Reviews For Free For Dinner
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: luderamos Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2020 04:30 pm Title: The Bandaid

Hey! Love that story! Please keep going and putting those smiles over my face, because I really love it!

Reviewer: JHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2020 03:49 pm Title: Sandwiches and Clown Cars

I am so happy that you're writing here! Your writing is fantastic, I love being able to hear them talking and imagine all of it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2020 01:33 pm Title: The Bandaid

I had more or less the same reaction as you did to this scene - I feel bad for Jim, but good heavens did he have that particular beating coming. Especially given that he just kinda... snuck off.

I like this newly confident Pam - and one who recognizes that sometimes, the answer is just to be together. And I'm glad you worked the ensemble into this!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2020 10:51 am Title: The Bandaid

Yeah, Jim did some things he shouldn't be proud of during S3. Stringing Karen along chief among them who's only issue really is that she's not Pam. But like this chapter title implies, just rip off the band-aid and get it over with. A brief flare of pain then it's over and done.

Good on Pam to check in on him but not be to obvious about it. Very sweet.

Also they cuddle on the couch watching "The Princess Bride?" Yup, that's just adorable and lovely. Great movie, great company, great couple. Just a wonderful scene to envision.

Reviewer: PBnJ Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2020 07:00 am Title: Free For Dinner

You’re such a talented writer. You managed to bring the spirit of Jim and Pam without writing a lengthy story. Simply genius writing.

My favorite moment was when Pam ruffled Jim’s hair to get her good ol’ Jimothy back. They were definitely made for one another.

These chapters made me smile so hard. I would love to read more stories from you in the future.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! You're very gracious!  

  Jimothy, oh my goodness, yes, ha! 

"Are you okay with being called Jim?" "I am."

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2020 05:29 am Title: Sandwiches and Clown Cars

I love the efficiency of your writing style - you pack so much punch without having to say a lot. All the little call backs are so wonderful.

Being on her own for a bit, crucial to her growth- I appreciate the way the TV story unfolded allowing her to have a time on her own instead of going right from Roy to Jim - really glad you touched on that.

Again - I think we see a lot of things the same - you can get them across effortlessly in few words - but I know exactly where you are coming from! (Me, I need to use a few more words)

Great bit how they decide not to come out.

Nice to get the call out - thanks and aren't Jelly Beans the BEST!

Author's Response:

I agree with you. She needed to be on her own for a bit. And frankly, she needed the experience of being friendzoned too. Even if it was painful for all of us involved. 

  The jelly beans really are adorable, yes!

  And thank you again for taking the time to read. I very much appreciate it and your kind words about my writing style. 🙂

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2020 11:57 pm Title: Sandwiches and Clown Cars

Again, you've made some daring structural choices here that I'm enjoying - it really drives home how much history they have and how present it is in this new moment in their relationship. It's very cinematic, in a way - I can picture it in montage form.

The banter felt very in character for them - as did this very unfancy date. And the Niagara Falls reference made me smile.

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate that. 🙂

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2020 11:42 pm Title: Sandwiches and Clown Cars

Nice addition here. All her thoughts and memories getting tangled and muddled up with each other. Likewise when Jim finally comes over to her place the same thing happens. However just as quickly as the old memories start to invade, they're back to their classic banter and new memories are being formed. Love it. Also love the little teaser there about Niagara Falls. Just a fun little shout out.

Short but still sweet for this one. I liked it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate that.  I'm glad the muddled up thoughts weren't too muddled up, ha.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 11, 2020 04:35 pm Title: Free For Dinner

Lovely for your first fic. Starting out on the First Date is always a great starting point and it's lovely to get a new perspective on it. Pam messing up Jim's hair, honest conversations for once, all just great. Well come to MTT. Can't wait to read more from you.

Author's Response: So kind, thank you! I wasn't sure if anyone would be interested in this little fic!   :D

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 11, 2020 02:17 pm Title: Free For Dinner

I really liked this chapter! Something about the style of the writing feels minimal and yet there's enough there to fill in the gaps. It might just be me but it felt like the word economy of some of the 55 words challenges, but delightfully longer.

Looking forward to more, and welcome aboard! Always great to see a new name around.

Author's Response: Wow, that is so kind of you! Thank you!   :D

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 11, 2020 10:08 am Title: Free For Dinner

Welcome TIS from one newbie here to another.

I really enjoyed reading your take on this. My first entry into this world is also the post-NY story (I'm 6 chapters in but you're already past me in time) and I love to read other takes on it.

I love the way she musses his hair up - yup that's her Jim and that's just one difference between him with her and him with Karen.

It's interesting to see the things we hit on things exactly the same, the barely touching, the hand on the small of her back, the emotions they were experiencing and also where we differ - he leaves Karen in NY without ending things. I really want to know how you see that going. (Are you a Karen Sympathizer or Hater or somewhere between - I think I have an idea.)

Your style makes it so easy to read, the pace quick and flowing but with descriptions that put you there with them. You say so much with your words and it's refreshing to read.

I'm looking forward to going on the journey with you and see where you take this - from the looks of things our JAM will be similar but the path's we lead them on may diverge - and hey isn't that what this Fan fiction is all about.

Author's Response:

I think Karen was put into a difficult position. Like, she was being used by Jim to try to forget about and move on from Pam. And her character was actually really interesting and cool. Until she started getting desperate to make things work with Jim. Obviously he could only be with Pam but poor Karen just got so twisted around it was difficult to watch. I liked her alot better in Stamford and then when she was revisited after Scranton. 

 What's your take on Karen? 

 Thank you for reading my story and for talking with me. You're very kind.    :D 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 11, 2020 09:03 am Title: Free For Dinner

I'm so glad you brought this one over from FFN! Welcome welcome welcome!

I really like the way you've structured this - it gives it a neat sort of staccato rhythm.

I loved Pam mussing his hair, because that's definitely the first thing she would do, and the Fancy New Beesly move of boldly suggesting they'd be good in bed together. And them ending the date and then talking on the phone for a few more hours is so very them.

Interested to see where you go with how he handled New York - he's taken some steps there that feel like they're bound to have consequences. Looking forward to seeing what you write next!

Author's Response:

You're so sweet. Especially when I know you know how it ends, ha! Unless of course I keep going. I'm not sure yet.

 I'll say I actually like some of the setup of this site a little better. Thanks for telling me about it.   :D 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans