Reviews For These Green Hills
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2020 07:31 am Title: Chapter 5

I think you did a great job in this chapter! The way you wrote how Pam felt at having to go through this away from home and without the comforting presence of her mother was spot on and exactly how I think many in her situation would react. Even if an appendectomy is super simple, I would be nervous too. And I even worked for a few years as a surgical tech and I *know* that there’s nothing to it, but it’s scary to go under anesthesia and to have something happen emergently and add to that being away from home.

Anyway I am terrible at reviewing consistently but I wanted to say I thought you wrote this experience in a realistic way and I liked that Jim was there as the caretaker! I love him in that role, he fits it so perfectly!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh I love that youíre here and reading! I always wonder who is when they havenít reviewed so thank you so much for leaving kind messages! Surgery is really scary no matter how many times youíve done it, so I truly appreciate how understanding the people around Pam are. Sheís not going to have an easy time with anesthesia and itís a good thing Jim will be there for that too.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2020 04:50 pm Title: Chapter 5

Yeah, appendicitis isn't any fun. Now granted that an appendectomy is one of the most routine surgeries out there, but for someone who doesn't understand medical jargon anything can be intimidating. So I don't blame Pam for being scared.

Jim however is great. Not only in realizing something is wrong, but not letting her get away with it either. And then he proves his quality by staying with her. Cuddles and ice cream are god-sends post surgery.

Also I loved Pam's crack there that Jim was the patient. She still has some spunk to her and it's great to see.

Can't wait for part 2.

Author's Response: I canít wait for part 2 as well, itís almost ready to go up. Thank you so much for your review. I know first hand how scary it is to have surgery in college when your parents arenít there. Itís terrifying, so having a Jim in that moment would make things so much easier to go through. Itís so nice to feel you have this support from a friend when you donít even know how routine the surgery is, itís still scary. I loved her joke that she wasnít the patient. Sheís adorable. Even when sick.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2020 04:27 pm Title: Chapter 5

Again, I think you’ve done a good job exploring something between them that this AU provides a unique opportunity to get into: that awful experience of getting really sick for the first time far away from home. This is a really lovely moment between them with him helping her through the fear of that and just being there for her when she needs him.

(Also, PLEASE tell me he got her work to the showcase???)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had this happen to my college roommate and it was so hard for her. Her parents were on the other side of the country. And we were all there for her through the entire process. She was scared to death but she pulled through even though it was something so routine. I thought this was be a great way to start maturing our two young love birds.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2020 12:09 pm Title: Chapter 4

This is interesting. The relationships are a bit confusing, though. Are Jim and Karen together? Ig they’re Not, how come she doesn’t know it? And what’s Jim’s angle with Pam? We know he likes her, but he’s not totally single. Very interested in reading what comes next. Can’t wait!

Author's Response: All of this will work itself out. Karen has a very different idea of what her ďrelationshipĒ with Jim is, then what Jim thinks it is. Theyíre 18, impressionable, and trying to stake claim on what is ďtheirsĒ in college. Jim definitely likes Pam, but heís uncertain (until now) if she feels the same, and heís not wanting Pam to know too much about his past. More of this will come out as we go! Thank you so much for your reviews!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2020 05:12 pm Title: Chapter 4

And into the drama we go. Karen seems like in her last year of high school she was queen bee and everyone knew it. She got what she wanted and would dare anyone to get in her way. However it also seems Jim is more than over this posessive streak of Karen's. He's clearly more into the softly beautiful Pam and it's lovely. The build-up over a few weeks before a kiss also seems nice. They take some time to get to know each other before taking further steps. Love it. Also love the fact that Jim is instantly on board with supporting Pam's art. Lovely scene to envision. Nice job.

Author's Response: You are spot on with Karen, Eric, and weíll continue to see that throughout some of this story. But Jim, who may be holding back a little bit of the truth himself, has become quite smitten with Pam. That perfect little thing, gosh I love writing them young. Thank you for your reviews, I LOVE them.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2020 02:43 pm Title: Chapter 4

Wow, Karen. You lying liar pants. Very interested to see where you're going with her character with this choice - feels like there's a lot of story to tell with their high school relationship.

That first kiss was VERY cute. And I love the idea that Pam is unwittingly drawing his eyes!

The details in this are good. You've done well making them feel like real college freshmen, a little lonely and a little confused and still learning how adult relationships work and mildly terrified about what's going to happen to all their possessions if they piss off their roommate.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing young Jim, Pam and Karen, even though she definitely sees the past different. And itís possible Jim may not be being entirely truthful with whatís going on with him either. A lot more to come, thank you for your regular reviews they make me so happy!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2020 01:43 pm Title: Chapter 3

Okay, so that soothes some of the sting from last chapter. Kind of interesting to see Jim like that with Karen. Last chapter I got the feeling he wasn't really all that into Karen. Though he could just be friendly and was laughing at a good joke. He is a nice guy after all.

Pam's internal thoughts are about where I'd expect. Kind of doubting herself, especially with what she's gone through. I did kind of like it that she didn't get into a huge fight with Karen. She could have, but didn't. Though that could also be Pam's inclination to avoid conflict.

Looks like Jim got her message. Nice of him to try and make up the missed meeting. Especially with a kind of secret spot. I hope they explain everything behind the missed coffee date. They do still seem to be throwing off all kinds of sparks and that's nice to see.

A nice secret spot, good company, feels like a good place to have a heart to heart. Pam's insistence that Jim can do what he wants feel like the seeds for such a conversation have already been planted too.

Nice job with this update.

Author's Response: Iím glad I was able to soothe the wound a little! I think Jim has fallen into an easy routine with Karen, I kind of imagine how easily Pam can be persuaded by Roy in the show. She doesnít love him, but heís comfortable and Karen is comfortable for Jim I like her internal thoughts a lot, Itís very fun to write, and Iím excited to write this little heart to heart theyíre going to...attempt :)

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2020 01:32 pm Title: Chapter 3

Glad to see they’re on speaking terms. But what’s up with Karen? And is Pam ever going to apologize for not showing up?
I can’t wait to read more

Author's Response: Karenís a big old pain isnít she? Hahah, that conversation is coming, but in typical JAM fashion, they have no idea how to communicate with each other about the things they need to.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2020 12:37 pm Title: Chapter 3

This starts with a gutpunch for Pam, albeit a totally unintentional one - and one a more confident person might be able to detect isn't as bad as she's assuming it is. Poor girl - her insecurity is really running rampant right now and it's leading her astray.

I really like the choice to turn from their blown-up real date to the beats of their fake date in The Client. And that Jim is convinced the whole thing was his fault - oh, these two. At least at their age in this story it seems a little easier to understand.

But what I really like is the ending for this. The idea of them both wanting more for each other was one of the things I loved about JAM (well... early seasons JAM), and the way they bond and Pam offers Jim some necessary guidance here is lovely.

I will also note Toby's playing this like Pam and Jim's little drama just isn't casting much of a shadow over his day... but I'm on to you, Flenderson.

Author's Response: I think the storyline from the show works well with the will they wonít they when theyíre young and vulnerable and have no idea how to communicate because theyíre 18. I love the idea that theyíre being honest with each other but not actually talking about what both of them are bothered by in typical Jim and Pam fashion (some things are just off limits for some reason) ahaha I love that youíre on to Toby, that poor kid, he needs to watch himself lol

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 12:50 pm Title: Chapter 2

Wow. Just... wow. Okay. I see how it is.

No, but seriously - in addition to offering a cautionary tale about idealizing the days before cell phones, you made some really interesting if deeply personally hurtful choices here. Jim having a history with Karen he's trying to get away from is a fun twist on canon, as is a Jim who still doesn't know what he wants to be but knows exactly what he's running away from. Looking forward to seeing how that plays out. And I suppose it's not much of a story if things just... go well.

I really liked Pam's inner monologue here and the way you walked us through her artistic process. Fun seeing how her mind works.

Really though. Mean.

Author's Response: I know, I know, Iím feeling the shame, but a storyís not a story without a little conflict, donít you worry, everything will be just fine :) and yes, pre-cellphone life was probably pretty tragic in college, I canít imagine the frustration of not being able to reach out when you need to! Thank you so much for continuing to read and review!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 11:13 am Title: Chapter 2

Oof. There's always something isin't there. So Karen and Jim have history. That's an interesting turn. Especially with Pam and Karen being roommates. I really get the feeling that Jim doesn't really want to be in that position with Karen. Like she sees him as a target, sees him as James, when he really wants to be Jim.

I kind of hope Jim and Pam can bounce back from this, but who knows. It does seem like a set back to be sure.

Great job in bringing in a lot of emotion to be sure.

Author's Response: Thanks Eric for the review! I usually shy away from too much conflict, but theyíre young and vulnerable, and especially when youíre trying to create a new sense of self at college, and let your past go. Theyíre both hiding from parts of their pasts which will come to light, but donít you worry about Jim and Pam, theyíll be just fine :)

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 10:08 am Title: Chapter 2

Oh no!!!!! Not Jim and Karen. Dont break my heart like that. Can’t wait to read more

Author's Response: Ahahaha a little conflict to make things interesting, just for now, I promise. :)

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 02:00 am Title: Chapter 1

This is some VERY strong and efficient characterization of Karen and Roy - I'm liking what I see of Karen's backstory in this. And Pam's inner monologue is just so tellingly self-critical. Please have someone give her a hug for me?

Obviously, she's captivated Jim just like he captivated her, and I love the little moments you've worked in where you see the cracks in his facade of nonchalance - he's sweating bullets. Oh, these kids.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Theyíre so young, and so vulnerable, and 18 year old Pam really does need a hug, or five. Sheíll be alright though, she just needs a little boost of confidence. So many roommates just ultimately ďco-existĒ together and donít really ever become friends. Thatís how I always saw Pam and Karen in S3, so writing them as roommates actually came so easy to me from their vastly different personalities and the way neither of them ever became catty. And oooh Jim, youíre right, he might have some smooth moves, but thatís boys a hot mess inside. There will be far more of that in the next chapter. Thank you so much for your reviews, you know I love them!

Reviewer: sophieandsitcoms Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 12:20 am Title: Chapter 1

wow i already love this story! it makes me feel warm inside already, for i have this old house in vermont haha. interesting with karen being pam’s roomie. also intrigued by jim’s major being pre-med! can’t wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I love Vermont, and it just feels like such a fun and warm setting for our favorite couple to meet. And theyíre young and vulnerable and so much can happen. :)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2020 07:27 pm Title: Chapter 1

Absolutely sweet as heck. The way he knocks on the door? I. love. It. I cannot wait to see how their date goes. And the whole pre-med thing? I'm so interested to see where you take this!

Author's Response: Ahaha would Jim be Jim if he wasnít sure what to do with his life? Of course not lol. We gotta keep things interesting for him, and UVM is a pretty good school so I like to think heís a lil smarty. I canít wait to continue writing more of this and to hear your thoughts!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2020 06:29 pm Title: Chapter 1

D'awwwwww. I love that he's as smitten with her as she is with him. Also that things are done with Roy. They're both free to puruse a relationship with each other. Pam and Karen seem to be hitting it off too. That's always nice to see. Loved the use of canon lines. Can't wait to see their coffee date.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Eric! I am setting the scene nicely, there will be some interesting things that happen with Karen in the mix but our favorite couple will of course end up together! Thank you so much for your review!

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2020 08:39 pm Title: Prologue

Oooooh!!! I love a College AU! I wasn’t expecting Karen as the roommate. Their personalities are already clashing.
And the cute meet with Jim was fantastic! I really hope Laren doesn’t come between them.
Can’t wait to read more!

Author's Response: I thought Karen and Pam as roommates would make a very interesting dynamic and Iím excited all of the different paths this can take! I love a good College AU too, so Iím so excited to write this one! I canít wait to hear more of your reviews as we continue along!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2020 08:26 pm Title: Prologue

Ooooh. This feels like it's going to be fun.

Talk about writing what you know: what strikes me more than anything else in this chapter is how true Pam's anxiety about starting college and being away from home and having to adjust to all these new people feels. Feels distinctly natural to our insecure, not necessarily a social butterfly heroine, but also very universal.

Pam and Karen as roommates (and especially as roommates living across the hall from Jim) feels like it has a lot of potential. I do enjoy the two of them as the friends they could have been. You've done a great job portraying Karen's confidence and sense of self and how naturally and unintentionally intimidating that would be to our girl.

I really like this version of their first meeting - and how Pam the artist is left lingering on the color of his eyes.

Looking forward to seeing you play this out!

Author's Response: Oooh Iím so glad youíre here! I am very excited about this AU, and I really wanted the dynamic between Pam and Karen to be very striking and clear why Pam would feel insecure. I think her personality is so true to so many incoming first year students in college and those fears are so real as well as the desire to truly fit in. I am imagine Jim coming in, naturally feeling a bit more comfortable and helping her ease into that transition. All of the things that can and do happen to college students in this first year are on the table for this story as well as some surprises. I canít wait to hear more of your thoughts!

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2020 06:41 pm Title: Prologue

I love the whole premise of this already! I'm intrigued to see if he goes for Pam automatically (which it seems like the answer is yes) or if he ever goes after Karen at all. I can't wait to read updates on this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Beth! There will be some twists in this one, but of course, so much fluff too. I canít wait to hear more of your reviews! And thank you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2020 06:17 pm Title: Prologue

I'm liking this setup already. The meet-cute with Jim was adorably sweet. Pam rooming with Karen looks interesting. Seem to be lots of ways you could play that. Always fun to see a new college AU. Looking forward to seeing where this one leads us.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! My other WIP needs a break, and I was feeling this AU for a while. I work in the college system and in residence life so this is sort of my forte, so putting my two favorite people in this setting just seems fitting. More to come very soon!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans