Reviews For Aeternum
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 06:37 pm Title: Any Other Name

You have some of the very best opening paragraphs I have read! I was immediately drawn into this chapter, unable to look up until I reached the end.
And the ending?! I hope you have the next chapter ready. I thought this was looking a little too easy for James. But I have faith. Look out, Mr. Anderson. James Halpert is about to attack you with the North.
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, HC! 

“Look out, Mr. Anderson. James Halpert is about to attack you with the North.“ —this made me laugh out loud. Thank you for your comment! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2020 03:02 am Title: Any Other Name

“I…can’t.” Rip my heart out and stomp on it in a new context why don’t you...

“And now?”
“I choose you.” This is TOO good. I just. I have no words. It’s perfect.

She said yes. It’s fine. I’m fine.

“With her nod, he tapped the door frame nervously and said his goodbye.” Despite the very different world they’re in here, they’re still so very Jim & Pam. This has strong “it’s a date” vibes and I am living.

It’s such a great inclusion that Jim is to take over his father’s newspaper - Jim running a paper is very Dunder Mifflin.

Ooooh and now we’re getting a Cocktails/The Negotiation moment. Where is Dwight with a can of pepper spray when you need him?!

Author's Response: I love your commentary, it always makes me smile. I was hoping someone would catch the little details I tried to put in from the show. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 09:20 pm Title: Any Other Name

Very good for Jim to be doing as much of the honorable things as he can. I'm very much enjoying the quality of Col. Halpert here. This is a Jim who's not scared off easily and I love that.

Nice touch with the line from Casino Night. Very fitting for the period as well.

I didn't think Roy would take this lying down. However he also has a posse now. But Jim has an Army issue revolver and in the hands of a skillful marksman, those are powerful weapons.

Really looking forward to the next update on this. You're just amazing at setting the scenes and conjuring up all sorts of great images.

Author's Response: Thanks, warrior, so very much! Yes, I would like to think this is who Jim would be having faced what he’s had to face and the upbringing he had. Thank you! 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 09:17 pm Title: Any Other Name

Uh oh, they've got themselves a posse!
For some reason that ending has got Big Iron stuck in my head, so thanks for that.

Another very enjoyable chapter, I'm sure Jim's luck upon arriving in Philly will be complicated,but I'm glad to see Pam is agreeing to go along with this,it warms my heart!

Keep up the good work, looking forward to see how Jim defuses or dispatches the posse.

Author's Response:

“For some reason that ending has got Big Iron stuck in my head, so thanks for that.“  —that literally made me laugh. 

Thanks for the comments and I’m glad you are liking it! 

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 08:52 pm Title: Any Other Name

Liking the pace, looking forward to the journey away from drunken Mr. Anderson.

Author's Response: Yes, thankfully he will be left behind indeed. Thanks! 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 07:58 pm Title: Any Other Name

I can't complement you enough for your writing. It paints such a picture. I didn't want this to end and then when it did, it was a cliffhanger! It was so great though, that I had a smile on my face by the end of it. Roy is the worst and Jim is like a knight in shining armor in this saving Pam from Roy.

Author's Response: Beth you are so kind, thank you! Roy is definitely the worst. :)

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 07:27 pm Title: Any Other Name

I had no idea how my week would start, but here I am, bouncing with excitement at 5 a.m. Not a bad morning!
I love, I love, I love it! If course, James would be scared and I had a minor heart attack when the blue silk was mentioned. But then... excuse me, I need to jump around my apartment once more time :)
Oh, and I squeaked from delight every time when I noticed all these little show references. My favourite, without doubts, the door tapping :)
Once again I'm crushed with cliffhanger, but wow... take all the time you need, but please, please, please, write more!

Author's Response: Aww, your comments made me smile and I’m thrilled you are enjoying it! It is fun trying to find ways to work those little details in. Thank you! 

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 03:46 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

THIS IS AMAZING OH MY HEAVENS I don't know how you can make the setting feel not at all out of place, so real, and yet preserve the Jim-Pam relationship. This is so good.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoy historical AUs so I’m looking forward to writing these two in this very interesting time period. Thanks for taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 03:21 am Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

Really good, as always. Didn't want it to end. Writing and storytelling is so good. I love where you ended it too. Such a tease! I cannot wait for more of this and your other fic, as always!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Bayjb! I couldn't resist ending it with that line. ;)

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 11:55 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

'You saw her beauty, but not the iron underneath.'
It was said about another heroine, but gosh, that's that I thought when I read about this Miss Beesly. Just amazing. Can't wait to see what happens next!
And I love your writing and admire all the researches you've made. Thank you so much for this story!

Author's Response: Oooh, that quote fits her perfectly. Thank you so much for your kind words! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 11:10 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

I just... Words escape me. Feels. All the feels! This was an incredible chapter. So very emotive. The way you describe things is just so powerful. From Jim’s stay in hospital to the way Pam feels under his hands when he steadies her. You tell a story so beautifully.
I love that Jim is so inexplicably drawn to her... I hope his rather rash, but inevitable, proposal pays off...

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! One of the things about writing this time period is the subtlety and restraint and it's sort of fun writing that between them. Although, all bets are off once they're married. ;)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 08:44 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

Hooray for some thrilling heroics on Jim's part. Loved that he just sprang into action like that. Great way to see him behave. Shows his caliber and character really well.

Roy continues to be a complete jerk. Having Jim so unafraid of staring him down is such a great diversion from what we see in canon. I really like seeing Jim standing up to Roy and standing up for Pam like that.

Speaking of Pam, she's no pushover here either. What with her getting away from Roy as much as she was. Now granted she's constrained by the societal pressures of the time, but I really like the spunk I see from her.

Jim's right of course. The smell of burnt human flesh is not something one ever forgets if they're exposed to it. It tends to linger. Vivid scene there about Jim's recovery from that wound. He's very lucky to have survived that infection. Most didn't back in the day.

Really liking the dynamics you've got between Jim and Pam. It's very sweet to behold. That cliffhanger though is a beast. Please don't leave us hanging to long. I'm really loving this story and can't wait to read the next chapter.

Author's Response:

YES. It always bugged me that he didn't stand up to him in canon. I wanted to give Pam a little sass. Jim being around brings out that in her I think. 

Thank you, warrior!  

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 08:02 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

Wow! Ok! That was fast with the proposal, no beating around the bush there. Too bad our little Jimmy has a Katy waiting for him back home, I feel like that's going to cause some problems.

Looking forward to seeing how this all unravels!

Author's Response: Yes, there will likely be quite a few complications waiting in Philly. ;) Thank you! 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 07:32 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

I must say, both your stories are complete perfection. They take you away to a different place and time. I was quite excited to see this updated and it did not disappoint. That cliff hanger was cruel, but I bet will be oh so worth it! Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: You are too kind, Beth! Thank you. :)

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2020 05:17 pm Title: Like a Songbird That Has Fallen

Damnit. Now you've sucked me into another one. I loved/hated the way you wrote Roy- an exact translation of him from canon character to post-Civil War. Well done, you.

Author's Response:

Haha I'm sorry. 

Yeah, Roy is a jerk in every iteration. lol 

Thank you, as always!  

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 06, 2020 06:19 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Oh my God. I love this so much. Now, I didn't pay all that much attention to history in school, but I *have* read Gone with the Wind and North and South more times than any person should, so this all reads very accurate to me and I'm obsessed.

I kept re-reading it this morning, trying to decide what my favorite line was, but there are so many beautiful moments in this story, I think I have to just go with the one at the end where Jim's first thoughts are "She has a fiance" and then he reminds himself about his own fiancee. Poor Jim, he's in so much trouble and I don't hate it at all.

Author's Response:

You have read Gone with the Wind? I'm impressed! I enjoy historical fiction but I must say I am finding myself putting a ton of research into this one. 

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to comment!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2020 02:40 am Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Normally I don’t love AU stories set in this time period but I am very in to this. The writing is excellent and it’s an intriguing story, especially with the cliffhanger at the end. Love it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2020 10:58 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

This is already so gripping! I love historical AUs and am always so in awe of people who can write them so flawlessly as you’ve written this opening chapter. You make it look easy! You are very talented and I can’t wait to see more of this.

Author's Response: Thank you BT! I love historical AUs too and I hope I can do it justice. 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 09:58 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

I have no words, this is so beautiful. The setting, the style, the... well, everything.
Can't wait to see more!
And thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Dernhelm! I am thrilled you are liking it so far! :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 08:18 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Your talent for world building is on display once more. I love this AU you've got going. Speaking as a bit of a military history buff, the feeling of the immediate post-Civil War days is spot on.

I loved the instant connection between James and Pamela. Lovely to see all those sparks flying between them. Roy is setting up to be a proper villain here. And now time for some thrilling heroics maybe? I've got all sorts of ideas of where you might take this. Can't wait to see where we go next.

Magnificent job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much warrior! I love history but my husband is the huge military history buff in our house and so I picked his brain a bit. ;) I did try to make everything as accurate as possible; all the battles, raids and commanders are real. Also the first factory in Asheville was indeed Enfield Rifle Co so that was an easy fit. 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 07:52 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

This is amazing! You are quite a talented writer. This was a story I didn't even know I needed!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Beth! I'm glad you are enjoying it. :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 04:39 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Well, I think you’ve just proven your note at the beginning: as it turns out I do love Jim and Pam in every time and setting (especially if you’re writing them).

Author's Response: Aww, thanks Jenna! I think it will be fun to see them deal with the societal issues of that time. 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 04:25 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

Interesting twist to the age old formula having Jim already engaged. I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 04:01 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

You’re so, so talented!
Love that Roy is still an idiot in a previous life, though this Roy is just pure gross!

Please continue this story - I’m desperate to know what happens :D

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! Yes, Roy was extremely easy to write in this wretched, jerky role. Lol. ;)

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2020 03:46 pm Title: Wayfaring Stranger

So, I typically don't read any type of historical fiction. It's never been my style. But your writing has me wanting to do a deep dive in the Civil War. I'm SO excited for another story! Your writing is phenomenal! Also, Jim calling Roy ball-less was just delicious.

Author's Response:

Well, I'm glad you made an exception! It was ridiculously easy to write Roy in this role of a jerky, pig of a man, that was too lazy/self absorbed to go to war. Lol.

Thank you so much for reading Ag! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans