Reviews For Another First Date
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Thats what she said Signed [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2024 05:29 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Just finished all of the chapters and it was so much fun to read. I really enjoyed their dates at Christopher's through the years. Especially the Blessings chapter. And, the last chapter with Cici was just adorable.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2023 11:23 am Title: New Traditions

(Sorry I’m just getting to review this)

What a sweet ending to this story and I love the twist. Such a cute evolution of their story from first date to the next generation of first date.

Also, I would like to thank you for the visual of Jim in a towel and then it dropping. It was something I didn’t know I needed.

Great job with this story! And congratulations on another fantastic accomplishment. :)

Reviewer: Anne-Rose Sweetkins Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2023 04:16 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Cece’s love for her daddy is adorable!
So sweet that Jim took Pam on their first date at her perfect date spot.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2023 01:01 pm Title: New Traditions

I finally got around to reading thing one in it's entirety (four kids apparently keep you busy) and I am so glad I did. You have such an amazing way of weaving in canon and explaining so much that doesn't get explained in the show. The queen of backstory!! It's amazing. Your attention to the littlest of details always pays off. You really think of everything and it makes your stories that much more enjoyable to read.

You are also the queen of perfect gifts. Every time, in all your fics really, you think of the most thoughtful gifts they can give to each other and I love it.

And the ending!! Adorable and perfect.

Great job with this one and congrats on finishing it!!

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you did too. I know that you are a sucker for Daddy Jim and I hope you enjoyed the daddy parts.

Thanks for the kind words about backstory- what drew me to this fan fic writing thing and this site was "filling in the blanks" that we didn't get to see and I've always enjoyed come up with little stories (or bequeathing pieces of my own life to Jam)

Thanks again for your kind words. They mean a lot.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2023 06:27 pm Title: New Traditions

I can see these moments so clearly here. The who-can-hug-the-hardest contest has my eyes assuming full heart shape. Too cute! These kids are just so real and fully realized. The details of them and their relationships with their parents are terrific.

"At least this time he knew enough to let Pam pick out the outfit for the date." See? He's learning! About time, Jimbo.

Dwight the friend versus Dwight the stickler. Yeah, tough to know who you're gonna get there. But him and Angela having a Jam moment and the Angela growth! The boar getting the lecture! Dwight doing fundraising calls! Ahhh, I'm gonna miss the Goldverse.

So many good callbacks here, too.

"Her alter ego, Crankypants, sometimes made a cameo when she woke abruptly, and she had not been invited on this date." LOL.

I reread the original Beth chapter before digging into this and am honestly kinda bummed to find out Pete is gone. Poor Beth!

Awwwwwwwwwww you got me. I thought this was gonna be a make-up date from the last disaster, but nope. Cece and Jim time. Oh, that's really good circularity with him picking up on Christopher's originally!

Well, I'm sorry to see this journey end. But thank you for bringing us along on it.

Author's Response:

Writing the kids is in a way my revisiting my own past- remembering having little ones and parenting them and passing that on to Pam and Jim in my writing. And some of it is so real...

Yeah, well if Jim picked out Cece's outfit, it might have been an Arcade Fire tee shirt, or just a mismatched shirt and top. It was best for Pam to be on that and of course it was a first red herring.  

Yeah, people do move on and just wait until Beth hears that the Halperts are moving too. 

Got even you. I'm going to pat myself on the back for that.

I am going to miss the Goldverse too, but I thank you for always being a fan of it. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2023 06:48 am Title: New Traditions

Yes, you did trick me there. Well done. Here I was thinking Jim's taking Pam out for another romantic night and lo and behold he's taking Cece out for another first date. Like I said, very well done.

Super cute to think about Jim at least being able to start the tradition of Daddy-daughter dates at Christopher's. They'll need to find a new place once they head down to Austin, but at least they can start the tradition here. The image of Beth kneeling down to greet Cece is adorable for sure.

Great look at how Jim and Pam's relationship progressed over time through the lens of their favorite place. Even through all the changes they had in their life it's wonderful they had this place that stays mostly the same. And it's also a place where they can mostly reconnect and just enjoy being together. Great job with all of it.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

And like I said- that had been what I set up back in chapter one - the ending in my head all along - filling the moments in between were sometimes a challenge but even when I struggled to find them I enjoyed the process.

I'll miss Beth and Christopher's. Thanks for all your reviews along the way and of course this one.

 

 

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2023 03:01 pm Title: Bad Dreams

These last two chapters are incredibly emotional for entirely different reasons and you handle that range of emotions so well.

There is so much angst in this part of their story but that’s what makes it richer and more realistic. You do such a great job at capturing her feelings of frustration and doubts and uncertainty. Wonderful updates!

Author's Response:

Many Thanks. I used to be nervous about writing anything angsty. It is a boost of confidence to hear it comes across when I do. I agree it keeps it real to write this part of the story as well.

Thanks again. NExt one wraps it all up! 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2023 12:40 pm Title: Bad Dreams

Well I thought this was absolutely spot on. Yes, there was a bit of angst but it was so delicately handled, it was a pleasure to read and embraced the difficulties of that time for them with a semblance of hope. Awesome job, Lady!

Author's Response:

Why thank you  -what I was going for...true to the story angst with a side of hope. 

Thanks again lady! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2023 07:23 pm Title: Bad Dreams

Okay, that test dream was too real. (I once asked my father how long after he graduated he stopped having that sort of dream and he said he'd tell me when it happened). I can see Jim and Pam both suffering from this one frequently. And having Kevin there to twist the knife was a nice touch.

DEEP DIVE REFERENCE. Jim being removed from his normal sources of comfort - and being removed from it even if he was physically present with them - stings.

"Mold in the kitchen, Dwight could take care of, and had." My headcanon as well. And also, good metaphor.

The POV transition around the dress... OW. Very Season 9. Totally well-intentioned gesture that just hits all sorts of nerves for Pam. In general, this feels very true to how raw she is at this point in the narrative... everything's a potential trigger, right down to the Berry Smash.

This description of how he's recharging at home while simultaneously making things worse for Pam... brutal.

“I was telling Beth about Athlead, and how you take off to Philadelphia for half the week.” Oh, Jim. Jim Jim Jim. That was... not something you should have missed the implications of. He's just so bad at picking up on her tone here. Man, this season was a bummer.

Ugh, and Pam ends up being completely undercut by the ending. And so we continue on our downward slide.

Okay, that was INCREDIBLY angsty, but well done!

Author's Response:

I knew you'd mention the dream...they can be very scary stuff. Luckily, it's been a while since I've had one but I'm sure they're not done  and I've had my share...well, well, well after any school I've attended.

Like the deep dive - do you?

Sorry for the all the angst, but the show started it! At least I give a little hope at the end and we know that while it gets much worse before it gets better...it does get better. Nice mornings ahead.

Thanks so much for the read and review. I'm humble and grateful. 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2023 05:59 pm Title: Bad Dreams

Not yet through the whole chapter, but I just had to pause reading and get this out. Pam goes on deep dives. Nicely done.

Ok, getting into the heart of this one. S9 angst is hard but it's a different flavor than early season angst. Rather than pining for the other one they can't have, it feels like the Jim and Pam we've come to know and love, the steady relationship rocks are being chipped away. And we get that feeling here in spades. Jim waking up alone in Philly to a nightmare and there's no warmth next to him to sooth the fear away. Pam filled with doubts, fear, and anger about all the changes going on in her life that she didn't sign up for and in all fairness specifically said no to. It's a lot to take in.

Yet even when they're ragged around the edges, their thoughts still run similar. Both thinking in terms of rot and mildew growing and they're both unable or unwilling to really address it. Then of course all their classic failures come to the front again. Putting off the hard conversations for surface level friendship. Not sharing when things are really bad. Not fully communicating exactly what's going on. Sweeping things under the rug rather than dealing with the dirt.

Kind of sad that even a night at Christopher's is soured by everything going on. I always imagined Christopher's as a safe haven for them. A place where even if everything else is tossed about in a storm, they can go there and rest in the peace of each other's company. That some of the waves of life stirred up the waters of that harbor speaks to just how hard things are for them. Nice work to bring that out.

It'll be a bit bittersweet to see this one go. However regardless I'm sure you'll do the story full justice.

Author's Response:

Like the deep dive? It lent itself nicely there.

Yeah, sorry for all the angst and for letting it follow them to Christopher's, but when partners stop communicating properly, to each other (internally doesn't count even when thoughts are in sync...mildew, bad dreams) then these things spread.

But hope the bit of hope at the end helps, as knowing this follows canon and while there's more angst and trouble ahead - pretty bad stuff just a week or so away  - there's also nice mornings ahead too once they start communicating again and work through the rough stuff.

It will be sad to close the book on this one but it seems to be time. 

 Thanks for the read and review. 

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2023 12:38 pm Title: Bad Dreams

This was a great take on S9 angst which still fills me with dread when I can sometimes stomach them on Comedy Central reruns. I love the reference to Dwight fixing the kitchen… but not being able to fix this mildew— that could turn to mold. My stomach dropped though when I read that Jim was going to surprise Pam with the dress from 5 years ago. Ugh. Great intent, but has so much potential for going wrong. Her stream of consciousness about the outfit was great… and of course Jim fit into and spiffied up HIS first date shirt… oh my heart aches a little for Pam. I loved the shadow stuff with the menu and bread basket… their problems were definitely much bigger and darker unspoken… and that reinforced that concept. Great call to the fact that as part of Dunder Mifflin, Jim’s business was also Pam’s business— but that Athlead was not.. and whether it was Jim not trying to bother her with “unnecessary stress” (maybe his thinking) or just that Pam didn’t know the specifics, I can see how that really stung not being a part of those moments.. which could potentially lead to bigger implications. And her reaction?? Oooh!! I think that you taught us all a little bit about assuming what someone else is doing… in this case Jim being on the phone for not Athleap but for Isabel and the kids— not that he’s out of the doghouse, but that without them speaking, they’re never going to get on the same page.

Mostly I love that this ended with hopefulness… because that season 9 shit was INTENSE!  I love that Jim still (literally) reaches out— and Pam still accepts.  As long as that’s happening, It’s gonna eventually be okay.  Thanks for this hopeful take on the S9 shit— it was well handled and I loved it! 



Author's Response:

Wow, what a review, thanks so much for taking the time to leave it. Yes, Season 9 is rough, mostly because they forgot how to communicate and I wanted to bring that out in this chapter but without forgetting that no matter what they still love each other (and the family they made). Jim's gestures can only go so far -and can even backfire as we see happen. 

Yeah, I didn't want to end it with anger and angst, even though according to canon we know what's about to happen in a week or two, but their love eventually pulls them out of that dark place and I wanted this chapter to hint at that too. 

Thanks again for reviewing.

 

 

 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2023 11:42 am Title: Bad Dreams

I think you captured Pam getting mad at Jim about the dress really well. It’s so easy to be annoyed at someone who’s trying to do something nice and only see the bad things about the gesture when you’re kinda mad at them. Same goes with the Isobel call, and just jumping to conclusions.
This feels like it could definitely have been a canon dinner they had, full of tense, unspoken moments. Nice job

Author's Response:

Yeah, well when you forget how to communicate that's when misunderstandings happen (although Jim should have known better with the dress but his head's a mess too these days).

Season 9 stories hurt my heart a little so I wanted to leave on a bit of a hopeful note- hope it made all the tenseness easier to bear by the end.

Thanks for reviewing. 

Reviewer: raspberry jam Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2023 07:05 am Title: The Morning Tango

I love seeing Jim with his kiddos! This is so sweet and wholesome.

Author's Response: Me too and we didn’t get nearly enough of daddy Jim on the show so we must write our own.   Thanks for the read and review.  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: February 17, 2023 06:48 pm Title: Blessings

I'm FINALLY getting to this and of course there's a shout-out to me right at the jump. I do not deserve you, friend. (I will also confirm to anyone curious that I was informed about this chapter long before anyone posted anything similar. Convergence is neat and should be celebrated.)

Man, this really is a lot on Pam all at once. Grief combined with parenting one young child and growing a third. That's a lot of emotional weight to carry at a time when you don't have much to give.

I also really enjoy this take on Meemaw as having a degree of genuine warmth beneath all the holier-than-thou attitude. This is a woman you can see Pam caring enough about to make it worth the bother they go through in Niagara, while still being in line with the woman we met there.

Cece is just adorable here. A wonderful comfort to her mom.

The dog trying to protect his bone with a bank vault gets a shout-out! That's good referencing.

Michael being at the funeral is a wonderful grace note to this. And absolutely something he'd do.

Ooooof. Beth finding the landmine almost immediately, poor soul. And yet immediately picking up on the pregnancy! Second-Drink Pam is so busted. And some lovely words from her here...

A BLESSING IN THE SKIES. AMAZING. PERFECT. MAGNIFICENT.

Author's Response:

So thrilled to hear from you on this one - although you did share some thoughts already, I feel like you always hold some back to share after the post.

You deserved a call-out since you were the first (at least that I had read) to bring attention to Jewish customs of mourning. So in a way I borrowed from you too.

I do love that you picked up about the commercial that made her cry. (and I believe that was new for you in this version) 

I still wish the timing had worked out that he had to make a trip from Colorado to be there, but feel like my version does adds a layer to why Pam defied laws to get past the gate to catch Michael at the airport to say goodbye.

https://archive.nytimes.com/artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/04/29/michael-and-pams-farewell-on-the-office-is-grounded-by-airport-director/

Glad you like the blessing in the skies...thanks for all the help with this one and of course the review. 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2023 02:57 pm Title: Blessings

Awwww, that was a moving and thoughtful chapter, Max. A lovely tribute to Meemaw and just pitched right writing-wise IMHO. Nice to have Beth back again.

Author's Response:

Well thanks. I was sorry to have to knock off Meemaw, for the sake of a chapter plot but I'm enjoying bringing Beth back to my writing. 

Always love to hear from you. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2023 01:12 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Nice job here bringing out the saddness that Pam feels here, you really captured it well.
And Jim just being as amazing as ever in every little was very him

Author's Response:

Not sure why this attached to chapter one but I assume it was for Blessings chapter. 
Would we expect anything but from our Jim? Always there for her!

Thanks for the review.  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2023 05:17 am Title: Blessings

Outstanding job getting through all these huge emotions. I can easily see Pam having such a big response to Sylvia passing. Especially since she's also pregnant. Made it all feel very real. Jim here is doing a great job at being the rock she needs. Just the kind of husband and father I also aspire to be. Without any hesitation he's right there to support his wife and daughter. Love that Betsy also jumps right in. Shows the power of having family close.

Pam writing her own eulogy was a nice touch too. Same with her spotting Michael at the funeral. That was a wonderful nod to the relationship that Michael has built with his work family, that he's there for her in a hard time.

Love the return to Christopher's and Beth's wise words. It really comes across as to how special Christopher's is to Jim and Pam. A place where they can go to celebrate and now also commemorate the important tomes and people in their lives.

Bravo with this one.

Also Cece sounds cute a button in this one too.

Author's Response:

Cute as a button but crying a lot, as little ones often do.

Yes, everyone turned up for Pam in this one, Jim, family and even Michael. 

Thanks for your comments - as always. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2022 02:10 am Title: Before and After

Wow, this chapter was just spot on perfect! You literally captured everything exactly right. Coincidentally, I read this during my first hour and a half alone from my children in about 8 months (since my own Cece was born), and felt basically every emotion Pam did. It doesn’t get any easier with the second!!

“…but to her own personal petrification years later. It wasn’t until she met Jim that she got a proper education in the subject of chemistry” I loved this analogy here.

“Raised two children… all my own too.” This made me laugh as my Mum literally says this to me all the time. She’s baffled my husband ‘helps’

“…pulled down her spit-up covered tee shirt” Loved this. Is there any other uniform for a new mum?

“But it was too late, the trip was abandoned the minute she heard the first peep and her mother hadn’t come running from the kitchen to check.” Again, spot on here! The details you’ve captured in this chapter are so so accurate.

“Even while showering, with the curtain left half open, Cece sat strapped in the bouncy seat on the ancient tiled floor” Again, perfect. I long for the day I can shower without at least one set of eyes on me!

“Could she be hungry?” Oh Jim. Oh Jim. What are you thinking? Never ask that

“Pam lifted Cece’s butt to her nose” I laughed so much as this line and how I swear I spend most of my day.

“She has replaced Michael in testing my patience.” This was an excellent line and I can imagine being so true

“..had become one of the presents Pam most appreciated.” I loved this. There really are those presents that you wouldn’t have thought of getting but they become indispensable. Again, such great detail.

“She willed herself to keep going but not without first looking at her phone to be sure she hadn’t missed a call from Jim summoning her back.” I know this feeling so well, after dropping my son off this morning, the first thing I did was to text my husband to ask how the baby was. Mum’s never stop worrying!

“…piles of laundry Pam still couldn’t keep up with.” Story of my life. Poor Pam.

The whole anxiety of the date and wanting to make it a take out was just perfect. I’m glad they got a couple of hours together, and even though Cece had her melt down, it was so important for them.

I thoroughly enjoyed this during my first proper ‘alone’ time and made me smile a lot. Great work and looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response:

OH Mrs. K - I both feel for and envy you.  My babies are bigger than me now and I miss the days when they could sleep on my chest, even if it would up in a spit-up covered tee. 

OH and so true -mom's never stop worrying...just wait until they start dating and driving and leave for college.   

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2022 06:18 pm Title: Before and After

I mean, you know I always love your Mama Pam fics, and this is no exception. This description of not just the exhaustion and love and frustration but sense of extension of self that motherhood brings is terrific and eye-opening.

This is also a great picture of Helene as well-intentioned but maybe still working through a few things too much to be at her best right now. (Although it occurs to me, she might be doing this on purpose... is she that clever?) Kelly, almost by accident, seems more helpful here.

I love the connection between the solidification of crystals and the solidification (and stulification) of Pam's life with Roy, and Pam's musings about Jim's childhood paralleling Cece's are a nice touch.

Michael absolutely special ordered a "If You Think I’m Cute, You Should See My Mom and Dad's Boss" onesie.

THEY INVITED BETH TO THE WEDDING!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response:

OK I could hug you for mentioning Michael's onesie -  you know when you write those lines that make even you laugh and you can't wait for everyone to read (and then never get mentioned) - well let's just say you made my day by mentioning it.

Of course I appreciated the rest of the review too - and yes, if they invited Angela and Ryan, then Beth surely was worthy of an invite too.

  

Thanks friend. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2022 12:52 am Title: Before and After

Trust you to capture those new parent feelings perfectly. I remember our first night home with our daughter all to vividly. We felt like we were flailing around, not knowing what to do with this tiny screaming thing that had slept easily enough in the hospital but now WOULD NOT SHUT UP when we got home. But this shouldn't be about me. Instead you perfectly capture Pam in all her frazzled new Mom still trying to figure things out glory. She's still going through the learning curve and unfortunately Cece isn't really helping out much. I felt Pam here so very much when the tiredness comes in, and the baby won't stop screaming, and you're at your wits end, and everyone's telling you how to do things, but they don't work, and it all becomes one big swirling tornado of chaos. I also feel Jim there trying to offer helpful words and seeing them blow up in ones face. But also feel him in the simple peace and pride that is finally getting the kiddo to sleep on your chest and nodding off yourself with their warm weight right there. Beauty and chaos all mixed in one.

Their first dinner out was great too. Pam at first wanting to just get food and leave. But Beth being the wonderful woman she is helps them to realize that they didn't stop being married simply because their also parents. They still get to date each other. Loved that. Lots of great feelings here that you captured so well. Bravo and a welcome return to the true and best source of Christopher's.

Author's Response:

Don't all us parents have some version of this story? It was fun mixing it up with some Jam and Beth too.
And I know you can relate to that baby asleep on your chest feeling - nothing like it right? Years later I can both still remember exactly the feel of that warm weight and MISS IT LIKE you wouldn't believe... too soon for grandbabies so I need to write about it.

Thanks for your great review. Always appreciate it. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2022 07:13 pm Title: Before and After

Oh, Max. This is my favorite chapter so far. You took me right back to those early days with a newborn (particularly the first). Some of it was so spot-on it made me relive how wonderfully awful it all was.

*It wasn’t until she met Jim that she got a proper education in the subject of chemistry*

Oh my god, I adore this.

*Jim tested out his swaddling skills, which had improved slightly since the hospital, but then again so had Cece's ability to wiggle and squirm so his bindings were more?snack wrap?than?burrito.*

This is a great way to work in Jim's canon swaddling prowess and how, when presented with a real infant, all of that completely goes to shit.

*breast mangling device*

so true and so funny!

*Cece carried on with unrelenting cries as he switched her to the other shoulder. Knowing the further risk he posed by asking, he made a follow-up inquiry all the same.
“Could she be hungry?”
If he could grab the words back from the air, he would have.*

Okay I can SEE this scene. You wrote it so perfectly. Also I remember wanting to throttle my husband for similar stupid questions, hahaha

*It didn’t matter she knew she was with her father who would do everything in his power to soothe her and was perfectly capable of watching her while she took a short walk down the block. All she could think was how out-of-body she felt as her nostrils filled with the scent of the night air instead of Desitin and baby shampoo and Cece.*

This separation anxiety is so real and so well portrayed here. This entire chapter was wonderfully visual but I can see Pam's increasing panic as she attempts to make it around a single block without breaking down.

*There on the couch was Jim, now down to his bare chest.? Cece lay sprawled across it, strapped in by the large hands that even when layered atop each other, covered the span of her whole body. They both were fast asleep.
Smiling as she gazed upon the two people she loved most in the world, immediately she felt whole again.
Another time she might have grabbed her pencil and sketchpad to capture the moment in graphite but in this instance settled for picking up her camera to preserve the memory. Fortunately, it was only Jim she woke with the sound of the shutter and the spark of the flash.*

This is so soft and perfect, I adored it. They deserve all the happiness in the world.

The first night out was great, I love how Beth taught Pam about pumping and dumping (essential) and her anxiousness about wanting to go home and Jim's desperation to get her to relax were both so well done.

Glad they got some at the end, too. Good for them.

Brava, amazing job!

Author's Response:

Aww this review was the best. Really made me feel like I connected with you as someone who knows what the experience is like. I'm a little more removed from it but as you can see the memories don't fade and in fact become a little more vivid as the little birdies fly the nest.

Thanks you so much for all the words and validation and for loving it so much, especially the Cece asleep on the chest scene - one of my favorite moments to write.   

Thanks again from one mom to another. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2022 04:10 pm Title: The Alien

*In all the romcom movies they watched, it was the best friend’s job to hold back hair and make gentle circles on the back of the vomiting character as they hung over the bowl. He was her best friend, wasn’t he, so naturally he followed her in to perform his duties as hair holder and back rubber.*

This is so sweet, I love it so much. And he so would.

*“Did pregnancy libido hit you yet?”

If she had enough of a rosy glow for Beth to notice on her cheeks before, now they were so crimson she didn’t even need to answer.

“Ah so it has. Enjoy that.”*

YAS PAM ENJOY THAT
(best part of pregnancy imo)

I can't believe I'm only realizing this now, but is Beth... you?????

Author's Response:

See we were really aligned on this one - I was smiling so wide when I read your SS story that had the similar theme.

So Beth - we share a name and a few traits so I guess you could kind of say that - but really she is an amalgamation of many different people I know. I'm not quite that outspoken, never been a waitress, am happily married. But I did have a bean bracelet (which I lost long ago- sadly)

I'm so happy you gave this story a read - but now you have to wait for the rest.

Still a million thanks for all the reviews.  

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2022 08:01 pm Title: Dry Spell

*That though the words had not yet been said officially, for richer or for poorer was how he loved her, and he would have Creed marry them in the Dunder Mifflin parking lot if need be. Jim was sure he had some kind of ordination and license to perform weddings.*

Okay. I would have loved to see this, haha

I like how you tackled the strain on their sex life that could have been going on at this time. And I see we also agree Cece was conceived after Michael sold the company ;)

Author's Response:

Jim is what we call a mensch - well not quite always but with Pam he is, but as for Creed - well remember DJC (never know if I should write it as JDC or DJC) wrote a piece A Real Mensch - that was in part born out of this idea (and his talking head from the Fun Fun episode).

But yeah, me too.

As far as stress and sex goes, yeah I feel like this would be the time one would kind wreak havoc on the other - but resolve itself in the most beautiful way - Cece.

Thanks for binging through these but now that you have only one more I'm feeling the pressure to get another chapter written. 

Anyway, big thanks for reading and reviewing. 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2022 07:04 pm Title: Fools and Clowns

*“Not saying you can’t but Pam, you have to know he still likes you.”

“And he still knows I’m engaged.”

“Yeah, well, you were engaged once before, too.”*

Oh, OUCH, Jim. OUCH. But I get it. I don't understand the argument (not by you, but by others) that Pam would easily leave Jim for Alex or Brian or whoever because she did it before. I'll never see or understand that argument. Jim is the One for her, and she wouldn't have done that for anyone else.

*She’d done nothing wrong. If anything, it was him who had crossed the line years before, but if given to do it all over, he would do it again. Was this what Alex was doing now?*

This is a perfectly reasonable thing for Jim to be feeling in this moment, but again, once his fears are quashed I hope to never see it from him again.

Their hot makeout sesh finally knocking the clown down was PRICELESS.

Author's Response:

Pam and Jim, while seemingly perfectly compatible are still a regular couple who I imagine would have their fights, and I always wanted to write that into a story but could never quite think of what they would fight about. 

As I wrote this chapter, just as a fight would this just came up - irrational I know but isn't that usually the case with a fight.

Don't worry as I mention in the notes, Alex kind of fades off into oblivion  (just like on the show) after this.

Tying it all to the clown painting was really satisfying and I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.

THANKS! 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2022 06:36 pm Title: Best Laid Plans of Mice and Salesmen

I love how tuned in your Jim is to Pam's disappointment. It's very sweet. You're totally right btw, it's eerie how closely our headcanons aligned on this one!

*By morning all he’d come up with was to cover the beam on the underside of her mouse to keep it from working, hoping she’d call him over for help before she flipped it over to investigate why. The cause of its malfunction would be the small note he’d have taped there that would read, From the minute I met you I knew we clicked. Marry me, Pam.*

OMG okay that's cute but not enough. Good instincts, Jim.

*He knew before then he was in love but it was in that moment that he could taste eternity with her, know their souls would be tied to each other forevermore. It was there in the sky, in her touch, in the way she looked away from the horizon and into his eyes, the gold of the heavens reflected in hers. There were few words spoken that morning, but there didn’t need to be. *

Wow, this is beautiful!

*“Jim, I’ll be honest. I was upset. It was super romantic sitting watching fireworks with you, real ones this time and it had me thinking how symbolic the moment would be if only you would have...”

Jim looked down at his plate. It was exactly the reason he’d paid Phyllis to get those fireworks. He’d had a whole speech prepared about all the moments they’d shared right there in the office that led them to that instance. Freakin’ Andy.*

Freakin' Andy is right. The parallels between what that proposal would have been and their first "date" are too much for my heart to handle. Although I can't complain because the real proposal is my all time fave Jam moment ever, so...

Excited to see what's next!

Author's Response:

You went on a reading binge - but I'm so glad - thanks for all the great review, starting with this one.

 Yes, I often feel like we see things very similarly when I read your stuff...reaffirming and fun to have that similar viewpoint.

I thought so too, save it for a Dwight prank - although they (Jim and Dwight) take a bit longer to click.

Awwh thanks. Yeah I was deep in my Gold story stage around this time - I tend to let my stories bleed into one another. 

Freaking ANDY -yeah it would have been...but yeah I enjoyed the proposal at the gas station as well.

Thanks again - ever so much. 

 

 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans