Reviews For When Pam Met Jim
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: November 18, 2019 01:50 am Title: Chapter 7

This was a super sweet first date. It’s nice to see the balance of Pam creating new memories, yet still acknowledging her history (without it being too uncomfortable). That said, running into the old friend of Roy’s was never going to be fun. I hope that Pam isn’t too regretful of jumping into things with Jim as a bit of reflex to that slightly awkward interaction. I shudder to think how Angela will respond once she realizes that Pam and Jim have kicked things up a notch...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2019 06:09 pm Title: Chapter 7

This date has all the elements of a fun good time. However the shadow of the past still hangs over Pam and thus also Jim. It makes for a compelling story to read. They're clearly very serious about each other, seem to want to really want to develop a lasting relationship, but still there's that shadow. It's a hint of what we saw in canon, which is a nice grounding for this tale. While all the spice is fun and exciting, it'll be interesting to see how everything pans out. Nice chapter, I really liked it.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2019 10:11 pm Title: Chapter 6

Oh this was just lovely. I thoroughly enjoyed the humor peppered throughout, i.e. men/man. All of Pam’s thought processes make a lot of sense. It’s kind of nice to see Pam reflect on a “truer” version of Roy in this chapter too. Interesting to see the comparisons to Jim being made.

Author's Response: Thank you! I try to get the humor right, but of course, no one could ever write these characters as well as the show's writers. I'm glad Pam seems to make sense for you here. I do worry that she is all over the place, but then, in this situation, I imagine it would be very confusing, so I hope that is coming across. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.  More on the way. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2019 05:15 pm Title: Chapter 6

Yeah, a roller coaster is right. Pam's kind of up and down all over the place here. I do really like that she's standing up to Angela. Especially when she compares that reaction to how her life with Roy was. Like I've said before, it's good to see her growing like this. However at the same time, some of the fear and pain of the past is very present as well.

But then there's Jim. He's just there for her. Obviously interested in her in more than a friend way, and clearly she's getting to that point too. I do like how you've got him saying how he's willing to take things easy while she grieves and heals from grieving. Good boy Jim.

All in all still very lovely. Can't wait to see the date.

Author's Response: Thanks again for your kind review. I'm so glad you like what I'm doing, especially with Jim. He to me is like the perfect guy (humanly flawed, but still). I'd like to think he would be like this in this situation I've invented.

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2019 03:22 pm Title: Chapter 6

This story gives me so many happy feels! Thank you for writing it! :)

Author's Response: Your feels give me feels :) Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2019 12:38 am Title: Chapter 5

I love Angela in this. Yes, she’s a bit much & way too invested in Pam’s love life, but it’s great. I can definitely see her filling the role of overprotective (albeit slightly overbearing) friend. It was great to see an update!

Author's Response: Thank you! I have a love/hate relationship with Angela. I think Pam does too. Next chapter, I'll clue you in on what happened between them in the bathroom, lol. Hope to see you back here for that.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2019 05:56 pm Title: Chapter 5

Lots going on here. I really love the way you've got Jim in this story. He's sweet, caring, and protective in lots of great ways. The double ended prank on Dwight was a ton of fun. That the first part with the WD-40 was there to save everyone's sanity was great enough. The extra hit with the cricket noises and getting Michael on his side was a delight to read.

I also really liked how Jim handled Angela. He's standing up for Pam, but he's also letting Pam fight her own battles. It's really easy to have a character like Jim coming in like a White Knight and save the damsel, but in reality doing so only stymies any growth said woman might gain. And that's what I saw there in the stairway. Yes it was hard for Pam. Makes sense that she'd want to get away and clear her head. Good on you Jim for checking in on her. Since Pam was the one to deal with Angela her growth shows in her decision to kiss Jim. No, not to soon at all from where I sit.

Jim and Pam are doing what they do best. Bringing out the best in each other and it's wonderful to see. I'm going to run out of jellybeans soon for this story. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: I appreciate your in-depth review--so helpful to me as a writer. And yes, with Jim I am trying to keep him in character. One of the things on The Office that used to bug me more was that Jim didn't always jump in and save Pam when she was being insulted or verbally attacked. But I have come to realize two things: you're right, he is letting Pam take care of herself, but also, this is a work environment. You can't be the guy who is always reactionary, or known as difficult, especially as a salesman. I believe Roy got fired for such things, and Andy sent to anger management. So, yes, this is about Pam growing and moving on, but it's also about Jim letting her, while trying not to hurt his own career in the process. As for Angela, she has never been my favorite character, but there is also something very sad and tragic about her. Her only friends seem to be cats.  Anyway, thanks for the great review. So glad you are continuing to read and enjoy.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2019 07:46 am Title: Chapter 4

Oooooooh, things are heating up on this delightful slow burn. Such a great chapter overall, but man, oh, man! I love Mrs Scott here. She is the Nana everyone deserves. And that light kiss at the end was so sweet and just right but also makes me entirely desperate for MORE. Really looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks once more for taking the time to review. Glad you liked Nana Scott. I liked the lady on the show, and had fun expanding her character here. And your wish is my command--I just posted another chapter. I hope you like it too.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2019 07:20 am Title: Chapter 2

I'm so loving this story. Your pacing and dialogue are SO wonderful. The little details you throw in make me feel like I'm THERE. But that Jim-Dwight banter? Oh my god, it is PERFECTION! Seriously. Standing ovation for that exchange about sprites and fairies and elves.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And it warms my heart that someone thinks I have Jim and Dwight down--I admit I'm having fun with them.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2019 07:06 am Title: Chapter 1

Welcome to MTT! I am LOVING this entire concept and where this story is going. I laughed out loud SO hard at the Deep Throat reference and Angela being worried it was too soon for Pam to introduce someone else to her cat. Man, you have these characters down! It is a thrill to read.

Author's Response: Yay! So nice you got a laugh--that's the best compliment I could possibly get. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2019 12:34 pm Title: Chapter 4

This was a fun update. I love this version of nana Scott. Dare I say, she’s a lot nicer than the canon version... Nice to see Pam & Jim leaning into their attraction a little more. The way you write the tension between them is palpable. It’s so, so great.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! I'm glad the tension is coming across as I intended. I'm working very hard :) More on the way...

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2019 08:47 am Title: Chapter 3

I have been terribly lazy in my reviewing lately, but I need you to know 2 things. First, I’m loving this story! It’s such a unique take, and a fresh glimpse into these characters’ lives and I’m enjoying the heck out it.

Secondly, this particular chapter is just so lovely. The laundromat scene in particular, it gets me every time I read it. The way he hugs her... You’re building a really great thing here and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

Author's Response: Why, thank you :) You are too kind, and there is definitely no statute of limitations on reviews. I'm so glad you have enjoyed my story so far. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 27, 2019 02:48 pm Title: Chapter 4

I wouldn’t hold it against you if you post a new chapter tomorrow. Love this story. It’s so sweet

Author's Response: Thank you! I wish I could crank them out that fast. I'm working on it now though :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 27, 2019 11:59 am Title: Chapter 4

All very sweet here. I really like that Grandma Scott is so much more level headed than her grandson. Full of good advice for Pam too. I really like all the sparks you've got between Jim and Pam. However what's better is that Jim is allowing Pam to heal. In the universe it seems Roy wasn't the caveman oaf we nomally think of him being. Thus like you said there are good memories to be enjoyed too. However I think it's good that Pam is really starting to think that it's okay for her to love again. Taking things slow seems appropriate. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you like what I did with Nana and the chemistry between Jim and Pam. This makes my day--totally what I was hoping for. I so appreciate your encouragement. More soon!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 21, 2019 02:13 am Title: Chapter 3

I loved the kind person parallel! It was also very sweet to see Pam’s softness towards Dwight - their friendship is always one of my favorite things. I’m glad the ring has finally been seen & you didn’t draw out the angst too much. A really lovely update. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really not big on angst, usually, and I ALWAYS write happy endings. I love Pam and Dwight's relationship too. I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter. And I just posted chapter 4. I hope you get the chance to check it out.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2019 02:41 pm Title: Chapter 3

I LOVE this story! Keep the chapters coming

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2019 09:33 am Title: Chapter 3

Very cute to have the yogurt moment in there. The best AU's keep touching in with canon, in my opinion. That way it stays within the universe of the fandom, but you're still free to explore other possibilities.

So things are still going swimmingly for these two. I like that you've got them building up a friendship first. That way the moment there where Jim sees her ring and she tells him doesn't seem forced. It comes naturally as a result of their interactions. Likewise her allowing herself to be held like that is a natural and sweet step due to their strengthening relationship. It's all very sweet and lovely.

Smitten Jim is great here. His shock she he feels her leg under the table and the delight he has in just being with her are a treat to envision. Great writing keep it up.

Author's Response: Sorry I haven't responded sooner, but I really do appreciate your extremely kind and in-depth review. It's always difficult to begin writing for a new fandom, and your encouragement is so helpful to me. I just posted chapter 4. I hope  you enjoy that too. Thanks again.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2019 01:32 am Title: Chapter 2

This was all kinds of sweet. I love an instantly smitten Jim and that’s definitely who we have here. I’m surprised he has noticed the wedding band with all the quality time, but it’ll be all the more bittersweet (at least momentarily) when he does. I love that pranking Dwight is a lovely icebreaker in their budding friendship (or more). Your Dwight is exactly who I expect early/pre-series Dwight to be. It’s fun to see his dynamic with Jim developing. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you! And one of my favorite parts about seasons 1 and 2 is how obvious it is (to the viewers) how in love Jim is. I hope you continue to like what I do. More very soon!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2019 06:23 pm Title: Chapter 2

Very cute. Great way to see the crayons vs pens prank visualized. I loved that line there where Jim admitted it was more for Pam's enjoyment than anything else. You've got a really good give and take with these two. Looks like Pam is starting to open up to him too. Asking to sit next to him at lunch and sharing looks while in the meeting.

A bit on the technical side of things, it seems like you have Chapter 2 in the Chapter 1 spot. Shouldn't be to hard to figure out, it just looks a bit off. Like I said that's a technical issue and doesn't take away from the writing or the story.

Author's Response: I'm so glad I seem to be doing something right. And thanks for pointing out the chapter mix up. I must have accidentally clicked on something, and I think I straightened it out. I really appreciate your kind words about this fic. Hope to see you back here for the next chapter, coming VERY soon.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2019 06:18 pm Title: Chapter 1

Very much enjoying this. Interesting to have Pam have a different perspective on Roy, both because they actually married and because he didn't have time to wear away his goodwill. Looking forward to the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope to live up to your expectations.More soon.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2019 02:38 am Title: Chapter 1

I like this premise - it’s a little different & definitely sets up their early days in another tone. That said, there was still plenty of early Pam and Jim banter which was lovely. Although, my favorite inclusion is without a doubt Vincent & Pam’s friendship with Angela. Looking forward to seeing where you go next! Welcome to MTT!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I hope you continue to enjoy this.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 13, 2019 06:32 pm Title: Chapter 1

Great start! Very fun story and I could see all the action in my mind. The Deep Throat of Dunder Mifflin was hilarious. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you! And I especially appreciate your comment on Deep Throat. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 13, 2019 05:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

Very not bad. Especially for your first story here. Lots of great detail and easy to follow along with everything. Great premise too. You managed to grab onto their obvious chemistry and banter very quickly. However, even though he's not there, the specter of Roy is still looming around. In this case with Pam still wearing her wedding band. Though considering she's introducing herself by her maiden rather than married name is also somewhat telling. Not sure if that was intentional or not but it could be seen as at least of first step that she's getting done with her mourning period.

Looking forward to seeing how this plays out.

Author's Response: Since Pam wasn't married long, she never officially changed to her married name. That's my story and I'm stickin' to it. I'm so glad you are enjoying this fic. Thanks so much for the review. (I thought I'd replied to this, but guess not. Still learning this site). 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans