Reviews For Cold
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: October 12, 2009 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was so heartbreakingly sad and so very well written.

Reviewer: Emilys List Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2009 08:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

this is really amazing - so vivid and yet sad/bleak. i think this is executed perfectly. and i love the (comments like this) - what a great way to play with form. i'm not sure i can buy karen and jim falling into each other again, but for the sake of this story, i'm a believer.

Author's Response: Thanks! I am a big fan of unconventional form, and I'm glad it had an effect.

Reviewer: kaat Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2009 03:38 pm Title: Chapter 1

way too heartbreaking! i need jim and pam together. :) but this was sooooo well written - you write beautifully!
nice job!

Author's Response: Ahh thank you! I will eventually write a Jim/Pam fic for real, but until then I'm all about the sadly underrepresented Jim/Karen.

Reviewer: Dwangie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2009 05:57 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was absolutely beautiful. I'm not a Jim/Karen person, but wow, how gorgeous. I was completely heartbroken when Pam left him. Beautiful, beautiful work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad I did Jim/Pam (or NOT Jim/Pam) justice. It was difficult to write.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2009 07:49 am Title: Chapter 1

This was heartbreaking, zippity.  You are an amazing writer.  As you would probably expect, I'm a hardcore Jim/Pam person, and you made me feel for Karen.  The scenario you created for Pam leaving Jim was totally plausible (and frightening!!!).  Kudos to you on this fine piece. 



Author's Response: Thank you so much! Posting on this site, my goal is to make Jim/Pam fans soften towards Karen, and understand--and hopefully enjoy--Jim/Karen in the right context. I'm glad to see that I've done at least part of that with you! I'm also glad to see a Jim/Pam fan comment on the believability of ii., it was extremely important to me and I am happy you enjoyed it (if that's the right word).

Reviewer: Sarah42 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2009 06:57 am Title: Chapter 1

I definitely feel the changes and, while it is better--I have to agree with Ash86: This is a beautiful story, but I STILL can't see Pam leaving Jim or him ever getting over her. That just isn't who they are...but you're incredibly talented and I do look forward to more of your work. Maybe I'll relate more to the next piece.

Author's Response: Thanks! Like I said below to Ash86, there is certainly room for discussion. It took me quite a while to determine the sort of scenario that would plausibly cause Jim and Pam to split, and believe me the brainstorming was extensive. Of course, we probably have very different conceptions of the characters. Hopefully you will keep reading my work!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2009 04:55 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow - so as much as I LOVE Jim and Karen, my heart belongs to Jim and Pam, but wow, this was amazing and beautiful and all sorts of wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am glad to see that someone else enjoys Jim/Karen. ;)

Reviewer: Ash86 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2009 01:33 am Title: Chapter 1

This is no doubt beautifully written and you're incredibly talented, however I just don't think I could ever buy the scenario you've described with the characters that are on the show in mind.

At this point I could never see Pam leaving Jim, and if she did I'm not sure he'd ever really recover. Similarly the Karen we've seen since S4 does not strike me as a character who'd hold a candle of any sort for Jim or want to ever be with him again, even if given the chance.

Of course it's a story so one must suspend disbelief to some extent, but given the point in the show's arc where you've placed it makes it harder to buy. I never bought Jim/Karen though or saw what was in their relationship, so perhaps that colours my view too. ;)

Still bravo for sticking to your guns and brilliant use of language. I'd say I hope that you'll write some happy Jim/Pam at some point, but somehow I doubt it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Obviously, I disagree. ;) But there is certainly room for discussion. As for Jim and Pam, I think we disagree on the impact that a miscarriage would have on their relationship. Also, they both have a certain inclination to go along to get along. Due to the premise of the show (the documentary style), I feel like there's a lot of wiggle room in which to define the characters as they are seen outside of their work environments, which is part of why I think the audience relates to them so thoroughly. Writing a post-Pam Jim is difficult, I admit, but I don't think it's fair to say he would never really recover. People are surprisingly resilient in that regard, given the right circumstances. Though Jim is certainly carrying a lot of emotional baggage, he has matured six years post-Pam and is dealing with it. As for Karen, I think we see a lot of her inclination to want another chance with Jim, or at least A Jim. We see it in her hesitation to congratulate Pam and the striking lankiness of her husband. And part of it is that she's almost ten years removed from Scranton, and she's grown up a bit and gotten over some of her hangups (and developed new ones, of course). Of course, I bought Jim/Karen from the start and really liked Karen (and Jim with her), and while their relationship is undoubtedly different than Jim and Pam's, it always struck a chord with me. Thanks for your honest opinion! I'm glad you enjoyed the story regardless of our differing views on its believability ;) And never say never...Pam grows on me.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans