You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 06:12 pm Title: Chapter 9

This is just so lovely. A perfect reimagining of season 3, with fancy new Beesly and the hesitation and fear of jumping back in and them finding their way back to other with out the horrible angst of Jim and Karen. Just the right amount of angst. I love the metaphors—so beautifully written! All in all this was just wonderful. Brb, off to binge everything you’ve written now!

Author's Response: Oh BT, thank you! Way to make my day. I’m glad you didn’t get too tired of all the metaphors - I was worried they were wearing a little (or a lot) thin by the end of this. 

If you’re off to read the rest, start with the earlier ones. I feel like I peaked early and my oldest stuff may just be my favorite stuff... 

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2020 09:08 am Title: Chapter 1

I’m finally getting a chance to read this and oh, how I wish this was how Season 3 actually went! I really like Karen and this would have been a much better role for her. This was wonderfully written and I enjoyed it very much!

Author's Response: It’s so nice to hear you enjoyed it. Canon-Karen was not my favorite, but boy do I love her as a friend in fic. Thanks so much for taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 02:30 pm Title: Chapter 9

Awww yeah. That's the cheese I was looking for. Thanks for sharing this story with us!

Author's Response: I’m glad you were looking for the cheese because I was worried it was a little too heavy on the cheese ;) Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 12:47 pm Title: Chapter 9

Well, bless your hyperactive cotton socks (that was great! )! It's finished! So lovely! Can't wait to see what you will do next...

Author's Response: Haha, that was one of my favorite lines! Nice to see it repurposed here ;) Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 07:27 am Title: Chapter 9

Awwwww! Just awwwww!
*I'm sorry, I temporarily lose my ability to form a coherent sentence. It's the sort of fluff that makes me grin like an idiot, and I like it.*
Pam's apartment! Michael being Michael! Dwight missing Jim! Friendly Karen in Scranton! That's lovely icing on the top of the lovely story! Thank you so much for this fantastic journey!
*Sorry for the number of the exclamation marks, but I'm really excited.*

Author's Response: I was worried it was a bit too heavy on the fluff, so I’m glad to hear it was bearable. I very much appreciate all the exclamation marks! 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 06:11 am Title: Chapter 9

I'm happy for the ending, but sad that the story has ended. You did great job on this one.

Author's Response: Thanks DG! I appreciate it. I’m sad it’s over, but happy I finally got past all my procrastination to finish it too!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 05:44 am Title: Chapter 9

I loved all the little details of Pam's apartment. Especially good was that now after her time in Stamford and talking to Jim again she realizes just how much it all means. At the start of this story I'm sure she was in a different head space. Yes her space is hers, but now, with a new outlook, she's realized just how much she has changed for the better. I get the feeling she's wrapping herself in that feeling like a warm thick blanket. Lovely imagery to read.

Micheal was great. He's there in his over blustery way. Very much in character for him. I liked that Pam just calmly goes along with him. She's happy so she can be patient and kind with him in this regard. Likewise after her call with Jim, there's a peace about her that's just wonderful to imagine.

I do like that Jim is a little nervous about his return. However his humor, with the canon line, and Pam's reaction to him allay any fears at once. That's the Merger reaction we would have loved to have seen in cannon, so bravo for bringing that to light.

Yes, the storm is past and the seas are calm. There may be more in their future, for who knows what life has in store. However now that they've found each other, they have a partner at the helm. Regardless of if they're in harbor or set out to see, they're right there by each other's side at the helm.

This story has been wonderful throughout. It's been a joy to read and follow. Very well done. Thanks for sharing it.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Thanks, as always, Warrior! 

That was essentially what I had in mind starting this fic - The Merger, but a version where they had already had the chance to sort some things out. I have no idea where the nautical side of things came from... 
I really had fun with Michael here, so I’m glad that came out okay. Pam’s musings in her apartment are part of that realizing she’s come further than she thinks thing. 
It was nice to have you along for the ride.  

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 04:09 am Title: Chapter 9

Awesome story! I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thanks Donnamour! I’ve really appreciated you taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2020 02:35 am Title: Chapter 1

Lol. I suppose soon is a relative term...

Author's Response: Exactly... In this instance, I guess soon is now? 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2020 04:35 pm Title: Chapter 8

Awww yeah. This is an excellent place to be, and I'm amazed there's another chapter coming but certainly not ungrateful. I love Pam/Karen friendship and I'm perfectly overjoyed at your not canon compliant timeline because it works so well.

Author's Response: After reading this review I thought, oh yeah this chapter does kind of come full circle. But, I really need to get Jim back to Scranton - in the flesh - before it’s wrapped up in a neat little bow. I’m glad the timeline works well enough. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2020 04:30 pm Title: Chapter 7

Oh this is lovely. I'm so glad you wrote this chapter this way, between him going overboard and her being right there with him, it's adorable.

Author's Response: They’re both a whole lot in love with each other and a whole lot scared by this point. Such fun. 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2020 07:24 pm Title: Chapter 8

Yes! Two chapters in one week!
I liked seeing (seaing) the reactions in the Stamford branch as the ship was sinking. Jim didn't need to save the receptionist, either!
I think you wrote Jan very well. I could hear her bustling through the office and see that vindictive smile! And I've always had had a soft spot for Pam and Dwight's little friendship. Thanks for putting that in there, too. I have to admit that a part of me hoped Pam would get to stay and paint the sea! But I'm happy as long as Jim and Pam are together!
Such a good story... I'll be sad when it's over but so glad to have read it as it was being written! Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Oh I’m glad my Jan worked. I was a little worried about writing her. 

I have a huge soft spot for the Dwight/Pam friendship too. It’s one of my favorite things. 
Hopefully I’ll have the final chapter up sooner rather than later... 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2020 08:21 am Title: Chapter 8

Oh, I love it so much! The best thing that could ever happen - the returning home together (even if it'll take two times). I'm glad that there are no misunderstandings, no silence between them - only endless possibilities. And this Karen, I hope, will stay in Scranton longer :)
One little thing that makes me especially happy - Pam's decision to look for an art school, not a reception job. Yay for Pam!

Author's Response: This Karen has been fun to write. This story will end basically once Jim is back in Scranton, but in my head this Karen sticks around for a whole lot longer. 

Thanks for your lovely review as always! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2020 05:10 am Title: Chapter 8

I liked how you had Jim still able to give his line about Micheal. Yes, Micheal is loyal to DM and here we see that deep down, Michael's employees are actually loyal to him too. In both the show and here, I don't think Jim would have said that had there not been a real sense of respect he had for Micheal, so nicely done in that regard.

Yay Pam. She's figured out who she is nice and quick like. Granted a few hugs from Jim helped her along way. Not that I'm complaining. She's settled, in a good way, about what will bring her happiness. She can be happy by herself, for herself which is important. And that the horizon is clear for a relationship with Jim just makes things all the more sweeter.

So for a while I'd been thinking along the lines that when Jim and Pam get together, they'll be in the safe harbor of a relationship together. I'm going to change that analogy around a bit. Mainly because I think I've got an idea of what's coming next. Anyway, they've made it to harbor here. The storms are past, the waves are calm, the breeze is light. The thing about a harbor, is that it's where ships come to repair, refuel, and resupply for their true purpose. Sailing the waves. The ships of Jim and Pam's lives are now resting firmly at the dockside and the refits are underway. Seems like soon though, both of those ships will be once more sailing out past the breakwater, but in tandem, rather than on a solo voyage. Can't wait to see them off.

Author's Response: Michael’s quirkiness turns people off pretty quickly, but with those who know him there’s definitely a sense of loyalty. His interaction with Jim at the convention is just so lovely & captures their relationship so well. So yeah, I feel like Jim would still say that line in this context. 

Pam’s still got a little figuring out to do, but she’s not far off. The horizon is definitely clear for what comes next! 
They’re definitely prepping to face the world/sea together. We’re almost there. 
Hopefully I’ll get the final chapter up this weekend. We shall see... 

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2020 04:20 am Title: Chapter 8

Just lovely. Sorry this is ending so soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! Does it count as not ending soon if it takes me forever to post the update? 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2020 06:05 pm Title: Chapter 7

Yaaaaaaaay! You updated again!
This was great- every time Jim got all doubt-y about going overboard (sea metaphor there) with his attentions to Pam, I got nervous right with him that this was going in a terribly angsty direction, but it didn't and I thank you!
I'm glad Pam's sticking to her guns about taking it slow, but also struggling with it mightily.
Thank you for the update!

Author's Response: I loved this review - thanks so much! I sea what you did there ;) 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2020 09:23 am Title: Chapter 7

Yay! Update! And the amazing one!
I love that despite all the insecurities, they can talk about themselves. And even though I would be delighted with the happy kiss, I like and appreciate Pam's concern about this whole dating thing. My fingers are still crossed :)
P.S. I've read a pretty angsty fic earlier, and your story increased my mood very much!

Author's Response: I’m so glad you’re happy to see an update! You’ll have to tell me which angsty fic - sometimes I’m just in the mood for some good angst! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2020 09:22 am Title: Chapter 7

Okay so a lot going on here really. I like how Pam is finding her footing more and more. It's giving her the courage to talk about things she would have avoided in the past as well as start to explore new horizons with Jim. That whole, "I need to find out who Pam is without anyone else" deal you got going on Pam? You're well on your way. From where I'm sitting it seems like she's not even aware she's well down that path, which is also somewhat fitting for her character. Lovely writing to bring that about.

Then there's Jim. Yes the storm has passed, but he's still bobbing on the waves. Maybe it's more the eye wall of the hurricane is past him. There are still big wind and waves that are tossing him about. However the wind and waves aren't a strong or intense as before, and they're getting calmer with each moment. See him pulling pranks and rolling his sleeves up again.

However there's also something new in Jim's spyglass as he looks across the horizon. A lighthouse in the form of Pam. She's there shining brightly, calling to him, not only alerting him of the dangers of rocks along the shore, but also guiding him to safe harbor. He's still a ways out to sea, but there's a light calling him home at last. With a strong beacon blazing across the waves, there's a sure course to set at long last.

Also loved that Jim brought Cugino's and they're playing pranks. Very cute moments that were a lot of fun to read.

Author's Response: You’re onto me, Warrior. That whole thing you wrote about Pam being further along in figuring out who she is then she realizes? That’s going to be something she starts to recognize in a not too distant chapter... 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2020 07:15 am Title: Chapter 7

Yes hi. Hello. It’s me. I love this story so much and this chapter is perfect and I’ll have real, helpful words to say about it later when I’m not “working” but I loved this update a lot and Pam has to remind herself not kiss Jim and it’s fine. I’m fine.

Author's Response: Hi, it’s you! I’m starting to become concerned that you’ve been at work for a very, very long time... 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2020 05:19 am Title: Chapter 7

Such a sweet addition. I like how it's all coming together.

Author's Response: Thanks Beth! Nice to hear you’re enjoying it. 

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2020 03:54 am Title: Chapter 7

Now that was just mean, lol. Great writing, keeping us in suspense like that. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks Donnamour! More to come very soon... 

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2020 01:37 pm Title: Chapter 1

I didn't mean it that way, lol, about your metaphor. But I could see how you can have thought that. haha

Author's Response: I know you didn’t! I had a giggle regardless though...

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2020 05:57 am Title: Chapter 6

Wonderful use of the best version of Karen. Generally I'm loving this (mixed metaphors especially) but the Karen here is great.

Author's Response: The best version of Karen is not always what we see on screen, so it’s nice to hear she’s believable here...

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2020 05:51 am Title: Chapter 5

Oh that's a nice use of both show prank and the Pam/Karen friendship. I'm hopeful of what they could make of this with just a touch of non-idiocy. No promises though, huh? ;)

Author's Response: There’s never any promises... that said, I’m all for HEA in fic! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2020 05:45 am Title: Chapter 4

Ok I'm totally here for Pam and Karen being friends and Pam doing the Herr's thing. But man Jim, isn't moving to Stamford enough of a hint?

Author's Response:

You would think. That’s why I couldn’t drag it out more than like 2 days in Stamford before Jim figured some things out...  

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans