You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 01:16 pm Title: A Couple of Times

So usually the stories about Pam and Jim’s sexual encounters are not quite my thing - unless they are part of a bigger story. But I really liked this one. The realism of it and the way you so accurately and humorously had them interact through the encounters were great. Also Jim’s self consciousness about seems like it would be right on point as as him not wanting to hear about Roy. And the line about his faulty penis just plain out made me laugh (not at him, mind you)

This was a great addition to this anthology.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Yeah, I’ve read some fantastic stories about Pam and Jim’s sexual encounters, but I don’t really have the skill to write them myself…writing awkwardness, on the other hand, I love. So I’m really glad you liked it haha - and really pleased it came across as realistic, that was the main reason I enjoyed that moment on the show. And yes lol, sorry Jim. Thank you so much for reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 01:16 pm Title: A Couple of Times

So usually the stories about Pam and Jim’s sexual encounters are not quite my thing - unless they are part of a bigger story. But I really liked this one. The realism of it and the way you so accurately and humorously had them interact through the encounters were great. Also Jim’s self consciousness about seems like it would be right on point as as him not wanting to hear about Roy. And the line about his faulty penis just plain out made me laugh (not at him, mind you)

This was a great addition to this anthology.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 04:19 pm Title: A Couple of Times

Well that was interesting. Yeah I think I'd be with Jim. Not really comfortable having something that private out in the open. Fortunatly, Pam takes it all in stride. Seveal times it seems like. This also feels very realistic. The times it happens to Jim feel very much like the spirit is willing but the body is weak kind of thing. The end there was just delightfully sweet and sexy. Nice job.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! And yeah, the realism/Pam taking it in her stride was something I really liked in the scene on the show, so I’m really glad to hear that translated across :) I think I’d be also be with Jim on that not totally wanting that shared with the entire office and a camera crew though, lol. Really pleased you liked the ending!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 10:44 am Title: A Couple of Times

You know, it honestly hadn't occurred to me before that Pam wasn't just making it up.

I like that you managed to make this adorable and relatively unfraught... even at a time in Pam's New York period where it easily could've been. It's nice to see two people who are taking a certain amount of joy in just being together and are comfortable enough to at least wrestle with this super awkward moment.

You found a strain of realness in their relationship, letting them be imperfect and awkward both with Jim's performance issues and with moments like them nearly stumbling into the candles and letting it just be more of them loving each other anyways.

(Jim's observation that either option was pretty unpleasant to consider with Roy was too real.)

Author's Response:

Oh haha: it hadn’t occurred to me that she might be making it up! But actually, I could see that. I think I just really liked that it felt like a very realistic thing. And that Pam seemed quite comfortable with it. My reading was that they were telling the truth up until Jim started embellishing about all the sex they’d had. Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, I’m really glad you liked it! (I did want to write something non-fraught for a change). 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 07:59 am Title: A Couple of Times

Um, hi. How did you make me love a story about ED? Because you definitely did. Haha I just love your writing style and the way you have absolutely perfected these two characters in any setting.

Author's Response:

Haha, thanks so much, that’s really kind! To be fair, I’m not sure a story about ED would have been top of my list to write before…but I just really liked that moment in the episode, it felt very real. I’m really glad you enjoyed it! :) 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 04:57 pm Title: Jury Duty

A very fun peek into the craziness of having two under two - having lived through it - you made me wonder how I ever did. All with the heart of Jam in the middle. Well done.

Author's Response: Haha - yes! Thanks so much, I'm glad you found it fun (and sorry for taking so long to reply to this review!)  

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2020 07:38 am Title: Expecting

This was just lovely. The whole thing but I think my favorite line was
He’d grabbed an entire armful of pamphlets on their way out, and Pam thinks it’s the most excited she’s ever seen him about paper.

But what a lovely picture or the excitement and nervousness of the new life growing inside of Pam.

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much - and yeah, I enjoyed writing that line :) Thank you for taking the time to review all of these chapters: I've fallen slightly behind, but was a really nice thing to come back to! I really appreciate it. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 10:51 am Title: Laundromat

They really did have a LOT to catch each other up on between the year they spent not talking and the years they spent not saying certain things, and this is a fun trip through them finally sharing those sorts of things - especially when paired with another scene we didn't get to see! You've invented some really funny moments here, ones that I could absolutely picture happening. (The Ring incident is genius.)

I also loved the little times of Pam experiencing relief at all the ways in which Jim is just plain better than Roy.

Author's Response: Thanks v much! And yeah, there was seriously so much (especially given how much they normally talk to each other/how well they know each other once they finally do get together) - it was really fun to write about. I'm not going to lie, the idea of Meredith terrifying Michael in a black wig does crack me up. Thanks for the review :) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 10:07 am Title: Jury Duty

This just feels very true to the experience of parenting two young kids -moments where you're just blown away by the cuteness popping up among utter, exhausting chaos. You never want to be outnumbered there.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :) And god no on being outnumbered... 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 10:00 am Title: Expired Yogurt

This is a really great slice of early JAM. This feels very true to who Pam was pre-Jim - someone who tamps down her frustrations and blames herself for the problems in her relationship and ends up really willing to accept whatever scraps she's offered even when they don't make her particularly happy. And you've done a great job of illustrating how much more of herself she can reveal around Jim and how he makes her see that she's not herself around Roy, and the sharp contrast between how much Roy notices her and how much Jim notices her.

"Yeah, Jim thinks as he sits down next to her on the bench without looking at the sky. Shame." is a fantastic line.

And it's fascinating seeing this important moment in Pam's mind as the small, unremarkable thing thrown in among the office craziness and actual bonding moments it must have been from Jim's perspective!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, I was really interested in writing that moment from Jim's perspective as he seems so bemused in that scene where Pam tells him about it. I seriously can't get enough early JAM. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave these reviews, I'm really glad you've enjoyed these chapters! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 09:23 am Title: Kevin's List

Wow. You have managed to hit on not one but TWO themes I've been working on fic on here - the idea that their first summer together couldn't have been completely perfect and the absolute ludicrousness of Pam and Jim never having even thought about sex in the office until they'd been together for years. Great minds think alike. But also fools seldom differ.

Anyways. I am now far more hesitant in posting mine, because I think you may have hit the nail on the head here. It's just such a good mix of these moments of Jim still being blown away by the newness of it all and how free he is now to do the things he'd thought about doing and on the other hand all these mines they've left buried over the previous four years that they're going to sometimes stumble onto. (There was a 0.0% chance that Kevin was never going to bring up that list again in the worst possible context.) They're both going to have some insecurities to work through, and they're not necessarily going to be able to pick the moment for it.

And I love the explanation of WHY they haven't engaged in sex in the office, too. Very funny - and such a great reference to DMI!

As always, really well written.

Author's Response:

Sorry for very slow reply to this - but ha, that's amazing! I'm going to go for great minds. Please please post yours - you 100% should! (I've not been on the site for a while, so don't know if I've missed it?) 

And lol, yes, I was surprised we never saw any fall-out from that list... 

Thanks so much for the review :)  

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2020 03:51 am Title: Couples Counselling

When a writer uses the exact same words the reader has floating in their head to describe a situation, it is a rare and magical thing. You did that in Couples Counseling, particularly the taxi scene of Paper Airplane.

I've always thought, from the third viewing on (the first two viewings were just pure emotional involvement for me), that Jim was drowning and Pam was the only person or thing that could save him. Your Couples Counseling writing evoked the same emotional reaction.

Your language choices are lyrical and compelling. I noticed my reading speed kept inching up all through this piece. That's always a good sign; you drew me onward. There was absolutely nothing in your writing that distracted me or took me out of the ambiance you created.

The party sequence was such a good choice to create the crisis. You have both Jim and Pam's inner monologues completely within their characters, yet you managed to expand our understanding of canon. You did Jen Celotta proud.

Good onya.

Author's Response:

Sorry for taking so long to reply to this - but thank you so much this review, it was lovely to read. I'm really touched. And really glad that you enjoyed it, and that it had that emotional reaction - that's exactly how I felt when I was watching it too. 

I really appreciate you taking the time to write this - thank you :)  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2020 10:38 am Title: Kevin's List

I like this bit of beyond the cameras story. I'm very sure that Jim told Kevin to make that list mainly to get him to shut up. A bit of poor foresight on Jim's part here it seems. You'd think he'd realize Kevin would have written down things such as this and then blabbed all about it to Oscar and Angela. So very much get that Jim actually gets a little upset at Kevin for it. Kind of a heat of the moment type of thing.

However there's also lots of other things to love about this chapter. How flushed Pam is to realize Jim notices her new clothes and the reasons behind it. Jim helping her pick out the new top and the reasons for the new top and everything that follows.

The mentions of how they just kind of melt together away from the office.

Pam opening up to Jim about some insecurities. Very much felt like they're still gettting used to really having clear open communication and it's lovely to see.

The sneaking back into the office and then sneaking back out because yeah, that would ruin things for sure.

Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Sorry for incredibly delayed response - but thanks so much for this review! Haha yes, I feel like there was definitely huge scope for that list to backfire on the show...

 I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter :)  

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 06, 2020 08:34 pm Title: Third Date

This one was really fluffy but I love me some good fluff.

I worked for the ad agency for Fisher Price (even wrote copy for a few ads and catalogs) during the Puffalump era and we all got one. I still have my dinosaur Puffalump and it even has a squeaker inside to make it roar so you can imagine I loved the bit about Wally.

Author's Response: Thank you! And haha that is amazing about the Puffalump 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 06, 2020 05:01 am Title: Dorky Dancing

So I've been meaning to get to this fic for a while now - there's so much to read being a newbie to the site plus everyone is posting like mad lately. Anyway I finally got to it and now I'm sorry I waited so long because now I'm way behind and I loved this first chapter and I anticipate they will all be a joy to read.

It might take me a while to get caught up since I want to really devote attention to the words because I think you have great insights and a great way of portraying the scene and I want to give my due attention.

 ON to review 

First off, the you/them stuff, the camps - yeah we've all been there thinking we were on the outside (at least I've been there at times), wanting to be on the inside. I love how you describe this.

And how Jim comes up, reads the situation and the Irish Cream banter very on point for them.

The dancing is great fun - I actually think they both dance pretty dorky - ever notice Jim dancing on show - he reminds me of the Peanuts characters when they show dancing scenes - even my son says the same thing. There's a scene in episode where they do the cold opening with the lip synch dance where it is so apparent. anyway I think the way they both dance is just one more reason they mesh so well.

Jim's lankiness description hits home because to me it does make him so endearing.

I love the way you tell the back story (could see it happening just like that ) and give both points of view that mirror each other in their conclusions.

The way you tie her comment about being blind to his feelings about it being easier if he were is perfect.

Coconut shampoo - seems to be the only scent available in Scranton - I've used it for Jim and I've seen it in so many other fics but LOVE it. 

Really enjoyed this first chapter - Hope you enjoy my review - I know I love to hear about the things that resonate with readers. Can't promise I will always have the time to go on like this but I plan to read more.

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review (I also love hearing about the things that resonated with readers, and I really enjoyed this one) - so it's hugely appreciated! And as another newbie, I am also struggling to keep up with all of the great fics on this site...

I can definitely relate to the us/them - I was also interested in writing about it from Pam's POV because I feel like Jim is naturally more confident and sociable than she is, but I don't think that's an issue when they're in the office (and it's not ever to him anyway). 

I definitely agree that Jim is a dorky dancer! I was thinking specifically of his dancing in Cafe Disco when I was writing this. I love that episode mainly because of his dancing - I think it's the bouncing up and down on the spot for YMCA that does it. 

And ha I'd not realised that about the coconut shampoo...I do also love it though. 

Thank you again! :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 09:57 pm Title: Expired Yogurt

You really write pre-camera Jim and Pam well. Especially this early in their relationship. Really interesting look into the dynamic with Mrs. Anderson. Though I also have to say wow, warning signs right from the start. For the mother of the groom to want to have that much input in the wedding seems really off.

The first when Pam and Roy got home also seemed to ring true. Roy not really giving her the true time and though she really wants. Pam not really pushing to say what she really feels. very believable.

Early Dwight is also on form. This is the harsh and unyielding Dwight that hasn't had years of pranks thrown at him to smooth out some of his more rough edges. No wonder Jim and Pam seem bent on taking him down a peg or ten.

However it was also really sweet to have the yogurt moment. Their friendship is really starting to bloom here and it's nice to see. Hang on you two. It'll take awhile, but you'll get to each other in the end.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! Ha, I do really enjoy writing pre-camera Jim and Pam (I mean, also, that's a whole 3 years that we never got to see...) 

My inspiration for Mrs Anderson actually came from something I read about Jenna Fischer thinking that a big reason Pam stayed with Roy was because their families were close, and I thought Roy's mom being overly invested in the wedding tied into that.

And yes, agreed on Dwight - considering how much he mellowed just over the course of the show, I always thought he must have been even worse at the very beginning!

Thank you so much for leaving these reviews, I always look forward to reading them :)     

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2020 06:31 pm Title: Jury Duty

Ok, so the first parts of this chapter. The whole, two kids destroying the house and dear-sweet-merciful=God-I-just-need-a-nap, divide and couquor, it's your turn with this kid now part. Did you put a camera in my bookshelf or something, because man can I relate. And yes, kids can and do feed off each other. But then they smile or giggle or do something cute and the devil horns get replaced with a halo.

Loved that Jim just plunks her down in the bath. Seemed very soothing for her. Good job Jim. Good Daddy points earlier and good husband points now.

Loved this little slice of their lives with the kids. Wonderful to envison.

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad it sounded accurate - thanks very much! And yeah, I know why we couldn't see more of their life with the kids in the show, but I would have loved to.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2020 02:52 pm Title: Jury Duty

I love Dad Jim soo much. It’s my weakness and there needs to be more of it in fics, if you ask me. You wrote it wonderfully and the fluffy sweetness was perfection. :)

Author's Response: Omg I love Dad Jim - there is not enough. Thanks so much! :) 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2020 10:46 am Title: Jury Duty

AWWW I'm such a fan of fluff and smiled the whole time reading this. I really enjoy these one part stories. Keep up the awesome work and updates!

Author's Response: Ah thank you so much!! I'm really glad :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2020 04:13 pm Title: Laundromat

This was fun. A nice trip down memory lane for the two of them. Kind fun to think that now they're together they can go back over all the stories from work with a new perspective like this. It very much feels like they've gotten past most of the emotional baggage they had been carrying around and so memories of the past are things to talk about freely like this.

Love that cooking and eating breakfast can lead into morning and early afternoon delight. Then of course Jim is great by wanting to stay with her even if it's domestic things like her laundry.

Good thing he was there too what with the trouble maker. I'd be right there with Jim if that had happened. A great example of what it really means to protect something. Jim knows Pam's not weak, however she is important and it feels like that's why he steps up to put himself between her and danger. Not because of testosterone fueled machismo. Or at least that's how I read it. Great chapter. I wish I still had some jellybeans to give this story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And yes, definitely - that's one of the things I really like about Jim's character, that he's protective without getting aggressive, and his response to aggression is normally to step up and de-escalate (which is a very different way to how Roy would've handled something like that). 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2020 11:46 am Title: Laundromat

“Also, how nice it feels having Jim on her side and indignant on her behalf, without having to worry that he’ll overreact or…smash mirrors. Because it’s Jim.” I loved this. Because you KNOW she would have those thoughts with Roy and subconsciously (or not) explain them away or normalize it, and now that she’s with Jim she loves that she doesn’t have to do that. And so do I. Haha

I just love all the little details and descriptions you sprinkle in that make their relationship shine. Little kisses or touches. I think I’ve said it in every review, but you absolutely nail the feel of their characters and their relationship.

Another great update! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes haha, I always thought that must have been such a relief...that's really kind, thanks so much for continuing to review :)  

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2020 10:54 am Title: Third Date

I'm really enjoying this, and the dialogue in particular. The line, "Never thought I'd get this lucky" brought a tear to my eye...
Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for leaving a review! Really glad you're enjoying it :) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 04:02 pm Title: Ski Trip Pt.2

Ooooof. This is a classic early season near-miss - the worst thing you could do at any given point was allow Pam 0.5 seconds to think about what she was doing or having someone point out how close she was to Jim. You really captured the feel of that - and of the toll it takes on Jim.

This is again a solid picture of a Roy who just flat out doesn't put a particularly high premium on Pam's feelings or needs.

Some very good ensemble moments in this one - the truth or dare game was spot on, with game-for-anything Meredith and Kelly out to create drama if it's the last thing she does.

You've done well here with the touching foundation of friendship underlying it all - the way Pam is there to take care of Jim even after their awkward moment, the way he instinctively plays along with her on the phone and protects her from having to deal with Michael.

The bit about why Pam dresses the way she does is pretty insightful.

(And I liked the little hints of Dwight and Angela's attraction to each other long before they were a thing. Don't worry, you two - it's coming.)

Author's Response:

Thank you! Yeah, those were some of the most painful Pam/Jim elements of the early seasons. And I really liked the ensemble episodes with the women in the office, I wanted more of them. I’d not really written Meredith before, so glad she came out ok! And ha, I did enjoy adding some Angela/Dwight - I really want to know how’s they started... 

 Thanks so much for continuing to review!  

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 01:42 pm Title: Ski Trip Pt.2

Okay, you may have torn my heart in two, but you did it so well that I don’t even care. I love that Jim’s offer to have Pam wear his shirt completely backfired on him and I wanted her to kiss him just as much as he did. Haha

And as much as I love the happy endings and the two of them getting together, I am also kind of a sucker for the angst sometimes and you write it very well. (I just may need to go back and read one of your happier endings now.) Haha well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And ha, I do like writing the angst...but I am glad it all ends in them ultimately getting together! Thanks for reviewing :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 12:34 pm Title: Ski Trip Pt.2

Picking up right where we left off. Seriously Roy is just an ass through all of this. He'd rather spend time with his buddies than Pam. Even kicks her out of bed. And then acts like its no big deal. Now granted Pam could have stood up for herself a bit more there, but still she shouldn't have to. However that's also very much in keeping with Pre-camera Pam. Trying to appease, not rock the boat to much.

The rest was very in keeping with early Office hijinks. Loved that Pam switched the names on her phone to Jim. She would be mortified if she had to call Micheal like that, but Jim can not only take the joke, but dish it all right back. Great banter there.

The pool part was also really well done. Grrr, Kevin, had to go and ruin things. However with that scene in mind it does also add a lot looking forward to the day in the dojo. No wonder Pam would freak out like she did there if that's the memory that was flashing through her mind.

Oh lonely heartbroken Jim. Trying to drown his troubles away. Really nice that Pam's there to take care of him. It's very sweet. Which of course makes it 100% believable that Micheal would then get them all banned due to his Michael-ness.

So both these last to chapters feel heartbreaking and sweet at the same time. Very much in the vein of S1 and S2. Nice job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Really glad you enjoyed it :) Hopefully not too heartbreaking haha. And yeah, I thought it was interesting in the dojo scene that Pam was fine until she thought Meredith was watching, so that’s what I was thinking about while I wrote this. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans