Reviews For It Had to Be You
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2021 10:09 am Title: Chapter Fifteen

Aw... this is a sweet ending! I've really enjoyed this all the way through, and it's great to see it brought to a satisfactory conclusion after all the twists and turns and missed opportunities. Many thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I very much appreciate it!

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2021 06:55 am Title: Chapter One

Adding my name to audreydaisychain's on that suggestion ;)

Author's Response: Hahaha I love it. Will definitely keep this in mind. I do love this universe!

Reviewer: audreydaisychain Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2021 10:17 pm Title: Chapter One

I absolutely loved the tension you build between Jim and Pam. Would you ever consider writing a complimentary smut compilation where the two of them go through various fantasies they’ve wanted act out but didn’t get to? Like Pam gets to finally have “her order” (reference to Ch. 14), or the first time they go back to Pam’s apartment in her bedroom and the morning after, maybe they go back to the motel they stayed at on their roadtrip and redo that night etc. I just love the build up you gave them and I wish there was more smut!

Author's Response: Hello! I don't have any plans to revisit this universe at the moment, but if I do, I will keep this is mind. I really like that motel idea in particular :) I tried really hard to maintain an appropriate balance of smut for this story, since there isn't any in the movie I really wanted to maintain the integrity of it while also rewarding readers. But there are plenty of amazing smutty stories on this site, I hope you find what you're looking for. FYI, I wrote a smutty (canon friendly) piece "Egregious," if you're interested, check it out! Thanks for the review :) 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 01:28 pm Title: Chapter Fifteen

I love love love this. I’m so glad I waited until I saw it was complete before I read it as honestly I don’t think my nerves could have taken it to wait for updates. It was so perfect, I just wish there was more!

Author's Response: Haha I appreciate the review... things did get dicey there for a while. Glad you enjoyed!

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 01:06 pm Title: Chapter Fifteen

Oh Bloody Hell, Tiny Dundie. This was a lovely epilogue, but that also means this journey is over... and what a journey it has been. That was absolutely wonderful. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy you enjoyed!

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 10:05 am Title: Chapter Fifteen

I have enjoyed this so much! One of my favorite movies blended so beautifully with one of my favorite shows, they were still Jim & Pam in your world while completely drawing me back to sweet moments with Harry & Sally.

I feel a bit sad that's it's over, I like all of these characters so much. Guess I'll just have to go back to chapter one and begin again!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciated every review and I hope you enjoy it all over again! :)

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 05:10 am Title: Chapter Fifteen

What a delightful ending to a wonderfully crafted story.

Once again the way you aligned the movie's talking heads (and what a perfect connection between the two) and scenes from both the engagement and the later episode when Michael is planning his engagement and Jim and Pam share the story of theirs.

Love the idea that Michael and Kelly are making a documentary about love - without spelling it out exactly I now know what all the little tape recorder moments were about - that was really well done.

Closing it out with her pregnancy was very sweet.

Those end notes - perfect way to get some classic lines in

I enjoyed reading this one so much and will truly miss it.

Author's Response: As a fellow WHMS fan, your reviews were ones I very much looked forward to every chapter. Thanks again for taking the time, and I'm so happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: radontestkit Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2021 10:47 am Title: Chapter Fifteen

I absolutely love the idea of Michael and Kelly making a documentary together! And Jim's reaction to Pam's pregnancy is incredible. A perfect end to a perfect story. This has been such a joy to read!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: FutureFaxes Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2021 08:22 am Title: Chapter Fifteen

You did it! Congrats on completing this fantastic fic! This ending is so satisfying. It leaves you with that ahhhh feeling and a smile on your face.

This was a great ride from the start- funny, touching, angsty, and perfect. You hit all the beats for both the show and the movie, which is just amazing. Brava!

Ps- author's note? *chef's kiss

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2021 05:17 pm Title: Chapter Fifteen

So pulling in a lot of fun things here. Very much feels like the final talking head from the movie as well as any talking head from the show. Loved how we could easily see both and you did them both justice.

Filmmaker Michael was a lot of fun to read too. Nice use of the Golden Ticket from canon to give Michael the freedom to play a bit. Kelly as the producer was fun too. Especially since Jim proposed after three weeks of officially being together. I'm with him, why wait any longer. Kelly still squee-ing over the ring and it was adorable that Pam said yes to letting her be a bridesmaid.

The end there though? Other things they make quick work of. Another nice callback to canon. Just lots of fun there.

Excellent way to finish this one off. There were some ups and downs but you kept the spirit of the movie and the show alive really well. Great job.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful reviews as always, warrior!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2021 05:11 pm Title: Chapter Fifteen

Well, this was a lovely button to put on this one - and as always you did really well mixing pieces from both sets of canon, with the documentary and Michael's dissatisfaction with their gas station moment and Kelly wanting to be a bridesmaid, as well as closing the loop on your original elements... ending with a pregnancy after the bumps with Danny about having a family was a nice touch.

Really enjoyed this one all the way through - and thank you for letting me get a sneak peak!

Author's Response: Thanks again DJC for all your input along the way, it made this piece better. :)

Reviewer: radontestkit Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2021 12:52 pm Title: Chapter Fourteen

This is such a great chapter and I am sad that this beautiful story is almost finished (but I am equally excited to see what you'll write next!).

I love the callback to chapter 12 -"Jim was in the middle of a glorious dream." So romantic!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! And I definitely have something else in the works :)

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2021 03:30 am Title: Chapter Fourteen

Ok I might be stealing this from another movie... but what did I love about this chapter? To begin with, everything.

Kelly was pretty hysterical- loved your use of her -you didn't even have to fake it had me smiling - Kelly faking it that's gotta be a sight.
Signs - I love the use of signs so for Pam to look out the window and see Hope just at the moment she needed it - that was lovely.

ANd you know how I love circularity in a fic so for Jim to have a flat and be here at the gas station where Kelly has to pee (and then doesn't and then does again - after all a good romcom moment is worth holding it in for) is perfect.

PLus as the tie-in to weight loss, this just fits as does how they managed to go backward in the episodes and work in the Job and a first date that was pretty steamy.

“Oh, nothing,” he said. “It’s just… the service at this restaurant sucks.” - funny.

But it was the last few lines ...
She took a deep breath. “Am I... your girlfriend now?”
He turned his head on the pillow, catching her eye, and squeezed her hand.
“As long as you’re still my best friend, too.”
For a moment her expression was soft and serious, and he thought she was about to say something deep and profound. Instead, she held her other hand up.
He smirked, happy to know that nothing had really changed, and gave her a high five.

Mwahhh - now this is JAM!

Jellybeans - since i ran out long ago, can't give them but if a chapter deserved them it's this one where these two fools finally realize what's been there all along. Bravo.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2021 02:00 pm Title: Chapter Fourteen

Okay, hottest use of the "hi/hey" line goes to you! Ugh, sexy and romantic and gave me all the flutters reading it. I'm so happy these kids figured it out!!! Anxiously waiting for the epilogue. So so so good, TD!

Author's Response: Thank you WW! I'm so happy you've been enjoying!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2021 12:32 pm Title: Chapter Fourteen

This chapter alone is worth the price of admission for this fic. For Pam to find her courage and tear off to find him was just glorious. Her confession there at the rain soaked gas station was beautiful to imagine. As if the rain is washing off all their old hang ups and now they're just ready to be together finally. Almost felt like Jim was coming back to life there as he listened to her and finally kissed her like she deserved.

Then when they get back to his place and have their "first date?" Just wonderful. Nothing's holding them back and the finally realize they can have it all with each other. Love and the friendship they've built up and it all just encourages everything. Just bravo.

Author's Response: Thank you so much warrior!

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2021 03:24 am Title: Chapter Fourteen

OK, so re-read in the cold light of day. I ran out of Jelly Beans for this story ages ago BTW.

So much goodness here:

1. The awesomeness of Kelly (I know has been said by others below, but bears repeating specifically for this chapter.)

2. A town called Hope and the serendipity of Jim's flat tyre. That was just wonderful.

3. Rain and romantic confessions are possibly the Best Thing Ever.

4. "She thought about what Holly had said in her vows to Michael. She thought about the abyss, and how all she wanted was to jump over it and land on the other side." - I LOVED this paragraph in particular.

5. ...And this sentence: “I finally realized there wasn’t anything wrong with me. There’s a reason I couldn’t give my heart to anyone else.” - gave me literal chills.

6. The love scene was beautiful and perfect. Their love radiates out from the page/screen.

Absolutely worth the wait. At least we didn't have to wait 12 years (and 3 months)!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad it was worth the wait :)

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2021 03:20 pm Title: Chapter Fourteen

So I will leave a longer review in the morning as it's bed time here and a school night, only got read this just now as I took my mum to the cinema. But O. M. G. Tiny Dundie, OMG.

Awwwwwwwwwwww (and I literally said out loud when I read it, like a Valley Girl.)

PS - I nabbed the 100th review! Bonus!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2021 12:36 pm Title: Chapter Fourteen

Okay, I feel like I've already told you most of what I think about this chapter, but to reiterate:

-Your version of Kelly is *absolutely hilarious* here, from demanding to hear about Jim and Pam's sex life in the beginning to the amazing visual of her bouncing up and down silently in the car at the end. And let it be noted that Kelly's bladder is the real hero of Jam in this chapter.
-The idea that Beach Games and The Job and Weight Loss should have a baby together and the nicer parts of Casino Night should babysit had never occurred to me before and it's beautiful.
-Pam's awareness and embrace of the tropiness of this moment is lovely.
-The fact that Jim is having car trouble and that they're doing this on the highway is wonderfully circular from the beginning of this story.
-You did really well mixing Jam canon and WMHS canon here and making it feel organic.

Lines I Loved:
-“I appreciate the speech, Beesly, but that last part was all I needed.”
-He visualized an imaginary checklist with only one to-do on it: Kiss Pam.
-““Eh, you’ll get the hang of it."
-"the service at this restaurant sucks."/"But I ordered something, too, Jim."
-“Am I... your girlfriend now?”/“As long as you’re still my best friend, too.”

VERY eager to see how you're going to wrap this one up! But I'm glad they're getting their happy ending. They've earned it, poor souls.

Author's Response: Thanks, DJC. I changed this chapter up so much I don't even remember how it was when I first sent it to you but I appreciate you rereading and all of your help as always. 

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2021 08:47 pm Title: Chapter Thirteen

Okay, I've turned into Kelly:

Oh.

My.

God!

This is so wonderful.

And so perfect.

I think my heart is three times larger!

That's the Grinch.

Ohmygod! Ohmygod! OHMYGOD!

Author's Response: Haha thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2021 03:42 am Title: Chapter Thirteen

And there's my line, the one I've been waiting for.

Not only did you twist things up and give it to Pam - but by Kelly saying   "“Oh. My. God. That is so good, Pam. Did you come up with that? Because that should be in a movie or something.” - you made it even better than I imagined it would be.

The whole chapter was wonderfully written, funny at times and touching at others. I mean Michael asking what were her boobs like at the moment he did is just classic Michael along with Holly's description of their magical sex. I laughed out loud when he took the quarter out of her ear.

The working in of canon lines and the new version of the teapot and the mix tape that wasn't songs but words - loved it all.

Tell me more more about the  Jean-Paul Sarte quote - any personal connection or did you just feel it worked - it did.

 

 

Reviewer: AuroraKat83 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2021 07:07 pm Title: Chapter Thirteen

I forgot to mention in my last review, there's a compilation video on YouTube..If you search "I want you and Always Will" Jim and Pam (It's by ERock X)...this video goes PERFECT with what Jim and Pam are going through in your story. The first time I watched it (Many moons ago) I cried, no joke lol. It is SO good. Everyone should check it out.

Author's Response: That was a GREAT edit! Thanks for reccing it and thanks so much for reading/ reviewing as always :)

Reviewer: AuroraKat83 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2021 07:55 am Title: Chapter One

I read this chapter while I was in my car on break at work, literally had to stop myself after Jim left the wedding because (As I said outloud to myself) "OK. Gotta stop here, or I'm gonna start bawling." So, I finished the rest on my lunch break, lol! I am SO glad Jim got his feelings out to her finally, and I'll tell you why I loved that he used a tape...because then Pam HAD to hear his words and not try to dismiss everything as a mistake just to save her own heart. Now she KNOWS that he was being truthful when he told her he was in love with her. I've got my road snacks ready, let's go find Jim before it's too late!

Author's Response: Thanks for keeping up with me! Let's go catch Jim!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2021 04:15 pm Title: Chapter Thirteen

Awww, man. I love this chapter a lot.

First off, you continue to do really well capturing the ensemble's voices. Michael is spot on here - his spit-take is just... very Michael, as is his insistence on details. And you can tell why he and Holly go together so well in this chapter, too.

Jim's talking himself into acceptance that they've missed their moment is thoroughly depressing, but also seems a little too real, that this romantic moment and this description of how love is supposed to be by this couple that really encountered no roadblocks might just make him feel like he missed the boat. And the awkwardness of these two people who have so much to say to each other unable to find anything to talk about is just brutal.

Jim's dialogue here is a very worthy successor to original canon, and I love how the teapot gift ends up playing out, the way Jim ends up proving to Pam with both word and deed that her fears are groundless. And I'm loving Kelly as shipper on board here!

Lines I loved:
-"Never. It was an out-of-body experience. It was like... walking your entire life, then suddenly realizing you can fly.” "What were her boobs like?"
-"Although with Michael, it was actual magic... when it was over, he pulled a quarter out of my ear.”

Reviewer: MamaLo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2021 02:53 pm Title: Chapter Thirteen

ERMAGHERRRRRRDDDD

What a great chapter. Blown away. Can’t wait to see the next!

And yes Canon Pam is an idiot. The teapot was clearly an act of love.

Author's Response: Hahaha oh, Canon Pam. And thanks for the review! Sometimes "ERMAGHERRRRRRDDDD" is all we need, lol

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2021 01:48 pm Title: Chapter Thirteen

Canon Pam was an idiot, additionally in a huge amount of denial. I think we have established that. :D

And that was a monumentally good chapter that I have illicitly read instead of paying attention to my School Governor training (good job my camera is off!)

How do you keep churning out this ridiculously brilliant writing?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :))))

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans