Reviews For Paradox
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:22 pm Title: The things to remember

This is such a pretty, mysterious story-- thank you for writing it!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2020 09:25 pm Title: The things to remember

I really am enjoying this story! Again, I think you are just such a wordsmith. The line about the hazelnuts blew my mind, that was so genius. And I love how you’ve constructed time travel in this story. The imagery of the corridor is so fun and imaginative. Great job, Dernhelm!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2020 09:18 pm Title: The things to remember

I really am enjoying this story! Again, I think you are just such a wordsmith. The line about the hazelnuts blew my mind, that was so genius. And I love how you’ve constructed time travel in this story. The imagery of the corridor is so fun and imaginative. Great job, Dernhelm!

Reviewer: sophieandsitcoms Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2020 08:47 pm Title: The beginning of everything

So funny- Nov 11, 2005 is my exact birthday :0 love the story!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2020 04:46 am Title: The things to remember

“She had all the time in the world and didn't want to waste any second” This is the loveliest notion ever.

I like that her roommate can sense changes in her. Time has seemingly passed for Pam, but not the people surrounding her. It really brings it back to the magic of this adventure she’s on with Jim.

The time capsule that Pam’s in sounds fascinating. Such a strange collection of seemingly significant artefacts to the time - but so very eclectic to someone who’s actually lived it.

“the knowledge that they shared at least some cultural context. It made him less alien.” This makes so much sense. He’s a bit of a mystery, but his moments of connection with Pam definitely help to humanize him.

This is a sweet ending to the chapter and totally feels like a natural place to take a break. Once again, I kind of feel like I have more questions than answers and I’m super intrigued by this world you’re creating. I hope the next update isn’t too far away!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2020 09:13 pm Title: The things to remember

This was fun. I kinda like that Pam gets to join Jim in these travels. The bit with the time capsules was a nice way to have a place for a reprieve. Very descriptive of everything too. Nice job.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2020 04:40 pm Title: The things to remember

Some very sweet moment with Jim and Pam this chapter. You also teased us with enough details of Jim's "Job" to get me curious, because from the snippets you gave us it sounds like there might be a time-travelling Michael, and that is just hilarious and terrifying at the same time.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2020 01:35 pm Title: The things to remember

I liked this a lot! Nice to get some more insight into how this 'works' and also some very sweet Pam reflection. Good work!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 12:31 pm Title: The belated gift

Yeah that seems like Pam. Wanting to go now I mean. I like this psuedoDoctor Jim. More please!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! The next one is already here :) 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 12:25 pm Title: The beginning of everything

Oh yeah, I like your time travel conveyance. And the way you chose a moment to visit. Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you, Comfect! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 12:21 pm Title: The stranger in the woods

Very the Time Travelers Wife. Do you own that one?

But I'm in. Let's see where and when this takes us.

Author's Response: I knew about its existence but neither read nor watched it. After your comment, though, I watched a trailer and... yeah, there are some similarities, but they're unintentional. 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2020 08:49 am Title: The belated gift

Of course Pam gets painted like a French girl by a crazed french painter, why not? That was a really fun adventure for them to go on. And the ending,Jim giving her the button for if she wants to see him again and her immediately pressing it... That had me smiling, it was great. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this goes next.

Author's Response: Thank you, DG, I really appreciate your feedback! The next one is here :)

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2020 06:38 am Title: The belated gift

It must be a coincidence that I just started a rewatch of Doctor Who, or maybe you and I share a brain! This is so imaginative and lovely and it gives me all the fun sci-fi feels as well as all the fun romance feels! I love the image of Jim as the time traveler and Pam his companion, and LOVE that he’s shown up in some vulnerable places in her life and helped to pull her out of the funk they left her in. Plus you write their voices so well. I have no trouble at all believing it’s Jim and Pam. I love this so much! I can’t wait to read about their next adventure.

Author's Response: Thank you for your sweet review, BT! I think it wasn't a coincidence, it was a perfect timing ;) I hope you'll like the next chapter. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2020 12:15 am Title: The belated gift

‘Oh, you remember me!’And he just dives right in for a hug. I love it. He sure knows how to make an entrance!

‘Let’s kill Hitler!’She doesn’t even question the whole let’s go anywhere to any time thing. She just jumps straight in. I feel like this is Pam all over - with this choice, not so much the jumping into things (but I do like this boldness, I feel like a lot of it comes just from it being Jim).

Her calling Jim a slob is such a cute nod to canon. His teasing right back was also adorable.

Oooh. Pam’s poster changing to an image of herself is such a cool twist. She definitely made an impression.

“you can either come to terms with the future or try to change it” This scares me a little bit. I feel like there’s something ominous in Pam’s future given the look that flashes across Jim’s face...

That’s such a cute ending to this chapter! I didn’t want Jim to leave her either...

Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Jenna! I agree that Pam here might be a little off her character, but I believe that Roy affected her life significantly, hushing her and her ambitions. So, without him, she might be a tad bolder :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 09:37 am Title: The belated gift

This was fun. Lovely to see how this Jim and Pam interact. I like that we're getting a little more of the backstory of how everything is set up as well. Jim goes on missions, certain things can't be changed, timeless clothes and the right attitude will get you far.

Pam's delight in looking at the paintings was a joy to behold. It was so sweet to envision how her face lit up. When she saw that she was the inspiration for the new painting I thought that part was well written too. Felt in keeping that Pam would start to freak out about some of those things. Nice to have Jim there to calm her down and explain a bit more. Likewise giving her the beacon was a great tidbit to put in.

Still lots of questions about how's, where's, and why's, but it's all a ton of fun. Well done with this one.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Warrior! I'm glad you liked this story, and I hope you enjoy the continuation as well.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 09:27 am Title: The belated gift

More please!!! I’m so loving this

Author's Response: Thank you, Merria! The next one is in :) 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2020 07:00 am Title: The beginning of everything

Jim insipiring Pam to paint was my favourite moment of the chapter. One does have to wonder how much Jim the time travelling alein cheats with foreknowledge of Pam's likes and dislikes though! I'm glad that you were able to turn Pam's worst first date around though, it was really sweet.

Author's Response:

Thank you, DG! I'm dying to discuss all of these moments, but I can't. What I can tell you is that it's a pure coincidence that Jim showed her something that inspired Pam to paint... aaand I have to shut up here because of spoilers :(  

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2020 03:06 am Title: The beginning of everything

“Jim.” Ahhhhh! It’s happening! I love that she recognizes his voice so instantaneously.

“Second time?” Which begs the question: how many times has Jim seen Pam? This answer makes me feel like it’s more than two...

Oooh. It’s been a long time since I watched any Doctor Who - is it basically a tardis that Jim shows Pam? Whatever it is, it’s all sorts of mysterious. I like that Jim showed up at the end of her terrible Roy date.

Pam’s mother asking how her date went and her basically forgetting about Roy made me laugh.
Jim lingering outside definitely seems like a good sign...

Author's Response:

Thank you, Jenna! Jim has a time-travelling device, but it's not Tardis (though it inspired me hugely). 

I'm glad that this chapter made you laugh and I hope you'll enjoy the next one :)  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2020 09:05 pm Title: The beginning of everything

There's absolytly a very strong Dr. Who vibe in this chapter. Of course there's not TARDIS, but the key and hallway of doors are definatly bigger on the inside.

This chapter was a lot of fun. To see teenage Pam go from despondant to her lighting up with Jim there was a lot of fun to read. I still have no idea where this is going, but it's a lot of fun. Especially with Jim inspiring Pam to be more creative with her artistic side. Lots of fun there.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Warrior! I like that Tardis joke and I thought about it while writing, but otherwise, Tardis and the Corridor have little in common. 

Hope you'll like the next chapter!  

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2020 11:09 am Title: The beginning of everything

Such an interesting concept! Looking forward to seeing where you take it.

Author's Response: Thank you, GreenishEyed! The next chapter is here.. 

Reviewer: dwigt Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2020 09:23 am Title: The stranger in the woods

Great chapter. Can't wait to see what's next.

Author's Response: Thank you, dwight! The next one is here :) 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2020 08:36 am Title: The beginning of everything

This is so strange and fascinating! I really don’t know where you’re going with this, but I’m here for the ride. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you, Merria! Hope you'll enjoy the ride :) 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2020 03:44 am Title: The stranger in the woods

Poor Pam not enjoying camp. That’s no fun. I like that she left most her stuff so that they would assume the worst (instead of her just running away).

This is very interesting! Jim seeming to know Pam - or at least an older version of Pam.
“Such a dork” How is this so cute?! Their banter flows so well, despite everything.

I have no idea what’s happening! I haven’t seen Howl’s Moving Castle for a very long time, & I’ve never watched Outlander so I feel like I have no frame of reference. But, I’m very curious to see what happens next! (The mention of Karen also has me very intrigued/apprehensive).

Author's Response: Thank you, Jenna! I feel quite anxious about mixing different timelines, but I promise that eventually, everything comes clear and Karen will appear in all her glory; I'm anticipating it:) 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2020 04:57 pm Title: The stranger in the woods

I wouldn't say it was creepy, it was quite intriguing! As someone whos never watched any of the shows and only really heard of them in passing, I'm really excited to see where this goes because I really don't know what their arcs look like.

Sad that Pam's the victim of teenage drama, but what good protagonist isn't? I liked the hint of the supernatural feeling that you got with the lost in the woods and Pam's methodical backtracking still leading to the same place, kinda spooky.

Of course Jim is a time travelling sarcastic alien. Makes perfect sense lol.

I really look forward to seeing where this goes next.

PS I hate mobile.

Author's Response:

Thank you, DG! To be honest, I try to avoid tropes from these shows and just borrowed these or those elements for the atmosphere. 

Hope you'll like the next part :)  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2020 01:19 pm Title: The stranger in the woods

Well I'll give you credit for an interesting set up that's for sure. Teenage Pam with and older time travelling Jim. I have no idea where this is going but I'm anxious to find out.

Author's Response: Thank you, Warrior! I hope you'll like the way I chose for this story. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans