You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2020 06:48 pm Title: Thursday, January 25,1996

Oh, Pam... It's difficult to watch someone learn from their mistakes the hard way, but our mistakes are such great teachers. You write it so well that I can still enjoy it!
Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2020 03:12 am Title: Thursday, January 25,1996

Keeping it all as a giant story works for me - I feel like it’s easier to keep track of that way.
Oh Pam, all the getting her out of her “comfort zone” that Roy is doing does not spell good news. I like that everyone in her life is trying to point it out. I’m sure she’ll appreciate that in retrospect.
Is that Katy with Jim? Curious to see how that pans out...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2020 07:34 pm Title: Thursday, January 25,1996

Ugh! This Pam! She's got just about everyone telling her Roy's a bad influence. Her best friend, her sister, her parents. I just want to jump through the pages and shout at her "listen to them!" Especially when Roy keeps going on about dropping out of school or doing things like not listening to her. Or especially skipping work. That's something that could REALLY bite her in the ass. Maybe that's a lesson she needs to learn. Gah.

As far as the series idea goes. Well I guess that depends on how long you were thinking of having this go for? If we're talking about the whole almost 10 year relationship with Roy, then maybe it would work. (Though please say you won't drag our JAM loving hearts through all that for so long, please?) However you've also labeled this AU, so does that mean we'll be spared all those years of angst? It's not a bad idea. However in my opinion it's a better idea if you know how long this whole thing is going to go on for. But that's me.

Guh, why Pam? Why? Actually I know why. She still doubts herself and thus settles for good enough rather than great.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2020 04:19 am Title: Monday, January 1,1996

Oh Pam and her rose colored glasses. There are so many hints in this that Roy is...already Roy. You set that up so well. The health class line - oh god. Sweet, naive Pam is in for some shocks... Great update!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 10:47 pm Title: Monday, January 1,1996

I relate to this so much. I had one too many bad boyfriends in high school but I’d just get so excited about the occasional moments of sweetness that I’d put on my rose colored glasses and turn all the red flags pink! I hate Pam is going to have to go through that hard process of realization, but I can’t wait to see how you write it!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 05:52 pm Title: Monday, January 1,1996

Ugh, Roy! Poor Pam. He's such an ass, but it's all part of the story (and the angst). This was a great update.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 03:53 pm Title: Monday, January 1,1996

Oh Pam, there you go still thinking Roy is great. But there's a ton of red flags going up. His drinking, ditching class, talking about dropping out of school. I get the fact she's in her young and dumb phase right now, but it's still heartbreaking to see her like this. At least she's still trying to remain focused on her art.

Foreshadowing of things to come too. Roy saying they're in a relationship but not doing much to put in much effort. He's already ditching her to be with his friends leaving her alone. Hope she wakes up to all this sometime soon.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 04:21 pm Title: Thursday, November 16, 1995

Oh Pam! The settling for Roy is painful. At you're going back to art. And Jim, you couldn't have called her? Sigh.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 02:10 am Title: Thursday, November 16, 1995

Oh boy, if only Pam was a little kinder to herself in the way she sees herself. Then she wouldn’t give Roy the time of day. Ugh.
Please don’t tell me I have to wait until years into Dunder Mifflin for Pam & Jim to sort themselves out in this universe too?!

Author's Response: Maybe not years, but I'm thinking it'll be a bit!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 10:07 pm Title: Thursday, November 16, 1995

Ugh all the red flags already, like how Pam’s art remind Roy of lame cartoons. Good for her for drawing him as a “lame cartoon” though! You do such a good job conveying the high school experience. I’m sure there will be more angst (there was plenty in my high school days) but I can’t wait to read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's a great compliment!

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 07:03 pm Title: Thursday, November 16, 1995

Oh, Pam... glad she's back into her art, but it's hard seeing her selling herself short and thinking she's not good enough.
You're doing a good job conveying the "high school experience " in just a few words. Nice work!
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Thank you for the review!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 06:28 pm Title: Thursday, November 16, 1995

I get why Pam is thinking these things. Not that I like where it"s going to end up. Not fault to your writing at all there. It's just hard getting through this part.

Author's Response: I agree ha! Not fun, but necessary.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2020 10:43 am Title: Friday (night), September 22, 1995

Ahhh the angst! I hate it for young Pam. I’m having flashbacks, haha. Can’t wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2020 01:16 am Title: Friday (night), September 22, 1995

*'Oh, How It Hurts' by Barbara Mason blares softly in the background*
I totally understand Pam's frustration and turmoils in her life (and her head), but still... it's so painful to watch how Roy affects (negatively!) Pam's life already. Keep my fingers crossed and hope they won't last long...

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2020 12:35 am Title: Friday (night), September 22, 1995

Oh no! Oh Jim, my heart. He’s such a sweetheart, even in awkward teenage form and Pam just stomped all over his poor heart.
This Roy actually doesn’t seem like the worst, as of yet. Just your typical teen. It’ll be interesting to see how long it takes Pam to see him in another light...

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 08:37 pm Title: Friday (night), September 22, 1995

Ah, I see our couple are just as bad at communication as teenagers! The angst is so painful but so good. Looking forward to more entries.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 07:27 pm Title: Friday (night), September 22, 1995

Oh Pam. I know it feels like you're doing the right thing now, but just ouch. At least from a reader's standpoint. Kinda sad that Jim (I did notice this is the first time he's referred to as Jim there) didn't try to fight harder for her.

Great writing to bring out all the feelings.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 06:52 pm Title: Tuesday, September 19, 1995

"Teen lingo" ha! That was a perfect Michael saying and a very Michael thing to do!
But I'm hoping Pam comes to her senses in the next chapter....

Reviewer: Guten Schriftsteller Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 06:50 pm Title: Saturday, March 25, 1995

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Not Roy ugggg Pam why are you so dumb? I get it she’s 16 but no don’t do it just don’t.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2020 03:29 pm Title: Tuesday, September 19, 1995

Awww Pam. No, don't settle for Roy. You clearly don't like him, why oh why are you doing this to yourself? Well I know why, she's still a teenager and thus quite liable to make bad decisions. Such as hanging out with Roy all the time. I get where's she's coming from, but at the same time I've never been a big fan of teenage drama. She's giving mixed signals to both James and Roy. Telling Roy to lay off but hanging out with him and allowing him to have his arm around her. Saying she's still James' girlfriend but it seems not really putting as much effort into that situation as she could. Though that may be a little unkind as she does also have a job.

Still a great look into her mindset even if it's not my most favorite part of her journey. Something also tells me that dance is going to end in disaster in either the long or short run. Or both.

Author's Response:

I have a plan for the story and I'll say I'm annoyed writing Roy into, but I think it'll be a crucial piece in the end. 

It definitely shows a possibility as to how she ended up engaged to him for 10 years! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 01:19 am Title: Saturday, August 26, 1995

I know I’ve said this before, but I love your teen voice so much. It’s so real. Seriously. Are you sure you’re not sixteen? I would believe it!
I had a giggle about the perils of dating in the 90s - life before texting was a whole other story. Poor Pam, I too dated an adorable boy in high school who I felt like was far too out of my league. Can relate. I hope it doesn’t push her towards Roy!
Looking forward to seeing how you progress things...

Author's Response: HA! I promise I'm not sixteen, but thank you for the compliment of this sounds very realistic. It all comes from reading my dramatized versions of my own life. I'm glad you caught the hardships of dating in the 90's. I was laughing as I wrote it so I'm glad others found it entertaining as well!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 08, 2020 11:00 pm Title: Saturday, August 26, 1995

I love this so much. High school and college aged AUs are my jam (lol) and you write young Pam so well! She really reads like a 16 year old and I totally identify with her struggles. I’m so interested to see more of James and to see how Roy plays into it! Great work!

Author's Response: I love reading the high school and college AU's myself! They're quite a different view into their lives than what we typically see. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 08, 2020 03:10 pm Title: Saturday, August 26, 1995

This a really good look into Pam's mindset. A lot of the same kinds of feelings one tends to see with Pam in early seasons. Settling for Roy since it seems Jim is too good for her. So in that regard that's kind of nice to see as it holds up to canon.

Still not liking Roy, but then again I rarely like Roy. The big brutish jock who can't take a hint always kind of bugs me.

Well done as always.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great feedback! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 04, 2020 02:16 am Title: Monday, August 14, 1995

It makes me so happy that Jim has gotten in before Roy in this story. It’ll really change things up. “I miss summer. This blows.” - quite possibly the most relatable line to grace a fic ever. What a mood.

Author's Response: It's definitely my mood a lot of the time haha

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2020 09:26 pm Title: Monday, August 14, 1995

Yeah the first day of school always sucked. However I like that Pam can leave for lunch. We had open campus lunch back at my high school and it was indeed awesome. Maybe she can suggest that she and James meet somewhere for lunch sometime.

First sighting of Roy. Not sure what to think of him here. Hopefully this Pam tells him right off that she's seeing James. However I'm also getting a "I don't take no for an answer" kind of vibe from this Roy. So yeah, it'll be interesting to see how this all develops.

Author's Response: I have a few ideas floating around at the moment so I'm with you there. I'll be interested to see how it plays out myself! It's all in the beauty of creative writing!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans