You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2021 06:18 am Title: Chapter 8

yay, I love starting of the weekend with an update of this fic!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 07:25 pm Title: Chapter 8

This is a wonderfully Dwight-ish Dwight. The pocket infrared thermometer is absolutely a Dwight accessory, and Jim and Pam bonding over his idiosyncrasies is of course necessary. Loved the American Girl doll reference to canon with Angela's description too.

The Kevin hot chocolate bet was fun, and "Pam didn’t really want to be friends with her, but that was apparently not an option" is wonderfully Kelly.

I like the way you've used her regular status to bring them together in an alliance against the weirdos around them just like in canon!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 07:13 pm Title: Chapter 8

Delightful insights in the rest of the characters. Really liked how Jim and Pam get to have a few moments bonding with each other with different temperature scales for Dwight's (Angela's) order. Everyone else seemed pretty spot on too. So easy to see that Kelly would be the kind of girl who likes a little coffee with her half and half. Oscar enjoying more fancy things. Kevin and his love of chocolate abides. Toby also ordering tea, like Pam orders tea. Also a hint of the future there, a party at Toby's that Jim and Pam go to together?

All in all a nice bit of exposition that is great in serving the plot of having Jim and Pam talk to each other more.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2021 05:32 pm Title: Chapter 7

I like the idea that somehow, in every universe imaginable, Michael Scott manages to burn his foot on a George Foreman grill.

“Fun fact: did you know you can’t brew loose-leaf tea in the coffeemaker like it was coffee grounds? Or that you shouldn’t put an entire order of tea into a single coffeemaker? Michael does. Now.” Joking? or something that actually happened?

Developing their bits and enjoying their games, Pam leaning over Jim's counter as opposed to Jim leaning over Pam's, building their way into each other's routines... I don't know. I just really like this version of them.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, Multiverse Michael is always grilled. And I think we should take Jim's statements at less than face value--but that one definitely happened.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2021 03:12 pm Title: Chapter 7

I am loving the routine Pam’s fallen into (and the last line about how she’d be happy to keep it up for the rest of her life, which is very sweet and also just so Pam), but yes: I’m also very up for it being disrupted! Her and Jim’s jokes about why they don’t have tea are very cute and funny. And I really like her genuine fondness/sympathy for Michael that goes beyond just Jim: the ‘she’d like him not to hurt himself more than he already has’ line I think just sums up her feelings for him so well. Grenadine and green apple - especially with a milk steamer - also sounds...foul. But those are some very imaginative flavours, lol. And I’m really enjoying the Jim egging her on/her playing along. Basically please just keep writing about them in a coffee shop forever, I love the way you’ve written all of their interactions so much.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate all of this. The whole concept of a coffeeshop AU to me is that it's pretty expandable, so we'll see how it goes, but it might be pretty long ;)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2021 12:27 am Title: Chapter 7

This is nice. I like how she seems intent that she's doing all these things for her, but underneath there's something, or someone, pulling at her. That being said the fact she doesn't have to get up and cook breakfast ridicu-early in the morning and can enjoy a bit more of a lay in is nice.

Nice touch with bringing in Micheal grilling his foot. Likewise for all the reasons there's still no tea. Nice and banter-y and all sorts of fun. Speaking of banter, a bit of a role reversal here and I'm 100% for it. Pam is coming up to Jim's counter to talk. I wonder how long it'll be till he puts out a jar of her favorite candy.

Nice to see them still getting on great. Always fun to get an update for this one.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is a bit of a slow burn, obviously, but Jim is definitely going to pull out the candy--and maybe even someday some tea--because he likes Pam being there.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 05:50 pm Title: Chapter 6

For better or for worse, this feels *very* Jim. Just sort of drifting along, not really sure what he wants or where he's going , letting fate take him, until he finds his true north in Pam... and then not being able to summon the courage to take action. And his excuses aren't so reasonable in this universe either. Get a grip, Jim.

I love the little details here... Jim noticing her post-Solitaire dance, the floor getting noticeably more wear near her usual table. Adorable.

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree--Jim ain't perfect, so this is a definite character flaw, and yet part of him. Don't worry--a grip will be gotten, starting relatively soon (though not next chapter).

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 10:02 am Title: Chapter 6

Awww. I like this inside. Also, I like the acknowledgment that Jim lacks courage — I don't read a lot about that (I don't exclude the possibility that I'm just a terrible reader, though).
Thank you, I'm watching their dance with great interest!

Author's Response: I think it's known but rarely pointed out? I see it more in early-season fics, for obvious reasons. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 04:36 am Title: Chapter 6

Michael and Jim's dad are BFF? Where did that come from?

Dwight Kurt Schrute is his own barrel of them- great line.

This story is a joy to read. Keep em coming.

Author's Response: Thank you! That's just my own weird explanation for what would make Jim take this job--and what would give him the relationship with Michael that I wanted. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 03:29 am Title: Chapter 6

I loved the glimpse into Jim's backstory here, and the idea of his dad being friends with Michael is genuinely amazing. And then Jim's reflections on Pam are so lovely: I really like the part about how she makes him laugh, I think it's one of my favourite things about their interactions in general. (Also LOL at the Cleveland Steamer and Jim having to stop Michael three times, I did wonder why she didn't have a drink on the board yet...) I feel like this is a good kind of angst/them dancing round each other though, especially when they're actually on the same page with the hoping and not presuming! Again, it's very relatable and very them. I think I'm now out of jellybeans :(

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm flattered you've used your jellybeans already! I don't anticipate using Jim's POV a lot (famous last words) but it seemed time to give a little sense of why he's here and what he's up to...

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 04:22 pm Title: Chapter 6

poor Jim, this is definitely his major character flaw :(

Author's Response: Yeah...but at least this time when he does make a move, no Roy ;)

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 02:03 pm Title: Chapter 6

This was great. But: STOP BEING A COWARD, JIM! Grrrrr.

Author's Response: I mean, it's Jim, early season Jim. Don't worry, there will, eventually, be movement.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 12:42 pm Title: Chapter 6

I liked getting some of the backstory for Barista Jim here. Kind of fun to think he'd be kind of pushed into this job for all the reasons shown here.

Really like how he's just besotted by Pam right from the off. How he's going out of his way to be near her when she's around. Feels like taking jellybeans out of the tray, but you know, mopping the floors here. I really like the insight that it's Pam who really bring out his genuine sense of humor. How he wants to laugh with her and because of what she says. Also that he picks up on her just simple and quiet beauty. Lots of good stuff there.

So what will it take to get these two together? Looking forward to finding out.

Author's Response: Thank you! I think Jim and Pam really complement each other, and the sense of humor thing is just part of it. I'm glad you're enjoying it!

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 05:31 am Title: Chapter 5

I love this so much. I really like the way you’ve written Pam’s fondness for Michael, and how Jim brings her so much light, and her thought that Jim might be someone she could have those kind of conversations with. And Pam not presuming anything is just very Pam. And I do love some angst, but Jim through Pam’s eyes here is just so sweet that I’m really looking forward to it resolving!

Author's Response: Thank you! It will resolve, but we do have to see Jim's angst first...

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 04:40 am Title: Chapter 4

Hehe, Michael is fantastic in this - I love his genuine enthusiasm once he gets into his spiel, and the image of Jim literally slapping a hand over his mouth is great, as is him knowing without needing to look that Pam does not appreciate Michael’s compliment. And Pam’s butterflies at the end 😍

Author's Response: Thank you! I enjoy having Michael in in bits and drabs; so you'll see more of him for sure. It's his shop after all...

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 03, 2021 11:57 am Title: Chapter 5

Well, I like this sort of angst - and I like that even with her new independence and bravery (I guess it took a lot of it to end things with Roy for good), she's still the Pam we (or is it me?) love, tentative and full of doubts.
Also, Michael's comparison to a hedgehog is hilarious!
Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! It did take some bravery from her--we'll hear more about that later, at least I currently plan that we will.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 05:22 pm Title: Chapter 5

I love the way Pam is still able to identify the humanity and sadness in Michael, no matter what the universe, and the way she finds a little room for him in her heart.

Ha. Another dose of philosophy snuck into this story! I like this take on Pam's fundamental fear... that's a really central part of her in canon, and I'm interested in seeing what you're going to do with it here.

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm a sucker for philosophy as a hobby, so...guess what, now Pam is too ;)

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 04:04 pm Title: Chapter 5

Poor Pam! I hope we see more of what Jim is thinking next time, thank you for the update!

Author's Response: We are indeed seeing Jim's POV next time! Good guess! Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 01:37 pm Title: Chapter 5

Nothing wrong with her getting somewhat settled. It feels like she's still trying to get a sense of herself as her own person here. She was in this relationship with Roy so I'm sure for a while her sense of self was "Pam and Roy." Which is now gone. She's also back at home which you've expounded on in previous chapters. So here it feels like she's starting to get some traction in who she is.

The whole "customer service smile isn't a real smile" does ring. Especially if she has waitressing experience. Makes sense that she'd be cautious of the same from Jim.

I am kind of wondering what will happen when her favorite tea does show up. Could be fun.

Author's Response: Her favorite tea will show up soon! And yes, it will be fun (at least for me to write). Thanks as always for your feedback.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2021 09:33 pm Title: Chapter 4

"He is smiling, but it’s the kind of manic smile that she suspects strongly might conceal a great deal of tension." Good way to describe Michael from a sympathetic outsider's perspective.

"Michael looks like a toddler who just grabbed a coffee cup off the counter and is very proud while everyone else is just waiting for the splash and smash." ALSO a spot-on description of Michael - and the toddler thing works, because it's that sort of fond exasperation. You can't really blame him, because, you know, he's a toddler.

Very entertaining chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked those: I was pretty proud of them :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 08:08 pm Title: Chapter 4

Just going back there because it's convenient, right Pam, just keep telling yourself that. Ah the appearance of Micheal in all his Micheal glory. Though I do wonder, it was his dream to open a coffee shop but he doesn't know how to make coffee. Hmmm, then again, considering the name of the joint, coffee could just be an excuse to allow him to create a place where he can to stand-up. Heaven help us all if it comes to that.

Lovely to see Pam's reactions to Jim. How she's looking for him and responding to when he is and isn't there. Still all sorts of adorable and I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you! There's a little more angst coming up, but also an explanation for some elements of Michael...

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 01:25 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oh, I adore the font joke! I don't even try to guess what font Pam is so firmly repulsed by (but in my head, Jim's nametag looked much like a ransom note with letters cut from different magazines).
And I hope that butterflies will survive the steaming milk shover :)

Author's Response: Thank you! There are fonts like that, though I was thinking more of a handwriting-style one. Thanks for reading :)

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 04:13 am Title: Chapter 4

Gotta know what font that is since you already mentioned comic sans. Park avenue? Myriad. zapt chancery?

Meeting Michael was fun and you got his energy (especially when high on own supply) and vibe down.

Lotta fun.

Author's Response: I didn't have a specific font in mind, more a class: those spidery handwriting-like fonts that are impossible to read on small screens. Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 11:34 pm Title: Chapter 3

Ha! Dwight binding them together in every universe. This feels like a very fun early-JAM version of Money in the offing. And the Zillow description is very, VERY Dwight.

Author's Response: Thank you! I just love making Dwight look silly in the ways that Dwight makes himself look silly ;)

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2021 01:31 pm Title: Chapter 3

I was pretty much laughing through all of Pam's musings/increasing horror about Dwight, but this bit in particular really got me:

'It’s a case of someone who is deeply, deeply wrong about what Zillow is.

Like, fundamentally, deeply misunderstanding.

Because Dwight Kurt Schrute (she wonders which of the two men occasionally visible in the photos on the site he is, and decides it really does not matter because they’re equally distressing as options) is not trying to rent out his beet farm on Zillow to anyone who wants to live there.

He’s trying to use Zillow to find hotel guests.'

This feels very Dwight. Also, the homemade milk.

But, it did result in Jim coming out from behind the counter! I'm really enjoying how you've written flustered Pam, it's both very her and very relatable. I'm loving all of this, basically!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope you continue to like it as we keep visiting the shop! This chapter came really easily; here's hoping the rest does too...

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans