Reviews For illicit affairs
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2021 12:00 pm Title: you'll be flushed when you return

So frustrating... you're doing a great job with the tension-building here. Can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 10:50 pm Title: you'll be flushed when you return

Oh, poor Jan. Although, really, given her canonical future she might be better off here.

Let's note again that Karen doesn't *quite* understand Jim... and maybe doesn't know she doesn't quite understand Jim. Given that she seems to see their tense moments as foreplay, she might well be pretty happy with this.

The idea of Jim actually trying to function in Jan's role is fun to explore. Feels like Michael might be having an easier time with him than he did with Ryan, even as Jim's not really successfully managing him. The Michael dialogue was very much in his voice.

I can really picture this apartment scene - Pam putting on the fake moustache to amuse Jim and in a throwback to what they used to be stings. And I like that after all this time, it doesn't really take much. They still feel closer to each other than anyone, and they can tell each other things that can't say to other people, and a little honesty is really all they need.

Unfortunately, they also need a little bravery. They have this brief little bubble, and it just... pops. Ugh. Those poor kids.

Interested where you're going with this next and if we'll see Pam maaaaaaaaybe take Jim's advice.

Reviewer: EosinY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 10:12 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

Wow, everyone on MTT is hell bent on breaking my heart today. Pam trying to go right back to an innocuous topic right after Jim hangs up is totally something she would do. Those two have some serious communication issues, tsk tsk. Anyways, another brilliant chapter as always.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 08:31 pm Title: you'll be flushed when you return

All caught up and am loving the tension you’re building. How everything is not what it seems for Jim and how even though it’s been so long all the feelings are still there and that it’s more meaningful than just sex, it’s the real deal and he doesn’t hesitate to make it permanent. I think Pam’s characterization is really good, with her mini-breakdown and her anxiety but little bursts of confidence.

But you did Danny Cordray dirty and we’re fighting about it.

Just kidding. It actually makes sense for him to be exactly how you’ve described him, as much as it hurt my heart!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 08:09 pm Title: you'll be flushed when you return

UGHHHHH. I'm definitely frustrated with these two right now. But I lovedddd this chapter. The couch scene was just perfection. I really thought they were going to get busy there until Karen called. But their conversation on the couch while half dressed, him telling her to tell him to come back or to move to New York. Ugh. Can't she see that he still loves her?! I hope the next update is soon because I need it.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 05:37 pm Title: you'll be flushed when you return

Yeah frustrated is putting it mildly. They're only kidding themselves. Their feelings are still right there for each other. It's fear and hurt keeping them apart as usual, so they're turning to other things. Guh. Those two.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 02:45 pm Title: you'll be flushed when you return

“Tell me to come back.”

Kill me dead.

NLM, I can tell you’re going to continue to hurt me many times and I am completely ready for it. The tension you continue to build is amazing and frustrating (in the absolute best way haha). Loved this update!

Author's Response:

It killed me to write that line T_T 

Thanks so much, I was a little nervous about this chap. but I’m happy to hear the tension is building. Things will have to come to a head eventually!

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2020 02:08 pm Title: tell your friends you're out for a run

Oh NLM, I am really, really loving this! It feels very in character for Pam to be with Danny in these circumstances and I LOVE that they both were recalling moments of the phone call while with other people. Perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2020 08:17 pm Title: tell your friends you're out for a run

NLM, you kill me. But I love this so much. As per usual, I am really so excited to see where this goes!!

Now go enjoy evermore. ;)

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2020 07:15 pm Title: tell your friends you're out for a run

While I like looking at Danny, guys that gorgeous can only rock their own world. They also aren't that much fun to be around; they got shorted on the personality in lieu of the looks. But a quick booty call is just insulting.

Will we be getting another HMG cover art for Evermore? A friend asks hopefully.

Author's Response:

Ha yeah, that was kinda my thought, a guy that good looking never *had* to be good in bed so he probably wouldn’t be. Evermore did inspire the new header, does it get a HMG title? Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2020 04:00 pm Title: tell your friends you're out for a run

Can't say I blame Pam for the night she had. She's alone and lonely and kind of feels like she just wants to feel something. Deep down I know she wants to feel that something with Jim, and though there's communication, what they both need is still not there. So in that regard a good sense of where she is at the moment.

Author's Response: Yup that’s pretty much it. And would all be resolved if Jim and Pam would just talk to each other, but what’s the fun in that? XD thanks for commenting! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2020 03:13 pm Title: tell your friends you're out for a run

Oh, Pam trying to tentatively maneuver her way into a hook-up just makes me want to give her a hug. She's so uncomfortable.

Honestly, this was pretty painful from beginning to end. The parallels between their evenings are so sharp - both in and out of bed she wants Danny to be Jim, and he just... isn't. At least Karen turned out to bring some of her own assets to the table, but they're both just Not Quite Right.

Also, come on, Danny. A married couple is not stalking you around a party obsessively pressuring you for answers, NO reason to give her the truth there, ya d-bag.

I like this portrayal of Isabel, which feels true to life. Much as Pam could've used a fully informed and top-notch female BFF during this period of her life, I've always assumed from canon she didn't have one. Izzy feels like she fits the bill - not a perfect fount of advice, not knowing enough of the backstory to be super helpful, but still someone who Pam is lucky to have around.

The Jim conversation afterwards is sort of a low but persistent sting - you can really feel the distance and how much they'd both love to cross it and don't realize how much the other wants to as well.

Author's Response: Thanks DJC, you always state what I’m going for so much better than I can XD 

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2020 02:46 am Title: hood over your head, keep your eyes down

I'm loving this! I really like the way you've described Jim's conflict, and the dialogue's fab. Eager to read the follow-up (no pressure... ;o) )

Author's Response: Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2020 02:25 am Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

Wow! That was all kinds of vivid and... exciting. I always pictured the call-that-should-have-happened sort of apologetic and nervy. I like this much better.
Thanks, NLM!

Author's Response: I kinda like this better also XD thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 05:18 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

This story was worth 5 jelly beans for the cover art alone. A HMG (Holy Mother of God) picture for sure.

Author's Response: Lol yes those are HMOG photos of both of them, I hope the story will do those photos justice! Thanks for the jellybeans <3

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 03:26 pm Title: hood over your head, keep your eyes down

Like you said in chat I think it was, this has wishy-washy Jim all over it. I mean of course we're deep in S3 angst so it makes sense he's reeling from everything. Likewise the evening with Karen. He's trying his best to forget Pam and Karen is there and more than willing. But then he does text Pam back and now she's calling again. Feels like both of them are just setting up more and more heartache for themselves. I kinda get that we'll have to go through a lot with this one, but why oh why can't Jim and Pam just be honest with each other?

Great job creating all those conflicting emotions.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 03:20 pm Title: hood over your head, keep your eyes down

This is certainly a good set-up for some angst. Jim trying to move on, neither of them being willing to take a risk to move things forward at this juncture. Disasters are clearly waiting to happen.

I like this take on Karen - I feel like she gets portrayed in fic a lot as being uber-serious and ambitious and work-focused, and this feels a lot truer to canon Karen. She's less Pam's opposite and more appealing because she has some Pam-like qualities combined with a willingness to go for what she wants and be direct... you can see why Jim is able to enjoy himself with her, and we know what a relief that is. Except while she may like a good prank, she's still not reflexively game for things like Pam is. Karen: RUN.

The touch that he's literally in bed with Karen and thinking about phone sex with Pam is just... ouch. So much ouch.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 03:11 pm Title: hood over your head, keep your eyes down

ughhhh why did you need to write this so well? I don't want to listen to Jim and Karen flirt and like each other, that's gross (; For real though, I can't wait until the next chapter. I love what you're doing with this story, it's very realistic to the show. Hopefully Jim realizes sooner rather than later that Pam's the one and won't break Karen's heart too bad.

Author's Response: Ha! Well fair warning, right now what I have planned is angst and drama and not a quick resolution XD Karen’s heart should survive though (maybe)

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 03:20 am Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

I love how they just went at it and then to have him say "Friends still?" When I say I died...

And I'm here for the angst, all the angst. Can't wait to see how you kill us with the rest of this!

Author's Response:

Yeah I was racking my brain trying to think of what Jim could say to try to gracefully get out of this but would break Pam's heart all the same. And then I decided "friends still?" was just the gut punch I wanted. And of course it hurt to write T_T

I hope I can delivery on my angst promise! XD thank you for reading!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 07:16 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

Omg! Are you trying to kill us all??
This was wonderful!
And of course it left me with two killion questions starting with WHAT THE HECK JIM?
So I guess what I' saying is that I'm eagerly waiting for more.

Author's Response: Lol even I'm like "What the heck Jim??" and I wrote it! Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: JHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 06:24 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

Yassss Lauren, more Tay more JAM, more of all of this. I loooove it!

Author's Response: Yes, never enough Tay and JAM! Thank you JHalpert :-)

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 03:17 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

Whoaaaaaa buddy. *buckles seatbelt*

I thought it was interesting (and pretty freakin’ hot) how it just kind of...happened. Nothing premeditated.

You’re going to hurt me, huh, NLM? I’m ready. Bring it on.

Author's Response: No one was more surprised that me I'd start a fic like that. And yes, yes I am XD Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2020 11:29 am Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

So yeah, that was a thing. Phone sex and then that kind of an ending. Not sure what's going on with these two, but I'm sure we'll be in for a wild ride.

Author's Response: prepare for them to be dummies for a while XD thanks for reading!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 11:56 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

I like some of these choices a lot.

The idea that they’re sort of backing into phone sex as a natural progression of an awkward conversation, as opposed to one of them setting out to ramp things up, feels true to where they are at this point in canon – particularly with them immediately retreating into awkwardness as soon as they’re done. They’ve got a lot to talk about and they haven’t even tried to do it yet, so the idea that this is going to be a little two steps forward, one step back is fitting – and a natural source of conflict and insecurity. Feels like they just dug themselves an angst pit and they’re about to fall into it.

Looking forward to seeing how you get them out again.

Also: is phone sex a dated term now? When did that happen? Why does no one ever tell me these things?

Author's Response:

lol I was picturing that the term "phone sex" made Pam think of those late night LiveLinks commercials that for some reason all look like they were film in the year 2000 (mostly I think I was projecting XD).

But yes I thought the accidental phone sex fit where they were, they just had that great phone convo in Initiation and the chemistry is still palpable even over the phone but were not ready to at all address Jim's confession and kiss and Pam's broken engagement. And thus, this. Thanks for the thoughtful review!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2020 10:02 pm Title: make sure nobody sees you leave

Lady, I was like “yes meet up at the closest hotel, chapter two, sounds good” and then

BUT my own heartbreak aside I think this is 100% how it would have gone down. Them reconnecting and immediately raising the bar with their interactions and giving in to the bit of safety that distance and a phone line can bring is absolutely them. And I totally get why Jim would have that moment of thinking things went too far or that he made a mistake. I can’t wait to see how the rest of the song plays into the fic! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much BT, that makes me feel good to hear how it went down at least somewhat believable XD

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans