You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2022 11:13 am Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

Hahaha... ! I can totally see Creed and Joe cruisin' Syracuse in a stolen Cadillac.

I've been looking forward to catching up with this , and you haven't disappointed. These chapters have all been great, and I can really hear the characters talking.
Super stuff!

Author's Response: Oh, the Joe Biden and Creed shenanigans would've been a whole documentary unto themselves.

Thank you so much! Really appreciate your kind words and you taking the time!

Reviewer: Sam Signed [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2022 10:50 am Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

This has made my evening! I thought Sadiq was great, and I wish we'd seen more of him. And I love how you got him to humanise Dwight. Poor Nick...
Thanks!

Author's Response: Sadiq does feel like he'd fit into the daily life of Dunder Mifflin pretty well, doesn't he? He'd be a valuable addition to the Coalition for Reason. I know, Nick seems like such a nice guy, he just wanted to be friends! *sigh* Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2022 10:29 am Title: Casino Night (May 11-12, 2006)

Well, that was lovely. I feel genuinely emotional, and I'm glad you managed to fit in a happy ending. Great insights into both of their states of mind, at that point in their story.
Super!

Author's Response: This may well be my favorite thing I wrote last year tbh, so I'm really glad to hear you liked it!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2022 10:14 am Title: 05-05-05 (May 5, 2005)

I said before that I'm always interested to read about the tension caused by the nature of Jim's relationship with Pam, and what he would like it to be, and I like the way you've explored that here.
You shouldn't be so hard on yourself! I actually forgot to count look for things to count, because I was caught up in the story - don't know if that counts as 'harsh criticism' or not... :o)

Author's Response: I don't think that counts, no. :D

Appreciate the review, friend!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2022 08:37 am Title: Pretzel Day (April 26, 2005)

You're great at painting vivid pictures with these scripts (if that's the tight word for it?) You really bring them to life. I particularly liked seeing Jim trying to fill his time at reception, and your clip package with the abused microwave. Oh, and happy Stanley with his pretzel!
Thanks!

Author's Response: I don't know why that microwave gag amuses me so much, but I've gotten a lot of mileage out of it. And it is always a treat to write happy Stanley.

Thank you so much! I do think John and Jenna are doing most of the work, but I appreciate it.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 23, 2021 04:31 am Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

Ok, every time I hear Joe Biden is from Scranton I immediately go to THE OFFICE! (I feel like I also got into the show at roughly the same time he got elected last year?) so I’m really really glad there’s now a fic about this. And this was a brilliant one: I feel like you’ve nailed every single character’s political views / relationship with politics (including Oscar’s and Stanley’s, who I’d never even really thought about before. And Angela and Sarah Palin, LOL). I love Michael getting way too carried away with the whole thing, Jim genuinely and earnestly feeling connected and inspired by Biden - it’s so very Jim - and you’ve tapped into something that just feels very in keeping with the spirit of the show, with the sort of small-town excitement and pride about all of this. (I’m also with Pam on being confused about what the VP does. I’m not sure Veep has helped me with this). And then Kelly!! I really love your Kelly is secretly much smarter than she lets on theory - and linking Biden with that random note in the show about her sister dying, to create a more human moment that she then immediately puts aside for the cameras, is so amazing. I love it.

I could quite easily turn this into a list of all the moments in this that cracked me up, but I think my particular favourites are Angela ratting them out to Wallace, Michael’s hasty about-turn on Republicans buy paper too after his call (in fact, that entire speech that he gives them: but also, hail to the Chief Financial Officer - you’re killing me), the sneaky reveal on Wallace’s political preferences, and the cut to Jim’s face after Dwight’s talking head. Oh, and then the ending with Creed. Basically, this was just fantastic from start to finish.

Author's Response: Exactly! Those are the things everyone thinks about when they think of Scranton, Dunder Mifflin and Joe Biden! A killer combo imo. I will freely confess I have spent far too much time thinking about the politics of each of these characters and may or may not have detailed headcanons as to each of their voting patterns over the last decade and a half, so I'm glad to hear that did this fic some good.

Michael getting overexcited was a given, but it was fun to write earnest Jim in a non-Jam scenario - feel like I haven't done much of that. (I think Veep captures it pretty well tbh.)

There are *so many good stories* to be told about Secretly Savvy Kelly. She's delightful as a dingbat, it opens up a lot of plot options.

I'm glad so many of these moments worked for you... fun to write. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review, friend.

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 23, 2021 12:52 am Title: National Jelly Bean Day (April 22, 2006)

Oh... this is very moving and insightful.
The clash between Jim's role in Pam's life and his actual hopes and intentions always grabs me, and I liked this bit which sums it up very well:
"Jim freezes, because if he can’t give her this, than what good is he to her? And there are moments when he is not the funnest most super awesome source of entertainment, there are moments when he can’t come up with some new game,... there are moments when he just wants to drop the act he always puts on for her and just be honest, be a man and not a playmate, and he’s… He’s got it."
I also really liked:
"The odds have always been against him. The idea that Pam was secretly harboring feelings for him, enough that she might leave Roy, while also dragging Roy kicking and screaming to the altar? It just didn’t make sense."
On the one hand we have the received truth of Jim's cowardice / weakness. But we're probably being more than a bit unfair, because, yeah, he spends his days being confronted with a bit of a Pam paradox. He thinks he can see that she has feelings for him, and he sees that Roy makes her unhappy, she sees it too and complains about him... yet she's the only one in that relationship who's actually invested in getting into a church and wed. You've illustrated his dilemma very well there, and the direction his thoughts would likely be taking in the run up to his big moment.
Great stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks for bringing me back to this one - trying to create a Season 2-style Jam moment that felt like it had something to say and wasn't just a carbon copy was a challenge.

I maintain a lot of sympathy for Jim (up to and through Season 3) for just that reason - without the awareness of the genre of show you're in and everything we're seeing of Pam's reactions without him around, he's wrestling with a lot of information that just doesn't fit what he wants things to be.

Thank you, and thank you for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 23, 2021 12:16 am Title: National Grilled Cheese Day (April 12, 2008)

Well, this is very sweet and it's a lovely piece of writing. And also funny. And... generally great.
Thanks!

(And yes, you're right to be concerned about the preparation of the grilled cheese. I'm choosing to believe, because Jim has done this before, that they have access to something that isn't a microwave.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it.

That's possible. Jim's very ingenious, he probably has his ways, and maybe keys to one of the other offices in the building.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 13, 2021 09:56 am Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

This was absolutely hilarious. I have to be honest though, my favorite line was the one in your end note: "The latter of which is funny to me because Meredith has definitely never voted in her life."

I need to stop reading your fics while in class and on camera.

Author's Response: It's weird to think of Kate Flannery being her own person sometimes. And I wish I could say I'm sorry to be a distraction, but that would feel dishonest.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2021 05:40 pm Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

Oh, one more thing... David Wallace? A hardcore Republican? SAY IT AIN'T SO!

Author's Response: It pained me to write it, but real talk: 2008 David Wallace? Highly likely. And from an economic standpoint, it's probably in his best interest.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2021 05:38 pm Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

Okay. Many thoughts.

I haven't really had an opportunity (or desire) to think about these character's political affiliations but I'm upset and slightly disturbed by the very obvious fact now in my head that Angela and Dwight both certainly voted for Trump. Ick.

Pam not knowing what the VP does is actually a brilliant move because Pam is sort of all of us, I think? In the show? And you're right, most Americans don't know the answer.

Your Kelly headcanon is interesting, I don't buy it, but I still like it. (For the record it makes a lot of your Kelly notes for me make more sense, ha!)

A few days ago I'd have agreed with you that Meredith hasn't voted a day in her life but after seeing that "Justice For Caylee" sign in her van I think she's more tapped into current events than I've giver her credit for.

This was fun and I can tell you had fun with it!

Author's Response: I by contrast have put immense thought into the political histories of pretty much all of our principals. *shrugs* But yeah, Angela for sure. I like to think Dwight's love of order and rules and hierarchies would have made him a little more hesitant... this is not a guy for whom "The Deep State is against me!" is going to be a rallying cry.

And in Pam's defense, she does know! She's just not positive that she knows!

Oh, have I never shared my "Kelly is secretly playing everyone" headcanon with you? Because yeah, that definitely shapes my take on the character.

She may well be the "I don't vote, it only encourages them" kind of non-voter.

Thank you! And thanks for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2021 11:11 pm Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

So that was fun. I thought you walked what can be a fine line really well. I can easily see Michael getting big into the spirit of something like this. It's actually kind of working too. Jim and Stanley getting new clients. Michael may be out there, but he does have good salesman instincts. That it's Angela who calls Corporate to complain rings true for me. Same with her choice of favored politician.

Nice job with this one. Like I said, it was a lot of fun to envision.

Author's Response: You know, this sort of thing used to be the norm, a sort of cross-political spectrum pride in a hometown boy made good. That had probably passed already by 2008, but as Ryan puts it, Scranton's usually a little behind, maybe they were still catching up. And yeah, for all of Michael's shortcomings, he has a clear understanding of the spirit of his hometown in a way that corporate simply doesn't.

Oh, Angela. (It was a sad thought in writing this that if there's one relationship that's likely to have shattered over the past 5-6 years, it's almost certainly Oscar and Angela's over this sort of thing.)

Thank you very much! And thank you as always for taking the time to review, my friend.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2021 06:31 pm Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

So thinking about it now it's a bit of a surprise that Obama was mentioned on the show but Biden never was being he was from Scranton.
Glad you filled in what was left off the show.

As usual, this was very much in the spirit of what we would expect from you and from our Dm crew (except Wallace which I already mentioned) Angela and Dwight landed pretty much as I expected.

I was tickled up top with the Uncle Pam and will say that the thing I most appreciated was the bit and take on Kelly, especially since the real Mindy is both a genius and supposedly very much alike the character she plays.

Wallace is right though, not really smart business to alienate a whole party especially in the paper business.

Glad you added the footnote about Cornell since it seemed like at least someone of note would have come from there and while I didn't know RBG did, I do now.
And I still see people wearing straight outta shirts so I 100% buy it and it made me laugh too.

Author's Response: It is a little odd, right? I mean, I'm sure it would have been a thing if he had been at the top of the ticket while The Office was still on the air, but still. Might have been a little David Wallace-style action from NBC, too.

Again, I will tell anyone reading since I've already told you - it makes perfect economic sense for Wallace to follow this line and it hurt to write it.

I will always take any excuse I can think of to write SecretlyAGenius!Kelly

But they're not alienating a party! They're celebrating Scranton's favorite son! *sigh* These days are behind us now.

That was kind of a lucky find on my part... I was kind of expecting some president or other to have graduated Cornell. But RBG is pretty good.

I'm pretty sure at some point I saw a screenshot of Michael and Dwight from Lazy Scranton superimposed over a Straight Outta Scranton meme, so this is wildly meta.

Thanks as always for taking the time to read and review my friend!

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2021 11:56 am Title: Joe Biden’s Birthday (November 20, 2008)

Loving all of the chapters so far, with special shout outs for Grilled Cheese day (the ending made me smiles so much and Casino Night (so confused but then was wonderful). All the chapters are just so well written and feel so very canon like. The Creed talking head at the end of Joe Biden was PERFECT.

Can’t wait to see what’s next

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have a special place in my heart for that Casino Night fic. And I am calling on someone, anyone, to write the movie of Creed and Joe Biden's wild night. Appreciate you taking the time to read and review.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 25, 2021 10:20 pm Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

As always, wonderfully amusing and so spot on in every aspect. All the little details sprinkled in are so true to the show! Well done. More, please. :)

Author's Response: Awwww thanks! There *may* be another chapter or two of this in November. Maybe. Maybe not. You never know with me.

Appreciate you taking the time to review!

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2021 10:16 pm Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

I really liked the way you wrote this, very much in keeping with how that would have played out in a real episode. A joy to read!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you friend! I definitely wanted this to feel like canon-style humor, so I really appreciate that. Grateful to you for taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2021 08:22 pm Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

Okay this entire thing was delightful but Angela’s TH killed me 😂

* ANGELA:
Yes, Sadiq is a godless heathen who rejects the word of our Lord and Savior. (pause) But he’s also the only person in this company who seems to care what Kevin’s doing on the Internet. So… he can have a snack while he waits to answer to the Almighty for his apostasy.*

Great button. Well done.

Author's Response: Ugh, now I'm reading this and feeling like I should have ended it at "answered to the Almighty," but thank you. This was the exchange that made me want to finish this fic and get it out to the world, so I'm glad it struck a chord with folks!

Appreciate you taking the time to read and review.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2021 03:15 am Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

Hehe, I loved this!! I was also very, very excited to see an update. The idea of them all bonding with Sadiq and not Nick is very funny (and I fully buy that Dwight was lying about Sadiq - he made the cut for the BBQ! - and that Nick just rebounded/was still holding out hope in his last episode. He seems persistent). I love all of Sadiq’s little ins with each character - I think Dwight and Kelly’s were my favourite, the borscht and Kelly’s dating views are genius. Also Oscar’s ‘can you imagine’ stage direction is so spot on. And *obviously* he’s into reports on antimicrobial resistance. The way you’ve written Nick getting gradually more and more irritated (from ‘service with a smile!’ to ‘f these people’) is brilliant, and hilarious. This was so great!

Author's Response: Awww, thanks! (There *may* or may not be another update or two before the end of the year...)

I feel really bad for Nick! He seems like such a friendly guy, and he gets slapped down literally every time he tries to be part of the Office in canon... and it does come across as a sharp contrast with how neatly Sadiq is immediately integrated into the daily life of The Office in both of his appearances. I appreciate the faith that I haven't completely sent a middle finger to canon... I suppose he does seem like the kind of guy who would talk himself back into "oh, if I just keep trying maybe they'll start to like me" and stick with it right up until the end.

Knowing that Sadiq was into NPR, the Oscar exchange really wrote itself. And he didn't even get an "actually" in there, although I guess it was implied. (Kelly should've gone for it with Sadiq. *sigh*).

Really glad you enjoyed these... thanks for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2021 07:35 pm Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

SO happy to see you active again and this was a lot of fun...and a perfect tribute to DG

Sadiq, as everyone's best friend is a perfect thing to set Nick off. Very in line with the Nick that goes off in the episode when Jim can't remember his name.

The borscht and the All Things Considered were my favorite bonding items but I felt Angela was very in character too (have to admit I was missing a Kevin bit so happy to get the little mention of what Kevin watches on his computer).

Now that you're getting back to it looking forward to more stuff from you?

Author's Response: In classic IT professional fashion, DG basically had to wrap his own gift here, making it even more perfect in its way! :D

Yeah, this was originally the product of a Season 6 rewatch, and noticing how much of an effort Nick consistently makes to be nice only to get slapped down every single time. Felt like there was potential for comedy there, especially given that Sadiq seemed to be integrated pretty neatly into the office the rare times he showed up.

Honestly, a lot of these bonding items really wrote themselves - glad you liked them! I feel like there was potential for Kevin, but also that he either would a) resent both of them or b) not have it in him to be quite as rude to Nick as the rest of the office does, so nothing really presented itself.

::Michael voice:: maaaaaaaaaaaaaybe

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2021 06:25 pm Title: National IT Professionals Day (September 21)

So this was fun. Nick is just ignored, while Sadiq is basically a part of the everyday office. Kind of a fun juxtaposition there. I mean everyone loves Sadiq and he's equally at ease with all of them too. Great fun to explore that one. Nice work.

Author's Response: Yeah, the idea came to me originally during a Season 6 rewatch... I mean, they invite Sadiq to Jim's house party the day they meet him, and yet literally no one's learned poor friendly Nick's name. What's up with that, guys? And the Dunder Mifflin crew does seem to be the type to take an irrational dislike to people and bond together in the face of it. Glad you enjoyed this one, and thanks as always for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 14, 2021 09:10 am Title: 05-05-05 (May 5, 2005)

I like this chapter even though it made me sad. There's something about the first season that almost completely disappeared in the following ones: this aura of stagnation and hopelessness, the grey days at a monotonous job with no growth and no future, and only sparks of human communication could brighten this gloom. I think you grasped this moment extraordinarily well.
And you're right, there are not so many stories about the summer of '05. So thank you for writing one!
P.S. I've already seen that the next one is about Casino Night, and I'm afraid I'm not ready for it now. But I'll definitely return/read/review this one too!

Author's Response: It really is too bad they lost some of that, because it feels like a sitcom where you're always supposed to return to the status quo at the end of the episode would be a great genre to explore that. I mean, it would have been a lot less funny, but a lot more real.

There may be another in me, who knows.

Okay. Just remember: it's canon compliant, and that's a point I'm going to make over the course of the story...

Thank you as always for reading and reviewing my friend!

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2021 05:55 am Title: Casino Night (May 11-12, 2006)

Um, I nearly cried reading this. I needed the kitten picture. And the happy ending, which I'm so glad is how it does end!

This is such a perfect - and heartbreaking - look at post Casino Night Jim. I think the bit that really got me is: "He’s thought all this before, but there’s always been a butbutbut at the end." You've just written the desperation and the yearning so well (also with the 'she said me too's later) - and it really does feel like the end of the 'but's for him after this. Although him still being worried about how she's going to get home, and not wanting to hurt her with the trash, is very bittersweet.

I was thinking - sheesh, bit cocky Pam - when I first thought she'd come back: but re-reading knowing that she's saying this once she actually knows how much he loves her, and what he went through, is so lovely.

I love the idea of Pam just wanting to make him feel better about all of this (and there are so many nice touches with the torn veil, and the congratulations on the baby, and the mobile!) Also very in character that she sort of maybe believes she might have been able to time travel, lol. I think it makes total sense that she would feel like what happened after CN needed to happen, but Jim...wouldn't (feels like S3 Pam goes through a lot of positive character development whereas Jim, for all his chat about evolving, doesn't). But then he sort of did his in S2.

And I love, love the little look into their honeymoon at the end, and that final sentence.

This was really beautiful!

Author's Response: Awwwww. Well, I'm happy I included the kitten picture now. The happy ending I take no credit for, I wasn't even one of the fans writing angry letters to NBC.

I thought it was important to include those little moments of care for her - as a writer on here I admire once noted, a lot of his distance from her in the year after this feels like it comes from a place of effort, struggling with his natural inclination to be tender towards her, and I think that would have definitely held true here. I'm glad you think I found the right balance between that and still putting him in a place of feeling like he had gambled and lost once and for all.

Oh, yeah, Casino Night era Pam would never have had the guts, and frankly would not have been welcome or helped matters imo. I also think the Pam who's lived through Season 3 can say a lot of these things and really mean them in a way that might have been a little likelier to reach Jim.

I take no credit for a lot of the details of this, which pretty much came to me fully formed. But a lot of it emerged about my thinking about the kind of commentary Jim and Pam would have about the documentary (filed under fics I will probably never actually get around to writing), and I do think that Niagara-era Pam would have mainly just wanted to give Casino Night Jim a really big hug. And yeah, the lady who saw the Man in Black? She's not NOT kidding about time traveling.

I tend to think Pam is more right than Jim here... I also think this is very much about Pam needing that year to be worth something because she was the one who chose to take it. (Similarly, my view is very much shaped by the fundamental horror at the idea that they went through all that for nothing.)

There should be more honeymoon fic. This is my final verdict.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking time to read and review!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2021 04:36 am Title: Casino Night (May 11-12, 2006)

Let's start with the cover art - not sure if it's new or I just missed it the first time but it's brilliant- never have brown and black, barely-filled balloons looked so festive.

Now onto the story, which was also masterfully written. One man's garbage is another man's treasure and never has that been more demonstrated. And I'm very curious what does a cootie catcher look like.

This line - No more sacrificing for a relationship he’s the only one in. - hit me right there.

You had me for a second - I thought you were going divergent, fix-it but what you did was even better. The ghost-like Pam was so much more than a real one could be in this story. I absolutely loved the framework here and this part:

*She touches him. Takes the tips of his fingers between hers, and puts his hand on her belly. He feels…
“You’re pregnant.”
She nods.*...gave me goosebumps.

SO true they both needed their experiences and I caught the allusion (right word?) to the possible plot twist mentioned in OL or by Jenna - that they were only meant to help them to get to another relationship - which I'm so glad didn't happen.

*He’ll fall in love again, and he’ll be better at it because of Pam. More gentle, more giving. More grateful. He’s sure he knows a little more about being a partner… and how not to be one.* (this was... - just so...no words).

and this...*Maybe one day when his son goes through his first serious breakup – his son who will not have curly hair or a knack for sketching – he’ll tell him about the person he loved so he could love his mother, about getting your heart broken and how to let it heal. About the people you meet who aren’t your soulmate but help lead you to them, make sure you’re ready for them.* You've captured not only the Jenna paraphrase but the experience (put from the Dad's perspective) that inspired me to write Sleepless Nights (of course from the mom's).

*She felt something* and *She said me too, she said me too, she said me too.* - more goosebumps.

Jumping ahead that she would be fearful any shift would change the outcome - ARE YOU IN MY MIND - I have a mini obsession with time travel and yet whenever I think what I might do different if I were to go back I always think this- the risk of changing anything by altering the past.

But her taking credit for leaving him hope - not through time travel per se but the magic of the kiss - very Pam.

I think you could say I liked it.

Well done.

Author's Response: Not only is the cover art new, I actually had to learn a whole new skill to make it. I'm becoming a terrible graphic designer! I hope you're proud of me.

Ah, see, I went with cootie catcher because I thought the image was more vivid, but when I was a kid we called them fortune tellers: https://content.instructables.com/ORIG/F8C/AM3J/H0KL0ROR/F8CAM3JH0KL0ROR.jpg?auto=webp. Which... probably would have been a better fit for the story, come to think of it, but either way, definitely the sort of thing Pam would have casually made for Jim to get them through a meeting and Jim would've kept 5eva.

I tend to share this Pam's view that canon Pam was not even remotely ready on Casino Night itself to pull a move like this... but I think in the future she would have had a LOT of regrets about that. Mainly this emerged out of some broader ideas I've had about Pam and Jim retelling their story in later years and what they'd think about it then, and the idea of this conversation kind of emerged from that.

I'm glad you liked where the pregnancy reveal ended up, that definitely went through a bunch of versions.

You know, in a way, Jenna got her wish. We very much saw that kind of relationship in the Office... except it was between Pam and Roy.

I mean, he's definitely rationalizing a little here, and the how not to be one is 100% a shot at Roy. But yay!

I'm glad you enjoyed it, AND now this is an excuse to reread Sleepless Nights!

Ooof. Those lines were not fun to write, because I'm sure Jim was tripping over those moments for a verrrrrry long time, poor guy.

This seemed like a very Pam concern, right? Like you want to write the AU where they just get to Exit 17 a lot faster, but honestly, who the hell knows if they were ready for that? (Also, if you haven't William Tenn's story The Brooklyn Project, you reallllly should.)

Hey, Pam may well think she can time travel. She believes in ghosts, after all!

ANY HOW. I'm really glad you liked it!!! This one's been long in the works.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2021 09:13 pm Title: Casino Night (May 11-12, 2006)

Reading this at 5am because I woke up and couldn’t get back to sleep. Just blown away by it. This was just about the most perfect thing I’ve read on this site. Absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: Ugh. I'm sorry you're not sleeping well, friend. But I'm really glad I was able to help see you through to the dawn. You are FAR too kind. Thank you.

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2021 07:17 pm Title: Casino Night (May 11-12, 2006)

I'm fairly new to MTT so don't know the underrated classic but I did love that you incorporated this paraphrase from Jenna from the Office Ladies pod: "About the people you meet who aren’t your soulmate but help lead you to them, make sure you’re ready for them." I've always been fascinated by that idea from Jenna even though I'm glad the writers didn't hurt us like that :)

Author's Response: I'm gonna be honest with you, I write the end note well before the final draft, and in the posted version the allusion is so slight there's really no earthly way anyone should get it. (But you should read Borneo anyways!)

Yeah, you know... I think it's a sentiment that makes sense coming from someone who presumably thought she found the love of her life incorrectly once or twice, but it's definitely a scarring thing to hear in Pam Beesly's voice. Fascinating, produced some devastating fics, but yeah. I too am glad the writers' room didn't go for that. I think it might have been comforting to Jim at this moment of his life, though.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans