You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2018 07:52 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh this one was a joy to read! I love little one shots like these. That last one with the turn was great.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2017 01:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

Loved this. Just like everyone else said, "turn right and go home" is just indelible! Kind of opposite of the Grinch, I just felt my heart grow three times softer. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This was, I think, the 2nd fanfic I ever wrote but I'm still pretty proud of it.

Reviewer: Candi Signed [Report This]
Date: May 30, 2017 02:52 pm Title: Chapter 1

I love this and you know why. I'm hoping to do my own twist on this soon but I love the way you mapped out the fall of their relationship so succinctly.

Author's Response:

Thanks, I keep flirting with doing another set of vignettes leading up to The Job (maybe even to branch wars) but it's in with all my other fic ideas right now. I'm looking forward to reading your own Karen fic!

Reviewer: i_love_jam Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 07:52 am Title: Chapter 1

I love this story...late November was great and the ending makes me just so happy! :) So glad he turned left!

Reviewer: Wendy Blue Signed [Report This]
Date: August 09, 2007 09:34 pm Title: Chapter 1

DAMN. 

How did I miss this?  So. so. so. SO GOOD.

That last part just about broke my heart; what a horrible and yet beautiful image.

Well done :)

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2007 10:15 pm Title: Chapter 1

He turned left.

And the crowd went wild! Woo! Sorry, sad Karen.

I love these- all of them. Because Karen is smart, and she's certainly seen the signs. Wonderful characterization here, and wonderful insight into a slightly-drawn character.

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2007 01:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh, I really liked this story.  All the little details adding up to making Karen being cheated out of the boyfriend she deserves because he is just not quite there or quite right for her.

Reviewer: 69 cups of noodles Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2007 06:55 am Title: Chapter 1

I LOVED THIS.  The last one just made my heart break for Karen a little bit, and I adore stories that paint her in a sympathetic way.  I know that everyone keeps repeating the "turn right," but it really is such a great line, and the way she's willing him to go home instead of going to Pam (which she knows he's going to do) is just so sad and the whole story just rings so true to me.  Fabulous job!

Reviewer: ElizabethLynn Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 10:05 pm Title: Chapter 1

This felt real and true to the characters.  I feel like Karen has been fleshed out so much better in fanfic than on the show -- kudos to you for not making her cartoony.

 "Turn right, Halpert," she whispered, "turn right and go home."

Aw, man.  Poor Karen. 

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 09:33 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was really excellent.  You did a really great job writing the inner Karen, and Karen and Jim's interchanges seemed so natural.  Of course, I LOVE that he turned left!

Reviewer: Alex Wert Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 08:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Well, that's depressing.  Poor girl.

Reviewer: flamingosinparadise Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 07:53 pm Title: Chapter 1

I love this.  It seems to right with what's been on the show.  I loved that Jim turned left and Karen knew what that meant...wonderful.

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 03:29 pm Title: Chapter 1

I agree with StarShine, I do feel sorry for Karen, but my happiness for JAM outweighs everything else!  What a great story.  I too loved the ending  - "Turn right, Halpert," she whispered, "turn right and go home."  

Reviewer: StarShine Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 03:01 pm Title: Chapter 1

GAH!!! HE TURNED LEFT!!!!so awesome.. love this.. i actually do feel bad for Karen, but it's buried under my happiness for JAM! such a great read!

Reviewer: Luna Mystik Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 02:51 pm Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this. Anything that has Karen sad and doubting at this point is a good thing...you might want to update your story to include Jim's new car, a silver Saab, which he got after his return to Scranton.

Author's Response:

well, since two people said something, I changed it ;) I'm sad though, "Saab" doesn't roll off the tongue like "Corolla." I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: sharky Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 01:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

He turned left! I love that little detail.

Reviewer: GreenFish Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 12:04 pm Title: Chapter 1

I really liked this story.  I heard someone mention the "turn right" comment on TWOP, and now that I've read it, I got it, and... wow.  One comment:  Jim doesn't drive a red Corolla anymore.  I don't know when exactly he got a new car, but during "Traveling Salesman" we saw him driving a silver Audi sportwagon.  It's not a big deal, but it was distracting to me, because I am a dork.

I really liked this, though.  I think you captured Karen really well.  I liked the bit about her never letting Pam do a prank with Jim again, too.  (How much do I think that's true now?  Seriously.)



Author's Response:

Oops, well, that just shows you how much I notice cars. I only knew his old car was a Corolla because he said it one time. I even rewatched Diwali to try to figure out what model Karen drove so I could write it in here, but I certainly can't tell, so I just went with the generic "SUV."

I'm glad you liked the prank line. I was going to write something about the possibility of a "6th" night of talks, but I think at that point Karen decided there was going to be less talk and more action.

Reviewer: Semby Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 11:53 am Title: Chapter 1

Ooh, those were great. I like seeing Karen actually being aware and not stuck in denial - very conscious of these little moments that give her doubt. I love that little moment at the end:

"Turn right, Halpert," she whispered, "turn right and go home."

After a moment the little car started to move. He turned left.

- Ouch. 

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 10:46 am Title: Chapter 1

Seriously, she has to know. I like that you suggest that Jim's asking her to move for him is a bit of a leap on her part...as is much of what she wants him to feel for her. Good detail that he doesn't even touch her when he reassures her over coffee (hello?) Self-aware Karen is so much more sympathetic. You made me feel simultaneously sad for her and want to cheer when he turned left. 

Reviewer: shan21 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 10:41 am Title: Chapter 1

Ooooooooooooh. Awesome ending. Just awesome. 

I love number one, because I always imagined Karen trying to convince herself that she wasn't moving for a guy she barely knew. It doesn't seem like something she would normally do.

I love number two, because that last line really made me feel for Karen. Like a sinking in my gut. Ugh.

I love number three, because the whole curl thing is genius.

I love number four, because of the way you describe Karen's thought process about Pam's transition into a bumbling nervous wreck. And her resolution in the last line. I can definitely see that happening.

And of course, number five. Oh that ending. So, so good. 

Reviewer: time4moxie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 10:09 am Title: Chapter 1

That was all kinds of awesome.  Well done - he turned left!!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 08:53 am Title: Chapter 1

This is just what a girl needs to get her through hiatus!  (Is that mean?)

Love the part about the Karen's 'unnatural' curls and Jim's Corolla turning left out of the parking lot.



Author's Response: Thanks, and thank you for recommending the story on TWoP!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 07:53 am Title: Chapter 1

Poor Karen. She knows. Good story.

Reviewer: moofoot Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2007 03:35 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh, so sad. I hate it when you guys make me feel awful for Karen, but I keep clicking on this darned things anyway, and I feel awful for her. Brilliant.

So many things I loved about this, though. Mostly I loved the few sentences put together that pack a killer punch, in every single one of those five 'times'. 

For some reason her hand still stung from that high five. from that first one, even though she's ranting about getting a fucking high five from him. she shot Jim a smile, and her stomach dropped when he looked away., because imagining that made my heart twitch. I loved how in the third one you brought out the fact that she has curls in her hair, drawing that comparison to Pam, somehow, in this freaky, subtle way. I don't know if that was intentional, but...wow. Seriously. Wow.

Loved the fourth one; why Pam was sorry. I'm kind of certain Pam didn't mean it that way, but the way you got Karen taking it that way is brilliant. So true, so sad, but so brilliant.

And the impact of the last few sentences of this story?! Damn.

"Turn right, Halpert," she whispered, "turn right and go home."

After a moment the little car started to move. He turned left.

Karen sank down to the floor and covered her eyes.
Oh, goodness, I loved that. So good. So good. Freaking amazing. 

Anyway, I still want Karen to leave, but you guys aren't making me feel so good about it. I need some KarenisaBitchfiction.  



Author's Response:

I sure Pam didn't put that much meaning in her "sorry" either, but for some reason I imagine it really staying with Karen, since she had just spent five nights over-analyzing every look Jim and Pam had given each other.

Thank for all your kind comments.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans