Reviews For The Guardian
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2020 10:28 am Title: Chapter 3

Grrrr, why does this Roy have to be a good guy. At least at this point. Still, there was the moment of hesitency when Roy showed up. And of course Singer still doesn't like Roy.

Also grr, Pam and Roy are getting on good. Blah.

Jim's not in the best headspace either. I'm sure it's not going to be any better when Pam and Roy show up.

Great writing to bring out all those feelings.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2020 04:10 am Title: Chapter 3

Aly! Way to leave us on a cliffhanger!
I can’t make sense of Roy here, I have no idea if he’s genuine or not. He really seems to be a bit of a mystery... Pam’s mixed feelings aren’t helping.
I feel for Jim though! I hope he finds some courage!

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 07:59 am Title: Chapter 2

Aly, the characters are still the ones we know and love (or love to hate) but the way you weave in the background story and little tidbits of their lives really makes this feel like a parallel universe of The Office where everything went differently but the characters are still them at their core. It’s so engaging and you made me laugh which is one of my favorite things about reading good stories! Can’t wait for the next update :D

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 12:44 am Title: Chapter 2

Jim trying to get information from his brother is SO cute.
“You gotta take a chance on something, sometime, Jim” Yes please.

““To be honest, I was a little worried about you the whole time. I thought you were going to strain your neck with how far you were craning it in order to listen in.” Oh Aly, this is perfect. So, so fun. I love Pam and Jo’s dynamic in this.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 05, 2020 08:09 am Title: Chapter 2

Some really interesting perspectives all around on Pam and Roy's date. I couldn't quite suss it out but something about Jos description seemed a little foreboding. Of course Jo is rooting for Jim, that's really sweet. Hopefully the pep talk from Danny was just what he needed.

Great job, looking forward to whatever happens next!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2020 11:32 pm Title: Chapter 2

Aly, I love this so much! I love how you’ve weaved the characters from canon into the story and made them their own while still keeping true to how they they felt in the show. It’s just a smooth, lovely read. I haven’t read the book either, so I’m really looking forward to what’s to come!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2020 09:24 pm Title: Chapter 2

Oh Jim and Pam, why is it that regardless of what universe you're in you're always such delightful idiots about each other? I get the feeling that Roy is just putting on the charm here in the beginning. Nice suit, nice dinner, all that, but I still trust Singer's judgment. A guy that the dog doesn't growl at is the one you want to hang on to.

Kind of fun trip through Kelly's mind. I've know a few girls like that. They say they want something long term, but only go for the dregs. It makes me sad.

We have both Danny and Jo saying to Jim and Pam take the chance. Really hoping they finally listen to them soon.

Also the bit about Jim being the failing artist, great twist. I really hope that continues to play into where this goes.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 05:21 pm Title: Chapter 1

I look forward to seeing how things go with Roy, especially since Jim is already in the picture and Pam is aware of his feelings towards her.

Singer as a litmus test is wonderful - and although Roy is actually cast as a really sweet dude so far, I can't help but yelling at Pam "THE DOG KNOWS!" Oh well. I guess I'm along for the ride and we'll see how it goes.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 05:19 pm Title: Prologue

Aww. That was sad and sweet, I'm really looking forward to seeing where you go with this, seeing as I'm not familiar with the inspiration.

I am worried that you're taking a swing at my unofficial "Best dog as a supporting character" title!(Just kidding, I love the idea of Pam getting a puppy - although I can't help thinking of John Wick with how you did it, which is just a fantastic mental image.)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 08:38 am Title: Chapter 1

The turnables have turned! I love the differences of characters in here. I love that Karen is with Danny leaving Jim alone (yes!). I love that Pam seems to know what she wants for the most part. Jo is the perfect aunt character. Everything fits together so lovely. This is a very choppy review, but I can't wait for the next installment!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 04:01 am Title: Chapter 1

Back into the dating pool with Toby. Oof. “Turns out, one date with Toby was one too many for her.” Oh this cracked me up a whole lot. Toby’s not so bad, but after a beloved husband, dating him would not feel like a step up.

Wow. What a dating history - Alan, Brian, Roy. I like how you’re blending canon elements with this world. It’s a little the same, but totally different all at once.

“Mark introduced Pam to his best friend Jim, Jim’s brother Danny, and Danny’s wife Karen.” Oh. Oh. Okay. I wondered how/where Jim would fit in! Danny & Karen is a bonus.

“Jim is… well… he isn’t very subtle about his feelings towards her” This feels a lot like canon - poor Jim in the friend zone...

I love Jim and Danny as brothers! And aunt Jo! This is making me wish I’d read the book... partly because I’m dying to know what’s coming!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 08:47 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ok, so that clears up a lot of things. Nice to know more of the backstory. Likewise I'm also glad Danny's already off the market.

So even though this is AU there's still the Jim and Roy dynamic. Though here at least, Roy doesn't seem like quite the oaf he normally is in canon. At least not yet.

I also like that Jim and Pam are already friends. Perceptive of Pam to suss out Jim already has a thing for her. Kinda sad now that she's dating she won't give that a chance. I get why, but still.

Listen to the dog Pam. He growls at Roy but runs to Jim. Should tell you something. Good boy Singer, have a doggie treat.

Really looking forward to seeing where the rest of this goes.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 11:08 am Title: Prologue

I'll admit I got nervous about clicking on this one. What with all those character tags and the summary and all. Was it Jim who was the deceased husband? Was it someone else? What's going on.

Is it weird to say I was kind of relieved that it was Mark who died? Hopefully that makes some kind of sense. Not that I wish death on anyone, but yeah.

So anyway, really powerful opening chapter here. Pam's grief is just so raw and heartbreaking. Clearly she's hurting. Excellent writing to bring all that out.

This one looks like it's going to be a bit of a ride.

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm hoping the tags don't scare off too many people! It won't be nearly as bad as it may seem at the moment if you were just looking at the tags lol. But I definitely get being relieved it was Mark who had died. I don't think I could ever write a story with Jim starting out dead. But thank you, warrior! I'm glad you seem to be liking it so far!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2020 04:30 am Title: Prologue

I’m a little scared to read this because anything Nicholas Sparks is guaranteed to make me sob, but I am ready to be hurt again.

Mark?! Well, that’s already a twist.

Okay, this is sad as all hell, but I kind of love that it’s Christmas? This feels a little like a Hallmark movie and I love it.
The puppy is only increasing the Christmas movie vibe and I am so, so here for it.

Author's Response: RIP Mark. It was going to be Danny, but he will be involved in another way. But I needed Jam to be endgame, so I couldn't have Jim be the one she was married to, for obvious reasons. And yess, this beginning is definitely hallmark-esque. Unfortunately it doesn't stay that way come next chapter, but for now we can stay in our little Christmas bubble.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2020 07:49 pm Title: Prologue

ALY. I AM CRYING. ACTUALLY. I can't wait to read more of this! I didn't catch on that it was a puppy but when I did I cried some more. Ugh. Okay I'm fine. It's fine.

Author's Response: I hope your crying is a good thing! I'm so glad you like it so far, hopefully it stays that way! Thanks for reviewing, Beth!! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans