You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 04:32 pm Title: The Only One

This missed connection at the beginning is SO Jim and Pam. Always desperately wanting the other to take the risk. *sigh* But just like in canon, fate seems to push them right back together no matter how many opportunities they miss. I love Pam getting the burger correct.

"Except maybe it is a little different because it really does feel magical this time." EEEEP.

The awkward name exchange is cute... and it's lovely to see Pam having learned from experience and grabbing his hand. UPDATE SOON PLEASE.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2021 09:00 am Title: The Only One

I love this! I really like the idea that they're both trying to go after their dream jobs here (even if they're not totally succeeding), and this has got me so invested in their relationship after a few lines that I've been on the edge of my seat every single time it looks like they're going to lose each other. The way you've written Jim is just dreamy, and I'm really enjoying Pam's slight awkwardness - but also the way they bounce off each other, and their genuine joy at being with each other, is so lovely. And the dancing! I've also cracked up at pretty much every Creed line in this, it's genius.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2021 07:40 am Title: The Only One

This was just adorable. At first I was a little sad that they went their seperate ways after the meeting in Creed's bar. However meeting up again at the place she works was just all sorts of cute.

I have the perfect image of her doing her little "ta-da" movement with cute smile and quick dip of her knees. Delightful.

Loved their coffee date and how quickly they realize it's a date. Trading stories, learning names, how she held off about already knowing his from his credit card. Leaving hand in hand. All sorts of adorable.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2021 09:29 pm Title: The Only One

Uuuugh I just want to keep following them around (that means write more, please).

"I get a flash of déjà vu as Jim and I are interrupted by another closing. It’s like we keep being tested to see how we’ll hold up without structure to give us direction." I loved this line.

Keep it coming, lady! I love the feel of this whole story.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2021 09:20 pm Title: The Only One

I was so sad when they parted ways when it was obvious neither one of them wanted to, but I am soooo glad that Jim ran into her at Chili’s (and not into a car). Their little date at the coffee shop was adorable, I love the discussing of names and then throwing in the worst first date story. So good. And then her grabbing his hand at the end. Ugh. I love it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 10:58 am Title: Noon on Tuesday

Some interesting details here... Jim at Athlead without Pam isn't quite the salesman he is with her. Maybe he really did learn a lot from selling Cece that baby food. Or maybe he needed the confidence of having her behind him.

I like the doses of prickliness/fire you gave Pam here, the spirit - there's some quality banter. It sounds natural, like two people who are clicking but don't really know each other.

Creed getting the food from KFC is hilarious and very Creed, and the joke about that being the better food option is perfect.

But I think my favorite part was this:

"There’s something unnerving about the sun still being out, something that makes it all seem a little more serious. Something about seeing the dust in the corner, the sources of shadows, the scuffs on the floor all illumined by the warm light streaming through the windows.

"It’s less like magic.

"It’s more like real life."

That's poetry.

Author's Response: Banter is not my strong suit, so your compliment on that makes me extra happy. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 10:04 pm Title: Noon on Tuesday

This is all sorts of banter-y, and playful, and fun, turning into melt-y. Really liked bringing in Grass Roots. Wonderful touch there.

Jim and Pam swaying like that was just a treat to imagine. Despite a lot less like magic and a lot more like real life, it really did feel like they were in their own little world.

Lots of fun with this one. So where do we go from here now that the bar is closed? Looking forward to finding out.

Author's Response: Aww thank you, warrior! I had a lot of fun having them dance here. Glad you're enjoying the story!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 09:59 pm Title: Noon on Tuesday

"I slide off the barstool and join him in the middle of the empty floor. “You’re hard to say no to,” I tell him, extending my hand as a peace offering." YEAH he is.

"There’s something unnerving about the sun still being out, something that makes it all seem a little more serious. Something about seeing the dust in the corner, the sources of shadows, the scuffs on the floor all illumined by the warm light streaming through the windows.

It’s less like magic.

It’s more like real life."

You already know I love this, but like. I really love it.

More more more! I need it.

Author's Response: Thank you WW! I clearly love that line too haha. Glad to know it's not just me patting myself on the back.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 09:44 pm Title: Noon on Tuesday

Love love love. Creed is my favorite bar owner. Getting the wings from KFC. Only playing The grass Roots. Kicking everyone out for a "smoke break." I love him. I also love Jim and Pam's conversations. How they joke with one another and how seamlessly it transitioned into dancing. The dancing was just perfection. "It's less like magic. It's more like real life." Ugh. So good.

Author's Response: I haven't been to many (actually any) bars, but I think Creed would be my favorite bartender, too. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2021 03:43 pm Title: Apropos of Nothing

First: it is always a good choice to have Pam work at Chili's.

Well, this is a sad start - Pam coming to grips with the limits of her dreams, Jim discovering the limits of his abilities. Maybe they both need someone to believe in them right now...

I like the way you built up the setting here. And you did good work building the song lyrics into this.

Author's Response: Aw thank you DJC! You managed to comment on all the things I was thinking about after posting this story, so many thanks for that. Hope you enjoy!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 08:49 pm Title: Apropos of Nothing

Well this looks promising. Pam out and on her own trying to make a name for herself as West Coast artist. Props for the courage to move out there and go for it. Kind of slim pickings at the moment though.

Creed as a bartender seems like a hoot and a half.

And here's Jim or James. Though it seems like he's only here on business. Even still for only meeting the Jim/Pam banter we all know and love feels like it's coming across. Her suggesting Disneyland for example.

Great start. Looking forward to seeing where we go from here.

Author's Response: Thanks, warrior! Yep, just a normal business trip for James here. So far anyway. Glad you're enjoying!

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 07:20 pm Title: Apropos of Nothing

Excellent! Another LA story. The bar is in Manhattan or north Hermosa Beach!

Author's Response: Ooh I honestly wasn't imagining either of those but I LOVE Hermosa Beach... you're giving me ideas!

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 06:48 pm Title: Apropos of Nothing

I love this! This is such a great start and I'm really excited to see where this goes.

Day drinking? Check. Hot Jim with sleeves rolled up. Check check. Pamma Jamma getting their flirt on? Checkity check check!

Author's Response: Thanks, beth! Jam in bars is kinda your thing so I'm glad you liked this LOL!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 02:11 pm Title: Apropos of Nothing

Ah a fic based on a song and one I already know. I love when I’m introduced to a new song but when I know it I can sing along as I read. Song fics kinda my jam and this one was fun. (Pun intended) You’ve done a nice job with the set up and mixing the lyrics and the story.

Look forward to where this goes.

Author's Response: I'm so excited that you know the song too! This is one of my favorites. More of a feel-good than a soulful journey, but Jam tends to bring out the soul in things... thank you for reading!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 12:08 pm Title: Apropos of Nothing

I love a good meet cute and this was no exception. A bar with the phone in the bathroom and two people who need some cheering up. ;) You set the scene perfectly and I am SO excited to see where you take this. Give me California Jam any day of the week!

Author's Response: California Jam is my jam, so you're in luck! Thanks for the review~

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 11:52 am Title: Apropos of Nothing

This is SO ADORABLE!! Aah girl, I’m so excited for this story! That last line, the “But they’re nothing like Jimmy and me” is KILLING ME! And keeping me hooked (even as hungover as I am right now).

100/10, girl!

Author's Response: Haha, I have to give Sheryl Crow some credit where credit is due cause I definitely took that from a line in her song. But I love it too! Glad you like the story so far!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 11:49 am Title: Apropos of Nothing

I love this already. I love picturing Jim and Pam in California, so please feel free to keep writing that. I also love how this is so different to canon but you still so easily slip in canon references. Creed is amazing. The phone being in the bathroom is so spot on. I can't wait to see what happens next!!

Author's Response: Thank you aly! I'm having so much fun writing Creed since I hardly ever do that. He fits in so well with the craziness of LA. Hope you enjoy!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans