Reviews For Humble and Kind
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2020 10:27 am Title: Chapter 4

Well, finally things are looking up! I appreciate the way you've explored how fast this has forced Cece to grow up, making good on some of the foreshadowing in the earlier chapters. And the scene of her holding his hand in the hospital was very moving.

Subtle references caught: Jim screwing up Kelly's birthday in Lecture Circuit (and how much do I love that Jim is really good at birthdays when he actually cares?). Possibly Jim taking Cece to the Pacific?

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! My dad went through a brain injury from an accident when I was about Cece's age, it has helped a lot in the writing of this, and is very cathartic for me. Things definitely are looking up for them, he's got a ways to go, but they're together again, finally. And yes for the references! Also--my man JK loves him some Devil Wears Prada, I wonder why? lol and of course we had some ASL in there from QP. That will get a little further explained as we go on too. Thank you again for sticking with me!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2020 07:29 pm Title: Chapter 4

After all the build up, this was a great way to bring this to a climax. Clearly both Pam and Cece are off kilter and have been for a long time. Jim's presense being the centering force in their lives. It might be a little cliche, but to have it be Cece's hand be the key to getting the breathing tube out was just lovely. From personal experience, it's not fun to wake up with a tube down your throat preventing you from talking or breathing on your own. It's not a pleasant experience to be extubated either, but the relief of being able to breathe and talk on your own again is indescribable.

That the first words out of Jim's mouth are "My girls," just hits the heart in all sorts of ways. After so long, that's the first thing he says. Lovely. Likewise having Pam watch as Cece's hard exterior goes away and she can let it go was lovely as well.

Great chapter.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2020 04:21 pm Title: Chapter 3

Wow. I've got to hand it to you, this is gutsy writing in how much it's just leaning into the darkest possible scenario for the crash.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, itís a tough subject to write, but I wanted to really go to a dark corner of some Folks realities. There will be a happy ending, I promise :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2020 03:55 pm Title: Chapter 3

Oof, another heavy chapter here. Especially coming from Cece's perspective. To have it that the kids bus hit Jim and Pam's car is just another hard hit. Just oof.

Author's Response: Eric, congrats on your little bundle! Thank you for taking the time to read, this has definitely been cathartic for me to getting through some trauma from my own past, and has been a great outlet for discussing real, tough, subjects. Thank you for sticking around!!

Reviewer: late2theprty Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 06:40 pm Title: Chapter 2

Great story so far. The pain that Pam is going through would be staggering, then add the uncertainty of what Jim is experiencing just makes this so good. BTW welcome back to this little corner of the FF web, I have been a fan for years

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate the support! Hoping to get another chapter up soon!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 06:52 am Title: Chapter 2

Oof, yeah. That one's tough. Really hoping Jim pulls through. Especially with a new baby on the way and Cece and Phil acting like that. Great writing to pull out a bunch of emotional beats though.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 07:34 pm Title: Chapter 2

Ugh, poor Pam. You can really feel the weight of the world on her shoulders here. This is all hard enough without the stresses of being pregnant along with it.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :) Things will turn up, i promise

Reviewer: vanzivrb Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 06:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

I just can’t keep reading. I’ve been in quarantine for almost 7 months now, it hasn’t been easy, and to read about this family being shattered is just too much for me 😞

Author's Response: I promise it gets better, but things will be rough for a bit :/

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2020 07:34 pm Title: Chapter 1

A premise very much worth exploring, although your tags have me deeply concerned. Looking forward to seeing where you go next with this - and welcome back!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2020 11:07 am Title: Chapter 1

Uh oh. Haha I’m a little scared to keep reading!

I do really like how much you can feel the love Pam has for Jim, though. Nice job conveying that, its sweet. But are you going to kill my Jimothy?!

Author's Response: I don't know! I guess you'll have to keep reading to find out, thank you so much for the support!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 06:12 pm Title: Chapter 1

Welcome back to MTT. Good set up here, though it feels ominous. It'll be interesting to see where this goes.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Eric! Hopefully this next chapter clears up some things!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans