Reviews For Another First Date
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Thats what she said Signed [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2024 05:29 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Just finished all of the chapters and it was so much fun to read. I really enjoyed their dates at Christopher's through the years. Especially the Blessings chapter. And, the last chapter with Cici was just adorable.

Reviewer: Anne-Rose Sweetkins Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2023 04:16 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Cece’s love for her daddy is adorable!
So sweet that Jim took Pam on their first date at her perfect date spot.

Reviewer: raspberry jam Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2023 07:05 am Title: The Morning Tango

I love seeing Jim with his kiddos! This is so sweet and wholesome.

Author's Response: Me too and we didn’t get nearly enough of daddy Jim on the show so we must write our own.   Thanks for the read and review.  

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2023 01:12 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Nice job here bringing out the saddness that Pam feels here, you really captured it well.
And Jim just being as amazing as ever in every little was very him

Author's Response:

Not sure why this attached to chapter one but I assume it was for Blessings chapter. 
Would we expect anything but from our Jim? Always there for her!

Thanks for the review.  

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 03, 2022 07:23 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Excited to finally start this!

*Jim knew the minute Cece grabbed the phone in his hands, it would suddenly become the most popular toy in the Halpert home. They’d suddenly be in science class learning Cece’s law again – for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. Phillip would scream and a fight would ensue between the two and they’d both be in tears just at the time Pam would emerge from the bathroom.*

This rings so true for a parent. These details are great.

*He never knew which Dwight would be running the office today, the friend who would overlook anything Jim did, or the tyrant who from time to time showed up to keep the office on their toes and things running efficiently.*

This is a great line, the timeframe between AARM and the Finale seems ripe for development between Jim/ Dwight. It sounds like exactly how he'd see him.

*But it wasn’t until he was sitting in David’s office that he finally opened his eyes, the glint of the yogurt lid revealing the golden future he had ahead if he would just stop making believe he wasn’t still in love with her.*

swooooon

Author's Response:

I'm thrilled you are !

Writing Daddy Jim is fun - even when the kids are being kids. Especially when the kids are being kids.

I say all along Jim/Dwight had a relationship like brothers, for much of it a lot like the one described with Cece and Phil but always a love between them they didn't like to admit. But during this period I like to think it leaned more towards them getting along - but it still was Dwight.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. (and the catch) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2021 11:31 am Title: The Morning Tango

Okay, first, I am thrilled that we are getting a Beth-centric story. I love the idea of exploring some clearly established romantic touchstones and traditions and relationships that we don't get to see onscreen, because obviously they have some, and I really enjoyed the Beth POV in ATGIG (especially in light of the reveal that not all service personnel find them charming). I'm looking forward to seeing you walk them through that mutual history.

The details of this felt VERY real, with Phil's inattention to toys until Cece wants them and Cece's parroting of Jim and Jim trying to multi-task. Your perspective here really shines through... I'm actually a little stressed out on Jim's behalf. I really appreciated the note that Jim is still worried about the impact of his absence on his relationships with his family, because that's definitely a thought that would've lingered. Also: Dwight at this point being unpredictable in his approach to Jim on a daily basis. There's a downside that them getting friendlier! :)

Anyhow, looking forward to seeing what Jim's up to with this "another" first date and seeing some of their past nights with Beth!

Author's Response:

Thank you for this insightful review. 

The very reason I began writing Jam fan fiction was to "fill in the blanks" of the stuff we didn't get to see of their relationship so I'm excited to do more of that here - but I have some ideas to tie back to some on-screen moments too. 

I'm glad you enjoy seeing Beth because I hope to feature her a lot even though at the heart this will still be all about Pam and Jim (with a few cameos perhaps - but since it's a WIP I'm not sure where it will go until the end.

Ok so it's been a long while since I had the joyful chaos that comes from having little ones about, but those memories are kind of burned in so I know of what I write. I think I'm finding I like writing scenes with the little kids - maybe it's because I miss having them. I'm already thinking if/how I can bring some Snoopy and Charlie Brown into the story somehow. 

Thanks for mentioning the note on Jim worrying about the impact of his absence - though one line here I meant for it to have a big significance so I'm glad you picked up on it.

As for what's to come - well much will be as much of a surprise to me and to anyone reading so I'm looking forward to it too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2021 05:38 am Title: The Morning Tango

Very cute. Loved Jim playing with the kids like that. Especially to avoid a meltdown between the two of them. The image of the toys all over the place seems to fit well for them. Not a picture perfect house from a design magazine or renovation TV show, but a home filled with laughter and love.

Jim's thoughts about Dwight also seem to ring true. However if there's anyone who can reign in Dwight it's Jim and Pam. Especially at this stage in their lives when they really have all become friends. Jim's memories of Christophers and the association with Beth is sweet as well. She's become a great character and it'll be fun to see her again. Looking foward to seeing where this goes.

Author's Response:

 

Thank you Warrior - I have found I really enjoy writing stories with kids (although we might not see them in this one again for a bit since we're going back to 2007 and moving along from there). It's been a while since mine were that young and I miss the beautiful chaos.

But Lightbulb Goes On perhaps we might get some Snoopy and Charlie Brown in a chapter. I'll have to think about how I can do that.

Anyway, yes, they are friends, Jim even will be his bestest mensch (a Yiddish term for a really good guy) but I imagine Dwight can still be unpredictable.

While I haven't flushed it all out, I do have some ideas. This will still be Jim and Pam's story but we'll see a bit of Beth too. 

 

 

 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2021 11:50 pm Title: The Morning Tango

Ooooh this is nice, Max! Just woke up and this is the first thing I read today, something very wholesome but also one can sense the romance building quietly in the background. Will patiently wait for what’s next!

Author's Response:

Thank you grc. A little fluffy fun for Valentine's but do remember it's Pam and Jim and they work at Dundler Mifflin Scranton so anything goes before they get to Christopher's at night for their dates.

Who knows what could happen and since I'm not sure myself this will be fun.

Thanks for reading and reviewing - it's a treat to get them, better than Valentine's chocolate.

 

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2021 06:38 pm Title: The Morning Tango

I am so very, very glad Christopher's and Beth will have their own lengthy story.
Jim coming into his own as a dad of toddlers, injecting his own brand of fun with his kids while multitasking, is wondrous. Jim and Pam as parents are relationship goals.

Author's Response:

Once, I thought you would enjoy seeing Beth again (even though she technically hasn't shown up yet).  I do have a few Beth appearances up my sleeve. Hoping to get them fully fleshed soon.

As for Jim and his kiddos, I wish we'd have seen more of it because I imagine he was a really fun dad and just super sweet with his babies.  All of them.  

Thanks for the review. Happy Valentines. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans