You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: DoctorCinderella Signed [Report This]
Date: December 09, 2018 12:45 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

I am a sucker for good AU, even if it’s just slightly AU. And this is amazing. Oh, so romantic and sweet. Love it!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 25, 2018 12:34 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

This story is wonderful. The “having known each other as kids” storyline is a brave one to tackle but you did it brilliantly. The final epilogue is definitely my favorite. I tend to think Pam and Jim would have spent those first couple of weeks fighting it out (complete with middle-of-the-night slammed doors, apology food, and cold showers to combat the not-quite-there-yet sexual tension). Lovely all around. Thank you!

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2010 12:11 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

Aww, I must say I am a big fan of all of your stories, and this one was very touching. I love how you write young Jim and Pam. And, I'm sorry for your loss. I hope you write something again soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliment and the kind words. I'm working on formulating a couple new stories and I'll be thrilled to hear from you when they come about.

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2010 12:04 pm Title: I donít want some pretty face to tell me pretty lies

Finally being honest, I like it! Continuing...

Author's Response: :-)

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2010 11:55 am Title: Where the hands go is kind of like slow dancing

Awww young Pam and Jim! I'm just having a chance to read this now, and it's lovely! Continuing...

Author's Response: There is something charming about any version of young Pam and Jim, isn't there?

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 10:14 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

andtheivy, I am sorry that I didn't review this story as each chapter was updated. But in a way, I'm glad that by the time I have time to sit down and read this, it's completed :o)

Once again, I love how you so creatively drew the path for Jim and Pam to get together. In tragedy they found more about each other, revisited old memories, and finally realized that they're Jim and Pam and they're supposed to be together.

The back story you provided for each of them, Pam with her grandparents and Jim with his family, is just another detail that I enjoy from your stories.

Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review. I truly appreciate it. And yes, they're certainly meant to be together. And as Pam realized, had certain things not happened as they did, she and Jim might not have found their way back to each other at a time they both needed it the most. Always a pleasure to hear from you. Blessings!

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 10:10 pm Title: I donít want some pretty face to tell me pretty lies

There's one thing I love more than JAM smut and that is Jim and Pam on the same page. The universe aligned and all of that. Makes me happy :D

I like how straightforward both of them are in this chapter because c'mon, it really is that easy! Now I'm off to read the two epilogues.

Author's Response: One thing I can't stand from the show is that we never got to see Jim and Pam's first date. I so wanted to see the point where they really started being honest with each other. I love how, once they got past the whole mess, there's just been truth between them. I so wanted to see where that all began.

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 10:02 pm Title: Sometimes you smell like peaches. Sometimes I want to throw up in my mouth.

::sigh:: What would happen if they had met that night? I enjoyed reading about Jim's side of the story and especially loved how instantly smitten he was with Pam. They're meant-to-be's!

This line made me smile so widely: "She smiled sheepishly and any last shred of lie Jim was holding on to that he wasn’t in love with this girl anymore went flying out the window."

Author's Response: I'm so happy to have made you smile! If they'd met that night? Hmmmm.... they probably would have dated for a while as teenagers and eventually something would have happened to have soured it. I think they found each other again when they needed to.

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 09:34 pm Title: Where the hands go is kind of like slow dancing

Ohmygoodness!!! Jim and Pam met before! Not only that, but they kissed!! I can't wait to see why Pam didn't show up.

You are so very good at writing the dog-days-of-summer atmosphere that I love, especially when it comes to Jim and Pam.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a lot of fun to write this version of young Jim and Pam. So glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: MilkandSugar Anonymous [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 07:49 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

I'm an awful, awful reader. I've been following this whole fic over the past few weeks and have loved it but never reviewed - I'm sorry! But now's as good a time as any right?!

I loved that when I finished the first chapter, I thought I knew where it would be heading only to find I was quite wrong! The idea of them meeting before as children was simply adorable and a totally different way of bringing them together than what I'd expected. And the epilogues round that off nicely - taking it slowly as they find their way whilst staying kind, respectful and honest with each other. So sweet, so lovely, so.... when's the next WIP starting?! ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing now! I'm glad you enjoyed it and that it was a little unexpected. For some reason, a young version of Jim and Pam are a lot of fun to write. Not sure what's coming next... I'd like to try my hand at baby fic, but I also have some retro angst ideas floating around. I'll look forward to knowing your thoughts, and as always, thank you for the support. It's so very appreciated!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 05:49 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

That was wonderful. Actually incredible! So sweet and I loved this. Keep going and have a million epilogues, please, please, please!

Author's Response: Awwww, thanks PMH! I think the story has its natural conclusion there, having come quite full circle, but I'm thinking of more ideas and I'll look forward to your thoughts on future stories. Thanks, as always, for being so supportive.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 05:02 pm Title: Sunday at the Met with Jim

Nice ending, ivy! Very satisfying (even without sexin'). Great line:“Are we going to do this again?” He’d demanded, snatching the wax paper bag from her. “What’d you bring me?” To me it's the mark of a very comfortable (in a good way), realistic relationship.

Author's Response: Thanks, Nan! One of my favorite things about my boyfriend is that he's not afraid to tell me that I'm being insufferable and ridiculous when, in fact, I am being insufferable and ridiculous. I love that he's not afraid I'll stop loving him if he's honest and doesn't try to tell me I'm perfect all the time. I think Jim and Pam love each other enough to not walk on eggshells.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2010 07:08 am Title: You'd be so nice to come home to

That was beautiful. I only have one grandma left, and that thought goes through my head A LOT, and you captured that so beautifully.
Lucky both you and Pam had someone waiting for you!

Author's Response: Thanks, Hannah! My last grandmother died after about six long, horrible years of illness combined with dementia and massive stress/depression/mental unhinging following my grandfather's death, so when she went it was actually a relief. I miss her a lot though, and have since long before she actually passed. My other one died when I was 12 and I sometimes wonder how I'd have turned out if she'd been around.

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2010 09:42 pm Title: You'd be so nice to come home to

Aww, what a beautiful and melancholy chapter. I loved it, albeit short. And I understand the feeling of losing all of your grandparents, it happened to be by the time I was seven, so I grew up having none.

On a happier note, I look forwards to the last chapter, and I'm crossing my fingers that it's a continuation of this evening (such as Jim makes Pam dinner) or breakfast the next morning with references of this evening... *crosses toes, too*

Author's Response: So sorry to hear that. I miss having grandparents. And I did think about incorporating your idea, but it just wasn't coming to me in a way that flowed. Sometimes the story tells me what it wants to be. Thanks, as always. I enjoy hearing from you.

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2010 09:04 pm Title: You'd be so nice to come home to

Aww, what a beautiful and melancholy chapter. I loved it, albeit short. And I understand the feeling of losing all of your grandparents, it happened to be by the time I was seven, so I grew up having none.

On a happier note, I look forwards to the last chapter, and I'm crossing my fingers that it's a continuation of this evening (such as Jim makes Pam dinner) or breakfast the next morning with references of this evening... *crosses toes, too*

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2010 06:06 pm Title: You'd be so nice to come home to

Short and bittersweet, ivy. Pam lost someone she loved, but one has come back into her circle. I love visuals. Thanks!

Author's Response: Exactly, Nan. Thank you so much for writing.

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2010 04:34 pm Title: I donít want some pretty face to tell me pretty lies

I just loved this chapter! Great job, and it was so beautifully written. The conversation was perfect as were their mannerisms and body language. As sad as I am that you'll only have two short epilogues left for us, I really can't wait to read them!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the story up to this point and I hope you'll enjoy how it wraps up.

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2010 06:49 pm Title: I donít want some pretty face to tell me pretty lies

Say it ain't so! Over already?!? Seems too soon, but I am really looking forward to the epilogues you have planned.

Another job well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry if it seems short, but there just felt like a natural end point for this story. I'll look forward to your thoughts on the epilogues and hope to hear from you in the future. Thanks again for taking the time!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2010 08:52 am Title: I donít want some pretty face to tell me pretty lies

Okay, that was most definitely your best chapter ever. You told this story so beautifully. The "hit this," line was FANTASTIC, I could hear Jim's comeback. Spot on and I look forward to the epilogues - even though I'm sad this is almost over *sobs*

Author's Response: Thanks, Hannah, it's always great to hear from you. I hope you'll like how the story wraps up.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2010 07:39 am Title: I donít want some pretty face to tell me pretty lies

A little honesty goes a long way, eh?  Good one, ivy, and good call to not stretch it out, as much as I enjoy reading it.  I'll look forward to seeing how this wraps up.



Author's Response: Thanks, Nan. I really tried to find ways to keep it going, but I couldn't come up with anything that wasn't hackneyed or trite. The natural end point for this story comes sooner than I might like, but the story tells me where it needs to go. Thanks so much for the support.

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2010 11:24 am Title: Sometimes you smell like peaches. Sometimes I want to throw up in my mouth.

Aww, this was so cute! This story is so fun to read, and I like how these little flashbacks and memories are (hopefully) helping them to rekindle their friendship because they realize they have so much in common and that they love about each other.

Please, please, please keep going, I just love this story so much! It's always so well written, and the short chapters capture my attention then make me want more to read!

Sorry about your lice experience, that sucks!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! The lice thing happened 17 years ago, so I've recovered now, but it was definitely a charming moment.

Reviewer: SyK Signed [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2010 08:19 am Title: Sometimes you smell like peaches. Sometimes I want to throw up in my mouth.

How did you get so good in capturing what it's like being a teenager? I noticed that when reading In My Life... too. It's like I'm right there again. All those feelings that hit you with such a force, I feel them perfectly when reading these last two chapters. It's remarkable. How do you do it?

Plus there's the fact that season 3 AUs are always such a treat, so I'm eagerly waiting to read more of this.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks. I think it's a combination of a very long memory and being at the age (I'll be 30 in a couple weeks)where the teenage years are still recent enough that I can remember them, but far enough in the past that they don't have any emotional impact on me. I'm really glad you like young Jim and Pam in this story. They were really fun to write in "In My Life..," though I think they were both a lot more confident as teens in "IMLILYM." I like to think it's because they bring out the best in each other. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2010 04:18 am Title: Sometimes you smell like peaches. Sometimes I want to throw up in my mouth.

Aww, poor Young Pam, injuring herself before her date with Young Jim. Poor Young Jim, getting stood up by the first girl he kissed.

I enjoyed getting the same story as last chapter, from Jim's POV. Looking forward to wherever this story is taking us....

PS-I miss OnlyOneKitchen too.

Author's Response: Sometimes those two just don't get a break, do they? Poor kids. Thanks!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2010 03:45 am Title: Sometimes you smell like peaches. Sometimes I want to throw up in my mouth.

Duddddddddde, this is really good, I can't say that enough. I can totally see Jim feeling like an outcast when he was younger - and I think you showed that really well.

Everything about this is brilliant. I love how you have a tiny bit of the present at the end - just perfecto :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I love writing young Jim because honestly, I can see a lot of myself in Jim, so hearkening back to some of what I remember from being a teenager and then applying it to a male is a lot of fun. I think, in general, what's great about the character of Jim on the show is that for the most part you have either real life guys, who, bless their hearts, are just idiots a lot of the time. And then you have movie guys, who are often unrealistically perfect. I think Jim is a good meeting in the middle and it makes a very subtly layered character.

Reviewer: AWeekAfterWeStartedDating Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2010 07:22 pm Title: Where the hands go is kind of like slow dancing

And now I think this is the story you were telling me about... Am I correct?

Author's Response: Shoot, I don't recall. I'm sorry!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans