Reviews For Dinner for Two
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2022 07:49 pm Title: Step 2, Mise en Place

The "don't lose money"/"when has that happened"/"last week"/"Lonny cheated" exchange is gold. And very Roy.

Jim immediately noticing the painting AND Pam's intention? I ship it. (As does Beth, clearly.)

Oh, Roy. I'd like to say that pasta mistake could happen to anyone, but I'd be lying.

Love them immediately getting mistaken for engaged either way... and strange that Pam isn't QUITE as eager to correct the mistake when it's not someone they have to deal with in their normal lives...

Happy National Men Make Dinner Day! And thanks for the bonus recipe with this fic...

Author's Response:

Roy always kind of came across as the very self confident guy. It worked for him in high school sure but it's fading more and more the further out from his school days.

I had a lot of fun with Jim noticing the painting and everything with it. It had to happen that others would assume they're a couple, right? But yeah, Pam's not quite so quick to deny it. But a few more cogs are turning for sure.

You're welcome for the recipe. Hope you like it if you ever choose to make it. 

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2022 07:49 pm Title: Step 2, Mise en Place

Great chapter! Also love the bonus recipe— looks super easy with veggies already built in! I’ll for sure try this one! I loved the easy Jim and Pam interaction… I have to imagine that Roy will eventually find out that Pam’s attending the classes… with Jim as her partner— and that likely won’t go well…

Great use of the Men Make Dinner day! I also love that Jim noticed Pam’s artwork. Will their cooking couple friend bring them closer together?? Will Jim and Pam spend lunches eating their shared leftovers?? Can’t wait to see what they’re cooking up (both literally and figuratively; yes, it’s a terrible pun!) next chapter!

Author's Response: You're welcome for the recipe. I hope you like it, we do around my house. Ah early S2 JAM banter. So much fun for sure. Yeah there's some akwardness, but not as much as after the specter of June 10 lands. Roy's reaction to all of this will be interesting for sure. 

Ooh, there's an idea I hadn't really thought of. Them eating their leftovers back at work. Thanks for that. I just may have to build that in now. We've got something ready to simmer that's for sure.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2022 11:24 am Title: Step 2, Mise en Place

This is really cute, warrior! And thanks for posting the recipe. Looking forward to more (and I'm curious to see if you'll stick to canon here).

Author's Response: Thanks TD. Glad you're hear for this one. I hope you enjoy the recipe. As for canon, well it IS labeled AU, so there's that. ;)

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2022 10:19 am Title: Step 2, Mise en Place

It looks like this cooking class, and meeting
new friends, is opening Pam’s eyes to the
short comings of her relationship with Roy,
and even Roy himself. They really don’t have anything in common. I’m definitely curious to see Roy’s reaction to Pam taking the cooking class.
I hope she tells him to piss off.

Author's Response: She's got a few cogs turning that's for sure. Roy's reaction should be a quite the thing when we get there. Thanks for the reivew.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2022 06:00 am Title: Step 2, Mise en Place

First of all nice work getting this up in time for the auspicious (I have faith in you for tonight, you seem like you do this often) holiday today.

It's not like you had much time but to be fair I shared as soon as I learned of it myself. And the way you weaved it into the story felt very natural and very Roy - who absolutely burned the pasta (the food you make in the thing that puts out fires) on purpose so he wouldn't be asked to cook again ever. Cad!

Okay have to remark on the painting. Nothing of substance, she can paint it but can't recognize it in her own situation (but hoping this might be remedied soon) 

As for the couple, am I being presumptuous that the Beth was for me? If it was. I'm touched and honored and if you just like the name, well so do I. I did appreciate the advice they told them about engagement period - I can only hope Pam did too.

And that was a funny bit about the prom photo shoot - always enjoy these side stories too.

 Enjoyed this chapter a lot.  

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for the heads up about this particular holiday. Though you're right, I don't need or want a specific day to cook around the house. I like cooking but the day adds some fun to it for sure.

Honestly I didn't intend that Roy burned the past on purpose. My thought was he's just that bad at cooking. Watch the first few episodes of a season of "Worst Cooks in America," and yeah there are people out there who are that bad.

The whole painting scene was great fun to bring out too. Glad you liked it. 

I'm sorry to say I forgot about your character Beth. Originally in this fic her name was Jill, but that was to close to Jim so I changed it to a name that I've had many good associations with during my life. That being said, hopefully some outside perspective helps both our heroes.

I'll tell you the full story of that prom photo shoot over on Discord.

Thanks as always for the great review. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2022 05:16 am Title: Step 2, Mise en Place

Very cute update!
Really liked Jim complimenting and completely understanding Pam's picture, that was a nice little piece.
The conversation with Sam and Beth, you could just feel Pam's awkwardness of not wanting to lie, but also wishing it was kind of different.
The recipe looks great! Will most definitely be trying this.
Lovely work as always, and so timely for National Men Make Dinner day! Looking forward to the next slice of this!

Author's Response: Save for one time in S3, and it's understandable even if it's still kind of a dick move, Jim has always been supportive of Pam's art. It's one of the first things Pam says about him in her first talking heads in the pilot. I see no need to change that, and it's fun. 
Sam and Beth are going to be key as we go forward so I'm glad you enjoyed them showing up in Jim and Pam's life.
I hope you enjoy the recipe. It's become a favorite around our house.

Reviewer: GodSaveAutocracy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2022 11:19 am Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

Very cute! I love it! Jim would be such a pleasure to have in the kitchen I am sure. Too bad Roy is such an oaf.

Thank you for the story!

Author's Response: Thank you. Lots more to come with this one so I'm glad you're here for it. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2022 08:57 am Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

Now that I have my computer back I can sit down to review this new one. First off this premise has a lot of potential for fun and for bringing these two to where they are meant to be.

But I'm not sure what Pam was thinking in wanting to do this with Roy...it's only fun when you work together - has potential to be quite the opposite when one of the potential cooks puts poker night ahead of his relationship.

'The way she was starting to hunch in on herself. How her voice didn’t have the same light confidence he reveled in when they planned a prank together. No, she was in full on Roy-mode now.' - Good description here.

Good thing there's Jim to pull her out of it. I have to mention that I did the cooking class thing with my spouse (as a one-off... we had fun but may not have made it through a series...I'm a little bossy and have high expectations)

Combo christmas gift and payback for driving lessons - nice but does this mean no teapot? I guess that's okay because I'm sure you'll be bringing lots of heartwarming moments in this fic (and I'm hoping some useable recipes too).

Looking forward. 



Author's Response:

I'm looking forward to this premise too. I agree, we'll have a lot of fun.

Pam, bless her soul, is trying with Roy. But yeah, it's very one sided, thus her shrinking in on herself. So of course in steps Jim. Yes, I'm planning on a lot of quality heartwarming moments. 

Thanks as ever for your detailed comments. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2022 07:04 am Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

Yay cooking class story!

I love the opening vision of Jim's immediate future, which under most circumstances must have played out exactly like he imagined. One of those things that make it clear why Jim hung in there so long. And the way he's rudely jerked back into the broader reality he's living in by Roy occupying the space he thinks of as his own (but that Roy must feel he has every right to) is poignant. (Also, love the call-forward to the vending machine prank.)

I like that Jim immediately leaps into action at the sight of disappointed Pam but doesn't immediately see the cooking class as an opportunity for him to step in. It's a big move, I feel like realistically it would take him a minute. And him framing it as payback for the driving lessons feels like a familiar exercise in carefully staying in bounds.

Looking forward to the cooking action!

Author's Response: It always seems to happen. Right when you think you know how things are going to go, life says nope. Glad you caught the call forward too. You picked up exactly what Jim was trying to do there. Not let Pam feel bad when he can help it, toe the line between being there for her and not showing his true feelings, and jumping on any opportunity to spend more time with her. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2022 04:21 pm Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

I know I am going to love this! MrsKHalpert was literally just telling me about your Cooking with Jan series! I can’t wait to read more! I love the set up and can’t wait to see how these two arrange everything platonically… getting to the class, splitting the meals, interacting with a bunch of probably romantically involved couples in the class… in so many ways we see how Jim and Pam are much better matched.. can’t wait to read your exploration of this aspect!

Author's Response: Glad you're here for this one! I love that you're already starting to pick up on some of the things that we'll explore with this one. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2022 03:50 pm Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

Oh Warrior, this is fabulous! I can’t wait to see how this unfolds…

Author's Response: Thank you! I've got a lot of fun ideas, should be a good time.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2022 02:25 pm Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

Good start to a new story! 👏
Please update soon! 🙏

Author's Response: Thank you. Hopefully I'll be able to get quick updates. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2022 12:54 pm Title: Step 1, Gather Ingredients

Very cute idea, looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you. Should be a lot of fun.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans