You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 09:35 am Title: Chapter 7

I was excited to see an update for this fic!
Good to get some backstory on how Jim ended up at the school and his "secret " life. The dialogue between them is just perfect- I forgot I was actually reading!
And this:
“I like that job.” Jim met her eyes and their gazes locked. It felt significant."
Oh, it was significant alright!
Can't wait for the next chapter!
Thanks for writing

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 07:22 am Title: Chapter 7

"You serve, if you don’t mind,” she requested. “I managed a can opener with my left hand, but I don’t trust my ability to ladle.”" I don't know why, but this sentence made me laugh.

I love the entire backstory you've created for Jim. It's so rich in details, and real, and it makes sense that he would end up where he is now.

"I like that job." I was so busy swooning over that moment that I almost missed the part where you brought in the name of this story as dialogue and I love it all so much, because now I just want to sit around and solve puzzles with Jim.

And then you brought in the dialogue from Casino Night and this entire chapter is so damn good, I keep going back and rereading sections I've just read.

So looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Coley! The ladle line also made me laugh so Iím glad someone else thinks itís funny! And I appreciate the comments on Jimís backstory. I have worried that it would read as being too ďout thereĒ or not believable, so Iím happy to see that thatís not the case! I hope you continue to enjoy it!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 07:03 am Title: Chapter 6

Oh, BT. I've missed your writing so much. Are you sure you aren't the third member of Subtle Sexuality?

Jim cutting her out of her clothes was a scene I did not know I needed in my life, but I'm here for it. And then the whole shower scene itself? It's fine. I'm fine. And on top of the Desire That Shall Not Be Named, you've got poor Jim and his guilt and his need to make everything better for her and I just really appreciate all of it and I'm too excited to get to the next chapter to say anymore.

Jim stayed in the bathroom for a very long time. I bet he did.

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving a review on both chapters! And Iím glad you are totally fine after the shower scene 😉 I think in chapters soon to come things maybe wonít be so subtle...stay tuned!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 03:59 am Title: Chapter 7

I shouldn’t laugh, but of course Roy was all over the old school equivalent of “send nudes” during the war. Of course...
I don’t know how you managed to pull the heat from the last chapter back into this sweetness, but you made it work, and you made it work SO damn well. I love this version of them so much.

Author's Response: Right? Heís totally a ďsend nudesĒ guy. Heíd probably ask for them to be chiseled into stone had this been an Ancient Greek story, I bet. 🙄 Thank you so much! After the shower scene I was like ďoh am I actually ready for them to get hot and heavy? I donít actually think so...Ē so I felt like I had to write myself out of the (shower) corner Iíd written myself into. So thank you for saying so! I hope you keep enjoying!

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 09:38 pm Title: Chapter 7

I love this story!!! What a great chapter. More please!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope to update again within the next couple of days!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 07:20 pm Title: Chapter 7

Awwwww. So sweet and yet I think what you did with setting up this Jim's backstory was really strong. It gives us an idea of why he'd do this kind of work, but also that doing it isn't actually his passion but his distraction. Which means that when he finds something new, like, say, Pam, he is still open to it. Good writing!

Author's Response: That means so much coming from you, Comfect! Thank you so much!

Author's Response: That means so much coming from you, Comfect! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 05:48 pm Title: Chapter 7

Ok, I'm going to review as I read otherwise I get the feeling I'll forget what I wanted to write. So without further ado;

Love Pam's after effects of the shower. Yeah, got a feeling that will stay with her for awhile. Until other memories replace it. ;) Love the descriptions of the meal. Simple, mismatched, but perfect.

Grrr. I'm reading this at work and we just got a call. Back to reviewing as soon as I'm able.

Ok, an hour later and now that that's all done, back to this chapter and back to reviewing.

No bearded Jim anymore? Ok. Nice to see the start of real honesty. Keep it up. Yeah, I agree with you there Jim, Roy's an asshole. Glad that's all out of the way before any of this all started.

A little heartbreaking to hear about Pete. However if there is a silver lining it's that through that Jim got into his current job and eventually met Pam. So that's a good thing, right?

D'awww what a great use of that line from Casino Night. Very different feelings with this setting. Very nice.

Oooh! There's a twist! Josh as the potential bad guy? Looking forward to seeing where this goes.

Good on you Pam. Not running away or anything. Not that she could go anywhere really. Still I love that she's still there to support him. Also that she's not scared to want his support too. Her asking him to lay down next to him was just all sorts of sweet.

Great chapter. Hope to see more soon.

Author's Response: I have to admit that I was inspired by you and ďSilver WingsĒ to try and find ways to incorporate pieces of dialogue in ways that maybe change what they mean or the impact they have. So much good stuff is there for us to use, you know? And I know, I know. Bearded Jim is one of the best Jimís but I just loved the idea of her being able to see his whole face while he was being so vulnerable with her. The beard will come back, lol. Thank you so much for another great review!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 05:48 pm Title: Chapter 7

This is so great! The story and dialogue are excellent. I also like the image of Jim in his Jack Ryan (season 2) style clothes. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Iíve put more work into this one than into any other, I think, so Iím so glad to hear that you are enjoying it. I hope to deliver a new chapter soon!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 02:51 pm Title: Chapter 7

Ah. You did the thing where you say the title in the story. Am I berating myself silently for only just understanding it now? Maybe.

This was so sweet! I love that Pam sees the kiss as more of something to break her than the shower (because the shower almost broke me, chick, let me tell ya).

I also loved all of the little callbacks to the show. “The Paper Salesman.” I will laugh about that one for a long, long time...

Author's Response: Iím a sucker for the ďput the title in the storyĒ lol, but also I wanted to really drive home what the title means, cause itís kind of abstract? Or maybe Iím just into it that trope. 🤷🏻r05;a92;a039; Thanks friend! Iím glad you are liking it. I got kind of worried about writing myself into corners but I think I made it make sense without backtracking too much or messing with the character development that Iíve been working on. Does that make sense? Anyway, as always I appreciate your reading and reviewing and let me tell you canít wait to read that 45 chapter fic youíre working on! 😉

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 20, 2020 03:54 am Title: Chapter 6

Oh man, I'm really getting into this! You always write the physical tension between them wonderfully.

Author's Response: Thank you! One of the most fun things to write, for sure. I hope you keep enjoying it!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 04:35 pm Title: Chapter 6

Very, very steamy! And I can see you're going to draw it out, but please not for 2 years. This is a great story.

Author's Response: Iím watching The Office right now (because when are any of us not, lol) and Angela said ďI DONíT WANT GARBAGE, I WANT SPRINKLES!Ē right as I read your review! I thought that was funny. And no, I have no plans to go another 2 years without updating. Cross my heart! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 12:05 am Title: Chapter 6

Oh. My. God. You’re killing me in the very best way. I can’t with this story. It’s so good. That description of the desire intertwined with everything else was incredibly well written. Please know that I will be anxiously awaiting the next update...

Author's Response: 😊 thank you so much!! I am looking forward to writing more soon and hope it keeps you so excited to read! Thank you for your kind words!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 09:49 pm Title: Chapter 6

“Jim stayed in the bathroom for a very long time“
Hi I’m 12 years old and even after a steamy shower scene this made me laugh out loud.

Ya did good, kid.

Author's Response: Hi Iím also 12 and giggled for a long time after writing it. Whatíd he do in there, I wonder?

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 09:40 pm Title: Chapter 5

“She just wanted her grilled cheese sandwiches and Coca-Cola, not bandaged shoulders and a stranger she thought was her best friend.“

Wow okay WELCOME BACK HERES A GUT PUNCH. Kidding. I love it. I missed this story so much. Glad to have you back :)

Author's Response: So glad to be back! You were an integral part of the bullying 😂

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 07:23 pm Title: Chapter 6

So that was a very nice opposite of social distancing. Although I suppose you're allowed to do that with the people you're isolated WITH. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Who needs social distancing when youíve got a tiny shower and Jim Halpert? 😉

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 06:57 pm Title: Chapter 6

Ok - I'm all caught up from chapter 1! Wow! I'm hoping that there won't be a 2 year wait for an update- you'd be killing me not so softly there...
Like Pam, I have a lot of questions. And Jim, what self control you have-a perfect gentleman there (well, minus the almost getting her killed)!
Looking forward to the next chapter.
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Iím hoping to have Jim exercise a little less self control very soon. 😉 thanks so much for reading it all and letting me know what you think!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 03:52 pm Title: Chapter 6

Uh, yeah, steam. In more than one way. Jim the gentleman here is nice to see. Like I said last time he's taking care of her needs. I just wonder how long it's going to be until he starts taking care of her wants. Or maybe she'll be the one who moves forwards for more of those wants.

Great update. Looking forward to more as ever.

Author's Response: You I sat there thinking ďthis entire chapter takes place in the shower, should I add some substance?Ē And then I thought ďnahh, I can do substance later!Ē 😉 Glad you enjoyed! I have some thoughts on how other things will get taken care of in later chapters...canít wait for you to see! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 03:21 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ok - this is my first time reading this one (where was it hiding ?!)! Fantastic and sucked me right in... and that shirt, the definition, the setting- so fun! I will be binge reading the other chapters tonight!

Author's Response: Lol! It was hiding in the little known ďI had an unplanned almost two year absenceĒ section of MTR! 😂 thank you so much for your kind words! I hope you enjoy the rest!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 06:36 am Title: Chapter 5

I really love the way you describe the cabin because I can see it perfectly in my head and it’s very cozy and good. Even better that it’s Jim’s family’s place.

Oh. Oh man. They’re stuck in this cabin alone for a week? And Jim has to help Pam undress and shower? Be still my trope loving heart. This is everything we could ask for!

Please don’t disappear on that cliffhanger! ;)

Author's Response: Thanks for mentioning the cabin description as one of the parts you enjoyed! I love a good descriptive paragraph about a characterís surroundings. It makes it seem more real inside my head. I also love a good trope! I hope to mix it up some later, probably also with some more tropes, haha! And I can promise no extended waits for cliffhanger resolutions. Thanks so much Coley!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 06:32 am Title: Chapter 4

Oh, I’m so glad you’re back! True story- as I started reading this chapter and before I figured out it was a nightmare, I thought ‘did BT forget that Pal was shot? Why are they in the library again?’ I’ll never doubt you again, lady. This was a great chapter to ease back into the story with, but mostly, I just really appreciate that even while injured, panicked, and disoriented, Pam still knows enough to take a few minutes to check out Jim at the phone booth. Love that for them. And me.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2020 04:54 am Title: Chapter 5

Don't even joke about leaving that s long cliffhanger! But seriously I love that this is Jim's family place not a government one and I'm intrigued by a week of isolation. Should be fun for them both, injury aside.

Author's Response: I know, I know, it was a mean joke. I promise Iím not abandoning this story again! Iíll see it finished. I have some fun things planned and some maybe not so fun things planned...I canít wait to hear what you think!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2020 03:57 am Title: Chapter 5

Okay, I'm not even done reading this chapter yet, but I have to write this down in case I forget it when I do get to the end. "Clear and Present Danger." *Looks up as his personal bookcase to the title of said novel with lead character Jack Ryan.* Nice.

Duck, cover, and kiss your butt goodbye. Loving all the historical references in here too. Satisfies my history nerd as well as adds a lot of depth to this story.

Ok, now that I HAVE reached the end of this chapter, onto more reviews. Yes I can tell it's a rushed proofreading. A few typos or grammar errors here and there. Nothing to distract from the main story mind you, and through context it's obvious what you're trying to say. I still have stuff like that pop up all the time in my writings so no harm no foul.

I kinda like Pam's confused thoughts here. Yes she's gotten to know Jim these past 9 months, but there's still this whole other side of him she doesn't know. Now here they are in the back woods of Kentucky (pick me up some Bourbon while you're there please ;) ) in a small remote cabin and told to stay there for a week. Yes I can easily see how that would be unsettling.

Once again you write Jim's concern for Pam really well. It seems he's working up her list of needs. First immediate physical needs. Get her out of danger, patch up the shoulder, keep her safe. Next food and some other supplies to make a hard situation a bit more manageable with some staples from home. Then his promise that he'll answer all her questions to look out for her emotional needs. Great way to build that all up.

Then of course that cliffhanger. Ugh! We all write them because they're fun as a writer. We all loath them as a reader, but it just leaves on wanting more.

Author's Response: I was wondering it anybody would catch the Jack Ryan reference! It was a total fluke, but I looked it up later to check because I felt like I *knew* that was a Jack Ryan book. Iím so glad you caught it and enjoyed it! Iím really working on trying to incorporate real events into the story, but I will admit to my own ignorance about many of the things that were happening at the time this story is set. Iím doing research and trying to not go into too much detail so that Iím 1-wrong and 2-detracting from the story I want to tell. So Iím glad you are enjoying the references that are there and theyíre adding to the story! Iíve since gone back and proofed a bit better so feel free to reread 😉 but thank you so much for looking past the mistakes and leaving such a great review! I love hearing what you guys think. I hope to deliver on the cliffhanger very soon!

Author's Response: I was wondering it anybody would catch the Jack Ryan reference! It was a total fluke, but I looked it up later to check because I felt like I *knew* that was a Jack Ryan book. Iím so glad you caught it and enjoyed it! Iím really working on trying to incorporate real events into the story, but I will admit to my own ignorance about many of the things that were happening at the time this story is set. Iím doing research and trying to not go into too much detail so that Iím 1-wrong and 2-detracting from the story I want to tell. So Iím glad you are enjoying the references that are there and theyíre adding to the story! Iíve since gone back and proofed a bit better so feel free to reread 😉 but thank you so much for looking past the mistakes and leaving such a great review! I love hearing what you guys think. I hope to deliver on the cliffhanger very soon!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2020 03:46 am Title: Chapter 5

Oh boy I love this. Jim is all secret super spy, but still completely flustered by Pam. It’s adorable! I’m so glad you’re back in the zone.

Author's Response: Me too! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 03:25 pm Title: Chapter 4

Good to see an update to this! I had just marked it read and moved on a couple of weeks ago. I am really enjoying it so far, keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks for not giving up on me! I'm so glad that you have been reading and enjoying. The muse is back in full force and I promise to see this one through to the end! Thanks so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 08:45 am Title: Chapter 4

Way to bring us back into the story with a bang (sorry, I couldn't resist)! It's great to have you back. I remember liking this story a lot, and this chapter, while quick, does a good job of getting us right back into it. I'm excited to see where you might go with it from here. Yay BT!

Author's Response: Comfect! I have truly missed you and everyone else. I am so glad to see so many familiar names. Thank you so much for sticking with me and encouraging me! You're the best!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans