Reviews For Hope in the Dark
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Receptionitis15 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2024 10:21 am Title: Chapter 2

Looks like they have had a super cute day up in the North Pole (New York)! Love it. Look forward to seeing what goes down in the cabin with their kinda new relationship situation.

Author's Response: Thank you! Having a cute fun day was entirely the point. I'm still working out the details, but it should be a lot of fun going on from here.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2024 07:49 pm Title: Chapter 2

The two of them being alone in a cabin together sounds very intriguing. I can’t help but wonder
about Roy’s reaction to seeing Pam’s note and ring
she left behind. Will we by chance get a glimpse into
how Roy takes it? 🙏
Please update soon.

Author's Response: I did include a line that said Pam had to wade her way through more angry voicemails from Roy before she called her family, so we'll say Roy initially took it badly. Them being alone in the cabin should be a lot of fun. Glad to hear from you.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2024 12:26 pm Title: Chapter 2

What a fun trip to Santa's Village. Never been nor did I even know about it but it sounds like a fun place for kids and for kids at heart (and Jim is a pretty big one of these - strange however how he doesn't like to dress in costumes).

But first - the inner thoughts on the way were well done. Having them share the driving was a smart way to fit that in - plus gotta think that while Roy would want to drive the whole way to anywhere they went -he would make Pam stay up with him - right?

Always enjoy a good prank and the gnome traveling with a kidnapped bobblehead is a good one. Also enjoyed the real versus artificial tree debate.

So there won't be a casino night confession now so I appreciated how you used the lines here instead.

To end with a blizzard and a one room situation - the next chapter should be quite interesting.

Author's Response: Santa's Village is kind of a small place so no worries if you've never heard of it. It's in the Lake Placid/Whiteface Mt. area if that helps at all. Considering Pam is the one taking him there, I figure Jim's ready and willing to follow her. Especially after her reveal in the car. I'm sure Roy would want to drive since to his mind, no one else would know how to drive or some other thing. Roy might let Pam sleep. After all if Pam is awake she'd want to talk to him, and it seems that's not really something Roy is very interested in, listening to Pam. Good thing Jim is cut from a very different cloth.

Loved adding the bits of fun like the gnome and tree debate while they're exploring the village. JAM banter can be tricky so I'm glad you liked it. Same with repurposing canon lines. The fun thing about AU is you can use the same lines, but twist them to mean different things. Always fun to do that.

Glad you're looking forward to the next chapter. So am I. Thanks as ever for the review.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 30, 2023 03:55 pm Title: Chapter 2

Very cute chapter, I’d love to go to Santa’s Workshop myself!
Really liked getting to delve into how both Jim and Pam are feeling. And loved you fixed it so Jim took a step backwards and realised Pam needed to take things slow and not to rush her.
Looking forward to the next chapter!!

Author's Response: I remember Santa's Village being a lot of fun for sure. Considering Jim almost got his head caved in, I think it would make him reflect a bit. But this is also before the heartache of S3 so he's a lot more generous to her. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 30, 2023 01:06 pm Title: Chapter 2

Ah, one of my absolute favourite tropes: "there's only one room left in the whole resort/area/island and you two very attractive people with copious amounts of unresolved sexual tension toward each other need to share..." Bring it on please! :D

Author's Response: Regardless of how often it's been done, it's always fun for sure. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 20, 2023 10:45 pm Title: Chapter 1

OMG this is so, so satisfying to read, Warrior. Looking forward to part two!

Author's Response: Thank you! It was very satisfying to write some of those scenes too. Next chapter will hopefully be up soon.

Reviewer: MissCorporate Signed [Report This]
Date: December 18, 2023 10:56 am Title: Chapter 1

Extremely funny outbursts from Roy (and Kenny)!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. 

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2023 06:42 pm Title: Chapter 1

I laughed out loud TWICE reading this! First, when Packer got punched and second, when Kenny got thrown in jail too! Also, I was horrified when Roy read the card!
This story is DELIGHTFUL! Can't wait for the next chapter! Thanks for brightening my evening, Warrior!

Author's Response: Clover! Wonderful to hear from you again! I'm so glad you enjoyed those parts. I had a lot of fun writing them. Sorry to scare you with Roy reading the card first. Don't worry we'll move on to better times from here. Thanks for commenting. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2023 04:54 am Title: Chapter 1

Enjoyed getting the scene where she exchanges the gifts. Things go downhill fast after that except that maybe they don't as Pam comes to some realizations.

Of course Roy sees the iPod as theirs. If he sees Pam as his property then it follows that all that she has is his too.

She's being swallowed in her life with Roy - evidenced by the lack of signs of her in the apartment.

That in comparing two very different men, it's easy to see which one truly cares about her and he's not the one she is with...or was with. Glad she's escaping that.

(got a kick out of Kenny winding up in jail too, ha ha)

Looking forward to what's in store at Santa's workshop

Author's Response: I think when she got the Teapot and then came to the realization that she needed to trade back for it, Pam was primed to realize which guy was really the best guy in her life. However, in canon before she could really act on those feelings Roy set a date and her real feelings got swept under the rug of wedding planning. So when things don't go like that, yup it all goes downhill quick. Great job picking up on that.

I'll sometimes redeem Roy, but Kenny will forever be an idiot in my writings. Same with Packer who got his well deserved punch in the jaw.

As a one time New Yorker, I have a feeling you'll enjoy what's coming at Santa's. Always love hearing from you.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2023 11:43 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ooh I really like this slant on things with Roy seeing the note first, and it totally tracks he’d go in with his fist. Glad Dwight was there to save the day (obviously).
I’m glad Pam deleted all those voice mails and didn’t just run back to Roy. Also the use of ‘I can’t’ on the note was great
Looking forward to see what going on at Santa’s Workshop and for these two to hopefully talk it all out!

Author's Response: Thank you. I don't think I've ever read a fic where Roy reads the note so it was fun to imagine what his reaction would have been. Clearly it was an eye opening moment for Pam in a lot of ways. Don't worry there will be ample time for them to talk things out coming up. Thanks for the review.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans