Reviews For Anywhere But Here
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: impreciseotto Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2019 04:24 am Title: Some place where my head can clear

I can totally believe this would be canon if the role reversal was real. Also so proud of our gutsy Pam for just going for it and kissing Him. Oh, and screw Lisa.

Reviewer: impreciseotto Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2019 04:12 am Title: I've always wanted to see Canada

DON'T LET THE WELL OF HOPE RUN DRY PAM!

Also this is wonderful and I am totally here for the role reversal.

Reviewer: Identitytheftisntajokejim Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2019 10:13 am Title: You're floating on a cloud that's beautiful and then

I really enjoyed this! :D

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 20, 2019 08:37 pm Title: Of what you used to mean to me

"The thought did cross his mind to send Pam an email, maybe asking her to call him or to have dinner with him when she got back from Italy. But there was a nagging voice in the back of his head telling him it wasn't right to ask another woman out even on a friendly dinner when his ex-fiancée wasn't even completely moved out, telling him Pam was moving on and following her dreams and he might need to step back and let her do that."

One of the things I love about this fic (among many) is that you give Jim a much more reasonable reason for not calling Pam (at least immediately) than the show timeline gives Pam for not telling Jim.

Reviewer: WishYouWould Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2018 10:12 am Title: You're floating on a cloud that's beautiful and then

This story is really well done. I love what you did with the characters, I almost don’t recognize early Jim at first without his heartbreaking longing for Pam that we all know so well, but as it progresses I feel his personality really start to shine through. Pam is so much the same even in this role-reversal, it makes my heart ache! I’m glad you didn’t drag out their reunion too far, their love story is so much more than that! As always, your writing is beautiful and I loved it. Any plans to update this one?? I know you have so many great fics that this one might be lower priority, but I’d love to see more from this AU!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! And yes, role-reversal Jim was definitely a challenge since like you say, it's hard to imagine him as anything other than totally in love with Pam. I will finish this one I promise!

Reviewer: Hedaman Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2018 10:13 pm Title: I've always wanted to see Canada

As usual, you have a way to use words to paint a picture. I am starting to understand that it is a talent which you are born with, and then have to work your tail off to refine. Much like an athlete may be born with natural skills, if he doesn't put in the hours........ Just curious, how many hours per week do you spend writing? My hat is off to a literary athlete!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2018 09:49 pm Title: You're floating on a cloud that's beautiful and then

I have been waiting for this chapter forever! :D Lisa finally finds out about Pam and lucky Jim...no broken glass.

I really loved his parting line to Lisa about hesitating with her and how it’s really quite a contrast to his relationship with pam. It’s been nice, as the story has progressed, to occasionally have more revealed about Jim and Lisa because in the beginning they seem like a good couple. And maybe they were ok enough but lucky for him he doesn’t have to settle for that anymore.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 28, 2018 05:56 pm Title: You're floating on a cloud that's beautiful and then

So I just caught up on this whole story and I can’t wait to see it finished! Trust me, Iknow all about leaving a WIP halfway through writing it so no pressure here.

I love love love the Jim and Pam you’ve created. You’ve taken the best of them from the show and added new traits and experiences that still feel very *them*. I think everything is perfectly in character. And can I say that I LOVE Karen and Pam being friends? Poor Karen gets a bad rap some of the time so I’m glad to see something different here.

Love this story! Can’t wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: Clover Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 28, 2018 02:44 pm Title: You're floating on a cloud that's beautiful and then

"there was nothing else he was more sure of than how he felt about Pam Beesly."

My favorite Jim/Pam truism!  Thank you NLM!

 

So beautifully written!  Your attention to detail just thoroughly immerses me in your story.  Love it!   

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2017 06:18 pm Title: Chapter Two I'm Changing Everything

Super excited that I found this story! I even like this version of Karen! ;)

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you, yes I'm a big fan of the Karen and Pam. Working on the next chapter now! I really hope to finish this soon!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2017 02:37 pm Title: Just In Time To Notice Who It Is You Want To Be

I really like this. You do a great job of staying true to the characters while also not just doing a straight Jim-is-Pam, Pam-is-Jim, Lisa-is-female-Roy swap. The situation is clearly parallel and yet they're still Jim and Pam. Please keep going!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I've used lot of canon-JAM scenes in this fic but hope they've been changed enough that it's true to the character so I'm pleased to hear I've mostly been successful!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2017 05:57 am Title: You dare to see the mystery

10 years! And two years since you revived it. Not only is it amazing that you're still chugging away on this but it keeps getting better with each chapter you've added.

I did not remember making a request, at all, for a Christmas reversal, I had to go back and look at reviews from two years ago, LOL. I am very glad I did because you wrote it so great, and you were able to go back to that DM quagmire scene and expand on it. I would love to see how that picture looks, it sounds awesome.

I really like that you're not writing the role reversal as just switching Jim and Pam's place like Opposite Day, ya know. You're still keeping them in canon with certain things, like she was still the drunk one at the Dundies instead of Jim. But on the certain things where it's necessary, like the Christmas gift and card, you still manage to make it more unique to the individual character. You didn't have pam just give Jim some sort of fancy box with a bunch of inside jokes in it. You instead created an inside joke for this version of Jim and Pam that made much more sense for the gift.

I know she wasn't in this chapter, but after rereading the whole thing last night I'm still so happy with the way you've written Karen and given her a friendship with Pam, it's very refreshing.

The brief appearance by Kevin and all his snickering cracked me up :D

The cliffhanger… My mind instantly went to two different scenarios and they both actually leave me pretty excited for the next chapter. I know I will enjoy reading either situation I've come up with and I'm excited to see if I was right. Which means you're going to have to leave me unspoiled, I hope I can hold out till the next chapter!

Well that's a rambling review, I stayed up way too late reading this and thought it be better if I reviewed in the morning but, I'm so tired that it's probably not any better having waited.

Oh well, at least you know I liked it :D

Reviewer: Joalyn Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: October 10, 2016 01:01 pm Title: Sweeps Around You Like the Sea

I love that you are writing this (and that I didn't have to wait 7 years between any chapters!). I was a little reluctant when I saw it was a role reversal because I think I've always loved secretly pining Jim and I wasn't sure I wanted him to be the clueless one. But there's just the right amount of what I loved about him in the show and of course once I got reading I just had to read and read and read.
I love Big City Beesly and, well, I love all of it, really. And especially Jim asleep in Pam's bed and "...draw me like one of your French girls, huh?"
and bonus, I got to the end and see you're planning on more chapters? :D

Author's Response: Clueless Jim is really hard to write! It's kind integral to his character that he's so "in tune" with Pam, even during the times they're not "in tune" like S3 and S9, but I'm glad to hear I wrote him in this role reversal successfully. I'm planning at least 3 more chapters, and hoping to get that going soon (though I'm going to do another all new story for November since I don't have enough WIPs!)

Reviewer: Joalyn Signed [Report This]
Date: October 10, 2016 12:53 pm Title: Now That You're Gone

I love the end notes! lol When I was in Japan I only ever got propositioned by drunk men (and a couple of jr high school boys I was teaching :o).
Do you have any idea how much I wish the answering service had malfunctioned and Pam had gotten all of Jim's messages? Yeah, I guess you probably do.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2016 08:38 am Title: Sweeps Around You Like the Sea

On the show Pam surely had her insecurities, but I think in this situation, regarding Jim, she would even more so. I love that you wrote about her fear of Jim deciding she wasn't worth the hassle. But in contrast you showed him having this almost uncontrollable excitement about her. I'm hoping you build on this a bit. Hmmm... Maybe it will come to play in that little bit of info you gave me??? This chapter was adorably sweet and a joy to read :)

Reviewer: Christine60 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2016 02:35 pm Title: I've always wanted to see Canada

I'm really enjoying this story so far. Please continue. Also, are you the same ladama who has made fanvids for The Office that I've seen on YouTube, like Pampong and The Silence?I f so, you are multitalented and I doubly salute you! You rock!

Author's Response: Ha, yeah that's me, I sure thought I was a fanvid wizkid with my Windows Movie Maker! I think my video editing days are over but it was a lot of fun, I'm sad that so many JAM videos are no longer posted but I plan to keep mine up. Thanks so much for your comments :-)

Reviewer: Boysenberry Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2016 02:35 am Title: Takes A Thousand Miles Puts You Right Back At The Start

I'm enjoying this reversal. I hope you'll finish it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm a little slow to churn out chapters but I do have the rest of the story outlined, just a matter of writing them! Chap 16 should be up pretty soon!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: July 06, 2015 12:44 am Title: ...And So Little Time

Awww.... That was excellent! I absolutely love the way you used Jims canon doodle and brought in another doodle à la pams "famous" note. So great.

This has another 10 chapters or so left right?? Yeah :)

Author's Response:

Is there a Jim doodle in the show? I thought maybe there was but couldn't remember when it showed up?

I don't know about 10 chapters, but I'd say at least 2. Better start working on it!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2015 09:45 pm Title: So Many Places...

I know you've been editing this a bit so I just reread from the beginning and I must say it is much more difficult for me to read Jim being "happy" and engaged to someone than to read Pam with someone other than Jim. My heart has a softer spot for Pam for some reason. Can't stand her heart in pain.
~
I really like the booze cruise addition and how you flipped it to fit your story. The flashback in Jims POV really helps to fill in his side of things a bit. I'd kinda like to see a flashback from season 2 Christmas episode.
~
And I love that you took the more difficult route and had Lisa call off the wedding rather than Jim, adds a bit more depth to the story. I kept thinking how she never mentioned Pam as a reason, and then in ch 10 when she did, it was totally different than I expected, which is great. I love when I foreshadow a story and it turns out I was wrong.
~
Which brings me to Brian >:/ ~ that's all I'm gonna say about that!

Ok. One thing about that. I don't think pams the type to do what Jim on the show did. I can see her trying to date a bit to move on but I can't picture her hiding behind a relationship and using the person like Jim did with Karen.
~
I love that Karen works at corporate and she and Pam can become friends. I think grace and Karen can really help her come out of her shell a bit.
~
Laughed so hard at Pam looking up to the camera with a confused face over "Dwight" and "cute" used together, awesome!
~
The shopping was great headway, they are still holding back, but making progress all the same. They just need to get out of their own heads!
Jim! Of course she doesn't know, how could she know?!? You need to tell her! (I'm getting worked up, this is that good!)
Make 'em go out to the bar after the meetings to get smashed! That'll fix everything! :D
~
Curses for the cliffhanger!

Author's Response:

Thanks for re-reading, I think this fic is finally reading as a more complete story with the additional flashbacks. Glad you liked the Booze Cruise scene, I wasn't planning on a Christmas Party scene but it may creep in there.

I love writing Pam and Karen as friends, since I always felt they would have been really good friends (if it weren't for that pesky paper salesman!)

Working on the next chapter now, I hope to get it up soon!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2015 01:39 pm Title: I've always wanted to see Canada

Hey idnaoj80.... first off, thank you SO SO much for writing about the site being supposed to go down. I had NO idea and I'll tell you, it alarmed me and made me seriously feel ill (honestly, had to take a Zofran for the nausea!) Anyhow, I depend on this site SO much. I think you know that I'm really ill and lately my health has been just so bad and honestly, on those days I spend most of my days (re)reading the wonderful works of the brilliant authors on this site. I know that there are other sites, FF.net and Archive of our Own but just my opinion, those sites lack the quality AND the quantity of Office fics that we have here. Anyhow, thankfully I know Sally who runs this site so I messaged her and also put a message on the FB page asking for info. You are correct that it is scheduled to go down if they don't get donations. The sad thing is that the amount I was told they need isn't unmanageable... especially if the word gets our that the donations are needed and continur to be needed because the amount goes up, not by much but it does go up every month. There is a donation link in the forum and right now it's slipping my mind exactly how to get to it but I'm pretty positive you can read the posts in the forum and donate (it goes through Paypal and 100% of donations go directly to Dreamhost. No one from MTT can even touch it.) Anyhow, idnaoj80, if you or anyone else are interested in donating, first PLEASE DO consider donating anyone that is able. I think there may be a minimum donation of $10, but if you can, PLEASE do. There is a TREMENDOUS amount of work that has gone into this site through the years. Even if you put aside all the work it was creating and maintaining the site, all the volunteers making sure that things went smoothly and working out the kinks and also making certain the the work posted was quality and not somewhat crappy, sloppy works that aren't worth the time. Setting that aside and just thinking of all the hours and creative energy, frustation through writers block etc, there's no way with all that time and energy lovingly put into this site that we should allow it to slip away. Anyhow, so if anyone would like to know how to find the donation link, leave a message or email me at ftmill16@aol.com or something and I will be absolutely thrilled to direct you to the link and keep this site up and running. Oh and Lamada, I'm sorry for breaking into your reviews with this but since it was posted here I really wanted to answer here.

Author's Response: No problem, be on the look out for an email from me, this site has meant a lot to me as well and I would like to help keep it going! I'd also be happy to signal boost the call for donations on my fansite, Flonkerton, it still gets a few visitors a day and who know maybe a couple of them feel generous!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17, 2015 01:16 pm Title: Far, far away from here

Oh WOW!!! OK, first things first... how was Japan? were you there long? As someone that will probably never get to go overseas, I'm totally jealous! OK now... I cannot tell you just how excited and absolutely thrilled I was to click on the link for new or updated stories and see that you had, after so long, returned to see this one through. I don't think I can truly convey how much I admire you for returning after so long and how much I admire you for your absolutely uncanny ability to flip this story around yet keep these two absolutely in character. I mean seriously, had the writers wanted to go this way they could have 100% used what you've written here and no one would seem OOC. So before I really get into this, I just have to say, I'm sorry I never reviewed before but this is a story I have always absolutely loved but always got so frustrated that we got to Pam getting back from the trip and living with then the absolute frustration of the unanswered phone call. These two seem to just adore frustrating us! I am thrilled that in this new chapter they are at least forced to face each other but I have to be honest, when I read that Karen was there I felt absolute dread and got HUGE knot in my stomach! PLEASE don't force us to relive the dark days of Karen! I am seriously begging you. I like to think that when them seeing each other here, maybe they'll get together and tlk after work, start working on getting that friendship back and more than that as well. I can't help but wonder when remembering how things went on the show, and I realize that it wouldn't be quite the same since Lisa initiated the break up though I think that it seemed that Jim was trying to keep the status quo, feeling an obligation to Lisa much like I feel Pam did with Roy on the show. Jim may have even felt more pressure to follow through since he's the one that asked her to marry him unlike Pam who just had to say yes. I feel like Jim felt a total sense of relief when Lisa bailed because after Pam admitted her feelings it's so obvious with how he was after the first kiss, initiating the secon, unable to sleep and then playing with the idea of flying all the way to Italy to see Pam, I think he was obviously realizing that Pam's feelings weren't even close to being unrequitted. Anyhow, I totally lost my train of thought on where I was going so trying again, on the show Roy tried relentlessly to get Pam back so I can't help but wonder if maybe we'll see more of Lisa. I mean, she HAS to some to the realization that she made a HUGE mistake letting Jim go. Maybe she'll realize when she is dating again and has to face just what an amazing man she just let go. I don't know... I would think that since she knows that Jim was planning to go through with the wedding, I can see her walting back into his life, maybe proclaiming that she made a mistake and throwing out an offhand apology and honestly thinking that's all it would take and that she could move back in and their lives would go back to how they were. 9it would be really interesting if maybe she even had her car loaded with a bunch of her stuff, or if she still had a key Jim came home to her making dinner and a bunch of her stuff there. OOOOooppps, sorry. I really am. I tend to start seeing ways I could see a story go and/or interesting twists, especially when I'm reviewing and really thinking about the story and I tend to throw them out there. Not expecting you to use them though if I ever write something you like, feel free. I just want you to know I'm not trying to write your story of interfere with it God knows you're so good you don't need help, especially from me. My ideas probably suck. I guess I'd just like to see Lisa realizing her mistake ad working at though failing to get Jim back. Somewhere during the time that she is trying I'd love to see Lisa realize or find out that Jim and Pam are together, maybe even living together and Pam is now 'mom' to the dog that Lisa is maybe trying to lay a claim to bit can't really since she abandoned the dog. I have to say, I am really hoping that we can see less of the strife and the chase so to speak and more of them together. I honestly really hate and am so disappointed when I read a story, reading through chapter after chapter of angst and strife only to have them get together and THE END. I want to know at least some of what happened them. Were they happy? Was Jim the great boyfriend we always imagined? Did they get engaged and eventually married and it so how long was the engagement and did Jim help with the planning like I know so many hve always imagined he would. I love thinking of them getting engaged fairly quickly because really the dating process is really about getting to know the other person. See how your lives mesh and if you can see yourselves having a family, growing old together. I think by the time Jim and Pam started dating on the show and assuming they do start dating in this story (ACK, just realized I have totally TOTALLY assumed that's where this is going. PLEASE PLEASE let it be where this is going and I pray that it won't take to long to get there and maybe we can see them conquering obstacles together so still some problems, just not the nightmare of them being apart and/or another person being involved!) Anyhow, I think by the time they start dating they have spent so much time getting to know each other, being best friends that they KNOW they are great together. They know they fit, they belong and have figured out they are soul mates, each others true love and Jim realizes that Lisa was never who he was supposed to be with. Anyhow, please forgive me for all the fantasies of things that could happen, I've had a lot of time to think about it... I absolutely CANNOT wait for the next chapter to be posted. I am so excited and anxious to see where this is going to take them and US! You are such a wonderful writer that I know anywhere you take us and them, it'll be an amazingly fun ride!

Author's Response: First of thank you for your encouragement and enthusiasm! Japan was great, I was actually there for 3 years teaching English and managed to keep pretty busy (thus why I kinda fell off the MTT landscape). I'm happy to hear I'm managing to keep Jim and Pam in character with the role reversal. Jim in this fic is a bit of a challenge to write, I blame the show because show!Jim is just so utterly in love with Pam almost without exception for the entire series that trying to imagine him any other way is difficult. Yes, I've introduced Karen, but don't fear, without giving too much away, I will say that she will NOT be playing the same role she did on the show. As I post this fic to FFN and AO3 I am revising the chapters and adding a few new things, so do please re-read ;-). Someone else mentioned Lisa is kind of 1-dimensional right now and I agree (I'm just impatient and wanted to get to the parts with Jim realizing he has feelings for Pam as well and has for a while) As I revise and add new chapters I'm going to attempt to flesh out Lisa and her relationship with Jim and what went wrong. Thanks again for the comment and for following on FFN :)

Reviewer: MonsterBaby Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: June 15, 2015 12:02 pm Title: I've always wanted to see Canada

Haven't seen much of anything posted here lately. Very nice to see you continuing. Keep going!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: June 14, 2015 09:18 pm Title: Far, far away from here

I am so excited for this!! I loved this chapter and after 7 years you've definitely still got it!!

I'll be sure to check you out on ff.net I can't say for certain because I'm not registered for the mtt forum but I think this site goes down in July without enough donations. :'((

Reviewer: Nard Dogg Signed [Report This]
Date: October 20, 2010 08:19 pm Title: Now That You're Gone

Great work, I feel like you capture how all the characters would be if the roles were reversed. Please update!

Reviewer: lovingthursdays Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2010 02:20 pm Title: I've always wanted to see Canada

Yes, please revive! We need them to get together and happy at last. So well done; it really got me hooked.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans