Reviews For The Road Not Taken
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: deerinthepark Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2008 02:15 am Title: Had worn them really about the same

This chapter makes my heart break in half.

Reviewer: GreenFish Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2007 11:09 am Title: And that has made all the difference.

Very nice piece.  The way you broke up the short chapters makes a lot of sense and it's not too overdone.  I'm glad I waited until this was finished, though, because it would have driven me nuts watching the spiral Jim found himself going down in.  I think it's interesting because a lot of men (and women) probably find themselves in the position that Jim was in -- married to the wrong person, but doing what they felt was easiest, or best for them at the time -- and allowing their lives to slowly fall apart, all the while continuing to make bad decisions.  I'm so glad that it ended like it did; just the thought of it made me sad and angry at the same time.  We are in complete control of ourselves to make the right decisions and I'm glad that Jim realized how he almost could have made the worst decision of his life!  

Nice job overall; it's a very clean story too (I like that - no glaring mistakes, heh.  :)



Author's Response:

I wrote it all at once (for a change) and debated whether to dole it out in pieces, or just post the whole thing.  But I think it worked better as one continuous story rather than being spread out, in part because it got so depressing near the end.  ;)

And yes, I know so many people exactly like you described, just trying to do the easiest thing but as a result they make one mistake after another.  

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: StarShine Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2007 01:31 am Title: And that has made all the difference.

What you have done with this favorite (albeit, cliched) poem is nothing short of amazing! I never realized how well it applies to this whole Jim/Pam/Karen love triangle. It was definitely angsty in the begining, but in such a good way. The writing style is different, but it is perfect for the tone you've set.  Way to pack a punch in just a few words! When I read the first line of chapter 19, I broke down in tears. I literally sobbed for a few minutes before I continued reading. This is just outstanding!

Author's Response: Thank you!  Is it weird that it makes me happy that I made you cry?  :-)

Reviewer: Emilys List Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2007 01:14 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

this TOTALLY rocked the house. there were so many small, well-crafted moments that made me thrilled every moment to be reading such a great story. lovely. so lovely. thank you for that.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Becky215 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2007 09:26 pm Title: Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

ExtremelyGruntled--I just read this again (MTT is my go-to site when I want to procrastinate from school work, and your story is one of the loveliest distractions out there!), and I have to say that I'd love to see you tackle this same format from Pam's POV, perhaps after "Phyllis' Wedding" or something, in comparing life with Roy or Jim.

Just a thought; regardless, this is one of my favorite recent stories, and congrats on a well-earned ribbon! -CH



Author's Response: I actually thought about that.  I was thinking of doing one where Pam actually went through with the wedding.  Maybe that will be my next project.  :)

Reviewer: dundermifflinthisisdani Signed [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2007 10:02 am Title: And that has made all the difference.

this brought tears to my eyes.
it's simply amazing. i applaud you !

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: bebitched Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2007 04:42 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

Wowza. That was... angsty, but totally awesome at the end and very realistic. Great job! I love how each chapter title is a line in the poem.

Author's Response: Thanks so much.

Reviewer: thatswhatshesaid Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2007 04:27 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

That was fantastic. It was totally, insanely angsty but really honest... PB&JAM all the way, man.

(And I totally love the real Jim.. the one that'll end up with Pam.)

kudos, that was great. :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: A Little Stitious Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2007 03:08 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

Wow, I hadn't read any of this til now...glad I waited til the end!  I was kinda depressed over Jim being a jerk and then you just flipped the switch and made it all good again!  Great poem, great poet and great work, ExtemelyGruntled!

Author's Response:

Yeah, that's one of the reasons I posted it all at once, so people could get to the end quicker.  ;)

Thanks for the kind words!

Reviewer: officefreak Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2007 11:04 am Title: And that has made all the difference.

Loved, loved, loved it!

Reviewer: kells8995 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2007 06:02 am Title: Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

I just read the final 10 chapters and this was just perfect.  Thank goodness you ended it the way you did!

Like someone else mentioned, I think the clipped chapters were very effective, and I like how we get the feeling that in an instant Jim can close his eyes and see his life play out like this, but thankfully he chose the right path at the end!

Great job!



Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: invis Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 10:39 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

Excellent. At first I balked at the number of chapters, but they were each such wonderful little vignettes in their own right--and filled with such difficult emotions--that it was both a joy and an ache to read them. What a painful look at how Jim's life could've turned out. Thank God it didn't happen like that!


Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 08:28 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

That is one of my all time favorite poems and I loved how you wrote a chapter for each line. And I loved even more that you pulled a "Bobby in the shower on Dallas" on us and had it just be Jim's thoughts, not reality.  Thank heavens! Great job!



Author's Response: It's always been one of my favorites too, and I have it framed and hanging on my wall.  Yesterday I walked by and glanced at it and got inspired. :)

Reviewer: Wendy Blue Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 07:52 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

This is kind of the best thing ever.  First off, I love this poem, always have.  And each chapter worked so well with it, you did an amazing job with this.  Truly, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 07:07 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

Oh, wow.  This was great.  I wasn't sure I could handle the angst, but I saw this rec-ed on the MTT boards, so I gave it a try.  There is really only one path for Jim to choose. 

(Now if only the damn networks would give the writers a fair deal so we can get back to it!!) 

Reviewer: skeber Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 06:14 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

I love the way you used the poem for the titles! That poem was PERFECT for the story!

Reviewer: CashBasket Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 06:04 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

what a beautiful story. i love the way you transitioned in between the Karen and Pam 'roads,' and how Jim finally realizes there was never a doubt as to which path he should take. please write more! (maybe with other characters?)

Reviewer: debbiebrown Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 04:26 pm Title: Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

That was great. I got so sad at cheating, drunken Jim, and you wrote it so well.

Author's Response: Thanks!  It was kind of painful to write him that way but knowing where it was going made it a little easier.

Reviewer: Mirielle Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 04:10 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

very well written... that poem never loses it's spark and you complemented it beautifully! Bravo

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 02:26 pm Title: Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

This was such a great "what if" story.  I always figured that if Jim had actually married Karen and moved, he would have ended up miserable and divorced eventually.  I'm reccing this on MTT.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the rec!  :)

Reviewer: Becky215 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 01:57 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

This was lovely, ExtremelyGruntled!! I absolutely loved the progression; the realism was spot-on, and I think the clipped chapter lengths were very effective. You did a fabulous job here and have a lot to be proud of. Well done! -CH

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 01:40 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

Whew.  I was just heartsick reading this.  Unbelievably good--such passion.  I have to say that I'm so relieved at how you ended it.  Thanks : ) 

Reviewer: nandance Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 01:27 pm Title: Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

This was just wonderful. The end brought me to tears. Just...beautiful. Thank you!

Reviewer: katiej Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 01:10 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

this is one of my favorite things that I've ever read--not just in fanfiction, but of everything. it's wonderful.

Author's Response: Wow, that's really nice of you to say.  Thanks so much.

Reviewer: PokerChips Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2007 12:45 pm Title: And that has made all the difference.

This was just beautiful and i just loved reading every chapter. This is one of the best fics i have ever read.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans