Reviews For Up in the Air
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 22, 2022 04:23 am Title: Epilogue

I've been delayed with reviews lately but I couldn't let this one slip off without a note to say how much I enjoyed this fic. The last two chapters were heartwarming and I love when it all comes full circle. I was tickled by the Jim's Froggy gaffe - Pretty in Pink - grew up with this movie and Jon Cryer is forever Ducky Dale for me despite anything else he has done since.
Love the hint at their being risque and Kelly's return.
Oh and from last chapter - Your Betsy is my kind of Betsy. The facebook messages had me smiling as did the comment about the sugars in the coffee shop where they reunite.
Such a charming meet cute story- loved it.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 20, 2022 04:45 am Title: Epilogue

This was so lovely from start to finish. I love the idea of them meeting as strangers in the airport, and you've taken a cute rom com trope and made it so perfect and Jam-y. I really like the way you've written their meeting making them realise what each of their own relationships were lacking (it's nice for it to happen in parallel rather than the show's bad timing with Roy and Karen). And then Jim finding Pam in the coffee shop!! Kelly remembering them at the end is just the icing on the cake. This was so good!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2022 10:58 am Title: Epilogue

Pam wanting to create their first flight is fun, but also... KELLY REMEMBERS THEM. EEEEEEP.

Now, get back to writing your Christmas fic. Your kids can take care of themselves for a few hours.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2022 10:52 am Title: Chapter 6

I love the little exchange with Betsy about his Poor Richard's trip. This is who Betsy is, the mom who acts suspicious about your bar trips and then bakes you cookies for your ride home. Also makes for a good contrast with Roy's introduction.

""So I heard you moved out. How do I know this? Because I'm a creep who came to Scranton to hopefully find you and ended up next to your ex in a bar and overheard some things and anyway my parents have a spare bed if you need somewhere to stay. Also I might be in love with you?" Don't delete, Jim. Send that one. That exact text. Frame that and put it above your bed so you can show your grandchildren. THe fact that he starts his actual message with "I'm not a stalker" is amazing.

Never mind, the actual text is beautiful.

And he stopped for coffee at Isabel's coffee shop! Total small town love story.

Awwww. This is too cute.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2022 04:36 am Title: Epilogue

A very cute a flirty way to wrap things up. I've got a feeling that if they did want to go ahead with Jim's suggestion, Kelly wouldn't stand in their way. Wonderful to see how they are around each other though.

Thanks for sharing this one. It was a ton of fun.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2022 04:18 am Title: Epilogue

Oh so sweet!! And I love that Kelly is the Eugene Levy of this story!! I still haven’t watched Serendipity again, but when I do find it on a streaming service, I will totally think of you and this sweet Jam AU. Thanks for this darling, happy, funny, story!!

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2022 12:42 am Title: Epilogue

What a cute little ending! Loved it and this whole fic! Already looking forward to your next fic!

Reviewer: Dwim Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2022 06:01 pm Title: Chapter 6

This story is one of my all-time favorites. Thank you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2022 06:38 am Title: Chapter 6

Ok so this chapter left me a great big grinning gooey mess and I thank you so much for it. With how things ended last chapter I was nervous there would be a bit of a backslide on Pam's part, but no. She found her courage after all and yeah, maybe bit scary but good for her.

Jim just meandering around Scranton does seems somewhat silly, but at the same time, he's right. He's not going even have a chance to run into her just sitting around his parents place. Good for him to get the courage to get out there and look.

We get the sense of purposelessness he's facing as he heads to the bar. A whole big pile of "now what do I do?" But seems like fate is kind. So his nerves shoot through the roof what with not only sending that message but waiting for any reply. Him checking his messages time after time rings so true for a guy who is so on edge.

Their reunion in the coffee shop is just the sweetest thing ever. Then the walk they take and their first kiss. Beautiful. Simply beautiful. In one sense it's kind of a relief that it's short and sweet. They're both getting out of long term relationships so having the next week to process all that feels good. That being said their connection is still as strong as ever and I love seeing it.

Looking forward to seeing how this on comes in for a landing for sure.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2022 12:14 am Title: Chapter 6

Oh god, this was such a good update!!!! So fluffy and wonderful, but then you go and kill js with ONLY ONE MORE CHAPTER?!? You know we absolutely need to know how these two spent their first Christmas together - a Christmas one shot would be so fitting as it’s December and you wouldn’t want to disappoint your fans…
But great work, loved Jim trying to be out of the house so much, and his attempts at the Fb message AND THE KISS!!!!
👏👏👏👏

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2022 10:14 pm Title: Chapter 6

So sweet and that kiss! Perfection. I was really happy to see an update and it didn't disappoint.

Looking forward to the next chapter, not looking forward to the story ending.

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2022 06:01 pm Title: Chapter 6

Oh. My. God. This was so good! All the FEELS of Serendipity!!! All the FEELS of Jam!!! I mean, this was their ice rink scene in the coffee shop... with Isabel in Molly Shannon's role!!! The score of Serendipity is one of my faves... just the soft, sweet, meandering, hopeful music, and your tone here completely matched that. I'm so glad that they finally met up. There is so much in life that is just not a coincidence... be it finding the love of your life or knowing why you had the assignment you did (I'm an RN) or simply running into someone where you never planned on stopping--and I love that you and Serendipity celebrated this. Fantastic, sweet, hopeful, funny, heartwarming. Off to watch Serendipity... and then maybe some Jam!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2022 03:49 pm Title: Chapter 6

In the words of Michael Scott, my heart is very full at this moment. The emotion they both felt once they saw each other again, I could cry right along with them. And then Jim saying he found home after kissing Pam at the end after he wasnt sure where home was earlier ughhhhhhhhhh. And her bringing grape soda and fabric softener. Pure perfection.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2022 03:21 pm Title: Chapter 5

I know I'm late with this review, I hope you can forgive me. HOWEVER, THIS WAS EVERYTHING. I love Jim and Betsy's banter, the part with the Fruity Pebbles and Grape Soda was great. Also, she's right. Mom's know everything (which I know you are well aware of already). Pam running into Jim's parents? Brilliant. THAT ENDING THOUGH! Fitting for Roy.
KEEP. THESE. COMING!

Author's Response:

As DJC in his review, if you can't have fruity pebbles every morning as an adult, what's the point? Haha 

I'm glad you liked it! Hopefully I can write more soon! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2022 11:27 am Title: Chapter 5

AMAZING. Glad to see this one is back!

Hand to blog: I was sitting there reading the first Jim section being like "you're playing a dangerous game, Jim. One bad click and you're outed." And THEN IT HAPPENED. Great minds.

"It was him. He had found her. He wanted to find her." EEEP.

Some interesting parallelism to canon here... as always, the arrival of Jim isn't just about a transfer of affection but about making Pam realize she's unsatisfied with how things are.

""You're a grown man, son. Despite the fact that you just put Fruity Pebbles and grape soda in my shopping cart." If being a grown-up means eating Fruity Pebbles for breakfast whenever you want, what's even the point?

Okay. I love Betsy.

"He wasn’t always the perfect boyfriend, but he tried. For every time he messed up, he made sure to sincerely make up for it afterward. But gradually, after being together for a few years, he began to ask for forgiveness less often and rather just expect it instead." This sounds spot on.

Okay, THAT'S a twist ending, and now you owe us an update ASAP as possible.

P.S. Michael's pet insurance company is genius.

Author's Response:

I would like for your to write a rejected cold open involving Michael wanting to start a pet insurance company. Kthanks. 

And thanks for reviewing, as always!! I'll try to get the next part soon, with the promise of some more Betsy Halpert. 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2022 02:31 pm Title: Chapter 5

So glad this is back! And Oooooooh! Cliffhanger!

Author's Response: Gotta keep you hooked! Haha thanks for reading!! <3

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2022 09:56 am Title: Chapter 5

OMG. OMG. OMG!!!!!!! I love this! I love this story and Jam and Serendipity and this is SO good!!!! Um, yes Pam, you are in a rom com. Have you seen the movie??? It’s delightful. I love that she’s feeling the angst in her Roy relationship… and loved the little Michael/Holly details. And yes, Jim. I do believe and hope and pray that fate will let you bump into Pam in Scranton!!!!! Betsy…. Who doesn’t love some Betsy Halpert? We saw far too little of her in the series, but she never disappoints in canon!!! And oh Roy… interrupting the fate connection in the restaurant with Jim’s parents… ohhhhh. Holy cliffhanger!!! Please post soon….. love these two pining for each other and hope they make a skating rink glove connection soon!!!!!!

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2022 09:54 am Title: Chapter 5

OMG. OMG. OMG!!!!!!! I love this! I love this story and Jam and Serendipity and this is SO good!!!! Um, yes Pam, you are in a rom com. Have you seen the movie??? It’s delightful. I love that she’s feeling the angst in her Roy relationship… and loved the little Michael/Holly details. And yes, Jim. I do believe and hope and pray that fate will let you bump into Pam in Scranton!!!!! Betsy…. Who doesn’t love some Betsy Halpert? We saw far too little of her in the series, but she never disappoints in canon!!! And oh Roy… interrupting the fate connection in the restaurant with Jim’s parents… ohhhhh. Holy cliffhanger!!! Please post soon….. love these two pining for each other and hope they make a skating rink glove connection soon!!!!!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Hopefully I'll get to the next part soon! Haha I'm also glad you love Serendipity because it definitely has some sway on this story 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2022 01:33 am Title: Chapter 5

As with every other update, this was just so so great. I'm already waiting for the next chapter!
The only thing I love more than Jam? Betsy Halpert. And you have nailed her in my headcanon perfectly!
Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked Betsy! This is always how I picture her and so she's fun to write. Jim as a Mama's boy is everything so I will write it that way every time. Haha thanks for the review! 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2022 11:05 pm Title: Chapter 5

They are SO CLOSE but SO FAR. If you make them not run into each other after all of this Im never reviewing again (we both know thats a lie but shh). Also I love Betsy and I wish she was my mom.
Roy’s dumb.

Author's Response:

Roy IS dumb. So dumb. Really dumb. For real. 

  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2022 11:04 pm Title: Chapter 5

So Roy is in fine form. And by fine form I mean he's his normal oafish taking Pam for granted self. To just completely blow her off like that? When he knows they've been planning dinner with her parents for night out with his buddies? Yeah, time to leave him Pam.

Then Jim shows up, kind of, again and she gets a bit of a spark back. Gotta love that. Same with the heart to heart Jim has with Betsy. Love the fact he's getting some outside perspective.

Then fate does seem to be on her side. Though now she also has a choice. Go find Jim or bail out Roy. Should be really interesting to see which one she'll choose. Especially with the way Roy has been treating her and her current feelings towards him. Great update!

Author's Response: I felt a little bad making Roy such an oaf, but...he's an oaf. Haha thanks your your reviews as always! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 05, 2022 12:21 pm Title: Chapter 4

"He was counting Pams." EEEEEP.

This feels like a very good portrayal of the problems that might arise in a Pam-free Jim/Karen relationship... Karen not quite able to accept the parts of Jim that aren't what she wants, Jim going along to get along well beyond their sell-by date. And the slow dissolution of their relationship, the little things suddenly becoming big things, feels very real.

One could almost get the impression that there were a lot of reasons to call off his relationship with Karen... but he didn't care about any of those reasons until he met Pam.

THE SHAKE SHACK TRIP CHANGED EVERYTHING.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2022 10:24 am Title: Chapter 4

Gotta admit, I wasn't expecting the twist at the end of either of the last 2 chapters, so kudos to you on that! Loving the story so far!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2022 04:58 am Title: Chapter 4

You have a way of making us feel we've been watching this relationship disintegrate all along, even though this is our first real look at what's been going on in it.
The little things like the toothpaste cap and refusal to admit fault have a very "lived in" sense to them and had it not been for meeting Pam and the magnifying glass that she seemed to deliver to him while he was counting Pam-sheep, he may have let the issues lie longer. Glad Karen forgot to lock the door and gladder still she once again wouldn't take the blame – felt like a very true breaking point.
And then for Jim to have the aha moment where he remembers the receipt – bravo. Now that he has her name, next chapter please! We got some Roy to get rid of.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2022 12:34 am Title: Chapter 4

Sorry you’ve had a lot to juggle, but lovely to see this chapter up. So satisfying to see Jim finish things with Karen and actually be ready to go after Pam!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans