Reviews For Murder in Savannah
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2021 06:41 am Title: Prologue

So happy to see a new chapter! I may have read it at 2:30am and it may have prompted me to have some very strange dreams but it's totally with it.

I have more questions than ever now. Why are the employees still working like maniacs with Packer gone? Who is the murderer? I have a theory. Everyone in the house! We need to talk.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2021 10:15 pm Title: Chapter 15

The GASP i just let out at the end. What the HECK does that mean?! Did Roy kill packer?? Or pam?? Or someone trying to frame them?? I mention this every time but im still not letting go of the slim possibility that its sleepwalking jim. Im shocked, confused, and needing the next chapter last week please.

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2021 06:00 am Title: Chapter 14

I'm catching up on jam fics but wow so many questions about motivations and secrets in this update! This fic just keeps getting better and better!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2021 11:12 am Title: Chapter 12

You know what you did with that bathtub scene and I am in belief that you are, in fact, the murderer. I hope you’re proud.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2021 03:13 pm Title: Chapter 14

Oooh, that’s an answer to the Roy backstory that I definitely wasn’t expecting. You are so good at this.
“ Maybe they could just forget it all and stay locked in his bedroom, sustaining only on each other, and when someone came for them at the end of the week they could say “there’s been a murder? We didn’t know, we’ve been too busy here.”” Would also read this story, not going to lie.
Okay. Okay. Okay. Never before has a storyline about Roy been so damn interesting. I am concerned that the implication will be that Jim pushed him down the stairs & all of a sudden will be suspect number one for everything…
As always, your writing is flawless & I am in awe of your talent.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 04:40 am Title: Chapter 14

So glad to see this is back - and with such an intriguing chapter...

an interesting twist on things with Roy's ramblings and guilt over his involvement in a anti-Japanese hate crime - an interesting foreshadowing to the end and his own demise - Karma. Whether or not it was meant as commentary but also makes you think about the state of things in current times.

Anyway, Toby's vitriol, makes me wonder is that specifically towards Jim, is he jealous and crushing on Pam in this world too or is he just being written as if you are Michael? His attitude toward Erin leads me to believe the latter, but still holding on to the former.

Erin is just as adorable (the vision of her in the socks and shoes - so vivid)
in your telling of her and feel bad for her but why is she stealing his stuff?
Curious too what the drink was?

Sorry to see no Pam in the chapter but the ending - oh man, Jim's going to look like a suspect for sure now. Please don't leave us hanging long

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 05:55 pm Title: Chapter 14

True story: I finished a detective novel over the weekend, and I was thinking at the end of it, "this is not nearly as an engaging a mystery as Murder in Savannah." So I'm particularly glad it's back.

NGL: I've kind of been wondering if we were going to acknowledge the fact that this is taking place in the Jim Crow South in 1947. I did not anticipate we were going to acknowledge the anti-Japanese violence of the era. Well done. Poor Hide. He's not been a lucky man in most universes. Seems starkly and depressingly realistic that Roy would've gotten away with this for that time, and you know, many, many, many years to come. Okay. I'm sad now. Ummmmm... I *do* like that you managed to make Roy's confession both a red herring/misdirect AND an explanation of part of the mystery of Roy, and squeeze in a little about his connection with Packer at the same time. That's just really well-executed mystery writing right there.

Also. HIM DYING AT THE END. AND IN A WAY THAT COULD REALLY EASILY IMPLICATE JIM. Completely karmic, fun parallel, and also HUGE TWIST. This is all working out really nicely for Pam, isn't it?

I am fairly convinced someone on the staff is involved, or at least up to someone nefarious. I can't decide if it's Toby or if he's just, you know, a upright "moralist." Or maybe has a crush on Pam? Ugh. Toby. (Especially because I still think it's Erin. And it does occur to me that it may well be Toby thinks JIM is the murderer.)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 05:47 pm Title: Chapter 14

Twists and turns and twists and turns. One question answered but several more show up. Add to that the body count keeps going up, but I'm getting ahead of myself. Roy admitting Packer was cutting him in on the deal seems pretty par for the course. Makes sense that a character like Roy would want to get in with whatever webs Packer was spinning.

Toby's ire was really interesting to read. It was almost as if we could get a glmipse of what Toby could have been had he not been beat down by Michael for years. A man much more willing to fire back especially in regards to certian daliances as you put it.

Jim remembers a bitter smell from his grandmother's kitchen. Hmmmm. Bitter almonds are said to smell like cyanide. Which is a very interesting line of thinking. It's well within Meredith's wheelhouse to be ordering a drink that late at night. Yet it's Erin who is bringing the drink and seemingly dressed hastily. So it could be that Erin just grabbed the first decanter she saw. Could also mean Erin was the one who spiked the decanter. Though that also begs the question as to why she'd want to off Meredith. It also feels like Jim was not the target
(if in fact that way cyanide in the decanter) since he just grabbed the decanter at random.

Roy being drunk and falling to his doom. And the last person to see him alive was Jim. Jim who just had a shouting match with Toby. Toby who is no fan of Jim. Like I said, twists and turns.

Great way to keep the tension up that's for sure.

Author's Response: Erin wasn’t the only one with a decanter, so we can’t assume that whatever strange smell Jim smelled came from what Erin had on her tray. Erin and Toby both had glasses and bottles on their trays and both were left on the same table.

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 05:26 pm Title: Chapter 14

It's back!

"He left out the details of Roy’s confession, not stupid enough to trust Toby with anything of value, information or otherwise."

This along with his total allegiance to Packer makes Toby still my primary suspect. Yeah, could be obvious, but it just makes sense given what we know. Giving Toby a backbone is an interesting choice, you're turning him into Lloyd Gross.

Guess Jim isn't the one after all given the final few paragraphs but who knows? Pam could be the one who killed Roy specifically (since he's the only one she would have a vendetta against), but I really don't want it to be her.

And then there's Erin... on my list. She's constantly getting yelled at by people and clearly comes from a sheltered household, and could end up snapping as a result. Maybe she wants to take out anyone disturbing the peace? Or maybe Packer was a father to her and she's taking out any potential suspects trying to find his real killer. Another reach, I know, but it's a possibility.

The Hide thing came out of *nowhere*, and a very neat touch tying in the factual events of a post-WWII America. A shame, he is the #1 heart surgeon in Japan. And Roy? Well, he certainly was a piece of work. Very like him to drink to forget. His descriptive death was sad to read, though, and it's interesting to see just how deep these connections to Packer go.

Another fun and gripping chapter!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 05:11 pm Title: Chapter 14

Wow. That was intense! Toby is incredibly annoying in this scene. Poor Erin! And what was in that glass?? And now Pam's single. Great chapter.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 04:57 pm Title: Chapter 14

*what?!*
I thought Roy confessing to a murder was gonna be the big twist but now he’s dead?! Toby is going to have a field day with this one. I need the next chapter immediately, please.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 03:29 pm Title: Chapter 14

Ma'am.

Excuse you.

My jaw quite literally dropped at the end of that chapter. And as always, I'm in awe of your beautiful writing and how perfectly you describe these characters.

I'll take the next chapter now pls.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2021 07:41 pm Title: Chapter 13

I love how Jim and Pam have become each other's person so quickly in this story. Like, snuggling to sleep? I love it.

We hadn't seen much of Roy till now, but boy did he come into the spotlight here. I can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2021 08:30 pm Title: Chapter 13

Goosebumps. Actual goosebumps, BT. That last line. DAMN. So good.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2021 01:07 pm Title: Chapter 13

ACH, poor Creed! He's with his horses now. It's strange to think of him being gone, you always sort of thought he was immortal.

I love Dwight being undeterred by murder. This is very much the Dwight who eats his way through the awkwardness of Dinner Party.

How *did* that notebook get back in his room? You have Pam, being there without him... Ryan, free to wander while Kelly and Erin occupied Pam... really any of the staff.... hmmmmmmm. ::suspicious look at Pam, who definitely mentioned yet another possible motive here with her appearance of complicity with any wrongdoing of Roy's::

As stated in chat: my bet is Roy killed Creed, perhaps for having discovered him destroying some evidence of his nefarious doings, but someone else killed Packer. (Probably Pamme Fatale. Or... maybe Erin.)

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2021 12:18 pm Title: Chapter 13

I know I've told you this numerous times but I am obsessed with this story. You have given us a masterclass on how to weave intrigue and mystery with this ensemble of characters and have it feel so natural. It is so, so good.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 03:55 pm Title: Chapter 13

RIP Creed. Sorry that he had to go but it’s an interesting choice being that every can assume and seems to assume it was natural causes.

Ah the mystery of the journal book. It does seem very much like it was Pam. It will be interesting to see.

I happen to love Erin and it was nice to get a little bit of her story here too.

You are doing such a wonderful job of weaving tougher the mystery and the love story and keeping us all intrigued.

And then to have it end with that Roy confession. You are quite the queen of cliffhanger.

For once I don’t have to worry about being spoiled in the chat. Yeah me. And yeah you for such a great job with this chapter.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 11:22 am Title: Chapter 13

WHAT.
Okay first of all, Creed. Ugh I'm so sad for him. He just wanted his horses and old life back and now he's in an icehouse with Packer. And then Jim finding the notebook. Did Pam take it? I keep wanting to think the best of Pam, she couldn't have done anything wrong... but what if she had? Wanted to know if Jim had ulterior motives?

okay but then ROY. Who didn't he mean to kill?? Did he kill both of them? How is Jim going to react to that? Is Jim going to be the next target if Roy finds out about Jim and Pam?? So many questions and I don't know any of the answers but holy crap BT I love thisss.

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 10:58 am Title: Chapter 13

I don't know how you do it, but this fic just keeps getting more and more interesting!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2021 11:41 pm Title: Chapter 13

One cliffhanger resolved and another one shows up. Not that I would really expect anything less in this story. But I'm also getting ahead of myself.

I think it's fitting that Dwight is the only one to have a decent appetite after Creed's body is discovered. Most of the time Dwight is a very practical kind of guy and his theory does seem plausible. However I still feel like there's foul play afoot. Especially since it's Roy that was the one to discover the body.

Lovely time with Jim and Pam there. Even a fun hey/hi moment. So Pam's been doing some snooping of her own. Nice to get some info on a few of the others. I really don't want Pam to be involved in anything nefarious, but she's in his room before he gets there, and now all of a sudden Jim's notebook reappears. Just enough to make one go "hmmmm." But then she has her emotional response there, which seems genuine. So again I say, "hmmmmm." I'm sure you're just grinning with delight as we all try to guess whodunit.

Then Roy. Drunken, slovenly, in vino veritas Roy. "I didn't mean to kill him." I mean how do we even start to process this? Is he talking about Packer? Creed? Someone else? Please update quick as this story just continues to pull one in and leave us all wanting so much more.

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2021 11:16 pm Title: Chapter 13

First time catching one of these things in the nick of time!

Okay, first off, Creed? How *dare*. Where will we get our Creed Thoughts now? I kid, of course, but I'm just glad he's at peace.

The ending with Roy was ingenious. You captured his actions and mannerisms perfectly here. His absolute drunken state, the knawing guilt, relying on the man he probably already knows is trying to steal his fiance... it's extremely tragic. I'm not sympathetic to Roy, but I can't help but feel that he doesn't deserve what's happening... I'll get to that.

But nooo, Erin! Please! Look, I love Kelly too, but I will say if it was her, we're getting some premiere Ryan moments, and I am here for that.

Phyllis and Andy's revelations were welcome, the latter making complete sense given the canon character's history. He seems fine financially, but Nard Dog will be ruined if the Bernards' reputation tanks. He cares about status more than money.

Okay, the two are Pam and Toby.
Pam? The book and possibly manipulating Roy as she laid peacefully despite all that unrest and Jim is running ragged, probably doing this *for* him in the first place. Sweet Irony.
But... I dunno, Toby just seems more plausible. We now know absolutely nothing about him- heck, we know more about Erin now, the poor thing, and *he knows this house*. Inside and out. And with the book, he not only has an idea of Jim's thought process but also knows exactly which buttons to press, when, and how often. And returning the book is only gonna drive Jim even madder, now that he's crafting an extremely useful alibi in Pam.
Do believe Roy is a killer? Sure. But he's not one to pull the strings, especially not in the state he's in right now. He wants Pam framed and jailed, preventing him or anyone else-especially Jim-from having her.

Michael dogs on him a lot in canon, but if Season 4 has proven anything, he can act like a spineless coward when it comes to Pam, a mere infatuation. Obvious? Not too much, but definitely plausible.

And finally... Never change Dwight, never change.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: March 14, 2021 01:23 pm Title: Chapter 12

My head is a little empty after this chapter (my brain is broken again, thanks to you!), but I just want to say I hope it wasn't Erin who was murdered. I mean she might be (she might've found Jim's notebook when she tidied his room and been eliminated as an unwanted witness by the real murderer — I still refuse to accept that it was Pam who stole Jim's notes), but she's such a lovely character, and I don't want her to be hurt...

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2021 07:29 pm Title: Chapter 12

Oscar... in the sitting room... with the candlestick? You slay me.

I love Jim’s gambit here with Dwight and how perfectly it hits the mark. I'm glad you're showing us Jim being a clever reporter who knows how to get information with people. The Money callback here was also great... I am very interested in what the 1940s version of Sprinkles being euthanized was.

Pam sliding into bed with him and them waking up cuddled together was ADORABLE. And the bathtub scene... wow. Also, very femme fatale move, Pam. #PamIsTheKiller #TeachTheControversy

THAT CLIFFHANGER. HOW DARE YOU, MADAM. PLEASE WRITE FAST.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2021 02:47 am Title: Chapter 12

“eclipsing the late afternoon sunlight and giving his every breath a brand new meaning” this is how I feel about my life with your writing in it...

THE BATHTUB. How dare you.

What in the actual cliffhanger fuck is that ending, BT?!!!!! I will be begging you for an update incessantly from this point forwards...

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 09:54 am Title: Chapter 12

I hope it was Roy who was killed LOL. But I have a feeling that would put all the suspicion on Pam and make Jim not trust her again :(

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans