Reviews For Hello My Old Heart
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:09 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

OBSESSED WITH THIS STORY. Please continue. Omg. Addicted!!! So good!!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 04:03 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

I’m obsessed with this story. Please keep updating. I can’t wait. Obsessed

Author's Response: Thanks, Soupsnakes! I so appreciate that you are enjoying this one. Hopefully I will have another chapter up soon. Thanks!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 05:34 am Title: Give me eyes in the moon of blindness

So beautiful, but honestly I feel the need to hit the head of Pam's dad... with a skillett... full with rocks.
I hope at some point your Pam does it or, you know, tells him to mind his own goddamn business.
Anyhoo, great chapter. I'm enjoying a lot more the present than the flashbacks, since the former make me eager and curious while the latter kind of make me sad, knowing how it all ended. Oh well, I'm a loser for happy endings.
Great story and thanks so much for updating!

Author's Response: Ha! K3, I get it, I really do. I tried to throw in enough justification that he's complex, not just an out and out jerk. But, yeah, I get it. :) Awww, we're not to ending yet and I'm a loser for happy endings too so... ;) Thanks for your kind words!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2019 07:13 pm Title: Give me eyes in the moon of blindness

This isn’t my actual review; this is just me stopping in to tell you a couple of things. I’ve read this about 7 times today, and each time I die a little bit more every time Jim calls Pam Lady Macbeth. In the best of ways of course. Also, that U2 song. So. Good. You’re really nailing the song selections for this story and I love it so much.

But seriously. The Lady Macbeth kills me. I don’t why but it’s just delightful.

Author's Response:

Oh my god! Thank you for this review because, seriously, I giggled way too hard at (my own) Lady Macbeth reference and I just appreciate that you find it delightful. You get me. :) 

Also. That song though is just *sigh* for this ship, right? 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2019 05:29 pm Title: Give me eyes in the moon of blindness

"When you turned around." Ha! I laughed out loud at this! I love this version of Pam. Can't wait to see what happens next. This story gives these two a very layered history.

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles! I appreciate your love for this story. I love this version of Pam, too. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2019 09:52 am Title: Give me eyes in the moon of blindness

This is a delight, though seriously, it's not 1955, someone can marry without asking a dad for permission (not annoyed with you for including it, I think it fits the characters you've drawn, I'm annoyed at your Jim for it). I'm glad they're talking and I hope that we are on the upswing. I want more of Karen & Pam's friendship; the little taste here remains great. And I love that Ryan is still in the Michael Scott Paper Company. Nice work.

Author's Response: Thank you, Comfect! Yeah, I 100% agree with you about the "permission to marry" (I laughed out loud at the 1955 comment!). Ha! I tried to make the situation complex enough so that I didn't get annoyed with Jim, but, yeah, I think I feel some of that Seasons 2/3 frustration with him here. JUST open your mouth and talk to her, dude! More of Karen and Pam to come; I appreciate that you always seem to love those two as BFFs as much as I do. Thank you for this review!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2019 10:46 pm Title: Give me eyes in the moon of blindness

Ahhhh, that was a welcome relief after all the angstyness of the previous chapters. I mean clearly, if they are going to get back together (and I'm hoping you're going to go that route), they still have a lot to figure out. However the flashback and Jim showing up were very great to see.

I loved how in the flash back Jim's so supportive of her. Yes, he could have and probably should have been more honest about her about the golf outing with her Dad, but I can see where he was coming from. She was already stressed out and telling her all that would have led to more stress. However with all the craziness that ensued with Michael and all, it was very nice to see him doing his best to take care of her like that.

Then when he shows up with the pancakes after the "date." Nice touch. He realized he'd been an ass and has the wherewithal to tell her that. Then when she let's him in, it's nice to see elements from their old relationship alongside her new paintings and the like. They still know each other so well and clearly still have feelings for each other. Hopefully time will have taught them to be more open with each other. Nice break to get some of Jim's POV here too. Great update.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! This is a really thorough review; I appreciate that so much. I'm glad to hear you get how complicated that situation is for Jim. And glad to hear he's redeemed himself a bit. :) Thanks for pointing that out. Oh, and I agree; this was so much easier to write that that last angsty chapter. Thanks for your comments. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: April 09, 2019 07:25 pm Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

I love this story so damn much.

I don't love Pam's last trip to Philly. God, it's so painful. Poor Pam can't win with Jim or her parents and Jim is just trying his best and listen, it all just makes me want to crawl under the covers with Nellie's wine and Darryl's garlic knots and hide until it's all better.

Seriously, in that flashback, my favorite parts were the really subtle moments that showed more than told what they were going through - Pam's annoyance at Isaac needing to get clothes in the middle of her fight with Jim, her sucking it up and making dinner and cleaning and being the good supportive girlfriend while trying to talk herself into the idea that they were going to be okay, Jim's annoyance at her telling her parents what was going on, and that whole awkward goodbye brunch. You kill me with these moments and seriously, are there any more garlic knots?

I don't even want to talk about their break-up. I definitely don't want to talk about the fact that they had break up sex and it's fine, really, I'm not invested in this fake world At All.

Karen's little pep/warning talk and date makeover - you're pulling out all the stops here and I don't hate it. Or her. I just really love this supportive friendship you've created for them and ugh, I FELT Karen's biting her tongue at Pam's insistence that she's really good right now, and her resignation that she's going to be there to pick up the pieces if it all goes to hell like she thinks it will.

But she still puts her in a fuck me dress and make up for a Tuesday night date -- That's a Karen I can be friends with!

I'd say more about the fact that Pam rents an apartment from the Vances (this is genius) but you have Jim leaning against a black Porsche like Logan Echolls and how very fucking dare you, Duchess Cupcake. How. Dare. You.

(please don't stop. also, tell me more about the time they saw Snow Patrol.)

Whew. This date. I also could use a vodka tonic with how awkward it's going. First of all, I can't believe you almost killed off Gerry... thank god He's okay. That was a nice little moment in the car that fooled me into thinking everything was going to be okay with this two and that they were gonna skip dessert and go bang in the Vance's pool. Nah, they don't even make it through drinks!

Did I scream at Jim to put his phone away? Yes, 100% I did. God, they have so much history and there's so much tension and there isn't enough vodka and bourbon in this restaurant to get them through dinner and it's awful and I hate it but I have faith in you that It's Not a Mistake and they're going to get through this. Because even with all of the awfulness, there's still that pull between them, those long repressed feelings that are trying so hard to come back to the surface. Because they Have to end up together after all this. They have to.

And for what it's worth, out of the "get out of a bad date' options presented at the end here, I'm definitely a Penny.

I need the next chapter like, two days ago.

Author's Response:

I love this review so damn much. 

Yea! You managed to hit on Everything I wanted to convey with Karen.  Also, that flashback was a rough one to write. I DID hide with wine and carbs after writing it. 

Gah! That car moment. EVERY fiber of my being wants Pam, at some point in this story, to say to him, "You should only wear this, like ever." I won't, but there is another famous VM line that another character MIGHT use much later. You're welcome. ;)

Aw, don't think I didn't have different thoughts about how that date might end. Really. But where's the fun in that?? But really, you hit on everything here. I'm so glad that internal struggle is coming through. Hopefully the next chapter isn't so tumultuous for these two...

  

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 09, 2019 01:01 pm Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

OMG! What a powerful, draining chapter. Your writing always gets me into the scene and I can see places, colors, textures, while I get to feel what the characters are feeling. And, of course, because of that I'm a little heartbroken right now.
So, kudos!
I am dying to read what comes next so, maaaybe you want to spare my life? And that of your other followers?
Anyway, amazing update!
(For a moment at the end of last chapter I thought they were going to figure it out quickly, you know? Date, drinks and getting back together sex. This is so much painfully beter!)

Author's Response: Oh, K3, thanks! Wow. Thanks for those specifics of how you get so immersed in a scene. I appreciate that. Hopefully a new chapter will be up somewhat soon! Don’t think that ending didn’t cross my mind. 😉 

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2019 12:54 am Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

Lots of angst here, wow. Dialed it up to 11.

I’m curious to start getting Jim’s POV on some of this. Because I feel like there is a lot unsaid there. And I really want to know more about his rebound and marriage and this divorce (hooray divorce!)

I feel like this is also building to a huge explosion of pent up frustration and disappointment and rage from Pam too. Like she’s torturing herself for her decisions (influenced by her well meaning parents) and now twisting the knife more. Would be curious what it’s like on the other side too, and if she can actually heal and be complete with or without Jim.

Great update! Looking forward to more

Author's Response:

Thanks, Bayjb! The next three chapters unpack a lot of that history; your "hooray divorce" comment made me laugh out loud thought. :D 

I'm glad to hear you're interested in Jim's PoV cause that's coming up in the next chapter. Oh! Also good specifics on Pam's head space. I hope to address most of those throughout this story. Thanks for the feedback and kind words! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 07, 2019 10:30 am Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

Wow, so yeah, that was a chapter that made up for the long delay. You're right, this is on the angsty side. The flashback scenes, showing how Jim and Pam were drifting apart was a slow kind of burn. Then the end of the date. Considering everything that happened, yeah it makes sense that Pam would be so hesitant about him.

Jim, come on man, put down the damn phone! Use all those people skills of yours, get over yourself, and pay attention to her.

Hope to see a new update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Warrior! Yes, that slow drift apart was kind of painful. I think (*hope*) Jim redeems himself in the next chapter. Crossing fingers it doesn't take me as long between posting chapters. :) Thanks again!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2019 09:12 pm Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

I was so excited to see this update! Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Sprinkles! A little bird told me that you were asking about this fic on a chat and, honestly, that lit a fire for me to polish this chapter and get it posted. Thank you for being such a positive supporter of this story and I hope you enjoy the rest of it. (Here's hoping there won't be SO much time between chapters.)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2019 07:32 pm Title: You'll never beat but you'll never break

I mean, I enjoy your writing so I'm here for this, but they're both so broken. It's like you took the two worst versions of each character (as people, not as characters: late-season neglectful Jim and early-season passive Pam) and put them in a room. Not that that last scene doesn't show some strength for Pam, but she's doing what she did with Roy in the flashbacks--and not with Jim, with her parents. Because if she actually stood up for her relationship with her Dad (or just didn't engage, more realistically), she might have the emotional resilience left to actually talk to Jim and not assume and project. She's right about your present-day Jim, though, as far as I can tell: he doesn't seem like he's actually changed at all except in income, and so this is a mistake.

Author's Response:

Oh, Comfect. I can't tell if you hate it or just dislike it a whole lot. ;)

Really, you hit on two Very Important Themes in this story. Can our Seemingly Best Choices break us? and What does it REALLY look when WE think someone has changed or stayed the same? (In other words, does that mean they really did change/stay the same or is that based on what we want to see.)

I did kind of have to bring out their worst, but I think (*hope) it's to get to their best. 

I'm interested to hear more about your thoughts on Pam and her Dad. (Family is another semi-relevant theme to this story.) I don't see Pam as the "put her parents in their place" type of character when they disapprove. I also don't see her unwilling to engage with them either though (as her character has developed in this AU). I think she probably stands squarely in the deeply difficult and uncomfortable quagmire of the middleground, likely serving as the unofficial mediator. Difficult spot, especially when it's about her. Keep in mind, it's canon until Casino Night. As painful as S3 was, this Pam (HMOH Pam) didn't experience that same type of growth we had the chance to enjoy. 

I hope they both redeem themselves a bit for you when we get to the next chapter.  I ALWAYS appreciate your thoughtful insight. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 04:01 am Title: You know by now that we will meet again

Ok. Ouch. It killed me when Jim said "There she is". So... ouch. So, let's get real. What do you need to go on? Booze? Chocolate? Cookies? I love this sooo much!

Author's Response: Ha! Thanks K3! This one is definitely getting updates and I’m so glad you enjoy it. There’s going to be a bit more ouch before it gets better though! 😳

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 03:32 am Title: Somebody that I used to know

Why am I reading this this just now? Oh right, because until last night I didn't know ot existed. My bad.
This is so cute, flows so nicely and... leaves me with about a million questions. And I want to hit Jim, although I'm not really sure why and I suspect Pam needs some hitting coming too.

Author's Response: Yea! I’m so glad you found it. And you are right, they both probably need a good hit (and maybe a hug) for being so dumb in their past. But all in good ways, I hope!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: December 01, 2018 02:17 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

We're waiting....

:-)

Author's Response: I promise there's another coming. Unfortunately, it's finals season and that is taking more time than I would like. BUT the next chapter is 2/3 written so hopefully I will have time soon to really work on it. Thank you for the encouragement, though. I'm glad to know you enjoy it. :)

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 08:22 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

Hi also.
Jim has a wedding ring???
jiM haS a wedDIng rinG???
Again I say: I’m about to ignore this story until it’s finished because I just need all the answers now. thnx.

Author's Response: I think we should just have another chat so you and Coley can give me all your notes after I pitch all of my Thoughts. Then you won't have to ignore me and make me CRY! :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 07:55 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

Hi it's me again. Just coming back because I forgot this in the other review but, like Pam, I too, am wondering WHERE IS YOUR WEDDING RING JIM? Except, I'm more concerned with WHY is there a wedding ring and I'm JUST NOW putting together the fact that you're using alllllll of these characters however you want and I have NO IDEA who Jim could have married if it's not Pam and it's not Karen and UGH, just quit your job and write this story full time until it's done, okay? Okay.

Author's Response: All I can say at this point is...In this chapter, Pam references an attorney who convinces him to get a haircut. You, of ALL people, know what it means when a man listens to a woman suggesting he get a haircut. 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 07:40 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

Ugh. GIRL. This is so GOOD. I love the flashbacks, and how real their struggles were when Jim moved to Philly, how Pam is annoyed with everything but then Jim is “old Jim” and finally himself when she’s around. It’s like they were in their heads and not communicating in the right way.
Honestly, I’m tempted to like, wait until you publish the whole thing so that I don’t have to wait for it to be done, because I’m seriously sad that I have to wait for an update now.

Author's Response:

Cool. Cool. Coolcoolcoolcool. I won't just fangirl over you giving me an all-cap GIRL and GOOD about this. Totally cool over here. But, yeah, they can be real losers who don't communicate. That won't serve them well...for a while. 

What do you mean you might wait?! Like, how is THAT encouraging? This kind of feedback keeps me going. I'm counting on you to tell me what you think. You wound me, Agian... 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 06:07 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

First of all, How is a lovely song and so fitting for this story!

Things I love: The contrasting care packages from Pam and Betsy and how perfect they both are. The sketchbook with the comics she drew (no for real, this might be my favorite little detail of the entire chapter. I want this comic to be real.) Jo as a receptionist. Amazing.

This part: Jo lowers herself into the desk chair, preparing for what she knows will be a good show. Karen breathes deeply and crosses her arms, leaning against the doorframe of her office. Andy, uncharacteristically aware that ‘something’ is happening, moves to perch on the far end of the desk as much to observe as he wants to relieve weight from his throbbing foot. I don't know why I love this so much, probably because it says so much about everyone in the room but also because I'd be casually leaning against the wall and pretending to send a text message while eavesdropping.

Things I loved a lot: That entire last scene when he comes back in. Its SO GOOD.

Karen continues to not annoy me, so well done there, too.

I love it. You know I love it. Already impatiently waiting for the next chapter.

Author's Response:

First of all, I was listening to Begin to Hope because SOMEBODY on here brought it back to life for me, then this song came along, and here we are. I blame you for everything. 

I mean, Jo as the receptionist who doesn't have to work because she has three rich ex-husbands makes so much sense. Like, I feel like she can be there, add commentary with her fantastic Southern sayings, and not give a single...fig about it. Karen and Pam need someone like that in their lives.

I'm glad that moment worked for you and you were practically there in the scene.

"Karen continues to not annoy me" is setting the bar waaaaaayyyyy too low for me. Like, I need to WANT Karen as a friend. What will it take, Coley, for you to Want Karen as your new BFF? Pedicures? Shopping Trips? A shared bottle of wine? What will it take? I need to know this before I can post the next chapter... 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 05:49 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

So some questions are answered, other are hinted at. Pam's emotions are rolling in this one. I'm sure the rest of the journey will be just as up and down. However I did like the lines from "The Job" you put in there. Nice throwback.

Author's Response: Hey W4! Thanks for the feedback. Yeah, the whole story has a lot of rolling emotions and I'm a big fan of the ups and downs that end with ups. :D I'm glad that throwback worked for you! Thanks for that. 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2018 04:54 pm Title: You know by now that we will meet again

This is so great and I really needed to read something great today. Thank you. Please keep writing!

Author's Response: Sprinkles, thank you so much! That is the sweetest! I will definitely keep this one going; I'm kind of attached to where I want these two to end up. I really appreciate your feedback. Thank you! 

Reviewer: wheelbarrow28 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2018 02:48 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

PLEASE KEEP GOING FORWARD WITH THIS.

Author's Response: I plan to! Thanks for the encouragement. :)

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2018 04:42 am Title: Somebody that I used to know

Oh hell. Girl! I am SO on board for this! Tell me why Pam and Karen being BFFs is so easy for me to grab onto? And why I’m like, instantly mad at Jim and waiting for him to grovel? Oh man am I excited for this.

Author's Response: Dang! An endorsement like this from you AND Coley?! I better get to writing. Just keep in mind that Pam might have some groveling to do as well... And, yeah, every single AU fic in my head involves them being friends. And Karen never thinking of Jim in any way other than Pam's One True Love. :)

Reviewer: miserycrush Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2018 01:04 pm Title: Somebody that I used to know

LOVE LOVE LOVE, keep it going please!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks, girl! I plan on it. Thank you. :)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans