You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed [Report This]
Date: June 11, 2021 04:18 pm Title: Chapter 1

I found this one so humorous and so fitting as well. I never thought about it before until you wrote it. Phillip was definitely planned around the time Jim and pam felt a little more adventurous in office in their drunken haze.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it, was definitely intended to be at the lighter end of spectrum.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2021 12:19 pm Title: Chapter 1

Congratulations on your first story. Writing can be an absolutely terrifying endeavor but thankfully this is a very friendly place and everyone is tremendously encouraging.

This is such an interesting but realistic take! I love the idea of children seeing their parents on tv and especially through the eyes of an adult. Great start!

Author's Response:

Thank you!  Always nerve-wracking writing for a new fandom, especially one as established as this. Glad you enjoyed it. :)

One of the friendliest groups I've ever encountered online, everyone has been so welcoming over the last few months and I really appreciate it. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 09:56 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh Grc -I was so excited to see this story up this morning and even more excited to read it. It was a delight - so on point for what Phillip (oh and I was surprised no Phillip tag when I tried to tag him in my last story) would be thinking as he watched his parents way back when. What an episode to stumble upon.

Thank you for having them keep up with their affection and their looks - even at the ripe age of 50.  Thank you for giving Phillip the same smug smile as his mum -thank you for bringing back the vision of we have a bed and a shower and the we took a walk.

and what a perfect ending... poor Phillip but yay us.

So glad you took the leap from lurker to writer-and can't wait for more from you.

So FUN! 

 



Author's Response:

Max!  I was especially excited for you to read this. And so glad you liked it!

Actually looking at Jenna (47 tomorrow!) after having 2 kids and how *amazing* she looks, and I think JK is getting better and better with age, albeit he's only 41 at the time of writing, I don't think it's a stretch to think the characters would look roughly like the actors portraying them as they age. Lucky for us they're doing that gracefully.

I like to think that Phil has the cute but knowing "Pam smirk" but also "classic Jim face", and would expect Cece to have some similar traits - perhaps one to explore another time ;) 

This feels like it's been a success so I will definitely have another go, got some ideas floating about... thanks again for the kind words!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 06:29 am Title: Chapter 1

This is very fun! A different idea than I've ever seen here and a nice glimpse into Jim and Pam's future. Great job for your first one.

Author's Response:

Thanks Sprinkles!  I'm pleased I found an angle that was new and glad you enjoyed it.

I'm definitely in the 'JAMily ever after' camp (bog off, Chrissy Teigen!)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 04:38 am Title: Chapter 1

This was freaking hilarious! I was grinning the entire time reading this. You did an awesome job at capturing how traumatizing this could have been for Phillip.

Then he finds out it was probably his conception? AMAZING.

Lisa just egging it on the whole time was the cherry on top of this funny fic.

I can't wait to read some of your other fics!

Author's Response:

Thanks beth! I wanted to inject some humour into this. so really glad it hit that spot for you.

I remember reading that there was a strong hint from the writers that Jim and Pam's little closet tryst was to possibly be Phil's conception - looking forward to them having this episode featured on the Office Ladies podcast!

I wanted Lisa to be ultimately caring and someone who deserved Phil (and who he deserved) and to be someone one could root for, but also not frightened to have a little fun at Phil's expense. She gets that he's freaked out by the whole thing, but also senses that this was 20+ years ago and there is nothing he can do about it now.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 04:30 am Title: Chapter 1

Awww, that was so sweet! And the awkwardness Phil felt was almost palpable (and it's so nice that such a supportive person as Lisa was around when he made this big discovery!)
Thank you for your story!

Author's Response:

Thanks Dernhelm! I was going for 'squirming offspring' - something I have first hand experience of with two teenage girls, the youngest of whom in particular cannot stand seeing people kissing, she looks horrified and will put a cushion over her face! 

I wanted to really show Phil's discomfort and his being torn between being happy to see his parents love each other (back to Pam's 'soulmates' speech) but then really uncomfortable with the fact it's going on under his nose! The fact that he's clearly sexually active himself and the generational gap between the sets of characters was another aspect I wanted to juxtapose.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 03:59 am Title: Chapter 1

This is such a great concept - I love the idea of Phil watching the documentary, and him accidentally seeing his own conception is hilarious. I started laughing (/feeling sorry for him) as soon as I read Valentine's Day and boozy lunch. It's a really nice picture of Jim and Pam's life in Austin in the future, and I love the little touches like Phil being southern, and not having realised he was in the doc as a baby, and having the same taste as women in Jim. And not knowing who Creed is, lol. This was brilliant!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I wanted to try and do something original and this wasn't something I'd even seen written before (don't worry, I also have my take on a couple of well-worn tropes in store!)

As I mentioned in my comments back to Warrior, I wanted to round out Phil's personality a bit. I hopes readers get a little of the falvour of who he is from this. I figured that he and Cece would probably have at least a little Texas twang as they were so small when they moved there, though maybe not a super strong accent as they would have been influenced by their parents a bit.

I think they'd have stayed in touch with Dwight and Angela, Michael and Holly, Darryl (as he was with them anyway) Phyllis and maybe Toby. Less so the others though I think Kelly might have randomly reappeared by email at some stage.  Creed was just kinda of weird (albeit also awesome) and may have actually forgotten their names! I spend way too much time contemplating this sort of thing, but it's those sorts of details I really enjoy in others' writing, too.

  

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2021 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 1

Glad you stuck your toe in the water! This was really cute and well written.
Good onya!

Author's Response: Thanks Once!  More to come, I have a few other crazy ideas!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2021 09:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Welcome to writing! Really glad you've taken the plunge because this was just fantastic! Phil being embarrassed about everything, Lisa being really into it all, and of course the fact that through Phil we get a look into the fact that Jim and Pam can't keep their hands off each other. Just wonderful. Some other details I liked was that Phil got Jim's looks and humor, and that wonderful sly smile of Pam's. Great way to blend them in there.

Of course the clincher here was that Phil is distraught that about the revelation of the timing there. Good thing he's got a good girl to help him through everything.

Please don't stop writing! This was great! I can't wait to see what else you've come up with.

Author's Response:

Thanks Warrior!  I've written creatively before and for another fandom for many years, but always nervous joining a new one as a writer, and especially then I know just how incredible the quality of writing is on here. 

I couldn't help myself on Jim and Pam's insatiability for each other!  I figured that it was *exactly* the fact that they barely indulge in any PDA in the office during the entire run of the show that all that sexual compatibility and tension had to let out somewhere! I don't think them adding a few years to their lives would necessarily dampen their passion for each other, just make them better honed to each other's needs.

I wanted to weave in some little details about Phil and who he was, try and round out his character a bit. I also wanted Lisa to tease him a little but ultimately have his best interests at heart, just like we see a bit of Pam and Jim doing that on screen over 9 seasons. Ultimately, even when things are tough, the viewer knows they always have each other's backs.

Thank you again, I have some other ideas boiling around in my brain as well as a couple of things already well underway that just need finishing and tidying.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2021 09:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

GRC! Congrats on making the leap from lurker to writer! An intimidating move, and I'm really glad you made it!

I am fascinated by the idea of the kids' reaction to the documentary and how Pam and Jim made it fit into their lives, so I'm really glad you explored this. It makes a lot of sense to me that they would have mostly put it behind them and it wouldn't necessarily be a huge thing looming over Phil's life... creating the possibility for this sort of surprise. There's really a *lot* in here he and Cece would probably prefer not to know about their parents, isn't there? I'm with Phil, I would've been watching this through my fingers if at all.

I like the picture you've painted of Jim and Pam's Austin years, that you've let them be just spellbindingly, embarrassingly happy... and Phil making the connection to his own conception is hilarious.

A great debut from you!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Always tricky writing for a new fandom.

I thought a lot about this and how this would have impacted the children's lives as they grew up, especially after they moved away from Scranton. My understanding of PBS is that it's much lower key than the commercial networks, so there would have been no more than a limited "celebrity" element for Jim and Pam (and certainly from the 'one year later' panel they had in the finale, it doesn't seem like they were still at 'throwing underwear' stage even if they'd have become local reality stars for a while.) After they moved to Texas I believe that they would have treated the whole thing as a (mostly) nice memory that led them to the present day, and then simply lived their lives as a happily married couple and family. Some things will have been passed down through family folklore and stories, but their lives wouldn't have revolved around Dunder Mifflin, or Michael and the larger-than-life characters they'd encountered on a day-to-day basis any more and I don't think that would have been a central point of Cece and Phillip's lives as a result.

At this point, I should put my hand up as a card-carrying member of the Hopeless Romantics Club.   I absolutely believe they would be blissfully happy together. Pam said it - "When you're a kids you assume your parents are soulmates. My kids are going to be right about that." Jim had such strong feelings at such a fundamental level for Pam for so long, and she for him, I don't see why that would change. And I speak as someone who is getting to the ballpark of that time in this story myself as a "middle-aged person" with a husband who still often makes my heart flutter a little when he walks into a room. And it's not indigestion. ;)

Looking forward to sharing more, glad you liked it!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans