You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2022 09:26 am Title: His Sister

I love this! Love the premise, love the tension AND WHY IS THERE NOT MORE OF IT??!!
Only joking. No pressure.

Author's Response: Feel free to pressure away, it's been decidedly too long since I updated this. IT'S COMING, I PROMISE.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2021 01:01 pm Title: His Sister

Cringe comedy is 100% my favourite kind of comedy. But seriously: I love the awkwardness in this, Pam getting caught between Larissa and Karen and looking at the camera, Jim coming back to find the three of them, Larissa slightly enjoying the situation Jim's landed them in while the rest of them are all dying...it's so good. And so funny. I also love how much Pam clearly likes (and wants to be liked by) Larissa, and the little touches like her knowing about her graduation and first choice in college: she clearly cares and has been paying attention. It hurts seeing Larissa be frosty in return, but makes total sense (although I'm glad she doesn't totally manage to, a bit like Jim...) And Larissa and Jim's relationship here is just adorable! I love her not letting him get away with anything. Very excited for the next chapter!

Author's Response: There are definitely a lot of moments here where it's way better to be Larissa than anyone else, and way better to be in the audience than it is to be a character. Glad the humor through!

Yeah, I feel like Pam doesn't quite enough "teapot" moments in canon, so I always like to build some of those in. And yeah, Halperts find it difficult to resist Beeslys. (Scribbles note in my Larissa/Penny endgame WIP).

I'm glad you enjoyed Larissa taking Jim to task as that *maaaaaay* be a part of the next chapter.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2021 09:07 pm Title: His Sister

Hi, I’m in love with Larissa. More please.

Author's Response: It's coming! (TWSS) Eventually (TWHS). Look, I really can't work under this kind of pressure. (TWHS)

I'm glad you liked it! But noting again this version of Larissa is HEAVILY inspired by Comfect's take on her.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 11, 2021 07:03 am Title: His Sister

Here, have an extra jellybean because in my mind, Larissa is a grown up Spinelli from the cartoon Recess and that strangely delights me. Almost as much as the fact I’ve had the Clarissa theme song stuck in my head for 3 days.

Author's Response: Yay for callbacks to the pop culture of our youth! Huh. The Spinelli thing kinda fits perfectly.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 11, 2021 07:02 am Title: His Sister

Oh, I really love this. Like, a lot.

The tension between Pam and Larissa is so real and so very plausible. I really like that Larissa is trying to maintain her coolness against Pam, even if she slips a little here and there. I genuinely laughed at the part where Pam tells Larissa she has a good brother and immediately realizes what a mistake that was.

And even though everyone else has said it, I also agree that “Jim (had had this exact nightmare)” is now frontrunner for best line of 2021. Perfect stage direction is perfect.

Oh Karen. Oh sweetie. This is just painful and I am here for it but with a side of also feeling really bad for her. Well, as bad as I can, ya know?

“Figured I’d stop by. You know, see if Kelly’s single yet.” This is also golden.

This might be one of my favorite iterations of Larissa yet. I’m very much looking forward to seeing what happens next.

Author's Response: Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay. Thank you for taking the time to say so!

I have a fairly extensive head-canon (which may or may not come to play in this story) about Larissa's attitude towards/relationship with Pam, which is part of what I wanted to write this to explore - I'm glad to hear it read true. I just think their relationships with the people in each other's lives would have been interesting.

*Does dance of the line that started this clicked*

I have... complex feelings towards Karen. But this part of Season 3 just must have been awful and constantly humiliating for her, and the fact that so many people were around to actively watch it seems like it must have been salt in the wound for a logn time to come.

Lol. Sometime I will empty my headcanon for Larissa's backstory. It's fun.

All credit to Comfect for rewriting the version of Larissa in my head. Thank you! I'll try not to leave y'all hanging for more than like... six months tops.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 06:06 pm Title: His Sister

I have to say that I’m a bit flattered that you thought of me in particular when writing this story.
I guess that’s what happens when you make your opinions about certain characters and storyline very clear. 😂
As much as I love Pam as a character, it always annoyed me how she let the guys she loved
treat her like trash, especially while they ignored their own behavior.
IMO season 3 showed an unattractive side of Jim that was very similar to how Roy behaved.
In a way I wish that Pam had gone to art school
in season 3 instead of S4 so she could get some space away from the awful treatment of the others. It wasn’t just Jim and Karen that were awful to Pam.

Author's Response: You have laid down a marker there, that's for sure!

Well, it's part of her journey, I suppose. I have a certain amount of sympathy for Season 3 Jim - and more with regards to how he treated Pam than how he treated Karen. He's in a position he really actively sought not to be in, and we've got a lot of information about how she feels that she doesn't. There are some VERY good Karen leaves Scranton in Season 3 fics that explore that very idea, though. If you haven't checked out "if i stumble through another year of blindness by bebitched, that version of Pam might be right up your alley.

Reviewer: Debutante_gurl Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 02:23 am Title: His Sister

This is just so so good. I’m obsessed with (he’s had this exact nightmare) and everything about the way your writing Karen. I need MORE.

Author's Response: Aww thanks! Glad you liked it and tickled you picked up on the nightmare line. Don't know when the next chapter of this will post, but you maaaaaaaaaay be in luck on the Karen side of things...

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 06:14 pm Title: His Sister

Interesting start to a new story.
It reminds me of when Jim was such
an ass in season 3.
His sister was a bitch as well.
Just because Pam rejected Jim on CN that doesn’t give him, and his sister, license to treat Pam like trash. Like in canon,Karen is ridiculous in this story. Can she be any more desperate
when it comes to Jim?
Now that being said, Jim is being an ass
to Karen too. He’s definitely giving mixed signals to his family about Karen,showing pictures of her to his brothers and wanting to avoid her with his sister. Karen and Pam both should tell Jim to piss off.

Author's Response: You know, I was thinking, you in particular are *really* not going to enjoy the direction this story takes. Thanks for reading and taking the time to review though!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 08:01 pm Title: His Sister

"Larissa Explains it All," "Clarissa Explains it All." Is there going to be a scene in this fic where Larissa is sitting in her room with an open window when a ladder appears and she throws out a nonchalant "Hey Sam" as her best friend who happens to be a guy from next door climbs in over the sill? Just wondering is all.

Anyway now that I have that out of the way. This is full of S3 awkwardness. Larissa being a bit cold to Pam does seem to track. If Larissa and Jim are as close as it seems I could get why there would be some friction Larissa would feel for Pam.

Pam getting caught in the middle of the conversation and not knowing what to do felt very in keeping with the show.

"His girlfriend, his sister, and his...PAM" That line right there is what makes this fic worth the price of admission. Especially set here in S3. Great line there.

Really looking forward to their lunch at the diner. Seems they have a lot to discuss.

Author's Response: Sadly no. BUT I now want a scene in a future fic where Larissa is telling that story and Pam immediately informs Jim there will be no ladders allowed on their property when Cece is older.

It does feel like particularly at this juncture, a lot of people in Jim's life might not necessarily be a pro-Pam mood, right?

Lol. That image of Pam being stuck in the conversation and looking to the camera for help was a big part of how this fic came about, and the girlfriend/sister/Pam line was the rest of it.

Oh, they definitely do. Larissa has some things on her mind.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 03:51 pm Title: His Sister

Great start to your AotM residency! So entertaining!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! And thanks for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 03:20 pm Title: His Sister

Larissa fics have my heart and this is no exception. Perfect description of her, best Halpert sibling banter, and some really great awkward moments I could visualize perfectly. Well done, sir! Can't wait for more.

Also a Dundie for best title.

Author's Response: Larissa is the no-BS, wise-cracking, wise-beyond-her-years younger sibling the city needed, and the one it deserved. Instead we have Tom and Pete. *sigh* Glad you enjoyed - there is much Halpert sibling interaction to come, and a few more awkward moments.

You know, the great titles are born, not made.

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 01:59 pm Title: His Sister

The titles, all three of them, are laugh out loud funny. Chance, my beloved Chocolate Lab who has a well developed sense of humour, came running.

The disclaimer hits all the legal points, I think, while being the funniest ever. I am not an attorney, but I have gone out with a few. Extra jelly bean for ensemble inclusion.

Is that the Carl Shurz, former Senator and Secretary of the Interior, who is writing about The Office? If so, EVERYONE, living or dead, has seen it and has an opinion.

For a character who is never seen and is only mentioned once, Larissa has a strong presence. You described her physical attributes and college student attire just as I'd imagined her. Poor girl getting the Halpert nose, ears, and jawline though.

"glomp" is now my new favourite word. So onomatopoetic even though Larissa didn't follow through with the victory dance.

I know comedy is harder to write than it looks and cringe worthy comedy even harder, but September? Nevertheless, Chance approved.

Author's Response: Hi Chance! Glad you enjoyed! (I really feel like I might have dug myself a hole here... this is about as comic as this one is going to get.)

You know, there are some voices I think just work with these disclaimers, and Stanley is one of them. Thanks for the extra jelly beans, they hit the spot.

Props for picking up on that reference... I'm trying to brush up on my Gilded Age history right now. I like to think this particular scholar is a great-great-great grandchild of the original.

All credit to Comfect on defining Larissa for me - this is definitely my take on his version of the character. Yeah, the distinct Halpert look is not so great for her, but she makes do.

Glomp is a VERY useful word in this context.

Ah, but, see, the next part isn't cringe comedy... but tell Chance thanks.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 01:22 pm Title: His Sister

First off I adore Melissa Joan Hart. And now I kind of see her as Larissa only with broader shoulders and a slightly larger nose

Now as usual you had me laughing with the disclaimer. No actually, from the title but because of that I was expecting something a little sillier where this was so much more. Seems our Halperts got more Sophisticated in their brand of humor, sass and subversion as each came along where tom and Pete are kind of silly but Larissa is now right sinister, but Jim is not only used to it but would give it back if he didn’t adore her so much.

I felt bad for both Pam and Karen here but felt good for us because this was so fun to read and left me wanting more. So don’t leave us hanging too long.


Ps have to add that you 100 nailed Jim here in that he hadn’t yet brought Karen around and wasn’t happy to have it forced upon him. Plus Pam already knew his sister says a lot.

Hope you are busy writing. Want more!

Author's Response: Iiiiiiiiiinteresting. I had Rita Volk down as Larissa, for reasons passing understanding, but Melissa Joan Hart just makes too much sense. I don't know, she's basically supposed to be John Krasinski in a wig, it's hard to think of who might be able to do that justice.

Yeah, the title is actually super misleading, so I hope people appreciated the gag - it definitely just gets darker from here. (Also, I totally forgot to mention this to Dernhelm... but I think there's particular voices that fit well with these disclaimers, and for some reason Stanley's is one of them.)

That is 100% the intention with the Halpert children, by the way - they get smarter, sassier and more difficult to defeat in reverse order of age. I think Jim knows Larissa means well (and you'll notice the one she *intentionally* tortures is Pam), and also she's his favorite.

Yeah, rough one for Pam. Even rougher for Karen, particularly in light of what's coming.

Oh, yeah. And Larissa knowing all that is definitely significant... as is her pre-existing relationship with Pam. (This is roughly set in the same universe as Real Friends, I think?)

No one idea when this one will be updated - I know exactly what the third chapter is and the second chapter is a mess. But hopefully soon?

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 10:59 am Title: His Sister

Oof, this was delightfully awkward.

This is particular tickled me:

"his girlfriend, his sister, and his… PAM"

I love the way you insert the exact way everyone is speaking into the stage direction. It's like a script on steroids. Great job!

Author's Response: You gotta be able to appreciate some delightfully awkward if you're going to get through The Office. And that joke was the OTHER bit that inspired me here, so I'm glad to see it sparked.

Yeah, writing the stage directions is always fun - plus it makes John and Jenna and Rashida and... I think Rita Volk?... do all the work. Glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 10:50 am Title: His Sister

First of all, the title.
Secondly, the disclaimer (!!!).
Thirdly — and I should've probably started with that — the way you capture the voices and reactions so perfectly never fails to amaze me! I feel so much sorry for Pam here (though everyone, except, maybe, Larissa, had their share of desire to sink through the floor...).
Also:
JIM (has had this exact nightmare) — can we learn more about this one? Please?
I do hope you'll publish the rest of the chapters soon because I googled, and Labor Day is in freakin' SEPTEMBER!
P.S. Your working title misses 'c' ;)

Author's Response: I've got to be honest, I came VERY close to just calling this "Larissa Explains It All," but it would've set expectations too high.

Thank you - it's fun playing around with these voices in a familiar situation like this. Pretty canon-style humor. I'm concerned about how the next part is going to translate.

Yeah, poor Pam - although in the context of what's coming, this feels like it would have been worst for Karen.

We might or might not learn more about that nightmare - but I will offer this: Jim is in his underwear.

I KNOW! I'm sorry! The third chapter is mostly in pretty good shape, but the second one is an unbelievable mess right now and I don't know how to fix it.

HA! You win points for first to ID the reference. I miss that show.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 10:45 am Title: His Sister

First of all, I didnt think you were serious about the title. Im so glad you were, though, I love it.
Larissa kills me. First with just the visual of her, its perfection. And then her demeanor and her showing up to the office uninvited and unannounced, making everything weird and awkward. So good. And Pam getting trapped between Larissa and Karen, I could feel the helplessness. Next chapter immediately please, I need to know about this corned beef.

Author's Response: I am sad to admit I will probably be cutting the title down to the AKA at some point, but joke landed! (I also came close to having the chapter notes be 'Jim loves Pam. Duh.')

As noted, my version of Larissa is heavily influenced by Comfect, but as a youngest siblings myself it feels about right that she's purposefully be an agent of chaos. (Though her motives are pure, it's not her fault she's having fun.) The bit of Pam getting stuck between Larissa and Karen was one of the images that inspired this chapter, glad you liked it.

No idea when the next chapter will be out, unfortunately. Particularly ironic because the final chapter? Definitely completely finished. Whoops.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans