Reviews For Another First Date
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2022 02:10 am Title: Before and After

Wow, this chapter was just spot on perfect! You literally captured everything exactly right. Coincidentally, I read this during my first hour and a half alone from my children in about 8 months (since my own Cece was born), and felt basically every emotion Pam did. It doesn’t get any easier with the second!!

“…but to her own personal petrification years later. It wasn’t until she met Jim that she got a proper education in the subject of chemistry” I loved this analogy here.

“Raised two children… all my own too.” This made me laugh as my Mum literally says this to me all the time. She’s baffled my husband ‘helps’

“…pulled down her spit-up covered tee shirt” Loved this. Is there any other uniform for a new mum?

“But it was too late, the trip was abandoned the minute she heard the first peep and her mother hadn’t come running from the kitchen to check.” Again, spot on here! The details you’ve captured in this chapter are so so accurate.

“Even while showering, with the curtain left half open, Cece sat strapped in the bouncy seat on the ancient tiled floor” Again, perfect. I long for the day I can shower without at least one set of eyes on me!

“Could she be hungry?” Oh Jim. Oh Jim. What are you thinking? Never ask that

“Pam lifted Cece’s butt to her nose” I laughed so much as this line and how I swear I spend most of my day.

“She has replaced Michael in testing my patience.” This was an excellent line and I can imagine being so true

“..had become one of the presents Pam most appreciated.” I loved this. There really are those presents that you wouldn’t have thought of getting but they become indispensable. Again, such great detail.

“She willed herself to keep going but not without first looking at her phone to be sure she hadn’t missed a call from Jim summoning her back.” I know this feeling so well, after dropping my son off this morning, the first thing I did was to text my husband to ask how the baby was. Mum’s never stop worrying!

“…piles of laundry Pam still couldn’t keep up with.” Story of my life. Poor Pam.

The whole anxiety of the date and wanting to make it a take out was just perfect. I’m glad they got a couple of hours together, and even though Cece had her melt down, it was so important for them.

I thoroughly enjoyed this during my first proper ‘alone’ time and made me smile a lot. Great work and looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response:

OH Mrs. K - I both feel for and envy you.  My babies are bigger than me now and I miss the days when they could sleep on my chest, even if it would up in a spit-up covered tee. 

OH and so true -mom's never stop worrying...just wait until they start dating and driving and leave for college.   

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2022 06:18 pm Title: Before and After

I mean, you know I always love your Mama Pam fics, and this is no exception. This description of not just the exhaustion and love and frustration but sense of extension of self that motherhood brings is terrific and eye-opening.

This is also a great picture of Helene as well-intentioned but maybe still working through a few things too much to be at her best right now. (Although it occurs to me, she might be doing this on purpose... is she that clever?) Kelly, almost by accident, seems more helpful here.

I love the connection between the solidification of crystals and the solidification (and stulification) of Pam's life with Roy, and Pam's musings about Jim's childhood paralleling Cece's are a nice touch.

Michael absolutely special ordered a "If You Think I’m Cute, You Should See My Mom and Dad's Boss" onesie.

THEY INVITED BETH TO THE WEDDING!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response:

OK I could hug you for mentioning Michael's onesie -  you know when you write those lines that make even you laugh and you can't wait for everyone to read (and then never get mentioned) - well let's just say you made my day by mentioning it.

Of course I appreciated the rest of the review too - and yes, if they invited Angela and Ryan, then Beth surely was worthy of an invite too.

  

Thanks friend. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2022 12:52 am Title: Before and After

Trust you to capture those new parent feelings perfectly. I remember our first night home with our daughter all to vividly. We felt like we were flailing around, not knowing what to do with this tiny screaming thing that had slept easily enough in the hospital but now WOULD NOT SHUT UP when we got home. But this shouldn't be about me. Instead you perfectly capture Pam in all her frazzled new Mom still trying to figure things out glory. She's still going through the learning curve and unfortunately Cece isn't really helping out much. I felt Pam here so very much when the tiredness comes in, and the baby won't stop screaming, and you're at your wits end, and everyone's telling you how to do things, but they don't work, and it all becomes one big swirling tornado of chaos. I also feel Jim there trying to offer helpful words and seeing them blow up in ones face. But also feel him in the simple peace and pride that is finally getting the kiddo to sleep on your chest and nodding off yourself with their warm weight right there. Beauty and chaos all mixed in one.

Their first dinner out was great too. Pam at first wanting to just get food and leave. But Beth being the wonderful woman she is helps them to realize that they didn't stop being married simply because their also parents. They still get to date each other. Loved that. Lots of great feelings here that you captured so well. Bravo and a welcome return to the true and best source of Christopher's.

Author's Response:

Don't all us parents have some version of this story? It was fun mixing it up with some Jam and Beth too.
And I know you can relate to that baby asleep on your chest feeling - nothing like it right? Years later I can both still remember exactly the feel of that warm weight and MISS IT LIKE you wouldn't believe... too soon for grandbabies so I need to write about it.

Thanks for your great review. Always appreciate it. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2022 07:13 pm Title: Before and After

Oh, Max. This is my favorite chapter so far. You took me right back to those early days with a newborn (particularly the first). Some of it was so spot-on it made me relive how wonderfully awful it all was.

*It wasn’t until she met Jim that she got a proper education in the subject of chemistry*

Oh my god, I adore this.

*Jim tested out his swaddling skills, which had improved slightly since the hospital, but then again so had Cece's ability to wiggle and squirm so his bindings were more?snack wrap?than?burrito.*

This is a great way to work in Jim's canon swaddling prowess and how, when presented with a real infant, all of that completely goes to shit.

*breast mangling device*

so true and so funny!

*Cece carried on with unrelenting cries as he switched her to the other shoulder. Knowing the further risk he posed by asking, he made a follow-up inquiry all the same.
“Could she be hungry?”
If he could grab the words back from the air, he would have.*

Okay I can SEE this scene. You wrote it so perfectly. Also I remember wanting to throttle my husband for similar stupid questions, hahaha

*It didn’t matter she knew she was with her father who would do everything in his power to soothe her and was perfectly capable of watching her while she took a short walk down the block. All she could think was how out-of-body she felt as her nostrils filled with the scent of the night air instead of Desitin and baby shampoo and Cece.*

This separation anxiety is so real and so well portrayed here. This entire chapter was wonderfully visual but I can see Pam's increasing panic as she attempts to make it around a single block without breaking down.

*There on the couch was Jim, now down to his bare chest.? Cece lay sprawled across it, strapped in by the large hands that even when layered atop each other, covered the span of her whole body. They both were fast asleep.
Smiling as she gazed upon the two people she loved most in the world, immediately she felt whole again.
Another time she might have grabbed her pencil and sketchpad to capture the moment in graphite but in this instance settled for picking up her camera to preserve the memory. Fortunately, it was only Jim she woke with the sound of the shutter and the spark of the flash.*

This is so soft and perfect, I adored it. They deserve all the happiness in the world.

The first night out was great, I love how Beth taught Pam about pumping and dumping (essential) and her anxiousness about wanting to go home and Jim's desperation to get her to relax were both so well done.

Glad they got some at the end, too. Good for them.

Brava, amazing job!

Author's Response:

Aww this review was the best. Really made me feel like I connected with you as someone who knows what the experience is like. I'm a little more removed from it but as you can see the memories don't fade and in fact become a little more vivid as the little birdies fly the nest.

Thanks you so much for all the words and validation and for loving it so much, especially the Cece asleep on the chest scene - one of my favorite moments to write.   

Thanks again from one mom to another. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2022 04:10 pm Title: The Alien

*In all the romcom movies they watched, it was the best friend’s job to hold back hair and make gentle circles on the back of the vomiting character as they hung over the bowl. He was her best friend, wasn’t he, so naturally he followed her in to perform his duties as hair holder and back rubber.*

This is so sweet, I love it so much. And he so would.

*“Did pregnancy libido hit you yet?”

If she had enough of a rosy glow for Beth to notice on her cheeks before, now they were so crimson she didn’t even need to answer.

“Ah so it has. Enjoy that.”*

YAS PAM ENJOY THAT
(best part of pregnancy imo)

I can't believe I'm only realizing this now, but is Beth... you?????

Author's Response:

See we were really aligned on this one - I was smiling so wide when I read your SS story that had the similar theme.

So Beth - we share a name and a few traits so I guess you could kind of say that - but really she is an amalgamation of many different people I know. I'm not quite that outspoken, never been a waitress, am happily married. But I did have a bean bracelet (which I lost long ago- sadly)

I'm so happy you gave this story a read - but now you have to wait for the rest.

Still a million thanks for all the reviews.  

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2022 08:01 pm Title: Dry Spell

*That though the words had not yet been said officially, for richer or for poorer was how he loved her, and he would have Creed marry them in the Dunder Mifflin parking lot if need be. Jim was sure he had some kind of ordination and license to perform weddings.*

Okay. I would have loved to see this, haha

I like how you tackled the strain on their sex life that could have been going on at this time. And I see we also agree Cece was conceived after Michael sold the company ;)

Author's Response:

Jim is what we call a mensch - well not quite always but with Pam he is, but as for Creed - well remember DJC (never know if I should write it as JDC or DJC) wrote a piece A Real Mensch - that was in part born out of this idea (and his talking head from the Fun Fun episode).

But yeah, me too.

As far as stress and sex goes, yeah I feel like this would be the time one would kind wreak havoc on the other - but resolve itself in the most beautiful way - Cece.

Thanks for binging through these but now that you have only one more I'm feeling the pressure to get another chapter written. 

Anyway, big thanks for reading and reviewing. 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2022 07:04 pm Title: Fools and Clowns

*“Not saying you can’t but Pam, you have to know he still likes you.”

“And he still knows I’m engaged.”

“Yeah, well, you were engaged once before, too.”*

Oh, OUCH, Jim. OUCH. But I get it. I don't understand the argument (not by you, but by others) that Pam would easily leave Jim for Alex or Brian or whoever because she did it before. I'll never see or understand that argument. Jim is the One for her, and she wouldn't have done that for anyone else.

*She’d done nothing wrong. If anything, it was him who had crossed the line years before, but if given to do it all over, he would do it again. Was this what Alex was doing now?*

This is a perfectly reasonable thing for Jim to be feeling in this moment, but again, once his fears are quashed I hope to never see it from him again.

Their hot makeout sesh finally knocking the clown down was PRICELESS.

Author's Response:

Pam and Jim, while seemingly perfectly compatible are still a regular couple who I imagine would have their fights, and I always wanted to write that into a story but could never quite think of what they would fight about. 

As I wrote this chapter, just as a fight would this just came up - irrational I know but isn't that usually the case with a fight.

Don't worry as I mention in the notes, Alex kind of fades off into oblivion  (just like on the show) after this.

Tying it all to the clown painting was really satisfying and I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.

THANKS! 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2022 06:36 pm Title: Best Laid Plans of Mice and Salesmen

I love how tuned in your Jim is to Pam's disappointment. It's very sweet. You're totally right btw, it's eerie how closely our headcanons aligned on this one!

*By morning all he’d come up with was to cover the beam on the underside of her mouse to keep it from working, hoping she’d call him over for help before she flipped it over to investigate why. The cause of its malfunction would be the small note he’d have taped there that would read, From the minute I met you I knew we clicked. Marry me, Pam.*

OMG okay that's cute but not enough. Good instincts, Jim.

*He knew before then he was in love but it was in that moment that he could taste eternity with her, know their souls would be tied to each other forevermore. It was there in the sky, in her touch, in the way she looked away from the horizon and into his eyes, the gold of the heavens reflected in hers. There were few words spoken that morning, but there didn’t need to be. *

Wow, this is beautiful!

*“Jim, I’ll be honest. I was upset. It was super romantic sitting watching fireworks with you, real ones this time and it had me thinking how symbolic the moment would be if only you would have...”

Jim looked down at his plate. It was exactly the reason he’d paid Phyllis to get those fireworks. He’d had a whole speech prepared about all the moments they’d shared right there in the office that led them to that instance. Freakin’ Andy.*

Freakin' Andy is right. The parallels between what that proposal would have been and their first "date" are too much for my heart to handle. Although I can't complain because the real proposal is my all time fave Jam moment ever, so...

Excited to see what's next!

Author's Response:

You went on a reading binge - but I'm so glad - thanks for all the great review, starting with this one.

 Yes, I often feel like we see things very similarly when I read your stuff...reaffirming and fun to have that similar viewpoint.

I thought so too, save it for a Dwight prank - although they (Jim and Dwight) take a bit longer to click.

Awwh thanks. Yeah I was deep in my Gold story stage around this time - I tend to let my stories bleed into one another. 

Freaking ANDY -yeah it would have been...but yeah I enjoyed the proposal at the gas station as well.

Thanks again - ever so much. 

 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: January 07, 2022 04:04 pm Title: Bean Counter

*Feeling a little relieved, after all her dream proposal didn’t include morning breath and the glasses she’d just put on,*

This made me chuckle because this is basically exactly how I was proposed to, lol

*However, upon returning an hour later the office seemed much the same except for a decorative sign on the door to the conference room that featured a bright pink 30.

Once again, she flashed Jim a questioning look as they neared his desk.

“I warned you Kevin was involved. Guess the Kelevin doesn’t work when you use it to calculate years.”*

Actually LOLed

*But it was only a fleeting thought, one that vanished as soon as she thought about how immature he still was himself. Having a baby would mean she’d be left to take care of a new tiny infant all by herself while also still attending to a very large child.*

You know, I wonder about this sometimes. It's always weird to me that Jam had an unexpected pregnancy after only a year or so, and it never happened with Roy. I always rationalized it that subconsciously breeding with Roy was something she didn't really want to do, or that they didn't have a lot of sex, but I still am not quite sure. Anyway, I really like the idea that she considered it as a way to lock him in, then talked herself out of it. (Also, that accidents are more likely to happen when you're having a ton of sex as Jam obviously were)

Their conversation about kids was so cute, and the brief mentions of Niagara are great nods to what will come.

Author's Response:

Well isn't that something. I'm sure it was romantic and beautiful and had it been Pam's it would have been too.

Mine while while I was folding laundry.

Planning the party was fun  - Kevin and Michael really outdid themselves.

Well I have my thoughts on the unplanned pregnancy too - you will see.

Thanks again for reviews that make me smile and think.

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 07, 2022 03:47 pm Title: Perfect Presents and Lucky Stars

I'm really enjoying the way you're showing us all the beats of their relationship through the eyes of this waitress, it's such a clever concept!

*When he’d been forced to take the seat with his back to it, he’d subconsciously angled his monitor so the reflection it captured would be the same as the one he’d been staring at since he first started at Dunder Mifflin. *

Okay wow, this never occurred to me and I love this idea.

*When he pulled her name for the office gift exchange, it felt like a sign, a push from Eros, or Cupid or whatever deity was in charge of his romantic destiny to tell her what she truly meant to him. *

Beautiful.

The step stool kiss was the cutest thing ever, omg. It feels familiar like you said but I can't place it.

(I'm not sure if WHMS coined the phrase "out there" but I definitely associate it with that movie and I definitely caught that)

Author's Response:

So nice to hear you are enjoying it. It was fun to see Jam through another set of eyes in my first story so I thought to keep it going. Truth is when I started the first story I meant to keep it going to cover more of them but I wrote it first person and wanted to switch it up. So I closed it out and started a few others and made it a series. This one is part of that series and has taken on a life of its own now.

 

Anyway - I know he was with Karen but as we know his thoughts (and eyes) were always with Pam.

Yeah, I was also thinking about WHMS when I wrote the line. But isn't it Bruno Kirby's character who says it. Either way yes, I think that may be the movie that coined the phrase.

Thanks as always for the reviews. Loving them. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2022 10:24 pm Title: Losing Points

*It wasn’t like it was the sweater per se. It wasn’t revealing or particularly clingy, sheer or otherwise what might be considered by your average man as provocative attire. But Jim wasn’t your average man, and when it came to Pam, she never knew what might drive him into a sexual tizzy. Just the other day, while at the sink rinsing a dish, she used her stockinged foot to rub at an itch just below the knee of her other leg, and before she knew it Jim was behind her massaging the spot with his hands, and once he removed the stockings, his mouth, taking care of the itch on her leg but creating a much more significant tingling to other parts of her body.*

Yowza. I love this.

*“Well thank you, Beth,” he responded to her but the glimmer in his eye was all for Pam. “I got a really special present this year. It was a long time coming but it was well worth the wait.”*

swoon

Loved Pam's disappointment to everyone's reaction to them coming out, I can totally see her feeling that even though on the outside she would appear not to care. I wonder how she would feel if she knew Michael repeatedly forgets they are dating later in the season lol...

Okay thanks a lot, I was having such a good time and then she mentioned the Dwangela breakup and I got all sad. BUT Kelly and Ryan with the drink in his face TOTALLY MADE UP FOR IT.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you - as you know my steam writing is never all that "descriptive" but I tend to feel hinting at what is to come and letting the imagination take over is a lot more provocative. Thanks for validating.

Had a lot of fun with bringing some other couples into the restaurant. They won't be the last.

 

THANKS for your reviews! Always love to get them. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2022 10:04 pm Title: Rules of the Game

Okay I love the idea of the game (as you know I have a fondness for this kind of game with Jam) and the friendship they're developing with Beth is really quite cute.

I really loved the story she told them about the older couple. I'm hoping at some point your story will jump far, far into the future and give us that.

The PIVOT! reference made me cackle, as a huge Ross fan (he's underrated!) and that scene being a particular favorite of mine :)

Author's Response:

I wonder if games like this do happen in real life restaurants or only in my crazy head but it either way it was fun for the story.

Really that came about because this chapter coincided with writing Gold, my season 9 fix-it fic and somehow the sentiments leaked over to this one. But hmmmm.

I must have also been binging Friends when i wrote this one too. 

Thanks always for reading and reviewing. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 03, 2022 10:16 pm Title: Flower Power

*It had been a little over a month since Jim and Pam officially began dating. But unlike a conventional newly-paired couple there was no getting to know each other period. Similarly, they never had to play those silly games counting the days till it was acceptable to call one another again. There was no pretending they had other engagements so to space out the time between dates so neither one of them would seem too eager. Of course, working in the same office made it impossible for them to play at that but they wouldn’t have anyway – not when their years together as best friends had long since given them an intimacy that surpassed what could be attained from going out to dinners, seeing movies together, marathon phone calls or even the physical acts that followed a requisite number of dates.*

This is SO ACCURATE and I just love it. It really does seem like our headcanons align so well. Although I had them wait a week for sex. I thought that was generous, lol.

I learned a new word: mellifluous!

*They found it slightly hard to believe they were getting this much special attention from a waitress they’d only met the one time. But they had spent a bit of time chatting with her at the end of their last visit, explaining how it was their first date but they’d known each other for 4 years. That after having to explain why two grown-ups were still playing jinx.*

This is great because it makes sense why Beth would remember them. It's a very cute way to make her part of their lives. I'll have to go back and read the origin story next.

*“Seems like you two have a crazy history.”

Jim winked at Pam and smiled again at Beth

“Absolutely, we do.”*

SO CUTE. The romance is just lovely. I'm eating this up.

Author's Response:

I loved that because they had been together for years their relationship was already natural and comfortable when they began dating. 

I had a lot of fun creating the Beth character and the restaurant in the first story, so I felt an urge to bring them back - I do share most of what is needed to know in this story so it is not necessary to read the origin to appreciate, but if you do - just know it was my first ever fan fic - fun stuff in it but maybe not my best writing.

But I'm pleased you are enjoying the complete fluff here. Be warned there will be a lot of fluff - a little angst to come but a lot of fluff first.

Thanks for the review. 

  

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 03, 2022 07:23 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Excited to finally start this!

*Jim knew the minute Cece grabbed the phone in his hands, it would suddenly become the most popular toy in the Halpert home. They’d suddenly be in science class learning Cece’s law again – for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. Phillip would scream and a fight would ensue between the two and they’d both be in tears just at the time Pam would emerge from the bathroom.*

This rings so true for a parent. These details are great.

*He never knew which Dwight would be running the office today, the friend who would overlook anything Jim did, or the tyrant who from time to time showed up to keep the office on their toes and things running efficiently.*

This is a great line, the timeframe between AARM and the Finale seems ripe for development between Jim/ Dwight. It sounds like exactly how he'd see him.

*But it wasn’t until he was sitting in David’s office that he finally opened his eyes, the glint of the yogurt lid revealing the golden future he had ahead if he would just stop making believe he wasn’t still in love with her.*

swooooon

Author's Response:

I'm thrilled you are !

Writing Daddy Jim is fun - even when the kids are being kids. Especially when the kids are being kids.

I say all along Jim/Dwight had a relationship like brothers, for much of it a lot like the one described with Cece and Phil but always a love between them they didn't like to admit. But during this period I like to think it leaned more towards them getting along - but it still was Dwight.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. (and the catch) 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2021 03:13 am Title: The Alien

GREAT chapter, Max!

I remember the days of morning sickness, fun, fun, fun. As ever, nailed it. This was so entertaining, and look at you with the hint of the steam - I'm shocked, SHOCKED I tell you! ;)

Such a great story and you know that Beth needs another follow-up story when this is done!

Author's Response:

Hey lady.

I completely space on responding to this set of reviews.

SO glad you liked it - yeah morning sickness not fun- but at least with Jim they can be funny.

The remedy they discovered was also fun especially after their dry spell - glad you like my steam puffs.

Thanks lady for always hitting me up with a review. Glad you are enjoying Beth. PS I am loaning her out for use in other fics... 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2021 03:49 pm Title: The Alien

"Glancing first at the clock on the bedside table, she was still unable to make out anything but a neon green blur, but long since had figured out which amorphous shape was a five, versus a six and even a seven. The eights still gave her a bit of trouble." TOO REAL.

"Never in her life had she laughed while simultaneously vomiting, but as she leaned over the bowl she realized there was a first time for everything." TOO CUTE.

I mean, really, this is literally too much fluff to handle. Jim adjusting to what she really needs as opposed to what he thinks his role is during her bouts with morning sickness is terrific, and him being the kind of dad who *immediately* starts talking to the baby constantly is very Jim. And you're mining a lot out of the real unpleasantness of early pregnancy here.

"Jim, in solidarity threw out his cereal and ate only the fruit’s other half, until later when she showered and he scarfed down a bowl out of her sight." I support both halves of this plan entirely.

“Mmm, hearing you say greasy, fried, pig fat, is such a turn on.” Ngl, your tip-toeing into steam is pretty terrific. And their early morning routine is adorable.

“Did I just hear you call our baby’s mother a nympho?” Truth hurts, Beesly. And Pam's imitation of the baby is ADORBS.

Beth is a clever devil here. And I'm glad they told her - Pam could use some perspective from someone other than the melting-down S5/6 Helene at this juncture. She might be outspoken, but I love her speech here... and it feels like it echoes a lot in their dialogue in The Delivery.

YIDDISH SIGHTING.

Author's Response:

First off sorry I spaced on responding to your wonderful review...blame it on the busy season (and that I was swept up in writing another piece).

So I kind of curse the day we saw how bad Pam's eyesight was (what was that season 4) but have learned to work it in and now I actually embrace it. I think this may be my third or fourth time writing a blurry morning - this may also be my favorite. I also found a workaround. he-he

Pam and Jim banter even makes vomiting cute...well thank you, thank you very much (wait wrong story)

Sorry for the fluff overload. Blame some of it on the song.

Man's gotta eat right. 

Yeah that's about as far as I'll go steam-wise - sometimes the mind does a better job at painting the picture than the words do anyway.

Beth, she's like a young bubbe even without grandkids (and a member). Gotta have one Jewish character, even if she's OC.

Thanks friend for the review as always.

 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2021 06:18 pm Title: The Alien

Lots of fun with this one. Pam and Jim enjoying a plethora of morning activities was great fun to read. Good job Jim doing your best to help her find something she will tolerate for breakfast. Their banter throughout everything was a delight to read as well.

So Beth got to be the first one to hear the news? That's sweet. So was her reaction to everything. Nice that they're exchanging info. Feels like their relationship has earned the right at this point. They are friends, not just favorite customers/favorite waitress. Nice to see that. Lovely job as always.

Author's Response: So I’m totally slacking.   I completely forgot I had reviews to respond to. 


Yeah morning sickness is pretty miserable but at least with Jim it has its moments of fun and they seemed to find an enjoyable remedy. 

Beth wasn’t quite the first to know (I figured the parents got the news earlier ) but she heard before Michael.  

Yeah I figured it was about time too. 

Thanks as always for your review.  

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2021 08:17 am Title: Dry Spell

An absolutely cracking chapter, Lady! Very engrossing and yet another satisfying read! I loved the link to 360T as well.

Author's Response:

Hey Lady,

Glad you were satisfied. TWWS 

I aim to please. 

You caught that nod. Couldn't help myself. I'M kinda immersed in time travel right now as you know.

Thanks for popping in to review. Catch you in another timeline. 

 

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: October 12, 2021 08:54 pm Title: Dry Spell

Sorry I'm late on this review. Whenever I read a reference to Jim's nose, I get the giggles and have to go to Offsite Recommendations and reread Primae Noctis where the phrase "potato nose" was coined. That's my story, and I'm stickin' to it.

Jam turning to jelly is in the same league.

Good onya

Author's Response:

I love how you always wind up on a tangent when reading...in a good way. As I respond I am looking at my Jim funco pop and I don't quite think they got the nose in the right proportion.

Anyway so glad you enjoyed and got the giggles - I did myself when writing - in particular the jelly line.

Thanks for the review- they are like my aphrodisiac - well I guess more like my post-coital smoke (or since I don't my smoke, cuddle - and now I'm off to read It had to Be You  -the Harry Met Sally related AU)

Cheers! 

 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: October 12, 2021 12:19 pm Title: Dry Spell

I have a funny feeling you might end up finding Hermione's time turner a bit more chaos than it's worth, Pam.

Okay, I *really* enjoyed how much you pulled all the different threads of Season 5 together in this - they end up weirdly separated in canon when they obviously would've still been playing out alongside each other and weighing on them. The new house, the changes in Pam's routine from New York, the new job, Jim's issues with Charles, the wedding planning - they all interact together really well here to produce, well, Cece.

And also always, I love the details you're coming up with for their relationship. The bit about Jim wanting extra pills for his extra nose and Pam teasing him about it just makes the whole thing feel really lived in. (And the idea of Creed marrying them in the parking lot has given me... an idea.) Also, turning them from Jam to jelly made me giggle.

The date - and how it ends up tying into Pam's expectations of men as set by Roy and exceeded/changed by Jim - is adorable. They're totally the couple that will flirt by double entendre right in front of someone they know, especially after it's been that long for them.

I thought you captured this well - how this change is a challenge for them, if not really a Challenge For Them in the sense that they'll face in other moments of their relationship, and how they ended up wrestling it (and each other) to the ground.

Glad to see this one updated! Now... about that time turner...

Author's Response:

So true, but still.

SO I always get such a thrill from your reviews because you always notice and mention the bits that just tickled me when I wrote them and how you see the things I tried to show if not exactly tell. And you have such a poetic way of putting it... they all interact together really well here to produce, well, Cece.

(and how about that- usually it's the reviewer quoting the author and not the other way around but this was just so well said. That and the wrestling.

So I'm curious and anxious to see what your clever head is thinking of for Creed. 

Thanks as always for your review and support.

 

And now that I broke the *dry spell* on updating this ...I can get back to that time turner... 

 

 

 


Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 11, 2021 08:59 pm Title: Dry Spell

Nice job as always. Getting into the reasons why Pam might lose track of her meds, the pressures of everything going on right then fits well. I've read similar reasonings in other fics, but you did a great job in really fleshing it all out.

Same with Pam's headspace here. Her worries about Jim and his thoughts in regards to their dry spell. Clearly her previous relationship was casting a bit of a shadow there, but Jim being the guy he is, is able to diffuse some of those worries. Also nice that they were trying to get over their dry spell, but life kept happening. Very realistic there.

However finally they're able to break the spell and enjoy a nice afternoon, evening, and quite probably morning too. The double meaning with their conversations with Beth were just delightful. Always fun to see that Beth can kind of see through their ploys, but has the wherewithal to know when is and isn't her place to pry. Probably why she's their favorite server.

Great job.

Author's Response:

Thanks Warrior.

I figured there may be some similar tellings being that soon after is when they find out about the pregnancy but I imagine up until the upheaval that had them both a little frazzled they were being cautious and protected.

I do like to present the realism of life and love. And Roy - yeah he did a number on her - thankfully she fixed that mistake and is with Jim now. 

Not a lot of Beth in this one, but she was busy and they were in a rush to get to round two. 

Thank you for another encouraging review. Always great to hear.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2021 01:23 pm Title: Fools and Clowns

Ah, very timely with the Alex reference. I have often thought that Jim's range of emotions about her life/friends in NY is not nearly explored enough. From what he overheard of Alex's speech to the whole car turn around and 'I am not that guy and we are not that couple'- So much interesting stuff there.

"Sometimes Jim would recline in the papasan chair she brought from her place and watch her work, plying her with silly questions about her techniques and muses until she would throw him out for asking too many and keeping her from her craft." Okay but I really love this visual of him so thank you.

I really love the mention of the creepy clown, and the Valentine's day lunch with Phyllis and Bob- they were both very clever tie-ins. This was a great chapter! :)

Author's Response:

Had I not responded to this - I thought I did.

I agree - not matter how much he deep down knew she was his there is no way he wasn't affected in some way by her having gone off to explore her art (and herself) in NY. Glad you felt it was apt.

Well I loved writing that scene - there was a very specific vision in my head and glad it translated for you.

That clown, I never really got it until I wrote this chapter and then I understood exactly what it was there for (even if it was never intended by the writers). You gotta love Phyllis. 

 

Thanks so much. Your comments mean the world. 

Reviewer: PBeesly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2021 11:26 am Title: Fools and Clowns

I love this story! Thank you for writing it.

Author's Response:

Well thank you for sharing your review and that you love it. It really means a lot to hear from you. I've been having a lot of fun writing it but knowing it is entertaining to others really does make my day.

 

 

 

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 13, 2021 05:26 pm Title: Fools and Clowns

That was a really nice culmination of clown and green eyed monster. I share the same sentiment about Jim being a little insecure, no matter what how confidant he plays.
I really liked how you presented Alex and Pam's friendship being platonic despite of Alex's unspoken feelings. I liked how they made up, the little tense morning and Phyllis being Phyllis even when she was not around. And Bob Vance, Vance Refrigeration being so in character.
Thanks for the update. Your work is great.

Author's Response:

 

How could he not be a little insecure, aren't we all in some way?

But he waited so long for her, he couldn't help but react as he did.

And I know some people are not fans of Phyllis (and she has her slightly mean moments) but I am a fan.

thanks so much. getting your review was a real joy. 

 

 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2021 12:37 pm Title: Fools and Clowns

Oh, I enjoyed this!

I liked what you did with Beth, Phyllis and Bob (I have to stop myself typing that as Bob Vance, Vance Refrigeration.)

I think you captured Jim's insecurities about Pam's friendship with Alex perfectly. And I think Jim would be right to be nervous, he recognises Alex's interest and you captured that beautifully.

There is a lot to love about this chapter, but what I loved most is what you did with them to get rid of the clown painting is totally in character, feels like it would have been canon and even something that might have been in a deleted scene from that episode (if The Office was on HBO, obviously.)

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you did. In case you didn't know that clown shows up again in garage sale episode so there is confirmation it came down. And I love to make up the back stories to those little throwaway things others may not even really think about. It was just a matter of figuring out how to get it down and as the idea came so did the idea to make it a stand-in for some unspoken thing that was still out there following him overhearing Alex.

Phyllis and Bob Vance, Vance Refr. - they are the other clowns the title refers to, and are just a hoot to write. But her heart is just so big too.

Thanks for all your great reviews always and your support. 

 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans