Reviews For Our Way Back Home
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:22 pm Title: Chapter 11

Well my fave part was cardboard Dwight but the voicemail was a closer second than I expected. Lovely ending, thanks so much for sharing this story!

Author's Response: Cardboard Dwight is one of my prouder moments in life. Iím so glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and all your reviews! :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:20 pm Title: Chapter 10

I like that you have him having to double back to turn down the job. It's a nice touch.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:19 pm Title: Chapter 9

I like this version of the conversation. It always bugs me that he doesn't explicitly tell her personally, and this helps.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:17 pm Title: Chapter 8

Dang yo. Good use of the Austen! Especially the timing of the quote.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:15 pm Title: Chapter 7

Oh this was a good chapter. Nice work on the angst especially for Jim as he's trying to move on.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:12 pm Title: Chapter 6

Yeah that's... Sad. Jim and not answering texts, man...

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:11 pm Title: Chapter 5

That was a bit of a jump: when did he hear about Pam? I feel like knowing how long that took might be important. But this does do a good job of introducing Karen here.

Author's Response: I think I just knew I had plenty of sad coming, so I rushed it. Youíre totally right, and I think I could have fleshed out his feelings while he was in Stamford a little better.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 4

I like that last moment with her mom. Not that I don't like the rest; just that was very good.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 07:06 pm Title: Chapter 3

I'm glad you went Pam pov here. It really worked for pulling us into her side of the emotions. And it gave us Jim being a dick without his self justification.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 11:10 am Title: Chapter 11

Super cute. Always fun to have a fresh look at the first date. I absolutly LOVED the cardboard Dwight. That was just a great. A really fun way to show that the Real Jim is back. Of course afterwards is lovely as well. They're finally open, honest, and most of all together. Just lovely.

Well done with your first story. That can always be a challenge but you did it nicely.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Iím so glad you liked it! I am sure the first date has been written a million times but itís my favorite unanswered question from the series. And Iím pretty proud of Carboard Dwight. Haha

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2020 03:41 am Title: Chapter 11

“Yeah, he really knows his way around a pair of beets.” This was such a fun exchange!

After the angsty build up, this fluff is super sweet. I love that he came back to kiss her. What a lovely way to end this!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!! Iím glad you liked the ending. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 02, 2020 10:15 am Title: Chapter 10

Excellent little scene there to get into Jim's mindset. His realization he wasn't being fair and hurt Karen is always tough.

However it seems the question "where do you see yourself in 10 years" really hit home. With that medal in his pocket the only future he can see is with Pam. Lovely images too. Short, but sweet and powerful.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 08:43 pm Title: Chapter 9

I liked the added lines to what we heard in canon. It rounds out that scene a lot more. After Pam's big speech, it's great to see her courage has also encouraged Jim to move towards her. Lovely to see. I can REALLY easily see that because of this conversation it's a lot more natural to have the interactions between Jim and Pam we seen in "The Job" before Jim heads off to New York. Namely their reactions to seeing Jan's boob job.

Great way to have Jim start down that path. Loved it.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 05:36 pm Title: Chapter 8

So this is going to be a cumulative review - so sorry, but I've been really busy! I'd love to leave a review on every chapter but it's easier to do a drive-by at this point.

No objections to skipping some S3 angst - I'm all aboard.

It's really nice to get into the heads of Jim and Pam in canon - as much as I love a S3 fixit it's always interesting to see how different people have the characters justify their thoughts and actions.

I'm excited to hear the happiness is approaching, you've done a great job with this so far so I'm looking forward to seeing some fluff too.

Author's Response: Thank you!! Itís been a super hot minute since Iíve written anything and following canon was the easiest way for me to break back into it. Iím happy with how itís been turning out but Iíve definitely caught the bug and want to write more, especially some stories that diverge from the ďscriptĒ. Thanks for reading! :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 04:16 am Title: Chapter 8

“the rest of the day continued to make her slowly shrink into the sweater her mom had made her” This is such a great way of describing how Pam would be feeling during The Merger.

Oh. Wow. Okay. I can’t believe you’re giving me Pride & Prejudice feels on top of JAM feels. All. The. Feels. I love it so much.

Author's Response: Jim Halpert and Mr. Darcy are definitely on my list when it comes to the fictional character ďWho Would You DoĒ? So how could I not put them in a chapter together?! ;) Thank you!

Reviewer: Purplepapaya Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 09:55 pm Title: Chapter 8

Eeeep I love this so much

Author's Response: Thank you!! :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 05:57 pm Title: Chapter 8

Oh this was delightful! Nice time jump to get us forward of all the Roy tries to beat up Pam stuff. Seems Jim's heart has had a little time to heal since the last chapter too. Right after the wedding there's no way he would pull that kind of thing.

Now however it seems his heart is pulling him closer to where it truly belongs. Loved it!

Also loved that Pam had the courage to sit down next to him. After everything it could be easy for her to avoid him. She's not. She still feels there's a chance and she's trying to take it. Fancy New Beesly here. Just a small dose, but sometime small is enough.

Have I said that I loved this chapter yet?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think this has been my favorite chapter so far.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 10:57 am Title: Chapter 7

Really good look into Jim's mindset in this episode. I think you nailed it right on the head. Pre wedding Jim is doing his best to really invest in Karen. Seeing Pam leave with Roy just shows him how much he does still care about Pam. But she's clearly gone back to Roy and he's with Karen so he can't do anything. Except still be at war with himself. Here he does use Karen. Not the best for him. He's using Karen rather than caring for her. Sadly Karen doesn't know this which of course just adds to all the heartache.

As much as we didn't wish this part happened, it's part of the story and you did a great job looking deeper into those feelings.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 12:42 pm Title: Chapter 6

Right so this is canon correct. Still you did a good job at getting what was going on in their minds. The hope Pam was starting to build up then to have it come crashing down. Hang on Pam, there will be brighter days ahead. Doensn't mean the storm to get there is fun though.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 12:39 pm Title: Chapter 5

Nice quick get up to speed type chapter here. Kinda wondering if this means Jim and Karen will be a thing or not. On to the next chapter to find out.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 04:14 am Title: Chapter 5

I really liked your Roy during the break up. He felt about the right amount of angry coupled with actually caring about Pam. I like when his character is written with a little more depth than just villain/asshole.

“Hearing another girl call him by his last name so playfully again was slightly jarring.” Ugh. I imagine so. Jarring is a nice description of it.

Author's Response: Yeah, Roy has always been a complicated character for me. I mean, yeah, he sucks. But there has to be a reason Pam was with him so long. I donít imagine she would have called everything off and have it be easy for either of them. Thanks for your review! :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 03:25 pm Title: Chapter 2

Aww Jim. I liked how you took the same sports detail here but used it differently. Good work.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 03:22 pm Title: Chapter 1

Welcome back! Casino Night, always a font of angst, but I like what you've done. I'm a big fan of using Pam's POV on Roy immediately after CN for stories, and I like how you're positioning her here.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have always wondered what Pam did and felt right after CN and how she saw maybe saw Roy differently after.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 01:29 pm Title: Chapter 2

“Their lives were so entangled and intertwined, that it was difficult to decipher what was love and what was routine and comfort.” This. Yes. This cuts right at the heart of Pam and Roy...

Oh, it’s such a sad comparison to have Mark immediately mute the game and give his full attention to Jim. Lovely for Jim, but so very sad for Pam.

Welcome back! I’m looking forward to seeing where you go with this.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2020 01:12 pm Title: Chapter 2

I love the parallels between Roy and Mark's reactions here. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with next.

Welcome back!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans