Reviews For Up in the Air
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 05, 2022 12:21 pm Title: Chapter 4

"He was counting Pams." EEEEEP.

This feels like a very good portrayal of the problems that might arise in a Pam-free Jim/Karen relationship... Karen not quite able to accept the parts of Jim that aren't what she wants, Jim going along to get along well beyond their sell-by date. And the slow dissolution of their relationship, the little things suddenly becoming big things, feels very real.

One could almost get the impression that there were a lot of reasons to call off his relationship with Karen... but he didn't care about any of those reasons until he met Pam.

THE SHAKE SHACK TRIP CHANGED EVERYTHING.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2022 10:24 am Title: Chapter 4

Gotta admit, I wasn't expecting the twist at the end of either of the last 2 chapters, so kudos to you on that! Loving the story so far!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2022 04:58 am Title: Chapter 4

You have a way of making us feel we've been watching this relationship disintegrate all along, even though this is our first real look at what's been going on in it.
The little things like the toothpaste cap and refusal to admit fault have a very "lived in" sense to them and had it not been for meeting Pam and the magnifying glass that she seemed to deliver to him while he was counting Pam-sheep, he may have let the issues lie longer. Glad Karen forgot to lock the door and gladder still she once again wouldn't take the blame – felt like a very true breaking point.
And then for Jim to have the aha moment where he remembers the receipt – bravo. Now that he has her name, next chapter please! We got some Roy to get rid of.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2022 12:34 am Title: Chapter 4

Sorry you’ve had a lot to juggle, but lovely to see this chapter up. So satisfying to see Jim finish things with Karen and actually be ready to go after Pam!

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2022 01:52 pm Title: Chapter 4

omg! Find her, Jim!

Loved this:

*Meeting Pam, whether he liked it or not, had put his relationship with Karen under a magnifying glass. All the flaws and weak spots that he could once ignore or explain away had become glaringly obvious. And he began to worry if that magnifying glass was held there too long, it would only begin burning a hole in the relationship.*

That thing where Karen can’t admit she was wrong about the key, omg I felt that 😆

Thanks for updating!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2022 09:14 am Title: Chapter 4

WW. OUCH. YOU WROTE JIM AND KAREN BREAKING UP 😱

In all seriousness though, I loved this! Their decline as a couple since he returned home was written SO WELL! Sometimes, it just takes one moment or event for someone to realize they aren't happy. I'm glad that Jim started piecing that together about Karen

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2022 06:16 am Title: Chapter 4

Oh my gosh! I love this movie and I love Jam and this is kind of amazing!!! (Said in the Kelly Kapoor sing sing fashion! ;)) I think you perfectly captured both the Jam kismet and the Serendipity pull that even though Jim (and Jonathan) should be content with what they have, it’s even more telling that the search for Pam (and Sarah) is making them question everything!!! I’m so glad that Jim has more to go on than just a store charge account! Only thing better would be if Eugene Levy could show up! So glad you’re keeping this going; it’s an excellent, excellent crossover!

Author's Response: I'm so glad someone else has seen this movie!! It's definitely one of my favorites. I know this fic isn't exactly the same but I'm glad you see a little of the spirit of it! I'll see if I can work Eugene Levy in somewhere hahaha

 
Thanks for the review! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2022 03:26 am Title: Chapter 4

A long time coming for this chapter and I'm very glad to have it. Really got me worried at the end of the last chapter and how things would go. Really interesting to see how meeting Pam sparked Jim to really take a hard look at this relationship. If he was really happy in it now and what it meant for the future. So with that perspective he puts it under the microscope and seeing that it's missing a lot. Not just the little things, but the big things. How she treats him and the like. Yeah, kind of a hard band-aid to rip off, but there you go.

And now he knows Pam's last name and seems on a bit of a quest. Is next chapter going to be similar but from Pam's POV? Kinda hoping so. Great to see this on updated for sure.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 29, 2022 10:41 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oooh a single Jim! A single Jim with Pam’s full name! Looking forward to the next chapter!!
Also, counting Pams. Amazing.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 29, 2022 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 4

Pam better FREAKING have facebook because if not I FULLY expect Jim to search every inch of Scranton for her. I love this story so much.

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2022 09:03 am Title: Chapter 1

This is great! Loving the premise and your storytelling, and I'm excited to see where you take it. Really like the paragraph where Pam realises that 'glow' is missing from her life, and something needs to change. Also really like the dialogue. Thanks!

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2022 01:25 pm Title: Chapter 3

Ok,I may ne used to mood swings (along with hot flashes) but that my dear, gave me emotional whiplash! Yay, he's going after her!! How romantic and ballsy! Oh crap, who is THAT with Pam? Just hope it isn't Roy. It is, it's Roy isn't it? Then Karen? Ooof.

Kelly as a flight attendant was brilliant, Jim & Pam's banter, Pam falling asleep on Jim, loved it all.

I am so looking forward to what comes next.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2022 11:18 am Title: Chapter 3

And here comes the big kick in the gut. You can tell how much they want to be together. How well they fit together. How easy it is. Lots of cute moments with the ear buds and Pam falling asleep on his shoulder. Excellent Kelly voice too. Then way to go Jim! Rushing after her. Only to see her greeted by another guy like that. And then when he gets home Karen is in bed waiting for him. Oh that's a big heart rending twist to be sure. I have no idea where we're going to go from here but I need you to update like yesterday so we can find out.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2022 08:00 pm Title: Chapter 3

"It is scientifically proven to taste better when flying through the air at hundreds of miles an hour." This is true, actually.

Oh, no. Kelly with a captive audience. I've had nightmares like that.

THE ACCIDENTAL HAND-HOLDING. THE ACCIDENTAL SHOULDER-SLEEPING. OPEN YOUR EYES, PEOPLE.

Holy CRAP. Now that was a twist I did not see coming at the end there... I'm assuming this means we'll see an update soon, as this would be simply rude otherwise.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2022 06:30 pm Title: Chapter 3

YOU FUCKING DIDN'T.

HE KISSED HER, AND DID SO ALL THE WHILE KNOWING HE WAS DATING KAREN?!?! OH MY GOD, WW. THIS IS SO OUT OF YOUR WHEELHOUSE.

But I absolutely love it. Keep writing this, I need to see if they meet up again!!

UGH MY HEART

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2022 03:27 pm Title: Chapter 3

Oh I was afraid that was coming...but you got me on Jim's homecoming.

Lots of fun seeing Kelly and the butterfly moment in this new place.

Looking forward to where it's going to head now.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2022 12:14 pm Title: Chapter 3

AHHHH!!

The way you unfolded this chapter was just brilliant. And the UST is amazing, I'm absolutely loving it!

*"Should I ask the flight attendant to cut the crusts off your sandwich too?"

He furrowed his brow as she continued.

"Because you're a child."*

HAHA Jim totally is a child. An adorable one, though.

Your Kelly was perfect.

*She leaned in, catching the scent of him again. They really could make a cologne out of it.*

Where are my freakin' heart eyes?

*The look on Pam's face mirrored his. He wanted to go back to watching Pretty in Pink and feeling the weight of her head on his shoulder as he breathed in the scent of her shampoo and forgot about everything else. He wanted to stay in this bubble they created where he didn't know her last name but knew she picked the pickles off her hamburger and wanted a house with a terrace and that she broke her arm in the third grade.

But he also knew that wasn't possible.*

Beautiful.

(Couldn't help but notice TPB won't read this so I hope that means there will more near-misses and delicious angst!)

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2022 10:42 am Title: Chapter 3

This was so cute and then BOOM you shattered my heart!! After being like go Jim! when he got off the plane (you got off the plane, I got off the plane, played through my mind), I then literally shouted out loud no!!! when Jim saw her kiss someone. And then he’s got Karen at home. Oh my god, you’re killing me.
Can’t wait for the next chapter!!!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2022 09:52 am Title: Chapter 3

“He wanted to stay in this bubble they created where he didn't know her last name but knew she picked the pickles off her hamburger and wanted a house with a terrace and that she broke her arm in the third grade.”

I loved SO much about this chapter, but especially this. I feel like this not only perfectly sums up this story so far but also Jim and Pam in general. So close and able to talk about so many things except for the things they need to know. Ugh. And then finding out that they BOTH had someone waiting for them at home?? My heart is broken. I love it.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2022 04:08 am Title: Chapter 2

I finally was able to get to read this...and I'm enjoying.
I do that too, make up random stories for people I see.

I thought I caught a line there in the middle of Pam's POV that has me intrigued?

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2022 05:33 pm Title: Chapter 1

I am really interested in knowing where you are taking this. They sounds exactly like them and I love the fact that this being AU, is so true to their characters. Looking forward for more.

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2022 05:33 pm Title: Chapter 1

I am really interested in knowing where you are taking this. They sounds exactly like them and I love the fact that this being AU, is so true to their characters. Looking forward for more.

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2022 05:33 pm Title: Chapter 1

I am really interested in knowing where you are taking this. They sounds exactly like them and I love the fact that this being AU, is so true to their characters. Looking forward for more.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2022 03:37 pm Title: Chapter 2

Oh this is super cute! Love that they’re continuing on the plane together! Can’t wait for the next chapter!!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2022 09:59 am Title: Chapter 2

Oh, this banter between them is so light and free and fun and immediate, and she smelled the fabric softener??? And she drew him a picture? Of them? And the story about Brad missing his daughter? And her garage? And they ended up? On the same plane again? My heart? How could you do this to me?

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans