You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2020 07:51 am Title: Chapter 13

I swallowed the last three chapters in a row, and now I'm suffering from withdrawal. I hope you'll update soon. I beg you for it.
It's phenomenal writing, and I'm in awe of how you blended 'The Office' pieces with a spy story. Thank you so much!
P.S. A few months ago, I made a belated New Year's resolution about killing Ryan in my own fic. And your story made me even more determined about keeping it.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 04:03 pm Title: Chapter 13

Oh no you didn't!

I don't think you'd kill Pam... which means that Jim or some saviour like a random Andy got back in the game and shot Ryan... or something. I'm really hoping Pam's alright, but being strangled isn't anything to scoff at either, so kinda already not-alright.

The mood of this chapter was palpable, we all knew it was going to go downhill fast at the end of the last one, and boy did this deliver.

I can't wait to see that Pam's mostly-ok.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I hope to not leave things dangling off the cliff for too long. Iím so glad this chapter delivered for you!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 03:39 pm Title: Chapter 13

Ugh. Way to make an entrance Ryan...

“You mean the way Pam finished him?” In a slightly twisted way I love how proud of Pam this makes Jim seem. Like, yeah she opened the door and that was a bit amateur, but she’s accomplished so much in this life she did not sign up for.

“And then she felt the cords around her left wrist slacken, just a little.” YES. I love a glimmer of hope when all seems lost.

“Ryan rolled his eyes like a petulant teen” Nice (?) to see that Ryan is still Ryan. Way to nail the characterization, even in this vastly different setting.
“you go behind my back to complain about me to Wallace” Exactly. Like. Canon. You know what, I shouldn’t have been surprised at all that it was Ryan. It makes all the sense in the world...

Oh. My. God. Please update this yesterday. Please.

Author's Response: You know, I almost took that ďpetulant teenĒ bit out but decided to leave it in because in canon, Ryan is the embodiment of the petulant teen stereotype. And I worried that I was making him, like, too bad. Obv this is a deviation from canon in a big way but I didnít want to invent some new guy and slap Ryanís name on him, you know? So Iím glad you mentioned that in your review! Thank you so much, I hope to not leave you guys hanging for very long!

Reviewer: alyply Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 01:04 pm Title: Chapter 13

WHAT! Okay, first of all, Pam had better just gone unconscious. I doubt (read: really, really hope) you wouldn't kill her but oh my gosh if she's dead I'm gonna explode. Also this makes me hate Ryan with a burning passion. I need the next chapter like now.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I will do my best to keep you from exploding. I hope to have the next one up soon!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 10:37 am Title: Chapter 13

You are evil you are!
Such a wonderful action-packed chapter. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 10:01 am Title: Chapter 10

I'm so excited to see the update, but I still have to finish previous parts :)
It's strange, but I found the fact that they really read that western book unbelievably endearing. As well as their coziness in the cabin. Why on Earth those assassins had to ruin that little paradise and why they didn't get lost in the woods instead? The world is unfair, I guess. I'm full of anticipation there Pam will drive Jim...
Poor Jim with his injuries. Poor Pam, with the realization that she killed a man. Poor kids. Maybe, they'll find another safe cabin?
But I really like the earnest of him and how he trusted Pam. The information he told was quite dangerous, but I'm sure it's safe with Pam.
Oh, and
"You want to share my life?"
"I mean, yeah. Yes. At least, I want to be a part of it." She took a deep breath. "Is that okay?"
If it's not an 'I love you' statement, I don't know that it is. Just wonderful!

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 09:51 am Title: Chapter 13

Ooooh!! LOVE the action . Very fun chapter

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 09:46 am Title: Chapter 13

Very dramatic to say the least. Great detail through everything.

Ryan as a right proper bastard here. It feels very fitting. He's always the guy who gets kicked around, not taken seriously. In this context when he has this strong of an upper hand it makes perfect sense he's behave like that.

You can feel the desperation of Jim and Pam here. I love how at the first opportunity they fight back. They don't go down without a fight. Their first and overwhelming motive to see the other one safe. Great writing to bring that out.

PLEASE don't leave us hanging for to long with that cliffhanger.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was worried that Ryan was a bit too OOC but then again, how could he not be when he is the big bad, you know? So Iím glad that his characterization makes sense given the setting. I hope to get the next one up soon!

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 09:14 am Title: Chapter 13

Okay, I’m gonna need you to post the next chapter now please! Hahaa!

That was so intense! I love it :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I should have just written the next chapter before I posted this one so you guys donít have to be kept waiting, dangit! But looks like you will be subject to my whims, haha. I hope to get it up soon! Thank you again!

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2020 07:30 am Title: Chapter 13

WOW! What an update and cliffhanger. That was intense, but you did an amazing job of showing the power struggle. I audibly gasped a few times throughout this. Looking forward to seeing how they get out of this!

Author's Response: I love a good audible reaction and Iím so glad this chapter elicited some from you! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 10:32 am Title: Chapter 8

Oh, poor Jim. He suffered so much... and yet, he's still so kind and caring — how does he save the ability to joke around and trust people (okay, not all people, but Pam for sure) after all? This man is perfection. And I take back my words about cool-sounding killer — a smart guy who breaks the codes is way cooler!
And other things. Hot. Very hot. I still feel slightly awkward and uncomfortable around mature themes, but it was good. I like the way you included the snippets of canon conversations, and I adore that Pam mentioned Michelangelo... she's an artist even in moments like that, and I appreciate it.
Try to keep my reading rhythm :)
And thank you so much for writing!

Author's Response: It can def be awkward writing/reading the steamier stuff, but Iím glad you still liked it! I like to keep it realistic and jokey and not always so intense, because even I find myself blushing and dancing around the intimate details. Iím so glad you liked this chapter!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2020 04:10 am Title: Chapter 6

'Sixty square meters of heaven on earth. A tiny wooden paradise...'
I'm sorry, but even though they're still in mortal peril (Jim's gun and Pam's wounds hint that it's very and very serious), I can't stop replaying 'The Cabin' by Ylvis in my head. The song is ridiculous, and it doesn't entirely pass the situation Pam and Jim are in, but... oh, that tension between them is so needed to be released! I hope when they settle a little, they'll talk about all secrets and mysteries. And after that, I hope they'll find some time to speak about that tension between them too (and do something about it!). This dancing around mutual sympathy is killing me (in the best possible way, though).
'Right now it's icy cold. But in sixteen hours, it's gonna be hot!'
Oh. Wow. Wow, wow, wow. I mean, the shower scene was... wow. The shower is definitely one of the essential parts of JAM everyday life.
Apart from my inarticulate exclamations, I have to say I'm a sucker for tenderness and care, and Jim in this chapter was... the paragon. Perfection. And I feel double sorry for Pam, for her injuries and her... ahem... awakened yet unresolved wishes.
I wonder that Jim thought about the showering...
Thank you!

Author's Response: Iím loving all these reviews! Thank you so much! This was one of my favorite chapters to write so far and Iím so tickled you liked it. I definitely love the care taking, too. Thanks again!

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2020 08:09 am Title: Chapter 12

This story, good lord. You really are the supreme ruler of plot twists.

Author's Response: Aww! Thatís a high compliment! Thank you so much!

Author's Response: Aww! Thatís a high compliment! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2020 10:58 am Title: Chapter 4

"Then ... Jim, what do we do? Where do we go?"
I melted into a puddle at this line. I like it so much that Pam didn't even doubt that they were in that together.
And Jim, caring so much about Pam ... just awww. What could be sweeter than a killer (I still have no idea if he'd killed people or done other stuff, but 'killer' sounds cool) that protect you and you alone?
I'm a slow reader, but in this case, I'm glad about that. I can take my time with your fantastic story and savor every chapter :)
Thank you!

Author's Response: Aww!! Thank you so much! I hope you keep enjoying each one. I like to sometimes save stories until I have lots of chapters to read so I can do the savoring, too, so Iím so honored that you feel that way about mine! Keep letting me know what you think!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2020 10:10 pm Title: Chapter 12

Oh no. Oh oh no. I mean, I did guess partway through the chapter but... Yeah, nice setup. Very interested to see where we go from here.

Author's Response: Iím interested too! I mean I have an outline but as Iím sure you well know, sometimes things get away from you. Iím working on the next chapter, canít wait to hear what you think!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 09:35 pm Title: Chapter 12

“Her thoughts were the only thing that kept her company, as listening to a radio station felt frivolous given the circumstances.”
I’m the kind of person who has background music on every waking moment. Nothing puts into perspective the seriousness of their situation quite like this line...

“Both. And more.” My whole damn heart. I write that too often, but I mean it. I really mean it.

Somehow calling it the Raddish Inn is enough to inject a moment of levity. I love how you manage that.

Oh, I don’t feel good about it being Ryan at the door. Rookie error there not waking Jim up, Pam...

God, I love these updates. I’m always so excited to see you post. Thanks for sharing your brilliant words with us.

Author's Response: Jenna, thank you so much! I love reading your reviews. Iím so glad the Radish Inn wasnít too much...I put it in then took it out then put it back in. So Iím glad it was a good little laugh in the middle of some seriousness!! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 09:21 pm Title: Chapter 12

Does Pam get to run him over without her glasses on!?

So I think it's safe to say we can infer that Ryan is the bad guy that Jim was talking about. And he must have a mole or Wallace really trusted him for him to show up here ... I really hope Jim doesn't get unceremoniously shot in his sleep or something here! Certainly a cruel cliffhanger, I hope to see more soon!

Looping back from speculation to the chapter itself, I really liked the tone you set with Pam's frentic flight, no destination in mind other than anywhere but here. The affirmed feels was of course a highlight of the chapter, always a winner.

Author's Response: Lol! Wouldnít it be fitting if Pam did actually get to run him over with no glasses? Maybe I can work that in some how... Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Thank you so much for your compliments. I hope you kee enjoying!

Author's Response: Lol! Wouldnít it be fitting if Pam did actually get to run him over with no glasses? Maybe I can work that in some how... Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Thank you so much for your compliments. I hope you kee enjoying!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 07:30 pm Title: Chapter 3

Wow! This was unexpected and I loved it!
Thanks so much for such a great chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Iím glad the twist was a good twist!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 03:37 pm Title: Chapter 1

Eeek, what a cliffhanger! This is so good. I like how you've combined the romance with the action, and how you've added bits of canon like the coal walk.

I can't believe Pam opened the door for Ryan! The next chapter can't come soon enough.

Author's Response: Itís that damn chain! I always feel so safe and secure with the chain on the door, and of course Ryan knows how to be disarming. They needed ring doorbells in the 1960s! Iím so glad you enjoyed it and hope you continue to! Thank you!

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 10:42 am Title: Chapter 12

I'm literally shaking after reading this. I had a feeling it was Ryan when Jim started describing him and then got goosebumps when he actually said his name. I'm so, so scared for the next chapter but also need it to happen asap. This story is amazing.

Author's Response: Ahh!! Thank you! Iím glad it was good enough to give you goosebumps! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 09:55 am Title: Chapter 12

Sometimes when I review a chapter, I wait until I'm finished. Other times, I have to pull up a side by side window to write my thoughts immediately as I'm having them. This is one of those times, because I jut read "Radish Inn" and FELL OVER. BT. Please never leave us again.

"But standing here, in the arms of the man that she loved and that loved her back, she was untouchable." Wow. Wow okay. "Untouchable." Hmm. I'm not FEELING THINGS because of ONE WORD. Nope. I'm not.

"Well yeah, of course." Yeah. So casual. Of course. YOU DORKS.

I'm sitting here in a mush of emotion and then you just throw in a "With real conditioner!" to make me giggle. I appreciate that. Always thinking ahead.

"Twiggy little prick" god you're just full of one liners today.

Okay. I only say Ryan coming in this chapter, and was going between him and Gabe when you said "Twiggy little prick." I would like to PUNCH HIM WITH A KNIFE. YOU REALLY LEFT IT LIKE THAT?? RYAN STRIDING IN ON AN UNCONSCIOUS JIM?? Honestly thought I'm a little ticked at Pam. She knows they're in danger. GIRL I KNOW UR LOVE SICK BUT YOU'RE ALSO BEING CHASED BY A MURDERED--WAKE HIM TF UP HE CAN SLEEP WHEN YOU'RE OUT OF THE WOODS.

Author's Response: Twiggy little prick is my favorite part of this chapter, lol! Also it never even OCCURRED to me that it could be Gabe. Man, Iím kind of wishing he was the bad guy instead. Then itíd have been ďthat bony creepy weirdoĒ instead of twiggy little prick. Damn, hindsight really do be 20/20.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 20, 2020 09:27 am Title: Chapter 12

No didn't really see it coming, but at the same time, with everything Jim's been describing, it also makes sense. Smarmy weasel that is Ryan it does tend to fit.

Fun to have the motel be named the Radish Inn. Love the nods to canon you make with things like that.

Also seems like Ryan knows what he's doing. Get there late at night when their guard is down. Say everything he has to in order to wiggle into their room. you can just feel the tension and hear the dramatic music at the end of this chapter.

Really looking forward to the next update.

Author's Response: Iím so glad it was a surprise! I thought for sure I was giving it all away. And I had so much fun writing the little bit with Mose, haha! I was worried itíd be too silly but Iím glad it seems to fit. Thanks as always, warrior!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2020 12:08 am Title: Chapter 2

I'm catching up with your story, and I regret I didn't do that weeks and months ago, because it's so, so good. I like the setting, the way Pam got rid of Roy, Jim's sweetness, the fact that they didn't jump into relationships immediately, but having time to build the friendships (but, oh my gosh, the word of the day game was unbelievably flirty and tender), the snippets of canon weaved so neatly into a new universe... and, of course, cliffhanger. I still have no idea what happens next, but I'm full of anticipation!
Thank you so much for your story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading the whole thing and leaving your thoughts! I hope you continue to enjoy it. Itís been so much fun to write!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 24, 2020 08:48 pm Title: Chapter 11

I love the code names. I love Pam being so freaked out over Jim. I love the "I love you" and how it was repurposed and how he needed to tell her that he loved her once he was better. I loved that he's totally rifling through a hospital to SNEAK OUT EVEN THOUGH HE'S NOT BETTER. Ugh. Friggen Bonnie and Clyde over here and I'm obsessed.

Author's Response: Jim absolutely is about to steal supplies and book it out a back door and I am here for it.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 24, 2020 08:48 am Title: Chapter 11

Quick pause while reading. "Run across hot coals..." Nice canon reference there. On with the chapter.

Wait a sec, speaking of canon reference, switching the Casino Night declaration? Oh jeez, pull out my heart and stomp on it. Oy.

Ok, I'll just say all the canon references, though turned around are making this fun to read.

Ahhhhh, that's better. Jim's awake and more importantly saying those words to Pam. Had me going there for a second.

Ok, on to more important things. Very real emotions for Pam. Her fear and desperation while driving felt very real. Also good for her to not back down from Jim during their little spat. Pam's getting some steel in her spine and I love that.

She's also getting quicker on the uptake for things. Coming up with fake names and making up the hunting accident story. Granted Pam's always been pretty sharp, so it's nice to see that translated here too.

Protective Jim is in effect again. He's beaten, bloodied, and bandaged, but he's still thinking of making sure they're safe. Good on ya Jim.

Great chapter as per usual. Really looking forward to the next update.

Author's Response: I always love reading your reviews, Warrior! Thank you so much. I too like to think that Pam is learning a bit about how to be spy-adjacent and on the run, as well as not hiding her feelings! I hope you continue to enjoy, thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans