Reviews For Unwrapped
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: albie_ Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2019 11:20 am Title: V.

Fantastic story!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2019 02:53 pm Title: V.

I read this chapter at least twice and then started the story from the beginning and I’m still obsessed.

The entire movie bit was done so well. Subtle, yet still pulling at the intimate heartstrings of Jim and Pam, because, ya know, “Damn it, Jim, it broke my heart.” Broke my heart, too, tbh.

The whole, “I want you,” “That’s not a question,” “No. It never has been.”

????

Oh my god. Coley. Are you for real? Is JIM for real? God, that was perfect.

And then of course you do this thing where it’s all sexy and sweet and wonderful and perfect and honestly I don’t know how you do that??? But my favorite part was when Jim was going on about how much Roy sucks. It’s like, oh my god, he got this bit of Pam-induced confidence and all of a sudden he’s this new man. And then when he was telling her to bite her lip for him at work? Oh my god, that was awesome. COLEY.

I can’t even say I feel sorry for Karen considering I knew where this was going from the beginning, but again, it was raw and realistic and Pam’s little train of thought while Jim was telling her about the rest of his day was so on point.

Ugh. I loved the crap out of this whole thing.

Also: Business school students???? COLEY.

Alright, I’m done for now.

Author's Response:

The whole “Roy sucks” bit is possibly my favorite thing I’ve written in the last 6 months so it makes me happy that y’all loved it too. 

Thank you SO much for all these too kind, too sweet comments - they made my day. I’m so happy this story seems to be loved because I really loved writing it.

no comment on the business school student.  

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 07:23 pm Title: V.

Such a perfect final chapter!!
I really liked the reference to the turtledoves and Home Alone. And well, all that tequila induced... ehm... affection.
Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I’m so happy the turtledoves thing worked out - I was worried while writing it. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment; I’m excited to have time to sit down and read your new story now!

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 08:49 am Title: V.

Oooh!! What a great ending to the story. Worth the wait. Will be reading the whole story again

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! :) I’m so happy you enjoyed it! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 07:46 am Title: V.

Awww. I mean. Poor Karen, that really sucks, geez Jim. But at the same time, very glad this went the way it did. Especially from the Pam POV, which I very much like.

Author's Response:

I know, I kind of felt icky about the whole Karen thing pretty much from the start, but well, things happen, ya know? Maybe I’ll treat her better in the next story. Maybe. 

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I’m looking forward to getting back into reading all of your updates! :) 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 05:58 am Title: I.

Oh yes, also noticed "business school students". Clever and sassy of you.

Author's Response: *smiles and whistles innocently*

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 05:56 am Title: V.

What a treat to wake up to on Friday morning! Such a great chapter and ending. Heat, romance, and witty dialogue. Thank you for this!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I had a lot of fun with this one, for sure. Thank you for taking the time to let me know! :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 05:44 am Title: V.

How did you do it? How did you capture the humor and the sexiness and the pain and the history...how did you do it? Also, how do cameras work?

I mean, you just get it right every damn time. Okay, so Pam's confession was far more benign than I was bracing myself for, but it was about 10x more lovely and meaningful than I imagined. I also sort of love how neither one of them can get on the same page in that moment; they're still a bit too estranged to communicate with just a Meaningful Look. It was nice dose of light-angst with their classic banter.

Jim's Bonus Question: "I want you" and her stifled hopefulness "That's not a question" and his confident "It never has been." I think you broke my brain... No, seriously, it was like a dramatic reading with the hand flapping and screeching. Ugh, it is just. so. good.

And don't think your little reference to teachers, engineers, and business school students went unnoticed.

Every single moment of the Roy thing (you know what Roy thing I'm talking about) was so wonderful and funny and exactly in character.

"racing against they daylight" and "struggling how to say goodbye in the morning" I'm fine. I'm fine.

Hey, when I said ruin Karen, this. This is what I meant. It was the perfect way for them to break up. You managed to completely make one-sided dialogue crystal clear. And every bit of Jim's honesty and wanting to break up with her in person and wanting to restock Pam's necessities was ALL so in-character. Seriously.

Wait, I could have asked for a real life Jim Halpert action figure this year?!

Oh and that ending was so perfect. Seriously, I love this story. It absolutely showcases your talent for writing these two idiots with so much depth but also keeping it flirty and a funny and, my favorite, with a happy ending. Definitely one of my faves!

Author's Response:

How do cameras work is never not going to make me laugh. It’s always a great question. 

Jim’s bonus question was the first bit of dialogue I came up with when deciding to write this story and god, it felt like it took me forever to get them there but hopefully, it paid off in the end ;)

Karen deserved it, I don’t even care!

So, your comments made my morning. Seriously, thank you for taking the time to read and call things out (business school student, included) and for just being so damn supportive of this from the start! Keep it up, and I’ll see about getting you a collector’s edition Jim Halpert. They’re currently out of stock, and the waiting list is longer than the one for a Birkin bag in 2002, but I know a guy.  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2019 05:08 am Title: V.

Excellently written as always. Very steamy, but in a way that shows just how right these two are for each other. Good on Jim for ending things right away with Karen once he realized everything he'd felt and done.

I loved the turtledoves here. Great shout out to a great Christmas movie. One of my favorites too, but sadly like Jim I haven't seen it in a couple decades. Though considering how much I DID used to watch it, I could probably quote every line as I watched it. Good times. Well done on finishing this one up. Glad both Pam and Jim got what they really wanted for Christmas.

Author's Response:

Thank you! As you may have figured out, HA2 is my favorite Christmas movie - no apologies or regrets for that at all ;)

Thanks for reading and taking the time to review- you know I always appreciate it! 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 07:35 pm Title: IV.

Wow, promiscuous-post-Roy Pam! I did not see that coming. It was only a paragraph, but I felt so sad for her in the way that you described it.

I’m a little saddened by the tease, but also, I feel like the lil’ drunk makeout makes the most sense that they stopped and had an awkward little “lets sober up” moment. I’m still mad though. Rude.

Ugh. Please never stop.

Author's Response: Don’t be mad for too long, it’ll all be okay! I promise. 

Reviewer: Clover Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 02:02 pm Title: IV.

Some fics are so good that I become so completely immersed in them that my brain ceases to do anything but, uh, look around Pam's apartment, look at the bread on the counter, look at the fireplace and the back of Jim's head, with no room for 'oh, I should tell Coley how good this is in a review'. And then I get to the end of the fourth chapter and I don't want to extricate myself from this wonderful place that I go back to chapter I and read it all again . . . . and again . . . .

That much said, the only intelligent thing I can say right now is that I really like Jim's explanation of why he didn't respond to her text on Diwali night. It makes the most sense of everything I've seen on the subject.

Okay, I'm sitting in the corner of Pam's apartment, in the dark, waiting for the action to resume. That sounds a little stalkery, but that's where I am. This is GREAT, Coley!

Author's Response:

Clover, this is one of my favorite reviews I’ve ever gotten! There’s wine and leftover Chinese food and (and bread!) in Pam’s fridge if you’re hungry. ;)

and right? I don’t think it’s necessary to spin some big dramatic theory about the text message... dude was drunk, that’s all there was too it.  

Seriously, you’re the sweetest and I’m so happy you’re enjoying the story and thank you for taking the time to tell me! :) 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 10:50 am Title: IV.

OMG! I cannot wait to read the finale. I love this story. I hope you post a really long chapter

Author's Response: Thank you, I’m glad you’re loving it! I think you’ll enjoy the last chapter, don’t worry :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 10:34 am Title: IV.

Jim saying, 'You have to say it' in this way I can HEAR was enough to set the stage for this amazing scene. Because you gave us TWO kisses, both so incredibly intimate and desperate. And when Pam said, "Shut up" because he said one word, I squealed. Her confidence in that moment was fantastic but also so realistic.

Oh, and her trying to commit the moment to memory was just too lovely and bittersweet.

I stand by Pam's Wild Summer. Actually, this adds a whole new level to Pam's Wild Summer. Ha! And her Owning him with that tease about wishing he hadn't used his follow up.

Oh my god, how do you do this though?? You make it funny and flirty and light and then *bam* there's this serious and cathartic conversation that actually moves the characters forward. AND you keep them in character with some of the teasing and self-deprecation.

Great moment having Pam clam up. Cause, you're right, she can't suddenly become completely and fully brave in one night, even if she has had a lot of tequila.

And there you go with another cliffhanger. I went back and read the previously posted chapters. WHAT did she lie about?!

Author's Response:

I mean, Jim wasn’t going to take any chances that he might misinterpret anything right there. Can’t vlame him for that.

I know, right? What -could- she have lied about? Get ready for another Pam rambles moment, because yeah, tequila makes her chatty. Just ask the school teacher ;)  Thank you for the review! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 07:28 am Title: IV.

Nice to see them getting all that out in the open like this. Very well written as always. Lots of good internal thoughts. It's very believable that both Pam and Jim would have behaved like they did post Casino night the way you've described here. However the fact that they're re-connecting like this is very good to see too.

Author's Response: Thank you! They’re definitely reconnecting here, aren’t they? ;) 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 05:52 am Title: IV.

That's an evil cliffhanger!
This fic is one of the best drunk!Pam/drunk!Jim ever. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you! One of these days, I swear I’m going to write something that doesn’t involve them drinking their feelings but until that day, I’m having too much fun with all the possibilities. Thanks for reading! :)

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 05:41 am Title: III.

Wow!! Just wow! I love it when Pam is sure of herself and risky, and it's such a nice contrast from that Pam at the beginning of the story, who was trying not to watch Jim and Karen kissing.

Author's Response:

Aw thank you! Maybe I’ve given it a little too much though, but I definitely feel like Pam would have felt this comfortable and confident as long as it was on her terms, in her house, and you know, the tequila doesn’t hurt things either. :)

 

 

Reviewer: SadParallel Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 01:18 am Title: IV.

NooooOOOOO I STARTED READING THIS THINKING IT WAS FINISHED, I CAN'T BELIEVE I HAVE TO WAIT. Anyway, absolutely brilliant as always Coley. Here, have a jelly bean.

Author's Response: Oops. Sorry about that SP - I promise the last chapter will be worth the tiny wait! Thank you so much for reading :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 11:34 pm Title: IV.

I’m so happy to see an update! I’m loving this story. Thanks so much for sharing! Can’t wait to read the final chapter.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! This one has been a lot of fun to write so I’m really happy you’re enjoying it! Thanks for reading! :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:41 pm Title: IV.

You and the cliffhangers! A very good story but please, not 3 more weeks...

Author's Response: Hahaha, and this one was completely unintentional. It just felt like a good spot to end things before it dragged on for another couple of thousand words. The last update will be MUCH quicker. Because it’s January now and I have other Things to work on. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 09:32 pm Title: IV.

Worth the wait! You write a great kissing scene. I really like this story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was hoping it would be a fun one to read :)

Reviewer: fangasmpodcast Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 07, 2019 05:50 pm Title: I.

Hi there! I hope this doesn't come off as spammy. I am in love with the story you wrote, 'Unwrapped'. My best friends and co-hosts, Lynds, Danny and I have been reading through it and love this premise. Plus, we're huge Office fans. :)

We are the hosts of Fangasm (previously Potterotica), a comedy podcast where we read erotic pop culture fan fiction. We initially read Harry Potter fanfic, but are branching out into other fandoms! We would love to if we could possibly feature your story / read your story (giving you cred of course) on our podcast (we always get the authors permission)!

We've been featured on the HuffPo, Buzzfeed, MTV, Bustle, NY Magazine - The Cut, etc. (with 3M+ downloads since we launched two years ago!). Clearly, the aim of the podcast is to be humorous, playful, and fun-as-hell—always teasing the characters, never you as the author.

Here's the to the podcast website, so you can check it out -- fangasmpodcast[dot]com

Let me know what you think! You can also email me back at if you prefer. hi[at]fangasmpodcast[dot]com or hi[at]potteroticapodcast[dot]com

Thanks so much! Can't wait to hear back :)
-Allie

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2019 02:12 am Title: III.

Please please please finish this!

Author's Response: Updates coming very soon! :) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 11:13 am Title: III.

This is so good!! How can you leave us with this cliffhanger? PLEASE post the next chapter soon

Author's Response: Soon, I promise! Thank you for reading! :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 08:58 pm Title: III.

That battery moment is perfection. PERFECTion.

I share in Pam's surprise that Kelly is his choice for a snowball. I always assumed Ryan. Except here maybe he doesn't know Things. :D

Beautiful reintroduction of their banter. God, you write their dialogue so wonderfully.

Okay, once you hit FMK, it just went into this blissful real conversation between two friends that I can't break it apart to dissect it. It's just so good!

I love that once they go off the rails with how this game should be played, I feel like Jim is here for this as much as we are. In all these perfect little gestures you totally showcase how intrigued he is with the situation he finds himself.

"Jim he didn't care. THat's the whole point." And I'm right out of that euphoric moment into how real and crushing the baggage is that these two carry around. Great moment that is so small and says SO MUCH about where Pam has been.

I knew the Katy/Karen thing was coming, but I was not prepared for how amazing it would be. Not prepared, at all.

Remember when we talked about how I love Karen (so I always write her as the BFF in AU) but I hate her for Jim and you warned me about this and I said "Crucify Karen" and then you wrote "Karen is boring in bed" and yesssssssssss! It IS too good not to repeat.

Ya know what deserves a "what the actual fuck"? That ending. Cause that's what I said when I read it. On the eve of Baby Jesus' birth. Seriously. And if you turn into one of those ff writers who just ends it there and we don't hear from you for, I don't know, EVER, I will cry. Or die. Or drink too much tequila. Or all three (but not necessarily in that order). Wow.

Author's Response:

How could you even know that the “Jim he didn’t care. That’s the whole point.” line was my favorite thing I wrote in this chapter? Yes, even more so then the last question..  seriously, I’m so happy you singled that little bit out!

And I’m only just getting started with the ruining of Karen. Don’t you worry about that. ;) 

Hopefully you enjoy what’s coming up next!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 08:24 pm Title: II.

"She couldn't let it go, 'Karen seemed mad.'" Go on, Pam.

Ugh. That IS the worst Christmas song ever. EVER. So glad you went with that.

I can't lie. When you mentioned candles, I cackled.

Damn. Pam's right; you are brilliant on that Dwight bit...

"Why don't you just get naked in my house. It's fine bc I love you." Oh. My. God. Pammmmmm. Yessssssss.

Pam's independence established through Christmas decorations is so wonderful and so realistic. Trust me on this one. ;)

The bread! Gah! The bread! Fantastic.

"She's not thrilled with this" "Are any of us?" I abso-freaking-lutely love Brutal Blunt Pam of few words. She slayed him here and I don't feel bad about it. Not even a little.

Excellent movie choice.

No power! The sophisticated fanfic upgrade over "there was only one bed." And I am here for it!

Author's Response:

Pam needling Jim about Karen is one of my new favorite things and she’s definitely not done yet. I mean, with the way Jim reacts, can you blame her?

“The sophisticated fanfic upgrade of there was only one bed” makes me laugh because it’s so true.  

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans