writer. I've had a really rough year; reading your stories is like s balm to my soul. My heart aches for James and worries for Pamela. I can't wait to find out what happens next.

Author's Response:

I have to say this review absolutely made my week! I can completely relate to the rough year and the fact that this story has helped, even in the smallest of ways, is one of the most tremdous compliments I could receive. 

Serioulsy, thank you for your kind words and your continued support!  

Reviewer: Yellowberry22 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2022 06:52 am Title: Unfinished Souls

You say about being a slow writer, and while I constantly ache for an update, all is forgiven when you bless us with another chapter.

Your writing is incredible, I feel like I can’t speak English properly for about an hour after reading because every sentence is so beautifully crafted!

James and Pamela are so Jim and Pam! But you’ve fit them in so well with the time.

Can’t wait for more, but until then I’ll ache! Great job!

Author's Response: Oh thank you SO much! I really do appreciate your patience with me. ;) I'm absolutely thrilled you love this story. Thank you for the review! 

Reviewer: TheCelticOne Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2022 05:56 pm Title: She Passed Through

As an Outlander fan, I appreciate its influence in this story. I'm really enjoying it!

Author's Response: Yes! Thank you for picking up on that! You will likely notice a couple more nods to Outlander coming up. Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: radontestkit Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2021 07:09 pm Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

The detail in your writing is absolutely incredible - I can picture every character, every room so vividly. I had a hunch about Pam's pregnancy a few chapters back (when she talked about her tiredness) - I am so happy that my suspicions are confirmed!!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! I'm thrilled you love it. 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 07:01 pm Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

Oh, this Jim is such a MAN. In all the best ways. I love his excitement at Pam's news, and his action to protect her by writing his will. The scene with Katy was so good. I could feel the ice between the words. This story just keeps unfurling and I'm here for it.

Author's Response: Oh I adore James. Like big puffy heart adore him. Thanks for the review Sprinkles!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2021 05:12 am Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

Guess I should have started with this one, (the news that I was unsure I had know before in Elysian).

SO the opening to this chapter with the watch and inscription felt like it was written for me but perfectly ties to Jim's sense of duty to his family and his guilt.

As did the whole Thomas relationship with Vanessa serve as good set-up for Jim's drawing of the will and while she (you) expressed it well it is not something you wish to think about it is such a huge act of love (in those times especially) and weaves perfectly to the news Pam has (which he may have already been suspicious of because he is just so well, Jim, no matter that he goes by James here).

The way you aligned the sharing of the news, especially so and Jim's reaction to the show version...I saw what you did
***He rested his forehead on hers, their breaths mixing in soft communion as he struggled to understand the new emotion settling its place in his soul.*** the same vision as the on the show.

The whole chapter was so beautifully written, shiny like polished silverware and textured like fine linen napkins.

Echoing the others who have said it before - please don't keep us waiting so long for the next update.

Author's Response: Thank you Max! Your reviews are always so wonderful. 

Reviewer: Makeda526 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2021 07:42 pm Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

Ahhhh!! I really hope the next update won’t take so long. So invested haha

Author's Response: Thank you! I’m so sorry I’m such a slow writer but I promise there is an end in sight. Thanks!

Reviewer: Clover Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2021 05:37 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

I cannot believe I've never written a review on this story. I think it's because I'm always overwhelmed after reading a chapter. But I have two words: EXQUISITE! and PRECIOUS! Oh, and two other words . . . amazing research! I love this SO VERY MUCH. This Jim and Pam are tucked away in a very precious corner of my heart and I'm always excited when I get to revisit them when another chapter comes out. Please, please do not make us wait so long for the next chapter. Please. Love this!

Author's Response: I have to say, this review made me smile SO much. Thank you for sharing your excitement with me. Knowing there are people out there enjoying this so much makes all the time and energy worth it. :) Thanks! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2021 11:51 am Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

Alas, poor Thomas. Maybe it was the Moores or maybe not (it seems obvious that it was from the direction you're taking the plot but so much more tragic if the next act plays out and it turns out it's just a coincidence), but either way it seemed clear Thomas was headed for a dark ending. As you allude to here, he's really as much a casualty of the war as he would have been had he not survived one of those dozen battles.

"Back to wearing black, like a reoccurring disturbing dream." In addition to being a good line, this pairs quite well with the debut of Elysian.

I'm going with Katy isn't involved. The Moores don't seem like the type to include women in "men's matters." On the other hand, taunting her ex at his brother's funeral just because you're mad about being jilted makes her her own sort of awful. Nice folks, those Moores.

The introduction of David is intriguing. I feel like from a modern perspective "dark habits" and "not well" can mean a myriad of interesting things, some of which might make him a potential ally for the Halperts. Looking forward to seeing where you're going with that.

MARISSA. OR LARKUS. OR JUST LARK. That is all.

Hmm. Sort of a misstep from James here - for all his respect of his undocile and very questioning wife, he's being less than honest with her about a matter of grave concern to their shared life. Wonder if that's going to come back to bite him.

A lovely ending - and a nice way to balance the scales in a pretty dark chapter.

Sorry things have been chaotic for you. But will be waiting on tenterhooks for this to update.

Author's Response: I’m here for Larkus, I’m just saying. Thank you as always! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2021 09:09 pm Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

Even a funeral scene. A FUNERAL SCENE. You write it flawlessly and beautifully and make their love for each other the focal point and my god. How do you do it? You make it look so flawless—and it is flawless. I loved this, the hint of intrigue and the reassurance and the BABY oh my god. Dying.

Author's Response: Thank you for putting a smile on my face like you always do with your reviews. 😘

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2021 11:48 am Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

I was so excited to see this back again!
James has really kicked up a hornet’s nest.
If Katie’s family is willing to kill Thomas,
then they sure as hell won’t have a problem going after Pam, especially they think since she’s the reason James didn’t marry Katie.
I had a feeling we were going to see a JAM baby.
No doubt it will make James even more protective
than he was. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! James certainly has a way of getting himself in predicaments. Lol. Thanks for the review! 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2021 06:07 pm Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

This makes me very, very happy as well. My heart soars with the eagle’s nest. Their talk in the stable, the little touches and hugs and comments just melted me. And then when she said she might be pregnant, I think I died a little in the best way possible. These two own my whole heart.

Author's Response: The own mine too if I’m being perfectly honest. :) Thank you as always! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2021 05:50 pm Title: A Bard's Sad Tale

First of all, really glad this one's back. I'd been missing it. I get other projects came up, which is fine. Still glad to be back here with this one.

More intrigue to be sure. Again I don't think it was some random happenstance that led to Thomas' death. There seems to be far to many undercurrents flowing through the streets. Even more so with that talk of the younger Moore brother and where he might tend to spend his time.

A bit more history of the Halpert family too. And some interesting conversation between Markus and Larissa. That could be fun to explore.

However as always it's in the private moments with James and Pam that this story shines. First in the stable where Pam just knows to come and find him. How they can not exactly cast off the worries of the world, but share them with each other. Same there in the study. Love that Pam is willing to talk to him in a way many other women of the era might not. And James in kind is more observant of her than many men of the era too. Love it. And maybe a nod to canon there? James and Pam are fairly new to their relationship yet here comes the little one. Not that James needs even more of a reason to protect her but still. Great update. Now to go read the companion piece!

Author's Response: I’m glad you appreciate their private moments because those are my favorite to write and I see them so vividly in my mind. Thank you Warrior! 

Reviewer: Wilbk Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2021 08:29 pm Title: Only Truth Between Us, Remember?

Please update this soon!! This is my favorite story!!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans