Reviews For Moved on
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Yeza Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 27, 2022 03:58 pm Title: Chapter 8

Pam and Jim make a good couple in middle age. I love the story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you liked it

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2022 04:49 am Title: Chapter 6

Getting reacquainted with this one so I can get to your latest update. Really love your Pam Dwight friendship here.
PLus I'm always up for a trip down memory lane.

Love that Angela even offered to babysit.

Even though it was Angela and Dwight, it was nice that after Jim was gone she wasn't alone.

Great chapter.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2022 01:47 pm Title: Chapter 8

KURI! YAY! Happy to see you return, and VERY happy to hear you've managed to corral this one into working order. Looking forward to seeing how all this ends up playing out.

There's a lot of very interesting vibes in this chapter - Pam's sense of nervousness about the future and about fitting into this life he has that's so different from hers and her sense of loss of what could have been in their past, Jim trying to make her a full part of his life and make sure his life works with hers. There's a bit of a Season 9 feel to it, except mainly tinged with hope instead of despair. I'm intruiged.

And bringing Jim's dad's death back into this was a really nice touch.

Welcome back! We've missed you.

Author's Response:

YAY! Thanks so much! 

This story is misbehaving, but I will finish it whatever it takes, lol.

Thanks again for sticking to it! 

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2022 08:45 am Title: Chapter 8

Really excited to get an update! So much in this chapter to digest. Pam feels a bit surprised by and out of place in Jim's world which is understandable. She has only spent time with "casual Jim". I hope she is right, that "Jim was Jim. No matter where he happened to be."

I think it would be difficult for Pam and the boys to move to Philly. She has a support system and they're at that age where friendships are important. Her job may not be high-profile, like his is, but she loves it, it's important to her and something she sacrificed to achieve.

Time will tell if it is too difficult for Jim to permanently return to Scranton. It sounds as if he may be realizing spending time with his family as well as Pam's is where his heart lies.

It's swoon-worthy to find that the love they had for each other has remained through everything else.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review! 

I had a major writers' block but it's finally over. 

Yeah, you got it right. Apparently, Pam can't move. And Jim either. A bit of a dilemma.

Cheers! 

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2022 09:09 am Title: Chapter 1

I'm really enjoying this! I really like their backstories, and the way you've dealt with the ways their baggage has affected them. Love the Dwight and Angela stuff too. Great work!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I hope you like the rest 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2022 01:30 am Title: Chapter 8

I have just literally reread Zoom Meetings and this popped up, so I’m so happy to see you’re back on this one! Really enjoying this Jim and Pam and the story so far. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! I hope to finish this one soon, I'm happy you like it so far :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 12, 2022 10:11 pm Title: Chapter 8

So I went back and re-read all of this. Not a bad thing mind you. Nice to see that they're both putting effort into this new relationship of theirs. Pam being willing to come to Philly and see him. Very much a good sign.

Loved that they can finally say out loud what should have been said so many years ago. Nice moment. Then it seems like Jim has some steel in his spine. Saying no to work on this weekend that Pam's in town and making sure he's free next weekend too. Nice to see he's doing his best to make her a priority. The banter afterwards was just a treat to read.

Glad to see this one again for sure.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

This story is proving to be hard to continue, but I will.   

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed [Report This]
Date: July 02, 2021 04:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

Just reread this for the third(?) time. It's a wonderful story and damn it future Pam and Jim deserve some happiness. Pam's trajectory is so believable and the way they got pulled back into each other's orbits as well. I hope to see an update soon!

Author's Response:

Thanks so very much! Next chapter is on its way and I finally figured out how to finish the story so... :) 

Reviewer: MaryESP Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2021 04:15 pm Title: Chapter 7

Such a sweet story. Even if you never finish it, I'm glad I read it.

Reviewer: MaryESP Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2021 02:41 pm Title: Chapter 3

So I'm guessing Pam was already pregnant on casino night in this AU? Kinda gives the "I can't" another meaning. *sob*

Author's Response:

Hi! Nope, but she got married and just then, pregnant. She explains that in later chapters.

Thanks for reviewing!! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2021 05:31 pm Title: Chapter 7

I like this note here at the beginning... as much as this feels like fate to the reader and probably a little bit to them, this is also still the early stages of a fraught relationship between two people who really haven't been in touch in years and have a lot of stresses on them, and it's good to acknowledge that. I like Jim's realization that no, they've actually always needed more words than they've given each other.

I also appreciated Pam's nod towards the fact that they've aged a bit since they first wanted to do this, which feels very real (and is definitely a concern I've thought about Pam having in writing future fic).

Author's Response:

Thanks a lot for reviewing!

If I were Pam, I'd be concerned about my changed body. But, on the other hand, I like to imagine she'd be more secure of herself, and a little more assertive on what does she want and when.

:) 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2021 08:49 am Title: Chapter 7

Glad to see this one back. Gave me an excuse to read the previous few chapters.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2021 04:15 pm Title: Chapter 7

It think it's great that Jim basically rushes back to Scranton as soon as he can. Now that they've really found each other they don't want to be apart. I can just imagine the raised eyebrow Helene gave Pam. And then of course when they get back to her place they can't keep their hands off each other. Lovely to see them now in this place. Thanks for the update, I was wondering when we'd see this one again.

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2021 02:19 pm Title: Chapter 7

"me time" as an excuse for Pam's mom to take the boys made me laugh. "Assisted me time" is kinda like "friends with benefits", both perfectly valid reasons for granny time.

I like your vision of this future. Your writing is smooth and well constructed. Good onya

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reviewing!

(I appreciate any feedback on my writing, since English is not my mother tongue)

About Pam's mom... that's basically my mom. I can't see myself telling her "hey, can you take the kids because I would like to have some sweet time with this guy who doesn't even live in this town?"... I'd rather say I need me time. And she wouldn't buy it, of course.

 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 02:04 am Title: Chapter 6

I really like this version of the origin story of Pam's friendship with Dwangela, and how it ends up being on multiple levels connected with Jim's departure.

Good on Jim that he immediately recognizes (and is acting like he recognizes) that Pam is a package deal now. Feels like an area ripe for conflict, but he at least grasps the basics.

This was a great (and necessary) trip down memory lane. I especially appreciated your acknowledgement that at this point, some of those memories which were once so vivid (and are to those of us who can, say, watch them on repeat) have faded. I'm intrigued by the mention of Jim's time in Utica - are we going to get a similar memory lane trip for him next?

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

If Jim wasn't in the office, I thin Dwight would've been Pam's go-to person. It just makes sense. Also, I love it when Angela kinda tells her about her relationship with Dwight...

And with Jim gone, Roy being an ass, and Pam just feeling alone, she just needed somebody to trust.

(I am still toying with the idea of a flashback in which Pam takes baby Jack to Angela for babysitting, just for the fun of writing that)

And yeah, I need to explain the Utica thing. Which I have in my mind, but I haven't figure out how to put in on paper.

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2020 06:18 pm Title: Chapter 6

I liked this chapter. It filled in a lot of the blanks of their history. Jim's reaction to Pam's friendship with Dwight and Angela really seems to ring true. Great to see them talking about everything. Also good to have the discussion about how they see this relationship going. After so much miscommunication it's a relief to see them this honest. Good on Jim to realize that the boys are part of the package. I'm sure that's a thing that Pam would worry about, especially considering her history with men and those boys. This story seemed a little awkarad as it started up, but its grown into something really sweet.

Author's Response:

Yeah, this chapter was a filler. But I thought we needed some glimpses of what had happened in all those years they were apart.

They are trying to be honest, but old habits die hard... and even though there are older and somewhat more mature, there are still stuff they are not feeling great sharing.

Thanks a lot for your reviews! 

Reviewer: MamaLo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2020 03:46 pm Title: Chapter 1

Loving this so much. I really enjoy stories where they come back to each other after years of life has happened between them. I love the new Pam you’ve created; you can tell she’s been through a lot and come out stronger. And you can tell Jim has been a little beat down by a decade of failed relationships. Looking forward to more updates and seeing how they grow closer together.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 09:10 pm Title: Chapter 5

Kuri!! I'm trying to catch up on fics, so I'm sorry I'm late to this one, but it's so good! I love the world you have built here, with Pam being a single mom of two teens and Jim being single and just visiting Scranton. I'm interested to see how their relationship will effect any decisions they have to make. This was a great chapter, got very steamy there at the end! Great job!!

Author's Response:

Sorry I never replied to your review!!

I am happy that you liked it! I got obsessed with the idea of a more mature and no-nonsense Pam that is still... well, Pam. I hope it works.

Thanks very much! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 08:42 pm Title: Chapter 5

This just lovely - seeing Pam staking out her ground and how well Jim is responding to it. And you did a great job exploring the unique intimacy of a first time that they've both spent decades dreaming about.

This is also a very funny use of Dwight and Angela, down to Dwight's probably-serious death threat.

Author's Response:

I just realised I never replied to your review! Sorry about that!

I wasn't sure about including Dwight and Angela, but I love them, and I think that in this scenario, them being friends with Pam is not entirely far fetched. I glad I worked for you. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 05:15 pm Title: Chapter 5

So, clearly, they haven't moved on from each other in the ways that really matter. I loved how Jim just accepts the boys are part of the package. There's no regrets or hard feelings directed at them and I think that's great. I loved that it was Pam who started to initiate things more and more as the night went on. From the hand holding, the wine on the couch, maybe not so much the kisses, but leading Jim to the bedroom. She knows what she wants now and it seems clear that she wants Jim.

I get why she'd ask him to leave though. Not because she wants to be cruel to him, but because she has her sons to think about. Jim proves his quality by being quick to understand and realize she needs the space for the moment. However prior to that, it was great to see how they finally connect intimately like that.

Feels like a lot of piece fell into place with this one. Looking forward to seeing how it all turns out.

Author's Response:

They never moved on. No way! LOL

I like the idea of a more mature Pam, having lived through a lot and thus, knowing what she wants and how she wants it. Which is more or less how Pam is at the end of the series.

Sorry I never answered your review, btw! Thanks so much! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 05:08 pm Title: Chapter 4

Hell of a date for the two of them. I really like that they don't spend more time avoiding hard discussions. There seems to be enough regret from the past that dwelling on it longer seems uneeded.

Rock on Pam. Good for her to realize what a complete ass Roy was. And still is. A visit once a year, money, and memes? Those boys deserve someone much better than that.

Great chapter.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 03:11 pm Title: Chapter 4

Kuri, I love this! It’s always fun to read about them airing their laundry years after it happened when it isn’t so fresh, but can still feel like a gut punch.

I also love how sweet you made her sons. :)

Keep it coming!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 02:12 pm Title: Chapter 4

Nice to see the two of them working through the bump in the road from the last chapter - and actually communicating about their history and how they got here. Long overdue, obviously.

The gap-filling seems necessary, but ooooof. Good heavens, is Roy a tool. And I think this is a fairly believable outgrowth of the guy he is in canon too - lousy partner, uninvolved father, and quick to drop any obligation if it gets in the way of what he wants.

I love the little moments of them still affecting each other so much after all these years, too.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 11:08 am Title: Chapter 3

Some very good Jim-Pam banter in this one - you've struck a good balance with their dialogue, I think, between their sort of easy joking nature that they fall right back into and the way they immediately get awkward when they come close to discussing anything real.

You've made some interesting choices with Pam's journey - giving her the strength to leave Roy on her own and the fortitude to chase her dreams while raising two kids. Definitely kindly - you hate to think of her having just sort of suffered for all these years on her own.

And of course these two still can't communicate to save their lives. Oh, well. Makes for a better story!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

I love Pam's arch in the series. How she finds her voice and gets stronger and more assertive. I guess you could say this is a version of that. She had to be the one leaving Roy. She just had to.

And well, they are eesentially the same people. Hence, the joles and eash talk, but there are things that have been left unsaid that are too heavy for them to just move forward and pretend they weren't there.

Cheers!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 10:54 am Title: Chapter 3

Awkward, followed by getting back to civil, followed by more awkward. That seems to track. It's been 15 years after all. People grow and change in that time. So I get why there would be quite a bit of tension.

Though I have to say this paints a very unflattering portait of Roy. 5 years into the marriage, just when the going gets tough with the kids, he and Pam split and he moves to Montana? Ouch.

Still a lot of really heavy emotions going on with this story. Nice job with that.

Author's Response:

I think it's a balance between them being Jim and Pam to the core, but also 15 years and lots of kissunderstandings that seemed to have grown bigger.

There is a reason why Roy left then, and I'll write it soon enough. Not exactly redeeming but... well, a reason.

Thanks a lot for reviewing!! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans